Connect with us

Accessory Reviews




Editor Review by: Richard A 7/9/2012

Pros: Easy to setup, great quality, does what you want it to without hassle. Front/center/back of the green with a flick of the wrist. Nice.

Cons: If you dont wear a watch when you play golf then there is some getting used to. Could be a touch smaller.

Overall: You will not believe it until you see it. A very useful and functional rangefinder that is small enough to fit on your wrist during play. GolfWRX says this is a hit and rate it 4.5 out of 5 stars. Only rub many will have is the $199 price point.


For us gearheads we love to have the next best thing. Here is something that you might want to consider. GolfWRX likes this Rangefinder Watch for a few reasons.

One is the speed of play advantages. You don’t have to do much to find the perfect distance for the par 3’s or approach shots. Simply get the ball and wait 2 seconds or so for the watch to catch up and there it is. The distance to center of the green. You can also have front and back on the same screen. No pacing off the yards or even grabbing the laser and holding it up to your eye for the 20,000 time this year. That get old after a while.

Secondly we love this for the ease of use. It was so easy to use a caveman could do it. The watch was 2 clicks from looking for a course near me after taking it out of the box. Press the menu button, then press “play golf” and a new window popped up and said “searching”. Took a minute and then all the courses near me all popped up. Select the one you want and the distance from you and the 1st hole flag is shown. If you start on #10 you have to change the hole to 10 and it takes over from there.

Sort of idiot proof in our test. Go from hole 10 to 11 and the watch knows what you doing and changes holes.

During the rounds I also laser’ed the flag many of times not trusting the distance. Every time we tested it was dead on. Now the drawback is the number isn’t on the spot. You get front, back and center of the green. You have to back a judgment call if the flag is forward or back from one of those numbers. Personally I like to know the exact yardage. I want to now if it is 167 vs the watch telling me it is 163 to center and I have to guess how far back from center it is. But I am particular and also don’t like change as much as my friends tell me I should.

According to Bushnell the watch allows golfers to play three rounds without recharging. Also you are out of GPS mode you can use it as a normal timepiece for over 12 months without recharging. Here is a rub for you. Want to recharge it? Have to use a USB to plug into a USB charger (computer, etc) to recharge. So if you are going on a golf trip bring something that has a USB on it. Slick way it recharges to save space. The clamp (see pic below) attaches easily and you know it is registered by a click you hear and feel upon pacing the clamp on the watch.



As I am writing this I have the watch activated and wearing it to the office. Nobody has said a thing because it looks like a modern sport watch.

Only thing I need to do now is get used to wearing this baby on the course. Should be to much of an issue. Bubba and Phil wear one right? This watch is surprisingly light weight. hard to tell it is on. The backside of the watch contours with my wrist making it very comfortable.

Gearheads a must. If you end up not liking it you can strap it to the bag or the cart and use it that way. Great gadget that works and looks great!

See Photos below


Here is some information from a Bushnell Press Release:  With sky-rocketing demand for wrist-mounted devices, the NEO+ Golf GPS Rangefinder Watch is an easy-to-use GPS rangefinder, with instant measurements for golfers in a simple, lightweight form-factor.

“With the widespread acceptance of the original neo GPS, we wanted to provide consumers with another exceptional GPS option that would provide extra benefits at an affordable cost,” said Terry Mears, Product Director at Bushnell. “While we may be known for our dominant laser rangefinders, at Bushnell we pride ourselves on producing industry-leading products that will give golfers the ability to enhance their game. We know that the new neo+ watch will be extremely popular.”

The neo+ Golf GPS Watch is the latest product to join the Bushnell family of devices offering Distance Made Simple. The lightweight watch is simple to operate and comfortable to wear, giving golfer’s accurate front/back/center and shot distance measurements on 25,000 preloaded courses with no membership fees, more than has have ever been made available via GPS.

While other GPS watch devices run out of battery after just one round, the Bushnell neo+ Golf GPS Watch allows golfers to play three rounds or over 14 hours without needing a recharge. Additionally, when the product is functioning solely in watch mode, the battery can last over 12 months.

The neo+ Golf GPS Watch is capable of instantly recognizing courses and has an auto hole advance feature which automatically changes from one hole to the next. This great feature means that the golfer does not have to push another button for the rest of the round.

Product features include:

  • Front/Center/Back distances with large, easy-read numbers
  • Shot distance calculator
  • Non-golf features, including watch, odometer, timer and alarm
  • Over 14 hours battery life in GPS mode
  • Over months battery life in Watch mode
  • 25,000 preloaded courses
  • No membership fees
  • Waterproof to a depth of 30m

The NEO+ Golf GPS Watch will be available at Bushnell retailers nationwide beginning in May, with a retail price of $199.95.


Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.



  1. Joe Carrow

    Apr 25, 2017 at 11:25 am

    Since 2012 the things changes a lot’s, nowadays if you are looking for Bushnell GPS watch then I would like to remind you that it’s not only the GPS watch brand in the market there are lots of GPS watch which also fine like Callaway GPSy Golf GPS Watch. Whatever if you decided to buy one of Bushnell watch then you can check out Bushnell Neo Ion it’s fine.

  2. Kyle @ TGG

    Dec 17, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    The Bushnell line has progressed a lot since coming out with this model. If you’re interested in a Bushnell GPS watch you should consider the NEO-ion or the NEO XS models.

  3. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Ideal Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Perfect Electronic Gadget For Buyers

  4. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Great Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Greatest Electronic Gadget For Buyers

  5. Pingback: InstaSmartWear | Greatest Garmin Gps Golf Watch The Best Electronic Gadget For Yourself

  6. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Scan Mode | 123meu

  7. Pingback: Garmin Approach G3 Review « Coupon Ganja

  8. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Slope Manual | Kookii's Garden in South Texas

  9. Pingback: How To Setup Garmin S4 « Coupon Ganja

  10. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Battery Life « Coupon Ganja

  11. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 | socialnetwoking

  12. Pingback: Best Golf Range Finder « Coupon Ganja

  13. Pingback: Garmin Approach S2 Rebate Form

  14. Pingback: Izzo Swami 3000 Uk Course List

  15. Pingback: Sureshot 8850x Golf Gps Reviews

  16. Pingback: Izzo Swami 4000 Problems – A guide to New York City's Gyms, Restaurants, Stores, Hip Bar Scene and much more.

  17. Pingback: Golf Gps Watch Reviews

  18. Pingback: Amatul Group

  19. Pingback: Bushnell Golf Rangefinder Reviews - Golf Rangefinder Reviews Bushnell

  20. Pingback: Bushnell Tour V3 Accessories - Bushnell Tour V3 Jolt Manual

  21. Pingback: Best Golf Rangefinder Nikon - What Is The Best Golf Rangefinder 2013

  22. Pingback: Best Golf Gps Under 300 - What Are The Best Golf Gps Units

  23. Pingback: Garmin S6 Download - Garmin S6 Charger

  24. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Firmware - Golf Buddy Voice Philippines

  25. Pingback: Golf Buddy Voice Vs Platinum - Golf Buddy Voice Faults

  26. Pingback: Garmin S6 Vs S4 - Garmin S6 Charging

  27. Pingback: Best Kind Of Rangefinder | My Life as I know It

  28. Pingback: Best Rangefinder Camera Bag | My Life as I know It

  29. Pingback: Amatul Group

  30. Pingback: Bushnell Neo Plus Vs Izzo Swami 4000 | My Life as I know It

  31. Pingback: Golf Gps Watch Dubai

  32. Pingback: Golf Gps Reviews Best

  33. Pingback: Izzo Swami 4000 Golf Gps Navigator - Izzo Swami 4000 Gps

  34. Pingback: Best Rated Golf Gps Rangefinders - Best Golf Rangefinder 2012

  35. Mary Lou valente

    Jun 24, 2015 at 11:05 am

    I broke my charger where can I get one?

    • Chris Block

      Jun 26, 2015 at 4:12 pm

      I have the same problem….can’t find one anywhere

  36. Ray

    Apr 10, 2015 at 6:03 am

    I love this watch because it is easy to program.

  37. Pingback: Bushnell Golf Gps Neo

  38. Pingback: Gps Golf Watch :: GPS Multilaser | Nosso GPS é o melhor!

  39. Darren

    Mar 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    Tried cotton ball and rubbing alcohol and it worked!

  40. Darren

    Mar 15, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    Also having problems charging watch. Great when it works, but seems to be getting harder and harder to get contacts to connect and charge battery. Anyone have ideas?

  41. Pingback: Garmin Watch Academy | Wearable Tech Store

  42. Rich Griffith

    Oct 1, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    This watch is junk. It has a know major problem (actually 2). First, it fails to charge after 20-30 uses. The contacts erode and will not connect to charge the watch after use. I have returned it to Bushnell and the “fixed” it – it worked 1 time. This watch will not charge and the yardages is consistently off from what other rangefinders show and what course markers show – almost every time. The difference for me was usually arond 10 yards. This is a junk product and Bushnell can’t fix it….run away!! Buy a different brand!!!!!

    • Brian Valente

      Oct 15, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      I lost my charger “ages” ago so the watch is redundant – Sell me yours if you are interested ???

      Brian UK

  43. psykolog århus

    Sep 21, 2014 at 10:57 am

    What really can rin a vurlnerable relationship is stinky feet.

  44. Ted

    Aug 2, 2014 at 9:18 am

    I have had my watch less than a year. I|t stopped hole advancing this spring and since then it has had trouble finding my home course. Anyone know a fix or do |I have to make a new purchase?

  45. Roger H Panton

    Mar 24, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I have had one for over a year and I am very pleased with it. I have used it in Spain, the UK and California. I have differed with others about distances by a small margin occasionally, but if you use your clubs according to YOUR measurements, things will be fine.

  46. Proof of Concept

    Jan 9, 2014 at 2:39 am

    Thank you for other sorts of wonderful post. The place more may possibly anybody get that variety of information in that best way of writing? I’ve a presentation pursuing week, using this program . at the look for these facts.

  47. Revie

    Dec 9, 2013 at 5:29 am

    Does anybody know if the watch has golf courses preloaded in the Philippines?

  48. Jim Goldamer

    Aug 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    What doesn’t seem to be covered off here is what happens when the unit doesn’t work. From my recent experience, Bushnell’s repair and customer service cannot be beat. If they cannot fix your unit they send you a new one… no questions asked.. it just shows up at your door… and quickly. Bushnell ROCKS!!

  49. Bjørn

    Aug 8, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    bought this watch, registered and downloaded according to instructions, tbut it seesm like their system doesnt support apple mac systems, only windows. Any tips how to solve this problem, I am playing in norway, and went to a pretty big golf course yesterday to test the watch, and the watch said “No local courses found”. Irritating

  50. Steve

    Aug 6, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    I live in Buenos Aires, Argentina, how do you install the courses in your zone?
    Are a web page o something to consult?

  51. Bill Merlin

    Aug 3, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I like the GPS it works well. The fact that is a watch means I won’t leave it in the golf cart. i mhave two questions, how do you replace the battery when it’s life runs out and can it be updated to show hazards. Let me know

  52. edgar d

    May 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

    I have used the watch for several games now and I’ve had no problems. As for charging the battery, I tried using the iphone 4S wall charger and it seems to work.I like it so much that I bought one for a friend too.

  53. lakay

    May 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Watch did not advance on several holes at my local course. This has happened on 3 different occasions. Am returning device today.

    • Ron

      May 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

      My watch was working fine. But, I played 3 times at my local course this week, and my watch did not move from hole to hole half of the times. I emailed a tech a Bushnell with this problem, and they told me to contact IGOLF. Also, Bushnell promotes that you can play 10 to 14 hours without a recharge. Mine will only last 6 to 8 hours. If I try to get 2 rounds in, I will most certainly not have enough juice to finish.

  54. Donnie

    May 10, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    I recently was in Costa del golf and played so popular courses but was very disappointed the watch did not pick them up! I will be get rid and looking for something that does the job! DO NOT BUY THE NEO!

  55. Doug G

    Apr 29, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Great GPS unit, I have used it at several courses in NY and FL with no problems. I like the fact that I can charge it in my car on the way to the course with a power inverter. Not great as a watch though.

  56. Frank J. Richardson

    Apr 4, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I like the concept. But I think maybe I have a loose battery as it goes blank, and sometimes doesn’t advance to the next hole. Also a challenge to charge at times do to the connection. I’m thinking salt from ones skin plugs up the connection holes on the watch??? But it’s still under warranty, so wish me luck.

    • Bob Gould

      Apr 15, 2014 at 8:03 am

      I love the watch, however, all of a sudden it will not show the charge signal. I have put it into the proper holes and if I move it around it will show the charge sign but will not stay on the charge mode.

      • Ron

        May 24, 2014 at 2:37 pm

        Mine does exactly the same thing.

      • Richard C

        Jul 21, 2014 at 6:30 pm

        Get a cotton swab….dip it it Rubbing Alcohol and clean the terminals on the watch and on the connector.

        Did that with mine.
        Works like a charm!!

        • Rich Griffith

          Oct 1, 2014 at 9:19 pm

          didn’t work for me…it’s a known problem

  57. R Pruneau

    Feb 15, 2013 at 6:11 am

    If no USB available in Scotland is there a way of recharging the watch?

    Is it compatible with Apple product? (The Bushnell watch)

    Thank you.

    • Brian Valente

      Oct 15, 2014 at 1:38 pm

      Where did you think Scotland was ?? Yes they do have electricity and computers. Still a great deal of horses and carts about !!

  58. tom

    Feb 10, 2013 at 9:15 am

    Have had the golf watch for a month and used it about a half-dozen times—fails to advance from one hole to the next. I have to manually advance 90% of the time. Bulky and does not perform as well as my wife’s Garmin. Plan to return it.

  59. John

    Dec 9, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Just got mine. Have to wait until next month’s trip to Florida to try it out. Very excited though. Should be quicker than getting out the laser…accurate enough for me on my approach shots. Love to play fast and anything that can speed my play helps. Now if I could just get the groups in front of me to think the same way…

    • paul

      Jul 15, 2015 at 3:00 am

      yes you can use it in Thailand, im using it right now without any complaints, but please download the courses as you want to play first then just enjoy it.

  60. Terje Stokke

    Dec 6, 2012 at 8:30 am

    I want to know if I can use this GPS Thailand?

    • Revie

      Dec 9, 2013 at 5:27 am

      Am planning to buy this gadget and using it in the Philippines. Please let me know if you got an answer as to whether the gadget will work in Thailand. Wonder if it will work in the Philippines.

  61. Norm

    Nov 22, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I registered the watch, but when I went to update to .o3 version it would not update. It keeps saying that there are compatibility problems. How do you fix that.

  62. John Mahoney

    Nov 17, 2012 at 1:32 am

    You should check to see if your watch is a .03 or .04 model.
    I unknowingly bought a .01 model. When it cam time to sync the watch (which quits working after 180 days), I found that I couldn’t because I have a MAC computer. I now have a very expensive plastic watch that doesn’t recognize daylight savings time.

    • Judes

      May 4, 2013 at 4:35 am

      How about asking a friend if you can use their computer John?

  63. Choupique

    Oct 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Ordered my Bushnell Neo+ watch today and can’t wait for it to arrive. I have the standard edition Neo+ with a cart mount that has proved to be very useful everywhere I’ve played from Texas to Florida. Only problem is when a course is wet and it is “Cart Path Only”.
    Front, back and center green is good enough for me (18 handicap), which I needed a GPS more accurate. 🙂

  64. watches golf

    Aug 15, 2012 at 5:58 am

    Hopefully assuming I don’t take it off ,won’t lose it on course.
    Only issue is it’s sometimes a pain to line up recharger and I don’t get the 14 supposed hours of course time, but really not bad at all.

  65. watches golf

    Aug 15, 2012 at 5:45 am

    good GPS
    and goof golf tools

  66. Rob Perry

    Aug 9, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    I bought one and took it back to switch to the Garmin. I bought it because it had better battery life and a better looking screen than the S1. Plus the box and Bushnells website said it worked with a Mac. After Calls with Bushnell and iGolf customer service what I was told was that it “would” be Mac compatible but that they haven’t finished the software yet. I wasted 3 hours on this. The final straw was that it kept changing time by an hour as it went in and out of daylight savings time. Very irritating. Even after updating the firmware. Sorry, too buggy.

  67. Shep

    Aug 8, 2012 at 7:30 am

    Never thought I needed a GPS/Rangerfinder playing same track 25 years and didn,t want to have something I would end up leaving in cart.
    The Neo+ watch has speeded up my play in that everything I hit doesn’t always end up in fairway near markers,LOL. Really like knowing front and back yardages for better club selection. Hopefully assuming I don’t take it off ,won’t lose it on course.
    Only issue is it’s sometimes a pain to line up recharger and I don’t get the 14 supposed hours of course time, but really not bad at all.
    Wife plays more than I and takes it as serious if not more so than I as verified by here many trophies, so I just got her one also.

  68. rick

    Jul 30, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Does anyone know if this has the option to measure the hazards?

  69. Ron C

    Jul 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    I have used mine extensively. Easy to set up easy to use and very accurate. Best addition to my golf game in some time. Can’t even tell I am wearing a watch! Battery holds up well…worth every penny.

  70. Hank

    Jul 15, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Have heard the strap is mickey mouse and watch falls off easily, both on wrist and bag.
    Too bad as its a perfect idea for when the extremely rare chance occurs that your not in the middle of the fairway or do not have clear line of site.
    Give up Starbucks for a month and the watch is free.

  71. Walden

    Jul 14, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Cons: you look like a dork.

    Seriously, courses are marked and you can get a yardage book. When you need to wear something on your wrist to gauge if you are between 163 or 164 yards you should either be on tour with a caddy or getting your head checked.

    Pro: the people selling these get one more consumer product to sell you.

    • Dan

      May 25, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      Gosh you must be perfect and have great vision, something some of us don’t have. Our course also doesn’t have a yardage book and if you’re off line a “gadget” to help speed up play is ideal.

    • dannygre

      May 28, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      First of all, it doesn’t give yardage to the pin just front, middle, and back and that’s all the info most golfers need. You might think you can hit it to a specific yardage but you’re kidding yourself. Ever wonder what the yardage is from the rough or the next fairway- well this gives it to you. In my book that speeds up play and you aren’t the dork hitting it in the creek because you guessed wrong.

    • pablo

      Jun 14, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      i have another brand gps watch and i dropped 3 strokes off my game starting the very first time i used it. fast and accurate (i checked against my laser), and there is nothing like always knowing exactly how far you are.

  72. irving lane

    Jul 13, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    I spent over 30 minutes trying to register my product. I am not acomputer person. I bought the neo watch but I should have signed up in a computer class. I bought the product for golf but it looks like I will need to take it back. Too difficult for me to charge the battery and register.

  73. Troy

    Jul 12, 2012 at 10:07 am

    You want to speed up play on tour, let players or caddies wear these. Knowing your front middle and back would reduce the amount of time it takes to calculate it every hole.

  74. pablo

    Jul 10, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    smaller and cheaper than the motoactiv golf…hmmmm

  75. Dufner

    Jul 10, 2012 at 12:44 am

    cool…been sporting this in practice rounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

Review: FlightScope Mevo



In 100 Words

The Mevo is a useful practice tool for amateur golfers and represents a step forward from previous offerings on the market. It allows golfers to practice indoors or outdoors and provides club speed, ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance and flight time.

It also has a video capture mode that will overlay swing videos with the swing data of a specific swing. It is limited in its capabilities and its accuracy, though, which golfers should expect at this price point. All in all, it’s well worth the $499 price tag if you understand what you’re getting.

The Full Review

The FlightScope Mevo is a launch monitor powered by 3D Doppler radar. With a retail price of $499, it is obviously aimed to reach the end consumer as opposed to PGA professionals and club fitters.

The Mevo device itself is tiny. Like, really tiny. It measures 3.5-inches wide, 2.8-inches tall and 1.2-inches deep. In terms of everyday products, it’s roughly the size of an Altoids tin. It’s very easy to find room for it in your golf bag, and the vast majority of people at the range you may be practicing at won’t even notice it’s there. Apart from the Mevo itself, in the box you get a quick start guide, a charging cable, a carrying pouch, and some metallic stickers… more on those later. It has a rechargeable internal battery that reaches a full charge in about two hours and lasts for about four hours when fully charged.

As far as software goes, the Mevo pairs with the Mevo Golf app on your iOS or Android device. The app is free to download and does not require any subscription fees (unless you want to store and view videos of your swing online as opposed to using the memory on your device). The app is very easy to use even for those who aren’t tech savvy. Make sure you’re using the most current version of the firmware for the best results, though (I did experience some glitches at first until I did so). The settings menu does have an option to manually force firmware writing, but updates should happen automatically when you start using the device.

Moving through the menus, beginning sessions, editing shots (good for adding notes on things like strike location or wind) are all very easy. Video mode did give me fits the first time I used it, though, as it was impossible to maintain my connection between my phone and the Mevo while having the phone in the right location to capture video properly. The only way I could achieve this was by setting the Mevo as far back from strike location as the device would allow. Just something to keep in mind if you find you’re having troubles with video mode.

Screenshot of video capture mode with the FlightScope Mevo

Using the Mevo

When setting up the Mevo, it needs to be placed between 4-7 feet behind the golf ball, level with the playing surface and pointed down the target line. The distance you place the Mevo behind the ball does need to be entered into the settings menu before starting your session. While we’re on that subject, before hitting balls, you do need to select between indoor, outdoor, and pitching (ball flight less than 20 yards) modes, input your altitude and select video or data mode depending on if you want to pair your data with videos of each swing or just see the data by itself. You can also edit the available clubs to be monitored, as you will have to tell the Mevo which club you’re using at any point in time to get the best results. Once you get that far, you’re pretty much off to the races.

Testing the Mevo

I tested the FlightScope Mevo with Brad Bachand at Man O’ War Golf Center in Lexington, Kentucky. Brad is a member of the PGA and has received numerous awards for golf instruction and club fitting. I wanted to put the Mevo against the best device FlightScope has to offer and, luckily, Brad does use his $15,000 FlightScope X3 daily. We had both the FlightScope Mevo and Brad’s FlightScope X3 set up simultaneously, so the numbers gathered from the two devices were generated from the exact same strikes. Brad also set up the two devices and did all of the ball striking just to maximize our chances for success.

The day of our outdoor session was roughly 22 degrees Fahrenheit. There was some wind on that day (mostly right to left), but it wasn’t a major factor. Our setup is pictured below.

Outdoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our outdoor testing are shown below. The testing was conducted with range balls, and we did use the metallic stickers. The range balls used across all the testing were all consistently the same brand. Man O’ War buys all new range balls once a year and these had been used all throughout 2017.  The 2018 batch had not yet been purchased at the time that testing was conducted.

Raw outdoor data captured with range balls including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

You’ll notice some peculiar data in the sand wedge spin category. To be honest, I don’t fully know what contributed to the X3 measuring such low values. While the Mevo’s sand wedge spin numbers seem more believable, you could visibly see that the X3 was much more accurate on carry distance. Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our outdoor session when separated out for each club. As previously mentioned, though, take sand wedge spin with a grain of salt.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (outdoor testing).

The first thing we noticed was that the Mevo displays its numbers while the golf ball is still in midair, so it was clear that it wasn’t watching the golf ball the entire time like the X3. According to the Mevo website, carry distance, height and flight time are all calculated while club speed, ball speed, launch angle and spin rate are measured. As for the accuracy of the measured parameters, the Mevo’s strength is ball speed. The accuracy of the other measured ball parameters (launch angle and spin rate) is questionable depending on certain factors (quality of strike, moisture on the clubface and ball, quality of ball, etc). I would say it ranges between “good” or “very good” and “disappointing” with most strikes being categorized as “just okay.”

As for the calculated parameters of carry distance, height and time, those vary a decent amount. Obviously, when the measurements of the three inputs become less accurate, the three outputs will become less accurate as a result. Furthermore, according to FlightScope, the Mevo’s calculations are not accounting for things like temperature, humidity, and wind. The company has also stated, though, that future updates will likely adjust for these parameters by using location services through the app.

Now, let’s talk about those metallic stickers. According to the quick start guide, the Mevo needs a sticker on every golf ball you hit, and before you hit each ball, the ball needs to be placed such that the sticker is facing the target. It goes without saying that it doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun to spend time putting those stickers on every ball, let alone balls that will never come back to you if you’re at a public driving range. Obviously, people are going to want to avoid using the stickers if they can, so do they really matter? Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls with and without the use of the stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you use the metallic stickers and when you don’t

The FlightScope website says that the metallic stickers “are needed in order for the Mevo to accurately measure ball spin.” We observed pretty much the same as shown in the table above. The website also states they are working on alternative solutions to stickers (possibly a metallic sharpie), which I think is wise.

Another thing we thought would be worth testing is the impact of different golf balls. Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls as compared to Pro V1’s. All of this data was collected using the metallic stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you switch from range balls to Pro V1’s

As shown above, the data gets much closer virtually across the board when you use better quality golf balls. Just something else to keep in mind when using the Mevo.

Indoor testing requires 8 feet of ball flight (impact zone to hitting net), which was no problem for us. Our setup is pictured below. All of the indoor testing was conducted with Titleist Pro V1 golf balls using the metallic stickers.

Indoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our indoor session are shown below.

Raw indoor data captured with Pro V1’s including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our indoor session when separated out for each club.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (indoor testing)

On the whole, the data got much closer together between the two devices in our indoor session. I would think a lot of that can be attributed to the use of quality golf balls and to removing outdoor factors like wind and temperature (tying into my previous comment above).

As far as overall observations between all sessions, the most striking thing was that the Mevo consistently gets more accurate when you hit really good, straight shots. When you hit bad shots, or if you hit a fade or a draw, it gets less and less accurate.

The last parameter to address is club speed, which came in around 5 percent different on average between the Mevo and X3 based on all of the shots recorded. The Mevo was most accurate with the driver at 2.1 percent different from the X3 over all strikes and it was the least accurate with sand wedge by far. Obviously, smash factor accuracy will follow club speed for the most part since ball speed is quite accurate. Over every shot we observed, the percent difference on ball speed was 1.2 percent on average between the Mevo and the X3. Again, the Mevo was least accurate with sand wedges. If I remove all sand wedge shots from the data, the average percent difference changes from 1.2 percent to 0.7 percent, which is very, very respectable.

When it comes to the different clubs used, the Mevo was by far most accurate with mid irons. I confirmed this with on-course testing on a relatively flat 170-yard par-3 as well. Carry distances in that case were within 1-2 yards on most shots (mostly related to quality of strike). With the driver, the Mevo was reasonably close, but I would also describe it as generous. It almost always missed by telling me that launch angle was higher, spin rate was lower and carry distance was farther than the X3. Generally speaking, the Mevo overestimated our driver carries by about 5 percent. Lastly, the Mevo really did not like sand wedges at all. Especially considering those shots were short enough that you could visibly see how far off the Mevo was with its carry distance. Being 10 yards off on a 90 yard shot was disappointing.


The Mevo is a really good product if you understand what you’re getting when you buy it. Although the data isn’t good enough for a PGA professional, it’s still a useful tool that gives amateurs reasonable feedback while practicing. It’s also a fair amount more accurate than similar products in its price range, and I think it could become even better with firmware updates as Flightscope improves upon its product.

This is a much welcomed and very promising step forward in consumer launch monitors, and the Mevo is definitely worth a look if you’re in the market for one.

Your Reaction?
  • 164
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW2
  • LOL9
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP7
  • OB3
  • SHANK31

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover



Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.


The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: Golf Simulator Software for SkyTrak



SkyTrak is a personal launch monitor packed with impressive features and accuracy. It sells for $1995, and is aimed at golfers looking for a high-quality, personal launch monitor and golf simulator. I’ve recently hit more than 1,000 golf balls on SkyTrak and tested it head-to-head against Trackman to find out if it truly is as good as it sounds.

Spoiler alert: It is. You can read the full review here.

In writing my SkyTrak review, I felt that I could better serve the GolfWRX Community and the greater golf world with an additional SkyTrak review that focused specifically on SkyTrak’s golf simulation partners. This… is that review.

Golf Simulation Partners

Out of the box, SkyTrak comes with an impressive driving range app, which golfers looking to hone and refine their swing will really appreciate. But one of the ways SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors, especially lower-priced ones, is by integrating with five leading golf simulation software packages.

This is where SkyTrak starts to widen its appeal. Serious golfers will enjoy playing a full round, but you can also get casual golfers involved. My wife and kids will enjoy playing a round of golf, and I won’t have to worry about holding up the group behind me. As my kids get older, having a simulator at home will be invaluable, allowing them practice at any time… assuming they want to play golf, of course.

SkyTrak Simulation Partners

Data Provided to Each Software

SkyTrak provides each simulation partner with the exact same, five directly measured data points which include: ball speed, launch angle, backspin, side spin and side angle. Each software applies their own ball flight model. For that reason, I did see differences in the ball flight and data displayed.

WGT (World Golf Tour)

Almost every golfer with a mobile phone or a Facebook profile has played or heard of WGT (World Golf Tour). The same game that has been played on mobile phones for years can now be played with SkyTrak. The most obvious difference is the visuals. Their patented, photo-realistic imagery and terrain mapping has created some of the most realistic course simulation available. What’s more interesting is that WGT is included at no additional cost when you purchase the $199.95 per year SkyTrak plan. This is great news for people interested in playing full courses, but not yet ready to commit to another simulator package.

There are 10 full courses that can be played. They include St. Andrews, Chambers Bay, Bandon Dunes and others. Closest-to-the-pin challenges can be played on 18 total courses.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight model is very accurate and similar to what I see in the SkyTrak app. It also calculates my wedge shots correctly, which is typically a slight fade that I cannot seem to fix. Total distance is a bit strong, with some clubs flying an average of five yards farther than normal.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

It is hard to beat the photo-realistic visuals of WGT. It took me a minute to get used to them after playing rounds on the other simulators, but the courses look amazing, especially on a large projector screen. With the combination of the photos and terrain mapping, these courses are spot-on representations of their real-life counterparts.

WGT SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

I wish there were more courses, but WGT is continuing to add to its roster and I value the realism of the courses it has. I would rather higher quality courses over quantity. They also have some “Best Of” bundles, like playing the Best of Bandon Par 3s, which is a lot of fun.

The gameplay is solid, although the options are limited. You don’t have a lot of fancy camera angles or the ability to view a replay of your shot. In fact, some of the starting camera angles aren’t even from the player’s point of view, which is a little weird and hard to get used to. The SkyTrak data presented has everything you would want, except carry distance. The interface is clean and easy to use.

Reliability of the Software

Although the specs say an iPad is required (and preferred if you’re not using a projector), I didn’t experience any issues connecting to either my iPad or my iPhone 6s.


Included with SkyTrak’s Play & Improve Package

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf

I want to love Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf, and I almost do. The main game includes really nice, quality courses, and you can purchase add-ons such as Muirfield Village or PGA National for $5.95. Additionally, its Course Forge Software, which is the same software used by Jack Nicklaus Golf course designers, can be used by anyone to create an unlimited number of courses that you can download and play.

You can adjust almost any setting you can imagine, from camera angles that allow you to walk freely around the golf course to video and audio settings that adjust everything from the sky effects to the way the grass looks. This is critical to helping dial in the settings to maximize gameplay for your specific PC setup.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight was similar to what I saw on the SkyTrak range, but the distances were consistently a bit shorter. There is a good chance I could mess around with the various settings and get the numbers to match up, but out of the box, I felt like the distances were slightly shorter across the board.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I really like the quality of the courses. There is an almost unlimited combination of settings you can use to dial in the visuals to create a very realistic experience. The real courses I downloaded look, appear and play very accurately. The textures of the tee boxes and greens are very realistic.

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The included courses are a mix of fictional, user-created courses, and real courses with fake names. For example, you can play Florida Glades, which is actually modeled after TPC Sawgrass. I played Muirfield Village while watching coverage of the Memorial last weekend, which was fun.

With the exception of the occasionally shorter distances, the gameplay is excellent. Shots on the fairways and into the greens follow the real-life contours of the course. Just check out the video above to see what I mean.

The game really shines with the smooth camera movements and replay options. I love being able to watch each shot from the player point of view, but also angles like the spectator view. It feels just like TV and is a lot of fun to see my shots from different angles.

Reliability of the Software

This is where Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf falls short, at least for me. During testing, I was never able to get through an entire round without the simulator connection crashing, which meant that SkyTrak was no longer connected to the simulator software. This is an issue with Perfect Golf reported by others, too. As of June 1st, the company provided an update that has solved this issue for me, and I can now get through a full round, but it is something to keep in mind.


Multiple packages starting at $99.95 per year for the driving range package. It’s $199.95 per year for the simulation package, and $249.95 per year for everything including the ability to play user-created courses or compete in online tournaments.

TruGolf E6

TruGolf E6 feels and plays like the most solid of all the simulator options. Each of the 87 total courses are mapped using precise terrain and course data, and you can tell they spent a lot of time making each course feel as realistic and accurate as possible.

The app has numerous settings to control time of day, wind, lighting, camera angles and more. Course elevation is accurate, and factored into the ball flight. The base software includes a driving range with target practice, chipping area, and a putting area.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight, carry and total distance are almost identical to what I see in the SkyTrak app.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

The quality of each course is impressive. Fairways and greens are responsive and variable, mimicking the actual terrain of the course. The textures, shadows, and lighting are realistic. And the camera movements to follow the ball or during replays are natural. The overall graphics are not quite as good as Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf or The Golf Club, but still very solid.

TruGolf E6 SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The main package includes 15 championship courses, including Pinehurst  No. 2, Bay Hill, Gleneagles and others. You can also buy seven other packs of courses, each for a one-time fee.

The actual gameplay is very realistic. The standard camera angles feel like I am watching a shot from my actual point of view, but I can also watch the replay from various other camera angles. Putting is realistic, even if I haven’t yet mastered putting on SkyTrak. And if you’re looking to practice a specific hole on a course, you can choose to play only that hole.

Reliability of the Software

Rock solid. Throughout my entire testing, I never had any software issues.


$299 per year in addition to the SkyTrak Game Improvement Package. Additional course packs can be purchased for $240-500 each.

The Golf Club Game

There is so much to like about The Golf Club.  The graphics are quite possibly the best of any of the simulators (up to 4K Ultra HD) and allow you to move around the course in real-time. There are 100,000+ high definition courses, you can create your own courses, and TGC has live tournaments. There is even an announcer who gives you the play-by-play.

Ball Flight and Data

Just like TruGolf E6, the ball flight model and key data points are very similar to what I see on the SkyTrak range. I have noticed some deviation, more total distance for example, but for the most part, the results are very similar and accurate.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I can’t deny having access to 100k+ courses isn’t a strength, but it is also a weakness. You will never get bored if you own this software, but if you like playing realistic golf courses, it can be difficult to navigate. With so many “Augusta National” or “St. Andrews” courses listed, it is hard to find one to play that truly feels realistic. I selected an “Augusta National Sunday Pin Position” course and saw white-capped mountains in the distance teeing off No. 1. There certainly aren’t mountains around Augusta.

The Golf Club SkyTrak Partner

I’ll say it again, the HD visuals are outstanding, especially if your system can max out the settings.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

You’ve got access to a ton of courses for free, which will be  huge for many people. The gameplay is also excellent, with realistic bounces and rolls on the fairways and greens. The rough and sand are penalizing, and putting and chipping around the green is accurate.

Reliability of the Software

I have had some minor connectivity issues with TGC. But other than that, the rest of the software has worked great.


$479/year or a one-time fee of $895.

Creative Golf 3D

Creative Golf 3D, the newest integration with SkyTrak, offers some unique twists on the traditional simulators by focusing more on entertainment than pure simulation. Sure, there is a range and you can play up to 100 courses located in Europe, but more importantly, you have access to 20 different entertainment-focused games including island targets, mini-golf, and abandoned factory demolition.

I can see playing mini-golf with my kids even before sticking them on the SkyTrak range. Fun is the real power of Creative Golf 3D, and yet another way that SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors or simulators on the market.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight and data matches up nicely with the SkyTrak ball flight model. I haven’t noticed any issues with distances or other data points not lining up.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

All the courses are based on real elevation and satellite data, which is evident when you play a round. While I’ve never played golf in Europe, I love watching the European Tour partly because they play courses in beautiful parts of the world. Creative Golf 3D captures that beauty by focusing only on courses throughout Europe.


The reason I would buy Creative Golf over the others is not for the course play; it’s for the entertainment options. I really enjoy hitting knock down wedges to smash windows of an abandoned building and playing mini-golf in Europe.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The base package includes five courses. You can buy add-on packages for $99 per package (one-time fee) and get access to up to 100 courses. I enjoy hitting shots with snow-capped mountains in the background and the standard camera angles and replay are smooth. The visuals are good, don’t get me wrong, but they feel a little more like a computer game than an actual simulation compared to the other software options.

Reliability of the Software

So far, so good. I haven’t experienced any issues with connectivity to this point.


$199.95 per year or a one-time fee of $499.95. I like that Creative Golf 3D offers a one-time fee. For those of us who plan to have this simulator for many years, it makes a lot of sense. You can also buy additional course packs for $99.95/one time.

Bottom Line

If I had to choose my favorites so far, one would be Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf for the overall high quality of courses and smooth, realistic gameplay. I also will keep Creative Golf 3D on hand for entertainment options like mini-golf to play with my kids and friends.

But the good news is all of SkyTrak’s five simulation software partners offer high-quality gameplay, realistic and accurate 3D ball flight, and the ability to play 18 holes anytime, anywhere, on some of the best courses around the world.

Further Reading: A Review of the SkyTrak Personal Launch Monitor

Your Reaction?
  • 68
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW6
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole