Connect with us

Reviews

Editor Review: Mitsubishi Diamana W-Series Shaft

Published

on

Pros: Mitsubishi’s Diamana W-Series has similar launch and spin characteristics to its predecessor, the ‘ahina. Its newly designed butt section that gives the shaft a smoother feel, and it’s is the first White Board shaft to be available in a 50-gram model.

Cons: Its $400 price tag will be a turn off to many golfers, but that’s what it takes to own a Diamana shaft.

Bottom Line: Most White Board customers are looking to reduce spin, making Mitsubishi’s decision to give the 3rd-generation White Board a slightly softer tip a little confusing. But we’re never going to knock a company for offering golfers a wider variety of premium aftermarket shaft options.

Overview

Mitsubishi Rayon is known to many golfers as the maker of some of the best shafts money can buy. Sure, the abundant usage of Mitsubishi’s shafts on the PGA Tour by golfers such as Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy and Zach Johnson has helped its reputation. But industry insiders also know that Mitsubishi Rayon’s parent company, Mitsubishi Chemical, makes the high-quality carbon fiber materials used not just for Mitsubishi shafts, but for several of its competitors as well.

Mitsubishi Rayon’s Diamana W-Series shaft is the third-generation of the company’s popular “White Board” shaft, which is used by many players who desire a premium-constructed shaft with low-launch, low-spin characteristics.

bea810eb326e1d5a66ae463a7d29065d

The main difference between the W-Series and its predecessor, the ‘ahina, is the shaft’s stiffer butt section. That section of the shaft is reinforced with Mitsubishi’s Dialed material (also called “pitch fiber”), which is twice as strong as traditional shaft materials. The shaft also has a slightly softer tip section, giving it a more balanced overall feel than the stiff-tip ‘ahina. According to Mitsubishi, the stronger, stiffer butt section of the W-Series allows for more energy transfer, acting as a stronger “spring” as golfers approach impact.

Screen Shot 2013-10-05 at 5.58.26 PMScreen Shot 2013-10-05 at 5.59.16 PM

In the EI Charts above, notice how the W-Series (black line, left graph) has a stiffer butt section and a slightly softer tip section than the ‘ahina (green line, right graph). The mid-section of the W-Series shaft is also noticeably softer, providing a more balanced feel. 

The W-Series (MSRP $400) are also the first line of White Board shafts to be available in a 50-gram model, following the industry trend of offering light weight shaft options.

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 1.51.34 PM

Performance

We tested a 60S W-Series shaft against a 60S ‘ahina, cut to the same 45-inch length in a Nike Covert Tour driver head set to 8.5N. All three testers had high swing speeds, with a range of 105-to-116 mph on golf radar. With the W-Series shaft, the testers averaged a launch of 14.05 degrees, with 2603 rpms of spin. With the ‘ahina, the launch was actually slightly higher, 14.2 degrees, with slightly less spin, 2590 rpm.

The golfers also swung the ‘ahina slightly faster than the W-Series, averaging 111.1 mph with the ‘ahina and 110 mph with the W-Series.

0b9aaf23ca09e9ae8332d9c19b17ed2e

So what do those numbers mean? Basically, the performance differences between the shafts are too close to call. Golfers are more likely choose one shaft over another based on feel rather than performance differences. Changing driver heads and/or a driver’s settings will be much more impactful to launch monitor numbers than changing from the ‘ahina to the W-Series and vice versa.

Looks and Feel

Two of the three testers commented that the ‘ahina felt “more stable” to them than the W-Series, largely due to its stiffer mid and tip sections. But it should be noted that those golfers had the two quickest tempos. The tester with the slower tempo commented that the W-Series shaft felt “smoother” and “more balanced” than the ‘ahina.

3deeff3ca52d6a12d28333b92bfa79c6

Like all of Mitsubishi’s Diamana White Board shafts, the W-Series features Mitsubishi’s classic white oval logo, as well as the company’s beloved “flower band” graphics. One of the testers commented that the W-Series shaft may have looked even better with the matte finish used for Mitsubishi’s Diamana D+ shafts, however, the overall feedback on the looks of the shaft was positive.

The Takeaway

Golfers in the “White Board” category are often looking for the lowest-spinning, smoothest-feeling shaft they can get their hands on. While the W-Series hits the mark for smoothness, Mitsubishi’s decision to give the shaft slightly more spin than the ‘ahina caused some concern.

According to Mitsubishi, the reason the W-Series was designed to offer slightly more spin has to do with the current trend of ultra low-spinning driver heads in the marketplace, which will no doubt continue in 2014 and beyond. Given that fact, the W-Series could be a winner for a lot of aftermarket shaft fittings in 2014.

We’re not sure the subtle differences between the W-Series and the ‘ahina are enough to drive golfers to spend $400 for an upgrade, but the shaft is a solid pairing with the company’s higher-launching, higher-spinning Diamana B-Series shaft. Like the W-Series, the B-Series uses pitch fibers to offer improved feel and the performance golfers expect from the company’s popular “Blue Board” family of shafts.

812759096cccbcda6a7fb0729f1d3de4

Above: Tianlang Guan plays a Mitsubishi Diamana B-Series (Japanese version) shaft in his Callaway X Hot 4 wood.

We applaud Mitsubishi for giving golfers more high-end aftermarket shaft options, but we’re just not sure that many gearheads will be excited about a White Board with a softer tip. However, that could change if 2014’s crop of drivers prove to be as low spinning as major OEM officials have indicated.

Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

9 Comments

9 Comments

  1. Pingback: Callaway Golf Mitsubishi Diamana White

  2. Johan

    Nov 8, 2013 at 10:52 am

    I have the B-series 70X in my driver swinging around 115 – 117mph and love the results.
    The faster swingers in this test should really try a stiffer and/or heavier shaft if they are complaining about the shaft not beeing stable enough. If the shaft doesn’t fit your swing it doesn’t matter if it’s a 60 or 400$ shaft.

    Now I’m just pondering if I should put a 80X W- or B-series in my spoon 🙂

  3. jay

    Oct 16, 2013 at 12:32 am

    grab a pull on ebay or here for around $100. I have the original BB’s in my driver and 3w and I love em

  4. glenn kirk

    Oct 12, 2013 at 4:51 am

    diamana

  5. glenn kirk

    Oct 12, 2013 at 4:50 am

    sorry meant diamond

  6. glenn kirk

    Oct 12, 2013 at 4:49 am

    shaft is everything stock shafts are junk diamond after market shafts are awesome

  7. Dolph Lundgrenade

    Oct 10, 2013 at 5:19 am

    Save yourself $400 and just practice more often.

  8. BenDover

    Oct 7, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    save yourself $340 and get an x-caliber tour shaft for $60

    • paul

      Oct 7, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      Really? Is the x caliber actually that good? I tried the ahina 70 (ish) gram shaft and loved it. felt so good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

GolfWRX Spotlight: Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro hybrid

Published

on

Hybrids, for many of us, are one of the clubs that don’t get replaced very often. Once we find one that we can confidently hit in pressure situations, it stays in the bag for as long as possible.

I am exactly one of those players as my hybrid has been in the bag since 2015 and has the paint chips and embedded dirt to prove it. That club has been my crutch to lean on when I couldn’t hit anything else straight off the tee, needed to hit the green on a long par 3, or go for the green in two on a par 5.

I wasn’t really looking for a new one when the Exotics EXS Pro showed up at my door, but the shape grabbed my attention, and I had to give it a try.

Tour Edge just announced the Exotics EXS Pro line of woods and they are “from the tour van” with tour-inspired shapes and performance. You can read the whole launch story we did HERE and also read about the new fairway woods.

The EXS Pro hybrid is smaller and has a deeper face than its EXS 220 sibling, giving it a look that better players look for. The shape is initially what got me, as it isn’t a tiny hybrid like we have seen with some other “tour” versions, but it isn’t too large either. The head is also a little more rounded overall, without a sharp toe or other lines. As I am one to hit my hybrid off the tee a good amount, the deep face was welcome—while it isn’t so deep that you can’t hit it off a tight fairway lie. The moveable weights in the sole allow you to adjust the head in order to make it an “anti-left” club that many better players fear.

On the course, I really felt comfortable with the EXS Pro right away. The first shot came off the face feeling hot thanks to the Beta Ti Face that is brazed onto the stainless steel body. The ball speed is really fast and the shot shape was flatter than my previous hybrid setup. If you are a high ball hitter and have a hard time with hybrids, the EXS Pro should be on your shortlist of new ones to try. Better players are going to love being able to flight the ball for windy conditions. Distance is of course fantastic, but it is repeatable and consistent.

The EXS Pro is a little longer than my previous hybrid, but still fitting into the distance that I require. Tour Edge didn’t just make the club longer to add distance, the lofts are pretty standard as the 19-degree I have is only 40.25” long and has a lie angle of 57.25 degrees. Dialing in the EXS Pro should be no problem since they make six lofts between 16 to 22 degrees to fit your gapping needs.

Over the past two weeks, I have found that this EXS Pro does remove the left side of the course. Tour Edge claims it is an anti-left hybrid, and so far I have found that to be nothing short of the truth. Shots are slightly fade biased with the heavier weight in the toe, but you can still easily turn it over and hit it straight. Tight lies or fairly deep rough are no problem with the compact shape and Slipstream sole, making it versatile all over the course. I

like the deeper face for hitting if off the tee and shots where the ball is sitting up in the rough. That deep face just gives me a little more confidence that if I get a little steep with my swing I will still be able to save a decent shot.

My only real complaint is that the EXS Pro’s Slipstream sole collects some dirt, and you have to grab a tee to clean it out, but really nothing that should stop anyone from putting this in their bag.

Overall The Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro is an anti-left hybrid that is built for better players. What is might not have in total forgiveness it makes up for in lower launch, great distance, and its fade bias. If you have been struggling to find a hybrid to fit your game, the Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro could be your answer.

Your Reaction?
  • 75
  • LEGIT19
  • WOW7
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

TaylorMade SIM and SIM Max driver review

Published

on

New for 2020, TaylorMade has launched the new SIM driver family. First the lower spinning SIM then a more forgiving higher spinning SIM Max and a SIM Max D head to help draw the ball for those that need it.

We have seen the tour players using all three of the SIM drivers.

Technical Details

The SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers from TaylorMade feature an asymmetric sole shape as well as a redesigned Inertia Generator. The asymmetric sole shape of the drivers is designed to reduce drag while providing faster clubhead speed, with the redesigned Inertia Generator redistributing weight at the very low-and-back portion of the club in a bid to provide improved forgiveness.

The SIM Max D clubhead contains a heel-bias internal weight with a topline masking to make the clubhead look more open at address to help golfers who struggle with a right-miss.

Other features of the SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers includes a speed injected twist face, inverted cone technology, a thru-slot speed pocket, multi-material construction and an adjustable loft sleeve.

Exclusive to the SIM driver is sliding weight technology which allows face angle and flight bias preferences of up to +/-2° loft change and up to +/-20 yards of draw-fade bias.

(Top Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM Max & 2019 TM M6, (Bottom Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM & 2019 TM M5

Reviews

Here are the individual reviews from GolfWRXers’ trip to The Kingdom.

Tester: Rob “osubuckeyes691

I’ll start by saying this. SIM is very good. It’s not a magical 30 yards like everyone is talking about here. That comes from being properly fit. But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have.

My current set up is a Callaway Epic Flash SZ Double Diamond with a Fuji Ventus Black 6x. LOW LOW LOW combo…and I still hit it high haha. I live in the low to mid 170s ball speed with spin sometimes getting up to 2700 2800. Drives I hit well, spin around 2100. My miss is a big push slice.

But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have. -Rob

I ended up being fit in to a SIM 9* with the new KBS Tour Driven 70 Category 5. This shaft is super interesting. It’s really hard for me to describe but it has feel, and a lot of it. Spin dropped to about 2400 on my miss right and really, that’s what I was hoping would happen. I wanted something that when I missed, wouldn’t lose me 30 yards. We put the weight in the heel and it really did help straighten out the miss. Huge advantage for me. I knew as someone who swings 120ish I wasn’t going to pick up 20 yards. I wanted to reduce my miss and that’s exactly what SIM was able to do for me.  Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Will “fillwelix

For my driver fitting, I was with Perry, who was a blast to get to work with. I started by hitting my gamer on Trackman, talking with Perry about what my misses usually are, and what I wanted to get out of the fitting.

I usually don’t have a problem with distance so I told him the biggest thing I was looking for was a tighter dispersion. I don’t have the trackman numbers yet but with my gamer, I was averaging about 110 club head speed, 160-something ball speed, 270-275 carry, 285-290 total. Launching a bit too high but spin was okay.

The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. -Will

We tried the 10.5 SIM in a Ventus Black 6x, and he gave me a couple tips in my setup, because my AOA was something like 4 or 5 degrees up. The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. Carrying 295-300, total of 315-320. One shot carried the fence of the driving range at The Kingdom.

Spent some time going through different shafts to see if there was an improvement, played with weights, etc. but the best numbers were with the 10.5 SIM with Ventus Black 6x and the weight all the way in the toe, because my miss is usually left. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Nick “n_rones

I started off with my fittings working with Joe. After some warmup we started with the drivers. Coming in I was playing a Srixon Z785 with a Hzrdus black 6.5 70 gram shaft at 45 inches.

I’m a really tough fit because I have an unusual swing and hit down on the ball heavily with every club. My AOA with the driver was between 5 and 7 down which is pretty nuts I always knew I hit down on it but not that much. I’m still waiting on the trackman date to be emailed to me but with my own driver I was somewhere in the neighborhood of 109 swing speed with a launch angle of 4 degrees and 4000 spin (Ridiculous I know right).

I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. -Nick

His main goal for me was to get launch up and spin down. The first club he handed me was the Sim 10.5 turned up to 11.25 with a Graphite design IZ 7x. Instantly my launch angle increased and spin dropped. We then went through a few other shafts like graphite design ad di 7x. We came back to the IZ and with a quick change in tee height we ended up where we wanted. We knew with my angle of attack we were never going to get me to super low spin and high launch we just wanted to get it to a manageable number.

By the end of the fit I was hitting the sim with the iz under 3k spin with a couple down at 2500 and 9 degree launch increasing my carry from the 244 range up to the 260-265 range on good swings and we neutralized my cut massively. I was fortunate enough to finish my fit while other guys were still busy so we went right into the build shop and he built me my driver on the spot and gave me a super cool kingdom exclusive headcover. I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. Most of that is me never being through a proper fitting before but a big factor was I was able to get into the sim head with high loft but it was a great spin killing head for me. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: “jimbonecrusher”

I am one that gained a good bit of ball speed from getting fit for the SIM driver. My gamer is a Titleist 915D3 9.5* with a Rogue Silver 70X. I wasn’t fit for the driver as I just bought the parts off of the BST. I always felt that I lost yardage due to high spin. The Trackman didn’t lie as I was getting 166mph ball speed and 3000 rpm of spin on well-struck shots. Where this posed a problem was when I was off-center, the ball would be a high right spinner that would lose a lot of distance. 

Where I saw great gains was in dispersion. TwistFace just flat out works. Toe shots came back to closer to center, and heal shots faded right back towards center. I also didn’t lose as much yardage. I did pick up about five mph in ball speed. There are a plethora of reasons for this gain and the resulting 20 yard gain in ball flight.

Some could attribute the gain to almost 30 feet of height in ball flight. It could also be because there was 300 less RPM, or over a degree increase in launch angle. Either way, it has proven to me that getting fit by a knowledgeable fitter is crucial. This is the first time that I have been fit for a driver. All the expectations of mine going into this fitting have been met.

The SIM is forgiving. The SIM is aerodynamically superior to what I have been playing. The SIM just flat out performs for me because it doesn’t balloon, it is forgiving on mishits with good direction and ball speed, and it reduced my spin rate. – 

The sounds of the SIM line is amazing. The solid “thwack” sound it makes at contact is extremely welcoming. Gone are the days of high pitched aluminum baseball bat sounds. Now, some sounds just sound perfect to me. Johnny Wunder posted a video on Instagram of me hitting a driver, and you can hear the sound. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 55
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK25

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending