Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Nevr Looz NL ProClip Golf Bag

Published

on

Pros: Nevr Looz is a fresh take on a piece of equipment every player uses and eventually needs to replace. The unique design is well thought out and offers some tangible benefits as compared to traditional bags.

Cons: Design features require some setup and may be too much of a departure from traditional bags for some. Designated putter well doesn’t accommodate putters with larger grips.

Bottom Line: It’s different. And that may be a good thing. Or it may not. It really depends on how much you love or hate your current bag and whether or not a more efficient system is something you need.

The Review

general+017

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

The whole world seems to be getting smarter and now this intelligence has infiltrated golf bags. The NL Proclip from Nevr Looz is golf’s first self-proclaimed “Smartbag,” and aims to be “the most efficient, organized, sophisticated and unique” bag on the market. If that wasn’t enough, Nevr Looz also wants “to change the market forever.” I’m not a prognosticator, but I do know you can’t have the type of impact Nevr Looz is after unless you’re willing to go about things a bit differently and take some risks. The NL Proclip does both. 

There’s a saying about fixing things that aren’t broken. But what if you didn’t know something was broken and therefore never made an effort to change it? It’s somewhere in this line of thinking the NL Proclip golf bag exists. 

So what can Looz do for you? It all starts with your old bag and what it doesn’t do. For this review, I used the criteria as presented on the Nevr Looz website to determine if my bag (Ping Hoofer 2015 model) is in as bad of shape as Nevr Looz says it is. 

Grey+n+Green+054

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 1. Clubs are constantly bunched. I don’t have a 14-way divider in my bag and so there are certainly times where I can’t get a club out of the bag (or put one in for that matter). This is entirely frustrating and golf is a game with enough frustration as is. To address this situation, Nevr Looz utlizies a proprietary “club clip” system whereby each individual club is held in place and sits in a separate well. It’s easy enough to set up and doesn’t take more than a small bucket at the range to get used to, which is good because taking your clubs in and out of your bag shouldn’t be something you have to spend much time figuring out.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria No. 2: Clubheads constantly banging. Irons, yes. Everything else, no. If a club has a headcover in my case that’s driver, three-wood, hybrid and putter — I’m not worried about any fender-benders or dings. However, most of us are resigned to the reality of “bag chatter,” especially if you play forged irons and/or wedges. Some players despise such blemishes and others see them as collateral damage and part of the soundtrack to a round of golf. The proprietary “club clip” system does a nice job of minimizing club-to-club contact, which is likely a selling point for some. 

Point: Draw 

NL+010

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 3: Scratches on graphite shafts. Whether I dropped three bills for an upgraded driver shaft or it’s the stock offering, scratches on paint really rub me the wrong way. That said, the most dangerous villain in my bag tends to be alignment sticks (think orange and white driveway markers) that go rogue and sneak up under my headcovers. Regardless, I don’t love the scuffs and abrasions that do result from too much paint rub and the individual clips in the NL do a great job of keeping these clubs separate. 

Point: Nevr Looz, barely. 

Criteria No. 4: Clubs hard to get in/out.  See criteria No. 1. When clubs are bunched up, they’re hard to extricate. When they’re hard to maneuver, it’s because they’re bunched up. So for my money, it’s pretty much the same thing.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria 5: Lost clubs. For many of us, losing a club creates a void only golfers can understand. It’s the avoidable nature of this hollow feeling that really drives me batty. That said, I’m not necessarily convinced this bag would prevent me from leaving my 7 iron at the driving range or my wedge on the fringe of green, but I do believe I’d notice something was amiss a lot sooner than just the next time I went to grab that particular club. 

Point: 0.5 to Nevr Looz 

If you use only the criteria presented by Nevr Looz, the NL ProClip clearly has some advantages over traditional bags. How much of an advantage is entirely up to you. 

What else you need to know 

NL+-+upside+down+pics+004+WITH+NAME

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Nevr Looz does offer a bag specifically for walkers, which offers the same technology as the cart bag with additional side padding and a backpack strap. Anticipated MSRP on this bag is $179.00

I did throw the NL Pro Clip on my ClicGear 3.5 and it wasn’t a perfect fit, which is likely the reason Nevr Looz offers the matching “Easy Peasy” pull-cart. Although it isn’t available yet, expect the cost to be right around $100. 

Multiple skins allow golfers to change the look of their bag as often as they change their mood. And If they want something truly custom, Nevr Looz can do that as well.

Fifteen pockets give ample room to store anything and everything golfers could possibly want or need to take with them on a round of golf. In fact, I found there were several pockets I’m not certain I’d ever use, but it’s always nice to have the extra space especially when it doesn’t mean extra weight. 

NL+011

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

If you typically carry alignment rods or swing aids (Orange Whip for me), there isn’t an obvious place to put them. I ended up shoving everything in the same well as my woods, which wasn’t ideal, but isn’t a deal breaker either. 

I’ve never (or should I say “nevr”) seen a cart-specific bag with retractable legs, which is a great idea, and when you consider the structural integrity of the metal frame, this bag will last as long as you want it to. 

With an MSRP of $199, the NL ProClip on par with the highest rated cart bags from 2015. Want one? Or want to learn more? Check out www.nevrlooz.com 

Your Reaction?
  • 146
  • LEGIT44
  • WOW32
  • LOL7
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP25
  • OB11
  • SHANK144

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. Angela R.

    Mar 17, 2019 at 7:22 am

    Awesome post, thanks you so much for sharing, you should also visit http://golfgear.science/category/golf-bag-review perhaps cause this site is great for golf bag stuffs said lydia just above.

  2. BIll

    Apr 25, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    My brother & I both want one of these bags, where can you buy one in Ontario, Canada

  3. aaron merritt

    Apr 4, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    this is a really cool bag. I’m interested. I
    haha and i have no idea what these haters are smoking…The website looks fine (simple modern design) and all of the negative comments are nonsense. It is open and therefor comes with a rain cover (same as normal bag). The bag clearly works on a cart (evident by the shitload of pictures I found in about 20 seconds). To the traditionalists (who would have trashed the idea of a 60 degree wedge a few decades ago), stop going out of your way to check-out products that you are already closed off too just to leave a shit comment. pessimists.

  4. Robert Weinmeier

    Mar 13, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    We haven’t had any complaints and have sold thousands! So probably not going to change it!

  5. Steve

    Feb 9, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    Doesn’t seem to consider that a senior like myself might carry a 3, 4,and 5 hybrid instead of the 3, 4, and 5 irons. Doesn’t look like a hybrid will fit in the clips.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 7:57 pm

      We actually designed the bag with a Senior in mind…my dad. The most exciting bag on the market can accommodate 10 hybrids.

  6. PKS

    Feb 3, 2016 at 10:34 am

    Industrial Strength Ugly

  7. Mat

    Feb 2, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    Uhhh… does it come with rayn hoodz?? LULZ

  8. mhendon

    Feb 2, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I guess I’m a traditionalist but I like my golf bag to look like a golf bag.

  9. Rich

    Feb 2, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    Doesn’t anyone care how good their gear looks? Normal bags work well enough for me and look the part. Would never buy anything like this. It looks hideous!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:17 pm

      This is a bag who cares about their game and the look and function of the bag…it’s obvious you have one of those old leather bags from the 50’s…so I suggest you just stick with it.

  10. Mikec

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    Never looz just lost me

  11. jumbbojett

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    Ogio has a better version of this.

    • oldredtop

      Feb 3, 2016 at 10:18 am

      Jumbo, I’m interested in looking at Ogio’s version, but could not find one on their site. Do you have a model #?

      • Tom

        Feb 4, 2016 at 8:19 am

        I have the ogio version. The chamber bag is the cart version, and the silencer is the stand bag version. They work great and the silencer is quite comfortable to carry. This bag seems like a knock off of that really.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:20 pm

      Ogio bags don’t work and the club heads still bang and the clubs are too hard to get in. NEVRLOOZ is the only bag on the market that has 10 individual clips that slide and rotate to fit any club on the market and secures each club. The club simply drops in the clip. Once you try a NEVRLOOZ golf bag you cannot use any other bag!

  12. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I stand chastised. I went to the website and the clips can be reversed for left handed clubs. Assumed and you know what that stands for.

  13. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Rain would be a problem. Based on the pictures I would bet that the clips only work for right handed clubs.

  14. Chuck D

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    Love Teaj’s response. Mine as well, to the letter! There is nothing like guiding a bladed wedge back

    into the bag with aggressive bodily force!

  15. Doug

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    Maybe someone will like this, but I think it’s garbage.

  16. Teaj

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    there is no satisfaction in gently placing your club in your bag and clipping it into place after a missed shot.

  17. Mark

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Massive Con missing: any kind of inclement weather and your clubs are completely unprotected. Absolute nonsense.

  18. TWShoot67

    Feb 2, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    I had a bag that had this idea way back in the 80’s. This is a good Idea for walking but it appears the bag is too wide to fit two on a cart. Also if they happen to fit both inner rows of irons would probably be banging into each other. Good idea but too wide!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:11 pm

      So do you think the NEVRLOOZ design team, all of which are golfers, spent 5 years on product development only to create a bag that is too wide to fit two on a golf cart….so do you think they all went out as a single and never played together….this comment is not even worth commenting on…go to “gallery” page on the website to see pics with two bags together.

      Further, the 10 individual clips keeps the clubs from banging, no matter what configuration your brain can come up with.

      • Robert

        Jul 11, 2016 at 12:39 pm

        Robert, I’ve read through your comments, here and frankly, I’m a little unimpressed with your reply to feedback here. There will always be a degree of snark on the internet, especially when introducing a unconventional product into an established marketplace. It doesn’t help the company’s image. In considering purchasing the product, I’d think twice about whether customer service would take me seriously if I had a complaint or if the bag needed repairing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 75
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending