Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Nevr Looz NL ProClip Golf Bag

Published

on

Pros: Nevr Looz is a fresh take on a piece of equipment every player uses and eventually needs to replace. The unique design is well thought out and offers some tangible benefits as compared to traditional bags.

Cons: Design features require some setup and may be too much of a departure from traditional bags for some. Designated putter well doesn’t accommodate putters with larger grips.

Bottom Line: It’s different. And that may be a good thing. Or it may not. It really depends on how much you love or hate your current bag and whether or not a more efficient system is something you need.

The Review

general+017

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

The whole world seems to be getting smarter and now this intelligence has infiltrated golf bags. The NL Proclip from Nevr Looz is golf’s first self-proclaimed “Smartbag,” and aims to be “the most efficient, organized, sophisticated and unique” bag on the market. If that wasn’t enough, Nevr Looz also wants “to change the market forever.” I’m not a prognosticator, but I do know you can’t have the type of impact Nevr Looz is after unless you’re willing to go about things a bit differently and take some risks. The NL Proclip does both. 

There’s a saying about fixing things that aren’t broken. But what if you didn’t know something was broken and therefore never made an effort to change it? It’s somewhere in this line of thinking the NL Proclip golf bag exists. 

So what can Looz do for you? It all starts with your old bag and what it doesn’t do. For this review, I used the criteria as presented on the Nevr Looz website to determine if my bag (Ping Hoofer 2015 model) is in as bad of shape as Nevr Looz says it is. 

Grey+n+Green+054

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 1. Clubs are constantly bunched. I don’t have a 14-way divider in my bag and so there are certainly times where I can’t get a club out of the bag (or put one in for that matter). This is entirely frustrating and golf is a game with enough frustration as is. To address this situation, Nevr Looz utlizies a proprietary “club clip” system whereby each individual club is held in place and sits in a separate well. It’s easy enough to set up and doesn’t take more than a small bucket at the range to get used to, which is good because taking your clubs in and out of your bag shouldn’t be something you have to spend much time figuring out.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria No. 2: Clubheads constantly banging. Irons, yes. Everything else, no. If a club has a headcover in my case that’s driver, three-wood, hybrid and putter — I’m not worried about any fender-benders or dings. However, most of us are resigned to the reality of “bag chatter,” especially if you play forged irons and/or wedges. Some players despise such blemishes and others see them as collateral damage and part of the soundtrack to a round of golf. The proprietary “club clip” system does a nice job of minimizing club-to-club contact, which is likely a selling point for some. 

Point: Draw 

NL+010

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 3: Scratches on graphite shafts. Whether I dropped three bills for an upgraded driver shaft or it’s the stock offering, scratches on paint really rub me the wrong way. That said, the most dangerous villain in my bag tends to be alignment sticks (think orange and white driveway markers) that go rogue and sneak up under my headcovers. Regardless, I don’t love the scuffs and abrasions that do result from too much paint rub and the individual clips in the NL do a great job of keeping these clubs separate. 

Point: Nevr Looz, barely. 

Criteria No. 4: Clubs hard to get in/out.  See criteria No. 1. When clubs are bunched up, they’re hard to extricate. When they’re hard to maneuver, it’s because they’re bunched up. So for my money, it’s pretty much the same thing.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria 5: Lost clubs. For many of us, losing a club creates a void only golfers can understand. It’s the avoidable nature of this hollow feeling that really drives me batty. That said, I’m not necessarily convinced this bag would prevent me from leaving my 7 iron at the driving range or my wedge on the fringe of green, but I do believe I’d notice something was amiss a lot sooner than just the next time I went to grab that particular club. 

Point: 0.5 to Nevr Looz 

If you use only the criteria presented by Nevr Looz, the NL ProClip clearly has some advantages over traditional bags. How much of an advantage is entirely up to you. 

What else you need to know 

NL+-+upside+down+pics+004+WITH+NAME

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Nevr Looz does offer a bag specifically for walkers, which offers the same technology as the cart bag with additional side padding and a backpack strap. Anticipated MSRP on this bag is $179.00

I did throw the NL Pro Clip on my ClicGear 3.5 and it wasn’t a perfect fit, which is likely the reason Nevr Looz offers the matching “Easy Peasy” pull-cart. Although it isn’t available yet, expect the cost to be right around $100. 

Multiple skins allow golfers to change the look of their bag as often as they change their mood. And If they want something truly custom, Nevr Looz can do that as well.

Fifteen pockets give ample room to store anything and everything golfers could possibly want or need to take with them on a round of golf. In fact, I found there were several pockets I’m not certain I’d ever use, but it’s always nice to have the extra space especially when it doesn’t mean extra weight. 

NL+011

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

If you typically carry alignment rods or swing aids (Orange Whip for me), there isn’t an obvious place to put them. I ended up shoving everything in the same well as my woods, which wasn’t ideal, but isn’t a deal breaker either. 

I’ve never (or should I say “nevr”) seen a cart-specific bag with retractable legs, which is a great idea, and when you consider the structural integrity of the metal frame, this bag will last as long as you want it to. 

With an MSRP of $199, the NL ProClip on par with the highest rated cart bags from 2015. Want one? Or want to learn more? Check out www.nevrlooz.com 

Your Reaction?
  • 144
  • LEGIT43
  • WOW31
  • LOL7
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP25
  • OB11
  • SHANK144

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

29 Comments

29 Comments

  1. BIll

    Apr 25, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    My brother & I both want one of these bags, where can you buy one in Ontario, Canada

  2. aaron merritt

    Apr 4, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    this is a really cool bag. I’m interested. I
    haha and i have no idea what these haters are smoking…The website looks fine (simple modern design) and all of the negative comments are nonsense. It is open and therefor comes with a rain cover (same as normal bag). The bag clearly works on a cart (evident by the shitload of pictures I found in about 20 seconds). To the traditionalists (who would have trashed the idea of a 60 degree wedge a few decades ago), stop going out of your way to check-out products that you are already closed off too just to leave a shit comment. pessimists.

  3. Robert Weinmeier

    Mar 13, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    We haven’t had any complaints and have sold thousands! So probably not going to change it!

  4. Steve

    Feb 9, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    Doesn’t seem to consider that a senior like myself might carry a 3, 4,and 5 hybrid instead of the 3, 4, and 5 irons. Doesn’t look like a hybrid will fit in the clips.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 7:57 pm

      We actually designed the bag with a Senior in mind…my dad. The most exciting bag on the market can accommodate 10 hybrids.

  5. PKS

    Feb 3, 2016 at 10:34 am

    Industrial Strength Ugly

  6. Mat

    Feb 2, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    Uhhh… does it come with rayn hoodz?? LULZ

  7. mhendon

    Feb 2, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I guess I’m a traditionalist but I like my golf bag to look like a golf bag.

  8. Rich

    Feb 2, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    Doesn’t anyone care how good their gear looks? Normal bags work well enough for me and look the part. Would never buy anything like this. It looks hideous!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:17 pm

      This is a bag who cares about their game and the look and function of the bag…it’s obvious you have one of those old leather bags from the 50’s…so I suggest you just stick with it.

  9. Mikec

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    Never looz just lost me

  10. jumbbojett

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    Ogio has a better version of this.

    • oldredtop

      Feb 3, 2016 at 10:18 am

      Jumbo, I’m interested in looking at Ogio’s version, but could not find one on their site. Do you have a model #?

      • Tom

        Feb 4, 2016 at 8:19 am

        I have the ogio version. The chamber bag is the cart version, and the silencer is the stand bag version. They work great and the silencer is quite comfortable to carry. This bag seems like a knock off of that really.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:20 pm

      Ogio bags don’t work and the club heads still bang and the clubs are too hard to get in. NEVRLOOZ is the only bag on the market that has 10 individual clips that slide and rotate to fit any club on the market and secures each club. The club simply drops in the clip. Once you try a NEVRLOOZ golf bag you cannot use any other bag!

  11. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I stand chastised. I went to the website and the clips can be reversed for left handed clubs. Assumed and you know what that stands for.

  12. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Rain would be a problem. Based on the pictures I would bet that the clips only work for right handed clubs.

  13. Chuck D

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    Love Teaj’s response. Mine as well, to the letter! There is nothing like guiding a bladed wedge back

    into the bag with aggressive bodily force!

  14. Doug

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    Maybe someone will like this, but I think it’s garbage.

  15. Teaj

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    there is no satisfaction in gently placing your club in your bag and clipping it into place after a missed shot.

  16. Mark

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Massive Con missing: any kind of inclement weather and your clubs are completely unprotected. Absolute nonsense.

  17. TWShoot67

    Feb 2, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    I had a bag that had this idea way back in the 80’s. This is a good Idea for walking but it appears the bag is too wide to fit two on a cart. Also if they happen to fit both inner rows of irons would probably be banging into each other. Good idea but too wide!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:11 pm

      So do you think the NEVRLOOZ design team, all of which are golfers, spent 5 years on product development only to create a bag that is too wide to fit two on a golf cart….so do you think they all went out as a single and never played together….this comment is not even worth commenting on…go to “gallery” page on the website to see pics with two bags together.

      Further, the 10 individual clips keeps the clubs from banging, no matter what configuration your brain can come up with.

      • Robert

        Jul 11, 2016 at 12:39 pm

        Robert, I’ve read through your comments, here and frankly, I’m a little unimpressed with your reply to feedback here. There will always be a degree of snark on the internet, especially when introducing a unconventional product into an established marketplace. It doesn’t help the company’s image. In considering purchasing the product, I’d think twice about whether customer service would take me seriously if I had a complaint or if the bag needed repairing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 100
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 88
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: FlightScope Mevo

Published

on

In 100 Words

The Mevo is a useful practice tool for amateur golfers and represents a step forward from previous offerings on the market. It allows golfers to practice indoors or outdoors and provides club speed, ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance and flight time.

It also has a video capture mode that will overlay swing videos with the swing data of a specific swing. It is limited in its capabilities and its accuracy, though, which golfers should expect at this price point. All in all, it’s well worth the $499 price tag if you understand what you’re getting.

The Full Review

The FlightScope Mevo is a launch monitor powered by 3D Doppler radar. With a retail price of $499, it is obviously aimed to reach the end consumer as opposed to PGA professionals and club fitters.

The Mevo device itself is tiny. Like, really tiny. It measures 3.5-inches wide, 2.8-inches tall and 1.2-inches deep. In terms of everyday products, it’s roughly the size of an Altoids tin. It’s very easy to find room for it in your golf bag, and the vast majority of people at the range you may be practicing at won’t even notice it’s there. Apart from the Mevo itself, in the box you get a quick start guide, a charging cable, a carrying pouch, and some metallic stickers… more on those later. It has a rechargeable internal battery that reaches a full charge in about two hours and lasts for about four hours when fully charged.

As far as software goes, the Mevo pairs with the Mevo Golf app on your iOS or Android device. The app is free to download and does not require any subscription fees (unless you want to store and view videos of your swing online as opposed to using the memory on your device). The app is very easy to use even for those who aren’t tech savvy. Make sure you’re using the most current version of the firmware for the best results, though (I did experience some glitches at first until I did so). The settings menu does have an option to manually force firmware writing, but updates should happen automatically when you start using the device.

Moving through the menus, beginning sessions, editing shots (good for adding notes on things like strike location or wind) are all very easy. Video mode did give me fits the first time I used it, though, as it was impossible to maintain my connection between my phone and the Mevo while having the phone in the right location to capture video properly. The only way I could achieve this was by setting the Mevo as far back from strike location as the device would allow. Just something to keep in mind if you find you’re having troubles with video mode.

Screenshot of video capture mode with the FlightScope Mevo

Using the Mevo

When setting up the Mevo, it needs to be placed between 4-7 feet behind the golf ball, level with the playing surface and pointed down the target line. The distance you place the Mevo behind the ball does need to be entered into the settings menu before starting your session. While we’re on that subject, before hitting balls, you do need to select between indoor, outdoor, and pitching (ball flight less than 20 yards) modes, input your altitude and select video or data mode depending on if you want to pair your data with videos of each swing or just see the data by itself. You can also edit the available clubs to be monitored, as you will have to tell the Mevo which club you’re using at any point in time to get the best results. Once you get that far, you’re pretty much off to the races.

Testing the Mevo

I tested the FlightScope Mevo with Brad Bachand at Man O’ War Golf Center in Lexington, Kentucky. Brad is a member of the PGA and has received numerous awards for golf instruction and club fitting. I wanted to put the Mevo against the best device FlightScope has to offer and, luckily, Brad does use his $15,000 FlightScope X3 daily. We had both the FlightScope Mevo and Brad’s FlightScope X3 set up simultaneously, so the numbers gathered from the two devices were generated from the exact same strikes. Brad also set up the two devices and did all of the ball striking just to maximize our chances for success.

The day of our outdoor session was roughly 22 degrees Fahrenheit. There was some wind on that day (mostly right to left), but it wasn’t a major factor. Our setup is pictured below.

Outdoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our outdoor testing are shown below. The testing was conducted with range balls, and we did use the metallic stickers. The range balls used across all the testing were all consistently the same brand. Man O’ War buys all new range balls once a year and these had been used all throughout 2017.  The 2018 batch had not yet been purchased at the time that testing was conducted.

Raw outdoor data captured with range balls including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

You’ll notice some peculiar data in the sand wedge spin category. To be honest, I don’t fully know what contributed to the X3 measuring such low values. While the Mevo’s sand wedge spin numbers seem more believable, you could visibly see that the X3 was much more accurate on carry distance. Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our outdoor session when separated out for each club. As previously mentioned, though, take sand wedge spin with a grain of salt.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (outdoor testing).

The first thing we noticed was that the Mevo displays its numbers while the golf ball is still in midair, so it was clear that it wasn’t watching the golf ball the entire time like the X3. According to the Mevo website, carry distance, height and flight time are all calculated while club speed, ball speed, launch angle and spin rate are measured. As for the accuracy of the measured parameters, the Mevo’s strength is ball speed. The accuracy of the other measured ball parameters (launch angle and spin rate) is questionable depending on certain factors (quality of strike, moisture on the clubface and ball, quality of ball, etc). I would say it ranges between “good” or “very good” and “disappointing” with most strikes being categorized as “just okay.”

As for the calculated parameters of carry distance, height and time, those vary a decent amount. Obviously, when the measurements of the three inputs become less accurate, the three outputs will become less accurate as a result. Furthermore, according to FlightScope, the Mevo’s calculations are not accounting for things like temperature, humidity, and wind. The company has also stated, though, that future updates will likely adjust for these parameters by using location services through the app.

Now, let’s talk about those metallic stickers. According to the quick start guide, the Mevo needs a sticker on every golf ball you hit, and before you hit each ball, the ball needs to be placed such that the sticker is facing the target. It goes without saying that it doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun to spend time putting those stickers on every ball, let alone balls that will never come back to you if you’re at a public driving range. Obviously, people are going to want to avoid using the stickers if they can, so do they really matter? Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls with and without the use of the stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you use the metallic stickers and when you don’t

The FlightScope website says that the metallic stickers “are needed in order for the Mevo to accurately measure ball spin.” We observed pretty much the same as shown in the table above. The website also states they are working on alternative solutions to stickers (possibly a metallic sharpie), which I think is wise.

Another thing we thought would be worth testing is the impact of different golf balls. Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls as compared to Pro V1’s. All of this data was collected using the metallic stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you switch from range balls to Pro V1’s

As shown above, the data gets much closer virtually across the board when you use better quality golf balls. Just something else to keep in mind when using the Mevo.

Indoor testing requires 8 feet of ball flight (impact zone to hitting net), which was no problem for us. Our setup is pictured below. All of the indoor testing was conducted with Titleist Pro V1 golf balls using the metallic stickers.

Indoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our indoor session are shown below.

Raw indoor data captured with Pro V1’s including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our indoor session when separated out for each club.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (indoor testing)

On the whole, the data got much closer together between the two devices in our indoor session. I would think a lot of that can be attributed to the use of quality golf balls and to removing outdoor factors like wind and temperature (tying into my previous comment above).

As far as overall observations between all sessions, the most striking thing was that the Mevo consistently gets more accurate when you hit really good, straight shots. When you hit bad shots, or if you hit a fade or a draw, it gets less and less accurate.

The last parameter to address is club speed, which came in around 5 percent different on average between the Mevo and X3 based on all of the shots recorded. The Mevo was most accurate with the driver at 2.1 percent different from the X3 over all strikes and it was the least accurate with sand wedge by far. Obviously, smash factor accuracy will follow club speed for the most part since ball speed is quite accurate. Over every shot we observed, the percent difference on ball speed was 1.2 percent on average between the Mevo and the X3. Again, the Mevo was least accurate with sand wedges. If I remove all sand wedge shots from the data, the average percent difference changes from 1.2 percent to 0.7 percent, which is very, very respectable.

When it comes to the different clubs used, the Mevo was by far most accurate with mid irons. I confirmed this with on-course testing on a relatively flat 170-yard par-3 as well. Carry distances in that case were within 1-2 yards on most shots (mostly related to quality of strike). With the driver, the Mevo was reasonably close, but I would also describe it as generous. It almost always missed by telling me that launch angle was higher, spin rate was lower and carry distance was farther than the X3. Generally speaking, the Mevo overestimated our driver carries by about 5 percent. Lastly, the Mevo really did not like sand wedges at all. Especially considering those shots were short enough that you could visibly see how far off the Mevo was with its carry distance. Being 10 yards off on a 90 yard shot was disappointing.

Conclusion

The Mevo is a really good product if you understand what you’re getting when you buy it. Although the data isn’t good enough for a PGA professional, it’s still a useful tool that gives amateurs reasonable feedback while practicing. It’s also a fair amount more accurate than similar products in its price range, and I think it could become even better with firmware updates as Flightscope improves upon its product.

This is a much welcomed and very promising step forward in consumer launch monitors, and the Mevo is definitely worth a look if you’re in the market for one.

Your Reaction?
  • 182
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW6
  • LOL11
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP9
  • OB4
  • SHANK38

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending