Connect with us

Equipment

Review: Callaway X2 Hot and X2 Hot Pro Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: Two different options, a Pro version with a slightly smaller head and lower launch and spin, and a standard version with more forgiveness and an easier launch. The forged Hyper Speed Face Cup produces a smooth feel and more ball speed across the face.

Cons: The look of the Pro version turns heads, but even the better player might find it takes more “work” to hit great shots.

Bottom line: Both hybrids live up to the marketing promise of higher ball speeds and more distance even on shots not hit on the sweet spot. The X2 Hot Pro is geared for the better player and creates lower-launching, more-penetrating flight and the ability to easily work the ball in any direction. On the other hand, all golfers, even better players, should seriously consider the X2 Hot Hybrid and its slightly larger, more-forgiving face and higher-launching ball flight.

Overview

Callaway continues to launch new products that offer golfers two different versions to chose from — a Pro version for better players and a standard version designed for everyone — allowing golfers of every skill level an off-the-rack choice of clubs suited to their general needs. The X2 Hot Pro hybrid, with its smaller, tour-inspired head and Aldila Tour Green shaft, is designed for the better player looking for a lower-launching, lower-spinning hybrid. The X2 Hot hybrid, designed for every golfer, has a larger face, larger sweet spot and Aldila Tour Blue shaft that makes it easier to launch the ball in the air and generate distance even on mishits.

84d50e12d77f01cea3d5cce0157d522b
05eff2d5aa5970ea623d49c19fdd073e

The Callaway X2 Hot Hybrid (above) and X2 Hot Pro hybrids have similar-looking club faces, but the body of the X2 Hot Pro is substantially slimmer.

For the first time, Callaway added its high-strength forged 455-carpenter steel cup face to the X2 Hot hybrids. Last year’s X Hot fairway woods proved that adding a forged face to a fairway wood means more distance for more players, and bringing that technology to hybrids was a natural progression. Through its precision forging process, Callaway claims it was able to increase the spring-like effect of the face not just in the center of the club, but all over the face, leading to increased distance even on mishits.

The X2 Hot hybrids are available in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees and come stock with Aldila’s Tour Blue 65 hybrid shaft in light, regular and stiff flexes. Stock swingweight is D0. The X2 Hot Pro hybrids come in lofts of 16, 18, 20 and 23 with an aftermarket version of Aldila’s Tour Green 75 hybrid shaft in R, S and X flexes. Stock swing weight is D2. Both hybrids will be available in stores Jan. 17 and sell for $199.

Performance

During any given round I might hit my hybrid off the tee, off the deck, from the rough or possibly even around the green, making the hybrid one of the most versatile clubs in my bag. I tested the X2 Hot and X2 Hot Pro hybrids over multiple sessions both on the course during rounds and on a Flightscope launch monitor on the driving range. My goal was to simply see if the ball flight and performance matched Callaway’s claims.

27594419186cfac9df08559c94759337

My first few shots with the X2 Hot hybrid were on the driving range prior to a round. It only took a few swings to realize this hybrid was going to play a big role in my bag. The X2 Hot hybrid was almost effortless to launch and produced a nice ball flight that wasn’t necessarily low and boring, but also wasn’t ballooning up in the air. The turf interaction on both clubs was very nice and I could play these hybrids out of the rough or fairway. My typical ball flight with a hybrid is straight to a slight cut, however with the X2 Hot hybrid, almost all my shots on the range and in testing produced a draw. I could still work the ball left to right, but it was clear these clubs have a least a little draw bias.

I really wanted the X2 Hot Pro hybrid to produce great results for me as well. I instantly liked the look of the smaller head and clean crown. At address, the Pro hybrid really looked and felt like an iron, but with a lot more power behind it. I only hit a few shots on the range before the round, but I could tell the ball flight was more penetrating, the spin was even lower than the X2 Hot hybrid and the distance was slightly longer. However, unlike the effortless launch of the standard hybrid, I was working hard on every shot.

0cd14fb05f0714bfaea80d4e36fa0b92
15209184100e1233303664de79e6dd84

Notice how much longer front to back the X2 Hot hybrid (above) is than the X2 Hot Pro hybrid. That moves the CG more rearward in the head, raising launch and spin. 

Over the course of four rounds, I played the X2 Hot and X2 Hot Pro hybrids in as many on-course situations as possible. Each club continued to produce the ball flight and distance I expected. The standard hybrid was easily more forgiving, and by the middle of the week I had gained a lot of confidence in the club. The X2 Hot Pro hybrid continued to make me work for every good shot that I hit.

After on-course testing, I wanted to get on a launch monitor and confirm my theory that both hybrids live up to their marketing claims and confirm what I was seeing in the on-course testing.

Performance: Standard X2 Hot Hybrid

Over the course of an hour-long session on Flightscope, I rotated between both hybrids and threw out true mishits and outliers from the data. The majority of my swings produced shots off or near the sweet spot, not a dime size by any means, but consistent. I also tested shots off the heel and toe as well as high and low.

01698681d4d3d81090fdfc13c494a53d

The X2 Hot hybrid is designed to launch easier but still have a nice penetrating flight with lower spin than Callaway’s previous hybrids. On average, when compared to the X2 Hot Pro, the standard hybrid generated 2 mph more ball speed, 4 more yards of carry and 1.5 yards more total distance. The launch angle was actually only a half-degree higher but generated 300 more rpm of spin and a peak height that was 2 yards higher. That said, the spin numbers were much lower than my current gamer and right inline with the range I would want out of a hybrid.

27c36103a608318680e685bf1a1846e7

Almost every shot I hit with the X2 Hot hybrid had a draw ball flight and a very nice trajectory. What is most impressive and very important is that mishits off the heel and toe resulted in very little loss of ball speed and total distance, proving Callaway’s claim of a larger sweet spot. As expected, shots off the heel would likely minimize the draw tendency, but instead of producing a solid fade, it produced relatively straight shots or slight cuts. I really had to mishit this club to produce wildly offline shots.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolfpreowned.com/hybrids-2014-x2-hot/hybrids-2014-x2-hot,default,pd.html” oemtext=”Learn more from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00G97Q5YI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00G97Q5YI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=NZAEYS2GVMXTROCO”]

Performance: X2 Hot Pro Hybrid

Last year’s X Hot Pro hybrids, while lower spinning than previous generations, still generated more spin than some better players were looking for. Callaway took this feedback and decided to lower the CG (center of gravity) by 40 percent in an effort to decrease spin and lower ball flight. It worked. While the launch angle was only marginally lower than the X2 Hot hybrid, the overall trajectory was lower while still resulting in nice flight time and carry numbers. My spin numbers were excellent and when properly struck, the golf ball jumped off the face and flew forever.

7f1194b450f0ae5b5ecdc4b907bedf51

In contrast to the X2 Hot hybrid, the majority of my shots had less draw and I was more prone to hitting straight shots and cuts with the X2 Hot Pro hybrid. Mishits off the heel and toe still generated good ball speed, but it was much easier to mishit the Pro version. High shots and low shots on the face were more costly resulting in average distance loss of 4 to 5 yards.

Those were the averages. Where it gets really interesting is when I looked at the top five swings with both hybrids, based on carry and total distance, smash factor, spin and launch angle. The X2 Hot Pro hybrid outperforms the standard hybrid in every category except smash factor. I produced 4 more yards of carry and 7 more total yards, a straight to slight cut ball flight with a fractionally lower smash factor and lower launch. In fact, my three longest shots of the day were with the X2 Hot Pro hybrid and each shot was at least 4 yards longer than the longest X2 Hot shot. If I could be assured I would hit the ball almost perfectly every time, the X2 Hot Pro hybrid would be in my bag. However, it also means that the X2 Hot Pro hybrid is less forgiving, requires a lot more work to hit quality shots and truly is a club fit for the very best of players.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolfpreowned.com/hybrids-2014-x2-hot-pro/hybrids-2014-x2-hot-pro,default,pd.html” oemtext=”Learn more from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00G97Q20K/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00G97Q20K&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=TH64DSLKNF5BGWQS”]

1d56bcf784f544b7332f37a5c204d132

Both clubs outperform my current gamer in every category and generated average distance gains of 5 to7 yards. But more importantly, both clubs produced results I expected based on Callaway’s claims. For the better player, the Pro version should be very enticing, but even if you favor pro models, I would recommend also testing the standard version as a comparison. For the golfer looking for help getting the ball into the air and greater forgiveness on mishits, the standard version should go to the top of the list of hybrids to test.

Looks and Feel

From the moment I took the headcover off, I was instantly impressed with the look of these clubs. Both hybrids received a very noticeable redesign that went deeper than just a new paint job. With less pinching at the toe and the heel, less offset and more scroll lines on the face, the X2 Hot hybrids have a much more iron-like look than last year’s X Hot hybrids.

aa2579212041d6f326214ca3df6af25b

The darker grey color and darker Aldila shaft colors blend better in my opinion than the dark head and light shaft combination of last year’s X Hot hybrids. Both clubs have very clean, minimalistic crowns. The X2 Hot hybrid has a chevron alignment mark, which I like, while the Pro version is completely clean on the crown. Both clubs really look nice behind the ball at address and instill a lot of confidence prior to taking the club back.

The overall graphics package, from the clean crowns to the sweet-looking Aldila shafts, really give these clubs a nice blend of traditional and modern hybrid styling.

ffdba7080db09441202a8545f9be2547

Above: The “real deal” Aldila Tour Green 75 that comes stock in the X2 Hot Pro Hybrid. 

The forged face feels silky smooth at impact, especially off the sweet spot, and aided in the feeling that it was almost effortless to get the ball in the air. Plenty of feedback is also available on both heel/toe and high/low hits. I knew exactly where I made contact on each shot before even looking at the impact marks. Impact with the X2 Hot Pro, with its smaller head, felt more firm and iron-like while the X2 Hot hybrid felt slightly more springy like a fairway wood. These two clubs have distinctively different feels at impact and since feel is subjective, it is another good reason to test both clubs before making a decision.

Bottom Line

e570aa2cdd1d31040ab5c9d11abcd93a

Callaway decided to rethink the look and feel of its hybrid line for this year and I think it hit a home run. The clean lines, forged face, larger sweet spot and premium shaft options all work together to create two hybrids that offer different characteristics for different types of golfers, but ultimately produce the same result: more distance on more shots.

Whether you are a high- or low-handicap golfer, both X2 Hot hybrids should be on your list of clubs to test this year.

Your Reaction?
  • 104
  • LEGIT22
  • WOW12
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

When he is not obsessing about his golf game, Kane heads up an innovation lab responsible for driving innovative digital product development for Fortune 500 companies. He is also the co-founder of RoundShout and creator of Ranger GPS, the free iOS GPS app for the driving range. On a quest to become a scratch golfer, Kane writes about his progress (for better or worse) at kanecochran.com and contributes golf technology-focused articles on GolfWRX.com.

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. Wayne Smith

    Dec 18, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    Have 2013 X Hot pro hybrid the 2 & 4 w/Px 6.0 shaft…love them everything about them so how can one make their irons (2014 Taylor Tour Preferred MC – Nippon 950) feel and swing the same as these clubs. Can you take the existing irons and re-create this feel or would one have to start from scratch and can it even be done? Some please answer the ?

  2. Brian

    Jun 10, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    Kane,

    Have you had the opportunity to test the Jetspeed hybrid? If so would you please share how it compares ti the x2 hot? As a lefty it is hard to find clubs to demo and I have hit the Jetspeed a few times but have not been able to hit th x2 hot although that has been the one of the two clubs I have thought I wanted from the start? Thank you.

  3. Andrew

    Jan 19, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Hi Kane, any idea if the ‘Tour Blue’ shaft in the regular model is actually an Aldila Tour Blue shaft? Callaway’s website has it listed as a Callaway shaft, the Tour Green they specify as the Aldila Tour Green.

  4. Matt Wiseley

    Jan 14, 2014 at 7:55 am

    Kane,
    What are your thoughts about the shafts and what stiffness do you swing? My suspicion is the pro version’s shaft is helping cut down on the spin.
    For me, the stock shaft in the x2 version might be too light. (Current hybrid shaft is 80 grams)

    Great review, thank you

    • Kane Cochran

      Jan 14, 2014 at 10:13 am

      Thanks, Matt! Both the Blue and Green are really nice shafts and your suspicion about the Green shaft cutting down spin is correct. I tested the Stiff and I play S-flex shafts usually. I had a couple low single digit guys and a mini tour player (all SSs over 110) hit some too, and they said for the hybrid they would actually consider going Pro head with Blue XS shaft. Both shafts are really nice. But since we’re all different, I’d say go hit both versions and see what you think before committing.

    • Bundha

      Sep 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm

      Hmm it seem like you blog at m firstcomment (it w super l ng) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had wrettin and say, I’m thoroughly enj y ng you blog.I too am an s ring blog writer butI’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog writers? I’d c rtainly p reciate it.

  5. Pingback: Nya X2 hybriden… | Min kärlek till golfen...

  6. Chris

    Jan 12, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    Great article Kane, if you don’t mind me asking, what is your handicap.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jan 13, 2014 at 8:28 am

      Thanks, Chris, I’m happy you enjoyed the article, these hybrids are awesome. I’m a decent round away from a 9 right now thanks to a seriously shaky short game the last half of 2013. I need to trust my long game is solid and get rolling more putts!

      • Chris

        Jan 13, 2014 at 9:29 am

        Kane, are you also saying that the Pro version is harder to hit than last years Pro version? Did either of these clubs make it into your bag for 2014?

        • Kane Cochran

          Jan 13, 2014 at 9:44 am

          Chris, the X2 Hot hybrid went into my bag immediately, even before launch monitor testing confirmed what I was seeing. The Pro version will get rotated in as well, because it is a crazy-long club. But even though we expect Pro clubs to require more skill and effort, the X2 Pro seemed to require even a little extra effort for those great shots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Whats in the Bag

Jimmy Walker WITB 2020

Published

on

  • Equipment accurate as of the Farmers Insurance Open

Driver: Titleist TS3 (8.5 degrees @ 7.75, C1 SureFit setting)
Shaft: Fujikura Ventus Blue 6 X

Fairway wood: Titleist TS3 (18 degrees @ 17.25, C1 SureFit setting)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro Blue 90 TX

Irons: Titleist 620 CB (3), Titleist 620 MB (4-PW)
Shafts: True Temper AMT Tour White X100

Wedges: Titleist Vokey Design SM8 WedgeWorks (54-M, 60-04L), Titleist Vokey Design SM8 (64 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100

Putter: L.A.B. Directed Force 2.1T

Grips: Golf Pride Tour Velvet

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x

Your Reaction?
  • 12
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

What It’s Like: TaylorMade Golf’s “The Kingdom”

Published

on

One of the best parts of this job, beyond the people we get to meet, is the facilities. All of the core OEMs have a “place” that is exclusive, away from anything normal, and you gotta know someone to get a ticket in.

That’s what the “What It’s Like” series is about. Those certain OEM places with no doors open to the public. Those places that if you happened to sneak in, there is no way you can Fletch your way around into two steak sandwiches and a bloody mary.

I never admit this, but I used to manage a night club in Los Angeles called Les Deux (it was cool for a minute). It was a fun although soul-sucking endeavor but the thing that made the experience stick out was the exclusivity of it. If you got in by knowing someone, greased the door guy (me), or got invited, it was four hours of awesome. Yes, it’s a lame example, but there is, unfortunately, something about getting to the other side of a closed door that is just awesome.

TaylorMade Golf’s Kingdom is location No. 1, and as you would expect, it’s nothing short of pure golf ecstasy.

My Experience

I have been to TaylorMade HQ quite a number of times, and typically those visits involve time at what I call the gear junkie mecca (short of Tiger Woods’ garage or the Nike Oven graveyard now called Artisan) AKA The Kingdom.

The coolest thing about it is how subtle the location is. Located just steps away from the front door of TM HQ (and a very random corporate basketball hoop) sits a small-yet-elegant building that if you didn’t know was there, you would fly past it. Once you pull into the side parking lot, unload your sticks, and head to the door, there is still that feeling of “will they actually let me in?”

Here’s the thing. The best (all of them) have been in here. To test, practice, hang out, get fit, get wowed to potentially be on staff and everything in-between. A schmuck like me should get nervous, but then it happens, the door opens and you are not only let in but you are greeted by the master of ceremonies and a man I truly adore Tom “TK” Kroll.

With the passion to match not only yours but anyone else who walks in, he makes sure every nuance is seen and experienced. From the lobby with current TM athletes on the wall to the locker room with your custom locker that sits next to an exact replica of Tiger’s bag. There are snacks, extras shoes, gloves, swag, coffee, beer, and all your wildest dreams…and we are barely in the facility.

From a 35,000 foot view, The Kingdom has everything a golfer would ever want, need, or wish for. Starting with Duane Anderson’s putter studio that has tested thousands of strokes from players ranging from a 20 handicap to Rory McIlroy. The data compiled in this room is staggering. We did a video (link below) that gives you the full rundown.

There are three (one with an Iron Byron for testing) main inside hitting bays with all the bells and whistles you would assume. TrackMans, cameras, big screens, fresh gloves hanging on the wall, and a club fitting matrix with every TM combination you could think of.

The outside hitting area is heaven on earth. There is no other way to describe. Huge hitting area with multiple styles of grass, lies, pins, etc. Any shot you would need to hit can be recreated here on grass with a ball flying into the air and not into a screen. My favorite area is the Flick Tee. In honor of the great teacher and longtime TM staffer Jim Flick. Its tucked up high and privately in the corner of the range under a tree and this may sound ridiculous but you can almost feel Mr. Flick standing there with you as you look out onto the facility. I get goosebumps just thinking about it.

As mentioned, the man who manages your experience is Tom Kroll. He’s about as respected and beloved as anyone in the industry and for good reason. You combine passion with service you get an awesome human to hang out with. Everyone that has been through these doors has a TK story, which includes a chuckle and a smile.

I chatted with him recently about The Kingdom, and this is what he had to say.

JW: Walk me through how The Kingdom came to be what it is now? Basically origin to current day…

TK: Back in 1994, I was in R&D, running player testing, and we needed to find our own testing range. We built our headquarters in Carlsbad in the 1990s and added the range in 1998. Only robot, cannon and player testing were done at the start. Once in a while, a tour or staff pro would come out and test, but it was all operated from one building. At the time, what’s currently the clubhouse at The Kingdom was actually a maintenance building. But in 2010, The Kingdom was reimagined to the layout we have now.

Over the last three years I’ve been at The Kingdom, we’ve added GEARS, Quintic high-speed cameras, and a Foresight simulator bay. We transformed the putting lab with a Perfection Platforms articulating floor and SAM technology. Last year we resurfaced the main tee, redesigned and dedicated the Flick Tee, underwent a complete renovation of the short game area with new bunker complexes, redesigned the targeting downrange, and developed a par-3 routing. We partnered with Kurt Bowman Design, a longtime designer under Jack Nicklaus.

Our superintendent Mark Warren and his crew have done incredible work with our current maintenance equipment, and I can’t wait to see the conditions after we deliver a brand new fleet of brand new Toro equipment. We structured a long-term partnership with Toro and Turf Star Western.

JW: What is the simple function of The Kingdom? 

TK: We still have the robot bay and R&D does development work almost every day. We are mostly a resource for the entire company: Global Sports Marketing (Tour), developmental pros and ams, AJGA standouts, our Crusaders (club professionals), and commercial teams. We host pre-lines to introduce new product to our at-large teams and training events. We’re even a PR resource, hosting media, social influencers, celebrities, and professional athletes.

We also act as a hub for our Crusaders. They send their members to us, and we wholesale back to the staff account. I’ll do a significant amount of corporate events, charity events and have had “Flicks at The Kingdom” where we set up a giant projector and our employees bring their kids, beach chairs and blankets to watch a movie out on the range. Really a fun and cool event.

JW: Give me three awesome stories or experiences from your time there that you are cool sharing.

TK: It’s tough to only pick three! From Reggie Jackson stopping by to Matt Ryan, Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Albert Pujols, Mike Trout, Jake Arrieta, Zack Greinke, President Bush. Those may be the most haughty name drops of all time! What can I say, it is beyond the coolest job I have ever had! It’s truly tough to pick, but here are my three…

Story 1: Tiger was preparing to make his first PGA Tour start after fusion surgery and he just spends the day grinding out here. He was testing an early proto of the TW irons and to see how much speed he still had. There’s a sound that only he and maybe two or three others make when they center it up. That sound is something that goes through your body, I can still hear it. It sticks with you.

He’s playing old school lofts, which are three degrees weaker than any other tour pro, but the carry distances were still there, the windows he hits it through, holding it against the wind, flighting a 6-iron even ripping a 5-wood 275 yards. His feedback and ability to discern the most minute details working with the advanced teams developing the irons was fantastic to witness.

To come full circle, I played with him in the Southern Cal Amateur when he was 16-years-old and had a front-row to his 62 at Hacienda, I was keeping his scorecard so he has my autograph. To again be standing three feet from him while he goes through the process is just special.

Story 2: I’m going to put two guys in the same bucket (because The Kingdom is so magical, I hope the golf gods are okay with it). Rory now spends a day out here the week of Farmers–he has for the last two years, and with the U.S. Open there 2021, I think he’s a lock for the next few. He went through two sets of irons in a wind quartering off the right at 20-25 mph. The consistency of launch, speed and spin were shockingly close! It was one of the greatest ball-striking exhibitions I’ve ever witnessed. We handpicked the range after his day, it took us 10 minutes He’s also the most gracious, down to earth person.

Jon Rahm stops by five or six times a year. To watch his sessions in the putting lab, to see Duane show him what’s changing and getting Jon back to baseline and see his confidence, to the 4-iron flop shots after we tell our Seve stories. Jon is part of the family. His brother and dad came out before Jon and Kelly’s wedding. He’s one of the two or three others where the sound goes through you.

Story 3: Has to be Operation Game On (OGO). We have partnered with  Tony Perez for over 15 years, we are the cherry on top of a 6-10 week program where wounded veterans take lessons and the graduation is a fitting at The Kingdom. I had a dear friend, Joe Horowitz, who’s a golfer and a musician, here late one day and I mentioned the OGO guys were coming the next day. It’s Veteran’s Day and the Marine Corps Birthday. Not to mention Jon Rahm would be here for a last tweak before he left for Dubai. Joe shows me a video of him singing the national anthem at the Jaguars game a few weeks before, and we both say let’s do that for the OGO guys. I get in early and send an email to all employees to be on the tee at 9 a.m. sharp. We have the OGO guys arrive and Jon is hanging in the locker room. I’m stalling to get all the employees onto the tee through the side gate, I walk the boys into the bay and hit the roll up door. Outside are 250 employees cheering these guys on! Joe sings the anthem (goose bumps every time), then happy birthday to Jon and the marine corps. There’s fittings, a pizza truck, Jon Rahm signed U.S. Open staff bags for the OGO boys. Then, get this, Jon goes on and wins that week in Dubai!

JW: If you could change anything about the property or the experience what would it be?

TK: At TaylorMade, the relentless pursuit of improving is in our DNA. The Kingdom is no different. We’re constantly innovating and reimagining the downrange experience. From targeting, to conditions and turf types, we’re always nuancing and squeaking out ways to be better. One example, we’re designing each of our targets with a specific purpose. When players are testing at The Kingdom, we want them to feel that every shot has a consequence. So, we want to deliver a real-world experience in every testing situation. We went through a massive redesign last fall and are currently still working with the advanced research team on new ways to enhance our testing and fitting experiences to meet the way that players perform in competition.

When it comes to the overall experience, The Kingdom has transformed from a predominantly R&D and fitting facility to the most capable environment to test, measure and understand how equipment performs and how golfers interact with their equipment. I call it the ultimate truth machine. We help golfers at every level uncover the insights they need to improve. After each session, we’re going to know everything about the club, the player and the ball flight.

So we came from a place where we were mainly focused on research, fitting, and selling. Our goals have changed. Now we obsess over how to help golfers get better.

What would I change? If you’re curious and passionate about making change, the answers are out there. The first thing we do is listen. We’re going to change everything that needs to be changed in order to meet our goals. I have an incredible focus group to bounce ideas off of. To ask our tour pros, club professionals, and teachers for feedback on the design ideas and what they like and prefer is fortunate. We’re constantly learning, we’re constantly improving, and if there’s a better way do something, then we’re going to figure it out and do it.

JW: What does the kingdom look like in 10 years?

TK: We have a lot of incredible plans for new targeting, bunker complexes, and refining the purposeful design of the range and short game area. Beyond that, we have designs for new teeing areas, a new short game complex, adding another GEARS system and Foresight Simulator, along with other new technologies. I can’t disclose all we do, since the R&D guys get a bit jumpy when I start going on about all the cool stuff and high science! I don’t know exactly what The Kingdom looks like in 10 years as technologies and our understanding continue to improve, but I do know give me six months, and we’ll have done something new. Always grinding to get better!

JW: Tell me a little bit about your career at TaylorMade.

TK: 31 years is hard to do in a “little bit” but I’ll try to give you the Clif Notes! Bob Vokey ran our Tour department and had me running his repair shop in Vista after George Willett took a job driving the Tour truck for TaylorMade. I was refinishing wooden clubs and repairing clubs for the local country clubs. I told Bob I was going broke making $4.50 an hour and driving all over San Diego. I asked if he could get me a job at TaylorMade and I started on the custom line with Wade Liles! Get to work at 2 p.m., off at 1 a.m. and golf in the morning. It was the life! Not to mention, I was lucky enough to meet my wife who worked for the company.

I started our player testing and worked for the great Dr. Benoit Vincent–the smartest man I know. I was a pretty good player, and I played a bunch of USGA and national amateur events. But when I did a TV commercial, I lost my amateur status and made the decision to turn pro. I quit my job and started that journey. Our CEO wanted me to take a leavem and I said: “I need to be all-in on this.” I had two children, a mortgage, car payments and had to buy health insurance while getting through all three stages of Q School. I realized I was a better amateur than a tour pro. We had our third child, and then I got the sales rep job in San Diego. After 10 years of sales, I moved inside the building and the ran innovations department before taking over our metalwoods category when we hit our highest market share in history. I spent a few years in product creation, ran global experiential for a few years and then got the best gig in all of golf here at The Kingdom. Been here for three years, and we’re just getting started!

Your Reaction?
  • 63
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW8
  • LOL4
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

Puma Golf teams up with Ernie Els in support of Autism Awareness Month

Published

on

Puma X Els Autism

April is National Autism Awareness Month, and Puma Golf has teamed up with ambassador Ernie Els in support of the Els for Autism Foundation.

Throughout April, Puma will donate a portion of every individual sale of the brand’s Ignite Pwradapt Caged shoes with the proceeds going towards the Els for Autism Foundation.

Puma X Els Autism

Every pair of Caged shoes sold this month will include a blue Els for Autism shoe bag and puzzle piece ribbon lapel pin – with the color blue and the puzzle pieces representing Autism Awareness.

Puma X Els Autism

The Els for Autism Foundation helps deliver and facilitate programs designed to serve individuals with autism spectrum disorder. You can purchase the shoes here.

Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending