Connect with us

Fairway Reviews

Review: Tour Edge Exotics XCG7, XCG7 Beta and CB Pro Fairway Woods

Published

on

Pros: Second-to-none ball speeds. The XCG7, XCG7 Beta and CB Pro have three distinct profiles that will please a wide range of golfers.

Cons: All three models produce a similar launch and spin, and they’re on the expensive side ($249+). Made-for shafts in the XCG7 and XCG7 Beta. No adjustability.

Bottom Line: All three of these fairway woods have the potential to produce driver-like ball speeds. The XCG7 has the largest footprint and is the most forgiving, the CB Pro is the smallest and fastest and the XCG7 Beta fits nicely in between. This is one of the most impressive, well-rounded fairway wood families in golf.

Overview

For years, GolfWRX has been told by leading custom fitters that Tour Edge Exotics (TEE) fairways woods are some of the best-performing, if not the best-performing fairway woods in their stores. The issue with them, they say, has nothing to do with their performance. It’s their price.

Last year’s CB5 was one of our favorite fairway woods from 2013, but it was released with a starting price of $299 — $70 more than Callaway’s X Hot and $50 more than TaylorMade’s RBZ Stage 2 Tour. This year’s fairway woods haven’t dropped in price — the XCG7 is $249, the XCG7 Beta is $299 and the CB Pro is a whopping $499! — but the lineup has swelled to three distinct models that TEE says outperform their predecessors.

The XCG7 has the widest footprint of the three fairway woods, but it looks a lot larger than it really is. It’s extremely wide, but its shallow face allows it to measure only 185 cubic centimeters.

a8df26facb2c10409031d110d3f3d098

The XCG7 has a 465 forged maraging steel cup face that is combo-brazed to a hyper-steel body. It also includes TEE’s new Power Grid, which is positioned directly behind the hitting area to create an “accordion-like flex” at impact to increase spring-like effect, and Hexahedron sole weights that are positioned in the rear corners of the club head to increase its moment of inertia (MOI).

The XCG7 comes stock with Fujikura’s Exotics Fuel shaft in L, A, R, S and X flexes (a more robust Fujikura Exotics Fuel Tour is also available in 60R, 70S and 80X). It’s offered in lofts of 13, 15, 16.5, 18 and 21 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.touredge.com/products/xcg7driver.asp” oemtext=”Learn more from Tour Edge” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FNL0W5O/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00FNL0W5O&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=2OZXS4KHJIHSG4BT”]

44a50090791b0cc86baa977e30ee8d53

The XCG7 Beta is also 185cc and has TEE’s Power Grid, but it has a shorter heel-to-toe length and a taller face. Its face is made from beta titanium, which is combo-brazed to a hyper-steel body, and its Hexahedron weight pads are positioned more forward in the XCG7 Beta’s head.

It comes stock with a Matrix Exotics “White Tie 5.1” “Red Tie 6.1” or “Black Tie 7.1″ shaft in L, A, R S and X flexes. It’s available in lofts of 11.5, 13, 15, 16.5 and 18 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.touredge.com/products/xcg7betafwy.asp” oemtext=”Learn more from Tour Edge” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FNL12N0/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00FNL12N0&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=TX37GGWIBFKYA663″]

069ab17bf1e474162b30606f47ef1622

The CB Pro has a smaller 170-cc head that drives the center of gravity more forward than the XCC7 and XCG7 Beta. Like the XCG7 Beta, it has a beta titanium face that is combo-brazed to a hyper-steel body. It’s most eye-catching feature is its “Slip-Stream” sole, which TEE says improves turf interaction regardless of a golfer’s angle of attack.

The CB Pro comes stock with either a Fujikura Speeder 661 shaft in R and S flexes, or a Fujikura Speeder 757 shaft in S and X flexes. Both shafts are after-market versions. It’s available in lofts of 13.5, 14.5, 15.5, 16.5 and 17.5 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.touredge.com/products/exoticscbprofwy.asp” oemtext=”Learn more from Tour Edge” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FNL0DTY/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00FNL0DTY&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=LLHZD7UMCDUOUTJZ”]

Performance

Since each club is unique in its own right, I went to Carl’s GolfLand in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., to evaluate the performance of each club on Trackman at its Launch Pad custom-fitting center. The results were fascinating. While these clubs have extreme cosmetic differences, they perform very similar to each other in terms of launch angle, spin rate and ball speed with their stock x-flex shafts.

Note: The clubs were each tested with the following lofts: XCG7 (13 degrees), XCG7 Beta (13 degrees) and CB Pro (13.5 degrees). 

08f99eccbf2a8027b154a0d6659da01f

The XCG7 (above) tied with the CB Pro with an average ball speeds (150.8 mph) thanks to its larger foot print. Its top ball speed was 154.2 mph for me, giving it the second-fastest peak ball speed. The average launch angle was 8.4 degrees (the lowest), while its average spin rate was 3304 rpm (the second-highest).

1479a37c299c9a11d8740ecff1f4829b

The XCG7 Beta (above) had the fastest average ball speed (151.5 mph), likely due to its beta titanium face. It’s top ball speed was 153.6 mph, the slowest of the three. It had the highest average launch angle, 8.9 degrees, and the highest average spin rate, 3424 rpm.

4921266c4afb536b1798c0e24532d77b

The CB Pro (above) had an average peak ball speed of 150.8 mph, but its more forward CG added pop to pure strikes. It topped out at 154.5 mph, which was in-step with decent hits with my custom-fit TaylorMade RBZ Tour (T-Serial) driver. Sick, right? The average launch angle was 8.6 degrees, and its average spin rate was 3234 rpm, the lowest of the three fairway woods.

The CB Pro was clearly the longest of the three, mostly due to its lower spin rate, but it was also the least forgiving because of its more forward CG and smaller club head size. I was impressed with the “Slip-Stream Sole,” which keeps all the meat of the club off the ground to allow it to maintain its speed through impact. The waves on the sole basically push the ground away from the face, making it feel like the ball is teed up at impact. That and its smaller size make it particularly useful from less than perfect lies from the fairway and light rough.

f5021679c2a80775a44728bdea44743f

The XCG7 was my least-favorite looking fairway wood out of the box because of its substantial heel-to-toe width. I thought I might struggle with it because of that, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was much more nimble than it looked.

Golfers who miss the sweet spot more than they hit it will love the XCG7, particularly those who struggle with heel and toe hits. It’s tough to use out of the rough, where it can look like a frisbee laying behind the ball, and it was the hardest to work the ball with. But for higher-handicap golfers, who are likely the target audience for the XCG7, straight is a good thing.

The XCG7 Beta looks a lot like Callaway’s X Hot Pro fairway wood at address, which I think is one of the most handsome fairway woods on the market. Its deeper face should work great for golfers who struggle with mishits high and low, as it provides ample real estate for vertical misses. It’s more workable than the XCG7, and better from less-than-perfect lies given that you have the speed to play a deeper-faced fairway wood. But it’s not as good off the ground or as workable as the CB Pro.

Looks and Feel

14c7684b898c13e4c6c84e8738825cf6

From left to right: Tour Edge Exotics’ CB Pro, XCG7 Beta ad XCG7.

The XCG7 and the XCG7 Beta have the same matte gray finish, with “Exotics” printed on the heel-side of the crown in the back corner. In terms of feel, they were typical of Exotics’ fairway woods, feeling muted and powerful across the face, which makes them a lot of fun to hit.

The CB Pro is a much different club than the other two, however. First off, it has a very traditional black glossy crown with no graphics. And when the club is turned over, the Slip-Stream Sole is a real eye catcher. It will turn the heads of every golf in your foursome and the golfers next to you on the range. At impact, the versatility of the sole makes the CB Pro feel like the ball is always sitting up. The bumps on the sole really fight the ground for you, and that makes it one of the most versatile fairway woods I’ve played.

I also really enjoyed the Fujikura Speeder 757X shaft, which is the driver of the CB Pro’s $500 price tag. It’s extremely smooth and stable, with great-looking graphics that match the premium vibe the CB Pro emits. On its own, the Speeder 757 shaft sells for $350, which means golfers are basically getting the titanium-faced fairway wood head for an extra $150.

bbbe5127f14ea31a94daa5bf3c964e77

The CB Pro also has its own unique feel. It is not nearly as muted as the other two and feels a bit “tinnier.” There were a lot more vibrations on off-center hits with the CB Pro than there were with the others as well. But a solid hit with the CB Pro feels effortless and explosive, especially because of the reduced drag that the Slip-Stream Sole offers.

The Takeaway

It’s fun to talk about the numbers I recorded with the three new TEE fairway woods, but most golfers won’t need to test them all like I did to figure out which one they want to play. Since they perform similarly to each other in terms of ball speed, launch angle and spin, golfers can choose the head shape that gives them the most confidence at address and then go about dialing in the right loft and shaft for them.

The best part about the XCG7, XCG7 Beta and CB Pro is that their top-level ball speeds don’t come at the expense of looks, feel and versatility. Yes, the XCG7 is going to be the least workable, and the CB Pro is going to allow for the most creativity, but really all of these fairway woods will do what golfers ask of them, provided they have the skill to do so.

Click here to see what GolfWRX members are saying about the XCG, XCG7 Beta and CB Pro fairway woods in the forums.

Click here to see what GolfWRX members are saying about the XCG, XCG7 Beta and CB Pro fairway woods in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 16
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Evan is an attorney licensed to practice law in Michigan. He's also a dedicated golfer with an obsession for the latest golf equipment, and frequently gets caught in public examining his swing in any reflective surface.

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. Hamish

    Feb 25, 2016 at 10:45 am

    Just bagged XCG7 7w 21* / Fujikura Speeder 757 TSx Evo un-tipped. My 105 SS is perfect for this.
    Best 7w ever, repeatable shot after shot hitting greens. Its a looks like a bid head, yet gets through the ground fine. The tungsten weights offer incredible stability…its like shootn fish in a barrel!. This is the most forgiving FW I have ever bagged & 757 turns it into a rope. Beat out my fav 3i off a tee vs xcg7 on the turf and that’s say’n something. TEE FW’s are always good!

  2. Pingback: Tour Edge Fairway Woods Reviews – PC1Q5 | Tour Topic

  3. Rod McDonald

    May 17, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    Just played my first round today with my new 15.5 degree CB Pro. I couldn’t believe the drives I was hitting! Consistently about the same distance I would get from my driver, and everything was right down the middle. Easily 25-30 yards longer than any other 3 wood I have hit. The only two mistakes I made all day were on par 5’s when I pulled driver and missed both fairways. I may not hit driver ever again!

  4. chris

    Mar 12, 2014 at 7:27 am

    Soon to be 159 at Rockbottom Golf..these things never sell.

  5. Eric

    Mar 11, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    WANT!

    …that is all

  6. Mizzy

    Mar 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    These things are outstanding. With a slight fade I gained 5 yds over my standard straight shot. The 13* is great, but I do not know if the 11.5 would be useful for anything other than replacing a driver.

    Driver SS – 109 avg

  7. tiger168

    Feb 24, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    Awesome review, owned XCG5, XCG6, looking to try the CB5 AND CB6 when the prices come down.

    Love WRX….

  8. Greg

    Feb 19, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    When the CB2 first came out with a $350 price tag for a fairway wood, the sticker shock reaction was very similar to what we are seeing now with these new offerings from Tour Edge. If you are properly fit and the numbers create optimal results than the purchase is more of an investment. There is than no need to buy another fairway wood for at least 4 years or until you want to change. I have personally dealt with the company on a professional level and there is no other fairway wood out there that has this construction / technology behind it to even sniff close second. Considering the many Tour Players who play the clubs with no endorsement deals speaks volumes. This is a classic scenario of ” you get what u pay for “. Ball speeds equivalent to a driver from a fairway wood certainly deserves a test drive. Have at it!

  9. Dave

    Jan 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    Wish people would TEST clubs against others instead of REVIEW them. It’s all opinion, no real accurate testing. Equip heads with the exact same shaft and have the robot test them to show real results as to which is longest, best ball speeds, etc.

  10. Phil

    Jan 28, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    The beta 15* with the 6Q3 S gets about the same numbers as my 910 17* ahina S. I’m a chronic low ball FWY hitter, and would prefer a 70 mid-trajectory shaft.

    Way better than the X2Hot for me though.

  11. skeptic

    Jan 27, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Where is the “review?” How can you “review” anything in January in Michigan? Nice press release regurgitation as usual.

  12. Snowman

    Jan 21, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    …Tour Edge makes great Fairway metals… I still have a CB2 that I love. Why can’t they apply their design expertise and technology and make a great Driver? (also, agree that graphics on the crown are bad!)

  13. Scott

    Jan 19, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    These are the BEST and easiest fairway woods to hit in all of golf, both off the deck and off a tee. There is nothing on the market that is longer or more forgiving.

  14. Hamish

    Jan 19, 2014 at 11:04 am

    My XCG6 15 Deg / Tour issue Matrix Red Tie 8Q3 Stiff Tipped 3/4 at 264cpm. Face cryo freezed.
    This Bomber is the best 3 wood I have “EVER” owned !!! Long, Stable, Hot, Massive Sweet spot, MOI

    The Big Cup Face off the tee, and can hit it off the deck 250,
    260 off the tee ‘like a rope all day long’…more accurate than my 3 iron

    I just cant imagine any more improvements!!!

    Tour Edge ‘are the real deal’…

  15. setter02

    Jan 17, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    For the love of god stop putting graphics on the crown of golf clubs. People know what they are hitting, they don’t need to look down and be reminded. If it is that important to their ego, they can just flip the club over.

  16. Jack

    Jan 17, 2014 at 11:56 am

    so which would have better success for a 12 hc who historically has issues hitting a fw off the deck?
    Thanks!

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Jan 17, 2014 at 2:46 pm

      The XCG7 has the shallowest face, which will probably be the easiest for most mid-handicap golfers to hit off the deck.

      – Zak

    • Lefty Light Hitter

      Jan 17, 2014 at 4:25 pm

      I’m thinking that none of these would be a treat to hit off the deck, but a beast off the tee. Agree?

      • james

        Jan 18, 2014 at 8:00 am

        Yes, and no…ithought the same and got the xcg5 11.5. The faces are so small its hard to get them goig off the tee.
        Just me two cents

        Galaxy tab . Still learning to type on this thing.

  17. Danny

    Jan 17, 2014 at 11:26 am

    When do these come out?

    • Keith

      Jan 17, 2014 at 11:49 am

      They’re already out. I’ve seen them at my local Golf Headquarters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Fairway Woods of 2017

Published

on

In this edition of Members Choice, we attempt to answer the question, “What’s the best fairway wood of 2017?”

Admittedly, it’s a bit of a loaded question since golfers use fairway woods for different reasons and in different situations on the course. Some use a fairway wood strictly as an alternative to their driver off the tee; other golfers use them almost entirely as approach clubs from the turf on long par fours and par fives; the rest use fairway woods for some combination of both situations. So are we looking for the longest and straightest fairway wood, or simply the most accurate and forgiving?

The best way to determine the best fairway wood, therefore, is to pose that question to golfers who have hit them all and let them decide. Thus, we have Members Choice: The Best Fairway Woods of 2017, where GolfWRX Members describe their experiences with the latest fairway woods. With in-depth descriptions from their testing, GolfWRX Members illuminate the pros and cons of each fairway wood, providing the real information you need when making your purchasing decisions.

Related

Our advice when reading through this story is to think about what you want from your fairway wood. Do you want max distance, max forgiveness, or a combination of both? The feedback from GolfWRX Members on each fairway wood will lead to toward a few models that match your needs and desires. Then test them out for yourself. Everyone interprets the performance of golf clubs differently, so personal testing and professional fittings are imperative, especially in this particular category. View the full results from the poll testing here

Note: Responses from GolfWRX Members have been minimally edited for brevity and clarity. 

Callaway Steelhead XR (4.08 percent)

069c87adb0c126e95bf2a5595d59a274

  • SwingMan: I recognize that the Steelhead XR is late to the game, having just entered the market, but for a club that does everything well for GI and Players (the + models), they are long rocket launchers. Light, hot feel with pleasing metallic crack, deep face for ease off the tee, low CG (center of gravity) for ease off the deck, rounded sole gives you versatility from rough and bunkers. Forgiving and long. J36 carbon weave crown moves weight low. Because of the deep face with lot of bulge you need to lay it on the ground and it sits square. Take care when you pick it up so as not to close it. I hit it long off the tee with an R-Flex, obtaining 260-270 yards under favorable conditions — this club produces an urgent, direct trajectory with loads of roll in the lower lofts. Off the deck, 220+ with light wind; against a strong wind, 200. This club is surprising. Even the 7 wood off the deck with a higher trajectory gives you great yardage. Only caveat is that if you are in low speed range and insist on a 3 wood, you may want to order a high launch shaft instead of the mid-launch Tensei. But that’s the same advice with all 3 woods — you must be able to launch them. Callaway has several no cost shaft options. Otherwise, go with the 5 and 7 woods, which are loooong and versatile. The + models, for players and pros, are more weight forward and fade bias and arrive with a 65 Tensei CK Blue fairway shaft — smoother than the CK Blue driver shaft.
  • DWtalk: I just finished testing the 15-degree Callaway Steelhead with the Tensi Blue shaft, and it’s a great club. It’s long and my misses are either a little right or left, but very solid. I also have a 15-degree M2 that is very good also with the stock shaft but I’m going to reshaft it with the Tensi blue. You couldn’t go wrong with either club.

Further Reading: Callaway upgrades a classic, introduces Steelhead XR fairways

Titleist 917F3 (5.28 percent)

e5b8f57429bd93d25c4727f12cad20e9

  • Peanut191: I thought the Titleist F3 was the best combination of looks and feel, but they didn’t offer a 16.5 version, so I ordered the M2 Tour HL. I thought the M2/M2 Tour were the best distance wise, with the Callaway Epic, then the Titleist 917F3 just behind.
  • II PigBimpin II: I used to be a Taylormade loyalist when it came to woods, but I recently switched to a Titleist 917F3 15-degree and it has single handedly put me in prime position to make three eagles within two weeks. Very predictable ball flight and distance, easy to hit off the deck.
  • DuckHook02: I did try the Titleist 917F2, and if I was using it off the deck more, I’d probably gravitate towards the F2 and it’s shallow profile. However, I like the more compact look of the F3 and the lower ball flight it produces.

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

Cobra King F7 (6.40 percent)

Cobra_King_F7_fairway_wood

  • Steveko89: I didn’t do nearly as much testing for my 3 wood after going up and down the racks picking out my Cobra F7+ w/ Hzrdus Yellow shaft. After settling on the driver, I said, “That 3 wood that matches looks pretty slick, let me hit a few with it.” and immediately fell in love. Has a nice traditional note at impact and the ball just flies off the face, especially with the weight forward. Probably could’ve tried a few different shafts, but the stock-stiff shaft works well enough and was able to find one used-mint on the bay for $150. Unfortunately, this was before the Cobra BOGO promo. Most of the positive shots that stick in my head from this season have come with the 3 wood, won’t be seeking out a replacement for a while.
  • carcharodan1977: Cobra F7 fairway, currently playing at 4 wood loft… it’s fantastic. Easy to swing, impact sounds great and it’s a rocket from the fairway and even bad lies. The baffler rails really work well. Such a forgiving club.
  • herbst20: Have played the Titleist 910 fairway woods since they came out. The Cobra F7 finally kicked them out of the bag. I have had an easier to hit whether it be off the team, fairway, or especially out of the rough. I love the baffler technology. I play it at 13 degrees because I am sporadic with my driver.

Further Reading: Cobra’s King F7 and F7+ drivers, fairways and hybrids

Callaway GBB Sub Zero (7.39 percent)

GBB_Epic_Sub_Zero_Fairways

  • Warrick: The (Sub Zero) 3+ was the first Epic in my bag, and it is never leaving. I have never hit a long club so consistently.
  • Dobbs983: This is a fantastic year for fairway woods. I game the Epic Sub Zero 15-degree, set to 14 degrees. Easy distance, mid launch and penetrating flight. Easy to hit off the deck and a tee. I can move it left and right, if I need to, but why bother when straight and long is so easy. The Titleist 917’s are both very close to the Epic SZ, but not quite as forgiving. They are the best looking of the bunch. The Exotics EX10 Beta is amazingly long and straight and the sole is fantastic out of the rough.
  • belacyrf: I currently game the TaylorMade SLDR fairway woods as I’ve never seen enough improvement from any new woods to make a change. However, IF I were to make a change, I would definitely move to the Callaway Epic Sub Zero. They are so forgiving and their flight is exactly what I like, plus they are long.
  • PreppySlapCut: I was very pleased when messing around with the Epic Sub Zero this week. I was able to launch the 13.5 degrees off the deck, which has literally NEVER been a strength for me. Very impressive stuff from Callaway. The Ping G400 also just seems like the next wonderful iteration from Ping.
  • kejoal11: I put the Epic Sub Zero 3+ in my bag and love it. Long off the tee, long from fairways. I love the ball flight and the fact that it doesn’t balloon on me. Very consistent with the club and by far my best purchase of 2017.
  • golftech: If you like smaller, traditional shaped fairway woods, then Callaway’s Epic Sub Zero 15-degree is the best I’ve played. For that matter, it’s the best 3 wood I’ve had since my Toney Penna persimmon in the early 80s. It’s versatile off the tee and the fairway. I’ve been hitting career shots all season including the 18th at the famous Monterey, CA course.
  • ago33: I’d choose the Epic Sub Zero over the M2 Tour. Adjustable hosel is better, looks better behind the ball and more forgiving.

Further Reading: Callaway GBB Epic and Epic Sub Zero Fairway Woods

Ping G400 (7.67 percent)

2c3897a81b330ab77066f311a9f212e9

  • Mwiseley10: Love my Titleist 917, I hit it so well off the deck I use it without a tee!
    The Cobra Baffler felt great and has good sound but didn’t purchase. Hit the Ping G400 this morning, it hits great but d*** that profile is low!
  • DNice26: I tried the Ping G400 against my Ping G, both using my own shaft… little to no difference. The G400 looks and sounds better, but any performance benefit seemed negligible from the Trackman numbers I saw. My swing speed is about 109 mph with the driver.
  • PrettyGood: Hit the new Ping G400 fairway this morning. My current 3-wood is the 2016 PING G series, at 14.5-degrees. So, between the two models: Turbulators on the G400 are definitely more pronounced. Footprint of the G400 looks bigger, and it’s a rounder shape somewhat (PING.com says G400 is ~12cc larger). Sole of the G400 does look a bit flatter, but no difference hitting shots. G400 face feels more lively, and it’s louder… but no more or less pleasing to hit, just different. Switching my own shaft between the two, performance looked pretty close… G400 maybe a shade higher, if anything. G400 headcover much nicer, big improvement. That’s about it.

Further Reading: Ping introduces new face material with its G400 Fairways

TaylorMade M1 2017 (7.88 percent)

66f064e40bdfe5b74d1885d31fd8976c

  • lowball5732: My TaylorMade M1 15-degree is a wonder! Either off the deck or on the tee — optimal performance for me. My wife swears by her M2. She’s straight and true!
  • Rdarling18: I really hit Taylormade’s entire M family pretty good. I went with the M1 because it was most consistent for me. However both M2 models (M2 and M2 Tour) are very long.
  • AWD430: TaylorMade’s M1 was giving better distance than M2 when I hit them. I do agree that the M2 head on this year’s model seems very big when hitting off the deck.
  • gpleonard: My two cents is the TaylorMade M1 HL 2017 is a monster both of the deck and from the tee… It is a go to club for me on long Par 5’s and on short Par 4’s off the tee.
  • Mob: I have the TaylorMade M1 2016 and tried it against the M1 2017 and preferred the 2016 model for some reason. I know that I am supposed to prefer the newer model, but I consistently hit the 2016 straighter. Distance was a wash.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M1 Fairway Woods

TaylorMade M2 Tour (8.94 percent)

TaylorMade_M2_Tour_Fairway_Woods_2017

  • AThompson_3: Best fairway wood by far is TaylorMade M2 Tour. Exceptional feel, workability, and forgiveness. Great off the tee while also able to launch the ball off the fairway very easily. Fantastic club. Expecting it be in my bag for years to come.
  • Bomber_11: TaylorMade’s M2 Tour would get all 3 of my votes if I could do that. Wins out on distance, accuracy, forgiveness, versatility, and feel.
  • Roadking_6: M2 Tour HL is an absolute beast this far (in my testing).
  • halfsumo: M2 Tour: best look, sound, feel and performance. M1: awesome look and feel, I just decided to go with a 3HL version and since the M2 Tour spins less, I went with that to counteract the extra loft. Mizuno JPX900: second best look and feel and best stock shaft of anything out there by far.
  • DeCuchi: M2 Tour. Higher launch and less spin makes it an excellent choice. Forgiveness is on par with other top fairways makes it the cream of the crop.
  • Scratchat50: M2 Tour HL with a Project X HZDRUS 75g shaft (6.5-flex, -1 inch under std). Been searching for a great 3 wood for over 10 years. This is it!
  • john443: M2 Tour is THE 3 wood of 2017.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M2 Tour Fairway Woods

Titleist 917F2 (10.13 percent)

8fcb175e48ccb351107fde2d208ed7e3

  • bazinky: I’ve spent years searching for a fairway wood that I could hit with a consistent shot shape/pattern, and I finally found it in the Titleist 917 F2.
  • tleader: I went from the Titleist 915F to the Titleist 917F2. Found them very similar, perhaps a slight increase in launch and more consistent across the face on mishits. Went with the 16.5-degree so it was an easy decision.
  • MJL313214: I’ve hit the 917F2 at 16.5 degrees a good bit. It’s crazy long compared to the previous fairway woods. I like the slightly bigger look than the 917F3.

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

TaylorMade M2 2017 (12.60 percent)

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Woods_2017

  • Gnomesteel: (The TaylorMade M2 2017 fairway wood is) long off the tee and easily hit off the deck with control. Best of both worlds.
  • kush614: My vote is for M2 2017, as well. Gaming a 15-degree M2 2017 with an Oban Kioyshi White shaft. Mid launch, low spin monster.
  • venturagolfer87: There’s nowhere even remotely close to me that has the M2 Tour, but my 3HL normal M2 is as close to automatic as I’ve ever been. I’ve never been able to hit 3 woods, to the point where for the last few seasons, the next club in my bag after driver was a 5 wood that was shortened an inch. The M2 2017 is somehow just as easy to hit, and looooooong.
  • johnnylongballz72: M2 3HL with AD DI 7X; probably the single best golf club I have ever owned.
  • qwetz: I’m playing a 3HL M2 with a Mitsubishi Tensei CK Blue and it’s just a bomber from the deck or the tee.
  • lordemsworth: How do those that have hit Epic fairway feel about the sound? That dull thwack is awful. As another opinion, I found the M2 2017 easier to hit consistently than the Epic fairway. Both from tee and deck.
  • Porsche928: I had the M2 2017 and it was huge too hard off the deck. Never hit the M1 2017 but had the old M1 2016 for a demo and loved it.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M2 Fairway Woods

Callaway GBB Epic (13.37 percent)

GBB_Epic

  • mcgem: Hands down, without a doubt, Callaway’s GBB Epic fairway is the best of this year’s crop.
  • Sean2: I have three Callaway Epic fairway woods and am quite enamored with their performance at 16/20/24 degrees. I am comfortable standing over the ball with any of these woods in my hands. I have no problem hitting the 16-degree off the turf and I find it a very good club on tight driving holes. The 7 and the 9 fly high and land soft.
  • aussieb: Tested the Mizuno JPX-900 fairway wood on a few occasions now and it’s really the best off the deck, adjustable from 13-17 degrees and the sliding weight dials it in, has a great stock shaft and sounds as good as it looks. Ping’s G400 was really solid and forgiving, didn’t spin too much and set up well for my eye. A bit of adjustability and stock Tour shafts are great. Callaway Epic had the smallest head and best ball speeds off the tee. I didn’t really care for the sound and lack of forgiveness compared to the previous two, was dead feeling but that’s mostly shaft I think.
  • leftshot: I went through a thorough fitting at Club Champion last month and had access to most of the heads on this list. So I know the answer FOR ME. Notably none of the top fits involves a club head with the standard shafts offered off the rack.  The results of my testing was:
    1. Callaway GBB Epic: Distance #1 (Tied), Dispersion #1, Off-center hits #1
    2. Titleist 917F3: Distance #1 (Tied), Dispersion #2, Off-center hits #3
    3. TaylorMade M2 2017: Distance #3, Dispersion #3, Off-center hits #2
  • rony10: Epic. Accuracy, forgiveness and flight, distance is very good to.
  • Benkross: I just put an Epic in the bag. I tried the M2, M2 Tour, M1 (2017 and 2016) and was playing a Titleist 915F and prior a 913Fd and 909 F3 before that. The Epic sounded the best and feels awesome. The 2016 M1 was the worst feeling 3 wood I’ve ever played. I’m replacing the shaft in the Epic so I’m excited to use it this weekend.
  • kgeorge78: The Epic looks much smaller than the M2 2017 for some reason and easier to hit off the deck.

Further Reading: Callaway GBB Epic and Epic Sub Zero Fairway Woods

Your Reaction?
  • 179
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW12
  • LOL11
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK35

Continue Reading

Equipment

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

Published

on

Pros: Dialing in trajectory and spin is more in the hands of the player than ever with SureFit CG adjustability. Feel and sound have improved, and 915 users will likely see a jump in distance.

Cons: If you preferred the black finish, you’re out of luck with the return of silver.

Who they’re for: Everyone who plays a fairway wood should give the Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods a shot. They provide everything most golfers want from a fairway wood.

The Review

  • Models: 917F2 (13.5, 15, 16.5, 18, 21 degrees), 917F3 (13.5, 15 degrees)
  • Release Date: Oct. 21
  • Price: $319 (MAP)

Right off the bat, you’ll notice a number of changes to Titleist’s new fairway woods: name, color, center of gravity (CG) adjustability, and if you’re really attentive a change in the Active Recoil Channel. I break down each of the major changes below.

Related: See the results from the Ultimate Titleist Driver Fitting Experience

45553844ca762713334d52991ad023be

What’s in a name?

In its most recent fairway wood releases — the 913 and 915 models — Titleist used the F and Fd naming system. “F” was a larger, more forgiving fairway wood that launched higher and spun more, while “Fd” was a smaller, deeper-faced, lower-launching fairway wood that reduced spin. It was a bit confusing, and didn’t mesh well with the D2 and D3 naming system the drivers were using, so Titleist went to F2 and F3, which is what Titleist used in previous models such as the 909.

If you’re confused: F = F2, Fd = F3 (easy to remember since this rhymes).

Now, the F2 (179 cubic centimeters) is the larger, higher-launching and more forgiving model, while the F3 (169 cubic centimeters) is smaller, deeper and more workable. The relationship hasn’t changed, just the names.

Sure thing

As with the 917 drivers, the 917 fairway woods have SureFit CG technology to give golfers the ability to tweak the draw/fade bias of the clubs. In the fairway woods, the SureFit CG system is also positioned slightly crooked, as seen in the driver, which has the same purpose; lower-spinning fades and higher-spinning draws. When in the draw position, the weight system will add spin to keep the ball in the air longer, and will decrease spin in the fade setting to keep shots from ballooning. The design also maintains the moment of inertia (MOI) of the fairway woods, keeping forgiveness high regardless of the weight setting.

In the SureFit CG system, weight is changed using interchangeable weights* or tubes, made of a mixture of different materials. The neutral weights have a uniform weight throughout, while the draw-fade tubes have a heavier side.

dcf3245b0a6d5114a07d9f29b280810c

A Peek Inside: A 14-gram, neutral SureFit CG fairway wood weight.

When adjusting the system, golfers should look for the “+” sign, which indicates a fade setting, while a “-” sign indicates the draw setting. Note that this is opposite of the 917 drivers, as the entry port is on the opposite side (toe side) of the club head in the 917 fairway woods. A solid red circle indicates a neutral setting. Like the 917 drivers, the 917 fairway woods also have Titleist’s 16-way adjustable SureFit hosel, which offers independent adjust loft and lie settings.

*Note: SureFit CG driver weights cannot be used in fairway woods, and vice versa, due to their different sizes. 

Active Recoil Channel 2.0

While the 915 fairway woods had an Active Recoil Channel behind their faces, designed for higher ball speeds on off-center hits, the area was hollow. The channel in the 917 fairway woods is filled with elastomer, helping produce more ball speed across the face and lower spin, according to Titleist. There’s is also a face insert with variable thickness for increased speed on off-center hits.

Another change for the better is the sound and feel of the 917 fairway woods. They have more of a muted sound and softer feel at impact, which is no doubt helped by filling the Active Recoil Channel. Another benefit is that golfers won’t need to frequently clean the dirt out of the channel, as they needed to do with 915 models.

Color

03c054da7f3fa3f4c5e6ea81c7a21ae4

Titleist’s 917F2 (right) and 917F3 fairway woods at address.

The “liquid slate” finish on the crown is a throwback to Titleist woods of yesteryear, which is something Titleist fans may very much appreciate. Some of the classic Titleist fairway woods, such as the 980F, had a similar gray finish.

Overall performance

So what’s to be expected of the 917F2 and 917F3 in terms of performance? According to Titleist, golfers hitting the 917 versus a 915 should expect higher ball speeds, a higher launch, slightly lower spin and 4-7 yards in increased distance. It just so happens I hit the 917F2 and 917F3 versus the 915F and 915Fd, and you can see the numbers below.

The Numbers

2017TitleistFairway

I took the 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods to the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., where I tested them against Titleist’s 915F and 915Fd models on Trackman with premium golf balls. The fairway woods were set to my specifications (C2 hosel setting, neutral weight setting in the 917 models) with the same Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana Limited D+ 80X shaft. Shots were hit with each club — order was constantly rotated, and outliers deleted — until 10 shots with each club had been recorded.

917F2 v. 915F:

  • The 917F2 generated slightly less spin (-60 rpm) and a slightly higher launch angle (+0.7 degrees) than the 915F.
  • The 917F2 offered more ball speed (+1.5 mph), more carry distance (+1.6 yards), and more total distance (+3.6 yards) than the 915F.

917F3 v. 915Fd:

  • The 917F3 offered slightly less ball speed (-0.8 mph), a slightly higher launch (+0.3 degrees), and a little more spin (+74 rpm) than the 915Fd.
  • The 917F3 increase carry distance (+4.3 yards) and offered more total distance (+6.3 yards) than the 915Fd.

Specs, pricing, availability

acd3f6ec76999ec0d6e51f0356ff2711

Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods ($319 MAP) will be available on Oct. 21 with the following stock shafts: Aldila Rogue M-AX, Fujikura Speeder Pro Tour Spec and Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana Limited D+, S+ and M+.

With the purchase, consumers will receive either a 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18-gram neutral weight (the 12-gram is stock) and a matching draw-fade weight. Additional weights can be purchased for $40, or SureFit weight kits are available for $180 with every weight.

The Takeaway

Titleist_917_fairway_woods_review_917D2_917D3

Any golfer with an older version of a Titleist fairway wood, especially one with a silver finish, will find the switch to a 917 fairway wood an easy and valuable transition.

Not only do the fairway woods offer CG adjustability for fine tuning trajectory, but they also have a softer feel and more muted sound than the 915 versions while providing more carry distance and more total distance. You’d be hard pressed to show me an all-around better fairway wood in the current market.

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 190
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW5
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB4
  • SHANK25

Continue Reading

Fairway Reviews

Review: TaylorMade M2 Fairway Woods

Published

on

Pros: Driver-like ball speeds in a fairway wood that’s forgiving, workable, and the more affordable option in TaylorMade’s 2016 lineup.

Cons: No adjustability. The sound and feel is different than other fairway woods.

Who’s it for: The M2 fairway woods can be played by golfers of all skill levels, from beginners to PGA Tour players.

The Review

  • Available Lofts: 15, 16.5, 18, 21, 24
  • Stock Shafts: REAX 65 (X, S, R flexes), many custom shafts available free of charge.

“1.49? Really? Again? Man, these new fairway woods are amazing.” That was me during my launch monitor testing for this review. I kept getting pretty high smash factors for a fairway wood. To quickly explain, smash factor is ball speed divided by swing speed, and the average PGA Tour smash factor for a 3 wood is 1.48.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_1

I am not a PGA Tour player, so getting a 1.49 the few times I did was pretty impressive, and shows an advance in technology — not that my swing has actually improved.

To say there’s been a revolution the past five years in fairway wood design is an understatement. Hotter faces are the norm now. I’ve actually heard people say they hit their 3 woods “too far,” which sounds absolutely insane. But with fairway woods the way they are now, many are providing the same relative ball speeds as drivers, and just as much distance.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_crown

When TaylorMade released the M2, there was some chatter that it was a price-point fairway wood, and it wouldn’t be as good as the company’s M1 since it didn’t have the moveable weights and changeable shafts. This is simply not the case. The M2 contains every bit of technology as the M1, and while I didn’t test them head to head, the feedback from most golfers has been that the M2 launches higher, spins less and offers more ball speed than the M1. For that reason, it will be the longer-flying TaylorMade fairway wood for most golfers.

When viewing the clubs in the address position, it’s hard to tell the difference between the M1 and the M2. The M2 has the “ball” grooves, where there’s a centering point of no grooves in the shape of a ball. The only other difference is the M2 has a new “fluted” hosel construction, which moves a few grams of weight lower in the club head, and is said to improve sound and feel. I’m also a fan of the black-and-white painted composite crown. It seems to give off a more compact feeling to me, and makes it easier to line things up.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_hosel

The face also sits square, which is a major requirement for me as well. I’ve bought and immediately sold 3 woods that have faces that are closed. I was actually worried about this, as in years past TaylorMade has sold a TP line of fairway woods, which have a more open face angle than standard models. There is no TP model in the M2 line, and what TaylorMade seems to have done is focused on making the M2 sit perfectly square.

The Results

M2v.VaporFairway

To do my testing, I took the M2 out to my course and played a few rounds, and then took it to the range and also had a couple of simulator sessions. The data above is from The Professional’s Golf Shop using Trackman and premium golf balls. The M2 was 15 degrees with a Fujikura Pro Tour Spec 73X shaft at 43 inches (untipped).

On Trackman, I was attempting to hit fade shots off the deck each time. The results are the 10 shots that best represented the fade. Overall, the numbers are pretty consistent. There were a few really good hits that made me say, “WOW!” But there were also several shots in this bunch that I hit thin, and I expected them to come up much shorter. That is until I got the results and was impressed that the shot still carried 225-230. I left those in, as I wanted to show how forgiving this club can be.

On The Course

On the course is where the M2 fairway wood really shines. Off the deck, I was getting great numbers on the simulator, but on the course I was hitting the M2 places where I have never hit a 3 wood before.

I came close to muttering those words “too far” at one point. I used it on a par 4 to stay short of water, and I ended up only a foot short of the hazard. We’re talking 280 to the water! And distance isn’t even the best thing about this club. Well, maybe … the distance IS pretty awesome. But there’s something else that’s really good, too. It goes back to the shape, sole design and face angle. I’m able to work this club with ease around the course. I can draw, fade, hook, slice, everything really easily with this club. Whether it’s from the tee box or behind 40 trees, I’m able to do some really fun things.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_faceBut I do have one negative. It has the same sound and feel as TaylorMade’s other M2 woods, and it’s something I don’t love. It almost feels a little hollow, and not as solid as other fairway woods. After awhile you do get used to it, and honestly I don’t think about it much now unless I hit another 3 wood right after it.

Comparison

As you might have seen in the data above, I was able to compare the M2 to my gamer, a Nike Vapor Fly (15 degrees with the same shaft, measuring the same length) both on the course and on the simulator. The only difference between the two clubs was that the Nike Vapor Fly’s shaft was tipped 0.5 inches.

Overall, they are pretty similar fairway woods. When hitting the fade shot on the simulator, they were almost identical. Both have great ball speeds, both are forgiving, and both pretty easily hit that shot.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_address

But on the course, the M2 ended up being a better club for me. The Vapor Fly has an open face angle, and it is harder for me to work shots both directions. I can hit fades with it all day, but I struggle to square the face and hit draws with it. The best hits on the simulator showed the M2 as the longer of the two, and that showed up on the course as well, especially off the tee. I thought I loved an open face, but it ended up not being good for me overall and my testing proved it.

Conclusion

The M2 is a fairway wood that anyone can play. It’s built with a square face, neutral weighting, and offers incredible distance. It should absolutely be on a list of fairway woods for any player to check out. It has a great combination of everything that I look for in a fairway wood. The feel and sound is the only knock I have.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”98″]

Your Reaction?
  • 127
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending