Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Wilson FG Tour V4 Irons

Published

on

Pros: Forged cavity back irons with a compact shape that use tungsten weights to boost launch and forgiveness.

Cons: They don’t feel as soft as other forged cavity back irons in their class. Slightly weaker lofts (47 degree pitching wedge) cause them to fly shorter than leading models.

Who they’re for: Better players looking for a set of modern, forged cavity back irons that are barely bigger than blades. They offer excellent workability and trajectory control.

The Review

If you’re a user of forged cavity back irons, you may have noticed that the amount of new models in the category have decreased. Modern iron design has trended toward larger, hot-faced irons in recent years, which have their perks — but they’re not for everyone. There’s a group of golfers who aren’t looking to hit their irons any farther. They’re satisfied with their current distance and accuracy, so they’re more concerned with looks, feel and trajectory control. If that’s you, read on.

IMG_6132

Wilson currently offers three models of forged irons, the most intriguing of which is the FG Tour V4. They strike a sweet spot between the company’s larger FG Tour M3 irons, which trend on the larger side of players irons, and the company’s FG Tour 100 blade irons, which are best left to the most accomplished ball strikers — particularly those with shallow angles of attack.

I first hit the FG Tour V4 irons at the 2015 PGA Merchandise Show, and was quite impressed. I had a set built to my specifications, and spent the late winter and early sping testing them against similar models. My thoughts are broken up into the categories below.

Feel

IMG_6113

Isn’t this every better player’s first question about a set of forged irons? The FG Tour V4 irons are forged from 8620 carbon steel, which is unusual. Most forged irons are made from softer metals like 1020 or 1025 carbon steel, and for that reason, the V4’s feel slightly firmer than leading models. The feel is consistent across the set, however, even in the 3-7 irons, which use 18-gram sole weights to lower their center of gravity (CG) for a higher launch and more forgiveness.

The slightly firmer feel didn’t bother me, and it’s definitely not a deal breaker if you’re interested in these irons. Users will still be able to tell when they slightly mishit a shot, which is exactly the feedback they’ll want.

Looks

The FG Tour V4 irons are one of the most compact forged cavity back irons on the market. Their most unique aesthetic features are their thicker-than-normal top lines, which gave me the feeling that these irons were more forgiving than their size indicated. More on that later.

It’s the absence of anything eye catching that makes the FG Tour V4 irons one of the most stunning new forged cavity back irons on the market. There’s minimal offset — almost none, actually — and the hosels of the irons blend beautifully with the top lines of the irons at address. The toe shape of the irons is neither boxy nor round, and the milled grooves sit centrally in the iron heads.

IMG_6115

The aesthetics of the cavity — the part you don’t see at address — are quite bold. Manufacturers have trended toward silvers and grays with brighter accent colors in recent years, so the heavy black/gold look was more polarizing with my range buddies and playing partners than I anticipated.

Distance

The best indicator of the distance of a set of forged cavity back irons will fly is their lofts, and the FG Tour V4 irons are on the weak side. With stock lofts, the 3 iron is 21 degrees, the 6 iron is 31 degrees and the pitching wedge is 47 degrees. For that reason, golfers will likely hit the FG Tour V4 irons a little shorter than more popular models in their class such as Callaway’s Apex Pro (29-degree 6 iron) and Titleist’s 714 AP2 (30-degree 6 iron), which have similar blade lengths and also use tungsten in their designs to boost forgiveness.

Spec Chart

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 4.59.48 PM

Click to enlarge

The good news is that the FG Tour V4 irons seem to fly a little longer than their stock lofts indicate, particularly the mid irons and short irons. I was able to hit those clubs just as far as my Nike VR Forged Pro Combo irons, which are 1-degree stronger in each club. But I struggled to get the same distance from the FG Tour V4’s 4 and 5 irons. The easy fix is to bend those irons — or even the whole set — 1-2 degrees stronger if you’re looking for more distance. Since the FG Tour V4 irons have very little offset, such a small change won’t be uncomfortable at address. I actually prefer a little offset in my irons, but again, that’s something personal to me.

Forgiveness

Golfers who play compact, forged cavity back irons know that when they mishit a shot, they will suffer a penalty. The FG Tour V4’s are no exception, but they do an admirable job of making slight mishits fly more like perfect shots. They certainly play “bigger,” or more forgiving than their size indicates — particularly in the 3-7 irons, which use 18-gram tungsten weights to lower the CG of the irons for a higher launch. Eighteen grams is a lot of tungsten, a material that currently carries a high price tag and usually results in a set of irons that cost more than $1,000. It’s impressive that Wilson has priced a stock set of the FG Tour V4 irons (4-PW, GW) at $899 with True Temper’s DG Pro shafts.

Wilson’s FG Tour V4 Utility

Many modern iron sets have a progressive design, which means that the 3 iron is the largest iron head in the set, and the clubs get noticeably smaller as the clubs get shorter. The size of the FG Tour V4 irons is very constant, which means that if you choose to play a 3 or 4 iron from the FG Tour V4 set, you will be hitting a very small club. For that reason, I suggest golfers consider Wilson’s FG Tour V4 Utility iron as the longest iron in their set, because it is a stunning performer. And regardless of what irons you play, you should consider the FG Tour V4 Utility if you’re into driving irons.

I tested a FG Tour V4 Utility — 3 iron (21 degrees) — and found that it gave me all the distance I could want from a club of that loft. It didn’t seem to matter if I slightly heeled or toed the club. It flew about 235 yards every time, which was the exact distance I needed it to go based on my set makeup. Like the rest of the FG Tour V4 irons, it was also quite workable, and easy to hit high and low, or draw or fade.

The FG Tour Utility iron is a little chunky at address when compared to slimmer models such as Callaway’s Apex UT, TaylorMade’s UDI and Titleist’s 712U, but it feels quite soft for a hollow-cavity iron and offers plenty of feedback to the player. It’s also a great option off the tee and the ground, thanks to its smart sole design.

Odds and Ends

Better golfers sometimes prefer specialty wedges over the pitching and gap wedges that come with irons sets, because the head sizes of specialty wedges are generally more compact. Their sole grinds are also usually more versatile on partial shots, and on pitch shots around the greens. The small size of the FG Tour V4 wedges, as well as their excellent sole designs, however, does not necessitate a switch.

IMG_6119

The sole of a FG Tour V4 pitching wedge.

I found the tour-inspired grind of the FG Tour V4 pitching wedge to be all I needed from a 47-degree club. Like all the FG Tour V4 irons, it resisted digging on full and half shots. It also resisted “sticking in the turf” on pitch shots. That performance can be attributed to the sole of the irons, which is heavily cambered, or rounded, and it offered great performance from both the fairway and rough.

With both the longer and shorter irons in the FG Tour V4 set set, it was easy to vary the trajectory. And because of their solid construction, I found no “hot spots” in them, and the wedges were no exception.

The FG Tour V4’s gap wedge comes stock at 51 degrees, the point at which most golfers start to look at specialty clubs. If that’s more of a full-shot club for you than a chipping club, I’d recommend using the set gap wedge. If you’re more interested in using a gap wedge for less-than-full shots, go with Wilson’s FG Tour TC wedges, or another specialty wedge of your choice.

The Takeaway 

The FG Tour V4’s are an elite set of forged cavity back irons, and will impress golfers who may have not otherwise considered an offering from Wilson. While they don’t feel quite soft as leading models, and don’t fly quite as far, they’re one of the most forgiving irons we’ve tested in their compact size.

Trajectory control is a breeze with them, and turf interaction is also fantastic. That’s what you’d expect from a set of irons that were designed with the assistance of Wilson’s Tour Staff. But thanks to the addition of tungsten to the soles of the long and mid irons, you don’t necessarily have to be a touring pro, or even a scratch golfer to play them.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”28″]

Your Reaction?
  • 238
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW21
  • LOL7
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP4
  • OB4
  • SHANK23

Zak is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX.com. He's been a part of the company since 2011, when he was hired to lead GolfWRX's Editorial Department. Zak developed GolfWRX's Featured Writer Program, which supports aspiring writers and golf industry professionals. He played college golf at the University of Richmond (Go Spiders!) and still likes to compete in tournaments. You can follow Zak on Twitter @ZakKoz, where he's happy to discuss his game and all the cool stuff that's part of his job.

18 Comments

18 Comments

  1. Joe

    Jun 25, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Zach is wrong. Distance is excellent and on par with my Ap2’s after much testing… and they actually feel very soft. Surprisingly so. Feel is one of the highlights of this iron.

  2. ronb

    Apr 28, 2015 at 5:52 am

    love the Wilson d-100 irons and driver

  3. Tom Duckworth

    Apr 25, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    I have read or watched every review on these since last winter. In the one real video review I found the tester was hitting them farther than his Ping set, it may have been the shafts. I think the point with clubs like this is hitting the same distance time after time. If you needed distance help why would you even look at clubs like these. These seem like a big change from the V2s that I play now. I would like to try them out. The sole grind and tungsten weights make them very intriguing. As far as resale value Wilson makes great clubs and they don’t come out with a new set every six months. I read somewhere that some Adams staff came over to Wilson I don’t if that is true bit these show some Adams influences.

  4. Medway lefty

    Apr 23, 2015 at 4:57 pm

    Purchased a set of the V4 after having played the V2 and the V4 are an improvement from the previous model , soft feeling great consistency ,great shaft the tungsten weights help get the longer irons airborne quicker.As for the resale value if you find a great set why sell them .?

    Good job Wilson

    • Roosterredneck

      Apr 25, 2015 at 9:46 am

      great comment, I buy to play , not to trade. I want to use them for as long as I can or until the grooves are worn away.

  5. Ben

    Apr 22, 2015 at 12:07 pm

    They look great at address but I find the cavity a little generic looking. Can’t wait to try them.

  6. christian

    Apr 21, 2015 at 7:39 am

    So, sensible lofts are now considered a “con”? Beacuse they don’t “fly as far”? It’s a ding ding world

    • marten swe

      Apr 22, 2015 at 4:10 am

      I could not agree more. It’s bad enough on the shovel side of things, but strong lofting for “players” forged irons? Come on golfwrx.

      • christian

        Apr 22, 2015 at 4:59 am

        Yeah..At the very least do NOT mention it as a negative thing. Completely ridiculous. A short comment like “the lofts are more traditional so you might need to tweak your club choice if you have been using clubs with strengthened lofts” would be the sensible thing to do. And not give in to the “massage the egos of todays golfer by jacking lofts” mentality.

  7. Golfraven

    Apr 21, 2015 at 7:32 am

    I am sure these are nice, forgiving irons but not great to look at. Replace this sicky looking brown/gold color with something else. Plus make it more mat then gloss.

  8. joe

    Apr 21, 2015 at 1:53 am

    Nice irons and great review but resale value and company credibility are lacking (I know Wilson was the club back in the day, but it isn’t 1967 anymore).

    • Pat M

      Aug 2, 2015 at 10:48 pm

      I buy clubs to play with and clubs that help my game. I do not buy them to trade them or sell them a month or two later on ebay. Wilson makes very nice irons.

  9. Ryan

    Apr 20, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    The V4s are fantastic! I’ve been doing some demo testing of 7 irons in our fitting bay and the V4s are right up there. I’m going to hit them again because our rep was able to drop off a C-Taper for me to try. I really didn’t think that they were that small and I didn’t see any significant loss in distance over my current set, but the lofts are pretty equivalent. Wilson is making good products and people should be willing to give them a shot!

  10. Ryan

    Apr 20, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    The V4s are

  11. Roosterredneck

    Apr 20, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    I have tried these and they are better than this reviewer has reported.
    I do own and play the V2 Wilson Staff irons and Love them. These V4 irons look as good and play as good as my V2 irons . Wilson is on the right track and if you haven’t tried them , then find some and you too will want them after hitting them. GREAT WORK WILSON.

  12. Rich

    Apr 20, 2015 at 5:48 pm

    Nice to see Wilson getting some air time. These are nice irons but as a club ho, I just worry about the resale value. Well done Wilson.

  13. killerbgolfer

    Apr 20, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    I”m not in the market for these but i love the reviews you do here. Great work.

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Apr 20, 2015 at 6:25 pm

      Thank you, killerbgolfer. We appreciate the praise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 134
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending