Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Titleist 714 CB and MB irons

Published

on

Pros: Titleist’s 714 CB and MB offer no-nonsense looks and a soft, forged iron feel for all the feedback accomplished golfers need for precision iron play.

Cons: Not much difference between these and the 712 CB and MB irons.

Bottom Line: Unless you’re a golfer who pures it often, you probably want to look at more forgiving offerings. But these are about as good as it gets for one-piece forgings.

Overview

“Don’t screw them up.”

That was the advice Titleist’s touring professionals gave the company for the redesign of the 714 CB and MB irons, Titleist’s latest forged cavity-back and muscle-back irons that are played by several of the world’s best including Adam ScottBill HaasGraham DeLaet and Jimmy Walker.

And the company listened, which is why the new irons are very similar to their predecessors. Both are forged from 1025 carbon steel, and offer compact blade lengths, thin top lines and narrow soles. Because of that, they have the highest center of gravity of the four irons in Titleist’s 714 lineup, making them fly the lowest.

Technological advances are much less important to the design of irons like the 714 CB and MB, because they’re intended to be used by the most accomplished golfers; players who almost always hit their iron shots on the sweet spot or very close to it. Golfers interested in these should be willing to sacrifice distance and forgiveness for added workability, consistency and the one-piece forged feel that irons like the CB and MB offer.

[youtube id=”ItY91N6aDuk” width=”620″ height=”360″]

That being said, there were still a ways Titleist felt it could improve the new clubs. Like the new 714 AP1 and AP2 irons (click here to read our review of those), the new CB and MB models have a new hosel blend that lessens the appearance of offset at address. They also have straighter leading edges, and the CB irons have more camber, or a “rounder sole” from front to back that helps the club move more smoothly through the turf, particularly for golfers with steep angles of attack.

The 714 CB and MB irons are available at retail beginning Nov. 8, and carry a street price of $999 (for a set of eight irons) with stock True Temper Dynamic Gold shafts.

MB Specs

Screen Shot 2013-11-02 at 10.17.25 AM

CB Specs

Screen Shot 2013-11-02 at 10.17.11 AM

Performance

There is no fooling these clubs and little room for error, but golfers are definitely rewarded for pure strikes. Distance control and shot shaping are vitally important when it comes to quality iron play, and the 714 CB and MB are exactly what the doctor ordered. Demanding as they are, the CB and MB are also one of the most consistent one-piece forged irons I’ve ever used.

2d965b80c7691c427797d1b4d3d15dd9

Above: The soles of the 714 MB iron (right) are slightly thinner and flatter than the CB irons, making them better suited to golfers who “pick”  their iron shots of the turf.  

While the CB and MB are similar in nearly every way, there are slight nuances that differentiate the two. The CB is slightly more forgiving, and launches the ball slightly higher. I also found it easier to work the ball with the MB.

Looks and Feel

The 714 CB and MB are what one would expect when it comes to a new Titleist offering; clean lines, minimal offset, satin finish and a solid feel. They are a pleasure to look at, and provide plenty of feedback to let golfers know if they caught the ball a groove too high or too low.

Titleist 714 MB 8 iron at address

0964e2a214ace799b03f3c578e616eb7

 Titleist 714 CB 8 iron at address

ec64b5292216c52abe3a243e64ccc4e6

At address, both have thin top lines, with the MB being slightly slimmer than the CB. The blade lengths are nearly identical. The CB irons also have slightly more offset in the long irons.

With fresh badging and a slightly scalloped muscle back pad reminiscent of the old Titleist 660, the 714 CB and MB irons have a modern touch of elegance in a time-tested, tour-proven chassis.

The Takeaway

I’d relate the 714 CB and MB irons to a supermodel girlfriend. These irons will let you know if your game gets even the slightest bit off track.

I tested the CBs alongside with the MBs extensively, and I have to say that a split set of these might be the trick for golfers who want to play a full set of blades but know that they can’t. The addition of the CBs in the mid-and-long irons would add some forgiveness, while smoothly flowing into the MBs in the short irons.

01b0287d7b1d35296ff001b98e6b093f

Whatever set you choose, the beauty of these irons is also going catch the attention of everyone on the range. And if you’re good enough to be able to play them, you will be rewarded with some of the best-feeling, most versatile irons on the market.

CB

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.titleist.com/golf-clubs/irons/CB.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Titleist” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FOMJS0W/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00FOMJS0W&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=THAE3CHKZRLQWLWM”]

MB

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.titleist.com/golf-clubs/irons/MB.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Titleist” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GGKM92U/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GGKM92U&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=6WBJWORDW7WWLKW7″]

Your Reaction?
  • 73
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW19
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP6
  • OB2
  • SHANK21

Ben is the Sales and Marketing Manager for GolfWRX and is based out of Silicon Valley, California. Outside of golf his hobbies include cars, technology, and music.

Continue Reading
30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. David

    Dec 30, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    Hi all I tried the 714 MB today with a friend who is selling them to me I am a 6 hcp but really am a bit higher like a 10 maybe the ghin does not do me justice sometimes lol, but I had never swung these club he has 3-PW with DG Tour Issue shafts mid size grips and I hit a 9 iron on a 127 yard par 3 wind against and almost made a ace, then tried a 7 iron against a strong wind from about 158 and left it about 10 yards short but ball flight was a slight draw, then from about 140 with wind to my favor I hit a sweet draw land two feet pass the flag 6 feet from the hole also hit a 5 iron about 185 mid ball flight, and with 7,8,9,PW very high ball flight I am thinking about buying these irons from him for 300.00 because of the controlling of the ball flight, I currently use Cobra AMP 2013 cavity back graphite 65gram mid kick irons regular I have been using them for 2 yrs now.

    any opinions.

    thanks

  2. Pingback: Cb Titleist Review | Shop

  3. Jericho

    Mar 31, 2015 at 11:12 am

    Just thought I’d throw in some input if it helps anyone, I just turned 48 this past Jan.. back in 2008 I was a +3, then in 2011 went to a +2 and was playing Miura 1957 baby blades then took on some work projects and by 2013 my game went all to hell ..shooting 72-78 …bye bye qualifiers ..last year bought 714 ap2 with gold tour issue X100’s slowly getting game back..hate having to go to a bigger headed club but thought I needed it..anyway put some time in to my swing now shooting ok again but the only prob was the ap2 is so big it really doesn’t give great feed back on a miss ..anywhere on the face is good which in my case lead me to be lazy with this club and scores started to show.. Back to a blade I must go..been testing the 714 mb for the past two weeks with all shaft dg,PX,c taper an on in s-xs ..along with mp4’s in all shafts as well..first off mb and mp4 both in S300 ..mp4 just felt to soft for my liking, like hitting a hard boiled egg..don’t get me wrong I’ve had all the Mizzy’s at one point..14,29,33,37, loved the mp4 just not for me..714 mb to me hit more like the Miura baby blades .not so mushy but very solid , my first 5 hits showed all 5 dead center on the hitting tape and brought me back to that Miura feeling ..solid thump feeling ..all 5 shots were all midish high soft draws right on target around the pin at 190..first 5 shots with the mp4 were a little left an right ..still on the green just not as close ..also the mp4 was actually a little longer by around 6 yrds ..but I want score numbers not yd numbers..the mb is shorter toe to heel which I like plus the top line has confidence to the setup ..oh the reason for me going from x100 to s300 is I’m starting to feel it in the later rounds ..by holes 14-15 I start to get toasted and find myself trying to keep it together ..I’ve had all the shafts from steel to Diamana thump and Ozik 130 programs , even the Japanese tour issue Lime green 130’s ..and the one I’m hitting phenomenally right now are just the good old s300’s ..anyway doing some more shaft testing all this week but from what I’m seeing on the monitors on the outdoor range s3’s might get it .. Oh yes and don’t buy the hype of someone being a 14 capper and not being a blade player ..remember for the first few hundred years in golf you didn’t have a choice not to be a blade player ..although a club with a little help never killed the beginner .. With that said ..play what you want an have fun

  4. cute hairstyles

    May 21, 2014 at 2:17 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to
    give something back and help others like you aided me.

  5. brian

    Apr 13, 2014 at 12:06 am

    I just got my handicap back after a 4 year lay off the game but still hit the ball pure. Just had a demo day from Titleist and still even hit the blades purely every time. Can’t putt anymore and short game is awful, but every other shot is pure as you like. 23 handicap! How snobby can some people be… ‘I play of 2 so only I can hit cb’s or blades’. What complete rubbish some people talk here, to judge off an internet comment.

  6. KYGolfer

    Mar 5, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    “Jack” he was clearly talking about the s56’s not being forged.

  7. Jordan

    Nov 29, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    After extensive research and a summer’s worth of testing irons, I just ordered a combo set of AP2 3-4 irons, CB 5,6,7 irons, and MB 8,9,PW. I’m left handed so I only got to test the AP2 and CB 6 irons, but after testing both with different shaft combo’s (KBS Tour, TT DG, and PX) and flexes, I was dead set on a combo set. I tested MP-59 and MP-53 (older set) but the 714s put them all to shame. The look, feel, consistency is unmatched and I hit them the furthest and worked the ball whichever way I wanted it. AP2 long irons give more forgiveness and distance in the hardest to hit irons, 5,6,7 CBs give more workability and some forgiveness, while the easiest to hit short irons are MBs for maximum workability without worrying about forgiveness since short irons are easy to hit. I would highly suggest trying out the new Titleist offerings and ordering a combo set if that floats your boat. Best irons I’ve ever hit and will be enjoying them for many years to come. And because I’m left handed I won’t be buying any other brands of irons for the foreseeable future because Titleist offers all their clubs for both dexterities and other companies do not share the love. Even if they did I would still get my 714 combo set because Titleist truly makes the best irons in the game.

    Exact specs:
    -AP2 3,4 irons; KBS Tour X-Stiff; 2 degrees upright; Golf Pride Patriot grips
    -CB 5,6,7 irons; KBS Tour X-Stiff; 2 degrees upright; Golf Pride Patriot grips
    -MB 8,9,PW; KBS Tour X-Stiff; 2 degrees upright; Golf Pride Patriot grips

    Before the season starts in late April (I live in PA) I plan on replacing my CG 16s with 52 and 60 degree Vokey’s, same specs except with KBS Tour Hi-Rev shafts.

    Titleist irons and wedges > anything else on the market

  8. MikeT

    Nov 27, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Jack,

    He meant the S56 were clacky.

    Lighten up a bit, chachie!

  9. Flamz911

    Nov 19, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    Someone help me. Been playing Titleists 670mb for 5 years now. Rolling a 6 handicap now. Have been down to a 4. Was thinking a set of 714mbs with a 3,4 cb. Was never great with 2,3,4 was ok.
    Don’t care for AP2’s. But the Mizuno MP4’s are looking pretty sexy!! Help keep me aTitleist guy.

    • JP

      Nov 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm

      I have both 712 CB and 714 MB. I really like the 712 CB’s as I put a set of aldila proto shafts 85 grams in them and I am hitting them better than any set I have ever owned. I am going to do the same with the MB’s as the dg x100 are a bit heavy and it makes them harder to hit in the longer irons. I wanted to pass this one as I am a 0 handicap and 52 years old. My driver swing speed is 105 and I use x stiff flex. I found that the graphite shafts allow you to hit the ball consistently and about a club longer. I don’t need a hybrid as I hit the 3 iron about 231 yards. This shaft change made a major difference as the lighter shafts give you a nice high and soft landing and seems to be every bit as accurate as the steel shafts. I hope this helps.

      • Flamz911

        Nov 21, 2013 at 6:01 pm

        Thanks for the input JP. I switched from x100’s to S300’s a few years ago. I have decent ball flight with them vs the x100’s. My carry distance with my 3 is around 225. It might change a little seeing the 714’s are all 1*stronger. Maybe I’ll have to try a graphite shaft. I just don’t know about the whole set though.

    • Larryoffthedeck

      Mar 2, 2014 at 10:49 pm

      I switched over from Titleist 681’s (completely worn out) to the 712 CB’s last year. I also added a set of Mizuno MP-64s to the arsenal with MP-H4s for the 3 and 4 iron. Very pleased with those last two clubs, but I’ve gravitated to the 712’s over the MP-64s because of the boring flight they provide (picking up about 5 yards/shot over the MP-64s) and a heck of a lot more predictable in the wind. If you’re coming from MB you may like the CBs over any blade. The 3 and 4 iron in the CB are perfectly acceptable if you can smash your irons, but I do find myself rolling the MP-H4s into the mix for a little more predictability and launch depending on the course. You could mix in some AP2’s or AP1’s if you wanted to stay all Titleist in the longest irons, but MP-H4 is worth a look.

  10. Dominic

    Nov 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    I, personally do not like bridgestone clubs, but I just bought a set of the J40 Dual Pocket Cavity Backs. They are forged and feel great. If you are looking for a good club for higher handicaps and lower ones too you have to try these.

  11. Neil

    Nov 4, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I was lucky enough to try all the entire 714 range this weekend. I currently game the JPX 825 Pro models and have a 12 index. The 714 CBs were just amazing. I had just played 18, and spent 30 minutes hitting the AP1 and AP2 models, so was pretty warmed up. The flaghsip AP2 model was good, a great club – but I was surprised at how much better the CB felt. I understand there are tour players winning majors with the AP2 model and it makes me question why one would even consider the CB range, but I most definitely would, if I was due an upgrade.

  12. Tyler

    Nov 4, 2013 at 11:21 am

    I guarantee a 14 handicap will not be hurt by playing blades in the shorter irons. Those of you who think that a set of irons needs to be all one model or have very little change from one iron to the next need to join the present. An optimized iron set has smaller, more workable short irons and more forgiving long irons. To Scott King I would say get those 714 CB’s in the short irons and mix in some AP2’s and AP1’s in the mid and long irons. You won’t regret it.

  13. Scott king

    Nov 2, 2013 at 9:21 am

    I hit all the new irons at a demo last week. Ding dang I fell in love. I am a 14 handicapper that is looking to get a lower handicap iron in 2015 when I should be below a10. The CB’s are the ones for me I hit them so pure and the ball flight is amazing throughout the set from 3 to PW.

    • Joe

      Nov 2, 2013 at 3:02 pm

      No offense, but as a 14 the last thing you need are these irons to improve your game.

      • MD's

        Nov 2, 2013 at 5:26 pm

        …not nearly enough info for you to make that assumption!

        • al

          Nov 3, 2013 at 1:13 pm

          “14 handicap”is enough information. I don’t in anyway want to be horrible, but don’t buy these irons. They will NOT improve your ball striking or your game, no matter what all the 300+ yard drivers on wrx tell you.
          If you want a set of forged irons look at the mizuno ez forged or something along those lines. A pure players iron is not the way forward. Loads of guys on tour don’t use blades or muscle back irons and I guarantee you they hit it way better than a guy who plays off the mid-teens!

          • Flamz911

            Nov 22, 2013 at 1:25 pm

            Maybe he can’t putt very well. Never know, maybe he’s a gamer with his irons. I went from a midsize CB to a MB and shaved 8 strokes from my index in 2 years.

            • Jeff

              Feb 9, 2015 at 9:52 pm

              Exactly. I can smash my Irons all day.. Driver is crazy along with my putter, so yea I’m not a great golfer on the score card. That said I will play with anyone on my course in iron play with my MBs..

      • John

        Nov 3, 2013 at 2:40 am

        I was a 14 and started playing blades. Improved my ball striking tremendously, you know when you miss and experience is the best mentor. Now I’m a 4 handicap and it took 1 year. If you practice enough, blades will make you a player.

        • Dan

          Nov 4, 2013 at 9:41 am

          I agree 100%. Being punished for a bad swing/impact position is how you learn how to hit the ball properly, especially if you put in the practice/learning time to improve.

          Took me a while to learn the proper impact position and Mizuno Pro II’s always let me know when I dont hit down on the ball, hit it thin or high on the face…………

          That being said, you need to consistently hit the ball in the middle of the face.

      • To Joe

        Nov 3, 2013 at 2:19 pm

        Why would you asses someone’s game via internet? Could be his putting, wedge play, off the tee….keep your mouth shut coach

        • Geordie

          Nov 4, 2013 at 5:26 pm

          I’m playing to an 8-handicap & it’s only because I hit it a long way off the tee & usually have less than 30 putts per round. I’m currently playing 710 AP2’s & will have a new combo set of 714 CB’s (6-PW) & AP2’s (4-5) in less than a week. My iron play is the weakest part of my game & my club-fitter agrees (like John stated) that this is the correct set (fit with X-stiff C-Tapers) for me to help me get better feedback. And, I do plan to practice just about every day with them until I don’t need to.

  14. Deaus7

    Nov 2, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Damn!!!! Wish I had 5mph of clubhead speed through the bag so I could realistically play the CB. Maybe if i lived in UK and would require 90% of my shots 20 foot stingers. They look AMAZING!!

    • Sullamon

      Nov 2, 2013 at 5:27 pm

      I don’t know what makes you think the UK plays low shots constantly…..stop being mislead by what you see at The Open and actually play golf in the UK before judging.

      • K Gray

        Nov 5, 2013 at 8:30 pm

        Ap2 or s55. This is easily the hardest decision of my life. Hah

        • K

          Nov 10, 2013 at 9:26 pm

          Ap2’s…

          I bought s56’s at the beginning of this year, 5 months later I bought the Titleist Cb’s. No matter how well I hit them, they felt clacky.

          Go with forged.

          • jack

            Nov 24, 2013 at 1:45 am

            you may be the stupidest person i have ever read a comment by. you said that the cb felt “clacky” you should go with forged. fyi the cbs are forged irons. why don’t you go home and read up on golf for dummies then come back and delete your comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 130
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 230
  • LEGIT30
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending