Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Tour Edge Exotics CB PROh (as driving irons)

Published

on

Pros: The CB PROh driving irons (2, 3 and 4) produce the kind of ball speeds that golfers might expect from their fairway woods. Their thin, forged faces produce a soft, solid feel, and they’re very, very straight.

Cons: They’re not oversized, but they are larger than many players irons. That could be a turn off for golfers who like more compact-looking long irons.

Bottom Line: The CB PROh long irons are great fairway finders that offer a nice blend of distance and forgiveness.

Overview

Tour Edge Exotics is known for the performance of its fairway woods, but it produces full lines of drivers, hybrids, irons, wedges and putters. This review covers the company’s CB PROh irons, which are available in 2-PW, but for the purposes of this review I tested the 2 iron (18 degrees) as a driving iron.

The long irons (2-6) has what Exotics calls a full-hollow design, which is exactly what it sounds like. They’re cast from 430 stainless steel and have a hollow cavity that moves the center of gravity of the irons lower and deeper in the head for the higher launch and added forgiveness that most golfers need from their long irons. A very thin, forged face that is made of a stronger, thinner 420 stainless steel is then laser welded to the irons’ faces to produce an extremely hot face and a soft, responsive feel.

IMG_2053

In the short irons (8-PW), Exotics uses a one-piece design with multi-material iron plaque located behind the badging of the irons that dampens vibration. The short irons are also cast from 431 stainless steel, and are more compact to improve playability from less-than-ideal lies. They also produce a more boring trajectory that offers more workability, which is what most golfers desire from the short irons.

The CB PROh irons come stock with steel shaft options of KBS Tour (R, S and X flexes for $699), True Temper X-Lite 90 (R and S flexes for $599), Project X Flighted [5.5 (R), 6.0 (S) and 6.5 (X) flexes for $699]. Golfers can also opt for either Fujikura’s Exotics Fuel graphite shafts (L, A, R, S and X Flexes for $699) or Fujikura’s Exotics Fuel Tour graphite shafts, which are a stiffer and heavier. They’re available in R, S and X flexes for $699.

Individually irons sell for about $100 a club.

Tour Edge Exotics CB PROh specs

Performance

You won’t believe how fast the faces of these irons actually are. I certainly didn’t, at least before I hit them.

IMG_2048

I took the CB PROh 2 iron to Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., to test the club against similar lofted fairway woods and hybrids at Carl’s Launch Pad fitting center on their doppler launch monitors. What I saw were ball speeds as high as 160 mph (not even 10 mph slower than the best hits with my SLDR 460 driver, which is 4.5 inches longer). Now that’s a fast long iron.

What’s more impressive, however, was the consistency of the ball speed on slight mishits. I expected the ball speed to drop considerably. After all, these are irons, not more forgiving fairway woods and hybrids. But the thin, forged 420 stainless steel faces are pushed to the USGA’s legal limit for spring-like effect and produced ball speeds that were just as fast as my similarly lofted 5 wood and 2 hybrid.

IMG_2050

The biggest difference golfers will see between these and their fairway woods and hybrids are that these clubs produce a flatter trajectory, which is what most golfers are looking for from a driving iron.

According to Ernie Strzempa, Tour Edge Exotics’ director of R&D, the CB PROh irons will work best for low-to-mid handicap golfers. While they have a soles that look very wide, they’re designed with a good amount of camber that makes them effectively narrower and helps their nimbleness from bad lies and the rough.

CG, or a club’s center of gravity, is a buzzword right now in the industry, as clubs with lower CG’s have a tendency to launch the ball higher and with less spin, leading to longer shots. While the CG of the CB PROh long irons are certainly low, it’s not too low, which can create shots with too little spin that fall out of the sky. Their launch with True Temper’s Project X Flighted 6.5 shafts was around 11 degrees with about 3200 rpms spin for me, and that made them easy to work without causing my shots to balloon.

IMG_2047

I wasn’t able to carry the 2 iron as far as my 18-degree hybrid or 18.5-degree 5 wood, which I swap in and out depending on course conditions, but the total distances were about the same — 255 yards — thanks to their more boring trajectory that created a flatter landing angle and more roll. On tight course that don’t require as many drivers and 3 woods off the tee, the CB PROh 2 iron will be a great weapon.

Golfers who have slower clubhead speeds might want to consider the CB PROh 3 iron (21 degrees) or 4 iron (24 degrees), which will offer a little more launch and spin to help keep the ball in the air.

Looks and Feel

I’ve always enjoyed the looks and feel of Tour Edge’s Exotics clubs, and the CB PROh irons are no exception. At address, the back of the iron is clearly visible in the 2 and 3 irons, and it’s slightly visible in the 4 iron. By the 5 iron, the back of the iron disappears, giving golfers the clean look many prefer. But I didn’t mind seeing the extra bulk at address, which gave me a feeling of power and control and helped frame the ball at address.

IMG_2052

At impact, the CB PROh long irons feel top notch. I expected the hollow cavity to produce a higher-pitched noise like many of todays’ high-COR long irons, but it felt very soft and I could tell exactly where I impacted the ball on the face. Their wider, cambered soles were also a help on shots that I hit slightly on the fat side, helping the club move through the turf to keep lost distance to a minimum. Out of the rough, the CB PROh 2 iron performed admirably, but not to the level of fairway woods and hybrids that are designed to be better from the rough.

The golf equipment industry seems to be moving away from polished chrome finishes and toward duller, satin finishes, which I and many others like. But the chrome was a nice choice for these, as it contrasts nicely with the company’s badging and gives the clubs a classic, premium look that adds some bling to the bag.

The Takeaway

IMG_2049

The Tour Edge Exotic CB PROh long irons are likely the best driving irons you’ve never heard about. If you’re looking for a driving iron that can make your life easier off the tee, or a full iron set that blends forgiveness and distance in a moderate chassis, these are clubs that you’re going to want to hit against offerings from the bigger equipment companies.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.touredge.com/products/cbprohirons.asp” oemtext=”Learn more from Tour Edge” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GMSGZBW/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GMSGZBW&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=BWSIJ2RRKEBMC4PF”]

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK1

Zak is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX.com. He's been a part of the company since 2011, when he was hired to lead GolfWRX's Editorial Department. Zak developed GolfWRX's Featured Writer Program, which supports aspiring writers and golf industry professionals. He played college golf at the University of Richmond (Go Spiders!) and still likes to compete in tournaments. You can follow Zak on Twitter @ZakKoz, where he's happy to discuss his game and all the cool stuff that's part of his job.

13 Comments

13 Comments

  1. Mike Barnett

    Apr 9, 2017 at 7:41 am

    Awesome club. I just spent a week in Hilton head and this became my go to club off the tee due to so many narrow dogleg holes. My 3 iron 21 degrees gave me easy to hit 200-215 yards on a low trajectory. Most accurate club I havw ever used off the tee. I am having the 2 iron reshafted (I like steelfiber i95) in hopes of that becoming a bigger beast off the tee.

  2. Peter Overlien

    Jul 13, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    I play 6.0 project rifle flighted. Anybody gaming this thing with a graphite shaft?

  3. Peter Overlien

    Oct 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    I’ve had the 3 iron with the lite 90 shaft. I agree with the review in that distance wise it’s comparable to my ap2 3 iron w/ a s300. But who cares, you know, I’m not looking for big strikes from this slot in my bag. Once I figured out proper ball position and dynamic loft w this thing I am using it all the time off the tee on tight par 4s and I love it for bending little hooks to get me out of jail or simple little punch runners on tight par 5 lay ups. It’s so easy to hit low draws and fades from all sorts of lies. For me it replaced my ping i20 18 which is hard for me to fade. the con on this club for me is that as a natural high launcher I haven’t found a way to hit it high and still get a nice pinch like I can with my adams 18, which I can quite easily launch em high out of the rough with a little highish finish. For hat I carry an underrated cally x utility proto 4 or an mph4 4 when I’m playing my mizzys. Any have any advice for me on buying first set of used Maura’s for 500 or less. Maybe just part of my bag, like a 7-p combined with my s56 ap2 or mph4s. I’m comfy with anything that is at least as forgiving as say mp64 or 59. What’s a good model to look for in the 500 used range that’s classic miura with a little help. Help:)

  4. Barry

    Jul 22, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Picked up the 3 iron in this model and honestly went out last night to compare it with my blade 3 iron. Was thinking of kicking my 3 iron blade out of the bag and replacing it with this. But after hitting both there is no reason to boot my 3 iron. My gamer is a Miura 001 with nippon 1050 x soft stepped once. The tee is a stock x-lite stiff. I hit both for about an hour last night and I actually outdrove the tee with my gamer. I could launch the tee a little higher and it was easier to hit out of the rough but other than that my trajectory with my gamer is preferred and like I said the distance was an advantage to the gamer. Beautiful iron though and I intend on keeping it to play around with.

  5. QMany

    May 12, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Sounds like a great club. Why was it scored 4.4/5?

  6. Chubby

    May 3, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I would buy this and keep it for courses that require low, running shots off the tee. Wouldn’t be willing to do that for the $230 Ping and Titleist driving irons.

  7. Adrian

    May 3, 2014 at 10:21 am

    No Lefty options which is disappointing as I am looking for a 5 iron club in this demographic and there just aren’t really any options. I would have been all over this club if they had it in lefty.

  8. Magtag

    May 3, 2014 at 9:46 am

    Thing is- Tour Edge has been making clubs like this for years. I have an original (CB1) Exotics Iron-Wood 2 iron that I just love. The CB PROh looks like my Iron-Wood, just with the back cap sawed half off.

  9. WN

    May 3, 2014 at 2:35 am

    $100? Has Tour Edge finally come to their senses and lowered their prices on everything to meet the competition? That’s very good news indeed.

    And not a bad looking club, to boot.

  10. Hector

    May 2, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    looks similar to the MP-H4, except a whole lot cheaper.

    • Ted

      May 4, 2014 at 12:11 am

      Yep, they are very similar to the H4’s. I think they may have just a touch more offset and longer blade length, but I’ve got the CB Pro in my bag because I like the sole much better.

    • Dave

      May 4, 2014 at 10:49 pm

      I was just about to say that as well, it reminds me of my mp-h4 2 – iron. Great club, very forgiving and great trajectory, but I think the h4 is only a little more expensive at $119 from Discount Dan’s. Huge fan of the driving iron, good for those of us who like the extra weight and shorter shaft of an iron compared to a hybrid or fairway wood. Thanks for the review.

  11. Matt w

    May 2, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Great review
    Any idea how this two iron compares to any others out there? As a matter of fact, I can’t think of many.
    How fast is your driver speed normally. Just trying to compare your distance with this club.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 134
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending