Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Titleist 714 AP1 and AP2 Irons: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: The ultra forgiving long irons and compact short irons make the new AP1’s one of the most attractive sets in their category. The 714 AP2 irons offer even better looks and feel than previous models, and their progressive design (lower CG long irons, stronger-lofted short irons) give them the distance previous models lacked.

Cons: The AP1 long irons will still be a bit clunky for some golfers. And the AP2’s steep price tag, $1099, will have price-conscious buyers looking elsewhere.

Bottom Line: Titleist engineers had a very difficult task: improve what many golfers believed to be the leaders in their respective segments. The AP1’s build on their strengths with the game-improvement crowd, giving golfers a set of irons with more distance, forgiveness and a cleaner look. And the changes to new AP2’s set the bar even higher for what just might be the best forged cavity-back irons in golf.

Overview

There’s no doubt that Titleist’s 712 AP1 irons were a solid option for golfers looking for help with their consistency and distance. That was proved by sales of the irons, which in 2013 became Titleist’s No. 1-selling model. But there’s no more competitive iron segment than the game-improvement category, which is why Titleist took great care to make its fourth generation of the AP1 irons its best yet.

077b86b0db1747a52d9e6f2f43ff6b7b

As a result, the AP1 714 irons underwent an extensive redesign. Titleist added an additional undercut underneath the top line, which created more discretionary weight. That weight was then moved low and deep in the iron heads, lowering the irons’ already low center of gravity (CG) to offer a higher flight for more distance and forgiveness. Titleist also narrowed the soles of the short irons, and made the faces thicker to raise the irons’ CG. That gives the short irons a more compact look, solid feel and penetrating trajectory that’s aided by their slightly strengthened lofts.

36df35b2800431b8f9b3454793c9981a

714 AP2 irons

If you follow golf equipment trends on the PGA Tour, you probably already know how ubiquitous forged irons are in the bags of touring professionals. The reasons are obvious: forged irons produce more consistent feel and distance control than any other alternative. That allows skilled golfers to execute shots that do exactly what they want them to do.

2014 titleist ap2

Since their introduction in 2007, the AP2 series has been almost synonymous with “players irons.” Previous AP2 models have been recognized as a leader in combining feel and control without sacrificing distance.

2Y9G0013

Better players were also attracted to the AP2’s ability to deliver a higher trajectory than one-piece forged irons, which resulted in longer carries and softer landings.

[youtube id=”8rXicAUQbZ0″ width=”620″ height=”360″]

The engineers at Titleist listened to the army of tour players and better amateurs who had embraced previous models, but wanted even more from the irons. To make them look better, they changed the hosel blend to minimize the visible offset. And the set was made to be even more progressive, with lower CG long irons and thinner-soled short irons that could be mistaken for blades at address.

titleist ap2 2014

Above: Photo of the new 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right).

The sole design was improved in both the long and short irons with the addition of what Titleist Wedge master Bob Vokey calls a “pre-worn” leading edge, which helps improve turf interaction from tight lies. And what was an already attractive iron was bettered with a new combo satin-and-mirrored finish to reduce glare at address without sacrificing bag appeal.

2Y9G0020

Photos: 5 iron soles of the 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right).

2Y9G0023

Above: A 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right) at address (both 5 irons). 

Pricing and Availability

The AP1 and AP2 irons will be available at retail on Nov. 8. The AP1 irons will sell for $799 with True Temper’s XP 95 steel shafts, and $999 with Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 65 graphite shafts. The AP2 irons will cost $1099 with True Temper Dynamic Gold steel shafts.

Performance

[youtube id=”e2uNO_hp164″ width=”620″ height=”360″]

714 AP1

For a committed blade fan, the following may seem somewhat surprising: I found the 714 AP1’s a joy to play. This AP1 seems to have successfully avoided the problems that I’ve had with other game-improvement irons. I will discuss looks the next section, but let me say that the look of the AP1’s added to my enjoyment of the club. They just doesn’t look like GI clubs, and they don’t play like other game-improvement irons, either.

All GI designs aim to help golfers increase distance, but the AP1’s might be the best at producing playable trajectories and (here’s the key) a somewhat traditional feel. My sessions with the AP1’s showed just how much distance I was leaving on the table with my forged irons. That was particularly evident in “less-than-perfect” shots. My misses are typically thin and toward the toe, and there was a very noticeable difference with the 714 AP1 irons at providing almost no distance loss.

But the biggest differences I noticed between the new AP1’s and other distance irons was their consistent accuracy. I was stunned at the ability of the AP1’s to hold my line. It was such a pleasant surprise that I had a very brief urge to ask myself if I was ready to change my preconceived ideas about GI clubs.

714-AP1-to-MB-photo-1

Above: A 714 AP1 iron, compared the Titleist’s 714 MB “blade” irons. 

The only downside I encountered, as expected, was in the areas of appearance and workability. It was somewhat difficult to keep shots down with the AP1’s, but then again, I had very little problem getting a ball into the air, even with the long irons. With some practice, I had luck hitting knock down 7-iron shots, but I didn’t completely conquer the wedge. It was just too much larger than the blades I grew up hitting into greens, and much less workable.

714 AP2 

62914a1ef96375119b354f2999c1b1ff

The 714 AP2 irons were very easy to align, given their blade-like profile. And I did not find them to be overly large at address, especially compared to the 714 AP1’s.

As you might expect, the AP1 irons were more forgiving than the AP2’s. However, the differences were not as great as one might expect. While the AP2’s were somewhat punishing on distance forgiveness, they held their lines remarkably well. But shots hit fat and toward the hosel were a little more punishing than those hit with the AP1’s.

I did see a slight difference in distance between the AP1 7 iron through pitching wedge compared to the AP2’s. The difference was not profound by any means, and was more of a function of loft. The AP1 short irons are 2 degrees stronger than their AP2 counterparts. However, the distance loss is made up somewhat by the additional shot control provided by the AP2. I am not the most skilled iron player, but I was able to work draws and fades with the AP2’s with the same degree of success I am able to achieve with smaller forged irons.

af1b4a5370af06f1706ec6f178208e63

Above: The soles of the AP1 irons get slimmer as the irons get shorter. 

Controlling trajectory is very important in my neck of the woods (or more accurately, lack of woods), because of the ever-present Kansas winds. On this score, I love the AP2’s. Knocking down the AP2 irons is a dream. The shot control, even for this semi-skilled, elderly hacker speaks well for what is possible for the AP2 714s in the hands of a more accomplished player. It also explains in part the success that previous editions of the AP2s have achieved with professional golfers.

I need also to applaud the stock True Temper XP 95 shafts both my the 714 AP1 and AP2 irons came equipped with. I am of the age where swing speed is declining, so distance and accuracy are important. The lighter (15g less than the TT Dynalite Gold XPs) XP 95s were a welcome alternative to graphite for me. I loved the stability and accuracy I experienced with the shaft.

Looks and Feel

84d9018c4b4ecc0bd9f29bee675b245a

Above: A 714 AP1 3 iron at address.

While golf clubs are not designed to be beautiful, they are designed to sell. Whether golfers actually play pretty clubs or not, we all appreciate equipment that looks pretty enough to be hung on the wall.

It is clear that Titleist had this in mind with the redesigned AP1 irons. They added a striking combo satin-and-mirrored finish that sparkles when the clubs are in the bag. The satin finish also removes glare problems at address, and the tastefulness of the AP1 badging avoids the garishness of some other game-improvement clubs.

The profile of the entire club is very professional. The top lines and the soles are wide where they need to be and narrow where they can be. The top lines might get little thick for some golfers in the long irons, but it doesn’t approach the look of a glorified rescue club that many manufacturers are touting.

54827cae66c5cb8257dfe5e48ddf6e23

Above: A 714 AP2 3 iron at address.

I have probably hinted at how impressed I am with the looks and feel of the 714 AP2 irons. I’m not sure I can say much more than I have already said about the wonderful feel of the clubs (and for that matter, the surprisingly good feel of the 714 AP1’s). A pure shot with an AP2 produces a response that is truly “blade-like.” There is “sweetness” about a forged club, and if you are a blade fan you know what I mean. If you have not experienced playing with compact forged iron (and are willing to put up with a little “miss-hit crankiness” from time to time) these AP2’s will explain.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, as the ancient Greeks said long ago. And to me, standing over the 714 AP2 irons is a joy. No wonder they went went straight into the bags of Jason Dufner and Jordan Spieth. They’re not clunky in any way from any angle.

I cannot imagine a set of irons that could look any more beautiful in or out of the bag than the 714 AP2’s. The combo satin-and-mirrored finish produces an understated background that reduces glare at address without giving up the striking gleam that golf equipment aficionados appreciate in their bags.

The Takeaway

post-8942-0-17323100-1377126721_thumb

When I was first learning to play the game, my father made it clear to me that throwing golf clubs was an insult to the game in general and my game tools, in particular. Hitting both the 714 AP1 and AP2 irons drove home this point as few clubs have.

As an aging baby boomer, I am heartened at the tremendous strides Titleist has made in creating a GI iron like the 714 AP1. It promises me that as I continue to get a little slower, a little weaker and a lot less patient with my game, I will be able to hit a club that will help me play to the level of my ability. As a lover of forged golf clubs, I am heartened that there is a club like the 714 AP2’s available to provide show stopping beauty, control and feel while I am still able to enjoy it.

Both offerings are serious tools for serious golfers and should be respected as such. The 714 AP1’s provide additional distance and forgiveness to golfers who are willing to sacrifice some feel and control. As with any other forged club, 714 AP2’s are not the most forgiving clubs you have ever hit (but they may be the most forgiving clubs in their class). However, if forgiveness is not a huge problem because of good ball striking, the sweetness of a well-struck AP2 714 iron shot will reward you. And the striking beauty of both the AP1 and AP2 714s is a wonderful icing on the cake.

Your Reaction?
  • 298
  • LEGIT46
  • WOW27
  • LOL13
  • IDHT13
  • FLOP17
  • OB18
  • SHANK79

Besides being married to the same wonderful woman for more than 40 years, father to two great kids and grandfather to 2.5-plus more, I am a dedicated, life-long golfer. My life's work is being an associate professor of accountancy at a fine midwestern, Catholic university, Newman University in Wichita, Kan. In addition to my teaching responsibilities, I am the academic mentor for the Newman Jet's men's basketball and women's golf teams. Some of most joyful activities also involve writing and reading. GolfWRX has given me incredible opportunities to live out a fantasy that I could never have dreamed of. Because of GolfWRX, I am able to do both about golf, my favorite subject. For that, I give my thanks to Richard, Ryan, Zak and all my teammates at GolfWRX.

53 Comments

53 Comments

  1. craig

    May 30, 2014 at 6:08 pm

    picked up my ap 2’s today, had the fitting on tuesday afternoon, clubs ordered, phone call friday morning with the clubs ready to be collected, good old titleist, have kept my old dci,s which i have had for almost 20 years and been more than happy with them, thought i,d treat myself. had them out for a few holes this evening, spot on.
    purchsed a set of ping i20 irons only 6 months ago and have sent them back after the weights falling out of three of them (7/8/9) the last straw was that they all had started to split on the back edge, i believe that this is a on going problem, very dissapointed these are suppose to be the bee’s being american and all, wonder where they are made ? Titleist all the way for me.

  2. Adam

    Apr 29, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Distance Control Issues?? I’ve played about 15 rounds with the 714 ap2’s after playing blades for the past 4 years (T-MB 710’s- then Mizuno MP69’s). I’ve found that in the short irons, my distances are all over the map. Took the PW out of the bag completely and game my old MB 710. Anybody else seen this? 15 rounds is a fairly small sample, but if it keeps up, I’ll probably keep the 5,4,3 in the bag and go back to a blade to score.

    • Wayne

      Jul 7, 2014 at 5:45 am

      Have used AP2 714 irons for about 3 months. (20-25 rounds)Put them back in my garage! Lost about 1 club distance and even good hits distance was all over the map. 2 handicap player so hitting a few greens usually. Because of distance issues have had to chip and put way more often. Great looking club but not Titleist best effort.

  3. KK

    Apr 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    Not digging the black paint on the AP2. Looks kinda cheap and fragile. Guess it’s S55/I25 for me.

    • JS

      Dec 9, 2014 at 9:37 am

      Ive had my S55 irons since they came out. I cannot separate from them. I sampled the AP2 at a local range and was all over the place. It also felt much heavier then the S55 iron and barely had the same distance.

  4. SWONT

    Apr 28, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Finally have been able to get out with my new AP2 irons. Love the feel of them but not seeing much distance gain over previous Cleveland irons. I also maybe should have gotten a split set with AP1 4, 5 and maybe 6. Short irons are so pure though. Just need some more reps and I will be comfortable.

  5. killerbgolfer

    Apr 2, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    just got my custom AP2s this week. Really solid irons. They look and feel great, and the performance and playability is better than the “blade like” look presents. Another great offering by Titleist.

  6. Pingback: Le sac de Victor Dubuisson | CduGolf

  7. Jim C

    Mar 24, 2014 at 2:00 am

    I’ve been a 11 for the last three years. My wife who is a 25 is a new golfer. We both purchased 714 AP1’s a week ago. We were both fitted. I went standard lie and stock tru tempers. She went lady’s graphite. We played on a very cold windy day. We both played amazing. The irons played so easy. I was hitting par 3’s with in 10 feet. I had two 3 puts on the front 9 and shot a 41. Back 9 a 39. My wife shot 47,43. She improved 15 shots on her average and made me sweat pretty good. I expect 2014 to have me in the single digits handy cap and many rounds in the 70’s thanks to Titleist. Accuracy really made us smile. 🙂

    • chris

      Mar 29, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Just curious what you guys think: I bought the ap1 714s today and they are standard off the shelf. Is this going to be a problem? He watched me hit golf balls and etc…. I’m 6’2″ do you think they should have set me up with longer clubs?

      • Bryan

        Apr 2, 2014 at 8:01 pm

        You do not have to worry about the length of the club. Standard length clubs are used by many taller pro golfers. What you may want to have looked at is the lie angle when you receive your clubs

  8. eastcost

    Mar 4, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I’m still torn between going with the AP1 or AP2. I have my first full season behind me and have been playing all winter still. My handicap is 16, so I’m absolutely in need of improvement – but not sure if I want to go with the AP1. Thoughts?

    • Ed Bonn

      Jun 1, 2014 at 9:58 am

      I was a 14 hdcp when I went to the AP2’s three years ago. I had always played cavity-backed game improvement. Had a tendency to hit toward the toe, but also hit the ball all over the face. I was very concerned about going to AP2’s. I found a Titliest fitting center (who fits for any brand) and we hit balls to an outdoor range first off mats and instruments and then off real grass hitting Pro V1’s. I am 5’10”, 185. From the fitting we went from 1 degree upright to 2 degrees flat and he added a 1/4 inch length due to more flat. I could see as the fitting progressed tHat the ball-striking moved to more and more center. Finally, my ball striking marks were about a nickel in size on the center. With that correction, the pro assuaged any fears I had of moving to a blade-like club. I absolutely love the AP2’s.. They are so balanced I stay on plane better and I can feel the weight of the shaft in the backswing instead of all club head weight. I am now a 7 index (9 hdcp) and attribute that to 1. The fitting, 2. The AP2’s. 3. Short game improvement with Vokey wedges. No regrets here with going AP2’s. My advice: you’re getting ready to sink $1,100 plus tax into clubs; invest $100 in an hour fitting from a real Titleist pro at an outdoor center. You will find that with the right spec’s you won’t need the extra forgiveness of the AP1’s and that the AP2’s do a great job of getting you out of bad lies. The indoor centers tell you very little.

  9. burner42

    Feb 20, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    I just traded in my old 712 AP1’s for a new set of 714 AP1’s. I am a 15 handicap. My old set was standard off the shelf. I really liked them, but this time I got fit before purchasing. The new set is 1.5 inches longer (I am 6’2″) and 3 up with True Temper Regular Flex R300 XP95 Shafts and midsize grips. Between the changes in the fitting and the upgrades Titleist made I am in heaven now! I predict going to a 10 or lower handicap before summers end! These clubs are fantastic! I tried out a set of Taylormade SpeedBlades, and Ping G25 also. The Titleist just felt better to me. I highly recommend them!

  10. John Dolan

    Jan 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    I just ordered mine today! I ordered my 5-P irons in the AP2 714 model and the 3-4 irons in the AP1 T14 model. I am currently a 3 handicap. Weakest part of my game for the past few years has been my long and sometimes mid-irons. For the past 8 years I have been playing the 735 CM models. Am I making a good move??? Thanks

  11. Mitch Oakes

    Dec 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    I got my new 714 AP2 with KBS C-Taper X-Stiff 130 a few weeks ago. Although I have only been able to play them once (Living in MN) they are by far the best irons I have ever hit. Ive spent numerous hours hitting balls in the garage or at indoor facilities and they are so smooth! almost effortless. I could not be more ready for the 2014 golf season and to see how these can help improve my game!

    • paul

      Jun 23, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      I was looking at the same setup that you have with them same shafts. Are you pleased with them to this point?

  12. Ruddy

    Nov 29, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    I am 62yrs, 10-13 index. Played 710 AP1s with Reg NS105T shafts, too soft and high and hooking. Now play JPX825s with S300; mid-flight, contollable trajectory but inconsistent distance due to hot clubfaces and toe contact. Should I go with 714 AP1S or 2s? Stick with TT Dynalite Gold XPs or try the new TT 95 lightweigt shafts? Thanks.

    • John

      Dec 22, 2013 at 3:37 am

      Hi
      You should go to your golf professional and get a club fit for all of the clubs you will then find the right ones for you with the help of your pro who will monitor your swing speed ball speed trajectory dispersion and distance etc etc and also how it feels to you
      Hope this helps

  13. carl

    Nov 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Being new to golf ( 4 months with 10 group lessons ) under my belt. Having been told I have a good swing. Went for my fitting session. And how lovely are the ap2s. Ordered them with kbs regular flex. Cant wait to pick them up. Also got a driver. 2 hybrids wedge and a scotty Newport putter. Money well spent.

  14. John

    Nov 21, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Just played my first 27 holes on my new 714 AP2’s with the KBS Tour R+ shafts. Awesome feel when struck correctly, good feedback and less than punishing shots when slightly mishit.

    These clubs are delicious and I can’t wait to add the SM5’s to the mix this spring!!

    13/14 handi and dropping!

    • Josh

      Mar 31, 2014 at 11:07 pm

      SM5’s are on point

    • Woody

      Oct 1, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      I don’t know what you had previously to the AP 2’s but did you notice any distance loss? I seem to be hitting my 714 AP 2’s at least a club shorter than my 710 AP 1’s, even on well struck shots. I can’t figure it out.

  15. tim

    Nov 7, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    My 714 AP!’s were delivered today. xp shafts, Plus half inch, swingweight to D1,soft stepped 1….they are awesome.

  16. John McDonnell

    Nov 7, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    Trying to decide between 714 AP 1 & AP 2. Presently playing Ping i3 blades but looking to upgrade to something more forgiving. I’m a 5.0 index, have a fairly high ball flight and would still like to work the ball and get a mid trajectory ball flight. Any recommendations between the AP1 & AP2.

    • John

      Nov 21, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      AP2 all the way………….:) If you’re a 5, not sure the AP1 still applies, seems a bit like a step toward super game improvement which a 5 shouldn’t need.

  17. jgpl001

    Oct 30, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I have gamed the 710 AP2’s and 712 AP2’s and just couldn’t get on with either and went swiftly back to my 710MB’s. I am a real sweeper, but am starting to age and play less. On the good days the mb’s are perfect, but some days recently are making me re-think, so I will take a look again. I just hope the sole is really narrower and the offset is not as noticable. Hopefully it’s 3rd time lucky, but I would love to see a comparison between the 714 AP2’s and the 714 CB’s. Any chance of a test/comparison?

    • bob

      Apr 25, 2014 at 11:46 am

      Have you tried some of the game improvement clubs like the cobra s3? If you are getting up in years or not playing as much, it will bring some confidence back.

  18. John Aiello

    Oct 29, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Got fitted today and went with the AP1 with graphite. The biggest thing for me was the forgiveness on mis-hits. No real loss of distance and the ball just wants to stay online. I went in wanting the AP2 with steel and walked out with an order for AP1 with graphite. The numbers were there as was the performance. I am going to miss the AP2 but I won’t mis the distance loss on off center hits.

    • Rich

      Oct 31, 2013 at 8:27 pm

      Is this John aiello from spring valley

    • Charlie

      Jan 25, 2014 at 12:55 am

      Agreed !!! Bought mine today! The only thing I didn’t like is that I have to wait for them to be delivered 😉 Can’t wait to get them !!

  19. HackWack

    Oct 28, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Got fitted and ordered 714-AP1’s with KBS C-tapers S-flex. Feel wise, there was very little difference between the AP1 and AP2. The new AP1 is very close to a forged feel when fit with the correct shaft. The size of the head is on the smaller side for a “GI” iron. I think someone like myself (9 index) still doesnt have the ball striking ablility to use the AP2 as it was designed and would be more of an ego thing.

    When I get to the point where the new AP1’s are too easy to hit or I can’t hit my normal draw and 2 times a round fade, i will think about moving to forged clubs.

  20. stuart sackowitz

    Oct 28, 2013 at 7:44 am

    when can we order custom sets…..Can’t wait…..question I want to try the kbs c taper shafts….Im 60 years old and still play project X 6.5….index 3.8….hit a 7 iron 175-180…..should I go x or s+ in the kbs…..Thanks for the info
    Stu

  21. TL

    Oct 27, 2013 at 11:53 am

    I am a 62 y.o. 5.7 index and have alternately played Mizuno JPX pro and Titleist 710 AP2 and 712 AP1 on and off for the last few years.
    Just demo’d the new 714’s and they are both a big jump forward in terms of looks and forgiveness. During the heat of the summer here in NE Ohio I usually play the thinner soled AP2 for better contact on tighter lies and don’t need as much distance with more roll, but the rest of the year, its the AP1–and the 714 AP1 feels like a forged club. Buttery feel on contact, same accuracy, higher ball flight, incredibly easy to get the ball in the air. Could barely distinguish thin or toe mishits from pure shots. Importantly, 5-7 yards longer than AP2! I will definitely be trading in my 712’s for 714’s. I am done with Mizuno–much harsher, shorter, and less forgiving.

  22. adan

    Oct 21, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I have the original AP-1’s from 2007 and I’ve been looking to upgrade. I’m a 15 hdcp that strikes the ball OK. I wonder if I could get away with the AP-2’s… Maybe a combo set?

    • Steve

      Oct 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm

      Please, stick with the AP1’s; being a 15 hdcp, you’ll love playing the 1’s more because of them being “game improvement” irons. The 2’s are more of a “players” iron; you’ve got to have game to consistently hit them.

    • KK

      Oct 24, 2013 at 4:14 pm

      Anyone in the teens can hit AP2 PW-7 iron. These are supposed to be as forgiving as the original AP1 so the only problem would be finding the right lofts for gapping.

  23. johnny 13-14

    Oct 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Had a chance to hit the 714 AP2’s, I’ll be ordering a set with some KBS Tour shafts as soon as I have the coin!

    I’m a 13-14 handicap, down from 20+ only a year ago and dropping still. I’m coming off some SGI type irons that have been amazing but, now that I do have a little skill to shape and play with trajectory changes, not to mention wanting a smaller more elegant and forged head, I’d been looking at 714 AP2 and the Mizuno MP-54.

    Both the Miz-MP54 and the Titleist-AP2 are forged, more player shaped, yet forgiving to some degree. I had a hard time choosing between the MP54 and the 712-AP2 but, the new 714 AP2’s are simply a joy to strike and I was able to carry the long irons 5-10yds further.

    Keep up the good work Titleist, I’ll be ordering up some SM5 Vokey wedges come January too!!!! Can’t rock my Clevelands with those new shiny AP2’s in the bag!!

  24. Joe G

    Oct 20, 2013 at 2:14 am

    I hit these at the Titleist fitting center in Oceanside CA last week and they are beautiful. I was fitted with pxi 6.0 and can’t wait for them to arrive on November 8!!

  25. Stuart

    Oct 19, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    John:
    Any chance you could compare the AP1s with the new TM SpeedBlades? They both appear to be directed at the same level of golfer (i.e., me/over 50, 12.5 index) and I would be interested in your views as to their relative strengths and weaknesses.
    Thank you!

  26. G

    Oct 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Co-FORGED!

  27. Geoffrey

    Oct 19, 2013 at 11:13 am

    The AP2s look gorgeous. I have never wanted to spend the money required to play them. However, I may rethink. As a lefty, finding a forged CB players club isn’t an easy thing. Titleist has long supported lefties in a way no other OEM has. Maybe Callaway, but I have never liked the look of their clubs. That’s just me… Job well done, Titleist. And thank you for looking out for us lefties. You make very club available.

  28. Tylerwigs

    Oct 19, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Why no shaft options? at that price, for DG stocks is ridiculous. At least offer, Sensicore.

    • alex

      Oct 19, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      KBS tours are $8 extra a club, which is not really that bad

    • MB

      Oct 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

      Sensicore?!?! What is this 2001? If you look at the custom options on the website, Titleist offers more custom shaft choices than any other OEM straight from the factory. People please, don’t buy stock off the shelf….get fit, order a custom set, play better. Launch monitors, impact tape, and seeing your ball flight don’t lie. There is too much technology and resources available to the general public today to not get the very best equipment FOR you.

  29. Jack

    Oct 18, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Wonder if they are worth an upgrade over the 712 AP2s?

    • Billy

      Oct 19, 2013 at 12:10 am

      I only see the camber as a sort of new feature, but i’d stick to 710 or 712. Nothing wrong with them.

      • Jack

        Oct 20, 2013 at 10:58 pm

        Yeah, I like my AP2’s alot. Perfect balance of forgiveness, feel, and workability for me. I think I will just stick with these for a while until they are worn down.

    • mcca

      Oct 26, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Thought the same thing, i just can’t see that big of improvement i’ll stick with my AP2 712 since i did get the KBS Tour shafts in them.

  30. mwmilk123

    Oct 18, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    star envy….

  31. naflack

    Oct 18, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Five stars…?
    So much for being bought and sold by Taylormade. 🙂

  32. Punkie Simpson

    Oct 18, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    I too live in Kansas and I ordered the 714 AP2 irons with the TT XP 95 shaft as it gave me a more boring flight than KBS tour,dynamic gold,It also gave a softer feel.Your article is spot on Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 133
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending