Review: Mizuno JPX-EZ Forged Irons

by   |   October 28, 2013
Mizuno JPX-EX-Forged
Review: Mizuno JPX-EZ Forged Irons Nick Morrow
Performance
Looks and Feel

Summary: High ball speeds and forged feel don't typically go together, but Mizuno made it happen with the medium-sized JPX-EZ Forged irons.

4.5

Forged, but forgiving


See It Amazon.cm

Pros: The JPX-EZ Forged irons are larger than Mizuno’s popular MP series irons, but they’re made with the same “Grain Flow” forging process and have a similar buttery soft feel. The distance consistency of the irons is amazing. Both slightly mis-hit and well-struck shots seem to go the same distance.

Cons: The top lines of the irons might be a little on the thick side for blade lovers. Also, the lofts are a little strong, so be cautious of a low launch angle and spin rate.

Bottom Line: If you are looking for a players iron that offers a lot of forgiveness with consistent yardages, then the JPX-EZ Forged is an iron that you need to try.

Overview

The style of the Mizuno JPX-EZ Forged has become very popular over the last few years, because it offers what many golfer are looking for: feel, looks, performance and forgiveness. It is because of these features that the JPX-EZ Forged can be appealing to a variety of handicaps.

The irons are made with Mizuno’s “Grain Flow” forging process from 1025E carbon steel, which makes the irons feel very soft despite their aggressive cavity-back styling. But with the multi-thickness CORTECH face, the ball speed across the face has been increased from previous models, which allows for maximum distance.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 2.00.45 PM

I mentioned the lofts being strong earlier, but the long irons were still easy to launch high. They have a deep center of gravity (COG), so with stronger lofts and a low COG the ball can really have some serious speed off the face. Ask any manufacturer; lower lofts make a huge difference in terms of ball speed, so a lower COG is essential in order to allow golfers to achieve a playable launch angle.

The black nickel finish on the JPX-EZ Forged is a little different from previous Mizuno irons, but it’s nice for those sunny days when glare can be problematic.

The JPX-EZ Forged irons come stock with either True Temper’s XP 105 steel shafts ($899 in regular or stiff flexes), or Fujikura’s Orachi graphite shafts ($1099 in RL, R, SR and S flexes).

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 2.00.58 PM

Performance

I can not tell you how many times I have tested irons on golf radar at my facility, so I am well aware that I do not launch or spin my irons high enough. This translates to the course: I am not that guy who can spin a wedge back 10 feet or stop a 6 iron on a dime. So I was concerned about hitting irons that had 2-degrees stronger lofts than my current set.

post-1-0-05700200-1376142301_thumb

 Above: The 4 iron through 7 iron of the JPX-EZ Forged irons have Mizuno’s Max Undercut (pictured above), which creates a larger sweet spot for faster ball speeds. There is less of an undercut in the short irons, placing more mass behind the sweet spot to lower ball flight and improve feel and workability. 

I was pleasantly surprised, however, by the launch angle I got from the JPX-EZ Forged. It was about 2-degrees higher than my current gamer irons, which I desperately needed. The spin rate did not change, unfortunately, but with the launch angle difference my landing angle was much closer to being ideal. The launch angle was especially important for the long irons, as I was carrying the EZ Forged further and stopping them faster.

Lastly, the ball speed on the JPX-EZ Forged iron is extremely high for a forged players iron. This is certainly affected by the strong lofts of the irons (the 6 iron is 28 degrees). But the ball also launched higher and stayed in the air longer, which improved my carry distance and made for a softer landing.

post-1-0-20841700-1376142391_thumb

Above: The JPX-EZ Forged irons have less offset and narrower soles than the JPX-EZ irons, which makes them the choice for better golfers.. 

Distance aside, I found it easy to control the ball flight. Flighting it high or low was not an issue, and the irons seemed pretty workable in both directions. What I liked most of the performance was the forgiveness on mishits. When I missed a few a little toward the heel or toe, the distance barely changed. I would love to miss an iron shot to the front edge of a green instead of being 10 yards short of it, and the JPX-EZ Forged were accomplishing just that.

Looks and Feel

A few years ago, I played the JPX-800 Pro irons, so I am familiar with look of a forgiving forged iron from Mizuno. Approval of the look of the JPX-EZ Forged Irons will be mixed, depending on which iron set a golfer is coming from. If you play an MP-64 or a similar iron, these might look a little large, and the opposite will be true if you are coming from a JPX-825. But as someone who has played a similar iron, I think the JPX-EZ Forged irons look sleek, and the finish helps mask the size a little as well.

post-1-0-23922100-1376142388_thumb

Above: A JPX-EZ Forged 7 iron in the address position.

To me, the JPX-EZ Forged felt almost as soft as Mizuno’s MP series irons, with just a little more of a “pop” sound at impact. It really feels like the ball is coming off the face hot, and the numbers prove it. I tested the irons with the stock True Temper XP 105 shaft, and I liked the lighter weight and profile. Overall, the shaft felt pretty responsive, and seemed to help the ball in the air.

The Takeaway

post-1-0-71741700-1376142296_thumb

Above: The low, deep center of gravity, combined with the iron’s moderate size and forged construction make the JPX-EZ Forged a set of irons that will work for a wide range of golfers. 

It’s not easy to make a forged iron that produces consistent yardages and great ball speed, but that’s exactly what Mizuno did with the JPX-EZ Forged. Whether you are a mid-handicapper who wants to play a forged iron, or a scratch player who wants something easier to hit but with the same control, these are an iron you should hit before you buy your next set.

Click here to more see photos of the JPX-EX Forged irons.

About

Nick is a Certified Performance Club Fitter at Carl's Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. He is also 1 of 33 TrackMan Masters in the world, and has completed thousands of successful fittings using TrackMan.

26 Comments

  1. Martin

    April 5, 2014 at 9:01 am

    I tried these in a simulator along with the 714 AP1 and was surprised by the feel, or lack their of.

    I have played the JPX800 for the past 4 seasons and get GI along with feel. The EZ forged actually have more offset than my current irons which surprised me a bit. The AP1′s felt great and distances were much more consistent than the EZ forged.

    The EZ forged felt a bit harsh even when I flushed a shot.

    • Fred

      May 21, 2014 at 10:36 pm

      Martin: I’m not all that familiar with Titleist irons, but can you really compare the two irons? Are they both considered game-improvement irons? Just asking.

  2. Ken

    April 4, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I currently play Mizuno Comp EZ irons, a forged cavity back design made 15 years ago. Does anyone know if this club is a newer generation of the Comp EZ? Are there any comparisons out there relative to ball flight, distance and overall performance?

  3. Chuck

    March 24, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Traded my AP1′s for this set last month. They are super easy to hit and just as long as my 712′s. Ball flight is high and flat. Those of you worried about wear need not. They are polishing kind of like the old Pings used to do. Frankly, I think the orange looks great with the smokey-gray head. To the gent who doesn’t, who cares what color they are when you are peppering pins with them and beating your normal foursome’s brains out! I absolutely adore them and my HC index runs in the 7-9 range (7 in summer, 9 in the winter).

    • Fred

      May 21, 2014 at 10:37 pm

      Chuck: you have any experience with the EZ hybrids?

  4. Ruddy

    November 29, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I play JPX825s. My complaint is inconsistent distance. I tested the 825 Pros, great feel but smaller heads made me lack confidence. Now I wish I’d bought the Pros. These EZs sound similar to my 825s and my RocketBladez, which I sold after 27 holes, mainly due to inconsistent distance and the horrid pop sound and harsh feel. The EZs sound similar to RocketBladez. I want the forged feel and sound, but right now I lack consistency of impact. Any suggestions as to next model I should try?

    • Pys

      April 8, 2014 at 9:39 am

      Go get a lesson on club path and ball striking.

  5. Jim

    November 22, 2013 at 12:25 am

    Bought a 7 iron to compare with my old X-14s.Then bought the set. Mishits are as long and accurate as my flush shots with the X-14s. flush shots with these are 8 to 10 yards longer AND I can move the ball! Absolutely Love them. Golf is fun again!!!

  6. Mikey

    November 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    These look cool, but a bit gimmicky with the dark finish and orange accents. But in the end, who cares?? If they do what they say they do, should be a great iron.

  7. Nathan

    November 2, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I guess I’m a younger player at 25 but have been playing since 11, although the orange is bothersome its not going to effect a players swing unless others on the T-box are mumbling in your back swing that you probably like bananas on your pancakes. I hit G15′s, have been since they came out, and I guess ill drink the kool aid when I say I like the JPX 825 pro’s and anything similar like these. I’ll hit this iron when I can, but that black finish could wear and make the club look like dung.

  8. Jack

    October 31, 2013 at 9:21 am

    I’m glad technology has allowed us to play forgiving player looking clubs. Pretty cool I say!

  9. John

    October 30, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Black Nickel only looks good when new

  10. Jim

    October 30, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    I’m currently playing Mizuno MP-32 irons but these forged 825 EZ irons have certainly caught my attention. The distance control is key in my opinion. If forgiveness is also provided, I can learn to look at a larger head with thicker top-line knowing there are orange accents I can’t see. Trust me, I’ve played Mizuno for over 15 years and Ping, while an excellent brand, doesn’t even come close.

  11. Dave

    October 29, 2013 at 7:41 am

    I might hit these if Mizuno made them for a lefty.I’ve kind of grown to like the looks of them.

  12. oldpromoe

    October 28, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    What is the chance of getting a comparison to the JPX 825 Pro?

    • Martin

      October 30, 2013 at 7:57 pm

      I tested the EZ forged head to head with my JPX pro 825, same shaft. And what you dont get is what the tester above called the “pop” sound at impact. I was actually very annoyed by this, and it wasnt just that, the jpx pro is forgiving but still very MP-like in the feel, I cant say that about the ez forged. It felt “metallic” in some way. Sorry cant find the right word for it. I really thought I would like this club, but now, JPX pro is much better. The standard EZ though is a nice club to hit, more feel than the JPX 825 in my opinion and longer!! I hope many players seeking a good GI-iron test this one, because its a very good club!

  13. tom

    October 28, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    I have these and really like them. VERY forgiving. Orange badging wouldn’t have been my first color choice either, but is it really that big a deal? You don’t see it address anyway.

  14. Ross G

    October 28, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I’ve seen this before… it’s called the ping i10

    • Shark

      October 29, 2013 at 10:25 am

      Huh? I didn’t know the ping were forged? The whole reason this iron is getting any attention is that for years everyone I know who wants the forged feel but cannot play anything other than game improvement.
      Finally we get a company well known for great forgings & trying to compare to other similar shapes or designs not forged is silly.

  15. naflack

    October 28, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    There should be a color option for the badging of the iron, even if the option is no color at all.
    Love the idea behind this type of iron and I would suggest that even the less offset irons should more closely resemble the cog of this type of iron.

  16. snowman

    October 28, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Why in the H— did Mizuno make ‘em orange!???? Are they trying to compete with Cobra?? Lose the Orange and I’m in. With the Orange I won’t consider ‘em. They look like they came from KMart. Repeat after me simple, clean, understated, chrome, gray, black…….
    Agree with the previous poster, very small percentage of players need the blades these days (maybe if you play for a living or index under 3). A little bit of meat in the top line is small compromise to get the benefits these type of irons offer.

    • Frank

      October 28, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Yes. They are trying to get younger players over to their brand. Damn them for marketing there product.

    • tb biggs

      October 31, 2013 at 6:15 pm

      agreed. my only reservation is the orange color. sure you dont see them at address but they are seen in your bag majority of the time. please lose the orange

  17. MikeB

    October 28, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    When are you guys going to get over yourselves? Not everyone wants or needs to p[lay tiny, unforgiving player’s clubs! So the topline is thicker than you like, big deal!

    • Ryan

      October 29, 2013 at 12:32 am

      Right after you do. Not everyone wants or needs to play humongous top lined fisher-price clubs. So our toplines are thinner than you like, big deal!

      • chris

        November 5, 2013 at 1:31 am

        825pros are perfect right in the middle..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>