Connect with us

Iron Reviews

TaylorMade SpeedBlade irons: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: At address, SpeedBlades are an absolute confidence booster with a thin(ish) top line. They have a great trampoline-like feel when flushed, and mishits won’t punish your joints. The ball flight with the long irons can look down right majestic.

Cons: Trendy-ish design. The long irons are a bit clumsy for working the ball, and the generous amount of offset is a touch worrisome for any golfer that is potentially considering “regressing” towards the game improvement family from a player’s stick.

Bottom Line: Forceful, forgiving and pretty freaking awesome. But low-handicap golfers might want something more workable.

Overview

Speedblades are a cavity-back, cast iron with a moderate amount of offset and a brushed finish. The size and shape looks appealing and doesn’t look as forgiving as we now know they are.

The SpeedBlade irons have a two-tone, satin nickel chrome plating with dark smoke satin ion plating that looks great.

More importantly than the finish these irons feature a newly engineered speed pocket, a handle-bar shaped slot in the sole of the 3-7 irons that enables a large area of the face to flex and rebound at impact, resulting in faster ball speed, higher launch and better feel.

TMag’s research indicated that 72% of shots by 5- to 25-handicappers are impacted below the center of the face, which typically results in low-launching shots of inconsistent distance.

taylormade speedblade

They build on the technology of Taylormade’s RocketBladez irons, which were the first of the company’s irons to have a “Speed Pocket.”

2Y9G00942Y9G01032Y9G00992Y9G0101

Above: The new SpeedBlade (Left) and the older RocketBladez (Right).

The SpeedBlades have a slightly different Speed Pocket than the RocketBladez, however, as it is now longer, wider and has a handlebar shape that TaylorMade says adds more forgiveness than the RocketBladez irons.

[youtube id=”_k9unWck_wY” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Click here to read more about the technology in the SpeedBlade irons.

TaylorMade touts its latest Speed Pocket as “a deep slot behind the clubface that allows the face to flex and rebound faster, increasing your ball speed and launch angle to boost your distance dramatically.”  This club purportedly differs from the RocketBladez irons in that TaylorMade has “lowered the [Speedblade’s] CG to further increase your launch angle. Shots scream high into the sky and stay there longer, equaling longer carry and more distance.” Hey, I’m all for it if it works.

6c0ef0035dd52d8725ddda442fd6f54d

Above: The handlebar-shaped Speed Pocket of the SpeedBlade irons is longer and wider than the RocketBladez irons. 

The SpeedBlade irons retail for $799 with the company’s stock SpeedBlade 85 steel shaft (available in regular and stiff flexes), and $899 with TaylorMade’s Velox T graphite shafts (available in senior, regular and stiff flexes).

Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 3.30.19 PM

Performance

TaylorMade’s branding posture is not a subtle one. I still snicker recalling the excessively brash “IER” campaign from early 2013 to promote the RocketBladez (“I. PLAY. A DISTANCE IRON.” said a scowling Justin Rose). The Speedblade’s advertising has a similar bravado: “The Speed Pocket makes all other irons inferior. It’s nothing personal. It’s innovation” according to the TaylorMade Website. Well, TaylorMade, insulting my beloved (and aesthetically superior) AP2’s I DO take personally, so pipe down a bit, ok? Let me hit them on my own and decide for myself.

taylormade 2014 irons

But I must say, the performance of the SpeedBlades is eyebrow raising here, in a good way. Long and mid irons explode off the club face and reach soaring, green-holding heights. In a few instances, well-struck shots appear to fly past my target. Short irons, while still forgiving and powerful, are also precise. It’s an impressive display of ball striking all around. I’m reminded of that scene from Demolition Man where Wesley Snipes’ character (Simon Phoenix) finds the futuristic ray gun in the museum, fires it and is immediately dazzled.

2Y9G00842Y9G0086

Off-center hits are quite playable. I spent a couple of hours hitting these on a brisk New Jersey fall evening and mishits didn’t die miles short of my target. I was surprised at how balls that were struck outside the sweet spot ended up achieving a respectable ball flight.

72fa209a9f5a6507a0fe512ec70995e0
3faa17ddd51a9d85352cfba907fd429b

Above: The SpeedBlade “A Wedge” (50-degrees) and is noticeably more compact than the longer irons.

It is worth mentioning the SpeedBlade A Wedge (a gap wedge), Sand Wedge and Lob Wedge, which are not cavity backs like the rest of the set, and have more of a blade appearance. They are impressive tools; very accurate and crisp at impact.

One minor gripe: Working the ball with long irons was a bit challenging because of the clubhead size and offset, which does indeed lessen as the set progresses. Nonetheless, TaylorMade’s general assertion that your “shots scream high into the sky and stay there longer, equaling longer carry and more distance” was true for me.

Looks and Feel

21a50b62becc47e6b710fe2876cb1cbf

I wouldn’t say the SpeedBlades are necessarily beautiful, but there is a handsome, albeit a bit hunky presence about them (perhaps a bit more Mustang than Maserati). The top lines are thinnish for a game-improvement club, and the brushed steel looks soft, receptive and ready to compress the ball. The finish also serves to negate glare. If placed in your golf the bag, the blue font/decal on the back of the club adds some “pop” without being (too) tacky.

taylormade speedblade

The feel of the SpeedBlade irons is more muted than the RocketBladez, which will be a big selling point for them. As stated above, there is a springy, energetic response on flushed shots; it’s almost marvelously violent on occasion. Perhaps it is the slot technology at work, but it is at times an addictive, pulse-pounding sensation that leaves me periodically giggling and feverishly positioning more range balls to be thoroughly pulverized.

Again, I wish to praise the merits of the wedges here; a “player’s” looking club with a soft, yet crisp feeling at impact with a downright precise look at address. With a nice click, these club send the ball exactly to your intended target.

Nonetheless, this is a cast set of irons. The sensation experienced on flushed shots never quite approaches euphoric levels of sensory ecstasy that one could can encounter with a finely crafted forged club. It’s just a touch less solid.

e080e12e349c0ce43af56b0f3d0e4028

Above: A SpeedBlade 6 iron at address

Feedback on mishits is also a bit numb at times, but I suspect that could be a goal and not a defect. The more than moderate amount of offset is also not going to be for everyone, although it’s essentially non existent in the shorter irons.

The Takeaway

dec9cca20ca714e5af16398a699f90ff2

One word definitely comes to mind here: long. These SpeedBlades send the ball a long way, particularly with the lower lofted irons that, let’s face it, are the clubs most golfers struggle with and the reason hybrids were invented.

I’m also a fan of the “toned down” design in the Speedblade vs the Rocketbladez, whose loud appearance and color scheme was a bit “much” for me in the looks department. The Speedblade has a more tasteful, pleasing presence. You could be proud to slip these into your bag.

2Y9G0094

The short irons are also “player-like” enough to create curiosity from better golfers, who might like more forgiveness in their long irons, but also the smaller size and additional feel and precision from of their shorter irons. They would not be disappointed here.

Your Reaction?
  • 353
  • LEGIT62
  • WOW55
  • LOL24
  • IDHT24
  • FLOP21
  • OB32
  • SHANK252

Lawyer, Bachelor and Golf Nut. John also writes for his and his sister's Italian culinary and lifestyle blog at www.johnandelana.com, maintains an honest GHIN handicap, and is from New Jersey; all of which he is proud of.

56 Comments

56 Comments

  1. Savuti Manguba

    Jun 3, 2016 at 3:00 pm

    Bought a set of Speedblades in 2015 to replace my Callaway x-18’s. Absolutely longer … in some cases went down two clubs to achieve the same distance. Also hit the ball much higher. Driver is great too! Love ’em!

    • Matt Gregory

      Jun 15, 2016 at 9:39 pm

      Did you get uniflex irons or regular?
      I just bought uniflex and was wondering what your opinion was?
      Thanks in advance

  2. Ken Whaley

    Jul 4, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    i also put my old Burner irons away and bought a set of Speedblade irons! Don’t really care what others think! For me they are longer, better trajectory, better feel, and I have more confidence with my iron play throughout my bag! I’ll be playing these irons for a long time! I don’t get to play that often and these irons make my rounds much more fun! That’s what it’s all about! I would recommend these irons to everybody! Give em a try! You’ll be surprised! I was!

  3. Bar

    Oct 30, 2014 at 9:09 am

    Would be nice if you could get them. Ordered and paid for mine ( kids birthday present to me ) on 1st October. A week later I was told they had no heads for the seven and s/wedge so I would have to wait. Last thursday 23rd I was told they were being built. This wednesday 29th I was told oops we could not build them because we are out of stock shafts but we are hoping for a delivery on 11th November. TM stink.

  4. marcel

    Oct 1, 2014 at 1:05 am

    had a hit with Speedblades… same distance as my j38 CB… but must say they fell easy to hit… i can see the point of Speedblades to help the get the ball higher but if your game is solid this does not bring any benefit and distance wise its the same…

  5. Longpar5

    Aug 25, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    Dear old heads stuck in the “I play a blade” category, and new bucks who want to step up past these “game improvement” irons to a real “player’s iron”..Wake the heck up, this is the new, long, accurate, easy to hit beast. “Working the ball?”, well if you are good as you think you are you can work ANY club on the planet, really and seriously. Get real people. The Speedblades in STANDARD length (37.75″ 5I), and TT DG X100 SL are inexplicably good, FACT. Argue about marketing, and color, and pockets, and lofts, and lengths, and blah and blah and blah all you want but these irons would improve 99.5% of anyone’s game. Swallow your ego, or suffer someone like me hitting a 4I 50 yards past your “blades” that you miss hit by 1mm and lost 20 yards. Good luck.

  6. David

    Aug 3, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Work, wife, home, and horses leave little time for golf. Although I’d like to play more, I just don’t have the time. However, each year for a couple decades, I get together with my old mates for a weekend golf outing. The first day low score gets the pick of available sleeping arrangements. This year I was first to pick. I credit my new speed blades — long, high and straight, pretty much says it all.

  7. paul

    Jun 23, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    I bought these and although enjoyed hitting some great shots i found them a little too bulky to get any consistent feel on so i have decided to go for a more traditional players club.

    • Longpar5

      Aug 25, 2014 at 10:50 pm

      Yes, because how it “feels” or how “bulky” is more important than how it performs. “Great shots” = great shots, period

  8. Lefty247

    May 15, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    I have these in 4-AW, DG S300, hard stepped once, 1 degree flat. Easy to hit, accurate, nice trajectory, and looong. The trajectory was key for me. I know the lofts are strong but the ball flight on a 7 iron just “looks” like a 7 iron… not some jacked up 6 iron (if I’m making any sense). I wasn’t a fan of the superlight stock shaft so I went with the DG s300 HS and it was a perfect match. They sound great too… a nice solid thwack. I know TM takes a lot of heat around here but these are the real deal. The looks are very underrated as well, love the blue/gray finish over the RBZ yellow.

  9. Bumpon

    May 10, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Demo Day today, tried quite a few irons all brands. The Speed Blade was crisp, straight, longer than the 2.0 burners currently played. The difference is worth a change.

  10. Ron from Canada

    May 7, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    Just picked up a set and I am so impressed. I carry a 12 handicap at the moment. I have been a TM fan for a while, and decided to make the jump this year from my Burner 09 irons. These are long, so long. Felt better than the RBZs. I don’t feel they are any more accurate on well struck shots, but off centre shots still fly high and with good distance. I know people who have debated about the difference in lofts among sets over the years. It’s not all about the lofts people … the face on these clubs launches the ball so much higher that the loft has to be stronger. I hit the 7 iron 175 on the monitor and the flight was beautiful. My old Burners made it out to 165 on average. Try them A/B with your old clubs on the monitor … you will see how much different the flight is on the tracker. Who wouldn’t want to land long irons a bit more softly on the green? They are pricey for sure, but if you can swing a deal or a promo I say go for it!

  11. jrratmuff@aol.com

    Apr 14, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    First of all I have never reviewed a golf club ever. Im leaving this review because of how happy I am. I am a 14 handicap who’s previously best score was a 78. Ive shot 78,79,72,81 since getting these clubs and dialing them in of course. I hit my irons very far already so I didnt see any improvement in distance. I really didnt want to hit them further. I went to my brother who is a local asst. pro and got fitted. .25 over. kbs x shafts, 3 degrees up .I used to snap hook my irons very bad and after this set up i hit a slight fade on my misses. These iron are very straight. Like pull a string straight. Seems like no matter where I hit it on the face I get the same distance. No flyers like my ping g5’s and I15’s I will say if you are a 7 or below handicap these clubs are hard to work each direction. They are mostly straight flyers. Im excited for the upcoming golf season! I also purchased the SLDR driver which is amazing also. New technology is amazing. These clubs feel way lighter than my pings but I got used to it fast. I feel like I have more control over the club face. Thank you TAYLORMADE!

  12. Puddin

    Mar 31, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    WOW! Just broke 80 on my new SpeedBlades maiden voyage yesterday. I’m a 12hcp. Haven’t broke 80 since 2006! I cannot say enough about these irons. High and far was the play of the day and it was very windy (20-30mph) I tried the AP2’s and X Hot’s before buying. Highly recommend these for the game improvement crowd.

  13. Peter Mauersberger

    Mar 1, 2014 at 3:53 am

    John, I am a HCP 26 player (started end April 2013) and wonder whether this could be a go for me. How do you compare them to Mizuno JPX 825 resp. EZ and Wilson Staff C100 resp. D100? (Today playing Jack Nicklaus set for beginners). Thanks!!

    • John

      Jun 6, 2014 at 11:58 am

      Peter – just saw this. What did you decide on?

  14. fcruz

    Feb 24, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I have used 714 AP1 did not like the size and feel, AP2 714 great on short irons, not consistent on the long irons. Bought SpeedBlades 2 weeks ago, I’m shocked of how much I like these. Easy to hit high and long, yet consistent enough to go at pins. My previous experience with long distance clubs had been distance inconsistency (too long at times), SBlades has the right amount of kick and REPEATABLE distance to allow me to play golf at the distance (these fit my swing just right). People with faster swings may overpower the stock S shaft, if you are used to hit your 8 135 yards, using S in this set will go 145 ALL DAY and straigth. My 5 normaly flies 175, the SBlades carries 185 and can go for 200 with a small draw. I love this irons. Oh yes, feel is not AP2 like, but hitting it solid more frequently is more rewarding to me.

  15. george

    Feb 15, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    pure garbage for hacks who cant hit their irons far –

    • adam

      Mar 1, 2014 at 7:59 pm

      Oh….thats right i forgot good ol’ george here is a pro, very constructive there buddy.

    • Kevin

      Mar 4, 2014 at 5:38 pm

      What a lame comment. These go farther because they are high launch low spin. Awesome clubs. these are just not longer, but low spin….perfect for someone with too much spin

    • Roger

      Mar 7, 2014 at 5:39 pm

      Well, I am sure glad that George can hit a 7-iron 245 yards. For the rest of us, a solid feel and a bit extra distance is a good thing!

      PS…I will keep an eye out for you on the Tour, George.

    • Chris

      Apr 14, 2014 at 10:58 pm

      I remember when ol’ george got his tour card, what a wonderful day for professional golf. Greatest club critic around.

      Don’t listen to this, these clubs do what they say they will, I lowered my average at my local club the first time out with these irons, they aren’t going to make a major difference until you learn how to shoot them for your technique, but they provide where they say they will.

  16. Lane

    Jan 31, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    While I have a lot of things to work on in my game these irons are definitely long. I’m not sure about the lofts but I can hit the 4 iron off the tee about 220 which is huge for me. If I could only learn to hit them off the grass! 🙁

  17. ktmzak

    Nov 9, 2013 at 12:46 am

    Great review – Thanks!! Was at my local big box store the other day and picked up an M Flex Graphite shafted 7 iron and proceeded to hit 10 shots over 190 yards and nothing more than 5 yards off the center line.. won a $200.00 gift card earlier this year.. could be a new set in the bag later this weekend

    • stylin19

      Mar 21, 2014 at 5:32 pm

      They go father because the irons are all stronger lofts. The 6 iron has less loft than my Mizuno 5 iron and the off-set isn’t as subtle as one thinks.

      • Rich

        Apr 10, 2014 at 4:31 pm

        Yeah, I use the 714 AP1 and got a free 6 iron from TM and the loft on the 6 iron is 26.5* and the loft on my AP1 5 iron is 26*.

  18. David

    Nov 5, 2013 at 2:26 am

    I just ordered a set of these to replace my 712 ap2 irons these are so easy to hit and the head size in the short irons is great.

  19. jgpl001

    Oct 30, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    In hand these really do look cheap and a bit tacky. Its hard to believe TM once had beautiful irons such as the TP smokes, TP MB satins and the 05 TP CB’s in their line up. Now we are down to this and it really is rock bottom. Spalding or Dunlop would be proud of these nasties. There is no doubt they are long, especially the long irons and they will be great irons for some players, but where to next for TM???

    They are genuinely masters of marketing, and I admire their ability to make massive sales figures every year, but all gimmicks eventually come to an end

  20. Steelhead

    Oct 24, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Really well written and EXACTLY my experience with these clubs.4 Iron soars majestically higher and farther than the XHot I used to like so much…SB Baby…

    • John

      Oct 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you Steelhead. They were pretty freaking sweet, i must say

      • Eugene marchetti

        Dec 15, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        Can you please compare in your well written reviews the new Titleist ap1 714 and the Taylormade Speed Blades. I would be very interested in your well informed opinion.

  21. Obie

    Oct 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Wondering how these would compare to my rocketballz irons.

  22. Stu

    Oct 20, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    I am wondering how the SpeedBlades compare in performance and feel with the new Titlest AP1 714s. They both seemed directed at the same kind of golfer.

  23. Mac

    Oct 18, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Went to Rocket Bladez end of last year. I lost about a half club on the high irons, gained a club on the low irons but more accurate across the board. I ordered the Speed Blades day one and have picked up about 5 yards across the board. And the sound is almost normal except when you hit a 4 iron flush.

  24. yo!

    Oct 17, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    5-10 extra yards per club … guaranteed. The beauty of modern technology.

  25. Young

    Oct 17, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    had some time @ local shop , feels ok i don’t see much distance change but Constance and forgiveness were there just can get along with Plastic.. the plastic thing on the back of the iron really turn me down. cheap cheap cheap

    • Napco

      Sep 15, 2014 at 11:11 pm

      I am sure you would hit a 2×4 if it improved your game.

  26. Tom

    Oct 17, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Also slot technology

  27. Tom

    Oct 17, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Well this write up should put the nay sayer’s on pocket technology to rest.

  28. Callaway X Hot

    Oct 17, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Waiting to see if they are coming out with a “tour” model for the speedblades.

  29. John

    Oct 16, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    It is very long. I was hitting 230 yards with the 5 iron compared to 215 yards with my Taylormade MB 4 iron. Launch is high but it could be slightly lower with a stiffer shaft like X100 (shaft I currently use). Speedblade is softer on feel.

    • TJ

      Oct 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

      I tested out the 4 iron compared to my Mizuno JPX-800 Pro and I got about 15 to 20 extra yards. for me I don’t see a point of a 4 iron going 235 to 240 so I would not replace my set with these, on the other hand 240 yards would fit a gap between my 3 wood and 4 iron nicely so I have started to consider purchasing the 4 iron by itself and cutting it half an inch.

      • TJ

        Oct 18, 2013 at 8:57 am

        oh by the way the sound is terrible, sounds like a miss hit but then you watch it fly 220+(maybe I haven’t flushed on yet)

  30. matthew del

    Oct 16, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I. PLAY. A DISTANCE IRON.

  31. David Smith

    Oct 16, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    Ew.

  32. P K

    Oct 16, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    Are these new clubs a huge improvement over the rocket bladez? I’m curious if it’s a better buy to get the rocket bladez, as they will obviously be cheaper.

    • paul

      Oct 16, 2013 at 7:09 pm

      I would love to see a distance comparison between the two. and then a distance comparison between these and the ap2s with equal loft and length. if its a review of a distance iron then there should be some numbers. otherwise its one reviewers speculation.

      • paul

        Oct 16, 2013 at 7:10 pm

        Although, im sure its very informed speculation .

      • Keith

        Oct 17, 2013 at 8:00 am

        It’s not about the loft with these kind of clubs anymore. The design of the head launches the ball much higher than a weaker lofted blade for instance. Making the lofts more traditional on these type of irons would launch the ball too high.

        • Frank Garrett

          Dec 29, 2013 at 8:42 pm

          Does your 8 iron launch the ball too high to be a 7 iron….I bet it don’t
          Funny how they preach distance and not launch
          I get confused when I hear more than one story….
          Idiots

    • Dakota

      Oct 16, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      The feel between the two is night and day, the Speedblade feels much softer than the Rocketbladz (the rocketbladz felt like a rock hitting a rock for me personally) the distance difference is maybe 5 yards 165 vs. 170 for me. Both with the stock stiff shafts I tested it on the FlightScope at Work About the same total height just like 2-3 mph more ball speed.

      • Dakota

        Oct 16, 2013 at 7:33 pm

        with a 7 iron in my last comment

        • P K

          Oct 16, 2013 at 8:41 pm

          Thanks for feedback. I demoed the rocket bladez recently, and although I was impressed with the distance and flight, the feel left me wanting. I’m just not sure if the upgrade in feel is worth the hundreds more the new set of speed blades would cost.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 133
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending