Review: Titleist Vokey SM5 Wedges

by   |   March 25, 2014
sm5feat
Review: Titleist Vokey SM5 Wedges Andrew Tursky
Performance
Looks and Feel

Summary: The SM5 wedges offer more spin, more grinds, improved finishes and more personalization options.

5

Perfect


Pros: Vokey leads the way with 21 different loft, bounce and grind combinations, three different finishes and personalization programs that allows golfers to create a wedge that suits their games and personalities. The new specialized TX3 grooves add extra spin from around the green and more distance control from bad lies.

Cons: With vast loft, grind and bounce options, the selection process can be overwhelming. That’s why it’s best to be fit by a professional. The SM5′s are cast from 8620 carbon steel, which isn’t a problem unless you’re a forged wedge snob.

Bottom Line: The SM5′s will appeal to the majority of golfers no matter what they seek from a new wedge. Better players will benefit from the spin control and versatility around the greens, club junkies will love the customization options and selection of grinds and the average or below average players will greatly improve if they select the correct a loft, grind and bounce that fits their swing. No one gets left out in this line of Vokey wedges.

Overview

With the help of his team of wedge designers and feedback from Titleist tour professionals, Bob Vokey has made significant improvements with his fifth generation of Spin Milled wedges. The most notable change in the SM5′s is the introduction of new grinds and finishes. Six different sole grinds (L, T, S, M, F and K), lofts that range from 46-to-62 degrees in two-degree increments and three different finishes — Gold Nickel, Raw Black and Tour Chrome — allow for dozens of different wedge possibilities.

Different sole grinds are categorized based on low, mid and high-bounce options. The always popular S grind is now available in 54- and 56-degree models, and Vokey’s K Grind wedges, which were once only available through Vokey’s WedgeWorks, have been added to the retail line in lofts of 58 and 60 degrees. The SM5 K Grind wedges are a little different than the WedgeWorks models, however, with slightly wider soles that have a little more bounce than the TVD-K’s.

Screen-Shot-2014-01-21-at-12.20.01-AM-600x320

Another crucial change in the SM5′s is the introduction of the TX3 grooves, which have a 7 percent larger volume than the grooves in the SM4 wedges. In wedges with lofts of 48-to-54 degrees, the grooves are narrower and deeper than the previous generation and work to better fend off grass and sand through impact. The grooves in 56-to-62 degree wedges maintain the same width as the SM4 grooves, but they’re 7 percent deeper, adding spin and control.

The deeper grooves combine with an improved face texture that begins with a double fly cut face, and they’re finished with machine milled micro edges that reach the maximum limit of conforming face friction. The process allows for consistent spin on partial shots into the green.

Each wedge is also subjected to heat treatment on the face, which increases durability and prevents loss of spin through wear and tear of the grooves. And before Vokey wedges leave the factory, a digital stylus reads each and every one of a Vokey SM5 wedge’s grooves to make sure that they meet the company’s tolerances. That allows the company to get its groove sizes much closer to the USGA limit without going over, says Vokey Marketing Manager David Neville.

IMG_5346

Titleist SM5 wedges can be personally customized with stamping, shafts, grips, ferrules, paint fill and laser etching for an additional charge. Vokey can also increase or decrease swing weight up to two points. 

The added models in the new SM5 wedge line brings the general public closer to Vokey’s WedgeWorks and Hand Ground experiences as well. Hand Ground wedges were added to Vokey’s lineup in 2013 to appease a golfer’s every preference — nearly unlimited stamping, paint fill and shaping options — and they are hand ground and finished in Vokey’s Tour Department by the same craftsman who build wedges for Titleist’s Tour Staff. Hand ground wedges sell for $350, while each Titleist SM5 wedge sells for $145.

Vokey SM5 wedges come stock with True Temper’s Dynamic Gold S200 shaft (wedge flex) and an exclusive “Vokey Wings” grip made by Golf Pride from its Tour Velvet 60 round model.

Performance

d708910b9902da3dc4060acb4d009674

For this review, I tested three different SM5 wedges with the following sole grinds and finishes:

  • 52-08 (F Grind) in Tour Chrome
  • 56-10 (M Grind) in Gold Nickel
  • 60-11 (K Grind) in Raw Black

As a player with a naturally steeper angle of attack, I opted for higher bounce when given the option. I also tested the wedges in Hawaii, which tends to have slightly softer and wetter turf. I will go through the performance of each wedge separately, since they all produced unique results.

The 52-08 (F Grind) produced a wonderfully flat trajectory on full and partial shots, piercing through the wind on knock down shots with full control. The ball never floated and kept its line tightly. Distance control was easy to dial in from the fairway, even on slight mishits. Although the ball came off with more spin than I’m used to (I currently game SM4 52-08, 56-11 and 60-07 wedges), the ball was not ripping back, but rather settling nicely after it landed due to the low trajectory. From the rough, very little was lost with yardage control, and shots retained ample spin on mishits.

Although I don’t often use a 52-degree wedge for chipping and pitching, the F Grind worked well for lower, running shots. The sole resisted digging, but it still allowed me to slide under the ball from tight lies and add plenty of check when I needed it.

9ccb824eb2ca550773aaafd6a024a20b4c008cc91c4b71bc0e60ab133e41c8c0
02f4a00a82700c4fdd0d22de81c816e5e8511b4399e5e741b0449a8412d46657

The 56-10 (M Grind) was the combination of grind and bounce that I personally found to be most versatile, and really highlighted the improvements in the SM5 line. For the golfer who likes to play a lower, one-hop-stop style of shot, this wedge is ideal. The deeper grooves really grip the ball on square-face shots, and the wedge was even more impressive when I opened the face for higher, softer shots. Even from the thickest, nastiest lies, I found I could get the ball to stop within a reasonable distance.

Although I usually play bunker shots with a 60-degree, I found the 56-10 to be a perfectly fine option from greenside bunkers. On full and partial shots, it tended to launch the ball higher and with more spin than I anticipated, a great thing for golfers who are seeking more stopping power. Attacking tucked pins, hitting over trees or playing from poor lies proved to be less difficult than it should have been with this wedge.

d0dfb659e7be9f0ddade15c0501c23b14e06918ecc658cec7df33b2d6987921d
b3e0aa26d28aa5d7582cf7284571dd5e4a4f33e8b32313f1437352902f8a8d70

Lastly is the 60-11 K Grind, which has more camber than any lob wedge I’ve used in the past. That’s why this wedge took some practice. At first, I was mis-using the sole, which gave me fits in my first few practice sessions. However, after working with it and getting used to the grind, this wedge produced eye-openingly soft shots. I had to let the sole work naturally rather than try to force it to work. When I did that, the sole played unbelievably forgiving. Shots from the fairway and rough came off the face soft and landed delicately.

I’m a high-speed player, so I shied away from hitting full shots with the club. I’m known to balloon shots from more than 70 yards, and unless the greens are firm, the ball tends to spin back much too much from where it lands. The aggressive grooves in the SM5 wedges made this problem worse, but spin around the greens is what I desire most from a lob wedge, and there it delivered. I also found that the 60-11 simplified my short game, as the K Grind allowed me to hit high, soft shots without having to open the face as much as other 60-degree wedges. That led to more consistent contact and less flop shots, which are both good for my score.

Out from the bunker, don’t expect much roll out with an SM5 lob wedge. The 60-11 K Grind stops where it lands, to the point where I found myself making sure that I flew my bunker shots all the way to the hole. Who doesn’t want that?

Looks and Feel

The first choice to be made when a golfer is choosing from the new SM5 lineup is what finishes to choose. I will not attempt to influence your liking, but will rather pass along my own.

0bbec5a764bc007a15fa1504c2587d6a

The Gold Nickel finish is double-plated, which keeps the wedge from rusting. I personally like wedges that rust, but the Gold Nickel finish is soft enough and durable enough that I wouldn’t hesitate to put three of them in my bag.

sm5feat

The Tour Chrome, which is actually a nickel-chrome finish, is a little brighter and more reflective than the company’s previous Tour Chrome finishes that had a “milkier” look. The added brightness gives the wedges a little extra “bling” in the bag, but it doesn’t add any glare at address thanks to the dark face blast that kills reflectivity and can help alignment.

A long-standing myth among many golfers is that wedges with finishes such as Gold Nickel and Tour Chrome create less spin than “raw” wedges, which don’t have a finish. What they don’t know is that such finishes are about one-third the thickness of a human hair, don’t affect spin and actually serve to prolong the sharpness of a wedge’s grooves over time.

53e0cc214d3d13da55cf0de160f4866a

The Raw Black finish, which was my favorite, works well with customization due to the contrast of gold and white lettering on the black base. It is so dark that the grooves can hardly be deciphered from the face, but that only adds to its stealthy look.

The back of the wedges allow plenty of room for stamping and customization, but still looks good “naked.” The color scheme of white, gold and black works well and provides a clean, sophisticated look. While the high impact areas of the wedge such as the face and sole will wear to a silver color with use, the Raw Black finish on the back of the wedge should remain intact.

The overall visual changes Vokey made to the head shape are pleasing to the eye when looking down at address as well. The taller heel combined with a rounded, higher-peaked toe gives the SM5′s a compact, balanced look. It keeps the typical tear drop shape, but it will appear shorter from heel to toe than the SM4′s.

Although the club is cast from carbon steel, most golfers (not GolfWRXers of course) assume that Vokey wedges are forged. That’s because even though they’re cast, the 8620 carbon steel from which they’re cast feels soft and solid at contact.

The Takeaway

IMG_5463

The improvements that Bob Vokey and his team made with the SM5 line make the wedges suitable for nearly any golfer. The specialized TX3 grooves are noticeably more consistent, and the increased fitting options mean that better players will likely be able to find a wedge that adds shots to their arsenal. Less-skilled players will also have a better chance of finding a wedge with a sole grind that fits their swing type and forgives their bad habits.

Be sure to get help from your local club fitter in order to properly fit yourself in a Titleist SM5 wedge, and don’t forget about Vokey’s affordable customization options. Nothing is cooler than getting up and down with a wedge that has your initials stamped all over it!

About

Andrew Tursky is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team while earning a Masters in communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers, where he studied journalism.


51 Comments

  1. Greg

    April 10, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    The SM5 feels better than the SM4 BUT what about the MP-T4??? I’m going this weekend to get new wedges. Thanks, Greg

  2. Cmasty

    April 8, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Hopefully AT paid for the wedges he reviewed or the NCAA might have something to say.

  3. Gary Lewis

    April 7, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I like the Vokey SM5 pretty well, and have two, a 56.14 with the F grind and a 60.07 with the S grind. Pretty good feel, good performance and they will probably sell gazillions of them. I also have some Cally Mack Daddy 2 wedges (with the Project X Flighted 95 shaft at NO upcharge) and I like the feel and performance of the Mack Daddy 2 wedges better than the SM5, with a pretty big difference in feel. The spin seems pretty comparable between the two. I think the Mack Daddy 2 grooves are going to be more durable than the SM5 (the face pattern of the Mack Daddy 2 will wear off quickly but the grooves should last relatively well). The shape of the Mack Daddy is a little different but easy to get used to. The Vokey SM5 is a nice club but people should also check out the Mack Daddy 2.

  4. prairegolfer

    March 26, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    Nice review. Nothing will spin like a 2009 Vokey, original Mac Daddy groove or Nike Hi Rev, but these new models finally might be getting closer to the old square grooves. I think the worst wedges ever produced were from 2010 and 2011 as all companies had to react to the new rule. I think all the companies are finding ways to push the limit on the new rule and I believe all the 2014 wedges will be remarkably better than previous product. This review is in line with what I expected and what other reviews say about other 2014 new wedge lines. Thanks for another good review!

  5. Jeff

    March 26, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    These aren’t that great. Played them for years and switched to Miura’s and never looked back. No comparison really. Only people who think miura’s are “overrated” are either those who have never hit a set or those who are jealous. Very simple.

    • Dave Gebhardt

      March 27, 2014 at 12:35 am

      How could you have played these for years? They were reased less than a week ago (to the public). Appear to be nothing more than a contrarian.

      • Jeff

        March 28, 2014 at 9:14 am

        I’ve played the Vokey’s. Practtically every year a new model comes out. These will be replaced next year. You don’t replace a “5-star” club each year. This is all marketing.

        • David Smith

          August 28, 2014 at 2:06 pm

          Huh? Most people change wedges every 8 months to a year, it’s only natural that people get new ones every year…. what’s the big deal? they’re only 130 per wedge, thats peanuts.

    • rixirox

      March 29, 2014 at 11:35 am

      I beg your pardon. I have been playing Bob Vokey’s wedges for one season. My game has improved remarkably with vokey wedges. In one season, I have holed out twice and hit the pin twice with my Vokeys. They just work for me, but so do all the other Titleist clubs in my bag.

      FYI: The SM5′s were just now released for the 2014 market.

    • Rob

      April 11, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      I currently play a combo set of Miura 501 and Miura Tournament blades and used to have the Miura 1957 wedges. I think it’s fair to say I’ve hit Miura clubs and I am not jealous. For my game, I much prefer the shape and grind of the Vokey wedges. The Miuras might work better for your game but it really isn’t that “simple”. Just because something is more expensive/exclusive does not mean it will perform best.

  6. Jeff

    March 26, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    So with the lower bounce of 10 you didn’t find them digging ? I’m looking at md2 vs these and I like the 14 deg bounce options but like the shape and design of the vokey

  7. Daniel Verduzco

    March 26, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    I would love to see a comparison done in this manner. Give the “tester” a Vokey SM4 with the markings covered, and a Vokey SM5 also with the markings covered, and see if he/she would be able to tell the difference between the two. As a high handicap golfer, I doubt that I would be able to “feel” a change in grove depth, but I will take any technical advantage that I can to improve my game.

    • Joe

      March 26, 2014 at 7:35 pm

      Well if you want to save money, for example, I would get an F grind on my 50 and 54 but a K on my 60. I can’t get a SM4 K but I could get the F grinds for other two. If you really want to save the money go with the SM4′s. Take advantage and get fitted for the specific lofts and grinds and that will improve your game more than just buying a wedge that is just a newer wedge. Keep in mind that a high handicap could easily be lowered with a good short game.

  8. Harry

    March 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

    A great range of loft selections- shame they often produce and sell wedges of different lofts to what they claim. A two degree buffer for wedges left me with three wedges with different lofts to what i wanted. My 58,56 and 52 degree wedge set was actually 57,55 and 54 degrees leaving me with yardage gaps. Sadly this is not a one-off case as i subsequently urged friends to measure their loft and lies as well and it was a worryingly common problem among all vokey wedge ranges.

    • Ben Jackson

      March 26, 2014 at 6:25 pm

      All clubs from all OEMs have manufacturing tolerances, this is not unique to Titleist or wedges for that matter.

    • Adam Beede

      March 29, 2014 at 9:37 am

      I’ve played Vokeys for years. The first thing I do before I buy them, is run them over to the fitting counter and have the loft checked and adjusted. I’ve purchased probably 15 in the past 7 years, and only once was the loft at the stamped degree. It has been 2 degrees weaker on average. I’ve also never paid for the service. To throw a wrinkle into this, I did have a fitter say they are cast so it may snap. It didn’t, I played it for 70 rounds or so, and started the whole thing over again.

      • Adam Beede

        March 29, 2014 at 9:43 am

        One last thing, I’ve always played the oil can finish- maybe psychosomatic; but I just like the way they feel. Shame that finish isn’t included in the new line, but as my current 3 wedges only have 30 rounds on them, I’ve some time before I need to worry about that.

    • MaJa

      August 19, 2014 at 12:42 am

      No matter what irons or wedges you buy, you should get the tested for loft and lie as soon as you get them. Even from the factory there will be some that are out. Every club and shop has a loft/lie machine and a little book that tells them exactly what each club’s specs should be.

  9. Essix

    March 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

    Bought a set of SM5′s/black the day they came out, used them the following weekend skin game. . . . . .really AWESOME !!!!!!

    • Dylan R.

      March 26, 2014 at 11:55 am

      Pros: “three different finishes”…not for left handed golfers.
      Bottom Line: “No one gets left out of this line of Vokey Wedges.”…except for left handed golfers.

      Not once was it mentioned in the review of the SM5 that lefties get no Gold Nickle love.

      “Perfect?” Probably if you are a righty, but not for a lefty dying for the Gold Package.

      FYI, I’m a right.

  10. Joe

    March 25, 2014 at 8:50 pm

    How long will the finish on the blacks last considering they’re raw? And what will they look like after a season of use? I don’t want to go black and regret it after one round in the rain.

    • Rich

      March 26, 2014 at 5:02 pm

      I’ve already had a hit with these and they can scuff after one shot from a messy lie. If I get some of these it will be the chrome. They don’t glare in the sun and they look awesome.

      • Joe

        March 26, 2014 at 7:26 pm

        Okay. Chrome it will be.

    • rixirox

      March 29, 2014 at 11:43 am

      They will rust, bite the ball better and give you better control. They will also look like crap. Just keep an iron cover on them or wipe them and spray them with PAM cooking spray when you put them up.

  11. rocketshankz

    March 25, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    So…this thread is pretty fun, no?

  12. getitclose

    March 25, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Great write up! Just out of curiosity..how can I order them with the personalization? How much extra is the stamping?

    • Billy

      March 26, 2014 at 2:19 am

      Contact your local shop, they can order for you. I am sure they will give you an estimate. I want to order a 52 with S400 tour issue shaft.

  13. Jerret

    March 25, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Dave is an idiot.

    • Dave S

      March 25, 2014 at 2:58 pm

      Constructive. I provide my opinion, which you obviously disagree with (fair enough), and yet you feel it necessary to create a second, stand-alone post to take an unfounded and personal shot at my intelligence.

      Ironically, it ends-up speaking more to yours.

    • patty

      March 25, 2014 at 5:14 pm

      thats a low blow man…..not cool

    • Westcott

      March 25, 2014 at 8:33 pm

      I guess so huh! Real winner here lol

    • TT

      March 25, 2014 at 9:46 pm

      I agree Jerret.

      Also in response to Dave’s comment, “Once you get to a certain depth… going deeper does nothing, except maybe make it more difficult to clean your grooves”, deeper grooves do in fact help. Deeper grooves allow matter (grass, moisture, etc.) somewhere to go during impact allowing better contact with the ball.

      • Dave S

        March 27, 2014 at 12:49 pm

        TT – I’ll give you the benefit and assume you just agree with Jarret’s argument and not his personal insult. To your point, I’d say: what then when they’ve gone as deep as they can go? I can guarantee they’ll conjure-up some ‘new tech’ to sell us on the SM6 being ‘noticably’ better than the SM5. I’m not a conspiracy theorist or anything, but I’m aware of the lengths a company will go (esp. one in a struggling, declining market) to bend the truth to sell a product. Once again, not saying the SM5s aren’t good… heck, they might be the best wedge on the planet for all I know, but to say they are ‘noticably’ anything compared to the previous version is silly… IMO.

  14. The dude

    March 25, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    The TVDs are forged ….no?…so why do a lot of tour boys still use the cast?…isn’t the forge product better?

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      March 25, 2014 at 1:22 pm

      All Vokey wedges including the TVD models are cast.

      • The dude

        March 25, 2014 at 1:47 pm

        Interesting…..but why wouldn’t they offer a forged like other OEMs?

    • The man

      March 25, 2014 at 1:28 pm

      Cast lasts longer, stay sharper. For Tour guys who pound balls all day every day, the grooves and face milling just don’t last long enough when forged.

      • Kyle

        March 25, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        Yeah that’s false. They are made out of the same material, just different process. Tour guys couldn’t care less if they go through wedges since they just get a new set no problem for free.

  15. Roger

    March 25, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks to Andrew for the Review and Zak for his backup comments!
    Looking for a 58/10 K grind in the future !

    I took my Happy Pills this morning………………
    Cheers!

  16. Dave S

    March 25, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    “The specialized TX3 grooves are noticeably more consistent…” YEAH RIGHT. What does that even mean? Don’t sit here an tell me that you, the GolfWRX reviewer, can tell a ‘noticable’ difference in the consistancy of a wedges grooves from just one model year ago. Hogwash. If that were the case, then why are a good number of pros still using TVDs? Clearly a characteristic like ‘consistancy’ would be OBJECTIVE, i.e. everyone who played with it would notice their balls spinning at a more consistant rate… so don’t tell me that it was more consistant for YOU, but that pros play w/ what they’re comfortable with and maybe the TVDs are better for their game… if it was noticably more consistant, it would be in every pros bag.

    I like reading these reviews for the entertainment value, but frankly, it’s difficult to take the actual ratings seriously since they sound like they come directly from OEM marketing materials. Obviously, we all know that GolfWRX is owned by GolfDigest, who relies on OEM advertising to stay afloat, so I can’t say I blame you for not wanting to bite the hand that feeds you. I’m sure that Vokey’s ARE great wedges (they always have been), so no qualms there, but some of the more detail-specific remarks cause a lot of eyebrow raising.

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      March 25, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      Dave,

      I wanted to respond to a few of your comments.

      First off, GolfWRX is not owned by Golf Digest. It is independently owned and operated, as it has been since Day 1.

      Reviewer Andrew Tursky is also a very talented golfer, and like many who have extensively tested the SM5′s he could definitely tell the difference in the performance of the SM5 groove versus the SM4 groove. How are the grooves more consistent? It’s stated clearly in the review

      “In wedges with lofts of 48-to-54 degrees, the grooves are narrower and deeper than the previous generation and work to better fend off grass and sand through impact. The grooves in 56-to-62 degree wedges maintain the same width as the SM4 grooves, but they’re 7 percent deeper, adding spin and control.”

      The SM5′s wedges are also not “one model year newer.” They were released in November 2011, making them more than two years old.

      According to our sources on tour, the reason TVD wedges are used by many tour players is because of their unique grinds and slightly different appearance at address. As stated in the review, the TVD-K grind is a little narrower and has less bounce than the SM5 K Grind models. The overall shape of the TVD wedges is also more round than the SM4′s and SM5′s, and they have a lower PAR area, which is a look some golfers prefer.

      • Dave S

        March 25, 2014 at 1:09 pm

        “GolfWRX… in association with GolfDigest”. Symantics. Don’t tell me that GD slaps their name on your site all of a sudden and then doesn’tt provide any resources or fiananical backing… come on.

        As to this comment: “The SM5?s wedges are also not ‘one model year newer.’ They were released in November 2011, making them more than two years old.”… I assume you were referring to the SM4s. But also symantics. Clearly they are ONE model newer… SM4->SM5. Let’s not dance around the point.

        I’m sure Andrew is a fine golfer, never doubted it. I would hope being good at golf is a prerequisite for writing product reviews for a site about golf (although, that might be a misguided assumtion). Either way, I find it hard to believe that a wedge with clearly more ‘consistant grooves’ wouldn’t be used by everyone on tour who uses Vokeys… the grind and ‘appearance at address’ arguments are just smoke screens promulgated by Titleist to explain away this question. Andrew just got through explaining how many grinds Titlest has and how that can be ‘overwhelming’, so don’t tell me that a Titleist tour van can’t or won’t grind an SM5 in the same fashion as a TVD if the player prefers… that’s the whole point of being on site at tournaments.

        Another thing, you mention Titleist’s marketing material about SM5′s grooves being ’7% deeper, for added spin and control’… please do explain to me how deeper grooves add more spin. Once you get to a certain depth – to the point where the outerlayer of the ball has reached its max deformity upon contact – going deeper does nothing, except maybe make it more difficult to clean your grooves. My point is that reciting these marketing materials in a review as if they are fact and have been tested/proven, strikes me as bit disingenuous.

        • Jerret

          March 25, 2014 at 2:11 pm

          Hey Dave S

          Tour guys don’t just switch if the performance is clearly better, unless it is clearly better for them.
          Ie. Lee Westwood hitting a Ping G10 years after the G15/20 & 25 came out
          Ie. Guys still using the 2007 Pro V1 even though there are clear benefits to using the 2013 version
          Ie. TaylorMade staffers still using Burner Heads even though SLDR clearly is their longest driver yet

          Tour guys are fickle, they don’t always switch to noticeably better products because they’re so good that they know what they like, and it is comfort for them.

          • Dave S

            March 25, 2014 at 3:13 pm

            Jerrett -

            I believe you’re missing my initial point, while at the same time helping me make it. I said that I thought it was silly to say something like: ‘The specialized TX3 grooves are noticeably more consistent…’ and hold it out as an objective statment (i.e. fact) when it’s obviously a subjective thing. They certainly aren’t ‘noticably more consistant’ for a large group of Tour pros who’ve decided not to use them. Let’s be honest with each other, real wedge technology doesn’t change much from year to year (I’m talking the REAL tech that actually helps, not some marketing gimmick like 7% deeper grooves). All of these ‘special’ grinds have been around forever and the general shape of a Vokey wedge hasn’t changed for a long time… I have the older models to prove it. If the reviewer had just said, ‘Look, I like the SM5s and they work well for me and they might for you too, especially if you like Vokeys’, I could accept that. But the review makes it sound like we should just toss whatever we’re playing and go buy these new ones right away to improve your game ‘noticably’.

        • Chris M

          March 26, 2014 at 11:40 am

          Deeper grooves channel away more grass, sand, dirt, etc which allows cleaner contact between the groove edge and the golf ball. That’s what produces the incremental gain in spin.

          • Dave S

            March 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

            See above.

    • Dom

      July 8, 2014 at 12:06 am

      The reason pros play certain clubs it’s BC their sponsored by that company and its in their contract so thwy dont have a choice except for a select few who have the optionto play whatever they want. And if you think because you watched a pro play a particular wedge on TV thats the one YOU get to buy in the store your sadly mistaken. So just because all the pros didnt switch to the sm5 has no bearing on their groove pattern or type of grind that their actually playing. If your gonna put down this website at least know what your talking about. Start by learning the nature of the business.

  17. Ben

    March 25, 2014 at 11:07 am

    miura forged >>> cast vokey’s….

    • Scooter McGavin

      March 25, 2014 at 10:03 pm

      Miura = overrated.

    • froneputt

      March 27, 2014 at 1:16 am

      The balance of Miura Wedges is different, but in this instance, the forged v cast debate is irrelevant. Miuras are not overrated, but are overpriced. The choice of grinds are limited and Miura is conservative in their grinds, but somewhat innovative in some respects – see the K Grind. One ought to have more grind choices for the price.

      As to Vokey, I think these grinds present limited choices around the green for touch pitches.

  18. patty

    March 25, 2014 at 10:25 am

    TVD > SPIN MILLED

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>