Connect with us

Equipment

Mizuno MP-69 Irons Review

Published

on

by floyd

Introduction:
This in my non-biased review of the Mizuno MP-69s.  First I must say that I have played Mizuno blades on and off for many years. I have played the MS/MP-9s, MP-11s. MP-14s, MP-29s, MP-33s, MP-27s,MP-63s and my favorite TN-87s. They all were great feeling and top notch quality irons but I always found something I didn’t like. Either they had to much offset or too round or too square looking. So in nutshell, I have been well aware and kept up with Mizuno irons for many years. For the past three years I have been playing Bridgestone/Tourstage blades and CB’s. I have playing the MP-69s for a few weeks (about 15 rounds) now and have practiced with them extensively.

Pros:
On April 23, 2012 I met with Mizuno to get a complete fitting for a set of MP-69s. It was very impressive, especially the shaft optimizer.  After an extensive two (2) hour fitting session I was fitted with the KBS Tour X, standard length, standard grip, and 1* upright. It was an awesome experience! After I left the session, Coby (with Mizuno) sent me an email and told me I would have the irons on the April 30th.  Well, he was correct, they were on the door step. One thing I found out about Mizuno is they are very detailed about their fitting and they will not tell you what you want to hear. They will tell you the facts. They will fit you with what will work for you.

Now to the irons.  These irons are things of beauty.  Really too beautiful to hit. What I really like about them is there is minimal offset — especially in the short irons. The head shape has a soft roundish look which I really like a lot.  The heads took me a little to get use to because of the size. They are somewhat small but very confident-looking.  The first iron I hit was the 8  and it was love at first shot. The MP-69s have the traditional buttery feel like as usual. In fact I believe they have the buttery feel of the TN-87s. I was a little concerned with the sole width. They are thin, but after a few shots the concerned disappeared quickly.

Cons:
As a +2.1 GHIN, these irons are perfect. For the higher handicapper ,it might not be the best choice because of the small head, thin sole and very little offset. I have thought long and hard and cannot say one negative thing about these irons.  Maybe the only thing that was not ideal was several of the grips were installed a bit crooked.

Quality:
As for quality , the MP-69s get an “A”. The swingweights on all irons were D3. All the lengths were spot on. All the lofts and lies were spot on. I must say I was really shocked about the lofts and lies being spot on.  This is the FIRST time ever that the loft and lies were spot on after getting fitted.  Very impressive. The only thing that was a little less desirable was there were a few grips that were crooked.

CLICK HERE TO DISCUSS THE MP-69S IN THE FORUM

Review:
MP-69s are grain flow forged with 1025E “Pure Select” mild carbon steel, 4D muscle design delivers unmatched ball and trajectory control by maintaining the perfect COG design in each club head.

Looks:
The looks of the MP-69s are stunning. Pure beauty. Shiny chrome with soft edges. No fancy or gimmicky looks. Very minimal offset with a smallish-type head. The leading edge has been soften some to prevent digging. The soles look thin but surprisingly very workable. I really like the edge. They have a nice round and soft transition rather than an abrupt edge. Mizuno went all out on these irons, paying a lot of attention to detail.

Performance/playability:
I practiced extensively and played about 15 rounds with these. To be honest at first I was very intimidated because of the size but after one hit I was in heaven. The performance is absolutely top notch. The sole design cuts through the turf without digging. They are very easy to hit any type of shot — fade, draw, high, low — Really easy to manipulate the ballflight. After hitting a lot of balls, I figured out the only way to miss the sweetspot is to miss the ball completely. Sound strange but that is what it came down to for me, in fact to me the MP-69s are easier to hit than cavity backs. I really like the sole design, when I think of thin soles I think of digging into the ground, the sole design is thin but will not dig unless you want it to, very easy to hit out of divots and deep rough.

Feel:
The feel is what is to be expected from Mizuno, soft and buttery, to me they very comparable to TN-87s, which to me is the all time best feeling iron. Don’t get me wrong, all Mizuno irons I have had were soft and buttery when struck but to me I feel like the 69s are the best they have made in years. Mizuno did a great job building the 69s.  All the irons have a consistent swingweight of D3. All I can say is the MP-69s have impeccable feel. I have played many irons over the years and to me these are the best feeling blades since the TN-87s.

CLICK HERE TO DISCUSS THE MP-69S IN THE FORUM

Overall bottom line:
Years of playing on and off with Mizuno’s the MP-69s are the best blades they have put out since TN-87s. I had planned on playing these for a few weeks and putting the Bridgestones back in the bag, BUT that did not happen. The MP-69s are the gamers and the Bridgestones are a memory. If my review sounds like I am loyal to Mizuno, but I have no loyalty to any company. I use what works for me. It has been many years since any iron just shocked me with the feel, playability and quality….the MP-69s have done that.

Check out all the pics…

CLICK HERE TO DISCUSS THE MP-69S IN THE FORUM

Your Reaction?
  • 31
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW17
  • LOL3
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

17 Comments

17 Comments

  1. Greg Berlin

    Aug 13, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    I purchased a set on a whim after playing my old ping eye 2 abd callaway diablo forged. After playing those two interchangeably, both I found had pluses and weaknesses although both very good sets of clubs. These mizunos mp67s are absolutely incredible! I’ve never hit a set of irons better than these. Everything you said hit nail on the head. I haven’t found them harder to hit than any cavity back, but instead easier for me with more distance on both. I have the x100 tour issue shafts 1/2″ long in length d3 swing weight and they are incredible. The feel, the distance, the look, etc. I’m in love for the first time ever I think. I figured if I didn’t hit them well, I’d just sleep with them because they are quite possibly the sexiest irons I’ve ever seen. I highly recommend to everyone who loves golf to at least give these a try at your local range or store. There’s no way you could be disappointed. I may buy a 2nd set to keep when I wear these out.

  2. Andrew Diesel

    Jul 25, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    I just got the mp 69s today and I experienced everything that was said in this review. They are unbelievable!

  3. Chad

    Feb 1, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    I put these in my bag on Jan 1. These irons are as pure as it gets. To me they felt much better than the mp64s and slightly better than the 712MBs. They really aren’t that hard to hit either. You have to hit it pretty far of the toe to get punished. The best part is flighting the ball. Very easy to play with the heights and spin on each shot. I did lose 5 yards cause the lofts and shafts aren’t jacked up. I could always turn them down a degree if it bothers me. +1.7 if it matters to anyone.

    Oh, and they are absolutely gorgeous. It’s like getting to play with Brooklyn Decker a couple of times a week.

  4. Daniel

    Jan 22, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Hey, I play off of 10 at the moment , am a pretty decent ball striker, would these clubs help my game or am I getting ahead of myself?!

  5. Fred

    Dec 17, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Just got my 69s – 1′ upright, KBS Tour C-Taper X-flex. Been playing MP60s for over 5 yrs now – haven’t been impressed with new irons until the MP69 came out.

    WOW – great sticks! Assume the shaft is a big factor, as I was in DG X100s before, but impressive bump in workability, variability of flight, & feel @ contact.

    I play between a 2-5 GHIN Index, and haven’t had any probs with the aggressive optics (topline, offset, head size) compared to my MP60s

    Will be working on getting yardage gaps right over the winter, as the specs are about 1′ stronger than my 60s.

    Net/net: I HIGHLY recommend these irons for any better player, Dont get wrapped around the axle on the hdcp guidelines- if you are consistently making good contact with forged, cavity back, perim weighted sticks, you will manage the transition to the more optically aggressive 69s just fine.

  6. Jim A

    Nov 10, 2012 at 9:54 am

    I really didn’t find them to be all that small. At least they were bigger than my Titleist 681s.

    Anyway, you really can’t appreciate Mizzy’s grain flow forging until you hit them in 40-degree temps. I waited all season to get the right temps to compare the GFF to my Titleist 681s, 690s,, KZG ZOs, and old MP-33s. When we finally got a sunny day with temps in the low 40s, I hit the range. I beat about 80+ of those hard-as-rocks off-season range balls with the 6-iron from all five sets. By comparison, the MP-69 felt like I was hitting ProV1x balls off turf in mid-season temps. And it was easily 5-8 yards longer than all the others.

    At first, when the MP-69s first came out, I loved the 4-D concept because they gave me the trajectory of my low-muscle 690s. But I was iffy about the offset. Minimal as is might be, I don’t like more than 2mm in the mid and long irons, which is why I tended to favor my 681s or ZOs. But when the weather turns cool, the thin misses of my picker/slider swing would be too punishing.

    But after playing over 20 rounds with the MP-69s (four in late season temps), the offset isn’t an issue in the least bit as the face is easy to manipulate regardless of which way I’m working the ball.

  7. Riley

    Oct 14, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Been gaming these in the 8-PW along with the 59’s in longer irons. I wish I would have gotten all blades. When struck well they are so pure. Nothing more rewarding then sticking one tight.

    • Chance D

      Feb 20, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      The mp59’s are still considered blades. Just a bit more forgiving.

  8. Matt

    Sep 12, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Im a 3 handicapp and am looking for new irons and i really love the look of these irons. Do you think im good enough to have success with these irons?

    • Terry

      Mar 19, 2013 at 11:00 pm

      I have two sets of MP69, one with Dynamic Gold S200 and the other with KBS tour s. I’ve been playing with them for about 6 months now (USGA 7.5 handicapper). I don’t find them difficult to hit at all. I love their sharp look which gives me that I could really cut grass behind a ball. I also have Callaway Razr X forged, which is excellent irons too, but hardly play with them since I got my hands on MP69. You should definitely try! No problem for bogey player or better player.

  9. Jake

    Jul 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I never smiled for 45 minutes straight until I took these clubs to the range.

    UNBELIEVABLE!

    My last blades were Hogan Apex irons and they don’t even compare to the feel and workability of the MP-69.

    You will not go back to a cavity-back after you hit these.

  10. Mick

    Jul 5, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Awesome irons…but probably only suitable for the top 20% of tour pros. Anyone not named Luke Donald or Sergio Garcia would be better off with something more forgiving if he is really looking to improve his scores. Otherwise, a dream for equipment junkies and vanity handicaps everywhere

  11. RJ

    Jun 29, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    I found this article to be spot on. I’ve been using the Bridgestone J38s over the last 12+ months and I had the same reaction when using an MP69 demo 6-iron at the range. I took the 53, 59, and 69 to the range and the 69 is hands down the best of the three. The 53 has a bit of a dull feel, the 59 is a bit too firm, and the 69 was quite a surprise.

  12. David

    May 28, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I also have to say that I could’t be happier with the irons, amazing!!

  13. David

    May 28, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    I have a mix of mp 69’s and 59’s and had the same problem with the grips!

  14. Goober

    May 21, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Crooked grips would’ve made me crazy.

  15. Dark Elf

    May 20, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Well done Hipcheck. You could do this for a living. MP59’s should be here first part of the week. Having second thoughts after reading your review. And I would have saved $100. 5 years MP32’s and still amazed with the feel, performance, value and durability-still look great. Maybe 69’s 7-PW. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

American Express, Abu Dhabi Golf Championship Tour Truck Report: BK to Srixon? MCA has a ton of new shafts, Rickie goes graphite

Published

on

TaylorMade

Most of the big action for Team TaylorMade is taking place in Abu Dhabi with Rory and Tommy in the field. After extensive weeks of testing, this is what they have in the bag this week

Tommy Fleetwood WITB

Driver: TaylorMade SIM2 (10.5 degrees @8.5)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana DF 70 TX (tipped 1 inch, 44.75 inches)

3-wood: TaylorMade SIM2 Rocket 3 (13.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana DF 70 TX (42.5 inches)

5-wood: TaylorMade SIM2 (19 degrees @18.5)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana DF 80 TX (41.25 inches)

Irons: TaylorMade P7TF (4-PW) 
Shafts: Project X Rifle 6.5

Wedges: Callaway MD5 Jaws Raw (52-10S, [email protected], 60-08T)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue  S400

Putter: Odyssey White Hot Pro 3
Grip: SuperStroke Mid Slim 2.0

Grips: Golf Pride Tour Velvet Cord (D, 3W, 5W, 7W, and wedges), Iomic Sticky @1pm (irons)

Ball: TaylorMade TP5x ’21 Proto

Rory McIlroy WITB

Driver: TaylorMade SIM2 (10.5 degrees @8)
Shaft: Fujikura Ventus Black 6 X (45.5 inches, 59.25 lie, D4)

3-wood: TaylorMade SIM2 (15 degrees @13.5)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White 80 TX (43.25 inches, 58 lie, D4)

5-wood: TaylorMade SIM2 (19 degrees @ 18.25)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White 90 TX

Irons: TaylorMade P7MB (4-PW)
Shaft: Project X Rifle 7.0 (6.5 in PW)

Wedges: TaylorMade MG2 (52-09SB, 56-12SB, 60-08LB)
Shaft: Project X Rifle 6.5

Putter: TaylorMade Spider X Copper (34.25 inches, 2.5 loft, 70 lie)

Ball: 2021 TaylorMade TP5x (#22)

Grips: Golf Pride Tour Velvet Cord (58R 1+1, logo down)

Matthew Wolff WITB

Driver: TaylorMade SIM2 Max (10.5 degrees @9)
Shaft: Graphite Design Tour AD TP 7 TX

3-wood: TaylorMade SIM2 Titanium (15 degrees)
Shaft: Graphite Design Tour AD XC 8 X

Irons: TaylorMade P7MC (3-PW)
Shafts: Project X 6.5

Wedges: TaylorMade MG2 (50-09SB, 56-12SB, 60-09LB)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100

Grips: Golf Pride ZGrip Cord (+3 double-sided tape)

Putter: TaylorMade Spider X Proto (33 inches, lie at 70, 3.5 loft, D4)
Grip: TaylorMade Red/Black

Ball: TaylorMade TP5 ’21 PIX

Other TM news 

Doc Redman put the new Aldila Ascent Red 70 TX in his SIM2 (60 TX pictured below).

Sepp Straka put the new MCA Kaili White 60 TX in his SIM2.

Titleist

The Fujikura Ventus Red trend continues with Russell Henley moving from his KBS TD to Ventus Red 7 X in a TSi4.

Tyler Duncan was testing a custom K Grind lob wedge. He was inspired by Kevin Na’s win and looking at Aaron Dill’s pics on IG. Can you blame him?

Justin Thomas (Abu Dhabi) moved out of Ventus Red 6 TX (tipped 1 inch) in his TSi3 (9 degrees) into a Graphite Design Tour AD IZ 6 X. According to my source, JT was looking for a specific feel with the driver and also one that dialed in the launch windows on a little cutter he has been working on. We will keep you updated if it sticks or if any of the info changes.

Callaway

Akshay Bhatia put the new Apex Utility Prototype in play with a KBS Tour Hybrid Prototype 105 X shaft. Shay also put the new Epic Max LS driver (9 degrees @8.5) with a Project X HZRDUS Smoke Green “Hulk” 75G 6.5 TX.

Kevin Na tested Callaway’s Epic Max LS (9 degrees) with a Graphite Design Tour AD GP 6 X. No need to panic, that original Epic gamer ain’t goin’ anywhere till it keels over and dies.

Phil Mickelson was spotted testing a Fujikura Ventus Black 6 X shaft in a Mavrik Sub Zero. Not confirmed if it will indeed go in play.

Ping

Scott Stallings (non-staff) put a Ping G425 LST (10.5 degrees @11) driver in play with an MCA Kaili White 60 TX (tipped 1 inch @45.25).

Abraham Ancer (non-staff) also converted to the Ping G425 LST (9 degrees @7.75) with an MCA Tensei AV Raw Blue 65 TX (tipped 1 inch @45).

Cameron Champ lost his clubs en route to Palm Desert and the Ping Tour squad had to build a brand new set of sticks from scratch, top to bottom. Thankfully the gamers showed up and Cam was left with a fresh new backup set.

Srixon

Rumor has it that former world No. 1 Brooks Koepka has inked a deal with Cleveland/Srixon to play its Z-Star XV ball, ZX7 irons and Cleveland Zip Core Wedges. Koepka showed up to Palm Desert with a new set of irons with Tour Issue X100 shafts, a Srixon utility, and his trusty Nike Vapor Pro 3-iron and TaylorMade M5 driver with an MCA Diamana D+ Limited 70 TX shaft. We will continue to update to confirm or deny the rumors. Awesome news for Srixon and BK if true.

Cobra

Rickie Fowler made some significant changes to his bag coming into Palm Desert. The Cobra staffer put the REV33 MB’s back in the bag this time with a fresh set of Mitsubishi Chemical MMT 125 TX graphite shafts. Fowler, who has tested quite a few different shafts over the years, going from KBS C-Taper S+ to Tour Issue X100, loved the integrity of the MMT’s.

In testing, they tried a set that was soft stepped as well as the current set that is straight in. The overall takeaway was integrity on mis-hits and hitting a very specific flight window all while keeping spin the same. Fowler also had the new Cobra RadSpeed Driver in the bag with a Mitsubishi Tensei Orange 60 TX shaft.

Jason Dufner put the new Aldila Tour Concept 60 TX in his Rad Speed Driver (70 TX pictured below).

Free Agents

Scottie Scheffler finally swapped out his TaylorMade P730’s for a brand new set of P7TW’s (5-PW). Like his older set, they come fully loaded with True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100 shafts. Scottie did keep his Srixon Utility 3-iron and Z785 4-iron in the bag, however.

Newly minted free agent Ryan Moore showed up to the Desert with a bag only a true gear junkie could love. The six-company bag featured a TaylorMade SIM Driver, TSi2 3-wood, Srixon hybrids, Mizuno MP-18 irons, and Cleveland Zip Core wedges.

Paul Casey put the Titleist TSi3 driver in the bag with a Mitsubishi Diamana D+ Limited 70 TX shaft.

KBS seeded out a new Proto graphite shaft. The yet-to-be-named new edition to the TD line has a higher modulus material on the bottom third to increase stability and lower torque. The feedback with the original TD from players with fast speeds: it needed to be stiffer. This “newer version,” which will probably only come in the category 4 and 5, is very firm.

Patrick Reed went back to his Ping G400 LST driver—that’s all on that.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 33
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

Rickie Fowler spotted with graphite iron shafts (Mitsubishi MMT) at The American Express

Published

on

When it comes to equipment stories, The American Express this week at PGA West is the gift that keeps on giving. Our newest scoop is that Rickie Fowler is taking after another Cobra staffer (aka “the big golfer”) and has made the switch to graphite shafts in his irons.

From the photos captured from his practice round on Wednesday, it appears that Rickie is using Mitsubishi Chemical’s MMT shafts in his custom and yet to be released Cobra Rev33 irons.

This is not the first time Rickie has switched iron shafts in the last 12 months. He was a long-time user of KBS C-Taper before switching to True Temper S400s, and now it appears he is looking at graphite as his next frontier.

This is a developing story and we are working hard on getting all the details and specs of this equipment change but for more pictures of Rickie from The American Express, check out the gallery below.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

2021 FootJoy HyperFlex with BOA

Published

on

FootJoy is celebrating its 75th year as the number one shoe in golf, and to celebrate designers are continuing to push the boundaries of comfort, support, and technology with the release of the all-new 2021 HyperFlex with BOA.

The HyperFlex is two years in the making and features a number of new technologies to provide the stability golfers require with the out of the box comfort they demand.

“They look and feel so athletic. They are super comfortable the moment you put them on.”
– Rafa Cabrera Bello

HyperFlex with BOA technology

WRAPID Fit Technology: BOA is a staple footwear technology, but the designers at FootJoy wanted to take its capabilities further and make it more comfortable. The result is an asymmetrical configuration that ensures a snug comfortable fit but reduces unwanted pressure on the top of the foot. It enables the shoe to move with you, wrapping your foot for complete security, all while providing powerful support through the swing.

Stratofoam Cushioning: This is a proprietary foam blend that is used in the midsole to offer the perfect amount of walking comfort while still providing the right amount of support to reduce fatigue.

OptiFlex outsole –  The design winds through the length of the sole to naturally flex as you walk and still offer torsion control through your swing when needed.

“This new outsole technology is designed to mimic the natural flexure of the foot, so not only are you getting a great walking shoe, but a shoe that will maximize the ground force throughout every movement in the golf swing.”
-Chris Tobias, Vice President, FJ Footwear.

Waterproof Technical Mesh Upper – The Hyperflex is going technical to maximize comfort by pairing a breathable knit mesh-lined upper with a waterproof membrane to regulate foot temperature in any weather while also keeping your foot dry.

Price and availability

The new Hyperflex with BOA, along with the standard laced model will be available starting February 1, and will be priced at $179.99 with the Wrapid BOA system and $149 for the traditionally laced model.

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending