Don't miss

Titleist 714 AP1 and AP2 Irons: Editor Review

by   |   October 18, 2013
titleist ap2
Titleist 714 AP1 and AP2 Irons: Editor Review George Smith
Performance
Looks and Feel

Summary: The 714 AP1 and AP2 irons irons are worthy successors to Titleist's game-changing AP iron series.

5

Better in every way


See It Amazon.com

Pros: The ultra forgiving long irons and compact short irons make the new AP1′s one of the most attractive sets in their category. The 714 AP2 irons offer even better looks and feel than previous models, and their progressive design (lower CG long irons, stronger-lofted short irons) give them the distance previous models lacked.

Cons: The AP1 long irons will still be a bit clunky for some golfers. And the AP2′s steep price tag, $1099, will have price-conscious buyers looking elsewhere.

Bottom Line: Titleist engineers had a very difficult task – improve what many golfers believed to be the leaders in their respective segments. The AP1′s build on their strengths with the game-improvement crowd, giving golfers a set of irons with more distance, forgiveness and a cleaner look. And the changes to new AP2′s set the bar even higher for what just might be the best forged cavity-back irons in golf.

Overview

There’s no doubt that Titleist’s 712 AP1 irons were a solid option for golfers looking for help with their consistency and distance. That was proved by sales of the irons, which in 2013 became Titleist’s No. 1-selling model. But there’s no more competitive iron segment than the game-improvement category, which is why Titleist took great care to make its fourth generation of the AP1 irons its best yet.

077b86b0db1747a52d9e6f2f43ff6b7b

As a result, the AP1 714 irons underwent an extensive redesign. Titleist added an additional undercut underneath the top line, which created more discretionary weight. That weight was then moved low and deep in the iron heads, lowering the irons’ already low center of gravity (CG) to offer a higher flight for more distance and forgiveness. Titleist also narrowed the soles of the short irons, and made the faces thicker to raise the irons’ CG. That gives the short irons a more compact look, solid feel and penetrating trajectory that’s aided by their slightly strengthened lofts.

36df35b2800431b8f9b3454793c9981a

714 AP2 irons

If you follow golf equipment trends on the PGA Tour, you probably already know how ubiquitous forged irons are in the bags of touring professionals. The reasons are obvious: forged irons produce more consistent feel and distance control than any other alternative. That allows skilled golfers to execute shots that do exactly what they want them to do.

2014 titleist ap2

Since their introduction in 2007, the AP2 series has been almost synonymous with “players irons.” Previous AP2 models have been recognized as a leader in combining feel and control without sacrificing distance.

2Y9G0013

Better players were also attracted to the AP2’s ability to deliver a higher trajectory than one-piece forged irons, which resulted in longer carries and softer landings.

The engineers at Titleist listened to the army of tour players and better amateurs who had embraced previous models, but wanted even more from the irons. To make them look better, they changed the hosel blend to minimize the visible offset. And the set was made to be even more progressive, with lower CG long irons and thinner-soled short irons that could be mistaken for blades at address.

titleist ap2 2014

Above: Photo of the new 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right).

The sole design was improved in both the long and short irons with the addition of what Titleist Wedge master Bob Vokey calls a “pre-worn” leading edge, which helps improve turf interaction from tight lies. And what was an already attractive iron was bettered with a new combo satin-and-mirrored finish to reduce glare at address without sacrificing bag appeal.

2Y9G0020

Photos: 5 iron soles of the 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right).

2Y9G0023

Above: A 714 AP2 (left) and the 712 AP2 (right) at address (both 5 irons). 

Pricing and Availability

The AP1 and AP2 irons will be available at retail on Nov. 8. The AP1 irons will sell for $799 with True Temper’s XP 95 steel shafts, and $999 with Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 65 graphite shafts. The AP2 irons will cost $1099 with True Temper Dynamic Gold steel shafts.

Performance

714 AP1

For a committed blade fan, the following may seem somewhat surprising: I found the 714 AP1′s a joy to play. This AP1 seems to have successfully avoided the problems that I’ve had with other game-improvement irons. I will discuss looks the next section, but let me say that the look of the AP1′s added to my enjoyment of the club. They just doesn’t look like GI clubs, and they don’t play like other game-improvement irons, either.

All GI designs aim to help golfers increase distance, but the AP1′s might be the best at producing playable trajectories and (here’s the key) a somewhat traditional feel. My sessions with the AP1′s showed just how much distance I was leaving on the table with my forged irons. That was particularly evident in “less-than-perfect” shots. My misses are typically thin and toward the toe, and there was a very noticeable difference with the 714 AP1 irons at providing almost no distance loss.

But the biggest differences I noticed between the new AP1′s and other distance irons was their consistent accuracy. I was stunned at the ability of the AP1′s to hold my line. It was such a pleasant surprise that I had a very brief urge to ask myself if I was ready to change my preconceived ideas about GI clubs.

714-AP1-to-MB-photo-1

Above: A 714 AP1 iron, compared the Titleist’s 714 MB “blade” irons. 

The only downside I encountered, as expected, was in the areas of appearance and workability. It was somewhat difficult to keep shots down with the AP1′s, but then again, I had very little problem getting a ball into the air, even with the long irons. With some practice, I had luck hitting knock down 7-iron shots, but I didn’t completely conquer the wedge. It was just too much larger than the blades I grew up hitting into greens, and much less workable.

714 AP2 

62914a1ef96375119b354f2999c1b1ff

The 714 AP2 irons were very easy to align, given their blade-like profile. And I did not find them to be overly large at address, especially compared to the 714 AP1′s.

As you might expect, the AP1 irons were more forgiving than the AP2′s. However, the differences were not as great as one might expect. While the AP2′s were somewhat punishing on distance forgiveness, they held their lines remarkably well. But shots hit fat and toward the hosel were a little more punishing than those hit with the AP1′s.

I did see a slight difference in distance between the AP1 7 iron through pitching wedge compared to the AP2′s. The difference was not profound by any means, and was more of a function of loft. The AP1 short irons are 2 degrees stronger than their AP2 counterparts. However, the distance loss is made up somewhat by the additional shot control provided by the AP2. I am not the most skilled iron player, but I was able to work draws and fades with the AP2′s with the same degree of success I am able to achieve with smaller forged irons.

af1b4a5370af06f1706ec6f178208e63

Above: The soles of the AP1 irons get slimmer as the irons get shorter. 

Controlling trajectory is very important in my neck of the woods (or more accurately, lack of woods), because of the ever-present Kansas winds. On this score, I love the AP2′s. Knocking down the AP2 irons is a dream. The shot control, even for this semi-skilled, elderly hacker speaks well for what is possible for the AP2 714s in the hands of a more accomplished player. It also explains in part the success that previous editions of the AP2s have achieved with professional golfers.

I need also to applaud the stock True Temper XP 95 shafts both my the 714 AP1 and AP2 irons came equipped with. I am of the age where swing speed is declining, so distance and accuracy are important. The lighter (15g less than the TT Dynalite Gold XPs) XP 95s were a welcome alternative to graphite for me. I loved the stability and accuracy I experienced with the shaft.

Looks and Feel

84d9018c4b4ecc0bd9f29bee675b245a

714 AP1 – Above: A 714 AP1 3 iron at address.

While golf clubs are not designed to be beautiful, they are designed to sell. Whether golfers actually play pretty clubs or not, we all appreciate equipment that looks pretty enough to be hung on the wall.

It is clear that Titleist had this in mind with the redesigned AP1 irons. They added a striking combo satin-and-mirrored finish that sparkles when the clubs are in the bag. The satin finish also removes glare problems at address, and the tastefulness of the AP1 badging avoids the garishness of some other game-improvement clubs.

The profile of the entire club is very professional. The top lines and the soles are wide where they need to be and narrow where they can be. The top lines might get little thick for some golfers in the long irons, but it doesn’t approach the look of a glorified rescue club that many manufacturers are touting.

54827cae66c5cb8257dfe5e48ddf6e23

714 AP2 – Above: A 714 AP2 3 iron at address.

I have probably hinted at how impressed I am with the looks and feel of the 714 AP2 irons. I’m not sure I can say much more than I have already said about the wonderful feel of the clubs (and for that matter, the surprisingly good feel of the 714 AP1′s). A pure shot with an AP2 produces a response that is truly “blade-like.” There is “sweetness” about a forged club, and if you are a blade fan you know what I mean. If you have not experienced playing with compact forged iron (and are willing to put up with a little “miss-hit crankiness” from time to time) these AP2′s will explain.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, as the ancient Greeks said long ago. And to me, standing over the 714 AP2 irons is a joy. No wonder they went went straight into the bags of Jason Dufner and Jordan Spieth. They’re not clunky in any way from any angle.

I cannot imagine a set of irons that could look any more beautiful in or out of the bag than the 714 AP2′s. The combo satin-and-mirrored finish produces an understated background that reduces glare at address without giving up the striking gleam that golf equipment aficionados appreciate in their bags.

The Takeaway

post-8942-0-17323100-1377126721_thumb

When I was first learning to play the game, my father made it clear to me that throwing golf clubs was an insult to the game in general and my game tools, in particular. Hitting both the 714 AP1 and AP2 irons drove home this point as few clubs have.

As an aging baby boomer, I am heartened at the tremendous strides Titleist has made in creating a GI iron like the 714 AP1. It promises me that as I continue to get a little slower, a little weaker and a lot less patient with my game, I will be able to hit a club that will help me play to the level of my ability. As a lover of forged golf clubs, I am heartened that there is a club like the 714 AP2′s available to provide show stopping beauty, control and feel while I am still able to enjoy it.

Both offerings are serious tools for serious golfers and should be respected as such. The 714 AP1′s provide additional distance and forgiveness to golfers who are willing to sacrifice some feel and control. As with any other forged club, 714 AP2′s are not the most forgiving clubs you have ever hit (but they may be the most forgiving clubs in their class). However, if forgiveness is not a huge problem because of good ball striking, the sweetness of a well-struck AP2 714 iron shot will reward you. And the striking beauty of both the AP1 and AP2 714s is a wonderful icing on the cake.

About

Besides being married to the same wonderful woman for more than 40 years, father to two great kids and grandfather to 2.5-plus more, I am a dedicated, life-long golfer. My life's work is being an associate professor of accountancy at a fine midwestern, Catholic university, Newman University in Wichita, Kan. In addition to my teaching responsibilities, I am the academic mentor for the Newman Jet's men's basketball and women's golf teams.

Some of most joyful activities also involve writing and reading. GolfWRX has given me incredible opportunities to live out a fantasy that I could never have dreamed of. Because of GolfWRX, I am able to do both about golf, my favorite subject. For that, I give my thanks to Richard, Ryan, Zak and all my teammates at GolfWRX.


52 Comments

  1. craig

    May 30, 2014 at 6:08 pm

    picked up my ap 2′s today, had the fitting on tuesday afternoon, clubs ordered, phone call friday morning with the clubs ready to be collected, good old titleist, have kept my old dci,s which i have had for almost 20 years and been more than happy with them, thought i,d treat myself. had them out for a few holes this evening, spot on.
    purchsed a set of ping i20 irons only 6 months ago and have sent them back after the weights falling out of three of them (7/8/9) the last straw was that they all had started to split on the back edge, i believe that this is a on going problem, very dissapointed these are suppose to be the bee’s being american and all, wonder where they are made ? Titleist all the way for me.

  2. Adam

    April 29, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Distance Control Issues?? I’ve played about 15 rounds with the 714 ap2′s after playing blades for the past 4 years (T-MB 710′s- then Mizuno MP69′s). I’ve found that in the short irons, my distances are all over the map. Took the PW out of the bag completely and game my old MB 710. Anybody else seen this? 15 rounds is a fairly small sample, but if it keeps up, I’ll probably keep the 5,4,3 in the bag and go back to a blade to score.

    • Wayne

      July 7, 2014 at 5:45 am

      Have used AP2 714 irons for about 3 months. (20-25 rounds)Put them back in my garage! Lost about 1 club distance and even good hits distance was all over the map. 2 handicap player so hitting a few greens usually. Because of distance issues have had to chip and put way more often. Great looking club but not Titleist best effort.

  3. KK

    April 29, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    Not digging the black paint on the AP2. Looks kinda cheap and fragile. Guess it’s S55/I25 for me.

  4. SWONT

    April 28, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Finally have been able to get out with my new AP2 irons. Love the feel of them but not seeing much distance gain over previous Cleveland irons. I also maybe should have gotten a split set with AP1 4, 5 and maybe 6. Short irons are so pure though. Just need some more reps and I will be comfortable.

  5. killerbgolfer

    April 2, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    just got my custom AP2s this week. Really solid irons. They look and feel great, and the performance and playability is better than the “blade like” look presents. Another great offering by Titleist.

  6. Pingback: Le sac de Victor Dubuisson | CduGolf

  7. Jim C

    March 24, 2014 at 2:00 am

    I’ve been a 11 for the last three years. My wife who is a 25 is a new golfer. We both purchased 714 AP1′s a week ago. We were both fitted. I went standard lie and stock tru tempers. She went lady’s graphite. We played on a very cold windy day. We both played amazing. The irons played so easy. I was hitting par 3′s with in 10 feet. I had two 3 puts on the front 9 and shot a 41. Back 9 a 39. My wife shot 47,43. She improved 15 shots on her average and made me sweat pretty good. I expect 2014 to have me in the single digits handy cap and many rounds in the 70′s thanks to Titleist. Accuracy really made us smile. :)

    • chris

      March 29, 2014 at 10:09 pm

      Just curious what you guys think: I bought the ap1 714s today and they are standard off the shelf. Is this going to be a problem? He watched me hit golf balls and etc…. I’m 6’2″ do you think they should have set me up with longer clubs?

      • Bryan

        April 2, 2014 at 8:01 pm

        You do not have to worry about the length of the club. Standard length clubs are used by many taller pro golfers. What you may want to have looked at is the lie angle when you receive your clubs

  8. eastcost

    March 4, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I’m still torn between going with the AP1 or AP2. I have my first full season behind me and have been playing all winter still. My handicap is 16, so I’m absolutely in need of improvement – but not sure if I want to go with the AP1. Thoughts?

    • Ed Bonn

      June 1, 2014 at 9:58 am

      I was a 14 hdcp when I went to the AP2′s three years ago. I had always played cavity-backed game improvement. Had a tendency to hit toward the toe, but also hit the ball all over the face. I was very concerned about going to AP2′s. I found a Titliest fitting center (who fits for any brand) and we hit balls to an outdoor range first off mats and instruments and then off real grass hitting Pro V1′s. I am 5’10”, 185. From the fitting we went from 1 degree upright to 2 degrees flat and he added a 1/4 inch length due to more flat. I could see as the fitting progressed tHat the ball-striking moved to more and more center. Finally, my ball striking marks were about a nickel in size on the center. With that correction, the pro assuaged any fears I had of moving to a blade-like club. I absolutely love the AP2′s.. They are so balanced I stay on plane better and I can feel the weight of the shaft in the backswing instead of all club head weight. I am now a 7 index (9 hdcp) and attribute that to 1. The fitting, 2. The AP2′s. 3. Short game improvement with Vokey wedges. No regrets here with going AP2′s. My advice: you’re getting ready to sink $1,100 plus tax into clubs; invest $100 in an hour fitting from a real Titleist pro at an outdoor center. You will find that with the right spec’s you won’t need the extra forgiveness of the AP1′s and that the AP2′s do a great job of getting you out of bad lies. The indoor centers tell you very little.

  9. burner42

    February 20, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    I just traded in my old 712 AP1′s for a new set of 714 AP1′s. I am a 15 handicap. My old set was standard off the shelf. I really liked them, but this time I got fit before purchasing. The new set is 1.5 inches longer (I am 6’2″) and 3 up with True Temper Regular Flex R300 XP95 Shafts and midsize grips. Between the changes in the fitting and the upgrades Titleist made I am in heaven now! I predict going to a 10 or lower handicap before summers end! These clubs are fantastic! I tried out a set of Taylormade SpeedBlades, and Ping G25 also. The Titleist just felt better to me. I highly recommend them!

  10. John Dolan

    January 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    I just ordered mine today! I ordered my 5-P irons in the AP2 714 model and the 3-4 irons in the AP1 T14 model. I am currently a 3 handicap. Weakest part of my game for the past few years has been my long and sometimes mid-irons. For the past 8 years I have been playing the 735 CM models. Am I making a good move??? Thanks

  11. Mitch Oakes

    December 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    I got my new 714 AP2 with KBS C-Taper X-Stiff 130 a few weeks ago. Although I have only been able to play them once (Living in MN) they are by far the best irons I have ever hit. Ive spent numerous hours hitting balls in the garage or at indoor facilities and they are so smooth! almost effortless. I could not be more ready for the 2014 golf season and to see how these can help improve my game!

    • paul

      June 23, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      I was looking at the same setup that you have with them same shafts. Are you pleased with them to this point?

  12. Ruddy

    November 29, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    I am 62yrs, 10-13 index. Played 710 AP1s with Reg NS105T shafts, too soft and high and hooking. Now play JPX825s with S300; mid-flight, contollable trajectory but inconsistent distance due to hot clubfaces and toe contact. Should I go with 714 AP1S or 2s? Stick with TT Dynalite Gold XPs or try the new TT 95 lightweigt shafts? Thanks.

    • John

      December 22, 2013 at 3:37 am

      Hi
      You should go to your golf professional and get a club fit for all of the clubs you will then find the right ones for you with the help of your pro who will monitor your swing speed ball speed trajectory dispersion and distance etc etc and also how it feels to you
      Hope this helps

  13. carl

    November 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Being new to golf ( 4 months with 10 group lessons ) under my belt. Having been told I have a good swing. Went for my fitting session. And how lovely are the ap2s. Ordered them with kbs regular flex. Cant wait to pick them up. Also got a driver. 2 hybrids wedge and a scotty Newport putter. Money well spent.

  14. John

    November 21, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Just played my first 27 holes on my new 714 AP2′s with the KBS Tour R+ shafts. Awesome feel when struck correctly, good feedback and less than punishing shots when slightly mishit.

    These clubs are delicious and I can’t wait to add the SM5′s to the mix this spring!!

    13/14 handi and dropping!

    • Josh

      March 31, 2014 at 11:07 pm

      SM5′s are on point

    • Woody

      October 1, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      I don’t know what you had previously to the AP 2′s but did you notice any distance loss? I seem to be hitting my 714 AP 2′s at least a club shorter than my 710 AP 1′s, even on well struck shots. I can’t figure it out.

  15. tim

    November 7, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    My 714 AP!’s were delivered today. xp shafts, Plus half inch, swingweight to D1,soft stepped 1….they are awesome.

  16. John McDonnell

    November 7, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    Trying to decide between 714 AP 1 & AP 2. Presently playing Ping i3 blades but looking to upgrade to something more forgiving. I’m a 5.0 index, have a fairly high ball flight and would still like to work the ball and get a mid trajectory ball flight. Any recommendations between the AP1 & AP2.

    • John

      November 21, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      AP2 all the way………….:) If you’re a 5, not sure the AP1 still applies, seems a bit like a step toward super game improvement which a 5 shouldn’t need.

  17. jgpl001

    October 30, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I have gamed the 710 AP2′s and 712 AP2′s and just couldn’t get on with either and went swiftly back to my 710MB’s. I am a real sweeper, but am starting to age and play less. On the good days the mb’s are perfect, but some days recently are making me re-think, so I will take a look again. I just hope the sole is really narrower and the offset is not as noticable. Hopefully it’s 3rd time lucky, but I would love to see a comparison between the 714 AP2′s and the 714 CB’s. Any chance of a test/comparison?

    • bob

      April 25, 2014 at 11:46 am

      Have you tried some of the game improvement clubs like the cobra s3? If you are getting up in years or not playing as much, it will bring some confidence back.

  18. John Aiello

    October 29, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Got fitted today and went with the AP1 with graphite. The biggest thing for me was the forgiveness on mis-hits. No real loss of distance and the ball just wants to stay online. I went in wanting the AP2 with steel and walked out with an order for AP1 with graphite. The numbers were there as was the performance. I am going to miss the AP2 but I won’t mis the distance loss on off center hits.

    • Rich

      October 31, 2013 at 8:27 pm

      Is this John aiello from spring valley

    • Charlie

      January 25, 2014 at 12:55 am

      Agreed !!! Bought mine today! The only thing I didn’t like is that I have to wait for them to be delivered ;) Can’t wait to get them !!

  19. HackWack

    October 28, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Got fitted and ordered 714-AP1′s with KBS C-tapers S-flex. Feel wise, there was very little difference between the AP1 and AP2. The new AP1 is very close to a forged feel when fit with the correct shaft. The size of the head is on the smaller side for a “GI” iron. I think someone like myself (9 index) still doesnt have the ball striking ablility to use the AP2 as it was designed and would be more of an ego thing.

    When I get to the point where the new AP1′s are too easy to hit or I can’t hit my normal draw and 2 times a round fade, i will think about moving to forged clubs.

  20. stuart sackowitz

    October 28, 2013 at 7:44 am

    when can we order custom sets…..Can’t wait…..question I want to try the kbs c taper shafts….Im 60 years old and still play project X 6.5….index 3.8….hit a 7 iron 175-180…..should I go x or s+ in the kbs…..Thanks for the info
    Stu

  21. TL

    October 27, 2013 at 11:53 am

    I am a 62 y.o. 5.7 index and have alternately played Mizuno JPX pro and Titleist 710 AP2 and 712 AP1 on and off for the last few years.
    Just demo’d the new 714′s and they are both a big jump forward in terms of looks and forgiveness. During the heat of the summer here in NE Ohio I usually play the thinner soled AP2 for better contact on tighter lies and don’t need as much distance with more roll, but the rest of the year, its the AP1–and the 714 AP1 feels like a forged club. Buttery feel on contact, same accuracy, higher ball flight, incredibly easy to get the ball in the air. Could barely distinguish thin or toe mishits from pure shots. Importantly, 5-7 yards longer than AP2! I will definitely be trading in my 712′s for 714′s. I am done with Mizuno–much harsher, shorter, and less forgiving.

  22. adan

    October 21, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    I have the original AP-1′s from 2007 and I’ve been looking to upgrade. I’m a 15 hdcp that strikes the ball OK. I wonder if I could get away with the AP-2′s… Maybe a combo set?

    • Steve

      October 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm

      Please, stick with the AP1′s; being a 15 hdcp, you’ll love playing the 1′s more because of them being “game improvement” irons. The 2′s are more of a “players” iron; you’ve got to have game to consistently hit them.

    • KK

      October 24, 2013 at 4:14 pm

      Anyone in the teens can hit AP2 PW-7 iron. These are supposed to be as forgiving as the original AP1 so the only problem would be finding the right lofts for gapping.

  23. johnny 13-14

    October 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Had a chance to hit the 714 AP2′s, I’ll be ordering a set with some KBS Tour shafts as soon as I have the coin!

    I’m a 13-14 handicap, down from 20+ only a year ago and dropping still. I’m coming off some SGI type irons that have been amazing but, now that I do have a little skill to shape and play with trajectory changes, not to mention wanting a smaller more elegant and forged head, I’d been looking at 714 AP2 and the Mizuno MP-54.

    Both the Miz-MP54 and the Titleist-AP2 are forged, more player shaped, yet forgiving to some degree. I had a hard time choosing between the MP54 and the 712-AP2 but, the new 714 AP2′s are simply a joy to strike and I was able to carry the long irons 5-10yds further.

    Keep up the good work Titleist, I’ll be ordering up some SM5 Vokey wedges come January too!!!! Can’t rock my Clevelands with those new shiny AP2′s in the bag!!

  24. Joe G

    October 20, 2013 at 2:14 am

    I hit these at the Titleist fitting center in Oceanside CA last week and they are beautiful. I was fitted with pxi 6.0 and can’t wait for them to arrive on November 8!!

  25. Stuart

    October 19, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    John:
    Any chance you could compare the AP1s with the new TM SpeedBlades? They both appear to be directed at the same level of golfer (i.e., me/over 50, 12.5 index) and I would be interested in your views as to their relative strengths and weaknesses.
    Thank you!

  26. G

    October 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Co-FORGED!

  27. Geoffrey

    October 19, 2013 at 11:13 am

    The AP2s look gorgeous. I have never wanted to spend the money required to play them. However, I may rethink. As a lefty, finding a forged CB players club isn’t an easy thing. Titleist has long supported lefties in a way no other OEM has. Maybe Callaway, but I have never liked the look of their clubs. That’s just me… Job well done, Titleist. And thank you for looking out for us lefties. You make very club available.

  28. Tylerwigs

    October 19, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Why no shaft options? at that price, for DG stocks is ridiculous. At least offer, Sensicore.

    • alex

      October 19, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      KBS tours are $8 extra a club, which is not really that bad

    • MB

      October 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

      Sensicore?!?! What is this 2001? If you look at the custom options on the website, Titleist offers more custom shaft choices than any other OEM straight from the factory. People please, don’t buy stock off the shelf….get fit, order a custom set, play better. Launch monitors, impact tape, and seeing your ball flight don’t lie. There is too much technology and resources available to the general public today to not get the very best equipment FOR you.

  29. Jack

    October 18, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Wonder if they are worth an upgrade over the 712 AP2s?

    • Billy

      October 19, 2013 at 12:10 am

      I only see the camber as a sort of new feature, but i’d stick to 710 or 712. Nothing wrong with them.

      • Jack

        October 20, 2013 at 10:58 pm

        Yeah, I like my AP2′s alot. Perfect balance of forgiveness, feel, and workability for me. I think I will just stick with these for a while until they are worn down.

    • mcca

      October 26, 2013 at 5:14 pm

      Thought the same thing, i just can’t see that big of improvement i’ll stick with my AP2 712 since i did get the KBS Tour shafts in them.

  30. mwmilk123

    October 18, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    star envy….

  31. naflack

    October 18, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Five stars…?
    So much for being bought and sold by Taylormade. :)

    • paul

      October 18, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      Lol

  32. Punkie Simpson

    October 18, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    I too live in Kansas and I ordered the 714 AP2 irons with the TT XP 95 shaft as it gave me a more boring flight than KBS tour,dynamic gold,It also gave a softer feel.Your article is spot on Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>