Don't miss

Is this Tiger’s next driver?

by   |   February 12, 2013
Version 3

Just in on the USGA Conforming Club List are two new Nike VR_S Covert Tour Tour drivers, called Version 3 and Version  4.

These drivers have no visible weight screw and a noticeably altered sole, especially around Nike’s FlexLoft Adaptor, which appears to be the same adaptor used on the retail models.

Has the Screw been removed in order to create more spin for a certain 14-time major champion that prefers a smaller head and more spin than most players?

Click here to read what people are saying in the forums

Version 3

Version 3

Version 4

Version 4

Click here to see what people are saying in the forums.

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


17 Comments

  1. Pingback: Non-adjustable Nike Covert driver spotted – from Golfwrx.com | NG NATION — Nike Golf Fan Blog

  2. Jack

    April 24, 2013 at 5:15 am

    I doubt it’s Tiger’s club since it’s adjustable, and he said that he would never play one like that. I am guessing that he thinks that it would come loose.

  3. awesome post xkwqzwpzgr click here >:o jttbmyce, =( pctgeemotg [url="http://www.anjkqetzgqcw.net"]or here[/url] :( rlgqsxzczpodqym, 3:) urfzikblxx http://anjkqetzgqcw.info >:-O belnwps, =) dzgttpaioz [url=http://anjkqetzgqcw.ru]xjvmqucimm[/url] :-/

    March 28, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    tpdsyxvmfdrf

  4. Cam Hardy

    February 24, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Not entirely true. A club can be adjusted. But once it is adjusted it is a new club and would make it 15 clubs in your bag. If you start the round with 10 clubs in your bag then you can adjust the club 4 times.

  5. Evil Genius

    February 24, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    1st point- Those of you speaking of the rules are correct, as long as the club isn’t changed DURING the round, it is legal… the same thing is true if you intentionally damage (thereby altering) a NON-adjustable club. No changes may be made DURING a round ( unless the damage was in the course of regular play, in which case the club may be replaced )..

    2nd point.. this is a BLACK AND WHITE photo. That’s why its not red.

  6. Troy Vayanos

    February 16, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I agree with a couple of the other comments that this driver looks much better than the red headed version.

    I think this one will be a much better seller.

  7. Dave

    February 15, 2013 at 11:35 am

    An adjustable club is legal for USGA play so long as it is not adjusted during the stipulated round. An adjustable driver head that becomes damaged (loose) in the normal course of play, may be repaired so long as play is not delayed.

  8. Randall

    February 14, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    Phil was allowed to retighten his driver on 18 at Augusta during the Masters. How did this not constitute repairing?

  9. reggiej

    February 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I seem to remember an old rule, at least I think I do that said a golf club could have no moving parts, does this still hold true? Like I said I’m certain about it but for some reason I am thinking I either heard that or read it somewhere.

  10. Jack Nash

    February 14, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Did Tiger get Rory off his game by causing him to switch to Nike just to take over the #1 again? :)

    • RoRo

      March 12, 2013 at 11:53 am

      Thats the dumbest thing ive ever heard.. Im sure he didnt do it for the millions nike gave him it was because there was a conspiracy to throw him off his game..

  11. notwal

    February 14, 2013 at 11:34 am

    I AM JUST WONDERING. I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT THE USGA RULES STATE THAT A CLUB THAT CAN BE ADJUSTED CAN’T BE USED IN TOUR. DID I MISS A RULE CHANGE???

    • willyboy

      February 14, 2013 at 11:40 am

      You cannot change the setting of a club during a round but after/between you can adjust all you want.

      An adjustable club that you never adjust is the same as one that doesn’t adjust ;)

  12. Nick

    February 14, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Looks better than the red head!

    • Craig

      February 18, 2013 at 8:50 am

      The photo is Black & White!!! Given how much nike have focused on the new Red heads it inlikely they will move away from it so quickly, even for TW…

  13. parsonsk

    February 13, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Funny…these appear more “covert” than the original paint scheme anyways.

  14. Marty

    February 12, 2013 at 12:43 am

    Maybe Rory won’t hook these off the end of the earth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>