Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Mizuno JPX-EZ Forged Irons

Published

on

Pros: The JPX-EZ Forged irons are larger than Mizuno’s popular MP series irons, but they’re made with the same “Grain Flow” forging process and have a similar buttery soft feel. The distance consistency of the irons is amazing. Both slightly mis-hit and well-struck shots seem to go the same distance.

Cons: The top lines of the irons might be a little on the thick side for blade lovers. Also, the lofts are a little strong, so be cautious of a low launch angle and spin rate.

Bottom Line: If you are looking for a players iron that offers a lot of forgiveness with consistent yardages, then the JPX-EZ Forged is an iron that you need to try.

Overview

The style of the Mizuno JPX-EZ Forged has become very popular over the last few years, because it offers what many golfer are looking for: feel, looks, performance and forgiveness. It is because of these features that the JPX-EZ Forged can be appealing to a variety of handicaps.

The irons are made with Mizuno’s “Grain Flow” forging process from 1025E carbon steel, which makes the irons feel very soft despite their aggressive cavity-back styling. But with the multi-thickness CORTECH face, the ball speed across the face has been increased from previous models, which allows for maximum distance.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 2.00.45 PM

I mentioned the lofts being strong earlier, but the long irons were still easy to launch high. They have a deep center of gravity (COG), so with stronger lofts and a low COG the ball can really have some serious speed off the face. Ask any manufacturer; lower lofts make a huge difference in terms of ball speed, so a lower COG is essential in order to allow golfers to achieve a playable launch angle.

The black nickel finish on the JPX-EZ Forged is a little different from previous Mizuno irons, but it’s nice for those sunny days when glare can be problematic.

The JPX-EZ Forged irons come stock with either True Temper’s XP 105 steel shafts ($899 in regular or stiff flexes), or Fujikura’s Orachi graphite shafts ($1099 in RL, R, SR and S flexes).

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 2.00.58 PM

Performance

I can not tell you how many times I have tested irons on golf radar at my facility, so I am well aware that I do not launch or spin my irons high enough. This translates to the course: I am not that guy who can spin a wedge back 10 feet or stop a 6 iron on a dime. So I was concerned about hitting irons that had 2-degrees stronger lofts than my current set.

post-1-0-05700200-1376142301_thumb

 Above: The 4 iron through 7 iron of the JPX-EZ Forged irons have Mizuno’s Max Undercut (pictured above), which creates a larger sweet spot for faster ball speeds. There is less of an undercut in the short irons, placing more mass behind the sweet spot to lower ball flight and improve feel and workability. 

I was pleasantly surprised, however, by the launch angle I got from the JPX-EZ Forged. It was about 2-degrees higher than my current gamer irons, which I desperately needed. The spin rate did not change, unfortunately, but with the launch angle difference my landing angle was much closer to being ideal. The launch angle was especially important for the long irons, as I was carrying the EZ Forged further and stopping them faster.

Lastly, the ball speed on the JPX-EZ Forged iron is extremely high for a forged players iron. This is certainly affected by the strong lofts of the irons (the 6 iron is 28 degrees). But the ball also launched higher and stayed in the air longer, which improved my carry distance and made for a softer landing.

post-1-0-20841700-1376142391_thumb

Above: The JPX-EZ Forged irons have less offset and narrower soles than the JPX-EZ irons, which makes them the choice for better golfers.. 

Distance aside, I found it easy to control the ball flight. Flighting it high or low was not an issue, and the irons seemed pretty workable in both directions. What I liked most of the performance was the forgiveness on mishits. When I missed a few a little toward the heel or toe, the distance barely changed. I would love to miss an iron shot to the front edge of a green instead of being 10 yards short of it, and the JPX-EZ Forged were accomplishing just that.

Looks and Feel

A few years ago, I played the JPX-800 Pro irons, so I am familiar with look of a forgiving forged iron from Mizuno. Approval of the look of the JPX-EZ Forged Irons will be mixed, depending on which iron set a golfer is coming from. If you play an MP-64 or a similar iron, these might look a little large, and the opposite will be true if you are coming from a JPX-825. But as someone who has played a similar iron, I think the JPX-EZ Forged irons look sleek, and the finish helps mask the size a little as well.

post-1-0-23922100-1376142388_thumb

Above: A JPX-EZ Forged 7 iron in the address position.

To me, the JPX-EZ Forged felt almost as soft as Mizuno’s MP series irons, with just a little more of a “pop” sound at impact. It really feels like the ball is coming off the face hot, and the numbers prove it. I tested the irons with the stock True Temper XP 105 shaft, and I liked the lighter weight and profile. Overall, the shaft felt pretty responsive, and seemed to help the ball in the air.

The Takeaway

post-1-0-71741700-1376142296_thumb

Above: The low, deep center of gravity, combined with the iron’s moderate size and forged construction make the JPX-EZ Forged a set of irons that will work for a wide range of golfers. 

It’s not easy to make a forged iron that produces consistent yardages and great ball speed, but that’s exactly what Mizuno did with the JPX-EZ Forged. Whether you are a mid-handicapper who wants to play a forged iron, or a scratch player who wants something easier to hit but with the same control, these are an iron you should hit before you buy your next set.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.mizunousa.com/golf/products/jpx-ez-forged-iron” oemtext=”Learn more from Mizuno” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EW4E63W/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00EW4E63W&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=NOSYQHR73P4CD4VC”]

Click here to more see photos of the JPX-EX Forged irons.

Your Reaction?
  • 100
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW13
  • LOL7
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP3
  • OB4
  • SHANK10

Nick is a Certified Performance Club Fitter at Carl's Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. He is also 1 of 33 TrackMan Masters in the world, and has completed thousands of successful fittings using TrackMan.

Continue Reading
28 Comments

28 Comments

  1. Ron

    Apr 17, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    I’ve been playing MX19’s for last 8 years (18 down to 11 HDCP). Demo’d these and fell in love, great feeling clubs and very solid feeling with plenty of confidence at address. Have only played one round with these but had 11 pars first time out so really looking forward to playing more with these!

  2. Martin

    Apr 5, 2014 at 9:01 am

    I tried these in a simulator along with the 714 AP1 and was surprised by the feel, or lack their of.

    I have played the JPX800 for the past 4 seasons and get GI along with feel. The EZ forged actually have more offset than my current irons which surprised me a bit. The AP1’s felt great and distances were much more consistent than the EZ forged.

    The EZ forged felt a bit harsh even when I flushed a shot.

    • Fred

      May 21, 2014 at 10:36 pm

      Martin: I’m not all that familiar with Titleist irons, but can you really compare the two irons? Are they both considered game-improvement irons? Just asking.

      • David

        Mar 16, 2015 at 10:39 pm

        It is a solid comparison. The AP1 is a game improvement iron.

  3. Ken

    Apr 4, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I currently play Mizuno Comp EZ irons, a forged cavity back design made 15 years ago. Does anyone know if this club is a newer generation of the Comp EZ? Are there any comparisons out there relative to ball flight, distance and overall performance?

  4. Chuck

    Mar 24, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Traded my AP1’s for this set last month. They are super easy to hit and just as long as my 712’s. Ball flight is high and flat. Those of you worried about wear need not. They are polishing kind of like the old Pings used to do. Frankly, I think the orange looks great with the smokey-gray head. To the gent who doesn’t, who cares what color they are when you are peppering pins with them and beating your normal foursome’s brains out! I absolutely adore them and my HC index runs in the 7-9 range (7 in summer, 9 in the winter).

    • Fred

      May 21, 2014 at 10:37 pm

      Chuck: you have any experience with the EZ hybrids?

  5. Ruddy

    Nov 29, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I play JPX825s. My complaint is inconsistent distance. I tested the 825 Pros, great feel but smaller heads made me lack confidence. Now I wish I’d bought the Pros. These EZs sound similar to my 825s and my RocketBladez, which I sold after 27 holes, mainly due to inconsistent distance and the horrid pop sound and harsh feel. The EZs sound similar to RocketBladez. I want the forged feel and sound, but right now I lack consistency of impact. Any suggestions as to next model I should try?

    • Pys

      Apr 8, 2014 at 9:39 am

      Go get a lesson on club path and ball striking.

  6. Jim

    Nov 22, 2013 at 12:25 am

    Bought a 7 iron to compare with my old X-14s.Then bought the set. Mishits are as long and accurate as my flush shots with the X-14s. flush shots with these are 8 to 10 yards longer AND I can move the ball! Absolutely Love them. Golf is fun again!!!

  7. Mikey

    Nov 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    These look cool, but a bit gimmicky with the dark finish and orange accents. But in the end, who cares?? If they do what they say they do, should be a great iron.

  8. Nathan

    Nov 2, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I guess I’m a younger player at 25 but have been playing since 11, although the orange is bothersome its not going to effect a players swing unless others on the T-box are mumbling in your back swing that you probably like bananas on your pancakes. I hit G15’s, have been since they came out, and I guess ill drink the kool aid when I say I like the JPX 825 pro’s and anything similar like these. I’ll hit this iron when I can, but that black finish could wear and make the club look like dung.

  9. Jack

    Oct 31, 2013 at 9:21 am

    I’m glad technology has allowed us to play forgiving player looking clubs. Pretty cool I say!

  10. John

    Oct 30, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Black Nickel only looks good when new

  11. Jim

    Oct 30, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    I’m currently playing Mizuno MP-32 irons but these forged 825 EZ irons have certainly caught my attention. The distance control is key in my opinion. If forgiveness is also provided, I can learn to look at a larger head with thicker top-line knowing there are orange accents I can’t see. Trust me, I’ve played Mizuno for over 15 years and Ping, while an excellent brand, doesn’t even come close.

  12. Dave

    Oct 29, 2013 at 7:41 am

    I might hit these if Mizuno made them for a lefty.I’ve kind of grown to like the looks of them.

  13. oldpromoe

    Oct 28, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    What is the chance of getting a comparison to the JPX 825 Pro?

    • Martin

      Oct 30, 2013 at 7:57 pm

      I tested the EZ forged head to head with my JPX pro 825, same shaft. And what you dont get is what the tester above called the “pop” sound at impact. I was actually very annoyed by this, and it wasnt just that, the jpx pro is forgiving but still very MP-like in the feel, I cant say that about the ez forged. It felt “metallic” in some way. Sorry cant find the right word for it. I really thought I would like this club, but now, JPX pro is much better. The standard EZ though is a nice club to hit, more feel than the JPX 825 in my opinion and longer!! I hope many players seeking a good GI-iron test this one, because its a very good club!

  14. tom

    Oct 28, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    I have these and really like them. VERY forgiving. Orange badging wouldn’t have been my first color choice either, but is it really that big a deal? You don’t see it address anyway.

  15. Ross G

    Oct 28, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I’ve seen this before… it’s called the ping i10

    • Shark

      Oct 29, 2013 at 10:25 am

      Huh? I didn’t know the ping were forged? The whole reason this iron is getting any attention is that for years everyone I know who wants the forged feel but cannot play anything other than game improvement.
      Finally we get a company well known for great forgings & trying to compare to other similar shapes or designs not forged is silly.

  16. naflack

    Oct 28, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    There should be a color option for the badging of the iron, even if the option is no color at all.
    Love the idea behind this type of iron and I would suggest that even the less offset irons should more closely resemble the cog of this type of iron.

  17. snowman

    Oct 28, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Why in the H— did Mizuno make ’em orange!???? Are they trying to compete with Cobra?? Lose the Orange and I’m in. With the Orange I won’t consider ’em. They look like they came from KMart. Repeat after me simple, clean, understated, chrome, gray, black…….
    Agree with the previous poster, very small percentage of players need the blades these days (maybe if you play for a living or index under 3). A little bit of meat in the top line is small compromise to get the benefits these type of irons offer.

    • Frank

      Oct 28, 2013 at 4:48 pm

      Yes. They are trying to get younger players over to their brand. Damn them for marketing there product.

    • tb biggs

      Oct 31, 2013 at 6:15 pm

      agreed. my only reservation is the orange color. sure you dont see them at address but they are seen in your bag majority of the time. please lose the orange

  18. MikeB

    Oct 28, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    When are you guys going to get over yourselves? Not everyone wants or needs to p[lay tiny, unforgiving player’s clubs! So the topline is thicker than you like, big deal!

    • Ryan

      Oct 29, 2013 at 12:32 am

      Right after you do. Not everyone wants or needs to play humongous top lined fisher-price clubs. So our toplines are thinner than you like, big deal!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 130
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 231
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending