Don't miss

Ping G20 irons – a Players SGI Editor Review

by   |   December 24, 2011
20b70d660436a3d7ceb0e0fe0d16a8e4-1
Ping G20 irons – a Players SGI Editor Review GolfWRX
Looks:
Feel/Sound:
Performance

Summary: Modern designs, meaningful engineering in a package that both low and high handicap golfs can game. Fabulous custom fitting options can help with confidence.

4.5

Overall


 

 

 

 

 

 

In June Ping Golf hosted GolfWRX < << LINK TO THE ARTICLE >>> to tour their facilities and introduce the Ping Milled Anser putters and their G20 line of irons and woods. To be frank, I’ve never given the G15 irons more than a once over as they weren’t in the category of irons I typically prefer. But my curiosity was piqued by the (surprising to me) number of G15 sets showing up in professional tour bags, most notably K.J. Choi. Then a couple of our GolfWRX members posted their “Single Digit Handicap Super Game Improvement Irons Experiment” threads < << LINK TO THE ARTICLE >>> that caught my attention, as well. And the final nail in the coffin was the number of top amateur and professional employees we met at Ping who were gaming the G20s over what I expected to be the S56 irons. So, I decided to keep an open mind come initial testing of the G20s … and hide my disappointment of not trying the S56s.

Click here to see the original thread and discussion in the forums…http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/532085-ping-g20-irons-a-players-sgi/

A little about me & my game. I took up golf at 40 and quickly decided that better players had “better” clubs. So I spent about 4 years playing rounds and buying/trying/selling/buying what I learned on internet golf forums to be the best of the best golf equipment. I posted a lot of reviews – most having long since been lost/deleted off other forums – and I learned a lot about golf clubs in the process. But my handicap kind of stalled in the mid-teens even though I was playing 3/4 rounds a week. I was learning through experience that you can’t buy a better game.

A chance encounter on a golf forum led me to begin my education on the golf swing (vs. the equipment). The next 5 years were spent traveling and absorbing the smorgasbord golf swing theories of MORAD, TGM, “old school”, Stack & Tilt, and a few others — directly from the originators/top instructors who espoused each swing style. I bounced from Buffalo to Long Beach to Marietta to Los Angeles, as well as many different stops here in Southeast Texas. What I learned in that time was how to find my own golf swing. I changed irons twice in those 5 years: from Lehman Box Toes to the original AP2s: I was the anti-club-ho. My handicap dipped as low as 2, although it has settled back to 4/6. ( I’ve been off the course for the last 14 weeks due to a patella tendon injury, so I’m scoring worse than that today.) I’m average height/weight and typically carry my drives 240 yards down here.

My iron choices have all had one thing in common: little to no offset. The reason was simple and 100% attributable to a shortcoming of my own making: my inability to correctly align the blade to (or open to) the target at address. I have this maddening habit of aligning the toe of an iron to the hosel — that is what looks “at the target” to me. So the more offset an iron had the more left my iron face was/is pointed at address: irons with lots of offset equaled left of target results for me. Now, I’ve been made aware of this fault by many a swing coach, and told not to do it* by the best of the best. Unfortunately I still refer back to this, my critical alignment error. Hence, my preference for less offset.

At Ping’s factory test range I really raised an eyebrow at the offset G20 Lob wedge poking out of my test bag. Let’s just say my expectations were low. So, for fun, I started popping some high ones out towards the ~90 yard pin to warm up. I was better able to align this offset face because the last groove was painted white. Noticing a heavy shot still gave me a decent result, I began trying to hit it fatter and fatter. By the time I got to striking 4″ behind the ball and watching it still fly I was giggling. I couldn’t get any nasty results fatting the G20 Lob wedge off Ping’s firm, tight grass. This, along with my short time going through the G20 bag, opened my mind to further testing.

After production ramped Ping offered me a review set. My time to try the SGI Experiment had come. I chose a 23* bent to 22* G20 hybrid and the 4-PW G20 irons with Ping’s excellent ID8 cord grips in yellow color code (~= to NDMC mid-size). But then we added a twist…

My bag went from this…

To this…

To this…

To this:

I figured if I’m going to do an SGI test, why not take it all the way???

Ping G20 irons/wedges, 4 through Lob Wedge!

For shafts, I decided on the KBS C-Taper in Stiff. That choice was made for several reasons; 1) I’m familiar now with the shaft after testing them in other irons, 2) I prefer their heavier feel, 3) I felt the lower launch/lower spin would compliment the G20s for my swing, and 4) I have no real experience with the (very well reviewed) ZZ65 shafts that Ping’s new CFS are based on for comparison. The hybrid has the TFC 169H Tour version in it in stiff flex.

After weeks and weeks of not playing, it was somewhat comforting to have some SGIs in the bag as I started my first round. And the results were interesting. I laid up to 88 yards into #1′s front pin … perfect for the 58* Lob wedge, I thought. Down and through nicely, I expected a good result. The ball landed pin high and sucked back off the green 15 feet. As the round progressed, whenever I had full wedges into greens my playing partners and I were surprised at how much backspin I was getting. Misconception #1: For whatever reason I’ve always thought SGI or offset irons wouldn’t spin as much into the green as “player’s” irons — wrong! I’m getting at least as much spin as I do with AP2s/TM CMs on full shots.

We’ve been in a massive drought here in Southeast Texas — down over 24″ for the year — and there’s a lot of dusty hardpan around many greens. No problem, I think, for the Lob Wedge ….. it’ll just scoot it into the ball nicely with that meaty looking backside. I take a bit off the swing I’d use with my long trusted 60-M, and it goes right under the ball leaving it halfway to my target. Misconception #2: Making assumptions on performance by “eye-balling” bounce is misguided. Looking at the G20 Lob Wedge, I never would have figured it could go under a ball off dusty hard pan. I’ve tried this multiple times now with the same result. What is interesting, though, and seems somewhat contradictory: in deep rough around the greens either buried well under the top of the grass or teed up on a “whiffy” lie I’ve found it almost impossible to go under the ball! Even with a full on MORAD/Seve flop swing … go figure? Speaking of flop shots, let’s go ahead and dispel another misconception as the G20 Lob Wedge is among the easiest to flop wedges I’ve tried.


I think the “G” in G20 stands for grace, because you’re forgiven so many bad swings

The long and mid G20 irons demonstrate a level of forgiveness that I have not experienced before. I can’t count how many times I’ve hit a ball poorly, moaned/groaned/oh no’d as I finished my swing only to have my playing partners give me that “What’s wrong with that?” glare after seeing the results. Toe shots, heel shots, low groovers all, and most chunks give such undeservedly good results that you just kind of chuckle knowing what should have happened. Thin it and you’ll still be long, but just about every other miss is forgiven to what my first golf coach called a “good miss” — usually a little short. And for my rusty game I’m talking about 3, maybe 4 stroke-save opportunities per round. Tough up & downs become long two-putt par saves. You tell me what that is worth.

4-irons — G20/TM MC

4-irons — G20/TM MC

The extra offset adds launch and the combination of the KBS C-Taper shafts and the G20s gives a nice high penetrating ballflight. I’m very pleased with this shaft/head combination — each enhances the strengths and minimizes the weaknesses of the other. I have to admit after 6 rounds I’m still having left & right of target issues due to my inconsistent face (and body) alignment. But distance control is spot on. The G20 lofts are jacked a bit in comparison to my usual irons, so I’ve had to adjust to my caddie (read: me) pulling the wrong club every now and again. More importantly, though, I’m not getting any springy face fliers that have marred older springy-faced SGI irons — that’s huge for me, and would have been a deal killer. Feel at impact is solid with the C-Tapers … better than the G15s. I have no issue knowing where on the club face I missed the ball. The rare center hit feel doesn’t quite melt/disappear like a pure forging, but we’re talking nearly imperceptible differences nowadays. I don’t have a big enough sample size to give you solid feedback on the G20′s performance out of the rough — even the deeper fairway rough here is still pretty sparse. Most I can say at this time is my ball flight has been a bit lower & lefter than I expect, perhaps due to some hosel grab. I’ll update as conditions improve.

Prior to my May trip to Scotland I almost always pulled my 60-M when I was close to the green, flying the ball to the pin. But in Scotland, I re-adopted the “keep it close to the ground” chipping style that I first learned at MORAD and is a must for true links courses. The G20 wedges/irons really excel with these shots. As mentioned before, I was having trouble predicting spin off the Lob Wedge, so I started chipping low runners with the UW/PW or an 8-iron even up to a 6-iron. We’re talking TGM horizontal hinge/full roll feel using the Rule Of 12. Off the face feel on these chips with the G20s is pretty good, and my distance control has been excellent. Better players can still choose their shot style, but my results keeping it low have been so surprisingly good that I’ve committed to using what I (re)learned in Scotland.

One final misconception of mine that was quickly dispelled was the idea that more offset makes low recovery shots more difficult to keep down. My wayward drives have given me plenty of opportunities to hit punch out/punch to the green shots with surprisingly good results. Getting the ball up quickly is no issue at all. Recovery slices, though, elude me with the G20s. More a lack of talent problem.

As you have read, I’ve heavily relied on my trusted 60-M for years. I pull it for almost all of my bunker shots. My results out of the sand with the G20 Lob Wedge, though, have been mixed. I’m having trouble getting the ball up in the air and landing softly. Everything is coming out low and rolling out, which is fine as long as you’re not short-sided or landing on a down-slope. I can’t tell if the face is closing down into the sand or what. So I’ll be visiting a friend here who has played on the big tour in the near future and getting a lesson on what’s happening with that. He has an incredible short game and loves a challenge. But as far as an “easy out” wedge, this one fits the bill. I’ve found that aligning only just left and barely opening the face gives the better results. If you leave the ball in the bunker too often, try the G20 Lob Wedge. It takes some getting used to, but it works for getting out. For longer bunker shots, the G20 Sand Wedge has given me and my playing partners some stellar results.

I ordered the G20 hybrid close to the 4-iron loft to compare the two. Let me say up front that I’ve never really gotten along with hybrids — my results are too often left. But the G20 impressed me enough at Ping that I opted to replace the 3-iron with the hybrid. On the practice range I’ve found excellent high long results with no left in them — exactly what we look for in a hybrid. But my 4/5 on course results have been inconsistent. I love the feel, love the no left … I just need a bigger sample size and a little more confidence to draw useable conclusions. I’ll play a number of rounds where I pull the G20 hybrid for every 200+ yard shot, get at least 40/50 strikes with it, and return to update my impressions in the thread. I must add, though, that everyone who has tried my G20 Hybrid gushes about it. Sound & feel is top notch. Well struck, it flat flies. It’s also proven a nice option for short of the green uphill putts.

Speaking of ” try & buy”, I’d say I’ve sold over 15 sets of G20s in these past few weeks. I let anyone who asks hit them, and we’re in “hit & giggle” season down here — fundraising scrambles. Now most of my competitive amateur friends won’t touch them, but the results speak for themselves for high single-digit and up players. Sound and feel is good, ball flight is high, distances are longer — the consensus response is, I think I’m working harder than I need or want to with the [irons in my bag] compared to these.

That’s the point of the G20 irons — they make golf a little easier. I’ve had more “good misses” in just a handful of weeks with them in the bag than the balance of the year with “players” irons. In casual rounds those extra chances make the game funner — in tournament golf those chances can add up to making cuts, taller trophies, and bigger paychecks. And while I may put a more traditional 60* back in the bag, there will definitely be some shots I’ll wish I had the G20 Lob Wedge for. I have no doubt most golfers will score better with the full G20 wedge compliment. As for the SGI Irons/Single-Digit Handicap Experiment: I have to say that I could play a set of SGIs … and probably score better with them. If I did, my inner club ho ego would surely choose a set that has a professional tour presence — and that means Ping. If I had to characterize the G20s today, I’d best describe them as a Players SGI … if you catch my drift. And in that category, I’m not seeing anyone who’s doing them better.

More to come…

Click here to see the original thread and discussion in the forums… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/532085-ping-g20-irons-a-players-sgi/

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


28 Comments

  1. best weight loss pills

    May 25, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else getting the same RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?

    Thanx!!

    Look at my website :: best weight loss pills

  2. world at arms itunes

    April 23, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I enjoy reading through a post that can make men and women
    think. Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  3. AppleisevilNet

    March 10, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    I am really glad to read this weblog posts which includes
    lots of useful information, thanks for providing such information.

  4. skärande bearbeting

    March 8, 2014 at 4:16 am

    Understandably, the types of machines and techniques used
    with plastics vary significantly as it is much softer than
    metals. Computer Numerical Control Machining Lathes are easy in setting
    up, convenient to operate and very accurate in their performance.

    An axis of motion can be both linear (X,Y,Z) and
    also rotational (A,B,C).

  5. NBA General Manager 2014 Cheats

    February 12, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you
    amend your website, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account aided me a applicable deal. I have been tiny bit
    familiar of this your broadcast provided vivid clear
    idea

  6. Nick

    January 25, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Thank you so much for this post! I have been researching irons for my first new set since 2002 and this may have put the G20s over the top (vs the X-hot and others).

    Thanks again!

  7. God

    August 7, 2013 at 11:08 am

    I believe that is one of the most important info for me. And
    i’m satisfied reading your article. However want to statement on few general issues, The web site taste is ideal, the articles is really excellent : D. Just right process, cheers

  8. Jamaal

    July 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Nice post! it is also my biggest earner. Nevertheless, it
    is not as much. Cheers!

  9. www.chateargratisw.com

    July 3, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    I think this is among the such a lot vital information for me.

    And i’m happy studying your article. But should commentary on some normal issues, The website style is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D. Good process, cheers

  10. czlowiek ze stali caly film

    June 29, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with
    my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  11. Download crack for fraps 3.5.99

    June 24, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    For newest information you have to pay a quick visit world-wide-web and on the web I found this web site as
    a best web page for latest updates.

  12. download free yahoo messenger

    June 23, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Oh kittens yes. This is the perfect reason I was born.

    To find you, my long lost knowledge seeking soul-mate.

  13. solar powered battery charger

    June 17, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    Hi, There, I found your blog while surfing the internet. This
    is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Many thanks, to you!

  14. garcinia cambogia secondary effects

    May 3, 2013 at 2:29 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

  15. escuela primara en guadalajara

    April 26, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    You actually make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be actually one thing that I feel I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very vast for me. I am having a look ahead on your next publish, I will try to get the grasp of it!

  16. Click Here

    April 13, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and
    find nearly all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

  17. The website

    April 10, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Hi there friends, its great post concerning educationand entirely defined, keep it
    up all the time.

  18. financiamiento para vivienda

    March 11, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Esta pagina web me ayudo mientras estaba buscando informacion sobre bancos para pagar faov .

    Muy agradecido.

  19. Chris

    November 7, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    I’ve seen many comments from people who are torn between i20s and G20s. Here is my advice: if you can afford them and are patient with a full set purchase, get your own demo clubs.
    Last month, I went to a Mizuno demo day, primarily to get on their Shaft Optimizer. I ended up getting the recommended head / shaft / grip combination in a 6-iron, if nothing else, so I wouldn’t feel bad about what I was going to do. A few weeks later, since I play Ping irons (i3+), I purchased i20 and G20 6-irons, each with the recommended shaft. I have been hitting them (range and on the course) and will make a final decision later. Note – I was having trouble hitting the clubs left, especially the G20. So I moved the ball an inch or so back in my stance. Magic! I can now boom the G20s, but I hit the Mizuno and the i20 (with their smaller offset) a bit thin. I will try moving the ball back only a 1/2″ with those clubs and see what happens.
    Your own demo clubs are worth a try. Good luck

  20. murraywest

    October 2, 2012 at 2:37 am

    I’m an 11 handicap, and play twice a week. In April I bought a set of Ping i20?s. I was so excited to have the clubs I pined for. The first thing I noticed is that I started hitting a trap draw, with side spin. I hit some of the best shots of my life. More, and more I noticed that I was leaving the ball right side, and when I started to aim mid green, the trap draw would occur more often than not. Here I was… trapped as a 11 handicap without knowing what was going to happen on any given shot. One day I played with a 4 handicap who had a set of G20?s. He was obviously better than me, and I asked him why he played the G20?s over the i20?s. He said the G20?s are more consistent and that he likes a vertical spin ball rather than a side spin ball. Well, he planted an evil seed in my mind, and every shot I mist hit, I could see where he was coming from. So, I saved my cash, and hid it from my wife, and bought a set of G20?s for myself. So… the advice you about to hear is from a avid golfer who has BOTH sets of clubs.

    The G20?s are tons easier to hit. The ball flights 20% higher. The longer irons are sooo much better that it’s weird. To be honest, the 9, W, U of the i20?s are better, but they are not much better than the G20?s. The 4,5,6,7,8 of the G20?s are light years better than the i20?s. I have the luxury of having the clubs of choice in my bag, but if I had to have only one set, I’d go with the G20?s – by far. The vertical spin of the G20?s makes the ball spin backwards, and the balls stop better on the green. In summation – Now I aim at the pin, and the ball mostly flies at the pin. I had 3 birdies the first round I played with them, all because I was nearer the pin.

  21. Slu

    August 9, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    How do the G20′s comparable to the K15′s? I am getting fitted this weekend – thanks

  22. rmmick

    June 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    I am recovering from a total hip replacement in dec 2011 and not getting any younger, 47. earlier in life i was a 5 handicap, but now with too much to do i have dropped to an 11. with my hip issues i had developed a very shallow follow-thru and have been cutting the ball for quite a while. on a whim i stopped by golfsmith here and asked to be fitted for a new set of irons. when asked if i had any “loyalties” to a specific manufacturer i said I will go with whatever the analysis determines the best for me and my swing. My last set of iron were Cleveland TA-7′s which I have had new since 2004. Due to my hip issues I have a difficult time hitting the lower irons and prefer the hybrid over say a 4 iron, so once i convinced the staff member working with me that i needed to hit a 7 iron not a 5 iron or 6 iron to keep apples to apples they did infact accommodate me and took clubs right off the racks to do so.

    I hit the usual “big boys”, Calloway, Taylor Made, Titleist, along with Mizuno and a couple others. When I was asked about Ping I said I had never thought about them before, everyone I knew that had them years ago said they lost at least a club distance with them, but I said I would openly swing them and see what happens…..WOW…my goal was to increase my launch angle and get the ball higher …these clubs did it right from the start, my launch angles, spin, and acuracy all increased. I have always been a player who can get up and down from anywhere within 50 yards of the green, and having tried the “U” wedge that came with my 4-PW set, I have decided to stick with what works and leave that one out of the bag for now and keep my existing wedges – 52/56/60

    I have played 5 rounds with the clubs and am now “dialing” into them and my alignment, the “offset” takes a few rounds and buckets of balls to get accustomed to, but now they are working perfectly in my opinion. My ball flight is higher than ever, where i want it, i am hitting them as long or even a bit longer than my old clubs and my “mishits” are still playable, not OB or in real trouble, if anything, they stay on-line, but come up a bit short.

    As I get “older” and hopefully “slower” in my swing, i also felt that this club would work for me for some time to come. I have the steel?stiff shafts currently, but could always switch out to a graphite when that time comes, not to mention that this club cuts through the rough like a butter knife through butter. I have even started to hit the “4″ iron in the bag again and am consistanly hitting it 200 yds…the same as my 4hybrid did.

    I recommend these clubs to ANYONE! they were not anywhere on my “radarscreen” originally, but they will be forever now..

  23. JLo

    May 29, 2012 at 10:30 am

    Follow-up to my Feb 3, 2012 comment:

    I’ve now played 20+ rounds with my G20 irons (yellow dot/ std length/ std grip/ regular flex stock steel shaft). PING delivered the 4-UW set in less than a week. I’m a +- bogie player. My formal instruction is limited to Clive Scarff’s Hit Down Damnit and a couple of lessons from a Pro. I highly recommend the G20s. My natural shot is now a draw. I can work my 4-7 irons right-to-left with increasing accuracy. Initially I was concerned that the G20s’ trajectory was too high. I played in the wind early on and couldn’t find a green. My problem, however, was a steep swing plane rather than any bias of the G20s. With a more appropriate swing plane, the ball’s trajectory is lower (still towering), a draw is the result and wind has become less daunting. A well struck 8-iron goes long: 150+ yards (4-iron: 200+ yards). They’re very forgiving. Mishits are much less penalizing. What’s not to like?! My only advice is to opt for the 3-PW. I swapped my 50 degree UW for a Vokey 52/08. The Vokey is more useful. And given how well I can hit my 4-iron off the tee, I’ll be adding the G20 3-iron soon. :) Hope this helps.

  24. JLo

    February 3, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    In the market for a new set of irons, scouring the web for something more than a regurgitated press release (it’s astounding to me how crappy Google search is in such circumstances) … finally: a thoughtful hands on review. Thanks! I got fitted today for a set of G20s at a local pro shop. DO NOT underestimate the value of custom fitting. After the basic measurements were taken, I was able to demo a 7-iron with three different lie angles OUTSIDE on the range. Had I relied upon PING.COM’s web-fitting app (and the prevalence of clubs available on eBay) I would have gone with the standard black dot. But after a bucket of balls and then a “lie board” test (not to mention a helpful tip from the pro) it was apparent that yellow dot suited my swing. Yes, I am guilty of more than a little bit of manic untested expectation here, but my ball striking at the range was very encouraging. I will follow-up with a more informed opinion once I’ve played a round. Thanks, again, for the review.

  25. Patrick

    January 26, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    I just ordered my G20′s. Can’t wait for them to come in and try them in playing conditions. I too tried a number of “Players” clubs but could never get my hcp below 12. I know it’s the Indian not the arrows. All good clubs I was using but they all rendered the same results for me. I thought I was better than GI irons untill I tried the G20′s. They felt great and on miss hits the loss in result was minimal. I do have to mention this is the very first time I was actually fitted for clubs as well. While going through the fitting process I tried all the normal clubs I played. With the G 20′s I picked up swing speed, ball speed, better launch angle, and distance. What a difference. I look forward to lowering that hcp. Advice – Lose the ego, get fitted and play the right irons that fit your game. I suggest you start with the G20′s. :)

  26. Mat

    January 12, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    I was a “get ‘em all” guy too. I did go all the way to a LW, and then had to go to a Tour-S after finding I couldn’t get the club low enough. Too many ‘skulls’.

    That LW is great in fairway, rough… but when you get to a place where you need to open the face, you’re going to want a customary wedge. :)

  27. bart

    January 12, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    I just bought a set of G20′s and I am madly in love with them! When I went into my local golf shop (Dukes in Annapolis, MD) I wanted to buy the Titleist 712 AP1. In addition I tried irons from Callaway, and TM. At the driving range I could not find one that stood out from another. I brought back the R11′s and Burner 2 because they just did nothing for me. They weren’t bad, they weren’t great they were just fehh. On a whim I decided to take out the G20 7 iron. I went back to the range and hit the Callaway razr and razr xf, and the AP1. Still none stood out from the other. Some shots were great, some were suprisingly long and then there was everything else. Then I tried the G20…a much higher launch and perfectly straight. I swung again, and again, and again. Same results.. awesome. I figured I was warmed up and in a groove so I tried the other clubs again and the magic disappeared. Back to the G20 and the magic was back! I bought 4-Utility wedge (their term for Gap) and I have played 4 rounds with them under adverse conditions, so I am still adjusting to them. I have had to drop down 1 and sometimes 2 clubs because I am hitting them farther. I want to give you an example of the difference these clubs are making in my game. I played today iand it got up to 60 degrees (go global warming) but it rained all last night and into the morning so the course was drenched. I actually had 1 putt hydroplane. On an uphill par 5 I never do well on, I had a ok drive (absolutely no carry today), hit a beautiful 4 iron straight down the fairway, then a 7 iron onto the green. All this while I had 4 golfers watching me as we played thru. I never do well in those situations because I try to speed up to get out of their way. But as I approached each iron shot I was calm and confident because I knew if I just took a normal swing good things would happen. Thank you PING!!

  28. azgolfguy

    January 3, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Great post. I was getting my 20 year old Eye2′s re-shafted when the fitter suggested the G20. I cant imagine switching but they seemed very forgiving. My biggest fear is the large bounce from tight lies. You addressed it here and really found no problem? After playing now for a while do you have any new thoughts on these?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>