Connect with us

Shaft & Grip Reviews

Review: Aldila Tour Blue and Tour Green shafts

Published

on

Pros: Cool graphics and a smooth feel that’s consistent in both models.

Cons: High price ($349).

Bottom Line: Need to hit it lower? Try the Tour Green. Need to hit it higher? Try the Tour Blue.

Overview

The Aldila Tour Green and Tour Blue are direct descendants of the company’s hugely popular “NV” shafts, which have been a staple on the professional tours for almost a decade. But shaft technology has come a long way in 10 years, and so have the materials and processes that were used to create the Tour Green and Tour Blue shafts.

The graphite fibers used to make the shafts are between three one-thousandths and five one-thousandths of an inch thick, which creates more consistent wall thicknesses throughout the shaft, and also reduces the amount of glue needed to hold the fibers together. That allows the shafts to be made stiffer, lighter and lower in torque than previous models.

Like the NV shafts, the new models use Aldila’s Micro Laminate Technology (MLT), which means that extremely thin, strong layers of graphite were stacked on top of each other to create the shafts. That gives them a smooth feel, and according to John Oldenburg, vice president of engineering for Aldila, the most consistentcy of any shafts his company has ever produced.

4ec2abe761ec51dbc3ea23d7dc500a4b

The Tour Green and Tour Blue shafts are also designed with a balance point that is slightly closer to the handle than the original NV shaft, which helps balance out the weight of today’s heavier driver heads and gives golfers the opportunity to play the longer-length shafts (between 45 and 46 inches) that have become common in the golf industry without increasing swing weight to intolerable levels.

Both shafts carry an MSRP of $349. Check out the specs and review below.

Tour Green

Tour Green Specs

Tour Blue 

Tour Blue Specs

Performance

The Tour Green has a stiffer tip section than the Tour Blue, making it launch lower and spin significantly less (about 500-to-700 rpm less on average for me). For that reason, it makes sense as a driver shaft, or as a fairway wood shaft for golfers who struggle to control spin with their fairway woods. It was also a major improvement of Aldila’s RIP Alpha shafts (one of my favorites), launching about 1-to-2 degrees higher with the same amount of spin.

aae6b684608aa3354551a95a8c1258d4

The softer-tip Tour Blue shaft offers a significantly higher launch (about 3-to-4 degrees higher than the Tour Green on average for me) and because of the higher launch and spin, it gave me a steeper angle of decent (33 degrees vs 27 degrees on average ). That makes the Tour Blue a great choice for golfers who need need a higher launch and more spin with their driver. And for those players who love the feel of the Tour Green in the driver, the Tour Blue will be their ideal fairway wood shaft.

Looks and Feel

Both the Tour Green and Tour Blue shafts looks amazing with their color-coded circuitboard graphics that seem to drip down the shaft from beneath the grip. Aldila used the circuit board graphic to demonstrate all of the tech that went into creating these shafts, a nice touch in an area of golf equipment where premium materials and constructions can often go unnoticed. Another great part about having the graphics high on the shaft is that they creates minimal distraction and contrast for golfers who have a driver that may not match the blue and green shafts.

b8a5b6dffc2ec78cce6a9bb4c4c8b45f

My only complaint is that I’m partial to blue, but I’m a high-launch, high-spin player. So if I could change anything, I would like to be able to swap the graphics so I could have a Tour Green with blue paint. But I’ll live.

Describing the feel of a shaft is the hardest part of a review, because it’s so dependent on a golfer’s preferences and the way that they load the shaft. The only way that I can accurately describe it is to use some other popular shafts for comparison. To me, the Tour Green and Tour Blue shafts have a feel that’s something like if Mitsubishi’s Diamana “White Board” and Aldila’s “RIP Alpha” shaft had a baby. The Tour Blue and Tour Green aren’t as soft-feeling as a White Board, but they’re not as stiff as a RIP Alpha. They’re perfectly in the middle, offering a smooth feel without feeling whippy or like rebar.

The Takeaway

e82218109849ead1ff04ddeafd6befe2

The Aldila Tour Green and Tour Blue might be two of the simplest shafts for golfers and fitters to wrap their heads around. If a golfer needs to hit the ball lower than their current shaft, try the Tour Green. If they need to hit it higher, try to Tour Blue. It’s that simple.

I strongly suggest you the Tour Green and Tour Blue if you’re in the market for a new premium driver or fairway wood shaft. Golf gear heads know that the best shafts are the ones that give them the best numbers and maintain a specific feel. Aldila, maybe more than any other company, seems to have provided that with these.

Blue

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.aldila.com/products/tour-blue/” oemtext=”Learn more from Aldila” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NNTG9KK/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00NNTG9KK&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=XKABW65UETR67373″]

Green

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.aldila.com/products/tour-green/” oemtext=”Learn more from Aldila” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JUZ5ZCO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00JUZ5ZCO&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=JWXLTLLJXH2QAHBB”]

Your Reaction?
  • 124
  • LEGIT16
  • WOW8
  • LOL6
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB0
  • SHANK8

Continue Reading
12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. kuku

    Sep 10, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    It’s actually in Norton, MA not Boston.

  2. Brad

    Sep 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    I have a question. What is the difference on the tour green shafts? they have a stiff and a tour stiff? is one a little stiffer? or is it just the lower torque value is the difference? looking to put one into my ping G30. I have a swing speed of about 105 mph. any suggestions? thanks!

  3. Thus

    Sep 19, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Yea im keen hiw do the stack up against the ad-bb6s?

  4. Rick Paradis

    Mar 31, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    Had the opportunity to hit the 913 D2 today with the Tour Green 65 Stiff in it. It is an extremely accurate shaft. Swing speed today was between 95mph and 99mph; usually averages 107mph. A little down due to recovery from shoulder surgery. For reference as a warm up I was hitting the stock R1 (my current Driver at 10.5) and G25 (9.5) with stiffs around 278 – 292 yds. per the monitor. The 913 D2 with the Tour Green was giving me an average of 272 yds. but the dispersion “for me” was fantastic. Three of five shots were less than 9 yds., one at 14 yds., and last was off center at 22 yds. The Tour Green felt very smooth and I could feel where the head was at every moment. Can’t wait to try it in my R1. The Green will be going up against a very few others to fight for the spot in the Driver and I suspect The Blue will be doing the same for my G25 Fairway.

  5. Pingback: Callaway Golf Aldila Green Nv

  6. Martin

    Jan 4, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    Are these the shafts in the Xhot2 drivers from Callaway?

    • Joe Golfer

      Aug 14, 2014 at 6:42 pm

      @Martin: Probably not the “real deal” aftermarket shafts in those Callaway Xhot2 drivers.
      It says that these shafts sell for $349.
      Even if they were selling them to Callaway for considerably less, Callaway would still not have a good profit margin.
      Often times, one sees the name of a particular shaft on a club, but the shaft may say something like “Made especially for Titleist” or whatever company relates to the clubhead.
      The shaft is generally an inferior copy with a similar paint job on the shaft to make it look like the aftermarket shaft.
      I have one of those in a Titleist 909D2. It looks like a Diamana Blue Board, but it really isn’t.
      On occasion, the actual shaft company even allows a different company to make the shaft for the club, leasing their name to it, from what I have read on the Hireko.com component company blogs.

  7. Ryan

    Nov 8, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Its nice that you can only get this shaft with midsize grips or larger. I’ve always hated having size options. $349 for a re-painted NV is ridiculous.

    • Joe Golfer

      Aug 14, 2014 at 7:10 pm

      @Ryan: I hear you about that .640 shaft butt diameter, but one can purchase grips with a .620 inner diameter. Those grip have slightly thinner material so that the final result comes out properly.
      Yes, that grip will still be very slightly oversized, but just barely, and so little that most folks won’t even notice.
      A grip size is not determined solely by the inner diameter.

      As for the comment on price, I tend to agree with you. The NV is a superb shaft. This new shaft may actually have several aspects that do make it a superior shaft, but $349 is a lot to pay for a shaft.
      Hey, remember the days when you could buy the same top of the line premium shaft that the pros played, like the Grafalloy ProLite 35 or the UST ProForce, for just $35 ? Those were the days 🙂
      Hard to believe that shafts need to cost ten times more nowadays.

  8. jon

    Oct 26, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    There def is a difference between the shafts in the hands….I saw a 3 degrees difference

  9. chris

    Oct 25, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    When are they going to be available from Aldila?? I looked on Golfworks.com and they don’t even have them up yet.
    I would love to try out the green!

  10. Pete

    Oct 24, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks for the info! I had been wondering about the Tour green since seeing them offered in the 913 driver.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shaft & Grip Reviews

MRC Shaft Shootout: Tensei CK Pro White, Kuro Kage XT and Diamana BF-Series

Published

on

The Tensei CK Pro White is the latest release from Mitsubishi Rayon Composites (MRC), a low-launch, low-spin shaft with a multi-material design that the company says improves the performance and feel of the shaft. Whereas most golf shafts use between 3-6 different materials in their construction, the Tensei CK Pro White is made from 11 different materials, giving MRC engineers greater precision in the shaft’s design.

Like MRC’s Tensei CK Pro Blue shafts, which produce a slightly higher-launching, higher-spinning ball flight, the CK Pro White uses MRC’s Carbon Fiber DuPont Kevlar Weave in the handle section of the shaft. The company says it increases the strength and stability of that part of the shaft, leading to better feedback.

carbon-fiber-dupont-kevlar-weave

On the other end of the shaft, the tip section, MRC uses a boron-reinforced fiber. All low-launch, low-spin shafts have stiff-tip designs, but the addition of boron puts the Tensei CK Pro White in a class of its own when it comes to lowering launch angle and spin rate. The boron fiber also reduces torque, which can offer better energy transfer, more accuracy and better feedback — especially for skilled, high-swing-speed golfers.

Connecting and reinforcing those areas of the shafts is MRC’s low-resin content (LRC) prepreg. Prepreg is carbon fiber that’s been reinforced or “pre-impregnated” with resin, a glue that holds the material together when it’s formed into sheets and rolled into the form of a shaft. MRC says that its LRC has 15 percent more carbon fiber and 13 percent less resin than traditional prepregs, which allows MRC to make the Tensei CK Pro White stronger without adding extra weight to the shaft. MRC also uses high-modulus, 40-ton prepreg in the Tensei CK Pro White’s design, which like LRC is thinner, stronger and lighter than traditional prepregs.

The addition of boron helps MRC make the tip of Tensei CK Pro White shaft stiffer and lower in torque.

The addition of boron helps MRC make the tip of Tensei CK Pro White shaft stiffer and lower in torque.

In the EI chart below, you can see how the Tensei CK Pro White’s bend profile compares to the CK Pro Blue. The main differences are its slightly stiffer tip and mid sections, as well as its slightly softer butt section. That gives the CK Pro White a higher “kick point” than the CK Pro Blue. Generally, the higher the kick point of a shaft, the lower its launch conditions. That’s why the Tensei CK Pro White is a lower-launching, lower-spinning shaft than the Tensei CK Pro Blue.

Tensei_Ck_Pro_White_comparisonThe Shootout 

Just how much lower launching and lower spinning is the Tensei CK Pro White than MRC’s latest premium driver shafts? I put it to the test against the company’s Kuro Kage XT and Diamana BF-Series, which like the CK Pro White are PGA Tour-quality shafts that sell for about $400 each. All three shafts tested were built to my spec: 70TX, tipped 1 inch at a finished length of 45.5 inches.

I tested the three shafts on Trackman 4 at the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. After warming up, I hit 10 drives with each shaft, and whittled my shots down to the most similar five to help illustrate the differences. Premium balls were used for the test, and results were normalized.

MRCShafts2016_ArrowAs expected, the Tensei CK Pro White was the lowest-launching, lowest-spinning shaft in the test. That’s impressive in its own right, but what will really excite golfers when they try a Tensei CK Pro White is the shaft’s feel. It’s noticeably smoother than the MRC White Board shafts I’ve played in the past. You could likely duplicate the launch conditions of the Tensei CK Pro White with similar products from other premium shaft makers, but I’m not sure its smoothness can be replicated in the category. It’s something special, and I expect a lot of serious golfers with above average club head speeds will be willing to pay a premium for it.

MRC’s Kuro Kage XT uses a stouter iteration of the company’s famed “Blue Board” bend profile, and in that regard it’s quite similar to the Diamana BF-Series. That’s what makes the shafts a little higher launching and higher spinning than the Tensei CK Pro White. The Kuro Kage XT has a much different feel than both, however, due to its use of an elastic wire made of Titanium and Nickel that MRC calls “TiNi” wire.

TiNi_Boron_Tip

Related: Learn more about the Kuro Kage XT

In the Kuro Kage XT, the TiNi wire is added to the bottom 13 inches of the shaft, where it adds stability, but it also serves another purpose. Its elasticity allows the bottom end of the shaft to better load and unload during the downswing to help improve energy transfer. That’s what gives the Kuro Kage XT its more active feel, at least compared to the boron-infused tip section of the Tensei CK Pro White, which by design offer no elasticity.

The Diamana BF-Series also uses boron in its tip section, and its combined with a new, aerospace-grade fiber called MR-70 to create what MRC says is a first-of-its-kind hybrid prepreg. MR-70, which is manufactured by parent company Mitsubishi Chemical, is 20 percent stronger and has 10 percent more modulus than similar fibers, MRC saysThe handle section of the BF-Series is reinforced with MRC’s Pitch Fiber, which functions to boost energy transfer like the CK Pro White’s Carbon Fiber DuPont Kevlar Weave.

Diamana_BF_logo

Related: Learn more about the Diamana BF-Series shafts

In terms of launch conditions, the best fit for me was the Diamana BF-Series. It launched the ball a little higher than the Tensei CK Pro White, and added a little spin to help keep my drives in the air. It was also easier to swing than the Tensei CK Pro White, helping me more easily hit a draw while offering an even smoother feel due to its less rigid tip and mid sections.

To recap, if you need to lower your launch conditions, the Tensei CK Pro White is one of the most intriguing new MRC options to help you do so. Need a higher ball flight? Try the Diamana BF-Series. And if you want a radically different feel, give the Kuro Kage XT a try.

Have a question? Let me know in the comments section below and I’ll do my best to answer as many as I can. 

Weights and Flexes

  • Tensei CK Pro White: 60 (R, S, TX), 70 (S, TX), 80 (TX)
  • Kuro Kage XT: 50 (R, S, X, TX), 60 (R, S, X, TX), 70 (S, X, TX), 80 (S, X, TX)
  • Diamana BF-Series: 50 (R, S, X), 60 (R, S, X, TX), 70 (S, X, TX), 80 (S, X, TX)

Related: GolfWRX Members review the Tensei CK Pro White

Your Reaction?
  • 102
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB2
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Reviews

Review: KBS Tour FLT Shafts

Published

on

Pros: FLT shafts use a flighted design, which helps golfers launch their long irons higher and with more spin. The FLT short-iron shafts provide a more penetrating trajectory for more control.

Cons: FLT shaft flexes correspond with weight, so golfers may not be able to match their desired shaft weight with their desired flex.

Who They’re For: Golfers who need more spin or more launch from their long irons to optimize their trajectory. Everyone from beginners to PGA Tour players can use the shafts effectively, but they’ll be most popular with golfers with moderate-to-slow swing speeds, or any golfer who generates low-spin launch conditions.

Overview

Selecting the proper iron shafts is one of the most important equipment decisions golfers make. It’s an issue of quantity. Most golfers carry about 7-8 irons in their bag, so if they choose the wrong iron shaft, they’ve made the game harder than it needs to be with half or more of their clubs.

The good news is that there’s a wider selection of quality iron shafts than there has ever been, with recent growth in models that are designed to help golfers hit their iron shots higher and farther, while still maintaining PGA Tour-quality consistency and feel.

KBS is one of the leading steel shaft manufacturers, and already offered a wide variety of models prior to its newest shaft launch. Company representatives felt KBS was lacking a product for a particular segment of golfers, however, so it developed its new FLT shafts.

KBS_FLT

FLT shafts ($31.95 each) have a flighted design, which helps certain golfers optimize the performance of each iron their bag. The long irons shafts have progressively softer tip sections, which helps golfers increase their launch angle and spin rates with those clubs. For the right golfer, the design will help them hit their iron shots farther, and stop shots on the green more quickly. In the short irons, where height and spin are easier for golfers to generate, the FLT shafts are stiffer, which creates the flatter trajectory most golfers prefer with their scoring clubs. The crossover point between the higher-launching long irons and lower-launching short irons is the 7 iron.

Like all KBS shafts, FLT models have a constant weight, which means that long iron shafts and short iron shafts will be roughly the same weight through the set. Shaft weight is dependent on flex, however, as softer-flex models are lighter than stiffer-flex models. So if you’re looking for a really heavy, regular-flex shaft or a really light, extra-stiff-flex shaft, these aren’t for you.

FLT Specs

KBS_FLT_Shaft_Specs

Keep in mind that KBS shafts do not have reinforced tip sections like many other iron shafts, which gives them a slightly higher balance point and can decrease swing weight by 1-2 points. I personally like the feel of KBS shafts and their slightly higher balance point, but some golfers won’t.

The Test

For this review, I tested the new FLT shafts head to head against KBS Tour shafts of the same flex and weight (130X) in 4 irons, 6 irons and pitching wedges. Each of the shafts were installed in Callaway’s Apex Pro ’16 irons, and were built to my specifications (standard grips, standard length, 1-degree strong lofts, 1-degree flat lie angles).

KBSTour130Shafts

I performed my testing at the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., where I hit the 4 irons, 6 irons and pitching wedges on Trackman IV with premium golf balls. I hit 3-6 solid shots with each iron, and then removed the outliers from the final data in an attempt to compare only the most similar strikes. Results were normalized.

As you can see from the data, there was a significant difference in the flight of the 4 irons with the two different shafts, but less of a difference with the 6 irons and pitching wedges.

Apex_Pro_Test_heads

As expected, the FLT shafts caused 4 iron shots to launch higher (0.8 degrees) and with more spin (729 rpm) than the KBS Tour shafts. I’m not a low-spin player, which is one of the target audiences for this shaft, so the added launch and spin of the FLT shafts caused my 4 iron shots to fly shorter. Golfers who launch their irons too low or with too little spin, however, will likely see a distance increase when using the FLT shafts.

As I moved closer to the short end of the set, the two shafts started to perform more similarly. Theoretically, the 6 iron shots with the FLT shafts should have launched slightly higher and spun more than 6 iron shots with the KBS Tour shafts, but I actually saw a slightly lower launch angle (0.5 degrees) with the FLT. The spin was higher, though, by 211 rpm. With the pitching wedges, the results were again quite similar. The FLT launched 0.9 degrees higher, but actually spun 271 rpm less than the KBS Tour shafts.

Takeaways

KBS_Tour_KBS_FLT

Stepping back from the numbers, I was impressed with how similar the feel was between the KBS Tour and FLT shafts. Yes, I could feel that the FLT shafts were more active in the tip with the 4 irons, but they felt nearly the same in the 6 irons. By the time I got to the pitching wedges, the two shafts were indistinguishable. The KBS Tour is considered one of the better-feeling iron shafts currently available, so KBS’ ability to replicate that feel in the FLT will be a plus for the majority of interested golfers.

Looking more broadly, trends in shaft design tends to go hand-in-hand with trends in club head design, and the FLT shafts are no exception. Equipment manufacturers continue to strengthen the lofts of their distance irons; they have to in order balance the launch equation, as their faster ball speeds create a higher launch angle and more spin.

While the improvements to iron design have allowed golfers to hit their mid and short irons farther, many golfers continue to struggle to hit their long irons high enough or consistently enough for them to be effective. And based on my testing results, it’s clear that the FLT shafts can make long irons more playable for certain golfers, and maybe even keep long irons in a golfer’s bag that might otherwise be kicked out for higher-flying hybrids or fairway woods.

As always, I recommend that golfers get properly fit for iron shafts, which means visiting a reputable club fitter in your area. So if you’re in the market for new irons or iron shafts, you can get started by going through KBS’ Online Fit System, which upon completion lists KBS-certified dealers in your area.

Your Reaction?
  • 56
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Reviews

Review: Paderson Driver Shafts

Published

on

Pros: Four distinct driver shaft profiles are available in a wide range of flexes. Paderson’s filament-wound construction (used in three profiles) offers a unique feel. By premium shaft standards, these are a bargain at $199 each.

Cons: Limited weight options.

Who They’re For: Anyone can play a Paderson shaft.

The Review

Buying a golf shaft is like buying a new pair of running shoes. If the shoes don’t fit your foot, it doesn’t matter how good their technology is. You’re going to run slower, and you’re not going to be as comfortable as you could be.

A golf shaft is the same way. If it doesn’t fit your swing, you’re not going to hit shots as far or straight as you could. A mismatched shaft won’t give you blisters like mismatched shoes, but it will wear on your confidence. For golfers, that’s arguably even more painful. So the challenge for premium shaft makers like Paderson, which is targeting both professional and average golfers, is two-fold. The company has to create several types of shafts in an effort to fit as many golfers as possible, but also include technology that has its shafts stand apart from its competition.

While not a household name now, Paderson has the traits of a shaft company that could be. That’s thanks to its filament-wound manufacturing technique, which is used in three out of the four driver shafts the company produces. It’s unique to the industry, and also used in the company’s fairway wood, hybrid/utility and iron shafts. To learn more about Paderson’s claims and technologies, you can read this in-depth Q&A we did with company CEO Jason Horodezky. For the purposes of this review, however, I’ll do my best to explain the company’s technologies as simply as possible.

Paderson_Shafts_Feat_2

Most graphite shafts are made from several sheets of carbon fiber and resin, a glue that holds the fibers together. To create a shaft, these sheets, called “pre-preg,” are wrapped tightly around a steel rod called a “mandrel,” which sets a shaft’s geometry. Different types of pre-preg have different characteristics, and sometimes exotic materials are used to change those characteristics, which generally drive up the cost. It’s the thickness, stiffness, torsional qualities and orientation of the materials used that determine the weight, stiffness and bend profile of each shaft. Once the wrapping process is complete, the shafts are put in a special oven, where the sheets are laminated, or melded together, to create a graphite tube. The shafts are then sanded smooth and painted, creating the finished product.

Paderson’s shafts are formed on a mandrel, too, but the filament-wound process used for three of the driver shafts tested (KG860, KG860TP and the upper part of KG972) is much different. They are, in essence, “braided” from two continuous strands of carbon fiber and kevlar, which the company says allows its shaft to not only be more consistent, but create superior energy transfer when compared to other shafts. Paderson says it can actually “pre-load” tension in its shafts, harnessing the energy of the vibrations created during the swing to increase ball speed.

Paderson_Shafts_weave_1

The visible weave is evidence of Paderson’s filament-wound construction.

According to the company, one of its four driver shaft models will work for any golfer, as they’re available in a variety of flexes ranging from Ladies to XX-Stiff. Unlike many shafts on the market, however, golfers can’t pick the weight and flex of Paderson shafts independently. Each flex is constructed with a specific weight the company says optimizes ball flight, so weight options depend on shaft model and flex.

Bolstering Paderson’s consistency claims is that the filament-wound process does not require its shafts to be sanded, so the texture seen on its shafts is not cosmetic, but rather the actual appearance of a shaft’s fibers, sealed with a layer of clear-coat.

Paderson_Shafts_Weave_2

Both Paderson’s KG860TP and KG860 shafts are fully wound from butt to tip.

Paderson also makes shafts that aren’t fully filament-wound, and claims its lamination technique is superior to typical processes. Its KG972 shaft, for example, uses a filament-wound upper portion and a laminated lower portion. The company’s Amorphous shaft, on the other hand, is 100 percent laminated. What’s different about Paderson’s lamination process, according to the company, is that it uses vacuum-curing, a temperature-controlled process that pulls resin through the shaft to minimize resin content, which allows for more fine-tuned designs.

Intrigued? So was I, so I put Paderson’s shafts to the test.

The Testing Data

Paderson_Shafts_Testing_Data

I sent my launch monitor and swing profile information to Paderson, which in turn sent me four of its latest shaft models to test. My results are above, but I feel that the numbers don’t tell the whole story. For that reason, I’ve included an individual write up about each shaft below.

Dispersion

Paderson_shafts_dispertion

Testing Procedure: I took the four Paderson shafts, as well as my gamer shaft I was fit for in the fall of 2015, to Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. I tested all five shafts at its Launch Pad custom-fitting facility on Trackman. I used a TaylorMade M2 driver (9.5 degrees, set to neutral) and each of the shafts tested measured 45.5 inches.

KINETIXX Kevlar Green 860TP

IMG_9756

Right now, the graphite shaft market is trending toward the tip-stiff, low-torque designs shafts that are regularly finding the winner’s circle on the PGA Tour. If those shafts have worked successfully for you, then the 860TP could be the Paderson shaft that fits you best. It is the lowest in torque of any Paderson driver shaft, and has also has the stiffest tip section. That makes it a good fit for golfers with an aggressive transition, or those who tend to hook the ball.

I tested all the Paderson shafts in a D40 flex, which equates to an X-flex, and more than the others, the 860TP felt very stout and stable. I was impressed with how smooth and balanced it felt for a high bend-point shaft, though.

With the 860TP, I had the highest average swing speed, which gave it the greatest potential for maximum distance. I struggled to find the center of the face, however, which is why I didn’t generate as much ball speed with it. The shaft did create the highest launch angle, and like all the Paderson shafts, it outperformed my gamer, a low-torque, tip-stiff 70X shaft that was most similar to the 860TP.

KINETIXX Kevlar Green 860

IMG_9753

The Kevlar Green 860 is Paderson’s “baseline” shaft. It fits the widest segment of the golfing population as a whole, and suited my swing better than the 860TP due to its slightly softer tip section and higher torque. I liked the way it felt, and as you can see in the dispersion graphic above, I hit it the most consistently.

My angle of attack was also the most up, or positive, with the 860, which helped me create the longest total distances with the shaft. If I was playing in a tournament tomorrow, this is the shaft I would play.

KINETIXX Kevlar Green 972

IMG_9755

To me, the the KG972 is Paderson’s most interesting shaft, with a filament-wound upper half and a laminated lower half. The multi-construction approach gives the shaft a slightly higher balance point than Paderson’s other driver shafts, or “counterbalancing” effect. It tends to fit golfers with a smooth transition, according to the company, and felt extremely easy to swing in testing.

While the 972 created the fastest ball speeds and longest carry distance, its comparatively softer-tip design didn’t suit my swing. I felt a lot of “kick” at the bottom, and I felt as though it had more draw bias than the others.

KINETIXX VMT Vacuum Cured KVMT870

IMG_9754

The 870 has gained traction in the long-drive community. It’s a fully laminated shaft, and does not use the company’s filament-wound technology.

The 870 has a dual kickpoint, according to Paderson, which causes the shaft to bend low in the butt and high in the tip to improve energy transfers for certain players. At 66 grams, it was also 5-10 grams lighter than the other Paderson shafts I tested. The 870 felt more active than all but the 972, however, and I preferred the heavier weight and more stable feel of the 860 and 860TP shafts.

The Takeaway

At $199 each, Paderson’s shafts are more affordable than most premium shafts, and my testing showed that one of the company’s shafts has the potential to meet, or in my case exceed the performance of your current shaft. If one of Paderson’s shafts suits your swing, and one likely will, it deserves serious consideration — even among shafts that cost hundreds more.

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT22
  • WOW6
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending