Connect with us

Reviews

Review: Callaway MD3 Milled wedges

Published

on

Pros: Options are plentiful with the MD3 Milled wedges. There are three different sole grinds, two finishes and a wide range of lofts (46-60 degrees). Low-lofted, mid-lofted and high-lofted wedges are each equipped with a distinct groove design that’s tailored to shot-specific needs. 

Cons: Wedge heads are not able to be customized with stampings, engravings or paint fill. Unlike Callaway’s Mack Daddy 2 wedges, the MD3 Milled are not forged. 

Who they’re for: Anyone can play the MD3 Milled wedges, especially with the addition of the wider-soled “W Grind.”

The Review

a705ef54c65e2a84f77dac284ce6cd85

  • Lofts available: 46, 48, 50, 52, 54, 56, 58 and 60 degrees
  • Grinds: S Grind (46-60), W Grind (54-60), C Grind (56-60)
  • Finishes: Matte Black (46-60) and Satin Chrome (46-60)
  • Price: $129.99
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Dynamic Gold S300

New and improved are popular terms in the golf equipment world, but generally there’s more emphasis on the “new” part than the “improved” part. Fortunately, what’s new about Callaway’s MD3 Milled wedges also offers noticeable improvements over previous models from the company.

So what’s new and improved about the MD3 Milled wedges? Here are five things to know about them.

Throwing weight around

bcbe560129f4af0b5dcc802f659c66d9

Each MD3 Milled wedge has four colored ports in its rear cavity. Weight was removed from those areas to give the wedges a higher-toe design that moves the center of gravity (CG) higher for a slightly lower launch and more spin — exactly what the best golfers want from their wedge shots.

For me, it wasn’t the fact I could hit the 58.9 S Grind with as much spin as I wanted; it was the ease with which I was able to alter the trajectory. With the 54.12 W Grind, I had no problem hitting the ball high to front pin locations, or flighting shots that minimized the effect of the wind.  

Shot-specific grooves

17a29ac6711aee91707af4c89065ec91

All 54- and 56-degree (pictured) MD3 Wedges have Callaway’s 20V grooves.

With the MD3 Milled, Callaway offers three specific groove patterns to optimize launch and spin based on the loft of the wedge. Pitching and gap wedges (46-52 degrees) have Callaway’s 30V grooves, which have 30-degree side walls that perform best on the more aggressive, downward strikes that are common with the clubs. Mid-lofted wedges (54-56 degrees) use Callaway’s 20V grooves, which have 20-degree side walls that excel on bunker shots and full swings. Lob wedges (58-60 degrees) have Callaway’s 5V grooves, which create maximum spin on shots around the green.

In testing, I was most impressed with the 5V groove, which does a remarkable job moving additional moisture and debris away from the ball. That came in quite handy when navigating juicy lies around the green. 

More refined grinds

The MD3 wedges are available in three distinct sole grinds: S Grind, C Grind and W Grind. My thoughts on each are below.

4f88631f5a3196147b2b4fd602b22772

S Grind: The “S” is the most versatile of the three available grinds. I’m tempted to say that S stands for “Swiss Army Knife,” as there was no shot I couldn’t hit with the grind. It was the most consistent grind on full swings from the fairway and tight lies, and more than held its own out of both light and deep rough. There’s no doubt that the S Grind will fit the majority players, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with bagging the S Grind in two, three or four different wedges, depending on your bag setup.

eba111cd4c4ce6358de4abcd218ce02a

C Grind: This grind offers more heel and toe relief than the S Grind, creating an effectively thinner sole that excels in firmer conditions. While it doesn’t play nice with steep angles of attack, the additional relief in both the heel and toe did keep the head moving through the rough and allowed the leading edge to sit nicely under the ball at address — especially on open-faced shots. That adds versatility for golfers who hit a lot of specialty shots around the green.

18b81a32d5657468a7b2d7da9cdd522f

W Grind: The W Grind is ideal for bunker play, messy lies and players with steep attack angles. It was my favorite grind, because it seemed to get better the closer I got to the hole. Out of both light and deep rough, the W Grind operated like one of those old ginsu knives, but without the lame sales pitch. Getting up and down from gnarly lies around the green felt entirely too easy. And if the lie was clean and the turf was on the softer side, I had no problem hitting aggressive shots with a square or opened club face because I knew the wider sole would resist digging. Especially on less-than-full shots from inside 100 yards, the W Grind quickly earned the go-to spot in my bag.

Two finishes

68332470b2f664562be06982c49c8cf9

The MD3 Milled’s Matte Black finish (above) will wear and rust over time, while the Satin Chrome, which is plated, will show less wear but produce slightly more glare on sunny days.

66445e69f49bda55ef395a078c405372

Although the MD3 Milled wedges aren’t forged — they’re cast from 8620 steel — both finishes felt fantastic with an edge in softness going to the Matte Black.

Looks to get emotional about

78b07bf202bdbb8bd496001fcb7636f5

At Address: A 58-degree S Grind.

Last but not least, the MD3 Milled are an awesome choice if you favor a teardrop shape at address. In that regard, the MD3 Milled approaches aesthetic perfection. The slightly raised toe and marginally straighter leading edge, compared to previous models, gives the wedge a clean look that balances angular lines with subtle curves.

026488c7359b6e906b0691d24cddc174

Notice the added sole curvature visible at address in this 56-degree wedge, which is a result of its C Grind.

For all the time we spend looking at the face of the wedge, many golfers are concerned about the appearance of the club as it sits in the bag. Some will call the cavity of the MD3 Milled is a bit gaudy, but others will see the four luminescent ports and green accents as fun and recognizable. 

The Takeaway

f0eb145d0c4489640efa70c9614f82b4

The W Grind will work best for golfers who play golf in soft conditions, as well as those looking for improved sand play.

The MD3 Milled are the best production wedges Callaway has released in the past decade for a variety of reasons. At $129.99, the three distinct grinds and two finish options should cover the needs of most interested golfers. The shaping of the wedges is also so beautiful at address, and I found them to look and feel as good as leading wedge models.

The lack of custom options — stampings, paintfill, etc — isn’t a deal breaker, but does leave some room for improvement. At the end of the day, however, wedges should judged on how they perform. With an improved weighting scheme and loft-specific grooves, Callaway put performance first with the MD3 Milled and it won’t go unnoticed.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”48″]

Your Reaction?
  • 254
  • LEGIT37
  • WOW31
  • LOL8
  • IDHT8
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK23

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. Matt Wiseley

    Sep 11, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    Great review Chris. I have the Mack Daddy wedges (54 and 58) and I hated them in the beginning. I had Ping wedges last season and these certainly are smaller. After a couple rounds I really began to love these wedges. So….if you don’t like them at first, wait and they will grow on you.

    My one complaint, full shots with the 54 spin way to much. Seriously, hard to keep on green sometimes…I have to flight it down to get it to stop where it hits. Anyway- great review as usual.

  2. Laurence of Arizona

    Sep 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    Have not hit the new MD3s, but I’ll stick with the forged MD2s as I love the forged feel. Had Voleys for years, very nice wedges just always felt real head heavy to me. Prior to MD2s I used the Taylor made xFT TPs which I really liked! Maybe it’s the KBS tour shafts that make the difference for me!

    • Wayne

      Jun 25, 2018 at 8:10 pm

      You have not hit them, we dont care about anything after that thanks

  3. other paul

    Sep 9, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    When I showed my wedge to my golf instructor he said “What is that? Its not even forged” I holed out with that club more times then I have with all other clubs combined in twice as much time. And my short game is better now. I wish I had kept that thing. A shot on the sweet spot has felt the same with my md2, and vokey.

  4. Charlie

    Sep 8, 2015 at 2:57 pm

    Want that head more upright or flat? Nope.

    Want that head bent a couple degrees to match your set? Nope.

    Want a bit better feel around the greens. Nope.

    On other words…nope.

    • Joe

      Sep 8, 2015 at 8:53 pm

      did you post the same thing in the vokey thread? Because my 54* SM5 is bent to 55*. You’re simply off base. Is the hood of your car forged? Because I can bend it.

  5. Martin

    Sep 7, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    None of the big wedges are forged.

    I looked at these the other day in Golftown, I suspect one will find it’s way into my bag. I love my original MackDaddy 11 60.

  6. Stephen

    Sep 7, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    The only major oem that still forge wedges is mizuno, vokey wedges are cast just like most others now.

  7. Joe

    Sep 7, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    I REALLY wanted to love these. No hating. I hit them next to my SM5’s and they simply didn’t feel good. Matter of fact I thought they felt bad. Maybe ill give them another test later but I really didn’t care for them in my first test. Anyone else? I was on green grass for my test. Maybe just an off day or simply “not what i was expecting”.

  8. John

    Sep 7, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    Going to be a hard sell because they’re not forged. Price makes up for it though.

    • BcavWecllh

      Sep 7, 2015 at 11:20 pm

      Most wedges aren’t forged these days. Hasn’t hurt Vokey!

  9. lou

    Sep 7, 2015 at 1:15 pm

    Not forged?? Then no thanks.

    • Brian

      Sep 7, 2015 at 5:15 pm

      You average an extra 15 feet from the pin if your wedges aren’t forged. That’s just science.

      Actually I bet most people couldn’t tell the difference if WRX didn’t point it out.

    • john

      Sep 7, 2015 at 10:31 pm

      i bet you play cast Vokey’s thinking they’r forged lol

      • lou

        Sep 7, 2015 at 11:16 pm

        I recently purchased one of the MD2 wedges and can totally tell. If you go to the range for a few hours 3-4 times a week and practice wedge shots 60% of the time you can tell. If you are a weekend player you can’t. I can tell and forged matters. Problem is their price point is already so high, to manufacture them forged would put them outside the competition’s range. That’s the problem when you are paying Cleveland a dump load for marketing. Wedge design hasn’t changed, but minimally, in decades. There is no reason to have his name on the brand except for marketing.

    • Chris Nickel

      Sep 7, 2015 at 10:38 pm

      I don’t fully understand this perspective…How many major OEM’s have forged wedges? Moreover, how much more would you pay for a forged MD3 wedge?

      • BcavWecllh

        Sep 7, 2015 at 11:18 pm

        i think only Mizuno wedges are forged .

        • Mike

          May 26, 2016 at 8:48 am

          Bridgestone wedges are forged and they are not expensive. IMO – most underrated OEM club maker.

      • lou

        Sep 7, 2015 at 11:30 pm

        The MD2s are forged but the PM MD wedge is cast. I’m going to guess if you are drilling holes in the back of the club a cast process is cheaper.

        There is a major difference in feel between the two. Manufacturers are going cheaper and keeping their prices the same. This is about dollars and profits. The $150 price point is a wall they don’t want to cross as it chases most people away. So, like every other industry, the product quality goes down the toilet while the price stays the same.

      • Simon Jones

        Sep 8, 2015 at 7:26 am

        I pay around US$ 250 for Miura forged wedges, hand finished by Miura-san and his team in Japan. They’re perfect and, with the right shaft set up, deadly accurate.

        Cast clubs, including Vokeys, feel like shovels by comparison. If you really can’t feel the difference then you’re simply not a good ball striker

        • Chris Nickel

          Sep 8, 2015 at 12:49 pm

          I’ve found very little, if any difference, between cast and forged – Given that the wedge (loft, lie, length, shaft flex, bounce/grind) are fit to the player. The fact Vokey is #1 on the PGA Tour and Callaway is #2, I believe is testament to this.
          In fact, I’d argue the better ball striker you are, the less of a difference you’ll notice – the sweet spot tends to feel pretty pure on every club, when correctly fitted. But I guess if you’re paying twice as much per wedge, it’s important you feel there is some benefit. Thanks for the comments!

          • lou

            Sep 8, 2015 at 9:12 pm

            Seriously? The PGA Tour Pros have sold their soul for millions. They play those clubs because that is their contract. Only a handful of the best of the best can tell their contracted manufacturer, “to go pound sand they are playing something else.”

            • Chris Nickel

              Sep 8, 2015 at 10:32 pm

              Maybe this is a better debate for the forums – but I think there’s a great conversation here b/c you’re absolutely correct in that “pay for play” does impact player choice, but how long can a player stick around if their equipment doesn’t allow them to perform at an elite level?

            • Mike

              May 26, 2016 at 8:51 am

              That is a bullcrap comment. I see a lot of major OEM players using something other than the OEM they are signed up with. Vokey is #1 on tour but Titleist is NOT the number 1 iron on tour. Interesting?

              Just get off the forge vs. cast debate and just play golf.

          • Philip

            Sep 10, 2015 at 12:13 am

            Can I feel the difference between cast and forged – depends on the forging and the metal used. I have a forged Nike that feels cast, a cast Ben Hogan that feels forged, and a forged Callaway that feels forged (as well as my Mizunos). I agree that a strike from the sweet spot is pretty darn similar between all clubs, metals and designs – of course, at this point we “all” know that the feeling of a club is based mainly on the sound and I would argue the shaft too as the vibration goes up to your hands. I know some people speak of cast clubs grooves lasting longer, but based on my worn out Mizuno T11s the verdict is still out on that one for myself. Now a scratch golfer – that is another level. Personally I don’t like the bling direction, but I understand why.

        • scott

          Sep 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

          YEAH…. Thats why ALL the PGA palyers are rockin Miura wedges….oh wait, they aren’t….they play Vokeys…NM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight Review: Eminent Golf’s Conic putting trainer

Published

on

The golf world is full of training aids. From the simple to the silly, there are no shortage of tools and machines being thought up to (hopefully) help golfers improve their games. It’s not very often you come across something that really has the potential to help improve consistency and “ingrain” a feeling (or “feels” as the pros say) into a part of the game that so many struggle with.

This is the Conic putting aid.

Before we go any further, let me be very up front: this is NOT a training aid intended or designed to be an impulse purchase during early morning reruns on Golf Channel. The Conic costs $1,350.00…but for good reason. It’s designed, manufactured, and built right here in the USA, milled from solid pieces of steel and aluminum. The entire system is built to last and to be a true lifelong training tool. The likelihood of this thing ending up the in a dusty corner of your garage is slim to none. Even the carrying case is something to behold.

On my first try, it took about 5-7 minutes to set up (I went full “dad-building-Ikea-furniture mode” and initially ignored the entire instruction manual. That’s on me), but after the first setup, getting this thing from the case to on the green took just a few minutes after that. It’s 100 percent NOT a “warm up before my tee-time, and throw it in my golf bag” style of training aid because of its size, but if you are headed to the green for a real “session” this is an indispensable tool.

So what does it actually do?

The Conic is designed to get you into the perfect putting setup and help you learn to make a repeatable motion built for your stroke and body type. This is not a one-size-fits-all training aid. It also works for both right and left0handed golfers.

So how does it do all of this:

  • The Conic has five adjustable plane angles for different size arcs: 85,80,75,70,65. This makes sure you get set up based on putter type and your optimal stance. The goal is to have you get more consistent with your stroke not some arbitrary “ideal stroke model”
  • The trainer controls the X, Y, Z axis of the putter head: Lie, Loft & Face Angle. Each one of these variables can make or break a putt (first putting pun in the bag), and so by being able to control those helps improve repeatability when on the course
  • It puts you into the same position time after time to help develop the feeling of a correctly made putting stroke. As much as people might say it, muscles DO NOT have memory — your brain does. The Conic helps develop motion patterns which again lead to helping you be more consistent on the greens
  • There is a built-in detachable arm that helps the golfer visualize both the target line and line the putter head up perpendicular to the target — a great tool for those that struggle with direction.
  • The putter arm can also be controlled to help maintain a specific stroke length — little stops get inserted into the slide and create instant feedback when you take the putter back too far.

So does it work?

Heck yeah it does! Although not meant for extremely long putts, you can use the Conic 1.0 easily on anything inside 20 feet, and it really helps with the 6-10 footers. With all of the adjustability, it’s also easy to switch between putter models that you might have.

My personal theory with putting and alignment is quite simple:  “Every putt is a straight putt. Just get it rolling and let gravity and speed take care of the rest.” The moment the ball leaves your putter face, your job is now over, and what the Conic does is allow you to work on, in a very structured way, hitting putts on line. My favorite use for the Conic was on roughly 7-9″ putts where you just set up, make the right stroke for speed, and watch the ball work its way into the cup.

This is an expensive tool — even PGA Tour pros that are using them paid in full. But like I said before, you get what you pay for with the Conic. Another feature is it can be used inside and out as long as you have a “green” or a nice piece of carpet to roll some putts. Beyond the players who spare no expense on clubs and fittings this seems like a bit of a no brainer – roughly the cost of three nice putters gets you something that will work for you, as long as you want to work with it.

I believe that one of the biggest markets for the Conic currently is for teachers to help students ingrain the feeling of making a solid stroke and increase consistency at setup. The cost is still the biggest factor that will detract people from purchasing this, but for the golfers looking for the ultimate putting aid, the Conic trainer could be your answer to those missed three-footers.

Your Reaction?
  • 40
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending