Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Odyssey “Tank” Putter: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: Thanks to the balance between its heavier head, heavier shaft and heavier grip, the Tank is a counter-balanced putter that doesn’t feel like one. We love the beefier head shape, and the White Hot insert and heavy, soft shaft deliver on feel. Big props to Odyssey for offering four different lengths — 34, 36, 38 and 40 inches.

Cons: We’d like to see center-shafted and slant-neck model, as well as an adjustable weight in the sole for tuning. And can we get it with Versa paint?

The Takeaway: The Tank will be huge for golfers who like the look and feel of an Odyssey No. 7 putter but get twitchy on the greens.

Overview

EditorsChoice_131

Odyssey’s Tank putter is one of the two anchored-putter alternatives that the company has released since the announcement of theproposed anchored-putter ban from golf’s ruling bodies. Unlike Odyssey’s Arm Lock putter, which features a shaft bend that allows golfers to anchor the putter to their lead forearm in the Matt Kuchar-style, the Tank is used in the same way as a conventional putter.

The performance difference comes from the fact that the Tank is counter balanced, meaning that it features a heavier head, shaft and grip that increases the overall MOI of the putter.

“It’s not just a super heavy putter that swings like a log,” said Greg Sabella, director of marketing for Odyssey.

IMG_2505

The Tank is one of Odyssey’s counters to the proposed anchored putter ban.

This makes the Tank different from TaylorMade’s Daddy Long Legs putter (click here for a full review), which is also counter balanced, but in a way that moves the balance point closer to the hands. After testing both models side by side, there’s no doubt that the Tanks feels more like a standard putter than the Daddy Long Legs, which some golfers will like and some will not. More on that later.

Like the Daddy Long Legs, golfers should try a Tank putter that is longer than their standard-length putter and grip it where it feels comfortable — ideally a few inches below the butt of the grip. The added length above the hands will add to the putter’s counter-weighting, which leads to more more stability and a more pendulum-like stroke.

The Tank is available on April 12 and like the Daddy Long Legs will cost $199. It is available in 34- and 36-inch models that have a total MOI that’s 34 percent greater than the company’s standard No. 7 putter, and 38- and 40-inch models that have a total MOI that is 109 percent higher.

All models come with a standard loft of 3 degrees and a lie angle of 70 degrees.

Performance

IMG_2467

The 34- and 36-inch putters have the same 400-gram putter head as the longer versions, but use different grips, shafts and counter weights to achieve the “tour” balance point of Odyssey’s standard-length putters.

The 34-inch model has a 130-gram shaft, while the 36-inch model has a 137-gram shaft. They also feature a standard-weight grip (about 63 grams) which conceals the 40-gram counter weight that gives the putters their traditional feel. The 38-inch model has a 151-gram shaft, while the 40-inch model has a 161-gram shaft, with grips that weigh about 111 grams and conceal a 30-gram counter weight.

This attention to detail makes all four models feel just like a standard putter, but gives them a much heavier total weight that will help golfers take the twitchiness out of their strokes.

Looks

IMG_2486

The Tank putter heads are 57 grams heavier than the standard No. 7 Odyssey putter. To increase the weight, yet keep the center of gravity relatively the same, Odyssey engineers added a different camber to the sole and beefed up the top of the putter, eliminating the divide between the top line and back portion on the No. 7.

They also added “double barrel” alignment aids — two white lines on the heel and toe of the putter, which frame the three red dots that denote the center of the putter face. The look is fresh, but not far enough away from the No. 7 that it will scare away its fans.

Feel

IMG_2472IMG_2476

The most impressive part of the Tank’s design is its careful attention to feel, which is off-the-charts good for a putter of its weight.

To achieve its standard-putter feel, Odyssey uses two different shafts — a standard putter shaft in the 34- and 36-inch models and a ski poll shaft in the 38- and 40-inch models, which feature thicker walls to accommodate their extra weight. Those shafts feel softer than most because of the increased load from the heavier components, which feel-oriented golfers will like.

Odyssey Tank or TaylorMade Daddy Long Legs?

IMG_2528

You’ll notice that we’ve given the Tank a 5-star rating and the Daddy Long Legs a 4.5. But don’t let those ratings lead you to believe the Tank is the better putter.

We’ve heard from several putter designers that the reason that belly putters receive more use on tour than long putters, which are actually more effective than bellies at delivering a consistent pendulum stroke, is because belly putters are more similar to conventional putters in the way that they are used.

That’s why we’re so impressed with the Tank — it feels pretty much identical to a standard Odyssey No. 7 putter, but is much more stable.

The Daddy Long Legs has a slightly stiffer-feeling shaft and insert, which some will like more than the Tank. And its higher MOI it will be everything many golfers are looking for if they want an extremely stable putter that will keep their hands steady when their knees are knocking.

Our advice? Give them both a shot and see which one swings better for you. One good thing that has come from the proposed anchor ban by golf’s ruling bodies is that it has forced putter makers to find creative ways to add stability to a golfer’s putting stroke, which is why these two great putters are coming to market. Maybe in time, golfers will find that they didn’t need that silly old anchor anyways. These might be good enough.

Check out the additional photos and comparison shots of the Tank and Daddy Long Legs putters in the gallery below:

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW6
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. Rick Ford

    Mar 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Picked up the DLL 38″ 3 weeks ago, played two rounds with it and the paint fill around the face insert started peeling away! Liked the way it felt not happy with the quality. Returned it to Golfsmithh and exchanged it for the 38″ Odyessy Tank Versa 7. Noticeably heavier, looks and feels like a quality putter should. Believe it will hold up much better than the DLL

  2. Frank

    Jan 27, 2014 at 12:24 am

    Can you shorten the 38inch Tank 7 down to 37 inches? It feels a little long and yet I did not like the grip on the standard grip on the 36 inch model. Will shortening the length involve moving the counter balance weight in the top of the shaft? Will this change the properties to the putter in any noticeable way? Just wondering. Odyssey is sort of mum about changing the length.

  3. froneputt

    Dec 6, 2013 at 3:00 am

    I tried it several times at the store and it was too heavy and numb feeling. I think you can achieve the objective with a putter that feels like a putter off the ball and not as heavy — something playable.

  4. Snowman

    Jul 28, 2013 at 11:25 am

    Tried the tank at the golf store…liked it. Seems Stupid to me that they did not come out with Versa versions of the Tank….. If Versa is so great and is their ‘latest gratest’, Why Not? I think Els won a tournament with a custom Versa Tank, so I just don’t understand……

  5. kevin

    Jul 4, 2013 at 4:47 am

    I recently changed from the Odyssey Black Series No 7 , which I’ve used for about 3 Years, to a 38″ Tank. I tried the 34″ ,same as my Black , but felt the 38″ gave me better control . I grip down with the heel of my left hand on the first “Y” in Odyssey. The 38″ grip feels thicker which I like. Straight away my short and medium putts were good but still working on distance control for the long ones. With the old putter I had a tendency to crouch and not get my eyes over the ball, with this new one not a problem and it feels really comfortable . The top of the putter head is much better visually with the front & back divide from the old one gone and very clear sight lines. BTW I tried the ” Heavy” putters and they didn’t do it for me – this Tank is totally different. Worth more than a 5 star rating!

  6. Jason

    Jun 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

    Why do these putters come with same 70 degree lie angle, irrespective of length? I thought putter lie angles changed by approx 1 degree for every half-inch change in length.

  7. MikeD

    May 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

    I’ve tried these. I like the idea and the feel, but it’s beyond me as to why the 34 and 36 inchers have such cheapo grips, while the 38 and 40 have good grips. The DDL has the long, thick grip in both lengths. That right there is enough to sway a lot of golfers to the DDL.

  8. chris

    Apr 9, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Walter your putter is awful and the reviews prove it. try again buddy!http://www.oobgolf.com/content/fore+play/1-3586-Double_Duty_Divot_Repair_Putter.html

  9. RH

    Apr 4, 2013 at 10:59 am

    So if the grip is weighted, what happens if I want to change the grip? Do I need a special weighted odyssey grip to maintain the counter balance?

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Apr 4, 2013 at 4:20 pm

      The grip is heavier than most grips, but it is not weighted. There is a weight underneath the grip that acts as a counterbalance that will remain when the grip is changed.

  10. Wallter Graves

    Mar 28, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    I sure would like someone noted in the golfing industry who would take a look at my putter, give me an evaluation on its putting ability and give me their honest opinion on the overall performance. I will be more than happy to send them a putter for testing ( R or L Handed) to the right person who I feel would accept the putter with no strings attached for a true and honest opinion. Walter Graves, W.H.Golf LLC — DOUBLE DUTY-the divot repair putter.

  11. mike mcferron

    Mar 28, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Duh! – I see the April 12 availability date. Still wondering about the grip.

  12. mike mcferron

    Mar 28, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Is the grip on the Odyssey longer than standard? When are these going to be available?

  13. Gary Goetz

    Mar 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Heard these are going to sell for $199.Any one hear any different?

    • Ralph

      Oct 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

      I looked around on line and at shops and could not find one cheaper so bought one at a pro shop and love it! I think it is going to be worth the cost, at least for me.

      Ralph

  14. Justin Angelier

    Mar 24, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Rickie using this one this week?

    • Ty

      Mar 24, 2013 at 9:24 pm

      I’m sure it feels good, but its not very original. Just looks like they copied Boccieri’s Heavy Putter. And with Boccieri’s three weight categories, its easy to find the right “feel”.

      It’ll be interesting to see how many anchored players switch to a counter balanced putter if and when the USGA ruling goes into effect.

      BTW I saw the commercial for Boccieri’s Secret Grip, looks pretty cool. Anyone try it? Would love some insight.

  15. Zak Kozuchowski

    Mar 23, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    The Tank and Daddy Long Legs putters are huge improvement over the original Heavy Putter models.

    They have great-feeling inserts, beautiful head designs and much more conventional balance points that will allow users to feel the head more in the stroke.

    No, this isn’t new technology, but TaylorMade and Odyssey paid attention to the details and got these right. Like a soft feel? Try the Tank. Prefer a firmer feel? Try the Daddy Long Legs.

  16. Yohanan

    Mar 23, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Just got the tax refund. sshh dont tell the wife!

  17. Mike

    Mar 23, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    How do both these putters compare to the “Heavy Putter” line of putters? Do both of these putters have better feel and better distance control than the Heavy Putter Line? Do these feel heavier than the Heavy putter line or are they better balanced?

  18. John

    Mar 23, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    Brand new idea that Boccieri Heavy putters have been doing for years with a very large head, weight selection.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Blade vs. mallet: What style putters do the top-50 players in the world use? (2022 update)

Published

on

Four years ago, I wrote an article where I analyzed the putters that the top-50 players in the world were using, and the top-50 players in strokes gained: putting. I wanted to find out whether more mallet-style putters, or blade-style putters, were being used by the world’s best.

In 2018, I found that 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

Flash forward to 2022, and it would seem that more and more top golfers are switching into mallet putters – Scottie Scheffler, for example, just switched into a mallet putter after using a blade-style putter throughout his career.

What are the actual numbers, though? Are more top PGA Tour players really using mallet putters these days, or is the shift overblown?

I wanted to find out.

For my research, I simply went through the most recent GolfWRX WITB photos, and the most recent photos on Getty Images, to figure out what style putter each player in the Top-50 in the OWGR is using, as well as each Top-50 player in strokes gained: putting on the PGA Tour for the 2021-22 season.

Below are the results:

Top-50 in OWGR: Blade or Mallet?

Mallet putter users, 62 percent (31 out of 50)

Rory McIlroy’s TaylorMade Spider Tour mallet putter

Rory McIlroy (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Scottie Scheffler (No. 2: Scotty Cameron T-5.5 Proto)

Patrick Cantlay (No. 4: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (N0. 5: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Xander Schauffele (No. 6: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Will Zalatoris (No. 7: Scotty Cameron Circle T Phantom X T-11 Proto)

Justin Thomas (No. 8: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto Tour-Only custom)

Viktor Hovland (No. 11: Ping PLD DS 72)

Sam Burns (No. 12: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Billy Horschel (No. 16: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Cameron Young (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T5 prototype)

Max Homa (No. 18: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Sungjae Im (No. 20: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Shane Lowry: (No. 21: Odyssey DFX 2-ball)

Abraham Ancer (No. 23: Odyssey White Hot No. 5 Stroke Lab)

Keegan Bradley (No. 25: Odyssey Versa Jailbird)

Sepp Straka (No. 27: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 28: Ping Vault Oslo)

Kevin Kisner (No. 29: Odyssey 2-Ball 11)

Dustin Johnson (No. 30: TaylorMade Spider GT Black)

Corey Conners (No. 31: Ping PLD Prototype)

Tom Hoge (No. 32: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

K.H. Lee (No. 33: Odyssey Works Versa 2-ball)

Adam Scott (No. 34: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Aaron Wise (No. 36: TaylorMade Ghost)

Brian Harman (No. 37: TaylorMade OS CB)

Daniel Berger (No. 43: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Jason Kokrak (No. 44: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Harold Varner III (No. 46: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S)

Seamus Power (No. 48: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

Harris English (No. 49: Ping Scottsdale Hohum)

Blade putter users, 38 percent (19 out of 50)

Tom Kim’s new custom Scotty Cameron blade-style putter

Cameron Smith (No. 3: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Collin Morikawa (No. 9: TaylorMade TP Soto)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 10: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Jordan Spieth (No. 13: Scotty Cameron 009 tour prototype)

Tony Finau (No. 14: Ping PLD Prototype)

Joohyung “Tom” Kim (No. 15: Scotty Cameron TourType GSS Prototype)

Hideki Matsuyama (No. 19: Scotty Cameron Newport 2 GSS)

Joaquin Niemann (No. 22: Prototype Ping PLD Anser)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 24: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Ryan Fox (No. 26: Ping Anser 2D)

Thomas Pieters (No. 35: Scotty Cameron Squareback Select 2 Tour Only)

Talor Gooch (No. 38: Odyssey Tri-Hot Two)

Brooks Koepka (No. 39: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Kevin Na (No. 40: Odyssey Toulon Madison)

Kurt Kitayama (No. 41: Scotty Cameron Newport prototype)

Louis Oosthuizen (No. 42: Ping Vault 2.0 Voss)

Mito Pereira (No. 45: Ping Vault 2.0 Dale Anser Stealth)

Paul Casey (No. 47: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Alex Noren (No. 50: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Top-50 in Strokes Gained: Putting

Mallet users: 70 percent (35 of 50 players)

Kelly Kraft’s custom Odyssey Versa 1-Ball Red prototype mallet

Lucas Herbert (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Denny McCarthy (No. 2: Scotty Cameron GoLo N7)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 4: Ping Vault Oslo)

Beau Hossler (No. 5: Odyssey 2-Ball Ten)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (No. 6: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Kelly Kraft (No. 7: Odyssey Versa 1-ball Red Prototype)

Kevin Kisner (No. 9: Odyssey 2-ball 11)

Sam Burns (No. 10: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Martin Trainer (No. 12: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype Phantom T12)

Chesson Hadley (No. 13: Odyssey White Hot OG 2-Ball)

Mackenzie Hughes (No. 14: Ping Scottsdale TR Piper C)

Rory McIlroy (No. 16: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Ian Poulter (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T-11 Proto)

Justin Rose (No. 20: Axis1 Rose Prototype)

Billy Horschel (No. 21: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Matthew Wolff (No. 23: TaylorMade GT Notchback)

Adam Long (No. 24: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Viktor Hovland (No. 25: Ping PLD DS 72)

Max Homa (No. 27: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Patrick Cantlay (T28: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (T28: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Wyndham Clark (No. 31: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Xander Schauffele (No. 32: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Vince Whaley (No. 33: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Rory Sabbatini (No. 34: Scotty Cameron Flowback Prototype)

Austin Cook (T35: Ping Sigma G Tyne)

Sungjae Im (No. 37: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Andrew Putnam (No. 38: Odyssey Stroke Lab Black Rossie)

Sepp Straka (No. 39: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Seamus Power (No. 40: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

J.T. Poston (T41: Scotty Cameron GoLo 5 Black Tour Prototype)

Adam Scott (T41: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Troy Merritt (No. 43: Yes! C-Groove Mollie Tour)

Jason Kokrak (T46: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Mark Hubbard (No. 50: Odyssey Metal X Milled #9HT)

Blade users: 30 percent (15 of 50)

Matthew Fitzpatrick’s custom Bettinardi blade-style putter

Brendon Todd (No. 3: Sik Pro C-Series)

Cameron Smith (No. 8: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Matt Kuchar (No. 11: Bettinardi Tour Department SS28 DASS)

Marc Leishman (No. 15: Odyssey Versa #6)

Alex Noren (No. 18: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Maverick McNealy (No. 19: Toulon Stanford MM Custom)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 22: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 26: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Patrick Rodgers (No. 30: Odyssey Toulon San Diego)

Seung-Yul Noh (T35: Scotty Cameron Select Prototype)

Scott Stallings (No. 44: Scotty Cameron Newport 2.6 Prototype)

Brooks Koepka (No. 45: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Justin Lower (T46: PXG Prototype)

Richy Werenski (No. 48: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype)

Patrick Reed (No. 49: Odyssey White Hot Pro #3)

Conclusion

In 2018, 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

In 2022, 62 percent of the top-50 players in the OWGR use mallet style putters, and 70 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet style putters.

What do you think this means?

To me, it means that each golfer should try as many putters as possible – under the supervision of a professional fitter or local club professional – and find the best possible putter to fit their stroke style and preferences.

Your Reaction?
  • 155
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW9
  • LOL1
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

REVIEW: Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) putters for 2022

Published

on

Not every golfer has access to custom-built golf putters like PGA Tour players do, but with Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) program, they can get pretty darn close.

Through the newly launched website, pingpld.com, golfers will have access to precision milled putters like the ones seen on Tour, and they can even customize their own putter with a Tour-level fitting experience either online or in person.

There’s three essential levels to the new PLD program: PLD Custom, PLD Limited and PLD Milled. Each of the levels comes with different putter options at differing price points.

“The PLD program allows us to bring golfers more of what we do best – design and build the highest-performing custom putters in the game,” said Ping President John K. Solheim, in a press release. “It offers nearly endless possibilities. Golfers can craft their own custom design through PLD Custom, choose the proven performance of a PLD Milled model or add to their putter collection by acquiring a PLD Limited. It gives golfers a chance to play what the pros play and own a piece of Ping history.”

“We established the PLD name several years ago as an extension of the PING Putting Lab,
where we’ve been fitting some of the top players in the world for more than 20 years,” said
Solheim. “Until now, access to the master fitters who deliver these custom putter experiences has been limited to the best players in the game. We can now bring golfers what they’ve been asking for either through a virtual or in-person experience.”

Below, we go further in-depth on each of the three options within the PLD program.

Ping PLD Milled

PGA Tour players such as Viktor Hovland, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson use Ping PLD precision milled putters, and now consumers will have access to those Tour-proven putters.

Each of the heads (Anser, Anser 2, DS72 and Prime Tyne 4) are machine milled from forged 303 stainless steel. Ping offers a breakdown of the specs for each available model, which will sell for $485 each:

Anser

Slight Arc
350g
Matte Black finish
Ping black graphite shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Anser 2

Slight Arc
350g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

DS72

Straight Stroke
365g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 2°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Prime Tyne 4

Aerospace grade, machined aluminum hosel
Strong Arc
360g
Matte Black finish
Matte-black stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

“The PLD Milled is an exciting addition to our putter line,” said John K. Solheim. “We’ve
identified a couple of our most popular models from the past and some newer designs that have attracted a lot of attention in the last couple of years. We’ve given the new putters a very clean, premium look to emphasize the precision process they undergo before they are ready for play. As we collaborate on new designs with our engineers and tour staff through the PLD program, we’ll add new models to bring golfers the latest in tour-proven performance on the putting green.”

Ping PLD Limited

Ping’s PLD Limited will feature periodic limited-edition releases consisting of either putters that are played on Tour, or iconic designs from history. According to Ping, these putters are mostly targeted toward collectors, so they will have serialized numbers and will not be available for custom modifications.

For its first release ($790), Ping developed a 2022 version of the original Ping Anser, celebrating the 55th Anniversary of receiving the original Anser Patent on March 21, 1967.

“A lot of time has passed since the invention of the Anser putter,” said John A. Solheim, Ping’s Chairman & CEO and the youngest son of Karsten Solheim, who designed the original putter. “We think it’s important to remind the golf industry and some of the younger golfers that the iconic design they see with other brands’ name on it was created by Karsten in his garage in the mid-1960s. I was fortunate to be at his side building the first Ansers, and continued to do so for many years. It’s time Karsten gets the credit he deserves for inventing the Anser putter.”

Ping PLD Custom

The highest level in the Ping PLD program feature the PLD Custom putters, where golfers can customize their own designs with either the help of a Ping Master fitter in person, or virtually through the PLD program online. To help golfers find their perfect putter, they will use the PLD iPing putting app, and a Ping Master fitter will analyze the player’s data to recommend a putter.

Then, golfers can fully customize the putter to their liking, with ability to change head model, Tungsten weighting, face milling, finish, alignment aids, stampings and paint fill. Ping’s Master Fitters will also help golfers get the correct length, lie angle and loft for their stroke and biometrics.

The putters themselves will sell for $1,290, and a $200 non-refundable payment is required to schedule and participate in a PLD Custom Fitting, whether it’s virtually or in person.

Personally, I received a Ping PLD Custom Fitting in-person at the company’s indoor facility in Phoenix, Arizona. After identifying my stroke flaws (of which there many) using Ping’s iPing putting app, I tried out a slew of different head options and we made head adjustments along the way to figure out what truly works. Here were my final specs:

Head model: Ping Anser
Finish: Patina
Weight: 350 grams
Alignment line/dot: None
Stamping: “T” on the hosel
Length: 35.5 inches
Shaft: Chrome Stepless Steel
Grip: PP58 Black Midsize

What blew me away most was how impactful length and lie angle can be on comfort at address and stroke pattern. Even minor changes felt drastic. Also, the depth of face milling can truly change both feel and sound; I never realized how much.

Another point of note: Switching up alignment lines obviously can affect aim, but for me, they also influenced my stroke itself due to the visual changes. I highly suggest going through a full putter fitting to determine what specifications you prefer for yourself.

Check out the photos below of the putter that was designed for me through my work with a Ping Master Fitter:

Ping PLD putters are available for pre-order today, and head over to Ping’s PLD website to book your own fitting here.

Your Reaction?
  • 119
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW14
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 60
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP5
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending