Connect with us

Driver Reviews

Titleist 913 D2 and D3 Driver Editor Review

Published

on

Titleist introduced their PGA Tour players to their new 913D2 and 913D3 drivers in late June at the AT&T National. Every two years like clockwork, Titleist launches a new model. According to Titleist VP of Marketing Chris McGinley, the new 913 driver adds more length over the older 910 Driver. That had to be hard for them to do, because the performance of the 910 D2 and D3 were so good. Titleist says the additional distance is as a result better speed, launch and spin.

Modern drivers, for the most part, have been maxed out for length on center hits, heads size and COR heat off the face. So the incremental improvements we see now can only be seen if you are properly fitted. While it might seem uncomfortable to hit in front of a fitter, most of them have seen it all. After just a few minutes you should feel at ease.

The improvements seen from the new 913D2 and 913D3 are incremental but real also. The 910 older model was such a good driver Titleist admitted they didn’t want to try to reinvent the wheel. Mild adjustments and improvements was in order, however.

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

Speed:

Speed is increased because of a new face insert which makes the ball speeds faster on a larger area of the face. This especially helps on off-center hits. The face of the 913 driver has increased the maximum ball speed area up to 11 percent from the older 910 model. Per Titleist, this will result in 2 mph more ball speed that will produce an additional 4 to 6 yards in hit locations off center that would not be achieved in the older 910. That makes for longer drives for most of us.

Spin:EditorsChoice_131

There’s nothing that will kill distance more with a well struck ball than to much spin. Pair a lower spin with the right launch angle and most golfers will hit the ball further. Contrary to what some think, the head has much more effect than the shaft in reducing spin rates.

That’s why Titleist engineers reduced the thickness of the crown in order to move more mass lower and deeper in the head, which lowered the center of gravity and reduced spin. Weight saved from drivers’ new face insert was reapplied to the SureFit weight, which has been increased from 7 grams to 9 grams, further lowering CG. All this more rearward weight makes for an improved MOI, which prevents face rotation during off center hit for straighter shots. Sweet huh? We think so.

Launch:

The Titleist D2 is 460cc and a full pear shaped head designed for maximum forgiveness. The 913D3 is 445cc and will have a touch less “moment of inertia” (MOI) and allow the better player more workability. GolfWRX sees both versions on all the tours and can’t say we have seen the players favor one more than another.

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

titleist 913 driver

The looks of this bad boy make us think “evil” and sinister. The black titanium face and cool graphics are classy and subtle yet high tech and cool looking. Just a classic look and at the same time a bad ass look.

Here is a look at the black deep face of the D3.

Titleist 913d3

Accessories can be purchased to further optimize the new 913 Drivers. You can buy a separate weight kit that has 4g, 7g, 9g and 14g weights to allow you to get the swing weight and counter balancing you might be looking for.

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

titleist 913d2

Dont forget the attention to detail. How do you like this quality head cover? Really good stuff. 10 out of 10 in our books.

2013 titleist driver

Precision FIT “Tour van in a hosel”:

The 913 series drivers have the same SureFit Tour hosel that debuted in the 910 series drivers, which allows you to set the loft and lie independently to optimize the you ball flight. You can raise or lower the loft as well as open or close the face. The hosel sleeve is is adjustable by changing the settings of its two. One ring has settings of 1, 2 , 3 and 4, while the other has settings of a, b, c and d. This makes for a total of 16  different settings.

I was fit on a launch monitor with the 910 series to setting B2, and never over the two years of gaming the driver had to change it. As the fitter dialed in my setting, I could clearly see the trajectory and spin number change — very cool, especially when you can adjust the loft without having to worry about changing the face angle. Click here to read more about a Titleist fitting experience at TPI

The 913 comes stock with four premium shaft options. Mitsubishi Diamana +PlusWhite (low launch), Mitsubishi Diamana Blue 62 (mid launch), Aldila RIP Phenom 70 and Aldila RIP Alpha.

Price and availability of the drivers started shipping Nov 1st 2012, with a suggested retail price of $499 and a MAP for $399.

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

Specs for the 913D2:

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 8.45.43 PM

Specs for the 913D3:

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 8.49.03 PM

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

Here is tech video GolfWRX shot out on tour on the range of the AT&T National during the launch week…

Click here to read the initial response to the launch in the forums

Below we will show comparison photos of the newer 913 driver to the older 910 model.

titleist 910 vs 913

titleist 913 910

Titleist 913 Drivers Specifications:

913D2 Specs

• Head volume: 460cc
• Lofts: 8.5, 9.5, 10.5, 12 RH & LH; 7.5 RH only
• Lie 58.5, Standard Length 45”
• Stock grip: Titleist Tour Velvet 360 degree rubber

 913D3 Specs
• Head volume: 445cc
• Lofts: 8.5, 9.5, 10.5 RH & LH; 7.5 RH only
• Lie 58.5, Standard Length 45”
• Stock grip: Titleist Tour Velvet 360 degree rubber

913 Stock Shafts
• Mitsubishi Diamana +Plus White 72
• Mitsubishi Diamana +Plus Blue 62
• Aldila RIP Phenom 70
• Aldila RIP Alpha 60
• Mitsubishi Titleist Bassara W 50

Each 913 Driver includes:
• 913 Headcover
• Ergonomic torque wrench
• Foldout instruction booklet with Performance Guide

SureFit Tour Weights Available for Purchase:
• Adjust for swingweight and feel preference
• SureFit Tour Weight Kit contains 4,7,9,11 and 14g flat weights
• Single Weights may also be purchased

Your Reaction?
  • 79
  • LEGIT26
  • WOW35
  • LOL9
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP26
  • OB7
  • SHANK25

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Reggie Pendleton

    Dec 15, 2013 at 1:19 am

    I purchased the 913 D2, I didn’t like the “board” feeling of the Diamana, so I purchased the Miyazaki Kusala “Blue” 61 grams. The shaft only typically costs $399, I found one sitting in the shaft bin, on sale at Roger Dunn’s for $149 and scooped up it. Let me tell you, I haven’t found a better head/shaft combination! I am completely crushing my drives. For me, the feel of this shaft on impact, gives an incredible amount of confidence for my swing. Millions of Research and Development dollars are spent for a reason. Miyazaki shafts are by far the best available. I am a single digit, so the smaller D2 head allows the workable that I enjoy. I have played R1, Ping, SLDR, Cobra and have to say, I always come back to Titleist Driver…simply the best!

    • JB

      Feb 16, 2014 at 8:31 am

      “so the smaller D2 head allows the workable that I enjoy” the D2 is the bigger head

  2. Mark

    Oct 29, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Tested multiple drivers recently – TM R1 and SLDR, Ping G25, found the 913 D2 the most stable of all of them and well balanced. Went with a slightly less loft then when I tested and the results are awesome. As I am about 5’9″ the shaft length is nice compared to the TM which has a longer shaft. Well worth the $$.

  3. Ryan

    Oct 22, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I dropped my Covert Tour for the 913 D3 8.5 with the Diamana 72 s flex and i am super super super happy that i made the change. The 913 D3 FEELS way better and sounds a whole lot better i mean i honestly cant put it in words of how much better driver this is than the covert and all the others i played. no doubt the covert was a good driver for nike and they needed that but IMO it’s not even close to being on par with Titleist 913.

  4. Fred

    Aug 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    I agree with all the great comments about the D2 ann D3. I, personally, have the D2. That said, am I the only person around who thinks that for $499, Titleist could have made it easier to get the head cover off and on? Until now, I’ve never had to struggle with a head cover. The best driver around, otherwise.

    • Rixi

      Feb 24, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      I have the 913 HC that came with my D2 is snug going on but it works fairly well. I have a Daphne’s “Tiger” reward HC for my “Favorite Club of the Day” usually it’s riding on my 913D2 12.

  5. wendell

    May 11, 2013 at 1:34 am

    I just trimmed down my 913 d3 to 44.75 inches and added an extra wrap under the grip. It doesnt sound like much but the quarter inch less makes a huge difference. I added the heavier weight to balance the swing weight at D4 and in my first round with the adjustment i hit driver on 8 holes and hit the fairway 7 times with the last one just missing. Titleist says the sole weight doesnt do much but i noticed a higher ballflight that flew forever. Best driving round i have had in some time. I have the stiff flex D+ 72 white in the driver with a golf pride multi compound black and white grip… The 13.5FD and the 18 deg HD rip it up as well. Only missed 3 fairways all round… now if i can only get my putting together… but thats another story.

  6. Roger Anderson

    May 8, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    I had the chance to use a Titleist 913 D2 9.5 degree with the settings at C3. It had a different shaft in it than what comes in it standard. It was a “Project X 73g 6.0” stiff shaft (blue) that I think was available in the earlier versions such as the 910 D2. I suppose that someone had a shaft from an older version and just droped it into this head. I think that the new shaft that would approximate this one is the “7C3 Project X”. That was more of a question than a statement…..is it the same(ish) shaft?

    Well, I never missed a drive all day with this club! I was able to aim it up the right side and the club tossed out a gentle draw the just came back to the middle. The sound was not loud like some of the other clubs out there and distance was very good. It is amazing how much distance you can get when the ball is bounding up the middle of the short grass.

    I should have bought it on the spot, but I was in Texas and was not ready to ship it back to MN. I wrote down all of the specs and will try to re-engineer one like it. I highly recommend this club to anyone.

  7. Trey

    Apr 20, 2013 at 8:44 am

    I got the 913 D2 driver and hybrid yesterday. Both phenomenal clubs. Those combined with my 712 AP2’s, vokey wedges, and newest Scotty makes my confidence in my equipment unparalleled. Highly recommend Titleist products.

  8. Geoff

    Mar 15, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    I just played 18 today and tested the Titleist D2913 10.5 degree with the Aloila 60 shaft vs the R1 with 10.5 stiff. The 913 was more consistent and always about 5 yards further when hit equally. I also tested the Ping G25 and Anwer, the Ping drivers were impressive but only hit those on the range. I walked away the the Titleist. I hit a low ball and this driver helped me great a really good launch angle consistently. Had I not gotten the Titleist, I would have gotten the Ping. R1 was disappointing, at least for me.

  9. Jeff

    Mar 12, 2013 at 11:49 am

    Got fitted at Timacuan GCC by a titleist rep. I was using an old G10 and to be honest I wasn’t sold on the titleist until today. Longer, straighter, better looks and definitely lower spin off the tee. What a difference. I’m now the proud owner of the D2 blue S . An absolute contender if your looking for a new driver.

  10. joaquin

    Mar 11, 2013 at 12:19 am

    I love the fact that Titleist, unlike other club manufacturers make clubs every other year.

    • Jack

      Sep 5, 2013 at 3:47 am

      main reason I like to buy their stuff. At least I can switch shafts around. One year is way too soon to upgrade. And I like to have the latest stuff LOL

  11. canuck2099

    Feb 8, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Just got the 913 D3 with the .GD AD BB shaft. The thing is a beast and once i get rid of the winter swing i know this driver is going to be just awesome.

  12. Paul

    Feb 3, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    They say the head reduces spin more then the shaft… Really? I had an old driver kicking around and averaged 5500 rpm back spin, put the shaft on my 909D2 and spin dropped to 5000 rpm backspin. Changed shaft to Mitsubishi Diamana White and dropped spin to 2900. I would say that his statement has more to do with marketing then reality. But I am no expert at all.

    • reggiej

      Feb 14, 2013 at 7:22 pm

      Paul I agree with you, I think it’s just more marketing.

      • mizunostaffer

        Apr 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

        The shaft changes the way the loft is presented to the ball, by lowering or increasing this. thats all a shaft can do, and its a marginal effect from front to back. The shaft is massively overrated. As loft can be altered with the fitting hosel, it makes sense that clubhead design is the biggest factor in how much a head spins working on a constant loft at impact, the shaft cannot effect spin beyond how slightly differently it may present the loft to the ball. Dont buy the shaft myth, stick with your prolite 35

        • Rixi

          Feb 24, 2014 at 3:52 pm

          “The shaft also plays an important role in the launch angle and spin rate condition. Softer-flexed shafts tend to lead to higher spin conditions, as do lower bend point designs. Lighter shafts will typically increase the launch angle trajectory, but can also increase the spin rate of the ball. Club length will also alter the spin rate and launch angle conditions with longer length clubs yielding a higher trajectory compared to identical clubheads with shorter specifications. The construction (architecture) of the golf ball will also play an important role in regard to spin and launch conditions. The spin rate and launch angle data included in Golfsmith’s specification charts is intended as a guideline to assist in clubhead fitting to a golfer’s needs.” Quoted From Golfsmith

  13. john baltes

    Feb 2, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    bought the 913d2 the day it became available went with the diamana white board in a stiff shaft ,from day one this was the best driver I have ever hit,liked it so much bought a second as a backup also bought a graphite design tour ad shaft DI-6sr great combo. cant imagine a better setup.Also playing ap2 with aldila vs proto-t byyou shafts 85s great combo titleist all the way.

  14. Troy Vayanos

    Jan 27, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    I had a hit of one of these about a month a ago at my local golf store. It’s a great looking driver and has a nice feel to it. I hit it pretty well and really didn’t have any complaints.

    Probably for me the price tag was a little over the top but when you’re buying a Titleist you can always expect to pay a little me.

    I enjoyed hitting the Cobra AMP Cell a bit better so went with it and the price was a lot cheaper.

    Still, the Titleist is a superb driver and would recommend it to anyone.

  15. William McGimpsey

    Jan 22, 2013 at 1:33 am

    Got fitted for the 712 ap2’s with kbs tour shafts & this new 913 D2 with a phenom 70 stiff. Didn’t need another shaft, I was carrying 267 on the monitors straight, about 3-5yards left/right.

    Honestly I love what titleist has done in the last 5 years, the confidence I get from their clubs and balls are above anything, I love stepping up to the ball knowing everything I put into my shot depends on MY mechanics and not having to worry about my clubs.

    This new driver has such a nice feel, sound and clean contact to the ball. Honestly it’s hard to cough up $449 for one club but the results are worth it.

    • Mike

      Jul 2, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      That is exactly what I carry in my bag. Same irons, same shafts. Driver was fitted exactly as yours and my carry on monitor was almost identical – 267. Anyway, just thought it was funny that our specs are identical. Love the sticks. Best I have ever hit. Played blades all my life, but the AP2’s are special! D2 is by far the best driver I have swung. Solid and predictable. Longer than most.

  16. Adam

    Jan 18, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Hit these today at a Titleist fitting. I loved the new D2, very forgiving and yet still workable. I hit it better than the D3. Ordered one with a Diamana Blueboard S shaft. Make sure you get fit with the right shaft!

    • Rixirox

      Sep 18, 2013 at 10:20 am

      I agree. I hit the D3 like a howitzer with a Diamana ‘ilima 61 A flex. My PGA Pro says I will technically hit the D2 12* even better using the same shaft. I can’t wait for my D2 to arrive!

      I think I will have another problem though. I think I will now able to hit the ball farther than I can see. LOL!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Driver Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Tour Edge Exotics C721 driver

Published

on

Tour Edge’s Exotics line of high-end golf clubs has been known for excellent fairway wood and hybrid performance over the years. The Chicago-based company has been consistently putting out high-quality products, and golfers are really taking notice. The new line of C721 drivers, fairway woods, and hybrids take yet another big leap forward from last year’s EXS line. 

The new C721 driver takes a lot of technology from the 2020 EXS line and further refines and expands on it. I know it is a little cliche when companies say every model is their best ever, but Tour Edge is 100 percent right this time.

When unboxing the C721 the first thing I noticed was the much-improved looks and shape over the previous Tour Edge drivers. The biggest change to my eye is the added bulge, giving a more rounded and softened topline.

The overall shape of the C721 is slightly stretched from front to back, giving it just a hint of a triangular look. The Ridgeback is a titanium spine flanked by two carbon fiber wings that add stability and forgiveness to the head, but they can also work together and an additional aiming device to ensure you are lined up down the center of the fairway. 

Getting the C721 out on the course is where you really start to appreciate all the technology that went into this driver. Well-struck shots are very long, very boring, and will hang with anything out on the market today. Center contact is rewarded with a long and very low spin shot that is just fun to hit.

The sound and feel are very solid, you can really feel the ball compress on the face as it leaves at high speed. The sound is more of a muted crack and much quieter than I anticipated. If you practice on an enclosed range your ears will thank you for your choice in drivers. Shots hit away from the center of the face retain a lot of ball speed and stay online really well.

My miss is low on the heel and those misses stayed in the air fairly well and went a good ways. Shots hit down on the heel or higher on the toe side still stay online really well due to the Ridgeback spine and rear weight. The C721 is just slightly higher than mid-launch for me, but the low spinning head never allowed my shots to balloon or rise even into the wind. I do wish the face was just a touch deeper as I had to play with my tee height in order to find the optimal setup. The better players will enjoy the neutral weighting and there seems to be very minimal draw built into the driver.

Overall, the Tour Edge Exotics C721 driver is a great club that will probably be overlooked by too many golfers. If you are looking for added distance, a lot of forgiveness and want to keep some money in your pocket, then you should seriously take a look at Tour Edge.

Your Reaction?
  • 99
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW6
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Driver Reviews

Review: Ping’s G400 and G400 LST Drivers

Published

on

I still remember the first time I hit Ping’s G30 driver. It was July 2014, and I was at Ping’s HQ in Phoenix. Super low-spin drivers were all the rage at the time. With their forward center of gravity, they were helping golfers optimize their launch conditions beyond their wildest dreams: crazy high launch, ridiculously low spin. Many in the business, including myself, had one of these drivers and spent many launch monitor sessions trying to figure out how to get more distance from these high knuckleballs. The bad news was that forward-CG drivers, by nature, were really unforgiving. Bad shots were really short and crooked.

Before I knew the G30 was a big deal, Marty Jertson, Ping’s Director of Product Development, explained to me his vision for the perfect driver inside a conference room at Ping Headquarters. In his eyes, the perfect driver didn’t have the low, forward center of gravity (CG) that was being touted at the time. Its CG was located as low and as rearward in the driver head as possible, which he said would offer the best of both worlds: optimized launch conditions on good shots, as well as the best possible forgiveness on bad shots.

Building the perfect driver was a long way off (and still is), but Jertson was excited where Ping had landed with the G30. When it was released, the driver was a powerful testament to his vision. Its rear-CG design created great distance on good and bad shots, and it was also a very straight driver. The G30 sold incredibly well and, as a result, the industry mostly shifted away from forward-CG drivers.

It’s been nearly three years since the release of the G30, and Ping has just made another counterintuitive driver release. The company shrunk the size of its new G400 drivers in a climate where full-size drivers have become the norm. Granted, it’s only 15 cubic centimeters smaller, but it’s noticeable at address. Compared to the Ping G drivers they replace (which replaced the G30), the G400’s look like they cut carbs.

Despite their slimmer frames, however, the G400 drivers are actually more forgiving than the G drivers (which were even more forgiving than the G30). That’s why Ping representatives say smaller is actually better in the G400’s case. The drivers have the lowest, most rearward CG of any Ping drivers ever, and their smaller size is said to improve their aerodynamics so golfers can swing them fractionally faster. The other big change is a new face material made of T9S+ titanium, which is thinner and more flexible to help golfers generate more ball speed.

Ping_G400_LST_2

For this review, I wanted to put the G400 and G400 LST to the test against the G and the G LST drivers that they replace, so I took them to the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. I hit five shots with each driver on Trackman IV, and to ensure as much of an apples-to-apples comparison as possible, I tested each driver head with the same shaft. Each driver head was adjusted to the same loft, or as close as possible.

Note: The G, G LST, and G400 drivers I tested were 10.5-degree heads adjusted to 9.5 degrees. The G400 LST had a loft of 10 degrees, and it was adjusted to 9.4 degrees.

The Test

PingG400_2017

In my personal driver tests, I don’t usually see a huge uptick in distance or accuracy when comparing the latest drivers to the most recent models from the same manufacturer. Improvements generally come in the form of improved head shaping, a better feel, or enhanced adjustability. That’s why I was surprised to see such a big change in my launch conditions and dispersion with the G400 drivers.

G400 Test Results: With the G400, I launched my drives an average of 1.6-degrees higher than I did with the G while dropping spin an average of 416 rpm. That led to a significant improvement in distance. With my swing speed and ball speed staying about the same, I added an average of 7.2 yards more carry distance and 8.7 yards more total distance.

G400 LST Test Results: First, a note about the G400 LST. It has a CG that’s slightly lower and more forward than the standard G400 driver to help golfers reduce spin. Like the G30 LST and G LST, it’s still very much a rear-CG driver, but its design helps high-speed golfers who can consistently find the center of the club face maximize distance without highjacking forgiveness. When I test Ping drivers, the LST is generally the model that creates the best performance, and the G400 LST was no exception. I saw an average of a 1.2-degree higher launch angle with all other things staying about the same when I compared it to the G LST. The result was an average of 6.6 yards more carry distance and 3.1 yards more total distance. It was the longest and straightest driver I hit in the test.

Note: Ping also sells a G400 SFT (Straight Flight Technology) driver, which has added draw bias. To learn more about it, click through to tech story on the G400, G400 LST and G400 SFT drivers. 

Dispersion

G400_Dispertion

One way to explain the improved launch conditions is that I hit the G400 drivers more consistently. As you can see in the Trackman dispersion chart, I hit the G400 and G400 LST drivers straighter on average than the G and G LST. Is that its slightly enhanced forgiveness shining through? Maybe, maybe not.

To me, the changes Ping made to the look and feel of the driver were just as important as the performance difference I saw on Trackman. I’ve always preferred smaller driver heads, or at least 460-cubic-centimeter drivers that appear smaller than their size. For that reason, I felt more confident with the G400 drivers in my hands. I didn’t mind that I didn’t see any added swing speed or ball speed from the smaller driver head. I was sold on the looks alone.

I also preferred the sound of the G400 drivers to the G drivers. There was definitely much more of a “thwack” than a “ping” at impact, which made the G400’s feel more powerful. Looks and feel are subjective, of course, but to me the improvement was night and day. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that my fondness for the looks and feel of the G400 was at least a contributing factor to my improved performance in the test, if not the most important factor. When I like the way a club look at address, I tend to hit it better, and I know I’m not alone.

I do want readers to keep in mind that this was a one-person test and I hit a limited amount of balls. Yes, it’s a great indication that the G400 driver can be measurably better than a G driver, but it’s not a guarantee.

I also want to address the weaknesses of the G400 drivers. While they’re few, they could push golfers into another driver model in a fitting. Unlike Callaway’s GBB EpicTaylorMade’s M1 or Titleist’s 917 drivers, the G400’s don’t have CG adjustability. That means there’s no way to fine tune ball flight outside of a shaft or loft adjustment. A bigger deal for some golfers might be the G400 crowns. Despite their smaller size, there’s still a lot to look at address, as was the case with the G drivers.

Ping_G400_LST_4

Aerodynamic features on the front of the crowns, “Turbulators,” have been thickened for the G400 release. There’s also Ping’s “DragonFly Technology,” a geometry on the back of the driver crowns that helps push CG lower and more rearward in the driver heads. I personally think the G400 crowns give the drivers an old-school, muscle car-like look, but there’s no question they won’t fly with all golfers.

Whatever your thoughts about what’s on top of the G400 drivers, there’s no question that what’s under the hood can offer something the G and G30 drivers did not. Maybe you’ll like the smaller head. Maybe you’ll prefer the quieter sound. Maybe the improved forgiveness will show up on a launch monitor or on the course. Or maybe you’ll just flat out rip a G400 farther and straighter down the middle like I did.

If that last bit happens, try not to second-guess it.

Your Reaction?
  • 670
  • LEGIT83
  • WOW48
  • LOL18
  • IDHT12
  • FLOP22
  • OB15
  • SHANK58

Continue Reading

Driver Reviews

Members Choice: The Best Driver of 2017

Published

on

What determines the best driver on the market; is it the opinion of professional club fitters, professional golfers or testing results from a group of amateurs?

At GolfWRX, we believe all three sources can lead golfers to an answer. Being a website founded by passionate golfers with a mission to serve passionate golfers, though, we place a special emphasis on the opinions of our GolfWRX Members — the most knowledgeable group of golfers on the planet. No other group of golfers in the world tests golf clubs as frequently or as extensively as GolfWRX Members. So who better to poll to get an initial indication of the best performing drivers so far in 2017?

So we asked them, “What’s the best driver of 2017?” They voted for the three drivers they felt most worthy of the title and provided feedback about their selections in our special forum thread. You can see the results below (as of the first three weeks of voting), as well as quotes we pulled from GolfWRX Members about the drivers from our forum.

Remember that our polls will remain open for voting throughout the year, and we’re going to keep an eye on the percentages as more and more golfers have an opportunity to test these drivers. We’re also working on another Best Driver list, which will evaluate clubs in another important way. Stay tuned!

Keep in mind that there’s no single driver on the market that is the absolute best option for every golfer: that’s why nearly every manufacturer makes at least two different models. As this list indicates, however, some drivers are working better than others this year. Happy Testing!

Note: Forum posts were minimally edited for grammar, style, spelling and clarity.

Cobra King LTD Black (3.00 percent of votes)

3f7f45629f386b15ed7bbbaa529e0826

  • The General: All-black LTD is really clean looking. I’m about to cover up the orange on my LTD with lead tape. Orange is played out
  • mh7vwLove my LTD, but wish the black finish (or even this gray) didn’t have that subtle checkering you see in some like. Prefer plain black.
  • dbleagI am a fan of the black/orange combo. The performance and sound of the LTD is very appealing to me. I also like that the standard length is 45 inches. For me, that helps it be super-accurate. With the low-spin design, I hit it longest of the current offerings and can’t remember the last time I missed a fairway. Straight, solid, low spin and nice.
Further Reading

Mizuno JPX-900 (3.20 percent)

Mizuno_JPX_900_Driver

  • johnnythundersJPX goes straight. Best real-deal shaft and is long and very adjustable.
  • KT35That blue head looks awesome sitting on the ground. I hit balls off the toe and heel and didn’t see the big drop off in distance like the previous models.
  • nmortonThe JPX-900 is definitely more forgiving compared to the JPX-850, and sounds much better. Though they did sacrifice a bit by going with a little larger profile, but it’s easy to get used to. The graphics are so so, but this driver performs. I’m really digging the Evo II (shaft).
  • jay65I can see that Mizuno is really making a decent effort with its drivers/fairways in terms of tech and aesthetics, and they compliment the new JPX-900 line of irons really well, but if they’re going to make any inroads they really have to address this issue of their custom shafts options. It’s rubbish.
  • bok006The JPX-900, after being properly adjusted by the fitter, gave me an extra 20 yards just like that. My swing speed suggested I was borderline S to X (flex), but the fitter said unless I was fighting a hook I should stick with the S.
  • bubbagump: …the JPX-900, when properly fit, is just as long on a consistent basis than all the new models I tried in real life situations. It looks great, sounds solid and just knows the way to keep the ball in play.  
  • ChazbI’m 69 years old, have a swing speed of 91 mph and played nine with the JPX-900 this morning. It was in the 40s with a brisk wind hit it around 220 to 230 yards. It was a fairway finder, has great feel and is one of the easiest to control drivers I have ever hit. I can’t wait ’til it is warmer and can dial it in more. So far I have the two weights all the way forward for a lower flight and the other set with a draw bias with 10.5 degrees of loft. This driver is the real deal; it may not be the longest or the shortest, but it is a fairway finder which IMO makes it a winner.
Further Reading

Ping G (3.80 percent)

7adaa1412b79ca8c7cc5a0b788f55058

  • Wesquire: Ping G is the most forgiving so it wins.
  • bopper53: Ping G hands down. Great distance and the most forgiving.
  • Dannydubbbs: The Ping G series is just too forgiving. The distance is comparable between most models, but Ping always seems to win out with forgiveness.
  • Bruin BearThe Ping G is going to be overlooked because it’s looked at as “game improvement,” but this driver is a beast. I liked the LS, but it requires a faster swing to get results and in the cold outdoors I just don’t have that all the time. I think the G is the perfect blend of performance and forgiveness.
  • cmrl1986Only reason I switched from the Ping G25 was that the G felt less harsh off the face. Same distance just about.
Further Reading

Cobra King F7+ (3.90 percent)

cec33621c8ab9450c778e79b3b280da1

  • EntourageLife: Ball really flies off face. Driver head controls spin well. Not one drive “ballooned” and trajectory was high and best of all… very easy to work ball right to left for a confident draw.
  • GollieThe F7+ is another great offering from Cobra… I didn’t get the “MAN, this is gonna take my LTD out of the bag” feeling, but it has very good sound, feel and performance.
  • J13F7+ is a great offering from Cobra and IMO is in the top-3 drivers this year. Epic is the standout for me numbers wise, then M series and F7+ are right behind it. Love the Agera (shaft) in there!!! Such a great shaft; I can’t seem to get mine out of the bag.
  • Golfer from MOHit both Cobras lefty and as a lefty the LTD is the shizzle. Last year it was the LTD and Big Bertha down to the absolute wire… the F7+ is more workable than the LTD, but not longer and a little worse on mishits.
  • BoognishI took a few swings with the F7+ at Golf Galaxy yesterday. 9.5 degrees with heaviest weight forward. The stock shaft is actually the same model I play in my GBB (albeit in smoked black instead of yellow). Ball flight and distance were similar to my GBB with good consistent sub-3000 backspin. Sound was OK, feel was harder than the GBB.
  • thechief16Just from the range (no LM), I didn’t see a noticeable performance improvement with the F7+ over the original King LTD. And I like the look and sound/feel of the LTD better.
Further Reading

Ping G LS Tec (4.90 percent)

463210496f8e1487a5ff2fdcf38109a1

  • drvrwdgeI played the G LS with the Ping Tour 65X (shaft) tipped an inch for about a year. Just put the HZRDUS Yellow 75 6.5 tipped an inch and never thought it was possible, but it’s longer and straighter. Best driver shaft combo I’ve ever hit. You can feel that HZRDUS throughout the entire swing. Really gives you a solid connected feel.
  • Mtngolfer1: I am not sure that I would consider this a 2017 Driver, but my vote went to the Ping G LS Tec. The fact that my G is still holding its own against the latest 2017 releases has me very excited to see what Ping will release later this year.
  • 3woodvt: Fairway finder and plenty long.
  • pitchinwedgeI’ve found the LS to be nearly as fade biased as the M family. I get pretty good results with the LS by making a conscious effort to make more of an in-to-out swing. Any lapse in concentration and everything goes right. The M’s require even more effort, which is the reason I stayed with the LS instead.
  • 3 Jack ParAfter an up and down year with the G LS, I’ve actually recently gone back to my G30 LS head. I only have a couple of rounds as a sample so far, so I can’t really draw a conclusion about whether one or the other is better, but with the same shaft it seems like my G30 head might be a little longer. Honestly, the performance differences are pretty minimal if you really compare the two generations.
Further Reading

Titleist 917D3 (5.30 percent)

f5830abf21efeb00cab7cbe4329a9972

  • GavaThe 917D3 is in my bag now, and I’ve found it incredibly long with a recently purchased Graphite Design Tour AD MJ 7TX shaft. Feel and accuracy has been a real improvement as well.
  • Togatown22I find my 917D3 to be just as forgiving as my 915D2 was, and man do I prefer looking down at the head shape and color versus the 915. Very confidence inspiring.
  • NIxhex524I would definitely give the D3 a whirl. I feel like Titleist has made great strides at making the smaller head way more hittable for us ams.
  • KPH808So in conclusion, I was hitting the ball about 9 yards further on average and 3-4 mph faster ball speeds with the 917D3 vs. the 915 D4. The biggest thing for me was the forgiveness between the two; the 917D3 was more forgiving on mishits.
  • brushieThe 917D3 head feels soft like the 910 and sounds great. I never had an issue with the 915 sound; it wasn’t great, but it didn’t bother me too much. This is much better, though. The 917D3 head shape is perfect to my eye as well. The area where the 917 shines is forgiveness. 

Further Reading

TaylorMade M1 440 (5.35 percent)

TaylorMade_M1_440_Feat

  • Tigermatt31: The M1 440 is best driver I’ve had ever.
  • TollBros: The M1 440 is definitely lower spin than the M1 460 or M2 from last year. Launch angle isn’t really any lower, but spin is lower for sure.
  • specimania: This year’s 440 is more forgiving.
  • MCozYes, this 440 is more forgiving, and yet it also appears to be more workable than both of the previous M1 and M2s.
  • nitramTo save you a bunch of reading and crunching numbers, I quickly concluded there was a little more forgiveness and exactly +0.4 mph ball speed with the 440. By forgiveness I simply mean this: A 1.48 smash 440 will give you the same ball speed and distance as a 1.49/1.50 430. But if you get a 1.50 from both there is no measurable gain. Side-to-side dispersion was better by 4.7 feet with the 440. Workability was a wash between them, although the 430 seems a bit more fade biased whereas I’ll describe the 440 as a scosche more neutral.
  • tj24: I hit the M1 440 with my Aldila RIP at an 80-gram X-flex. For me, the spin numbers were around 1700 rpm which is probably to low for my swing. I did, however, like the shape of the head and I felt like I could easily work the ball both ways.
  • halfsumoI really think they nailed it with the shape of this 440 head. Nice pear shape, no weird bulges or ridges that you have to get used to.
Further Reading

Titleist 917D2 (6.65 percent)

4edf1bce10b81caa57e8ccc4079bd3fd

  • tsletten: Love the sound of the 917D2.
  • bladehunter: No doubt the 917D2 is an accurate, forgiving driver that doesn’t look as big as it is and sounds fantastic.
  • JStangMaybe it’s just me, but I find the face to be more shallow (top to bottom) with the 917D2 than other drivers that I’ve tried lately.
  • LuckyLowbrowI was actually spinning it too low with the D4. Going up to the D2 normalized my spin rate, but led to such an improvement in consistency across the face.

Further Reading

TaylorMade M1 460 2017 (11.81 percent)

TaylorMade_M1_460-Feat

  • Ereim: I ended up going with the M1 460. It gave me a slightly tighter dispersion, and I liked looking down at it slightly more.
  • jdenham15: The 2017 TaylorMade M1 is a great driver, but I tend to miss wide right and struggled to turn it over.
  • ZBigStick: The M1 460 gave me the best results. Was able to increase launch without much added spin with the (T-Track) weight. Feel is good and felt forgiving; dispersion results backing that up.
  • BillMurrayGolfingThe face is hot, receptive, thin and makes a nice sound. I like that.
  • JStangSound and feel were both fantastic. I couldn’t ask for much more in the sound and feel department than what this club offers. Plenty of feedback was provided based on impact as I would expect. I could easily tell where I missed based on feel.
  • tnordJust as another tester found, moving the weight back and forward absolutely does impact how the club sounds. I’m much more a fan of the weight back.
  • chickenpotpieMoving the slider to the draw position made the feel of the driver a little harsher. Feel was much much smoother with that weight in the middle. I didn’t see any such changes with the front/rear slider.
Further Reading

TaylorMade M2 2017 (11.86 percent)

M2_Speed_Pocket

  • ZBigStickI liked the feel of the new M2 but seemed to get better results and numbers with the new M1. Could be the extra 5 grams of head weight?
    It was dynamite with the GD TP-6 (shaft)!
  • erock9174On Trackman it didn’t put up the most ball speed, but counting all shots the M2 had the longest average distance.
  • gripandripThe M2 seems to have a little bit of a fade bias for me. And the head is HUGE. Maybe it’s a mental thing to be able to turnover a head that large.
  • Bomber_11M2 has very big shoes to fill, as the 2016 M2 was arguably one of the best drivers of the last 3-4 years.
  • LONG&STR8It’s hard to ignore the sound of the new M2. That may be TaylorMade’s biggest fail with that driver, as the sound and feel was one of the best things about the first version that I’ll have in the bag until something better comes along.
  • Z1ggy16The new M2 was terrible for me, not sure why. Unsure if it was the shaft I used but it spun up like a monster and ball speeds weren’t any better than previous M2.
  • Peanut191I don’t really think that the new M2 was much of a step backward, probably more that it doesn’t seem like a big step forward compared to last year’s model. I was hitting my 2016 M2 against a 2017 M2 indoors (which usually amplifies the louder, more obnoxious sound) and I didn’t notice that much of a difference in sound. It could have been that I might have just happened to get a hold of a head that was more muted than normal with the new one, but I just didn’t notice much difference. Performance wise, I could tell that the 2017 was slightly more forgiving than the 2016 model, but I was basically getting the same ball speed and spin numbers, so I didn’t see the need to upgrade.
  • gioguy21: Played 54 holes this weekend. The M2 was as reliable as it could get. I hit 11/12 fairways Friday, 10/12 Saturday and 5/9 or so yesterday (windy). Controllable, just wants to go straight. The sound no longer bothers me. I think it’s when hitting indoors or in range bays that it gets unbearably loud. Makes a different sound when hit on the screws I’ve found, similar to last years M2/M1 with less high-pitched ring. The forgiveness is very obvious, as I hit a couple that were close to center of the face but either high or little out toward the toe that flew similar trajectory and distance to how a well struck shot would react. I think where this driver really shines is the ability to either tee it high and hit it with higher trajectory or the ability to hit it lower with a low tee (3/4 of the ball under the crown) and hit laser beams that don’t move left or right.
  • G-BoneFrom what I’ve seen on Trackman, 2017 M1 was a big jump from 2016; however, 2016 M2 was so good, 2017 is a minor jump.
Further Reading

Callaway GBB Epic (14.91 percent)

GBB_Epic_Hero

  • HDTVMAN: I hit both the Callaway Big Bertha Fusion and Epic with a 44.5-inch UST Recoil F3 shaft and the results were very close. From customer testing, it appears the Epic is longer for those with higher (95+) swing speeds. I have also seen that 44.25-44.5-inch lengths promote tighter dispersion with customers, no loss of distance and better over-all drives.
  • mbbrewer: Tried them all and for me Epic was the one. Fastest ball speed, lowest spin and tightest dispersion.
  • Ereim: Epic felt great, looked great and the numbers were basically 99.9 percent optimized for my swing.
  • johnnylongballz72There is Epic and there is the M series… then there is everyone else. The votes here show it, the PGA Tour use shows it and launch monitors everywhere show it.
  • misplacedtexan83: GBB Epic/Sub Zero pushed the envelop in design and materials to produce increased ball speed and gains. For once a driver did what a company said it would do.
Further Reading

Callaway GBB Epic Sub Zero (16.91 percent)

GBB_Epic_Sub_Zero_Hero

  • jdenham15: I tested the Epic Sub Zero and Epic against my 2016 TaylorMade M1 and the ball speed was 5 mph higher on average, which gave me about 10 yards more carry disstance. That was great, but the part that sold me was the forgiveness. I love my Epic Sub Zero. I feel like it’s easier to turn over and I can work it both ways.
  • Z1ggy16Sub Zero was hands down the best, including my gaming M1 (yeah, not even top-3) due to the combination of lower spin, good forgiveness and feel and looks.
  • jimhaire: I had a 2016 M2 and went with the Epic Sub Zero. The look at address suited my eye and the feel off the face was better for me. And the club went straight.
  • Sef: I have tested a lot of these drivers and for me the Epic Sub Zero was so much better than everything else. I wish I could just apply all three votes to it.
Further Reading

Members Choice 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 651
  • LEGIT92
  • WOW44
  • LOL39
  • IDHT16
  • FLOP39
  • OB34
  • SHANK255

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending