Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: GFORE Golf Gloves

Published

on

Pros: Extremely soft, comfortable fit with distinct, colorful styles.

Cons: Price ($35 each). No children’s sizes.

Bottom Line: They’re pricey, but you’ll be hard pressed to find a wider selection of colors and styles from another golf glove maker.

Overview

GFore was founded by fashion designer Mossimo Giannulli. If you’re a Target shopper, his name may sound familiar because in 2000 Giannulli brokered the first ever designer-exclusive distribution deal with Target Stores.

With Giannulli’s background in fashion and love for golf, he combined function and style in his GFore golf brand, which sells golf gloves, shoes, hats, socks and golf bags. The young brand has already secured major endorsers of its products, with Tom Watson, Jonas Blixt Robert Rock, Rickie Barnes and Tommy Armour III all wearing the company’s gloves.

GFore’s golf gloves are available in more than three dozen colors and styles, and cover a wide range of size needs: small to large for women, and small to XXL for men. Cadet sizes are also available.

The stock gloves are priced at $35 each and fully customizable GFore gloves costs $50 each.

Screen Shot 2014-04-19 at 12.24.18 PM

Performance

GFore golf gloves are some of the softest, most buttery gloves I have ever worn. That’s thanks to their construction — they’re made from fine AA Cabretta leather — but somehow they’re still surprisingly durable.

I tried four gloves in two different sizes to get my perfect fit. I have long, slender fingers so it’s exceptionally difficult for me to find gloves that are long enough in the fingers, but tight enough to give me a snug fit. The medium is the closest I have come to finding something that fits great on my hand. It really has a natural feel, and its a glove that I don’t mind wearing for a long time.

Despite the bright colors, I haven’t had any staining issues with the gloves rubbing off on my clothes or the color-bleeding onto my hand.

Looks and Feel

The colored glove is not new to the market, but I have not seen the concept executed better than what GFore has produced.

G/FORE

Pictured are four women’s gloves in Blossom, Clover, Lemon and the two-toned Wisteria. GFore has a large array of colors to choose from in both men’s and women’s gloves, and you can even design an entirely custom glove on the company’s website. You have to truly appreciate that customized glove, however, as one will cost you a whopping $50.

The colors of the gloves in person are just as vibrant as how they appear in the pictures and on their website. Their closures are made with strong velcro, so once they’re on they’re not going anywhere.

The leather on the outside of the glove is one of the softest pieces of leather I have ever felt. The inside of the glove feels similar to other Cabretta leather gloves, although, I wish there was a way to take away the feel of the seems. They’re not a deal breaker, however, and seem to help the gloves keep their shape, even with extended use.

The Takeway

As long as you can stomach the price, GFore golf gloves are a great way to add some fun to your golf wardrobe without going overboard. Their quality construction will also please even the pickiest golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT9
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Kimberly Baresel is a long-suffering golf aficionado. She began playing the game at age 16, married into it with her husband Greg, who is a teaching pro, and has worked on the business side of the industry in merchandise for the last 12 years. Working in a pro shop, doing the soft-goods buying has allowed her to examine apparel in an intimate way. Having a petite frame and being unable to find comfortable, stylish apparel is a motivating factor in her writing. Outside of golf, Kimberly loves being a mother to her two adorable little boys. For more apparel reviews, go to www.kbgolfstyle.com

6 Comments

6 Comments

  1. Tony

    Mar 1, 2019 at 2:46 am

    I really think golfer should wear gloves both of their hands. There is no reason just wearing one glove. I never understand the logic wearing only one glove. I constantly have to use “repair lotion” to take care of the hand without using the glove. I really don’t understand it… I am with you, Kimberly… Too bad, Tommy-Two-Glove was short lived…

  2. Daily Sports USA

    Dec 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    G Fore golf gloves are great, they are extremely soft and comfortable, I really like theirs colorful styles.

  3. Thomas

    Apr 22, 2014 at 1:35 am

    These are hands down the best gloves I have ever played with. I always stock up every year at their Black Friday sale when they are cheaper…

  4. leftright

    Apr 21, 2014 at 10:25 am

    Put them in high end proshops at exclusive clubs and they should sell quite well. I would not see this item doing well at mass retail stores or public, semi-private golf courses. They might also do well at some resort facilities serving affluent clientele.

  5. Ron H

    Apr 19, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    I wonder why we golfers wear a glove anyway. After all, the early greats of this game – Hogan, Snead et al – didn’t and they played with relatively slippery leather grips. Today’s modern rubber/ rubber compound grips are so tacky and soft, I just don’t see the point of wearing a glove. I stopped wearing a glove two years ago and my game hasn’t suffered from losing the grip on my clubs. I practice twice a week and play at least onceand have developed exactly the mild callouses Hogan describes in the “Five Lessons”. And I play in the Pacific NW in all kinds of weather (mostly rain). I wonder if the golf glove has simply become one of the affectations of our game.

    • Kimberly Baresel

      Apr 19, 2014 at 5:27 pm

      That’s great that your hands don’t get tore up! My hands are so sensitive that I’m almost tempted to start wearing two gloves. I mean, I WON’T, but I’m tempted!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 74
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending