Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

BUSHNELL NEO+ GOLF GPS WATCH REVIEW

Published

on

Editor Review by: Richard A 7/9/2012

Pros: Easy to setup, great quality, does what you want it to without hassle. Front/center/back of the green with a flick of the wrist. Nice.

Cons: If you dont wear a watch when you play golf then there is some getting used to. Could be a touch smaller.

Overall: You will not believe it until you see it. A very useful and functional rangefinder that is small enough to fit on your wrist during play. GolfWRX says this is a hit and rate it 4.5 out of 5 stars. Only rub many will have is the $199 price point.

______________________________________________

For us gearheads we love to have the next best thing. Here is something that you might want to consider. GolfWRX likes this Rangefinder Watch for a few reasons.

One is the speed of play advantages. You don’t have to do much to find the perfect distance for the par 3’s or approach shots. Simply get the ball and wait 2 seconds or so for the watch to catch up and there it is. The distance to center of the green. You can also have front and back on the same screen. No pacing off the yards or even grabbing the laser and holding it up to your eye for the 20,000 time this year. That get old after a while.

Secondly we love this for the ease of use. It was so easy to use a caveman could do it. The watch was 2 clicks from looking for a course near me after taking it out of the box. Press the menu button, then press “play golf” and a new window popped up and said “searching”. Took a minute and then all the courses near me all popped up. Select the one you want and the distance from you and the 1st hole flag is shown. If you start on #10 you have to change the hole to 10 and it takes over from there.

Sort of idiot proof in our test. Go from hole 10 to 11 and the watch knows what you doing and changes holes.

During the rounds I also laser’ed the flag many of times not trusting the distance. Every time we tested it was dead on. Now the drawback is the number isn’t on the spot. You get front, back and center of the green. You have to back a judgment call if the flag is forward or back from one of those numbers. Personally I like to know the exact yardage. I want to now if it is 167 vs the watch telling me it is 163 to center and I have to guess how far back from center it is. But I am particular and also don’t like change as much as my friends tell me I should.

According to Bushnell the watch allows golfers to play three rounds without recharging. Also you are out of GPS mode you can use it as a normal timepiece for over 12 months without recharging. Here is a rub for you. Want to recharge it? Have to use a USB to plug into a USB charger (computer, etc) to recharge. So if you are going on a golf trip bring something that has a USB on it. Slick way it recharges to save space. The clamp (see pic below) attaches easily and you know it is registered by a click you hear and feel upon pacing the clamp on the watch.

 

 

As I am writing this I have the watch activated and wearing it to the office. Nobody has said a thing because it looks like a modern sport watch.

Only thing I need to do now is get used to wearing this baby on the course. Should be to much of an issue. Bubba and Phil wear one right? This watch is surprisingly light weight. hard to tell it is on. The backside of the watch contours with my wrist making it very comfortable.

Gearheads a must. If you end up not liking it you can strap it to the bag or the cart and use it that way. Great gadget that works and looks great!

See Photos below

_________________________________________________________

Here is some information from a Bushnell Press Release:  With sky-rocketing demand for wrist-mounted devices, the NEO+ Golf GPS Rangefinder Watch is an easy-to-use GPS rangefinder, with instant measurements for golfers in a simple, lightweight form-factor.

“With the widespread acceptance of the original neo GPS, we wanted to provide consumers with another exceptional GPS option that would provide extra benefits at an affordable cost,” said Terry Mears, Product Director at Bushnell. “While we may be known for our dominant laser rangefinders, at Bushnell we pride ourselves on producing industry-leading products that will give golfers the ability to enhance their game. We know that the new neo+ watch will be extremely popular.”

The neo+ Golf GPS Watch is the latest product to join the Bushnell family of devices offering Distance Made Simple. The lightweight watch is simple to operate and comfortable to wear, giving golfer’s accurate front/back/center and shot distance measurements on 25,000 preloaded courses with no membership fees, more than has have ever been made available via GPS.

While other GPS watch devices run out of battery after just one round, the Bushnell neo+ Golf GPS Watch allows golfers to play three rounds or over 14 hours without needing a recharge. Additionally, when the product is functioning solely in watch mode, the battery can last over 12 months.

The neo+ Golf GPS Watch is capable of instantly recognizing courses and has an auto hole advance feature which automatically changes from one hole to the next. This great feature means that the golfer does not have to push another button for the rest of the round.

Product features include:

  • Front/Center/Back distances with large, easy-read numbers
  • Shot distance calculator
  • Non-golf features, including watch, odometer, timer and alarm
  • Over 14 hours battery life in GPS mode
  • Over months battery life in Watch mode
  • 25,000 preloaded courses
  • No membership fees
  • Waterproof to a depth of 30m

The NEO+ Golf GPS Watch will be available at Bushnell retailers nationwide beginning in May, with a retail price of $199.95.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

93 Comments

93 Comments

  1. Steve

    Oct 8, 2018 at 4:26 pm

    I am a big fan of the Bushnell line – Would highly recommend the NEO-ion or the NEO XS models if you are looking for something more up to date!

  2. Johannes

    Jun 13, 2018 at 4:55 am

    Functionality wise its pretty great but it does look quite outdated compared to most 2018 models. Bu that’s just my opinion.

  3. Josh - GWR

    May 1, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    Looks like a pretty good product for the price. Some of these watches can get pretty expensive. Also not sure if the average Joe golfer needs distances this precise..

  4. Paul @ Golfstead

    Apr 10, 2018 at 1:28 pm

    Good review of the Bushnell Neo Golf GPS Watch. I wouldn’t recommend this model many years later, but the newer Neo Ion is pretty good.

  5. Joe Carrow

    Apr 25, 2017 at 11:25 am

    Since 2012 the things changes a lot’s, nowadays if you are looking for Bushnell GPS watch then I would like to remind you that it’s not only the GPS watch brand in the market there are lots of GPS watch which also fine like Callaway GPSy Golf GPS Watch. Whatever if you decided to buy one of Bushnell watch then you can check out Bushnell Neo Ion it’s fine.

  6. Kyle @ TGG

    Dec 17, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    The Bushnell line has progressed a lot since coming out with this model. If you’re interested in a Bushnell GPS watch you should consider the NEO-ion or the NEO XS models.

  7. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Ideal Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Perfect Electronic Gadget For Buyers

  8. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Great Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Greatest Electronic Gadget For Buyers

  9. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Greatest Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Best Electronic Gadget For Yourself

  10. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Scan Mode | 123meu

  11. Pingback: Garmin Approach G3 Review « Coupon Ganja

  12. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Slope Manual | Kookii's Garden in South Texas

  13. Pingback: How To Setup Garmin S4 « Coupon Ganja

  14. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Battery Life « Coupon Ganja

  15. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 | socialnetwoking

  16. Pingback: Best Golf Range Finder « Coupon Ganja

  17. Pingback: Garmin Approach S2 Rebate Form

  18. Pingback: Izzo Swami 3000 Uk Course List

  19. Pingback: Sureshot 8850x Golf Gps Reviews

  20. Pingback: Izzo Swami 4000 Problems – A guide to New York City's Gyms, Restaurants, Stores, Hip Bar Scene and much more.

  21. Pingback: Golf Gps Watch Reviews

  22. Pingback: Amatul Group

  23. Pingback: Bushnell Golf Rangefinder Reviews - Golf Rangefinder Reviews Bushnell

  24. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Accessories - Bushnell Tour V3 Jolt Manual

  25. Pingback: Best Golf Rangefinder Nikon - What Is The Best Golf Rangefinder 2013

  26. Pingback: Best Golf Gps Under 300 - What Are The Best Golf Gps Units

  27. Pingback: Garmin S6 Download - Garmin S6 Charger

  28. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Firmware - Golf Buddy Voice Philippines

  29. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Vs Platinum - Golf Buddy Voice Faults

  30. Pingback: Garmin S6 Vs S4 - Garmin S6 Charging

  31. Pingback: Best Kind Of Rangefinder | My Life as I know It

  32. Pingback: Best Rangefinder Camera Bag | My Life as I know It

  33. Pingback: Amatul Group

  34. Pingback: Bushnell Neo Plus Vs Izzo Swami 4000 | My Life as I know It

  35. Pingback: Golf Gps Watch Dubai

  36. Pingback: Golf Gps Reviews Best

  37. Pingback: Izzo Swami 4000 Golf Gps Navigator - Izzo Swami 4000 Gps

  38. Pingback: Best Rated Golf Gps Rangefinders - Best Golf Rangefinder 2012

  39. Mary Lou valente

    Jun 24, 2015 at 11:05 am

    I broke my charger where can I get one?

    • Chris Block

      Jun 26, 2015 at 4:12 pm

      I have the same problem….can’t find one anywhere

  40. Ray

    Apr 10, 2015 at 6:03 am

    I love this watch because it is easy to program.

  41. Pingback: Bushnell Golf Gps Neo

  42. Pingback: Gps Golf Watch :: GPS Multilaser | Nosso GPS é o melhor!

  43. Darren

    Mar 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    Tried cotton ball and rubbing alcohol and it worked!

  44. Darren

    Mar 15, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    Also having problems charging watch. Great when it works, but seems to be getting harder and harder to get contacts to connect and charge battery. Anyone have ideas?

  45. Pingback: Garmin Watch Academy | Wearable Tech Store

  46. Rich Griffith

    Oct 1, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    This watch is junk. It has a know major problem (actually 2). First, it fails to charge after 20-30 uses. The contacts erode and will not connect to charge the watch after use. I have returned it to Bushnell and the “fixed” it – it worked 1 time. This watch will not charge and the yardages is consistently off from what other rangefinders show and what course markers show – almost every time. The difference for me was usually arond 10 yards. This is a junk product and Bushnell can’t fix it….run away!! Buy a different brand!!!!!

    • Brian Valente

      Oct 15, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      I lost my charger “ages” ago so the watch is redundant – Sell me yours if you are interested ???

      Brian UK

  47. psykolog århus

    Sep 21, 2014 at 10:57 am

    What really can rin a vurlnerable relationship is stinky feet.

  48. Ted

    Aug 2, 2014 at 9:18 am

    I have had my watch less than a year. I|t stopped hole advancing this spring and since then it has had trouble finding my home course. Anyone know a fix or do |I have to make a new purchase?

  49. Roger H Panton

    Mar 24, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I have had one for over a year and I am very pleased with it. I have used it in Spain, the UK and California. I have differed with others about distances by a small margin occasionally, but if you use your clubs according to YOUR measurements, things will be fine.

  50. Proof of Concept

    Jan 9, 2014 at 2:39 am

    Thank you for other sorts of wonderful post. The place more may possibly anybody get that variety of information in that best way of writing? I’ve a presentation pursuing week, using this program . at the look for these facts.

  51. Revie

    Dec 9, 2013 at 5:29 am

    Does anybody know if the watch has golf courses preloaded in the Philippines?

  52. Jim Goldamer

    Aug 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    What doesn’t seem to be covered off here is what happens when the unit doesn’t work. From my recent experience, Bushnell’s repair and customer service cannot be beat. If they cannot fix your unit they send you a new one… no questions asked.. it just shows up at your door… and quickly. Bushnell ROCKS!!

  53. Bjørn

    Aug 8, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    bought this watch, registered and downloaded according to instructions, tbut it seesm like their system doesnt support apple mac systems, only windows. Any tips how to solve this problem, I am playing in norway, and went to a pretty big golf course yesterday to test the watch, and the watch said “No local courses found”. Irritating

  54. Steve

    Aug 6, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    I live in Buenos Aires, Argentina, how do you install the courses in your zone?
    Are a web page o something to consult?

  55. Bill Merlin

    Aug 3, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I like the GPS it works well. The fact that is a watch means I won’t leave it in the golf cart. i mhave two questions, how do you replace the battery when it’s life runs out and can it be updated to show hazards. Let me know

  56. edgar d

    May 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

    I have used the watch for several games now and I’ve had no problems. As for charging the battery, I tried using the iphone 4S wall charger and it seems to work.I like it so much that I bought one for a friend too.

  57. lakay

    May 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Watch did not advance on several holes at my local course. This has happened on 3 different occasions. Am returning device today.

    • Ron

      May 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

      My watch was working fine. But, I played 3 times at my local course this week, and my watch did not move from hole to hole half of the times. I emailed a tech a Bushnell with this problem, and they told me to contact IGOLF. Also, Bushnell promotes that you can play 10 to 14 hours without a recharge. Mine will only last 6 to 8 hours. If I try to get 2 rounds in, I will most certainly not have enough juice to finish.

  58. Donnie

    May 10, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    I recently was in Costa del golf and played so popular courses but was very disappointed the watch did not pick them up! I will be get rid and looking for something that does the job! DO NOT BUY THE NEO!

  59. Doug G

    Apr 29, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Great GPS unit, I have used it at several courses in NY and FL with no problems. I like the fact that I can charge it in my car on the way to the course with a power inverter. Not great as a watch though.

  60. Frank J. Richardson

    Apr 4, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I like the concept. But I think maybe I have a loose battery as it goes blank, and sometimes doesn’t advance to the next hole. Also a challenge to charge at times do to the connection. I’m thinking salt from ones skin plugs up the connection holes on the watch??? But it’s still under warranty, so wish me luck.

    • Bob Gould

      Apr 15, 2014 at 8:03 am

      I love the watch, however, all of a sudden it will not show the charge signal. I have put it into the proper holes and if I move it around it will show the charge sign but will not stay on the charge mode.

      • Ron

        May 24, 2014 at 2:37 pm

        Mine does exactly the same thing.

      • Richard C

        Jul 21, 2014 at 6:30 pm

        Get a cotton swab….dip it it Rubbing Alcohol and clean the terminals on the watch and on the connector.

        Did that with mine.
        Works like a charm!!

        • Rich Griffith

          Oct 1, 2014 at 9:19 pm

          didn’t work for me…it’s a known problem

  61. R Pruneau

    Feb 15, 2013 at 6:11 am

    If no USB available in Scotland is there a way of recharging the watch?

    Is it compatible with Apple product? (The Bushnell watch)

    Thank you.

    • Brian Valente

      Oct 15, 2014 at 1:38 pm

      Where did you think Scotland was ?? Yes they do have electricity and computers. Still a great deal of horses and carts about !!

  62. tom

    Feb 10, 2013 at 9:15 am

    Have had the golf watch for a month and used it about a half-dozen times—fails to advance from one hole to the next. I have to manually advance 90% of the time. Bulky and does not perform as well as my wife’s Garmin. Plan to return it.

  63. John

    Dec 9, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Just got mine. Have to wait until next month’s trip to Florida to try it out. Very excited though. Should be quicker than getting out the laser…accurate enough for me on my approach shots. Love to play fast and anything that can speed my play helps. Now if I could just get the groups in front of me to think the same way…

    • paul

      Jul 15, 2015 at 3:00 am

      yes you can use it in Thailand, im using it right now without any complaints, but please download the courses as you want to play first then just enjoy it.

  64. Terje Stokke

    Dec 6, 2012 at 8:30 am

    I want to know if I can use this GPS Thailand?

    • Revie

      Dec 9, 2013 at 5:27 am

      Am planning to buy this gadget and using it in the Philippines. Please let me know if you got an answer as to whether the gadget will work in Thailand. Wonder if it will work in the Philippines.

  65. Norm

    Nov 22, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I registered the watch, but when I went to update to .o3 version it would not update. It keeps saying that there are compatibility problems. How do you fix that.

  66. John Mahoney

    Nov 17, 2012 at 1:32 am

    You should check to see if your watch is a .03 or .04 model.
    I unknowingly bought a .01 model. When it cam time to sync the watch (which quits working after 180 days), I found that I couldn’t because I have a MAC computer. I now have a very expensive plastic watch that doesn’t recognize daylight savings time.

    • Judes

      May 4, 2013 at 4:35 am

      How about asking a friend if you can use their computer John?

  67. Choupique

    Oct 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Ordered my Bushnell Neo+ watch today and can’t wait for it to arrive. I have the standard edition Neo+ with a cart mount that has proved to be very useful everywhere I’ve played from Texas to Florida. Only problem is when a course is wet and it is “Cart Path Only”.
    Front, back and center green is good enough for me (18 handicap), which I needed a GPS more accurate. 🙂

  68. watches golf

    Aug 15, 2012 at 5:58 am

    Hopefully assuming I don’t take it off ,won’t lose it on course.
    Only issue is it’s sometimes a pain to line up recharger and I don’t get the 14 supposed hours of course time, but really not bad at all.

  69. watches golf

    Aug 15, 2012 at 5:45 am

    good GPS
    and goof golf tools

  70. Rob Perry

    Aug 9, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    I bought one and took it back to switch to the Garmin. I bought it because it had better battery life and a better looking screen than the S1. Plus the box and Bushnells website said it worked with a Mac. After Calls with Bushnell and iGolf customer service what I was told was that it “would” be Mac compatible but that they haven’t finished the software yet. I wasted 3 hours on this. The final straw was that it kept changing time by an hour as it went in and out of daylight savings time. Very irritating. Even after updating the firmware. Sorry, too buggy.

  71. Shep

    Aug 8, 2012 at 7:30 am

    Never thought I needed a GPS/Rangerfinder playing same track 25 years and didn,t want to have something I would end up leaving in cart.
    The Neo+ watch has speeded up my play in that everything I hit doesn’t always end up in fairway near markers,LOL. Really like knowing front and back yardages for better club selection. Hopefully assuming I don’t take it off ,won’t lose it on course.
    Only issue is it’s sometimes a pain to line up recharger and I don’t get the 14 supposed hours of course time, but really not bad at all.
    Wife plays more than I and takes it as serious if not more so than I as verified by here many trophies, so I just got her one also.

  72. rick

    Jul 30, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Does anyone know if this has the option to measure the hazards?

  73. Ron C

    Jul 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    I have used mine extensively. Easy to set up easy to use and very accurate. Best addition to my golf game in some time. Can’t even tell I am wearing a watch! Battery holds up well…worth every penny.

  74. Hank

    Jul 15, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Have heard the strap is mickey mouse and watch falls off easily, both on wrist and bag.
    Too bad as its a perfect idea for when the extremely rare chance occurs that your not in the middle of the fairway or do not have clear line of site.
    Give up Starbucks for a month and the watch is free.

  75. Walden

    Jul 14, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Cons: you look like a dork.

    Seriously, courses are marked and you can get a yardage book. When you need to wear something on your wrist to gauge if you are between 163 or 164 yards you should either be on tour with a caddy or getting your head checked.

    Pro: the people selling these get one more consumer product to sell you.

    • Dan

      May 25, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      Gosh you must be perfect and have great vision, something some of us don’t have. Our course also doesn’t have a yardage book and if you’re off line a “gadget” to help speed up play is ideal.

    • dannygre

      May 28, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      First of all, it doesn’t give yardage to the pin just front, middle, and back and that’s all the info most golfers need. You might think you can hit it to a specific yardage but you’re kidding yourself. Ever wonder what the yardage is from the rough or the next fairway- well this gives it to you. In my book that speeds up play and you aren’t the dork hitting it in the creek because you guessed wrong.

    • pablo

      Jun 14, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      i have another brand gps watch and i dropped 3 strokes off my game starting the very first time i used it. fast and accurate (i checked against my laser), and there is nothing like always knowing exactly how far you are.

  76. irving lane

    Jul 13, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    I spent over 30 minutes trying to register my product. I am not acomputer person. I bought the neo watch but I should have signed up in a computer class. I bought the product for golf but it looks like I will need to take it back. Too difficult for me to charge the battery and register.

  77. Troy

    Jul 12, 2012 at 10:07 am

    You want to speed up play on tour, let players or caddies wear these. Knowing your front middle and back would reduce the amount of time it takes to calculate it every hole.

  78. pablo

    Jul 10, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    smaller and cheaper than the motoactiv golf…hmmmm

  79. Dufner

    Jul 10, 2012 at 12:44 am

    cool…been sporting this in practice rounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 47
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending