Review: Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons

by   |   November 8, 2012
mizuno 825 pro 2013
Review: Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons Rob Miller
Looks:
Performance
Feel/Sound

Summary: The JPX-825 Pro Irons continue to blur the line between game improvement and players categories. They do everything well, in a handsome, forgiving forging. These are all-round top performers. Solid, soft and deadly accurate.

4.5

Tech & player looks


Pros: Classy, satin-like finish. Fantastic forged feel. Scoring irons are have thinner toplines than previous JPX series. Excellent forgiveness for their size and better-than-average playability. Versatile triple-cut sole design.

Cons: Not a distance iron. Long irons do not have ground-breaking forgiveness. Completely usable by better players (those who have a handicap of no higher than 6), but some may be turned off by the thicker topline. No love for lefties.

Bottom Line: Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons blur the line between game-improvement and players categories. These are not ground breaking, but rather an enhancement of the previous JPX-800 Pros. That’s a good thing for these who are all-round top performers. Solid, soft and deadly accurate. While the recommended handicap range is 6-18, you can bet there will be even better players putting these in the bag.

Tested: Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons (4-GW), Standard Length, Loft, 2 degrees up from Mizuno standard with Project X 5.5 Shafts (Soft Stepped 1X)

About Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons: The Grain Flow Forged JPX-825 Pro pushes the design limits to achieve greater forgiveness and feel in this players game-improvement iron. The 4-7 irons offer a deep CNC-milled pocket cavity that provides 17 grams of discretionary weight that is used for extreme toe-heel weighting providing plenty of forgiveness where you need it. The 8-GW features a full cavity design with greater thickness behind the impact for a more penetrating and workable ball flight for pinpoint accuracy in the scoring irons. Suggested handicap range: 6-18 (My handicap: 7)

Click here to discuss the Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons and hear what other members are saying in the GolfWRX Forums.

Looks:

Designed to appeal to both the game improvement and traditional iron player, these hit the nail on the head. The not-too-big, not-too-small size appeals to a broad range of players. Previous offerings had cavity stampings that were bold and polarizing. The JPX-825 Pros tone this down a bit. The black cavity graphics are understated, but at the same time are edgy enough to hint there’s technology helping you under the hood.

2Y9G4739

The satin-like appearance enhance the technical look. I do wish Mizuno would change the font on the iron numbering a bit. Really, font? Yeah, that’s a little picky, but its squared-off, over-sized appearance is a little dated.

2Y9G4740

With iron forgiveness vs. size, there is always a trade off. Mass is needed all around to help with forgiveness, yet a better player is turned off by thicker topline. Well, Mizuno has fooled you this time and you’ll be glad it did. The mass is still there, but thanks to a clever topline bevel, it appears more like a traditional players iron. You’ll thank Mizuno later.

2Y9G4743

Performance:

I am a long-time Mizuno game improvement player, from MX-200 to MX-300 Pros to JPX-800 Pros. The latter were one step up from the MX series, and also taught me the importance of custom-fitting (read more on the Mizuno Performance Fitting System here). While these are a different shaft than my beloved 800 Pros, these were recommended by Mizuno and the performance reflected it.

mizuno 825 pro 2013

After four rounds of with the JPX-825 Pros, these perform every bit as well as the 800 Pro model they’ve replaced. You can work these a good deal, or play your natural shot and just fire away. Long irons (4-7) employ an undercut cavity design (thankfully not visible at address) which helps with forgiveness and a hotter face for distance.

2Y9G4741

I didn’t find any groundbreaking distance gains, but the consistency was top-notch. The 8-GW have no undercut cavity and are extremely accurate, no doubt helped by the cleaner, scoring iron shape. You can score with these clubs, so get the putter ready.

mizuno 825 pro face2Y9G4743

The flight seemed a little higher to me in the long irons than my 800 Pros. That’s a good thing as it helps stop the ball on the green. I had no problems hitting these lower. Low punches, especially with the scoring irons, were spectacular. They flew low and stopped quickly and were fun to pull off.

Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Iron Specs

Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Iron Specs

Feel:

We’ve all seen “Grain Flow Forged” proudly etched on the hosel of Mizuno forgings. They are some of the best feeling irons around. Feel is excellent and uniform with long and short irons despite the difference in the cavity designs. Somehow, these feel nicer than the JPX-800s they replaced.

These are more muted than a blade on mishits, but still provide great feedback at impact. If you flush one, you know it. Overall feel is excellent and uniform throughout the set. Not quite like a hot knife though butter, but very soft nonetheless. These are easily some of the best feeling clubs in the ‘players game improvement’ category.

Overall:

The JPX-825 Pro Irons continue to blur the line between game improvement and players categories. They do everything well, in a handsome, forgiving forging.

I consider myself a “recovering forged-iron snob.” There was a time I wouldn’t consider an iron that wasn’t forged. Now, I’ve come around to believe technology can help in all clubs, including irons. Multi-material designs and castings all have their advantages for sure, but Mizuno packs technology into a forged iron like no other. Forgiveness, workability and soft feel. When you flush one, you smile. That’s what the game is about.

More info on the JPX-825 Pros on Mizuno’s web site.

Click here to discuss the Mizuno JPX-825 Pro Irons and hear what other members are saying in the GolfWRX Forums.

About

Rob is a golf junkie that has been involved with GolfWRX since its inception in 2005. From designing headcovers, to creating logos to authoring articles to social media management to sales and marketing, Rob has done it all. Born and bred in NJ. Favorite golfers: Phil, Freddie. Favorite club: Driver.


36 Comments

  1. Dan

    May 10, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I’ve been playing the same course every Friday for over 20 years, averaging 85 or 86 over that time. I received my JPX-825 Pros on Wednesday, hit them at the range on Thursday, and shot 79 at the previously mentioned course on Friday. These are truly some fine irons. I hit them straighter, farther and higher than any set of irons I’ve ever owned.

    • Marty

      October 5, 2014 at 10:34 am

      A little advice; Love the 825 pro, got fitted at Edwin Watts, then went elsewhere for an Edel Putter, brought in the 6 iron and the fitter said something is wrong, the club is too heavy, initially he thought they were graphite heads w steel shafts, sent to Miz and they said THATS what was ordered, we changed out the shaft to a liter weight, picked up 9mph swing speed, went from 84 to 77. SWEET!!

  2. JLeclair10

    November 22, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    Best clubs ever, I can crush these-so forgiving and long. Thinking about putting these in the bag on tour.

  3. Matt

    October 7, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    I started swinging clubs about a year and a half ago and started playing rounds less than a year ago. I’m down to a 22 in that time, playing Adams Idea Tech A4-R. I hit the 825-Pros, and they really do feel good. I’d rather buy a club that will give me room to grow (with full understanding of the practice required), and I’m considering the 825-Pros.22 to 18 doesn’t seem like a tremendous leap, but I’m new to the game. I’m missing the most strokes off the tee, not in ball-striking; but I’d hate to jump into some clubs that could hurt my game.
    Thoughts and/or opinions?

  4. Stewie

    September 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    I LOVE the way they number their clubs!… I HATE those tiny little airy-fairy numbers on the rest of their line… Reminds me of penmanship class in fourth grade!… Give me BOLD!

  5. Damon

    August 30, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    I just picked up my 825 pros w/ aerotech i95x shafts that I had fitted at mk golf tech in SA,Tx and I’m very satisfied w the look, feel and weight. I switched from mp 60s w dyna gold s300 and found that the forged iron heads are similar but the steel fiber shafts w proper fitting is “the deal”. The ball speed was also hotter off the face in 825 pros over the mp 60s w my same swing speed. Being a 10-12 handicapper playing 1x week or so, I found the 825 pros just as sweet as Miura 505s and being properly fit for shafts I’m hitting 12+yards further w control and workability.

  6. Ed

    August 19, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I just put the JPX 825 Pro’s in the bagand after playing MP60′s for 4 years I find the difference in clubs like night and day JPX are much more forgiving. Don’t hesitate to try these if you are in the market for new clubs

  7. Chuck

    June 18, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    I purchased my 825′s around Christmas and have been using them since. The more I use the more I like. I do get better distance than my old Titliest 851′s. Had to go back and buy the GW for my 95-110 shots. I choke down and can control the distance very easily with 7I-GW. If you looking for forgiveness and consistent feel these will perform for you. I am hitting more greens than ever and a few more 2 putt pars never hurt!!!

  8. Adam

    June 11, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    Wow. Just played my new 825 Pros for the first time. No offense to my wife or daughter, but today was the happiest day of my life. I finally set down my pride, benched my mp59/69 combo set, and along with a new mallet (ugly as sin) putter, put these so called game improvement irons to the test. I normally fire a 74-76 at my home course from the back tees (72.4/144). I only played 9 today, but with no warm up shot a 34. Here is the fun part; This was just a test of my irons so I hit no more than my 4 iron even off the tee. These irons are amazing. They are not overly big and I say this being a snob when it comes to asthetics. I love my mp69′s and collect scotty camerons (own 7). But along with still looking nice, the irons are awesome. Mishits still reach the green and do not curve offline nearly as much as my normal misses. Distance is slightly longer but the main advantage is consistancy. My approach into #9 was 171. I misshit a 7 short and left a 20 ft putt. For analytical sake, I dropped another and flushed one, thinking it would go long in comparison, and left myself 10ft short. A diff of only 3 yds, are you kidding me!!!??? Maybe you ate a gluten for punishment but me, I’d rather score.
    I am sure there are other good “players GI irons” out there too, but do yourself a favor, swallow your pride, sell your blades, and get yourself some forgiving irons! And the 825 Pros are as sweet as they get!

  9. jim

    June 6, 2013 at 12:44 am

    Had the JPX-825 Pro’s custom fitted. Also hit the regular 825′s but the feel of forged was awesome and I hit the ball better according to the computer. Shot a 1-under round today (for 9 holes). My good rounds for nine have mostly fallen in the 3-over range. Also added the MP R12 Sand and Lob wedges. I love the look of the 825′s at address. The top line is the right balance between thick and thin.

    Previously had been playing Ping ISI-S irons. The feel of the 825′s when hit in the center really is like butter. Off-center balls also are not punished too badly.

    Do find someone good to fit you. I was surprised at the shaft I needed. I assumed I was an R flex, but needed a stiff. They used the same device on me I saw then use on Luke Donald in a Mizuno video in addition to the launch monitor, and bent the irons to match my lie angle.

  10. Phil

    June 1, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Just got these, hit the range and then the links. I have been struggling to find a new set ( played 762 DCI) for a couple of years.

    The problem is that all of the newer technology wants you to swing and hope the ball goes far and maybe near the pin. I am not a big offset player and like to craft a shot. Nothing crazy a fade here or the a punch or knockdown every so often. These clubs are great for that.

    I am very very satisfied with these. Found them to be very forgiving for a players iron (10 hcp, at best a 7).

    Distance? I picked up a club in this area as I was using some other irons of late (not the dci’s). I think they certainly help although I don’t really need the distance more so the accuracy.

    In all these irons feel excellent, allow you to work it a good amount and feel like laser pointers. I am good for another 5-7 years. Play well!

  11. john

    April 27, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    I just bought Mizino 58 I love the look and feel of them but the rifle shaft on the 4-6 iron have a high kick point,where I think it should be a lower kick point.The 7-PW feel pretty good.Im thinking about putting a True Temper Multi Step Lite Steel Golf Shaft in the 4-6 irons I’ll post something after I give that a try.I wish I would have bought the JPX-825.

  12. Stephen

    April 23, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    I have had my Mizuno 825 Pros for a couple of weeks now and I still love them. I got them with the S300 SL shaft and picked up some yardage compared to my former Ping G20s. I fell in love with these as soon as I took one down from the rack and noticed the leading and trailing edge grind. The course I play regularly is traditionally soft and a little sticky. I thought this grind would be an improvement in playability over the “backhoe” sole of the G20s. I think Mizuno makes some of the finest forged irons in the world. This is my second set after my MP33s. You cannot go wrong with this brand.

  13. jomo1960

    April 2, 2013 at 10:30 pm

    Had tried the JPX 800 (not pro) last year, they felt terrible, in every aspect!! This year, the 825 Pro was a real surprise; these felt great, and looked great! Just got fitted for a set, cant wait to try them out next week… On the simulator, already gained 7-10 yards, and ball flight was perfect for me (mid flight) with sidespin below acceptable levels (less than 800 rpm). The best thing about these clubs are that hey are not tweaked with stronger lofts, giving you the impression that you’re hitting them longer!! No sir, the lofts are the same as my MX-23′s from 7 years ago:))

  14. Ruddy

    April 1, 2013 at 11:57 am

    I just hit the 825′s and the 825 Pros at a custom fitting with the Mizuno rep. The Pros felt great, you could tell the difference between forged and cast. The Pros heads were slightly smaller. That said, I flushed every strike with the Pros. They felt sweet. However, before I hit the Pros I had hit the 825s. They were definately 10 yards longer, but so what? But the surprising stat: the height. The standard 825s were longer AND HIGHER. So I went with them. As far as game improvement or not, who cares? If I hit great, no one will ask.

  15. Stuart

    March 14, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    I am trying to decide between the Ping i20s and the Mizuno JPX 825 Pros. I like both of them more than my current Ping G20s, which have a huge sole, and am making better contact with the ball more consistently with both of irons. Since I am only a 13.5 index, I think I should get the irons that are more forgiving as I will likely be happier with them in the long run (and on the course rather than the range). Which irons do you think would be more forgiving the i20s or the 825 Pros?

    • shawn

      April 1, 2013 at 11:08 am

      I’m considering the same two sets. I’ve hit both and am a slight lean to i20s yellow plus1/4 inch. I’m playing AP2s now and have been for the past couple of years but feel like need something a little more forgiving. My handicap is 8.

    • Uzi

      June 20, 2013 at 2:07 pm

      Stuart. I am a 6 handicapper. I was playing with Titleist 695CB and had never considered another Iron other than Titleist. But lately I was struggling with my carry distances on longer irons (age slowing me down I guess – I ain’t no spring chicken anymore :) . So I went and found a highly recommended fitter in town. After speaking to him and trying various offerings that he though would be good for me, settled on a Mizuno mixed bag. I currently am playing MP59 (8-PW), MP53 (5-7), JPX 800 Pro (3,4) and couldn’t be happier. MP 59′s are very accurate and allow me to play all the shots that I want 165 yards and less. MP53 are good and compared to CB’s have restored my carry distances. But the biggest jackpot is my JPX Pro’s in 3/4 irons! You may want to consider doing something similar with Mizunos. I am still playing my Dynamic Golf X300 shafts. I am not a ping fan so my vote will not be for it.

      Cheers and happy golfing.

  16. Jory

    January 15, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    Ok – been playing with Tommy Armour 845′s for the last 5 years. Great clubs actually. However, my handicap is about 15. I consider myself a good ball striker, but will consistently have a blow up hole per round and wish I putted better.

    The 825′s look huge and ugly compared to the 825 Pro’s to me. How will it be coming off the Tommy Armour’s with smaller heads to these 825 pro’s?

    • George

      March 13, 2014 at 9:27 pm

      I bought my my son a set of TA 845s when he was 12, he’s now 23 and won’t even look at another set of clubs. I’ve hit his and they do feel like butter when hit right. I play the 825 Pro’s and I don’t see they have the feel of the 845s, but I hit a lot more greens than my son. I played the 800′s before I got my 825 Pro’s and I definitely had an increased in distance by at least 15 yds. I could hit a five iron to a 200 yd par 3 and stop it on the green. I can tell you honestly that the original 800s have no feel at all. It is very forgiving. You can hit a toe or heal and hardly know it,

  17. Steve

    January 6, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    Looked at the JPX-825′s. Went with a set of Wishon 560 MC’s with Rifle shaft. Just as good a feel but with better distance at a lot less $$$. Anyone thinking of getting “fitted” should look at the wishon golf website, find a certified fitter and see for yourself.

  18. D2Doug

    December 12, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    I have the prior generation JPX-800 PROS. But I started with the JPX-800, and thought maybe if I pushed the envelope, I could make the JPX-800 PROs work for me. I have had pretty good success with the short clubs. But 4-6 have been a little tough except when I am really “on”. Lucky for me, I have both the cast 800s and the forged 800s, so I play a combined set. I don’t worry about a degree here or there or even combined shafts (graphite and steel). But if I had to choose one set, it would be the standard cast JPX-800 or higher. Fantastic irons all the way through the set. But the pros, regardless of what generation sure are “buttery” smooth for feel.

  19. Joe Caddie

    November 30, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    As far as the recommended handicap: you need to be a 12 or better to get the best out of these sticks, just my opinion , I’m a 10.

  20. Joe Caddie

    November 30, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I never felt i was good enough to hit blades. Have had every TM model in my bag for the past ten years .My ball striking has improved now that i am retired,so I decided to go to my local fitter and try the latest forged irons a try. The JPX 825′s hit the mark for me because they are a perfect “crossover” from pure improvement to players. Love the look and the Mizuno forging is first class………..give them a try before you buy another…. Good Luck in 2013

  21. Joe Golfer

    November 30, 2012 at 12:24 am

    Considering these are the “pro” version of the JPX-825 irons, it would be nice if the lofts were closer to what a “pro” iron would be. Let the standard version have the strong lofts.
    These “pro” irons have a 45* PW, which seems strong for a tour version.
    It’s supposed to be made for the discerning player who wants consistent distance gaps more than ridiculous yardage and bigger gaps between their short irons.

  22. psychsurfer

    November 29, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    I put these irons in my bag a month ago and have played over 20 rounds with them. I like the look at address. The feel is buttery, and they are very accurate. I have little appreciable loss of distance on off center hits. I am an 8 handicap and I am sure these clubs will be in my bag for many seasons to come. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a solid performer with a good bit of forgiveness.

  23. dunn2500

    November 22, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    you cant blame mizuno for your disappointment in a set of irons……….cause bunch o people loved an iron so you bought it and are disappointed?……….i love mizuno’s stuff but did not like 800 pro…..glad they improved on it, imo it is much better feeling and looking………i am also glad they find ways to tweak and make better so R&D keeps growing

    mizuno is the best domestic iron manufacturer out right now i believe but i do not like all of their irons………thats why there are different models cause one is not supposed to suffice everyone……i pick my irons based off what i like not what i have read about.i have no idea who these people are that are starting threads and reviews, just because they liked it doesnt do me much good….

    this jpx i could game and may very well give it a go shortly……..very good improvement hit all the areas i wasnt fond of the 800′s

  24. mark

    November 17, 2012 at 8:23 am

    in response to chris, there is absolutly no difference in performance distance / dispersion between 800 pro and 825 pro the only differences are purely cosmetic. the bevel edge on the sole of the clubs supposedly creates less turf drag but unless you are a robot doubt you would notice the difference in performance the thinner top line is actualy no thinner than the 800 pro they only put a 45 degree bevel on the back edge so it appears thinner but the mass properties remain the same. as for anything relating to feel is purely subjective what feels “soft” to one person may not be your idea of soft. also in response to Mike when u are in the “players” iron bracket as you are blades ect the manufacturer is designing these clubs with the intent that the player is doing most of the work not the club although they may offer some forgivness with slight cavity backing whatever you need to be hitting it flush and with good speed for the irons to work as they should if you are looking for forgivness you may be looking in the wrong direction, i think with marketing in this age manufacturers tell use technology is advancing every 5 minuets but in reality it is not gaining us that much distance / accuracy, you need only look in nealy all tour players bags for proff of this if the tech was realy advancing as they say it is why is it tour players on average change their irons maybe 3-4 years actaul models of irons ofc they will need new models of same iron due to the fact they wear out clubs way faster than the average golfer

  25. chris

    November 15, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Disappointed in Mizuno. Cranking out bs clubs like TM. I bought the 800 Pros and was told they were the best thing since buttered bread. Now their lead guy “Chris” is in videos talking about how much better the 825 pro is from the 800. Just marketing bs. Oh…and the 59 seems like a loser too as everyone on tour dropped it quickly when the 64 came out. Way to rip us off Mizuno.

    • Mike

      November 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      I agree Chris, II bought the MP 58′s and I don’t think any one on tour played these, not that it matters, but it was the top players iron on Golf Digest hot list. After playing them for two years, I’m not really happy with them. I thought they would be more forgiving, but that’s not the case. I love the forged feel and that’s what turned me onto these sticks. I’m a 7 handicap and am looking for something different, any suggestions?

  26. Casey

    November 9, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Probably not available for left handers like the JPX 800 pros. That sucks.

  27. Rob Miller

    November 9, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Soft stepping is done to make the shaft play slightly weaker to its designated flex.

    In this case, the 3 iron shaft is installed in the 4 iron head, the 4 iron shaft in the 5 iron, and so on.

    You can also soft-step a more than once. 3 iron shaft in a 5 iron, etc.

    Hard stepping is the opposite. A 4 iron shaft is placed in the 3 iron head, etc.

    • Mike

      November 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      Will a club fitter know if I need this done?

      • Jake

        November 15, 2012 at 12:36 am

        Yes, a qualified clubfitter would absolutely be able to find the proper flex for you. This may include soft stepping or hard stepping.

  28. Mike

    November 9, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    What is soft stepping?

  29. Geemer

    November 8, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    Just picked up my 825 pro’s and had the chance to play with them today. I must say the review is spot on. The forged feel is what Mizuno specializes in. Do not let the “game improvement” title fool you. These irons are just as workable as any other player iron on the market. Mizuno doesn’t cease to amaze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>