Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Swingbyte 2 Golf Swing Analyzer: Editor Review

Published

on

When Swingbyte, a lightweight swing analyzer that provides robust data and 360-degree views of your swings, burst onto the scene at the 2012 PGA Show, I wrote that it would be the best new golf instruction product of 2012. While many products were released, including a plethora of swing analyzers, the original Swingbyte stood out from the crowd and exceeded my expectations.

This year they did it again by releasing Swingbyte 2, a combination of beautifully redesigned hardware and mobile apps for iOS and Android.

Swingbyte 2 is available now for $149 and you can learn more by visiting their website at www.swingbyte.com. The companion smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded free on the iOS and Android app stores. Swingbyte is the complete package. New swing analyzers seem to be popping up on the market every month, but I’ve yet to test one that even comes close to providing the same level of detail, accuracy and user experience that Swingbyte provides.

Quick Highlights for Swingbyte 1 Users

For those of you currently using the original Swingbyte and wondering if you should consider upgrading, I would seriously recommend it. To say the new hardware has been redesigned would be an understatement. The primary issue with the original design was that it required frequent adjustment to keep it aligned on the shaft and providing accurate data. The new wrap-around design virtually eliminates rotation, even if you’re a digger and hitting off mats. Additionally, Swingbyte will still honor the discount code offering existing Swingbyte users a $50 discount on the new hardware.

Pros

  • Beautifully designed hardware and intuitive mobile applications.
  • Accurate and robust swing data.
  • 360-degree views of your swing path.
  • Video capture for side-by-side analysis.
  • Attentive customer support.

Cons

  • Lack of tips or suggestions for improvement based on the data.
  • Data can be overwhelming for some beginners (but can we really consider too much data a con?).

New hardware

Swingbyte DeviceThe new hardware is stunning. We know, just like golf swings, swing analyzers don’t need to be cool looking to be effective, but Swingbyte has designed a visually stunning piece of hardware that stands out from the crowd. More importantly, the wrap-around design serves a very important purpose: It helps keep the Swingbyte from rotating after each shot with a new twist-resistant design.

Instead of utilizing a rubber strap like in the original design, the new hardware has a high-strength rubber and spring-loaded latch. This design makes it easy to attach to any shaft from graphite to steel and holds the Swingbyte tightly in place. I take a healthy divot with my shots, especially my wedges, and tested the new latch system in multiple conditions from bermuda grass fairways to indoor mats, and found that the device only slightly shifted after numerous swings. Even though the latch works in most cases, Swingbyte is focused on continually improving the product and is developing an additional latch option that works better for certain shafts. The latch will be available for free in the next few weeks and will come standard in future shipments.

Swingbyte mobile apps

Swingbyte Mobile AppsThe Swingbyte mobile apps went through a redesign along with the hardware and are available for both smartphones and tablets running Android or iOS. You do not need a Swingbyte 2 to take advantage of the new apps. Pairing the Swingbyte to your devices is quick, easy and follows the typical bluetooth pairing procedure. The device quickly connects whenever the Swingbyte is turned on and I have not experienced any disconnect issues with the new hardware. Before you can hit a shot, you need to enter some basic club information such as length, lie, loft and flex. Having access to this information is another reason Swingbyte provides such accurate data.

To say the Swingbyte application is robust would also be an understatement. The new design has created, in my opinion, the best user experience of any of the swing analyzers on the market today. It should come as no surprise that the experience on tablets exceeds the experience on smartphones, but the Swingbyte team has done an excellent job of understanding the differences between the two form factors and presents an optimal experience for both types of devices. For this review, I’m going to focus on the tablet experience, but I often use the smartphone app on the driving range and golf course.

Within the app, you can clearly and easily access a previous swing in the history, compare two swings together, edit your golf bag, and of course, view your current swing in 3D with all the corresponding data. You have control over the way you view your swing data and can simply view the 3D swing path, just the data alone, or you can view the data and the 3D side-by-side. I’ve always displayed the data side-by-side with the swing path so I can begin to correlate the numbers to what I’m seeing in my swing. With the new application, you can even customize the order the data appears on the screen, allowing you to bring the numbers you most care about to the top of the list. All of these features combine together to create an application that is intuitive and easy to use.

All the data you can handle

Swingbyte Swing DataThe speed of Swingbyte is impressive. It takes very little time for the app to analyze your swing and provide a very comprehensive set of data. You get access to club head speed, club loft, lie angle, face-to-path at impact, attack angle, shaft lean, tempo and all your initial angles around loft, lie and face angle. In addition to providing the raw data, Swingbyte also presents written explanations such as “in-out” for club path or “down” for attack angle, making it easier to understand each data point. You can also see some of the data, such as club head speed and plane angle, in real-time as you review your swings. This has been a powerful feature for friends of mine who have struggled with an early release of the club head resulting in a deceleration of the club through impact. They were able to see their speed reach its maximum point before impact and watch the speed drop through impact. It has been a powerful visual tool to help them understand limitations in their swings.

I’ve compared the Swingbyte data to launch monitors such as Trackman and Foresight, and while we know the Swingbyte (or any swing analyzer) won’t be as accurate as Trackman or similar systems, or provide a direct correlation between all the data points, the numbers it provides are very close. In my testing I’ve found the club head speed to be generally within 2 mph and other data points are similar. Even if they are not 1:1, after you take some swings, you will have data to use as a baseline while you are trying to improve. While Swingbyte does provide a shot shape representation, I haven’t found that to quite as accurate. Most GolfWRX readers would assume that is the case and Swingbyte also acknowledges that without access to actual ball flight information, the shot shape representation is merely a simple estimation. For most of us, we won’t rely on that data point anyway as the 3D path and other numbers are much more valuable.

360-degree swing path views

Swingbyte OverheadI know many of us work on our swings with the help of video (see below for more on this). It is a very powerful tool, but unless we have super slow motion cameras, typical video is only showing us 30 or 60 frames per second. With Swingbyte, you can view the swing from numerous angles including front on, down the line, overhead and also in 3D allowing you to view your swing frame-by-frame from virtually any direction. You can also compare two swings side-by-side.

Having access to a 3D view of the swing is extremely powerful and all the swing analyzers have some version of this feature. In my testing, Swingbyte still comes out ahead in this area. The presentation of the 3D swing path is uncluttered and clear. I’ve been making a major change to my swing plane this past year and the overhead view specifically has been my go-to view. In addition to showing the actual path of the club head, Swingbyte also displays the plane lines. One of the best homemade teaching tools I’ve found for checking your plane is attaching a laser to each end of a dowel rod or club so you can see if your path is tracking down the line. Swingbyte does this automatically, which drastically decreased the amount of time it took me to ingrain the new swing thoughts and technique. I could connect what I was feeling to what was actually happening in my swing, which is a very powerful way to learn.

Game changer: video + 3D swing path

Swingbyte with VideoThis is the new feature of the app that makes me the most excited. With the new version of the Swingbyte application, you can now record and watch video of your recorded swing and 3D swing path side-by-side. This is a true game-changer for golfers learning on their own or even with an instructor. All you have to do is set your mobile device behind you, center the golf ball up inside the circle, and hit your shots. Swingbyte will automatically record your swing and sync the video. The video is saved in the app and you can view it at any time. Out of all the balls I’ve hit during testing, only once did the video not sync up correctly and this was likely do to my own error.

Work on your swing anywhere

Swingbyte works with a real ball or even simply swinging a club and making contact with the ground, although the data is more accurate with a real ball. This gives you the freedom to work on your swing at home or outside on the range. When you’re hitting real shots, you will have detailed data allowing you to really understand the effect your swing has on the ball flight you’re seeing. You have a blend of the rich data of the simulator with the visual feedback of actually seeing your ball fly.

I think a real benefit of Swingbyte is that you can also use it inside and still have the same feedback-driven practice as on the range. If you have a mat and net to hit at home, you now have data to rely on instead of just feel. This also means you can take swings at home without a ball and still have the confidence that you are making good swings.

Online dashboard

Swingbyte DashboardIn addition to having access to your swing history within the mobile application, you also have access to an online dashboard. Every swing you take is saved in the cloud (automatically if you have a data connection or once you are connected to wi-fi) and available on every device and on the website. You can see at-a-glance statistics such as swing speed, daily sessions, total swings, and more. You can slice and dice your data to see how a particular club performed over a set period of time and you can even export your data. You can earn fun badges, such as the “Don’t Hit the Pin” badge for performing a set of three swings in a row all within 3 degree of each other, which provides an element of gameplay.

Just like the applications, you can also view the data and 3D of professional swings. While the total number of pro swings is somewhat limited, and you don’t know anything about the physical makeup of the professional or resulting ball flight, having access to their data does help provide a visual picture for what an optimal swing might look like and also what their data might look like in comparison to yours.

Support @Swingbyte

If the product looks solid, the next important factor for me when buying or recommending a product is its support. Again, this is an area that Swingbyte shines. Its support representatives are quick to answer questions, they have a dedicated support website with lots of answers to frequently asked questions, and even the founders are eager to answer questions, provide support and make sure you are getting the most out of your device.

The Bottom Line

Swingbyte is the most complete swing analyzer I’ve tested and has positively impacted my own game. The new hardware is solid and stable, and the mobile applications provide a rich set of data and 3D animations that will help you understand your swing and improve faster. Avid golfers, beginners just starting out and instructors should all consider adding the Swingbyte to their bags.

Your Reaction?
  • 59
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW5
  • LOL8
  • IDHT8
  • FLOP7
  • OB7
  • SHANK32

When he is not obsessing about his golf game, Kane heads up an innovation lab responsible for driving innovative digital product development for Fortune 500 companies. He is also the co-founder of RoundShout and creator of Ranger GPS, the free iOS GPS app for the driving range. On a quest to become a scratch golfer, Kane writes about his progress (for better or worse) at kanecochran.com and contributes golf technology-focused articles on GolfWRX.com.

Continue Reading
86 Comments

86 Comments

  1. Pingback: Golf Simulators For Home&you | Women Play Golf

  2. Pingback: Golf Clubs Reviews Quantum | Golf Member

  3. Pingback: Swingbyte | Daily Gadget

  4. Pingback: Golf Swing Analysis Gadget | Golf Swing Tips

  5. Pingback: Swingbyte 2 Mobile Golf Swing Analysis | Golf Swing Tips

  6. Pingback: Swingbyte 2 Golf Swing Analyzer Youtube | Golf Swing Tips

  7. Pingback: Golf Swing Analysis Software Windows 7 | Golf Swing Tips

  8. Pingback: Best Swingbyte Golf Swing Analyzer Reviews | Golf Swing Tips

  9. Pingback: Swingbyte 2 Golf Swing Analyzer For Ios And Android | Golf Swing Tips

  10. Pingback: Home Golf Swing Analyzer Reviews | Golf Swing Tips

  11. Pingback: Golf Swing Camera 2013 | Golf Swing Tips

  12. Pingback: Annika Sorenstam Golf Swing Frame By Frame | Golf Swing Tips

  13. AG

    Mar 10, 2014 at 9:02 am

    Honestly, save your money before buying this. Or at least try before buying. The numbers produced by Swingbyte are NOTHING like those on Flightscope or Trackman. Trackman had my swings as 0.3 in to out and Swingbyte (used with the same shot) said it was 16 degrees in to out. Swingbyte cant measure the club at impact because of the shock to the shaft. Instead it measures before impact. I bought Swingbyte with very high hopes but really, it is absolutely useless.

  14. Hudson

    Feb 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    I was very enthusiast when I bought the Swingbyte 2 but was really disapointed to see the numbers/shots shape provided by the device.

    I hit a lot of shots and literraly noted the result of each one (strainght, draw, fade, hook or slice) and got crazy resultats such as a hook when I was hitting a draw, a hook when I was actually hitting a fade, etc…

    The numbers provided where even crazier with excellent straight shots hit while the system was indicating very closed “path” and “face to path” numbers that would have resulted in strong hooks…I documented every shot and honestly, nothing is consistent, I am very concerned.

    I understand that you can not get a perfect golf simulator for $150 but this device is to me completely inaccuarte and I am a pretty good golfer (12). I would say that only the measure of the tempo and golf head speed are usable which is a bit sad…

  15. chris

    Jan 16, 2014 at 4:06 am

    Kane great review. I looked at the android app for my Microsoft surface2 but I can add it to my ‘wish list’ ! but there is no install button. Does that mean its not compatible with it ?

    • rgb

      May 29, 2014 at 12:30 pm

      Surface Pro 2 runs Windows and Windows correctly does not support Android or iOS apps. So no, it won’t work and you’d have to use an android or apple tablet.

  16. Geo

    Dec 21, 2013 at 10:23 am

    How long, once my Bluetooth pairs ( if it even pairs) does it take after hitting a shot and putting your club down, to analyze your swing and have it reset and ready for your next shot ? On average ?

    Thank you,
    Geo

  17. Ken

    Dec 2, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    does swingbyte2 provide a chart of numbers that are acceptable or in line with a good swing data that we can compare our data against..

    • mike

      Dec 4, 2013 at 5:36 pm

      This is what i want to know also. I’ve bought it but read a few things saying although it gives you a lot of data you don’t really know if what you are doing is correct unless you take it to a pro to get them to look at it. To me this seems pointless. I thought the whole point of a swing analyser was to be able to correct yourself. If i go to a pro i don’t need the swingbyte.

      • Rusty

        Mar 6, 2014 at 8:46 am

        Hoping that a $150 swing analyzer to replace lessons from a golf pro… Realistic expectations? Maybe stop being lazy and try to understand the golf swing (lots of great reading material out there) so that you can use this device as it was originally intended for.

  18. Ppal

    Oct 14, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    Intriguing! Maybe a dumb question, but how do you set up the iPad? Do you use a tripod or something? Is it set up behind/beside you? etc.

    Thanks.

  19. Jim F

    Oct 13, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    I have a tablet with wifi, of course, but not with cellular capabilities. Will this still work? And, how does it measure club head speed by placement on the shaft, as obviously the end of the club travels much faster than the shaft? And does it have to be placed in the exact same place on the shaft each time to get an accurate reading? I know you mention putting club specs in like shaft length and lie, but how does the device know how far up the shaft it is? Thanks!

  20. cretin homes

    Oct 5, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It really helpful & it
    helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to give something back and aid others such as you
    helped me.

  21. Sanjay Pal

    Oct 2, 2013 at 10:23 am

    I received my swingbyte 2 .

    My comments :

    Buy a swing speed device instead of this swingbyte 2 Out of 50 swings I make 2 get recorded. Worst part is have to check after every swing if the swing was recorded and to find out that nothing was recorded.

    Bluetooth gets disconnected half the way with phone and then switch off the phone and on … This set up is highly frustrating . Does any one want this new device half the price ? Sanjay

    • ckbckb

      Nov 11, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Yes Sanjay, I’ll buy it for half price. If you want to, post a reply saying you will. I’ll then post one more reply with an email address that you can contact me on. Cheers.

  22. Pertti Suominen

    Sep 30, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Kane Cochran / June 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm
    The Android 2.0 app for tablets with in-app video is next up.
    WHEN ???

  23. Jerome

    Sep 27, 2013 at 11:39 am

    As of yesterday, in-app swing video was STILL not available. Any word on this? I’m seriously thinking of returning my swingbyte2

  24. Lou

    Sep 1, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Do any of these devices tie into a simulated course or video game (iOS tiger woods for example)? Would be loads of fun and add some variety to practice. …should be easy enough, right?

  25. TurkishheadPro

    Sep 1, 2013 at 1:53 am

    Was looking forward to the wife bringing my Swingbyte out from the States to Turkey. Currently on back order, says a lot if they are waiting for a shipment. Is it possible to send the data and swing video to a lesson through an email or web platform?

  26. Newton

    Aug 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    Need something like “groovemode” for beginning and intermediate players. Add this and…take all my money.

  27. Chris Moreau

    Jul 20, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    Good Review ! Thanks !

    Quick question, is it normal to have to do Stop after one swing and Add for recording the next one ?

    Cheers !

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 25, 2013 at 8:30 am

      Thanks, Chris. That shouldn’t be the case. SB2 is designed to continuously analyze your swings. If you’re having issues definitely reach out to support@swingbyte.com and they should be able to get you squared away.

  28. cw

    Jul 16, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Mine doesent work very well,it turns itself off so i have to turn it on almost every time to record a swing.
    Also very slow to connect.Must be something wrong with mine.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 17, 2013 at 10:07 am

      Swingbyte has an excellent support staff that can talk you through your issue and try to help you get it resolved. Shoot them a note at support@swingbyte.com. Hopefully they can get you squared away.

  29. Tom Allinder

    Jul 16, 2013 at 9:17 am

    Kane, thanks for this comprehensive review. This is about the only gizmo-gadget that I DO NOT have yet.

    I really like the Ranger app you created as well!

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 17, 2013 at 10:07 am

      Thanks, Tom, I’m happy you liked the review. You sound like me, you’ve got all the gadgets you can fit in your bag!

      And thanks for your comment about Ranger, I’m excited that you like the app and I appreciate the support!

  30. John

    Jul 11, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Great review. Could people use this as a fitting tool? Or does the lack of carry and roll distance rule this out?

    Also, I am fighting a pull right now with all my clubs. It sounds like this tool will tell me exactly whats happening right?

    Finally, will SB help me with swing sequencing issues? I have a tendency to be too quick with my hands. Will SB tell me when I fail to transition my lower body? I’m guessing no

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 17, 2013 at 10:11 am

      Thanks, John. Swingbyte’s strengths are in the data and path information they deliver about your swing. They don’t have carry and roll numbers because that information cannot be accurately determined without the ball flight. But, they can help you identify if and how the pulls are happening as it relates to the club path and face angle. From there, that info can help you (or you and your Pro) work out how to fix it.

      Sequencing issues are a bit more challenging. There are apps out there that can help in conjunction with SB, but SB’s primary focus is on accurately showing you what the club is doing throughout your swing. Hope that helps.

  31. Sean

    Jul 4, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    While I liked your review, the device seems complicated. By that I mean I’m not sure I would understand what all the data means. Don’t you think that we can sometimes get lost in the numbers?

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 4, 2013 at 11:24 pm

      Thanks, Sean, I’m glad you liked the review. I agree that we can definitely get lost in the numbers sometimes, and SB provides a ton of valuable data. Others here have recommended taking the numbers to a Pro (or using this with the Pro) and focusing on just a few important numbers. Thats an excellent idea. SB does provide high level explanations of each data point as well, which at least provides a base.

      But one cool thing I like about SB, is that I can turn the data off. You have the option to show the 3D Swing Path, the Data, or show both on the screen. If you’re a visual learning, the path might be all you need to improve. If you’re a data junkie (and I’m guilty of that), you can see both. But the choice is yours. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

  32. toehit

    Jul 3, 2013 at 12:33 am

    Hi, Kane. I find your review quite helpful. I have read the thread on the sky caddie product as well. The distinct feature about that was the groove. I wonder if you have had any experience with that? I am in market for a swing analyzer product as I like to tinker with my swing a lot on my own late at night :)Thank you once again for a detailed review.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 3, 2013 at 11:04 am

      Thanks, toehit, I’m glad you found the review helpful. Sounds like we’re very similar, I’m definitely a tinkerer too! I have not had a lot of hands-on experience with the sky caddie product, although I’d love to give it a thorough test. I’ve heard good things about Groove and if I get a chance to check it out, I’d be happy to share any thoughts.

  33. Mike

    Jul 1, 2013 at 6:24 am

    Quick question, this product excites me but…

    Angle of Attack is an important figure in my game. If I read this correctly this can be 6 degrees out?

    So I could be hitting -1 and recieving a figure of +5 or -7?

    Am i wrong in this?

    Cheers,

    Mike

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 1, 2013 at 11:28 am

      Hi Mike – Angle of Attack is important to my game as well and something I’ve been working on (to shallow it out a bit). I’m not sure where the 6º number came from exactly. But, while I haven’t spent a ton of time comparing directly to Trackman (or similar) numbers, when I have, the data has been pretty accurate. There are other excellent sources online that have done similar (and more scientific) tests and they have found the numbers to be pretty accurate as well. Also, even if the number presented isn’t 100% accurate to the degree, as I’ve hit more swings and collected baseline data, I’ve been able to see how swing changes have affected that specific number and I know if I’m heading in the right direction. I’m happy they report that specific piece of data. Hope that helps.

  34. Kirby

    Jul 1, 2013 at 12:00 am

    This thing is exactly what i have been looking for, it shows me all the flaws in my swing path,plane and clubface position.If you have any education in the mechanics of e golfswing, this is truly invaluable.One problem though,it stopped recording my swings after 2 days. I sent a e- mail to support on saturday. Hoping to hear something back monday because this has improved my swing already. My pro is going to pick one up this week if it is reliable.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jul 1, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Kirby! SB2 has come a long way from SB1 and its a much more stable product. The Swingbyte support team is very attentive, which is another plus.

  35. coachshoppers.wordpress.com

    Jun 28, 2013 at 11:55 am

    We’re several grouped volunteers plus opening up a new structure in your community. Your website presented us all with worthwhile details to operate on. You might have done an impressive job and also our full set will probably be thankful for your requirements.

  36. Grant

    Jun 28, 2013 at 5:16 am

    Thanks for the review Kane. Any chance we might see a digital swing analyzer shoot out with all these little gadgets available on the market to be done on WRX?

  37. Paul

    Jun 27, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Is it available in the uk yet ?

    • Jon

      Jun 28, 2013 at 2:20 am

      Hi Paul, received mine from UK supplier yesterday. Only used in my living room to hit a couple of chips into my sofa, and love it!

  38. John

    Jun 26, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    When you say “Swingbyte is the most complete swing analyzer I’ve tested” can you tell us what other ones you have tested so we can know what’s included in tha group? Hate to buy this and then have you review one of the others in a month and says that’s the best you’ve tested…

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 26, 2013 at 9:24 pm

      Hi John. I’d love to test all of them, but I haven’t had the chance yet. I have tested a few of the others such as 3Bays GSA Putt and Pro (both really good, too). I’m actually working on a review of PUTT now that might make it online. There are great aspects to each of the swing analyzers I’ve tested. But what I can say is that this particular review is based on over a year of actual experience with the product and reflects how I feel about Swingbyte. I hope it serves as a good overview of the key features.

  39. G

    Jun 26, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    How does this measure swing speed given that it’s at the base of the grip, how does it factor in additional length (say +1/2″ on an iron)

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 26, 2013 at 6:03 pm

      There is a Golf Bag section of the app (tied to your account so you can edit it online as well) that allows you to enter all the details of your specific clubs including length, loft and lie. The club-specific data is used in their final calculations.

  40. Steve

    Jun 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    is it also useful for putting, or just full swing analysis?

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm

      Yes, you can also use it for putting. The same data points are available as well as the 3D path.

      • Duane Engdahl

        Jul 4, 2013 at 10:15 am

        I am the putter physicist/designer at Quantum Golf Putters and we were very excited about your product. Our putting scientist ordered one because we were led to believe that it would work on putters.
        .
        It does work on putters that have high impact vibration (light weight heal shafted putters), but it does not work on our putters because we have made minimizing shaft vibration a priority.

        So Quantum Putters do not trigger your device on putts less than 30 feet. That is a disappointment for us, but you still have a great product.

        • Kane Cochran

          Jul 4, 2013 at 11:22 am

          Hi Duane – Thanks for your comment! I’ve tested SB on many putters and they all have registered enough vibration to trigger a hit, so it is very interesting to hear from you and your specific putter. I haven’t had the opportunity to roll putts with a Quantum Putter, but I can say they have one of the most unique, yet simple designs I’ve seen. I’m sure rolling putts with one is a very unique experience and I hope to try one out some time. Thanks for your comment.

        • Alex (Swingbyte)

          Jul 5, 2013 at 3:15 pm

          Duane – our support team has been working with your scientist, and we think it’s a one-off issue, not something to do with the putter itself. It should work fine, but we’ll keep working with Rick to get to the bottom of this!

          Thanks,
          Alex.

  41. steve

    Jun 25, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    Is the Andriod version the same and is the Video avaible on all devices

    Download it for my Acer 101 and can see video

    Need to know before I commit

    Steve
    UK

    • steve

      Jun 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm

      Should have said can NOT see video

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

      Hey Steve. The Android 2.0 app for tablets with in-app video is next up. The company said it should be available within weeks. App updates for iPhones and Android smartphones will follow, although the smaller screen size of phones won’t allow for side-by-side comparison, you will be able to toggle between the video and the data. I hope that helps.

  42. Eric H

    Jun 25, 2013 at 11:58 am

    No tips on what is wrong and how to improve…epic fail in my opinion.
    Especially when most of the competition is providing this feedback.
    It seems like if you can interpret the data that you are likely a very experienced player with a decent swing to begin with.

    The high capper like myself can have all in the info in the world but without help on how to interpret it, it might as well be in another language.

    • Michael

      Jun 25, 2013 at 2:05 pm

      this is a device to help monitor the in mesearuables…not a golf coach.
      take the data to your golf instructor and he/she should be able to help u

  43. Nick

    Jun 25, 2013 at 10:24 am

    I pre-ordered SB2 and have been very happy with it. Unlike the previous version I do not find that it swivels around the club (fatal for data accuracy) except on rare occasions, perhaps two or three times per large bucket.

    The only thing I would say about the data accuracy is that I feel the driver can get a little off due to rotational torgue in the shaft making a reading by the grip(where the device is placed) differ from a true club head reading.

    I don’t believe the design of any of the competition devices would not also suffer from this same defect. For 150 dollars, your getting data that is more than accurate enough to be commensurate with the price. Demanding trackman accuracy from a device that is literally less than 1 percent of the cost of a trackman is just not fair or reasonable. You just need the device to be internally accurate so that you can tell what numbers are producing your best shots, and see how bad shots are deviating from those numbers and whether the fixes you’re attempting are actually getting you any closer to your target numbers. That’s what I purchased the device for and I have found it very helpful.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 25, 2013 at 11:29 am

      I completely agree with you, Nick. Spot on comment.

      • Michael

        Jun 25, 2013 at 2:04 pm

        curious if this has any options to help with tempo

        • Kane Cochran

          Jun 25, 2013 at 3:00 pm

          Yep. It measures time to top and top to impact and gives you a tempo number. You’ll be able to take a look and adjust (if necessary).

  44. James Waletzky

    Jun 24, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    Nice review. Thanks.

    I have a SB2 and have been pretty happy. It does have one flaw in that the cover over top of the USB port comes off and/or breaks. The support staff at SwingByte was fantastic about it though, sending me a couple of replacements. I secured it in place with an elastic, which works okay. If this is the “latch” that you are talking about for the future, I look forward to receiving it.

    All in all, very satisfied with the purchase. The software is well done, but I would agree with the sentiment that there is not enough advice for what to do based on the numbers. I would appreciate at least trying any tips it could provide. The numbers are a little overwhelming.

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 25, 2013 at 9:23 am

      Thanks for your comment and insight into your experience with the product, James. I’ve noticed the USB port cover a couple times, too, especially when the device is lower on the handle than it should be. When I have it up by the grip, the grip seems to actually keep it in place. I totally dig the alignment line, but agree that if the cover could stay slightly more connected it would be good.

      The new latch is actually the rubber/latch combo that tightens and secures SB to the shaft. It works well for the majority of shafts, but for some shafts out there, the latch still doesn’t provide a secure enough fit, so they are creating another version.

    • Nick

      Jun 25, 2013 at 10:27 am

      I also agree the USB cover opens way too much, it’s a slight nuisance but doesn’t affect the performance of the device vis a vis the data like a rotation of the device around the shaft would, so frankly, I just ignore it most of the time.

  45. Sean

    Jun 24, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    SwingByte

  46. M.S.

    Jun 24, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    Will the device attempt to calculate a carry distance for the swing?

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 24, 2013 at 6:17 pm

      Swingbyte does not estimate carry distance at this time. Other swing analyzers on the market do attempt to estimate carry distance, but SB has decided to focus only on numbers related to the actual swing.

  47. John

    Jun 24, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Great review, when you say “The latch will be available for free in the next few weeks and will come standard in future shipments.”

    Does that mean people who buy the device now will get the upgraded latch later for free, its user replaceable?

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 24, 2013 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks, John.

      Yes, SB will be emailing current owners with instructions when the new latch is ready to go. They will ship it out to you free and the old latch just pops out and the new one pops in.

  48. Deepy

    Jun 24, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Haha, this device looks like a lot of fun for the number guys out there.

    Is the tool able to measure/display the closure rate of the clubface or face angle around impact, not only at adress and impact?

    • Kane Cochran

      Jun 24, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      SB2 will definitely make the numbers guys happy! You can also simply view the 3D swing path if you’re not as interested in the numbers.

      There are a few data points that you can watch in “real time” including clubhead speed, plane angle and face-to-plane. Unfortunately, face angle to path or address is only available at address and impact.

      • Deepy

        Jun 24, 2013 at 3:15 pm

        Thx for the quick reply, I think face-to-plane in “real time” should give you a good idea of the closure rate, shouldn’t it?
        Especially if you’re not looking for absolute numbers but for date to compare…

      • Michael

        Jun 25, 2013 at 2:11 pm

        i checked out your app and it looks awesome
        anything available for android?

        • Kane Cochran

          Jun 25, 2013 at 2:59 pm

          @Michael Yep, Swingbyte is available on Android devices as well. Gingerbread and Honeycomb or later.

          • Stephen Bright

            Oct 4, 2013 at 12:32 am

            Hi Kane, what you have neglected to mention or perhaps realize is it the new app is not fully compatiable with android. The main reason I chose this product over others was the ability to use video but this does apply for android hardware as I found out very disappointing and misleading is not mention anywhere and a worry that you missed it too.

      • Chris

        Jun 27, 2013 at 1:06 pm

        On the dashboard there is the face angle to path viewable in every clubheadposition… Not only at address and impact.
        So it is possible to see the closing rate…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover

Published

on

Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.

TartanPatternsSunfish

The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: Golf Simulator Software for SkyTrak

Published

on

SkyTrak is a personal launch monitor packed with impressive features and accuracy. It sells for $1995, and is aimed at golfers looking for a high-quality, personal launch monitor and golf simulator. I’ve recently hit more than 1,000 golf balls on SkyTrak and tested it head-to-head against Trackman to find out if it truly is as good as it sounds.

Spoiler alert: It is. You can read the full review here.

In writing my SkyTrak review, I felt that I could better serve the GolfWRX Community and the greater golf world with an additional SkyTrak review that focused specifically on SkyTrak’s golf simulation partners. This… is that review.

Golf Simulation Partners

Out of the box, SkyTrak comes with an impressive driving range app, which golfers looking to hone and refine their swing will really appreciate. But one of the ways SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors, especially lower-priced ones, is by integrating with five leading golf simulation software packages.

This is where SkyTrak starts to widen its appeal. Serious golfers will enjoy playing a full round, but you can also get casual golfers involved. My wife and kids will enjoy playing a round of golf, and I won’t have to worry about holding up the group behind me. As my kids get older, having a simulator at home will be invaluable, allowing them practice at any time… assuming they want to play golf, of course.

SkyTrak Simulation Partners

Data Provided to Each Software

SkyTrak provides each simulation partner with the exact same, five directly measured data points which include: ball speed, launch angle, backspin, side spin and side angle. Each software applies their own ball flight model. For that reason, I did see differences in the ball flight and data displayed.

WGT (World Golf Tour)

Almost every golfer with a mobile phone or a Facebook profile has played or heard of WGT (World Golf Tour). The same game that has been played on mobile phones for years can now be played with SkyTrak. The most obvious difference is the visuals. Their patented, photo-realistic imagery and terrain mapping has created some of the most realistic course simulation available. What’s more interesting is that WGT is included at no additional cost when you purchase the $199.95 per year SkyTrak plan. This is great news for people interested in playing full courses, but not yet ready to commit to another simulator package.

There are 10 full courses that can be played. They include St. Andrews, Chambers Bay, Bandon Dunes and others. Closest-to-the-pin challenges can be played on 18 total courses.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight model is very accurate and similar to what I see in the SkyTrak app. It also calculates my wedge shots correctly, which is typically a slight fade that I cannot seem to fix. Total distance is a bit strong, with some clubs flying an average of five yards farther than normal.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

It is hard to beat the photo-realistic visuals of WGT. It took me a minute to get used to them after playing rounds on the other simulators, but the courses look amazing, especially on a large projector screen. With the combination of the photos and terrain mapping, these courses are spot-on representations of their real-life counterparts.

WGT SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

I wish there were more courses, but WGT is continuing to add to its roster and I value the realism of the courses it has. I would rather higher quality courses over quantity. They also have some “Best Of” bundles, like playing the Best of Bandon Par 3s, which is a lot of fun.

The gameplay is solid, although the options are limited. You don’t have a lot of fancy camera angles or the ability to view a replay of your shot. In fact, some of the starting camera angles aren’t even from the player’s point of view, which is a little weird and hard to get used to. The SkyTrak data presented has everything you would want, except carry distance. The interface is clean and easy to use.

Reliability of the Software

Although the specs say an iPad is required (and preferred if you’re not using a projector), I didn’t experience any issues connecting to either my iPad or my iPhone 6s.

Cost

Included with SkyTrak’s Play & Improve Package

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf

I want to love Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf, and I almost do. The main game includes really nice, quality courses, and you can purchase add-ons such as Muirfield Village or PGA National for $5.95. Additionally, its Course Forge Software, which is the same software used by Jack Nicklaus Golf course designers, can be used by anyone to create an unlimited number of courses that you can download and play.

You can adjust almost any setting you can imagine, from camera angles that allow you to walk freely around the golf course to video and audio settings that adjust everything from the sky effects to the way the grass looks. This is critical to helping dial in the settings to maximize gameplay for your specific PC setup.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight was similar to what I saw on the SkyTrak range, but the distances were consistently a bit shorter. There is a good chance I could mess around with the various settings and get the numbers to match up, but out of the box, I felt like the distances were slightly shorter across the board.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I really like the quality of the courses. There is an almost unlimited combination of settings you can use to dial in the visuals to create a very realistic experience. The real courses I downloaded look, appear and play very accurately. The textures of the tee boxes and greens are very realistic.

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The included courses are a mix of fictional, user-created courses, and real courses with fake names. For example, you can play Florida Glades, which is actually modeled after TPC Sawgrass. I played Muirfield Village while watching coverage of the Memorial last weekend, which was fun.

With the exception of the occasionally shorter distances, the gameplay is excellent. Shots on the fairways and into the greens follow the real-life contours of the course. Just check out the video above to see what I mean.

The game really shines with the smooth camera movements and replay options. I love being able to watch each shot from the player point of view, but also angles like the spectator view. It feels just like TV and is a lot of fun to see my shots from different angles.

Reliability of the Software

This is where Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf falls short, at least for me. During testing, I was never able to get through an entire round without the simulator connection crashing, which meant that SkyTrak was no longer connected to the simulator software. This is an issue with Perfect Golf reported by others, too. As of June 1st, the company provided an update that has solved this issue for me, and I can now get through a full round, but it is something to keep in mind.

Cost

Multiple packages starting at $99.95 per year for the driving range package. It’s $199.95 per year for the simulation package, and $249.95 per year for everything including the ability to play user-created courses or compete in online tournaments.

TruGolf E6

TruGolf E6 feels and plays like the most solid of all the simulator options. Each of the 87 total courses are mapped using precise terrain and course data, and you can tell they spent a lot of time making each course feel as realistic and accurate as possible.

The app has numerous settings to control time of day, wind, lighting, camera angles and more. Course elevation is accurate, and factored into the ball flight. The base software includes a driving range with target practice, chipping area, and a putting area.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight, carry and total distance are almost identical to what I see in the SkyTrak app.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

The quality of each course is impressive. Fairways and greens are responsive and variable, mimicking the actual terrain of the course. The textures, shadows, and lighting are realistic. And the camera movements to follow the ball or during replays are natural. The overall graphics are not quite as good as Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf or The Golf Club, but still very solid.

TruGolf E6 SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The main package includes 15 championship courses, including Pinehurst  No. 2, Bay Hill, Gleneagles and others. You can also buy seven other packs of courses, each for a one-time fee.

The actual gameplay is very realistic. The standard camera angles feel like I am watching a shot from my actual point of view, but I can also watch the replay from various other camera angles. Putting is realistic, even if I haven’t yet mastered putting on SkyTrak. And if you’re looking to practice a specific hole on a course, you can choose to play only that hole.

Reliability of the Software

Rock solid. Throughout my entire testing, I never had any software issues.

Cost

$299 per year in addition to the SkyTrak Game Improvement Package. Additional course packs can be purchased for $240-500 each.

The Golf Club Game

There is so much to like about The Golf Club.  The graphics are quite possibly the best of any of the simulators (up to 4K Ultra HD) and allow you to move around the course in real-time. There are 100,000+ high definition courses, you can create your own courses, and TGC has live tournaments. There is even an announcer who gives you the play-by-play.

Ball Flight and Data

Just like TruGolf E6, the ball flight model and key data points are very similar to what I see on the SkyTrak range. I have noticed some deviation, more total distance for example, but for the most part, the results are very similar and accurate.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I can’t deny having access to 100k+ courses isn’t a strength, but it is also a weakness. You will never get bored if you own this software, but if you like playing realistic golf courses, it can be difficult to navigate. With so many “Augusta National” or “St. Andrews” courses listed, it is hard to find one to play that truly feels realistic. I selected an “Augusta National Sunday Pin Position” course and saw white-capped mountains in the distance teeing off No. 1. There certainly aren’t mountains around Augusta.

The Golf Club SkyTrak Partner

I’ll say it again, the HD visuals are outstanding, especially if your system can max out the settings.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

You’ve got access to a ton of courses for free, which will be  huge for many people. The gameplay is also excellent, with realistic bounces and rolls on the fairways and greens. The rough and sand are penalizing, and putting and chipping around the green is accurate.

Reliability of the Software

I have had some minor connectivity issues with TGC. But other than that, the rest of the software has worked great.

Cost

$479/year or a one-time fee of $895.

Creative Golf 3D

Creative Golf 3D, the newest integration with SkyTrak, offers some unique twists on the traditional simulators by focusing more on entertainment than pure simulation. Sure, there is a range and you can play up to 100 courses located in Europe, but more importantly, you have access to 20 different entertainment-focused games including island targets, mini-golf, and abandoned factory demolition.

I can see playing mini-golf with my kids even before sticking them on the SkyTrak range. Fun is the real power of Creative Golf 3D, and yet another way that SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors or simulators on the market.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight and data matches up nicely with the SkyTrak ball flight model. I haven’t noticed any issues with distances or other data points not lining up.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

All the courses are based on real elevation and satellite data, which is evident when you play a round. While I’ve never played golf in Europe, I love watching the European Tour partly because they play courses in beautiful parts of the world. Creative Golf 3D captures that beauty by focusing only on courses throughout Europe.

creativegolf_image

The reason I would buy Creative Golf over the others is not for the course play; it’s for the entertainment options. I really enjoy hitting knock down wedges to smash windows of an abandoned building and playing mini-golf in Europe.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The base package includes five courses. You can buy add-on packages for $99 per package (one-time fee) and get access to up to 100 courses. I enjoy hitting shots with snow-capped mountains in the background and the standard camera angles and replay are smooth. The visuals are good, don’t get me wrong, but they feel a little more like a computer game than an actual simulation compared to the other software options.

Reliability of the Software

So far, so good. I haven’t experienced any issues with connectivity to this point.

Cost

$199.95 per year or a one-time fee of $499.95. I like that Creative Golf 3D offers a one-time fee. For those of us who plan to have this simulator for many years, it makes a lot of sense. You can also buy additional course packs for $99.95/one time.

Bottom Line

If I had to choose my favorites so far, one would be Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf for the overall high quality of courses and smooth, realistic gameplay. I also will keep Creative Golf 3D on hand for entertainment options like mini-golf to play with my kids and friends.

But the good news is all of SkyTrak’s five simulation software partners offer high-quality gameplay, realistic and accurate 3D ball flight, and the ability to play 18 holes anytime, anywhere, on some of the best courses around the world.

Further Reading: A Review of the SkyTrak Personal Launch Monitor

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW5
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: SkyTrak Personal Launch Monitor

Published

on

Pros: Highly accurate data, portable, easy to use, and integrated with some of the best golf simulation software on the market.

Cons: Slight delay between contact and seeing the ball flight. Only tracks the golf ball, and not your club path.

Bottom line: Impressive features, accuracy and price make SkyTrak attractive to a whole new segment of golfers who aren’t in the market for professional launch monitors, but are looking for a high-quality, personal launch monitor and golf simulator.

Overview

If you’ve watched golf on TV in the past year or so, you’ve probably seen Hank Haney talking about SkyTrak, a personal launch monitor that provides accurate shot data and the ability to play full rounds of golf on some of the world’s best courses. To find out if SkyTrak truly is as good as it sounds, I’ve hit over a thousand golf balls, played rounds of golf on every simulation package, and tested SkyTrak head-to-head with Trackman.

SkyTrack Personal Launch Monitor

SkyTrak is a photometric launch monitor, which means it uses high speed cameras to capture a series of images of the golf ball for a few feet right after impact. Ball speed, launch angle, backspin, side spin and side angle are directly measured, and other data points such as carry and total distance are estimated. SkyTrak then creates a realistic, 3D ball flight model (more on this later), which I’ve found to be extremely accurate. It only needs a few feet to capture the images, which means you can use SkyTrak anywhere you can swing a golf club, both indoors and outdoors.

At 7-inches tall and less than 2 pounds, SkyTrak is small enough to fit in a golf bag when heading to the range. It connects wirelessly to your PC or iPad without requiring a WiFi network. And if you’re worried about hitting a hosel rocket and smashing your launch monitor, you can get a protective case.

SkyTrak

The SkyTrak app supports iOS and Windows. Sadly, Mac desktop or laptop users are out of luck. The company is currently working to officially release the SkyTrak app for Android, but a release date has not been provided. Check out the full specs here.

SkyTrak starts at $1,995, but you can often find it offered for $300 off. In addition to purchasing the launch monitor, SkyTrak has three yearly plans:

  • Basic: Limited access to the driving range app and is included at no charge. Included with purchase.
  • Game Improvement: Access to all the features of the app as well as integration with the company’s simulation partners. $99.95 per year.
  • Play & Improve: You get everything with the Play & Improve Plan, including full access to World Golf Tour simulator. 199.95 per year.

Setup and Ease of Use

One area where SkyTrak really shines is how simple and intuitive it is to use. Once the launch monitor was charged, it took me about 2 minutes from start to finish to get connected.

SkyTrak on iPad

The entire application is straightforward and simple to use. Nothing in the app seems like an afterthought. Big icons and visuals make it easy to select what you want to do, even outside with the glare of sunlight bouncing off your iPad. The data points are huge, allowing you to quickly scan the screen as you’re practicing.

The designers didn’t attempt to make the SkyTrak range “feel” like a photo-realistic simulation, and I couldn’t be happier with that decision. When I’m practicing, I want the application to be responsive and accurately display the ball flight and data. While I like that some of the other simulators have a practice area, I will primarily use the SkyTrak range.

SkyTrak Measured Data

Accuracy of the Data

Before we get too deep into the review, I’m pretty sure many of you are wondering, “Great, but is it accurate?” To answer that question, I tested SkyTrak outside on the range and head-to-head against Trackman.

SkyTrak has completed independent robot testing at Golf Laboratories, but I wanted to do my own testing against Trackman. SkyTrack is photo-based and Trackman is radar-based, so there will be variation in the data, but Trackman is the gold standard and I was curious how they stacked up. I headed to BridgeMill Golf Academy and worked with Tom Losinger, Director of Golf Instruction, who ran the head-to-head test.

Head-to-Head Testing

SkyTrak vs. Trackman Data

Before we got started, I set the wind speed, direction, humidity and temperature to the weather at the time in an attempt to normalize the data in the SkyTrak app as much as possible.

On average, SkyTrak was within about 2 percent of what Trackman reported, which I would say is really good. SkyTrak under-reported every metric except spin rate and launch angle. Spin rate is one metric likely more accurate than Trackman because it is directly captured by camera and analyzed.

SkyTrak vs. Trackman Averages

The largest deviation was total yardage, off by 6 percent, with the driver showing the biggest difference. Unfortunately, this is an area that is hard to match up the range conditions to the conditions in SkyTrak, which will impact this number. Carry distance was within 3 percent, which is more inline with my expectations. I should note that SkyTrak’s robot testing against Trackman showed significantly closer carry and total distance data.

Related: The Hottest Launch Monitors of 2017

Like other photo-based launch monitors, SkyTrak only captures the ball flight. Clubhead speed is an approximation, and I’ve found it to be more inaccurate than accurate, especially with the wedges. If you need club data, you will likely need to invest in a more expensive, commercial-grade launch monitor.

3D Ball Flight Model

In addition to the actual data from Trackman, I also hit a lot of balls on the range focusing on how my real ball flight and distance match up to the 3D ball flight.

While SkyTrak is only a couple years old, the team behind SkyTrak has been refining, testing and improving their 3D ball flight model for over a decade. I can say without hesitation that it’s an impressive model. The video above shows a side-by-side video of an 8-iron on the range compared to the 3D-generated ball flight presented by SkyTrak. I landed my shot just short and right of the target.

SkyTrak Range Testing

There have been a few times during testing, mostly with my wedges, where the ball flight did not perfectly match the real flight. But the vast majority of the time, it was spot on. I even spent time intentionally hitting the dreaded, um, sh**k, which SkyTrak picked up perfectly.

What you can do with the SkyTrak app

Practice Range

I have spent the most time using the SkyTrak practice range, even using it to test eight of this season’s newest golf balls. The range is laid out with big data points and simple controls. You can adjust the target distance, set parameters such as wind, humidity and elevation, switch between the range and data views, and also see your shot history.

Basically, you have everything you need to practice effectively.

SkyTrack Driving Range

You can also choose from a number of different camera angles to view your shots live and in replay. SkyTrak recently added the ability to offset the camera angle, which is a much needed feature for people hitting into projector screens where space is limited and they aren’t able to line up in the center of the screen.

Challenges

Challenges are a lot of fun, especially with other people. You can do a closest-to-the-pin challenge, target practice, and surely a favorite of many people, a long-drive competition.

SkyTrak Target Practice

For each challenge, you have various settings, such as target distance and the number of shots for each person. All the same data points available on the range are available during the challenges.

I like the Target Practice a lot. It simulates some of the real-world pressure you might feel to hit a good shot. Instead of just a distance from the target, you get a score of 0-100, which helps to show how accurate you are with each club.

Skills Assessment

SkyTrak Skills Assessment

The Skills Assessment and Bag Mapping (see below) are two fairly new features that users are really excited about. If you’ve ever run through a Trackman Combine, the Skills Assessment will seem very familiar.

You set up the number of clubs you want to hit and the target distance. I like being able to specify the clubs and distance instead of being forced to hit to a specific yardage. I ran my father-in-law, Tony, through the skills assessment and was able to focus in on the distances specific to his game.

Setting up the assessment only takes a couple minutes. Then you’re guided through each club and all the data is stored. At the end of the assessment, you get a very detailed printout that shows your dispersion, accuracy, shot tendency and handicap for each club as well as an overall SkyTrak Handicap. This data is incredible.

SkyTrak Skills Assessment Tony

On the course, Tony’s miss is left and short. During the assessment, his miss was left and short. Not only that, his SkyTrak Handicap came out to be 22.5. Tony currently plays to a 23.

Bag Mapping

Similar to the Skills Assessment in terms of data and the final report, the Bag Mapping feature walks you through your entire bag to help you understand your carry distance, tendency, shot shape, and gapping between clubs.

This is great for any golfer, even if you think you know what your distances are with each club. But many golfers simply don’t have a good understanding of their carry distances, and this feature will help.

SkyTrak Bag Mapping

I’ve done an entire bag map, but recently ran through it again focusing only on my wedges. Lately, I’ve felt like my gaps aren’t correct and sure enough, they aren’t. Now I have the data I need, and can focus my practice, and possibly make some club changes, using the results.

The Momentary Shot Delay

One of the most frequent, negative comments I’ve read from golfers about SkyTrak is the 2-3 second, shot-to-show delay. You hit a shot and instead of instantly showing up on the screen flying down the fairway, there is a momentary delay while SkyTrak calculates the ball flight.

I’ll admit I was also disappointed at first, too, but I got over that pretty quickly. In fact, I use the brief pause to guess what the shot will do based purely on feel. Will it be short, long, push, pull, fade or draw? This weakness was easily turned into a strength, and I don’t think this reason alone should make anyone overlook SkyTrak.

Simulation Packages

Accurate data and the ability to hone your swing on a practice range in your own home is reason enough to buy a personal launch monitor, but SkyTrak also integrates with five leading simulation software partners, allowing you to play thousands of different courses around the world.

World Golf Tour(WGT), probably the most well-known mobile golf game, is included with the Play & Improve package. You can also choose from The Golf Club Game, Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf, TruGolf E6, and Creative Golf 3D.

I’ve spent time playing and practicing with each of SkyTrak’s simulation software partners.  You can read my thoughts here.

Bottom Line

I couldn’t be more impressed with this launch monitor. The shortcomings — a momentary delay after impact before the shot registers and the lack of club data — are worthwhile tradeoffs to get access to a launch monitor and simulator for under $2,000.

Personally, I will be using SkyTrak for serious game improvement and practice, as well as for fun. I have no doubt it will have a positive impact on my golf game going forward. The accuracy of the data, simplicity of use, and the depth of simulation partners, make SkyTrak one of the best golf technology products I’ve reviewed.

Further Reading: We Review of the Golf Simulator Software for SkyTrak

Your Reaction?
  • 215
  • LEGIT9
  • WOW11
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending