Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Adidas Climawarm+ Jacket

Published

on

Pros: Unbelievably lightweight for the warmth it provides. It’s loose in the shoulders for mobility, but tighter around the midsection. That keeps it out of harm’s way during the swing.

Cons: The sleeve cuffs fit a little loose. Traditionalists won’t love its athletic vibe.

The Bottom Line: The Climawarm+ jacket gives golfers more warmth and movability than they’ve likely experienced from a jacket of its weight and thickness.

Overview

It’s common sense. When it’s cold outside, people stay warm by wearing more clothing. But as anyone who is or knows a serious golfer might expect, it’s another common-sense rule to which many golfers don’t subscribe.

In this case, however, golfers have a good reason for not practicing sound judgement. To many golfers, bundling up for a cold-weather round is like a surgeon performing an operation while wearing a pair of boxing gloves. That’s the same loss of touch many golfers feel they lose when they try to play in several thick layers of clothing.

Adidas’ new Climawarm+ jacket should help golfers solve some of their cold-weather problems. It is constructed from an extremely thin, lightweight fabric that’s surprisingly warm. The fabric, made from hollow-fiber yarn, was inspired by the fur of a polar bear and naturally retains body heat. Check out the promotional video from Adidas to see what PGA Tour players Jason Day, Dustin Johnson and Martin Laird are saying about the jacket.

[youtube id=”lQcW77ZoRhA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

The Climawarm+ technology isn’t unique to golf. It will be used in several other Adidas products designed for different sports. But it might be most important for golfers, who unlike other athletes spend most of their time standing or walking: not exactly movements that get the blood flowing.

According to Davide Matucci, director of global product marketing for Adidas, the biggest difference between the Climawarm+ jacket and Adidas’ previous Climawarm products is the new jacket’s extremely light weight and the full range of motion it provides.

“In golf, it’s all about freedom of movement,” Matucci said. “So the problem we wanted to solve was how to keep golfers warm without having to bulk them up with thick, heavy layers that can restrict [their] swing.”

The Climawarm+ full-zip jacket weighs a mere 12 ounces, and is made from 95 percent polyester and 5 percent elastane. It is available in three colors: Vivid Blue/Black/White, Black/Lead/Solar Blue and Light Onix/Light Onix/Hi-Res Red in sizes small to 2XL and costs $80.

It is also available in a half-zip pullover ($75) and a quarter-vip vest ($70). Women have the choice of a Climawarm+ full-zip vest ($70) and a quarter-zip pullover ($75).

Performance

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 7.25.37 PM

Above: The black-and-gray Climawarm+ jacket was brightened up with blue accents on the Adidas logo and on the seams on the chest, shoulders and arms. 

The first thing golfers will notice when they pick up the Climawarm+ jacket is how light it is. It’s much lighter than similar jackets golfers are used to wearing, which might trick them into thinking that it can’t possibly be warm. But it is very warm, even when worn over nothing more than a standard golf shirt.

The first time I wore the jacket was an experience much like the first time I wore a cold-weather compression shirt. My hands and face were bitten by Detroit’s November cold, but my body and arms felt toasty despite the mid 40-degree temperature.

No matter how warm an article of clothing is, however, is has to be functional to be worn by serious golfers. Three-time PGA Tour winner Martin Laird said that he likes his outerwear to be fitted, but that it can’t be restrictive for him to wear it on the course.

“The sleeves can’t tighten up your arm and I can’t be restricted in my backswing,” Laird said.

The Climawarm+ jacket, when properly sized, will do neither of those things, laying loosely over a golfer’s shoulders, arms, back and chest. But the midsection of the jacket fits a little slimmer, keeping the “sag” of the stomach area to a minimum. That’s especially important to Laird, who uses a 45-inch counterbalanced putter that tends to get caught in baggier-fitting outerwear.

“I lot of times I don’t like wear zip-up jackets because they sag, but this one fits really nicely,” Laird said.

One of the few problem with the jacket is the sleeve cuffs, which fit loosely in my XL sample. If anything, I prefer my cuffs to fit slightly tighter than normal in a golf jacket. That allows me to pull the cuffs up a few inches, anchoring them to the thicker parts of my forearms. But since the cuffs of the Climawarm+ Jacket are loose, they take a little more maintenance. They will stay in place for most shots, but golfers will likely be pulling them up a little before every shot just to make sure they’re not going to slide down their arms in mid swing.

The two pockets of the jacket are a nice touch, as many jackets that are the thickness of the Climawarm+ don’t have them. They’re large and sturdy enough to hold hand warmers, and have the same cozy cotton-like feel as the inside of the jacket.

Looks and Feel

Screen Shot1 2013-11-18 at 4.19.21 PM

Above: The Climawarm+ Jacket in its most understated colors, gray and red. 

The Climawarm+ jacket is offered in three colors, all of which have an Adidas logo on the front left chest, as well as three large Adidas stripes on the back of the collar and high-contrast seams on the jacket’s arms, shoulders and back. Those not-so-subtle designs reinforce the athletic look of the golf jacket, which is enough that gym-goers likely wouldn’t get a second look if they were seen working out in it. That gives the jacket versatility in that sense, but when I think of versatile golf clothing I think of apparel that can be worn for a night out with friends, not at the gym.

The Climawarm+ is an extremely comfortable jacket, however, which will likely have golfers reaching for it more than they should. The fabric on the inside is peached (think fuzzed), giving it a plushness that golfers might expect from a less technical fabric.

I also found that the textured finish on the outside of the jacket handles light rain reasonably well, which was unexpected. The Climawarm+ is by no means a rain jacket, but water seems to bead off the fabric rather than absorb directly into it. I certainly wouldn’t want to get stuck in a rain storm while wearing the Climawarm+ as my outer later, but if it was tucked under a true rain jacket on a cold day, the Climawarm+ jacket would be an ideal middle layer, radiating heat inward as the rain jacket moved water away.

The Takeaway

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 7.22.07 PM

Traditionalists likely won’t go for for the Climawarm+ jacket, but those who can handle its athletic styling will enjoy its combination of warmth and light weight, which will be useful in a variety of different weather conditions.

In Detroit, for example, the jacket would work great for the cold, wet weather of the early spring, either as an outer layer or a layer underneath rain gear. On a warm fall day, it might be paired with only a golf shirt underneath, while on a cold fall day I might add a cold-weather compression shirt underneath and a wind breaker over it to help cut the chill of the wind and seal in even more heat.

There are a lot of similar items on the market, but few are as versatile or inexpensive ($80) as the Climawarm+. That makes it one of those apparel items that golfers who are short on outerwear should seriously consider adding to their closets.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://adidasgolf.com/Climawarm%2B–Jacket/DW-BE690.html?dwvar_DW-BE690_color=Z83878″ oemtext=”Learn more from adidas” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GKAKX74/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GKAKX74&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=QAPPOVFJ5TLDEF4E”]

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

6 Comments

6 Comments

  1. Don Pablo

    Feb 3, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    I picked one of these up because of all the positive reviews on it. I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet though.

  2. John

    Nov 25, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    Got it not loving it. Anything thing over a slight breeze cuts right through it. And on a non golf note it it so stretchy that anything in the pockets (like an iPhone) cause it to really droop. Prefer the UA Infared line.

  3. Blopar

    Nov 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    What makes it warmer than other similar articles of clothing by other brands ?? Not much info here!!

  4. JnRadioActive

    Nov 21, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    Got one waiting for me when i get home (fedex says it was delivered) Will be trying it out tomorrow…

    • Brian Wilson

      Nov 22, 2013 at 6:31 pm

      wow a review of a jacket…this takes gear lust to a really lame level.

      • John

        Dec 9, 2013 at 7:37 pm

        GolfWRX does these reviews to get the free stuff …… That’s why they do these reviews ….. No other reason

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa Golf Shoe

Published

on

The Product

The new Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, available in North America now, selling for $250 at adidas.com (only available on Adidas’ website, this shoe will not be at retail).

The Pitch

From Adidas: “The adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa® is the epitome of performance golf footwear, designed to offer micro-adjustability in two separate zones. The first is the independent main dial with high strength Boa lace that when combined with the forged 360 wrap creates unparalleled power for your swing by locking the area between your midfoot and forefoot. The second provides micro-adjustability from the middle to bottom instep for a customized fit, feel, and support. The Boa Fit System activates both zones to deliver the ultimate in power, stability, and performance.”

Our take on Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa

BOA technology, a ratcheting cable system that replaces laces for securing the shoe, has been around for a while now. It was a radical departure when it first hit the market and traditionalists viewed it with some skepticism, but those who tried shoes using the system became hooked on the ease of use, secure feel, and reliability of the system. I have had to replace shoelaces, but I have never had a cable fail in a pair of shoes with Boa technology.

With the TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, Adidas has introduced the next step on Boa technology (pun intended). The shoe has a sleek, technology-forward look that is associated with Adidas products. It even looks good in the size 13 that I sport. The color selection is limited, to say the least. You can choose from white with green trim or white without green trim. But the star of the show is the Boa technology, which is implemented in two dials located on the outside of each shoe, replacing the one dial on previous iterations.

Each dial controls the fit for a different part of the shoe, and the ratcheting dial gives the wearer the most precise fit available. The real advantage over laces is that the Boa system stays secure longer and is easier to tighten than re-tying shoelaces. It’s so easy to reach down and give a couple of clicks that it became routine for me to check on each tee box to make sure I had a good fit before teeing off. Equally pleasing is the quick release on each dial that gets you out of your shoes at the end of a round without the terror of facing a wet double-knot.

The shoe is waterproof leather, and it is light and comfortable enough to walk 18 on hilly tracks. I personally would have preferred a slightly wider toe box, but that is nit-picking.

Overall, the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is a performance shoe that promises, fit, comfort and stability, and it delivers on all fronts. Not everyone has $250 to drop on a pair of golf shoes, but if you want the tech on your feet to match the tech in your bag, then the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is perfect for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB4
  • SHANK49

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes (available at Dick’s and Golf Galaxy). 

Pitch: Via Jordan: “Jump up the leaderboard in the Nike Men’s Air Jordan ADG Golf Shoes. Famed for its incredible comfort and lightweight feel, the ADG features a Zoom Air unit for responsive cushioning and an integrated lacing system for a secure, supportive fit. The Integrated Traction pattern offers you enhanced grip on every terrain and the signature Jumpman logos give you extra style on the course.”

Our take on Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Confined to the feet of Keegan Bradley for years, the iconic sneaker brand seems to have proof of concept in the golf space, as evidenced by the growing roster of tour players (Pat Perez, Harold Varner III), and numerous retail offerings.

We got to test one of said retail offerings: the just-released spikeless Air Jordan ADG. Now, the Jordan style may not be for every golfer (can’t imagine them catching on in Tuesday morning senior leagues across the nation), but if you like the look of Js on the court or street, you’ll love the look of these. Indeed, you’ll probably love the look of all Jordan offerings for the fairway, as the company has done an excellent job of bringing its aesthetic to golf, rather than the opposite (if that makes sense…tacking the Jumpman logo on a pair of saddle shoes was never going to work).

So, appearance wise, the elephant print leather upper and other signature brand elements look great (and the translucent sole is an awesome touch). However, when it comes to golf shoes, particularly of the spikeless variety, we’re always concerned about stability during the swing (both in terms of contact with the ground and within the shoe internally) and appropriate support/comfort for the five-plus mile trek that is a round of golf.

On both of the aforementioned fronts, these shoes are superb. You can feel the comfort and support the instant your heel hits the Jumpan Golf logo on the insole, and the shoes do everything you’d ask a spikeless shoe to do on course. Highly recommended; we look forward to seeing what his Airness’ cordwainers come up with next.

A look at the white colorway, via Jordan, below. 

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB6
  • SHANK32

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending