Connect with us

Putter Reviews

TaylorMade Daddy Long Legs: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: One of the most stable putters we’ve ever tested. The head is bigger than the original Spider, but the removal of the bar in the back of the putter head has a slimming effect, giving it a sleek look.

Cons: There’s only one neck style, a heel-shafted model. We’d like to see center-shafted and slant-neck models become available. The black paint around the insert also scratches off easily.

The Takeaway: Big putter heads and counter-balanced putters aren’t for everybody, but golfers who like them will love the Daddy Long Legs. They’re easy to aim, easy to stroke and have a surprisingly traditional feel.

Overview

TaylorMade’s Daddy Long Legs putters are the company’s highest MOI putter to date, tipping the movement-of-inertia scales at 8500, more than 2000 units higher than the company’s previous highest-MOI putter, the Ghost Spider S.

According to Brian Bazzel, TaylorMade’s product creation manager, a higher MOI creates a more consistent ball speed. This is because a putter with a high MOI will not twist as much on off-center hits, resulting in a ball roll that has close the same speed on off-center hits as it does on center strikes.

“MOI is even more important with a putter than it is in a driver,” Bazzel said. “With drivers, you have a lot of face flexibility, which adds forgiveness. But you don’t have that with a putter, which is why you need even more MOI.”

The Daddy Long Legs putters are also the first in TaylorMade’s Spider line to be designed with a counter balance — a heavier overall weight that further increases the MOI of a putter. They have a heavier head weight, 395 grams, and a longer-than-standard 15-inch grip that weighs 130 grams.

“The heavier grip moves the balance point closer to your hands,” Bazzel said. “This adds stability in your stroke . . . The beauty of it is that you can use your same stroke and comfort level of how you stand.”

To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.

The Daddy Long Legs putters will be available with stock lengths of 35 and 38 inches with TaylorMade’s Pure Roll surlyn insert. Other lengths are available on custom orders. Standard specs are 2.5 degrees of loft with a 70-degree lie angle and a removable 2.5 gram titanium weight. They will be available April 15 for $199.

Performance

IMG_2458

The most important part of a putting stroke is its consistency, and it’s hard to make inconsistent strokes with a Daddy Long Legs putter. Its large size and rearward weighting makes the putter want to go straight back and straight through, even when we were trying to do otherwise.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.35.25 PM

A nice feature of the standard 15-inch grip is that it gives golfers who switch between different lengths the option to hold the putter a little longer or a little shorter depending on their preference that day, week, month, etc. This can only lead to increased confidence for those players.

Looks

IMG_2456

Some of TaylorMade’s previous Spider putters featured an abundance of alignment aids that felt busy, but TaylorMade streamlined things for the Daddy Long Legs. It features a single black line on its mostly white body that makes lining up a putt very straightforward.

The shape of the putter looks more elongated than anything else, which inspires confidence for golfers who want to take the putter head straight back and straight through. While the Daddy Long Legs putters are big, the the removal of the rear bar that has been on previous Spider models means the putters don’t look as big as they are.

Feel

IMG_2440IMG_2452

They’re not as soft as some, but the Daddy Long Legs putters have a traditional sound and feel that was surprising from a putter that is constructed with 16 different parts and eight different materials.

The shaft feels more stable than Odyssey’s “Tank” counter-balanced putter, which some will like. The Winn 15-inch mid-sized grip also gets significantly thicker near the top of the grip, which will serve as a reminder on where to grip it and provide the upper-hand stability some players like in their stroke. TaylorMade Daddy long leg review.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.40.20 PM

Specs:

Length: 35″ and 38″
Head Weight: 395g
Loft: 2.5*
Lie: 70*
Grip: Winn 14.75″ length, 130g weight

Check out gallery below, which features more images and comparison photos between the Daddy Long Legs and Odyssey’s “The Tank” counter-balanced putter.

Your Reaction?
  • 100
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW18
  • LOL7
  • IDHT21
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK2

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. JOHN MARK

    Dec 25, 2018 at 7:58 pm

    I purchased a DADDY LONG LEGS PUTTER approximately 2,5 years ago and unfortunately the SURLYN INSERT has developed an indentation right in the sweet spot
    I contacted the TAYLORMADE REP in the Brisbane AUSTRALIA and was dismissed forthwith and pointed out that the PUTTER has a 2 year warranty
    I purchased this putter expecting it would be my golf partner for a long time.
    Further private and professional inquiries have reinterated that this problem CANNOT BE REPAIRED and of course it’s out of warranty
    I’m angry and disappointed having spent good dollars on a product I really enjoyed using
    I’m a 10 – 13 handicapper have around 28 – 30 putts per round and rarely use the putter off the green
    POOR EFFORT TAYLORMADE !!!!!!

  2. Cheap Pirates jerseys usa wholesale free shipping for order over 10 pcs and easy 365-days returns.
    [url=“http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html/”]hats and jerseys for cheap Wholesale from china/url] http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html

  3. Steven Stoddard

    Oct 6, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I’ve had the Daddy Long Legs for about 4 weeks. Right from the start I was hitting better, straighter and more consistant putts. No matter what I was doing, this putter would bail me out. The more I use it in practice or in a round of golf, the more it improves my putting, in fact, its such a pleasure to putt with, I find myself practicing my putting even more than ever. It has incredible feel, weight, balance and stroke. I just hope it continues. This is the Best!!

  4. Matthew Carter

    Sep 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

    I purchased the DLL putter last week. If you putt straight back and thru, this putter is for you! Good looking, nice feel and absolutely one of the most accurate putters on the market.

  5. Ola scholander

    Sep 14, 2013 at 7:58 am

    Slight arc, face balanced etc: i have worked with dr jon karlsen, he is actually a puttibg dr, meaning hes written a dr thesis on putting, he is also coach for players like peter hanson, etc. Speaking to him about putter designs for different strokes, he couldnt care less. Same with grips etc. Its all feel. So if you do bet with a face balanced while having an inside out path, stick with it!

  6. Mokky

    Sep 6, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Hey I just got a spider mallet 38″ and finding it great as I get use to it. I’m finding the 38″ a little long and issue cutting it down to 36.5/37″???

  7. Rob

    Aug 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I bought this putter today and have previously been fiddling with toe weighted putters for my slight arc. However I found that I was inconsistent. When I tried this one out I had some difficulty and was about to reject it. I then found that placing the ball as I would for a drive inside my left foot I couldn’t go wrong. I was sinking long and short putts consistently. I feel as if I can see my path clearly and the MOI keeps the stroke constant and the ball roll positive. Most people have an arc and when I spoke to a couple of pros at two different clubs they both said that this putter would suit a straight back and forward putter and a slight arc. All I can say is that it works better for me and I have been searching for ages with various putters for an instant positive feel.

  8. Jack

    Aug 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I purchased this putter a few weeks ago and made some adjustments which works great for me.
    I bought the 38″ and put on a Super Stroke belly putter grip with a 40g weight at butt end. I have been getting 3 birdies on average since using this putter. I am not a big taylormade fan, but this putter is the real deal.

    • Charles

      Sep 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      You have done exactly what I want to do! How did you add 40 grams of weight to the butt end? Thanks in advance.

  9. Bob Nolan

    Jul 2, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    I have an inside backstroke, normally associated with a blade type putter, and was recommended by the fitter to lean toward a blade. However, I was dead on with this model and purchased. Should I try to change my stroke or is it over rated. Again, putted pretty well with it and great feel.

  10. mark lourie

    May 22, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    does anyone know if you are supposed to be able to scoop your ball up from the green with the back of this putter? Sure looks like it was designed that way, but for the life of me, I can’t seem to do it. Still getting the feel of the putter, big change from an Odyssey blade style, but sure feels very stable and well balanced.

    • jeff

      Sep 23, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      agree, i cant scoop either…also, how far down the putter shaft do you grip is it below the spider emblem?

  11. Robert Doe

    May 8, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    The paint around the insert indeed does come off very easy! I putted with the putter the morning after I purchased it and got some sand on and around the insert and by simply taking a soft towel to wipe away the sand the paint came off in several areas surrounding that insert. I see on the standard Ghost putters they have stopped painting the black around the insert.

  12. Wallter Graves

    Mar 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    I would love to have some one noted in the golf industry to tak an honest look and appraisal of my putter. Walter Greves

  13. Gary Goetz

    Mar 26, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    I don’t like the fact that 35″ is the shortest it comes in.Kind of stupid.I use a 34″ and I’m sure there are a lot of other people that use a 33′ or 34″ putter.

    • Putt King

      Mar 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      Anyone can do this with their own putter. Some options that I’ve employed: 1) Get a Winn Jumbo Grip from Golfsmith (or Golfworks, etc) which is heavier than a standard putting grip. Or you can use your favorite putter grip but add weight under it by either using a plastic plug filled with tungsten powder (both available at the golf supply stores above) or by putting lead tape under the putter. You can add a straight line of lead tape on the bottom of the shaft and another on the top for instance, or you can spiral wrap it but be careful – you’ll feel the thick lead tape through the grip after it’s installed if you don’t cover the lead tape with a couple wraps of grip tape. I like the plastic butt weight and tungten powder myself. 2) You can extend the putter length (like the Daddy Long Legs) add weight like above, and then just grip down a few inches. This acts as a counterbalance to help stabilize the stroke without having it anchored in your belly. 3) You can add lead tape to your putter head to bring the balance back that you are used to, or as I prefer just keep it as is because the weight under your hands now will actually make the putter feel better and stroke more smoothly. You’ll find that during the transition from backstroke to forward stroke there won’t be any lag which you usually get from having a head that’s much heavier than the grip end of the putter. Adding a heavy grip and/or tungsten/lead under the grip helps balance out the head and you’ll find a nice one piece stroke with this set up. I’ve done this with the Itsy Bitsy Spider and it works great and I don’t have to look down at a putter head that’s 50% larger like the original Spider or the Daddy Long Legs. I’ve also done this with my Odyssey #9 offset blade like Mickelson uses and it’s excellent. For 5 years I’ve been using the “paintbrush” stroke like Phil and Lumpy and Calcavechia are now using, and with this heavy grip putter set up my friends have nicknamed me Putt King!

    • Tpl

      Apr 21, 2013 at 3:20 am

      Kind of stupid to post comment without reading the article. “To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.”

    • Taylormade Rep

      Jun 9, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      well the purpose of the longer putter is to create a fulcrum at the top which makes it easier to make a strait back- strait through putting stroke. That is why you grip down on the putter

      • John Howe

        Jun 16, 2013 at 10:50 am

        Hi, any sign of a toe weighted/slant Daddy long legs? I putt with a slight arc and have bought in to the DLL concept but would prefer to see a toe weighted version when spending this kind of cash, thanks.
        John

        • Trevor

          Jul 31, 2013 at 1:50 pm

          He’s not a real TaylorMade rep otherwise he would have spelled the company’s name properly. He goes by the name of MorikawaTMAG on GolfWRX forums, he is a 14 year old boy who poses as a rep or a staffer, do not buy into his lies.

    • shane.kelly

      Sep 3, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      I use a 33″ putter… They are made to that length to counter balance through the stroke…
      If you use a [email protected] or a 34″ then that’s perfect. You just grip down the shaft 2-3″ and go from there. That is how they have been designed to be used.

  14. Jeffrey

    Mar 25, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Cease communicating and receive my currency!

  15. Spider Guy

    Mar 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I just got the Ghost Spider s a few months ago. It is bar none the best putter I have ever used. So easy to align and the high MOI helps keep the ball on line during off center hits. I also bought into the looks of the Spider s putter. I have to say I’m not crazy about the looks of this one. I’m sure it’s just as great on off center hits like the Spider s putter but I especially like the white line against the black center bar of the Spider s better than the reverse on this one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Blade vs. mallet: What style putters do the top-50 players in the world use? (2022 update)

Published

on

Four years ago, I wrote an article where I analyzed the putters that the top-50 players in the world were using, and the top-50 players in strokes gained: putting. I wanted to find out whether more mallet-style putters, or blade-style putters, were being used by the world’s best.

In 2018, I found that 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

Flash forward to 2022, and it would seem that more and more top golfers are switching into mallet putters – Scottie Scheffler, for example, just switched into a mallet putter after using a blade-style putter throughout his career.

What are the actual numbers, though? Are more top PGA Tour players really using mallet putters these days, or is the shift overblown?

I wanted to find out.

For my research, I simply went through the most recent GolfWRX WITB photos, and the most recent photos on Getty Images, to figure out what style putter each player in the Top-50 in the OWGR is using, as well as each Top-50 player in strokes gained: putting on the PGA Tour for the 2021-22 season.

Below are the results:

Top-50 in OWGR: Blade or Mallet?

Mallet putter users, 62 percent (31 out of 50)

Rory McIlroy’s TaylorMade Spider Tour mallet putter

Rory McIlroy (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Scottie Scheffler (No. 2: Scotty Cameron T-5.5 Proto)

Patrick Cantlay (No. 4: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (N0. 5: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Xander Schauffele (No. 6: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Will Zalatoris (No. 7: Scotty Cameron Circle T Phantom X T-11 Proto)

Justin Thomas (No. 8: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto Tour-Only custom)

Viktor Hovland (No. 11: Ping PLD DS 72)

Sam Burns (No. 12: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Billy Horschel (No. 16: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Cameron Young (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T5 prototype)

Max Homa (No. 18: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Sungjae Im (No. 20: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Shane Lowry: (No. 21: Odyssey DFX 2-ball)

Abraham Ancer (No. 23: Odyssey White Hot No. 5 Stroke Lab)

Keegan Bradley (No. 25: Odyssey Versa Jailbird)

Sepp Straka (No. 27: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 28: Ping Vault Oslo)

Kevin Kisner (No. 29: Odyssey 2-Ball 11)

Dustin Johnson (No. 30: TaylorMade Spider GT Black)

Corey Conners (No. 31: Ping PLD Prototype)

Tom Hoge (No. 32: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

K.H. Lee (No. 33: Odyssey Works Versa 2-ball)

Adam Scott (No. 34: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Aaron Wise (No. 36: TaylorMade Ghost)

Brian Harman (No. 37: TaylorMade OS CB)

Daniel Berger (No. 43: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Jason Kokrak (No. 44: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Harold Varner III (No. 46: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S)

Seamus Power (No. 48: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

Harris English (No. 49: Ping Scottsdale Hohum)

Blade putter users, 38 percent (19 out of 50)

Tom Kim’s new custom Scotty Cameron blade-style putter

Cameron Smith (No. 3: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Collin Morikawa (No. 9: TaylorMade TP Soto)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 10: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Jordan Spieth (No. 13: Scotty Cameron 009 tour prototype)

Tony Finau (No. 14: Ping PLD Prototype)

Joohyung “Tom” Kim (No. 15: Scotty Cameron TourType GSS Prototype)

Hideki Matsuyama (No. 19: Scotty Cameron Newport 2 GSS)

Joaquin Niemann (No. 22: Prototype Ping PLD Anser)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 24: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Ryan Fox (No. 26: Ping Anser 2D)

Thomas Pieters (No. 35: Scotty Cameron Squareback Select 2 Tour Only)

Talor Gooch (No. 38: Odyssey Tri-Hot Two)

Brooks Koepka (No. 39: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Kevin Na (No. 40: Odyssey Toulon Madison)

Kurt Kitayama (No. 41: Scotty Cameron Newport prototype)

Louis Oosthuizen (No. 42: Ping Vault 2.0 Voss)

Mito Pereira (No. 45: Ping Vault 2.0 Dale Anser Stealth)

Paul Casey (No. 47: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Alex Noren (No. 50: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Top-50 in Strokes Gained: Putting

Mallet users: 70 percent (35 of 50 players)

Kelly Kraft’s custom Odyssey Versa 1-Ball Red prototype mallet

Lucas Herbert (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Denny McCarthy (No. 2: Scotty Cameron GoLo N7)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 4: Ping Vault Oslo)

Beau Hossler (No. 5: Odyssey 2-Ball Ten)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (No. 6: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Kelly Kraft (No. 7: Odyssey Versa 1-ball Red Prototype)

Kevin Kisner (No. 9: Odyssey 2-ball 11)

Sam Burns (No. 10: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Martin Trainer (No. 12: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype Phantom T12)

Chesson Hadley (No. 13: Odyssey White Hot OG 2-Ball)

Mackenzie Hughes (No. 14: Ping Scottsdale TR Piper C)

Rory McIlroy (No. 16: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Ian Poulter (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T-11 Proto)

Justin Rose (No. 20: Axis1 Rose Prototype)

Billy Horschel (No. 21: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Matthew Wolff (No. 23: TaylorMade GT Notchback)

Adam Long (No. 24: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Viktor Hovland (No. 25: Ping PLD DS 72)

Max Homa (No. 27: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Patrick Cantlay (T28: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (T28: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Wyndham Clark (No. 31: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Xander Schauffele (No. 32: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Vince Whaley (No. 33: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Rory Sabbatini (No. 34: Scotty Cameron Flowback Prototype)

Austin Cook (T35: Ping Sigma G Tyne)

Sungjae Im (No. 37: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Andrew Putnam (No. 38: Odyssey Stroke Lab Black Rossie)

Sepp Straka (No. 39: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Seamus Power (No. 40: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

J.T. Poston (T41: Scotty Cameron GoLo 5 Black Tour Prototype)

Adam Scott (T41: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Troy Merritt (No. 43: Yes! C-Groove Mollie Tour)

Jason Kokrak (T46: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Mark Hubbard (No. 50: Odyssey Metal X Milled #9HT)

Blade users: 30 percent (15 of 50)

Matthew Fitzpatrick’s custom Bettinardi blade-style putter

Brendon Todd (No. 3: Sik Pro C-Series)

Cameron Smith (No. 8: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Matt Kuchar (No. 11: Bettinardi Tour Department SS28 DASS)

Marc Leishman (No. 15: Odyssey Versa #6)

Alex Noren (No. 18: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Maverick McNealy (No. 19: Toulon Stanford MM Custom)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 22: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 26: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Patrick Rodgers (No. 30: Odyssey Toulon San Diego)

Seung-Yul Noh (T35: Scotty Cameron Select Prototype)

Scott Stallings (No. 44: Scotty Cameron Newport 2.6 Prototype)

Brooks Koepka (No. 45: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Justin Lower (T46: PXG Prototype)

Richy Werenski (No. 48: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype)

Patrick Reed (No. 49: Odyssey White Hot Pro #3)

Conclusion

In 2018, 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

In 2022, 62 percent of the top-50 players in the OWGR use mallet style putters, and 70 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet style putters.

What do you think this means?

To me, it means that each golfer should try as many putters as possible – under the supervision of a professional fitter or local club professional – and find the best possible putter to fit their stroke style and preferences.

Your Reaction?
  • 158
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW9
  • LOL1
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

REVIEW: Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) putters for 2022

Published

on

Not every golfer has access to custom-built golf putters like PGA Tour players do, but with Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) program, they can get pretty darn close.

Through the newly launched website, pingpld.com, golfers will have access to precision milled putters like the ones seen on Tour, and they can even customize their own putter with a Tour-level fitting experience either online or in person.

There’s three essential levels to the new PLD program: PLD Custom, PLD Limited and PLD Milled. Each of the levels comes with different putter options at differing price points.

“The PLD program allows us to bring golfers more of what we do best – design and build the highest-performing custom putters in the game,” said Ping President John K. Solheim, in a press release. “It offers nearly endless possibilities. Golfers can craft their own custom design through PLD Custom, choose the proven performance of a PLD Milled model or add to their putter collection by acquiring a PLD Limited. It gives golfers a chance to play what the pros play and own a piece of Ping history.”

“We established the PLD name several years ago as an extension of the PING Putting Lab,
where we’ve been fitting some of the top players in the world for more than 20 years,” said
Solheim. “Until now, access to the master fitters who deliver these custom putter experiences has been limited to the best players in the game. We can now bring golfers what they’ve been asking for either through a virtual or in-person experience.”

Below, we go further in-depth on each of the three options within the PLD program.

Ping PLD Milled

PGA Tour players such as Viktor Hovland, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson use Ping PLD precision milled putters, and now consumers will have access to those Tour-proven putters.

Each of the heads (Anser, Anser 2, DS72 and Prime Tyne 4) are machine milled from forged 303 stainless steel. Ping offers a breakdown of the specs for each available model, which will sell for $485 each:

Anser

Slight Arc
350g
Matte Black finish
Ping black graphite shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Anser 2

Slight Arc
350g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

DS72

Straight Stroke
365g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 2°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Prime Tyne 4

Aerospace grade, machined aluminum hosel
Strong Arc
360g
Matte Black finish
Matte-black stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

“The PLD Milled is an exciting addition to our putter line,” said John K. Solheim. “We’ve
identified a couple of our most popular models from the past and some newer designs that have attracted a lot of attention in the last couple of years. We’ve given the new putters a very clean, premium look to emphasize the precision process they undergo before they are ready for play. As we collaborate on new designs with our engineers and tour staff through the PLD program, we’ll add new models to bring golfers the latest in tour-proven performance on the putting green.”

Ping PLD Limited

Ping’s PLD Limited will feature periodic limited-edition releases consisting of either putters that are played on Tour, or iconic designs from history. According to Ping, these putters are mostly targeted toward collectors, so they will have serialized numbers and will not be available for custom modifications.

For its first release ($790), Ping developed a 2022 version of the original Ping Anser, celebrating the 55th Anniversary of receiving the original Anser Patent on March 21, 1967.

“A lot of time has passed since the invention of the Anser putter,” said John A. Solheim, Ping’s Chairman & CEO and the youngest son of Karsten Solheim, who designed the original putter. “We think it’s important to remind the golf industry and some of the younger golfers that the iconic design they see with other brands’ name on it was created by Karsten in his garage in the mid-1960s. I was fortunate to be at his side building the first Ansers, and continued to do so for many years. It’s time Karsten gets the credit he deserves for inventing the Anser putter.”

Ping PLD Custom

The highest level in the Ping PLD program feature the PLD Custom putters, where golfers can customize their own designs with either the help of a Ping Master fitter in person, or virtually through the PLD program online. To help golfers find their perfect putter, they will use the PLD iPing putting app, and a Ping Master fitter will analyze the player’s data to recommend a putter.

Then, golfers can fully customize the putter to their liking, with ability to change head model, Tungsten weighting, face milling, finish, alignment aids, stampings and paint fill. Ping’s Master Fitters will also help golfers get the correct length, lie angle and loft for their stroke and biometrics.

The putters themselves will sell for $1,290, and a $200 non-refundable payment is required to schedule and participate in a PLD Custom Fitting, whether it’s virtually or in person.

Personally, I received a Ping PLD Custom Fitting in-person at the company’s indoor facility in Phoenix, Arizona. After identifying my stroke flaws (of which there many) using Ping’s iPing putting app, I tried out a slew of different head options and we made head adjustments along the way to figure out what truly works. Here were my final specs:

Head model: Ping Anser
Finish: Patina
Weight: 350 grams
Alignment line/dot: None
Stamping: “T” on the hosel
Length: 35.5 inches
Shaft: Chrome Stepless Steel
Grip: PP58 Black Midsize

What blew me away most was how impactful length and lie angle can be on comfort at address and stroke pattern. Even minor changes felt drastic. Also, the depth of face milling can truly change both feel and sound; I never realized how much.

Another point of note: Switching up alignment lines obviously can affect aim, but for me, they also influenced my stroke itself due to the visual changes. I highly suggest going through a full putter fitting to determine what specifications you prefer for yourself.

Check out the photos below of the putter that was designed for me through my work with a Ping Master Fitter:

Ping PLD putters are available for pre-order today, and head over to Ping’s PLD website to book your own fitting here.

Your Reaction?
  • 119
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW14
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 60
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP5
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending