Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Mizuno MP-59 Editor Review

Published

on

Review by GolfWRX Editor Chisag

PROS:
With their thin topline and minimal offset, the MP59’s are one of the best looking irons in the address position on the market, if you like the look of a traditional muscle back blade. They are very forgiving of slight mishits. The sole glides through the turf and trajectory control is outstanding. Suggested index range of +2 to 13 make them an iron for a wide range of players.

CONS:
If your miss is a thin shot and you prefer a reassuringly thick topline and generous offset, you will probably not appreciate the MP59’s. With a 46* PW, lofts may be a little strong for a players iron. Other than that it is difficult to find any con’s with these irons!

BOTTOM LINE:
A softer forged feel as opposed to a clicky feel, for anyone that loves the beauty of a muscle back blade with some game improvement playability, yet all the maneuverability you have the skill to pull off. These replace my previous favorites, the MP63’s with the same look/feel and a little added forgiveness. What’s not to like? 2012 GolfWRX Editors Choice & Community Choice award winner!

Click here to read the discussion from golfers like yourself in the forums

___________________________________________________________________

LOOKS:

Stunning. The shape of the MP59’s is prefect to my eye. From the beautiful tear drop shaped pw to the transitional 8 iron and on to the 4 iron. As an old school player, I love a thin topline and minimal offset. I strengthened mine by 1* and the offset was reduced even further. The hosel transition is also blended perfectly, with no visible hump that I find distracting. I have to admit I was not a fan of the stainless steel medallion that covered the titanium insert, but after getting used to them, it has grown on me and I actually like the look. It is very unique. The sole is narrower than the MP63’s, which surprised me a little.


PERFORMANCE/PLAYABILITY:
The MP59’s offer the kind of control normally found in a muscle back blade. Living in Chicago, the winds are almost always a factor. Yesterday into a 20mph headwind from my normal 8 iron distance, I hit a 5 iron knockdown that never got above 20 feet and nestled about 2 feet from the pin. The aggressive sole grind allowed my 5 iron to glide through the turf and produced a very shallow divot. I did not want to ‘squeeze’ the ball resulting in normal spin and the MP59’s allowed me to put it back just a little in my stance and trap it just enough to control. Placing the ball slightly forward in my stance and trapping it, I was able to launch the same 5 iron very high riding the wind to the front fringe to a front pin at my normal 3 hybrid distance.

The standard trajectory is a little higher than my MP63’s. Yet the middle index player that loves the look and just wants to hit it high and straight will be able to play them as well. The titanium insert is responsible for much of the forgiveness. Forged into the head to give it a solid carbon steel feel, weighting is moved to the heel and toe. The only shot unaffected by the forgiveness is a thin shot that stings your hands just like a mb blade, so these are not irons for a sweeper. But shots hit a little high on the face or a little toward the heel and toe suffer very little in terms of distance or direction. These are irons that provide all the playability you have the skill to pull off. It is no wonder Luke Donald put these in his bag. But while forgiving in a good players hands, they will not help the bigger misses that the high index player is likely to make.

Click here to read the discussion from golfers like yourself in the forums

FEEL:
If you have played Mizuno MP irons, you know they feel unlike any other irons. Even with pure titanium forged into the muscle, the MP59’s have that magical Mizuno feel. 1025E Select Steel combined with Mizuno’s patented Grain Flow Forging are responsible for the legendary feel. The Primary forging shapes the head. It is aged and heated at an elevated temperature before the first precision forging that ensures the precise head shape. The second and final precision forging tightens the structure and further aligns the grain.

It produces a ball melts into the head kinda feel. Some prefer a clicky, harder feel to their forged irons and the MP59’s are certainly not that. I ordered mine with KBS Tour S-Flex shafts adding to the soft feel. Nice to know the KBS Tours are a no charge option. One nice thing about the MP59’s is you can tell when you miss it just a little as they provide enough feedback to let you know how well you are striking the ball.

OVERALL BOTTOM LINE:
I’ll admit I shyed away from the MP59’s because of the titanium insert. I already had MP63’s I was very happy with, and felt the insert would take away from the performance. I was oh so wrong. The MP59’s are what I would consider to be slightly more forgiving MP63s that interact with the turf even better.

I met Lou Cesarek for my fitting, an outstanding Mizuno Rep whom I have talked with on several occasions in the past, but I had him go through his normal routine acting as if I knew very little. It is a fascinating process when combined with the Shaft Optimizer. Just 4 or 5 swings and the rep guides you through the entire process, Lou made it seem like I was fitting myself. I am an experienced clubbuilder and built my MP63’s plus ½”, 2* upright and shafted with KBS Tour S flex soft stepped once. I did not share any of this information with Lou, but the analyzer came back with the exact same recommendations right down to soft stepped once! It was also nice to hear the Shaft Optimizer said my specs and numbers were identical to Luke Donald (with a little lower swingspeed).

So after we went through the fitting process the only thing left was to put in the custom order. Mizuno has a 2-3 day turnaround on custom orders, the fastest in the industry. If someone gets fit on a Saturday or Sunday they will have their iron set to play the next weekend. I put my order in on Tuesday and they arrived at my front door Friday morning. This was a normal order with no rush processing or special treatment. Really? I was just blown away by that turnaround.

Performance, feel, look, fitting and order/delivery speed should put the MP59’s at or near the top of a very short list. I just can’t recommend the MP59’s highly enough and will rotate them this summer with a set of AP2’s having the same specs. I have included some pictures of the MP59’s. Because they are extreme close ups, it makes the topline appear thicker than it is in person, but I wanted everyone to get a look at the perfect tear drop shape at address. I hope you enjoy them!

Click here to read the discussion from golfers like yourself in the forums



More Tech Specs:

The MP-59, the next generation of our award winning Ti Muscle Technology, delivers full cavity forgiveness in a player’s half cavity design. During the elaborate Grain Flow Forging process, the pure Titanium material is forged into the muscle of the MP-59 to deliver a 5% larger Sweet Area compared to the MP-58, the iron that debuted Ti Muscle Technology while taking home “Editor’s Choice” in Golf Digest’s 2010 Hot List.

The lightweight characteristics of the pure titanium allows for the ideal amount of thickness behind the impact area to deliver consistent solid feel while simultaneously providing a dramatic increase in perimeter weighting for enhanced playability.

To date, only Mizuno’s patented Grain Flow Forging process can deliver this technological advancement that produces these amazing gains in forgiveness, all within a compact, traditional head shape.

Forged Ti Muscle™ Technology delivers increased forgiveness and solid feel in a player’s head shape.
Scientifically designed to optimize sound and feel at impact utilizing modal analysis and Harmonic Impact Technology (H.I.T.).
Patented Grain Flow Forged 1025E “Pure Select” mild carbon steel and pure titanium combine to provide the ultimate soft, solid, and consistent feel.

Your Reaction?
  • 68
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW17
  • LOL6
  • IDHT8
  • FLOP17
  • OB6
  • SHANK39

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. MattSihv

    Aug 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    I can’t stress enough how much these irons did for my game. I played cavity backs until I could shoot 80 consistently. I was nervous switching to a players iron, but now I can work the ball in high or low, draws and fades are effortless. When I do find myself in trouble, I am able to pull off creative shots that I could not easily pull off with my cavity backs. Feedback on off-center contact is excellent, but off-center hits are not rewarded. There is some forgiveness, but expect to lose 20+ yards on mishits. Striking a pure shot is the best feeling in the world; the feel is crisp and light, the ball explodes off of the face. I get the feeling of a surgeon when I am locked in. Very precise tools from Mizuno.

    • dman

      Feb 13, 2014 at 2:10 am

      Guess what? These are also cavity backs.

      • MattSihv

        Jul 19, 2014 at 12:43 am

        I guess we know what the “d” in dman is for… What a douchey comment. They are more of a muscle cavity, but yeah, not everyone who wants workability can hit blades, bud…

  2. Izzat

    Apr 18, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    mizuno=irons and i think the mp59’s is real proof that mizuno still leads the industry in this field.

  3. adam

    Dec 20, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Went from the Titleist 690’s I had hit for years got these for Christmas and love them… they feel like butter… the ball jumps off the club with ease… I can go harder if I need with the confidence that I will pull the shot off… game changer for sure…. and it doesn’t hurt that they look great.. couldn’t be happier…

  4. Dark Elf

    Dec 1, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Got these last June to compare with my mp 32’s of 5 years. Standard spec on 32’s, +.50, 2* up on 59’s. S300 on both. These are a big deal for me and took a couple or more rounds to dial in. Hotter off the face than the 32’s, maybe a little higher launch, maybe half club longer, but still soft Mizuno feel. They are surprisingly durable showing no wear considering I play almost everyday in season. I can hit the 4 iron way high or flatten it out for more roll. These are easy to work both ways. The stock DG s300 shaft seems to fit me well. Bottom line… there is a lot of good equipment out there but my money buys Mizuno irons. They’re that good. Man those 64’s look sick!!! Maybe 7,8,9,P

    • Shaheel

      Dec 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      To know how far you need to drive the ball, compare the pros yard drive with yours.John Daly’s top shot 414 yardsSean Fister 406 yardsTiger Woods avegeras 320 yardsJason Zuback avegeras 360 yardsThe critical area to work on is your core (mid-section). Your core drives the swing and develops all the power. You’ve got to strengthen this area from a rotational standpoint to improve your driving distance.I hope that helpsGood luck

  5. Paul Mardon

    Nov 10, 2012 at 2:37 am

    Buying a set after being fitted. Tried 2 other clubs from the Mizuno range, the Nike Combo, new Adams etc and these just were the best feel and gave me the best results in backspin, side spin, distance and spread of shots. May not suit everyone so go and get fitted.

  6. Scott Anderson

    Sep 4, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Dumped my Titleist AP2 712s and picked up the MP 59s this afternoon after hitting them on the range for 4 days. Its all about the feel…with no effort the distance and direction is unbelievably consistent. I’ll keep you posted when I play my first round with them Friday. I’m predicting a 4 to 5 stroke improvement in my handicap…I’ll keep you posted.

  7. JAMES

    Sep 3, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    I’m a 3 right now and usually play between a 3-5 handicap and was playing Callaway X-22 tours before switching to these. After about 4 rounds with these irons I was sold.

    They’re as forgiving as my tours and the feel is like night and day!

  8. Blopar

    Aug 4, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    Loving mine for the last month-got custom fit on the launch monitor at Golfsmith. No wonder Luke Donald, probably the best iron player in the world has them in play!!!..

  9. Mike

    Jul 19, 2012 at 3:19 am

    So I just got my MP59’s in the other day, let me first say I did alot of research before buying and have never even owned Mizuno anything in my life and actually wanted the AP2’s to win the contest, but these things blew everything away!!!! I was astonished..I laughed and read somewhere that after each swing you feel like smoking a cig, funny but true…I got mine in standard length, 2 degrees upright, fitted with the TT Dynalite Gold XP S300’s very lively shaft and I tried about six other shafts the DNA gizmo told me either the XP’s or Project X. The project x felt like a 2×4 yuuck!!! also tried KBS not too bad but Dynalite was perfect launches mid to high but I liked the flight…Anyway, I say all this to say, you know you read about these reviews and guys say first day out shot some crazy score and your like yeah whatever,,,folks I am hear to speak the truth and nothing but the truth and like I said never even hit Mizuno gear before,,,I took them to the range on monday for about an hour or so, was turning them over like it was nothing beautiful soft draws and easy fades on demand, next day straight to the course shot a 38 on the front and a 36 on back a 74 I was like seriously!! Guys I normaly shoot in the mid 80’s these things were lasers!!!!! pure confidence and to think I was always intimidated by Mizunos…Bottom line they got it right with this model…..I am hooked!!!

  10. Larry

    Jun 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Demo’d these MP-59s with 300 shafts the other day. Great set-up straight off the clubshop floor. I’ve been playing Titleist 681’s for about 10 years now, and Wilson FG-17 ProStaff blades for about 10 years before that. I wear ’em out before I invest in new clubs. These MP59s are much easier to hit than traditional muscle backs. More forgiveness, but still correct top thin line and offset. Perfect first blade for someone stepping up from GI’s, or someone (like me) who has traditionally played blades, but has a demanding day job. I think this will be my set-up for the next 5 or 10 years. I can no longer turn my 3 and 4 iron effectively like I used to, but these were a little more workable than my 681’s. Here’s the new projected set-up: MP-59 5-9, with my trusty Titleist ZB pitching wedge, Mizuno MP-11 56 and 60, a couple hybrids I can turn (including rescue), my RBZ 3 Wood and Driver, plus my TM spider ghost putter (love that waffle iron!). That set-up should get me to 50 with a decent game.

  11. Brian

    Jun 14, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Have had MP 59’s for about five months now.
    Just love them. They are about one club longer than the ap’s they replaced.
    The only negative is that the seven iron shaft has lost all it’s crome from the club head to about 8 inches up the shaft.
    These are the np 95 shafts.
    Anyone else having this problem?

  12. Greg

    Jun 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    I own them and love them. I would recommend them to anyone.

  13. Steven

    Jun 12, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I’ve had my MP-59 irons for a bit less than two months. I’m hitting more greens and my USGA Handicap Index has gone from 12 to 10…the trend is down! I was tested and custom fit using the Mizuno gizmo that attaches to the shaft when you swing. I was fitted with NP Pro 95 stiff flex shafts and my irons are 1 degree upright. I love the look and I love the results. My set is 4-PW. I added three Mizuno wedges.

  14. James

    Jun 12, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    I have played, mp 60, mp 63, mp 68 and mp,59 all with DG x100 shafts, I play of a 1 handicap . Was a 4 handicap for 8 yrs. mizuno are all great, and to me the MP 63 is the best of the lot, 59 are great but I cannot say they are exceptional. I recently bought a set of Miura 202 CB irons with DGTT x100 shafts, in 3 weeks I drop 3 shots. They are very much the same feel as Mizuno but the shape of the club, the sole and consistancy is something I have not experienced before. Yes they are expensive, but worth the money, but to me Mizuno is a great brand and have the top clubs for every handicap level.

  15. Gio

    May 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    Played my first round with my Mizuno MP59s today and I am very pleased with them… I am coming from MP62s, the 59s feel more responsive and more forgiving than the 62s while keeping all the player type iron attributes. I also like the compact head size in the short irons compared to the 62s.

    Very happy with the 59s, they will be my gamers until I wear them out.

  16. Jpubs

    May 26, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    Just bought the mp 59’s at golf town. Have played 3 rounds with them. They are even better than any of the reviews claim them to be!! I’m a 10 hndcp and my confidence increases with every swing of these babies. The guys at Mizuno have nearly perfected the acoustics and feel. Both are soft but yet powerful. Even mishit shots carry a ridiculous distance. I paid $1000 for these bad boys and would have gladly paid double.

  17. FG

    May 16, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Hit it once, it feels so buttery. So much softer than TP rac MB, 710 CB and MP32 i used to play. Considering to replace my 710CB. Any more reviews pls?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 133
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending