Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Nike Flyknit Elite golf shoes

Published

on

OK. Let’s discuss the elephant in the Flyknit Elite golf shoe room straight away: A percentage of golfers will never wear a high-top golf shoe, regardless of how well it performs. Likewise, a percentage of golfers will not wear sneaker-style golf shoes.

If you don’t find yourself in one of the groups above, however, beyond aesthetics, the Flyknit Elite presents a viable option if you’re already a Flyknit wearer in other shoes, or are looking for lightweight spikeless shoe with ankle support (and more ankle support than the Flyknit Chukka offers).

IMG_0202

Appearing on the global sports scene during the Sochi Olympics, Flyknit footwear featuring Flyknit technology has been a fixture in other sports for the past few years. The Swoosh brought the TPU yarn technology and high-strength support fibers to golf footwear with the Flyknit Chukka and Flyknit Elite to market in June.

The tech is aimed at offering lightweight support, and the precision weave allows targeted areas to stretch and others to support. The company indicated the concept was born out of “runners a shoe with the snug (and virtually unnoticed) fit of a sock.” Breathability is the hallmark of the knit upper, and the sock-like, mid-height collar prevents debris from entering the shoe.

IMG_0203

While the shoes aren’t waterproof, they do have what Nike calls “dew protection” along the upper’s edge to keep feet dry in wet grass. Obviously, another element of the Flyknit imperative is to use fewer materials is less overall waste, for which our landfills thank us.

The sole, of which a picture is worth more than a thousand words, features what Nike calls an Integrated Traction pattern, which offers a grip at least commensurate with any spikeless offering.

IMG_0215

For this review, I was sent the Flyknit Elites in the Black/Clear Jade/Glacier Blue/White colorway. Two other colorways, pictured below, are also available. The shoes come in sizes 7-12, with half sizes in-between, as well as sizes 13 and 14, and sell for $270.

Here’s the essential question for potential purchasers of the Flyknit Elite: There are bulkier shoes on the marketplace with more stability. There are spike-laden shoes on the marketplace that offer more traction. However, to get a lighter shoe with the Flyknit’s performance and aesthetic characteristics, is that trade off worth it?

IMG_0210

Below is a quote from Nike Staffer Jamie Lovemark about the shoes. And yes, he’s paid by Nike, but he could also be wearing the more traditional Lunar Control line of shoes as he plays for his daily bread.

“I always have guys come up to me and ask about (the shoes),” Lovemark said. “They always want to know if they have spikes on them and if the traction is good, which has never been an issue for me with these shoes. Plus, I like the fact that they have a different look. There’s nothing wrong with standing out when you’re on the course.”

No doubt you’ll stand out. And in giving these shoes a spin, there is likewise no doubt that they are lighter and more fitted to the foot than any offering I’ve come across personally. There’s also more of a feeling of rootedness or connectedness with the ground than many spikeless models offer.

Ultimately, the Flyknit Elite is an athletic shoe you can comfortably and capably play golf in, while, you know, having a commendable shoe game, if that’s your thing.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”102″]

Your Reaction?
  • 81
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW7
  • LOL6
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP9
  • OB10
  • SHANK151

27 Comments

27 Comments

  1. CCshop

    Aug 16, 2016 at 6:40 pm

    $270 and no waterproofing. Pass

    • Dominic

      Jan 5, 2017 at 4:33 pm

      If you are spending $270 for golf shoes, you likely already have a waterproof pair. I have a pair of the flyknits, and they are the best shoe I’ve ever played in for ordinary dry/warm conditions. When it rains or is wet, I wear waterproof shoes, but when it’s hot, I’ll grab these 10/10 times for their comfort and breathability.

  2. Steve

    Aug 16, 2016 at 8:26 am

    I would wear them… to a job interview at the circus.

  3. Mark

    Aug 16, 2016 at 2:46 am

    Ideal shoe for loitering on a corner while wearing a tracksuit and lots of gold chains. No wonder Nike has cocked up its Golf business.

    • IowaHacker

      Aug 16, 2016 at 2:00 pm

      I bet your a “Blue Lives Matter” supporter too. You win the Internet Ignorance award for August 16, 2016!

      • Jim

        Aug 17, 2016 at 2:54 am

        Problem with Police? You some kinda golf-gansta or just a douchebag wannabe hood?

        You’re OB dipstick.

        • IowaHacker

          Aug 17, 2016 at 9:55 am

          Golf-gansta? Wannabe hood? I’m not sure I know what those two things are. Care to enlighten me James Awad from Connecticut? Maybe when I show up at your door you can talk that sh*t to my face and we can deal with it then. For a golf teacher you sure have a loud mouth, I bet you yell at children while raping their mothers in your terrible excuse for a teaching venue.

    • KK

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:25 pm

      Did you type this while wearing your pointy white hat?

  4. Korean Slum Lord

    Aug 16, 2016 at 1:15 am

    They just mailing it in for golf goods.

  5. jap

    Aug 15, 2016 at 11:24 am

    I’d like the shoe but the colors are gross. Give at least one option without some bright annoying color on it.

  6. desmond

    Aug 15, 2016 at 10:44 am

    Don’t mind them, but at $270 they are approaching the price of a PXG iron that will last 5+ years, while these shoes may last 1-2 years. $270? Seriously?

  7. Flip

    Aug 15, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Jesus h….. hideous is an understatement. I would figure some of the colored guys that come hack up our club will be wearing that puke.

    • IowaHacker

      Aug 15, 2016 at 10:49 am

      Racist much? Bet you support Trump and the KKK too. Good luck with your bigotry.

    • KK

      Aug 15, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Holy S. This dude just said “colored guys.” Blast from the 50s.

    • Ron

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:58 am

      He’s not racist since white is basically a mixture of every color. Hard to get more “colored” than that.

    • KK

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:45 pm

      The world has so many amazing things to experience. Why stay in your little racist corner? Imagine living in a world without sushi, pineapple fried rice or chorizo tacos. Nah, man.

      • Jack

        Aug 17, 2016 at 3:14 am

        Those are colored foods. He only eats white meat of course.

  8. Anna

    Aug 15, 2016 at 8:22 am

    Where’s the review? This is more like a overview.

  9. DG

    Aug 14, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    LMAO. For $270 bones? And no ‘Jumpman’ logoing? Nike is spoofing us. Right?

  10. DG

    Aug 14, 2016 at 7:49 pm

    LMAO!! For 270 bones? And no ‘Jumpman’? Nike is spoofing us. Right?

  11. jmejones

    Aug 14, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    JM…don’t knock’em till you tried them…I have 2/3 color ways…I love these shoes. 9/10 rounds I play in these now. Most comfortable, best fitting, cool looking golf shoes I’ve ever owned, and I am a golf shoe whore…tried them all over the past 5 years most of the FJ’s, latest Puma’s, countless Nikes, Adidas including boost, Ecco, UA, etc…

  12. JS

    Aug 14, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    They keep making stuff like this they will be done making golf shoes pretty soon as well.

    • Cornfused...

      Aug 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

      You mean offering both traditional shoes and more modern shoes and in general offering the golfing public with more options is going to hurt them? Wow, business acumen has passed you by hasn’t it. Shows perhaps why you don’t own a business. When it comes to shoes, Nike isn’t going anywhere. This is simply another option in the golf shoes market. It has shown decent sales and according to a commenter above, they are well loved.

      • farmer

        Aug 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm

        If you look at the demographics of the golf industry, these ugly things are designed to appeal to the smallest segment. Maybe your uncalled for comment about business acumen shows how much you know about mass marketing.

        • Jack

          Aug 17, 2016 at 3:19 am

          Golf shoes are getting more casual. You are getting Fowler wearing high tops and Puma pushing them out to sell. Younger golfers will love it. Older folk will not since it’s not the golf shoe they are used to looking at. For me even the more casual golf shoes that I have still can be worn with long golf pants. These shoes not so much. I think that’s the main problem with then. You’d have to wear joggers with them? I think the TW shoes were a good mix of sports/dressy.

  13. KK

    Aug 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    Needs more Nike swooshes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa Golf Shoe

Published

on

The Product

The new Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, available in North America now, selling for $250 at adidas.com (only available on Adidas’ website, this shoe will not be at retail).

The Pitch

From Adidas: “The adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa® is the epitome of performance golf footwear, designed to offer micro-adjustability in two separate zones. The first is the independent main dial with high strength Boa lace that when combined with the forged 360 wrap creates unparalleled power for your swing by locking the area between your midfoot and forefoot. The second provides micro-adjustability from the middle to bottom instep for a customized fit, feel, and support. The Boa Fit System activates both zones to deliver the ultimate in power, stability, and performance.”

Our take on Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa

BOA technology, a ratcheting cable system that replaces laces for securing the shoe, has been around for a while now. It was a radical departure when it first hit the market and traditionalists viewed it with some skepticism, but those who tried shoes using the system became hooked on the ease of use, secure feel, and reliability of the system. I have had to replace shoelaces, but I have never had a cable fail in a pair of shoes with Boa technology.

With the TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, Adidas has introduced the next step on Boa technology (pun intended). The shoe has a sleek, technology-forward look that is associated with Adidas products. It even looks good in the size 13 that I sport. The color selection is limited, to say the least. You can choose from white with green trim or white without green trim. But the star of the show is the Boa technology, which is implemented in two dials located on the outside of each shoe, replacing the one dial on previous iterations.

Each dial controls the fit for a different part of the shoe, and the ratcheting dial gives the wearer the most precise fit available. The real advantage over laces is that the Boa system stays secure longer and is easier to tighten than re-tying shoelaces. It’s so easy to reach down and give a couple of clicks that it became routine for me to check on each tee box to make sure I had a good fit before teeing off. Equally pleasing is the quick release on each dial that gets you out of your shoes at the end of a round without the terror of facing a wet double-knot.

The shoe is waterproof leather, and it is light and comfortable enough to walk 18 on hilly tracks. I personally would have preferred a slightly wider toe box, but that is nit-picking.

Overall, the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is a performance shoe that promises, fit, comfort and stability, and it delivers on all fronts. Not everyone has $250 to drop on a pair of golf shoes, but if you want the tech on your feet to match the tech in your bag, then the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is perfect for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB4
  • SHANK49

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes (available at Dick’s and Golf Galaxy). 

Pitch: Via Jordan: “Jump up the leaderboard in the Nike Men’s Air Jordan ADG Golf Shoes. Famed for its incredible comfort and lightweight feel, the ADG features a Zoom Air unit for responsive cushioning and an integrated lacing system for a secure, supportive fit. The Integrated Traction pattern offers you enhanced grip on every terrain and the signature Jumpman logos give you extra style on the course.”

Our take on Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Confined to the feet of Keegan Bradley for years, the iconic sneaker brand seems to have proof of concept in the golf space, as evidenced by the growing roster of tour players (Pat Perez, Harold Varner III), and numerous retail offerings.

We got to test one of said retail offerings: the just-released spikeless Air Jordan ADG. Now, the Jordan style may not be for every golfer (can’t imagine them catching on in Tuesday morning senior leagues across the nation), but if you like the look of Js on the court or street, you’ll love the look of these. Indeed, you’ll probably love the look of all Jordan offerings for the fairway, as the company has done an excellent job of bringing its aesthetic to golf, rather than the opposite (if that makes sense…tacking the Jumpman logo on a pair of saddle shoes was never going to work).

So, appearance wise, the elephant print leather upper and other signature brand elements look great (and the translucent sole is an awesome touch). However, when it comes to golf shoes, particularly of the spikeless variety, we’re always concerned about stability during the swing (both in terms of contact with the ground and within the shoe internally) and appropriate support/comfort for the five-plus mile trek that is a round of golf.

On both of the aforementioned fronts, these shoes are superb. You can feel the comfort and support the instant your heel hits the Jumpan Golf logo on the insole, and the shoes do everything you’d ask a spikeless shoe to do on course. Highly recommended; we look forward to seeing what his Airness’ cordwainers come up with next.

A look at the white colorway, via Jordan, below. 

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB6
  • SHANK32

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending