Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Nevr Looz NL ProClip Golf Bag

Published

on

Pros: Nevr Looz is a fresh take on a piece of equipment every player uses and eventually needs to replace. The unique design is well thought out and offers some tangible benefits as compared to traditional bags.

Cons: Design features require some setup and may be too much of a departure from traditional bags for some. Designated putter well doesn’t accommodate putters with larger grips.

Bottom Line: It’s different. And that may be a good thing. Or it may not. It really depends on how much you love or hate your current bag and whether or not a more efficient system is something you need.

The Review

general+017

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

The whole world seems to be getting smarter and now this intelligence has infiltrated golf bags. The NL Proclip from Nevr Looz is golf’s first self-proclaimed “Smartbag,” and aims to be “the most efficient, organized, sophisticated and unique” bag on the market. If that wasn’t enough, Nevr Looz also wants “to change the market forever.” I’m not a prognosticator, but I do know you can’t have the type of impact Nevr Looz is after unless you’re willing to go about things a bit differently and take some risks. The NL Proclip does both. 

There’s a saying about fixing things that aren’t broken. But what if you didn’t know something was broken and therefore never made an effort to change it? It’s somewhere in this line of thinking the NL Proclip golf bag exists. 

So what can Looz do for you? It all starts with your old bag and what it doesn’t do. For this review, I used the criteria as presented on the Nevr Looz website to determine if my bag (Ping Hoofer 2015 model) is in as bad of shape as Nevr Looz says it is. 

Grey+n+Green+054

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 1. Clubs are constantly bunched. I don’t have a 14-way divider in my bag and so there are certainly times where I can’t get a club out of the bag (or put one in for that matter). This is entirely frustrating and golf is a game with enough frustration as is. To address this situation, Nevr Looz utlizies a proprietary “club clip” system whereby each individual club is held in place and sits in a separate well. It’s easy enough to set up and doesn’t take more than a small bucket at the range to get used to, which is good because taking your clubs in and out of your bag shouldn’t be something you have to spend much time figuring out.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria No. 2: Clubheads constantly banging. Irons, yes. Everything else, no. If a club has a headcover in my case that’s driver, three-wood, hybrid and putter — I’m not worried about any fender-benders or dings. However, most of us are resigned to the reality of “bag chatter,” especially if you play forged irons and/or wedges. Some players despise such blemishes and others see them as collateral damage and part of the soundtrack to a round of golf. The proprietary “club clip” system does a nice job of minimizing club-to-club contact, which is likely a selling point for some. 

Point: Draw 

NL+010

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Criteria No. 3: Scratches on graphite shafts. Whether I dropped three bills for an upgraded driver shaft or it’s the stock offering, scratches on paint really rub me the wrong way. That said, the most dangerous villain in my bag tends to be alignment sticks (think orange and white driveway markers) that go rogue and sneak up under my headcovers. Regardless, I don’t love the scuffs and abrasions that do result from too much paint rub and the individual clips in the NL do a great job of keeping these clubs separate. 

Point: Nevr Looz, barely. 

Criteria No. 4: Clubs hard to get in/out.  See criteria No. 1. When clubs are bunched up, they’re hard to extricate. When they’re hard to maneuver, it’s because they’re bunched up. So for my money, it’s pretty much the same thing.

Point: Nevr Looz 

Criteria 5: Lost clubs. For many of us, losing a club creates a void only golfers can understand. It’s the avoidable nature of this hollow feeling that really drives me batty. That said, I’m not necessarily convinced this bag would prevent me from leaving my 7 iron at the driving range or my wedge on the fringe of green, but I do believe I’d notice something was amiss a lot sooner than just the next time I went to grab that particular club. 

Point: 0.5 to Nevr Looz 

If you use only the criteria presented by Nevr Looz, the NL ProClip clearly has some advantages over traditional bags. How much of an advantage is entirely up to you. 

What else you need to know 

NL+-+upside+down+pics+004+WITH+NAME

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

Nevr Looz does offer a bag specifically for walkers, which offers the same technology as the cart bag with additional side padding and a backpack strap. Anticipated MSRP on this bag is $179.00

I did throw the NL Pro Clip on my ClicGear 3.5 and it wasn’t a perfect fit, which is likely the reason Nevr Looz offers the matching “Easy Peasy” pull-cart. Although it isn’t available yet, expect the cost to be right around $100. 

Multiple skins allow golfers to change the look of their bag as often as they change their mood. And If they want something truly custom, Nevr Looz can do that as well.

Fifteen pockets give ample room to store anything and everything golfers could possibly want or need to take with them on a round of golf. In fact, I found there were several pockets I’m not certain I’d ever use, but it’s always nice to have the extra space especially when it doesn’t mean extra weight. 

NL+011

Photo courtesy of Nevr Looz.

If you typically carry alignment rods or swing aids (Orange Whip for me), there isn’t an obvious place to put them. I ended up shoving everything in the same well as my woods, which wasn’t ideal, but isn’t a deal breaker either. 

I’ve never (or should I say “nevr”) seen a cart-specific bag with retractable legs, which is a great idea, and when you consider the structural integrity of the metal frame, this bag will last as long as you want it to. 

With an MSRP of $199, the NL ProClip on par with the highest rated cart bags from 2015. Want one? Or want to learn more? Check out www.nevrlooz.com 

Your Reaction?
  • 145
  • LEGIT44
  • WOW31
  • LOL7
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP25
  • OB11
  • SHANK144

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

29 Comments

29 Comments

  1. BIll

    Apr 25, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    My brother & I both want one of these bags, where can you buy one in Ontario, Canada

  2. aaron merritt

    Apr 4, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    this is a really cool bag. I’m interested. I
    haha and i have no idea what these haters are smoking…The website looks fine (simple modern design) and all of the negative comments are nonsense. It is open and therefor comes with a rain cover (same as normal bag). The bag clearly works on a cart (evident by the shitload of pictures I found in about 20 seconds). To the traditionalists (who would have trashed the idea of a 60 degree wedge a few decades ago), stop going out of your way to check-out products that you are already closed off too just to leave a shit comment. pessimists.

  3. Robert Weinmeier

    Mar 13, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    We haven’t had any complaints and have sold thousands! So probably not going to change it!

  4. Steve

    Feb 9, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    Doesn’t seem to consider that a senior like myself might carry a 3, 4,and 5 hybrid instead of the 3, 4, and 5 irons. Doesn’t look like a hybrid will fit in the clips.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 7:57 pm

      We actually designed the bag with a Senior in mind…my dad. The most exciting bag on the market can accommodate 10 hybrids.

  5. PKS

    Feb 3, 2016 at 10:34 am

    Industrial Strength Ugly

  6. Mat

    Feb 2, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    Uhhh… does it come with rayn hoodz?? LULZ

  7. mhendon

    Feb 2, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I guess I’m a traditionalist but I like my golf bag to look like a golf bag.

  8. Rich

    Feb 2, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    Doesn’t anyone care how good their gear looks? Normal bags work well enough for me and look the part. Would never buy anything like this. It looks hideous!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:17 pm

      This is a bag who cares about their game and the look and function of the bag…it’s obvious you have one of those old leather bags from the 50’s…so I suggest you just stick with it.

  9. Mikec

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    Never looz just lost me

  10. jumbbojett

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    Ogio has a better version of this.

    • oldredtop

      Feb 3, 2016 at 10:18 am

      Jumbo, I’m interested in looking at Ogio’s version, but could not find one on their site. Do you have a model #?

      • Tom

        Feb 4, 2016 at 8:19 am

        I have the ogio version. The chamber bag is the cart version, and the silencer is the stand bag version. They work great and the silencer is quite comfortable to carry. This bag seems like a knock off of that really.

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:20 pm

      Ogio bags don’t work and the club heads still bang and the clubs are too hard to get in. NEVRLOOZ is the only bag on the market that has 10 individual clips that slide and rotate to fit any club on the market and secures each club. The club simply drops in the clip. Once you try a NEVRLOOZ golf bag you cannot use any other bag!

  11. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I stand chastised. I went to the website and the clips can be reversed for left handed clubs. Assumed and you know what that stands for.

  12. SV

    Feb 2, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Rain would be a problem. Based on the pictures I would bet that the clips only work for right handed clubs.

  13. Chuck D

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    Love Teaj’s response. Mine as well, to the letter! There is nothing like guiding a bladed wedge back

    into the bag with aggressive bodily force!

  14. Doug

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    Maybe someone will like this, but I think it’s garbage.

  15. Teaj

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    there is no satisfaction in gently placing your club in your bag and clipping it into place after a missed shot.

  16. Mark

    Feb 2, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Massive Con missing: any kind of inclement weather and your clubs are completely unprotected. Absolute nonsense.

  17. TWShoot67

    Feb 2, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    I had a bag that had this idea way back in the 80’s. This is a good Idea for walking but it appears the bag is too wide to fit two on a cart. Also if they happen to fit both inner rows of irons would probably be banging into each other. Good idea but too wide!

    • Robert Weinmeier

      Mar 13, 2016 at 8:11 pm

      So do you think the NEVRLOOZ design team, all of which are golfers, spent 5 years on product development only to create a bag that is too wide to fit two on a golf cart….so do you think they all went out as a single and never played together….this comment is not even worth commenting on…go to “gallery” page on the website to see pics with two bags together.

      Further, the 10 individual clips keeps the clubs from banging, no matter what configuration your brain can come up with.

      • Robert

        Jul 11, 2016 at 12:39 pm

        Robert, I’ve read through your comments, here and frankly, I’m a little unimpressed with your reply to feedback here. There will always be a degree of snark on the internet, especially when introducing a unconventional product into an established marketplace. It doesn’t help the company’s image. In considering purchasing the product, I’d think twice about whether customer service would take me seriously if I had a complaint or if the bag needed repairing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

Top-3 men’s golf polos at the 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Vegas

Published

on

GolfWRX’s fashion expert Jordan Madley picks her top-3 favorite men’s polo shirts from the recent 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Las Vegas. Enjoy the video below!

Your Reaction?
  • 34
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW8
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP15
  • OB6
  • SHANK57

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 104
  • LEGIT19
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK23

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 91
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending