Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Rocket Tour Headcovers: Editor Review

Published

on

Now more than ever, it seems golfers are ditching their OEM headcovers in search of a more stylish, color-coordinated alternative.  Whether looking to match their bag, school colors, or simply looking for a retro look, there are plenty of options for every golfer. For years now, Rocket Tour Golf has been offering retro-styled headcovers inspired by the looks of looks of the 50s, 60s and 70s.  There’s no shortage of patterns, stripes, tassels and pom-pom designed to match various styles.

Want to match your golf bag?  No problem.  There is a seemingly endless array of colors and patterns to choose from.  Tassels or Pom-Poms? They have those too.  Argyle patterns? Check.  All are available in a multitude of patterns. Pictured are Rocket Tour ‘Victory Stripe Knit Pom Pom‘ covers for drivers, fairways and hybrids.

We found Rocket Tour head covers to fit snug on all clubs tested.  When carrying our clubs, we did not experience any covers ‘popping off’ during the round due to bag movement.  Protection was very good as well.  We’d trust these even if packing in a travel bag for a golf trip.  As far as durability, these have lasted long term for well over a year, with multiple trips, dozens of rounds, and plenty of wear and tear.  These have clearly been improved from the earlier versions, which sometimes suffered premature wear.  No knit headcover is perfect, and they will eventually wear out, but we have seen above-average durability from Rocket Tour knit headcovers.

In short, if you’re looking for retro knit headcovers, Rocket Tour headcovers are some of our favorites.  With such a wide variety of patterns, colors and styles, you’re sure to find a set to match your bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

17 Comments

17 Comments

  1. Tommy

    Nov 10, 2017 at 10:53 am

    See my first review above…update. After spending $25 to get my hole-y Rocket Tour head cover repaired, it’s got TWO MORE HOLES. There is nobody on earth who babies their equipment more than I do and this knit cover never touches anything that it could possibly snag on. They either use defective yarn or a defective knitting pattern because there’s no way this should ever happen. These things are really expensive garbage. They know, and they don’t care….the ultimate disrespect to their customers and their hard earned money. That, more than anything, really pisses me off. DON’T BUY THESE. You’re on your own because they’ll tell you it’s your fault. I’ve seen forty year old head covers that don’t do this. .

  2. Tommy

    Jul 12, 2017 at 5:38 pm

    Same problem here. A big hole in my Driver cover after a few weeks. No abuse whatsoever. I emailed them and couldn’t even get a response. I’d have been happy if they responded and told me to go get screwed. I’ll probably get a response now. Never again. Nobody going to get my hard earned money with service like that. Back up your mistakes, especially when charging premium prices. No bueno…shame on Rocket Tour

  3. John

    Jun 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    Nice headcovers but they really bend you over a barrel on the shipping. $9 for UPS for one hybrid cover is way over the line. I do quite a bit of shipping through work and the actual rate commercial companies pay vs the average Joe is significant. This probably cost them $2 or less to ship

  4. Mickey Wilson

    May 25, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Just got my covers sat. may 25 2013 had prompt service and they look great! Hope they last quite awhile. They are Beautiful!

  5. Moe Dweck

    Apr 15, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    I bought a full set of these last March and reviewed them for my golf blog moegolf.net. Initially I felt as you did that with all the combinations they were a stylish alternative to my expensive wool Jan Craig head covers. Unfortunately within four months of normal wear I found that they did not hold up very well. They developed holes, got stretched out and would not stay on the clubs, and the colors faded signficantly. The durability proved a major problem and pulled the recommendation off my website as a result. I am back on the head cover search again.

    Moe Dweck

  6. sgniwder99

    Apr 10, 2013 at 7:44 am

    I’ve had mixed experiences with RT headcovers. I have skinny sticks on my hybrids and fairways, and I think those are great. They’ve lasted over a year with minimal wear. However, I have a rocket tassel on my driver, and it is a bit looser than it needs to be (even for a 460cc driver), and the tassel was much too large for my tastes until I cut it down in length and took about half of the lengths of yarn out of it.

    Also, I think I’d disagree with the editor’s review saying that “there is a seemingly endless array of colors and patterns to choose from.” In my experience, the opposite is true. Most of their options seem to be sold out most of the time.

  7. David Fischer

    Apr 5, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Jan Craig Head Covers personally. I agree, don’t like the RocketTour written down the side…takes the class out of a classic headcover…

  8. Servost

    Apr 5, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    I have little girls so so my head covers are a Tiger Woods tiger ( they have absolutely no idea who Tiger Woods is) and a big moose. I use them proudly.

  9. David Pilvelait

    Apr 5, 2013 at 7:43 am

    I, too, must have had an earlier version of a headcover. At least for my driver. Holes in it after normal use, about 2 months. Hybrid covers bought at the same time, however, which go on and off the clubs more often, are still ok.

  10. Derek

    Apr 3, 2013 at 1:39 am

    Double Mocha Man,

    How does one go about stealing clubs now a days anyawys other than break and enter? I wear my OEM covers all the day because I could care less how the head covers look as long as my clubs are protected. My Nike Covert Tour Driver and 5 Wood, as well as, my Taylormade Burner version 1 3 Wood are all as advertise in my bag, next to my perfectly shiny Nike VRII Pro Blades, 52 and 60 Cleveland 588 Chrome finish wedges, and my Nike Method 001 Putter with matching cover. I hae NEVER had anyone even come close to stealing my clubs because, as I’m sure most people do, I keep a close eye on them or only bring what I need. I am curious to know what has happened and how which would strike such fear into you to hide your clubs.

    • SwingLikeElk

      Apr 3, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      Derek, seriously? My clubs were stolen at MY private club at 2pm on a Saturday afternoon with dozens of people around. Stealing clubs is simple. Dress like a golfer. Pick up a bag. Walk to your getaway car. You are a bit naive. Thieves don’t look like thugs in muscle shirts who need a shave. You can keep an eye on your bag all the time…just like me…and still be a victim. Back on topic…Rocket Tour headcovers are great.

  11. Andrew B

    Apr 2, 2013 at 3:25 am

    Joe S – this is the opposite of my experience with them. I’ve had the same pom pom and skinny stick on my fairway/hybrid since Todd Hamilton first sported them at the 2004 British Open – clubs underneath have changed a few times since mind lol.

    • Joe S

      Apr 10, 2013 at 5:47 pm

      Glad to hear your’s have lasted well. To my great disappointment, mine did not. Material/Yarn also has no elastic/spandex or whatever that will enable it to retain good shape/snug fit when repeatedly going on/off 460cc driver; so mine with large pom on top quickly became very loose and saggy. Probably not a major issue with skinny stiks and smaller FW covers. I also agree with other replies as to not really liking “RocketTour” plastered on every cover, but I could get past that if they held up and fit better.

  12. Blanco

    Apr 1, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    I go for these if ROCKETTOUR wasn’t blazing down the sock of each and every one.

  13. Double Mocha Man

    Apr 1, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    For years I’ve had the bad habit of buying pricey drivers but never, never, never do I use the head cover supplied. Why should I advertise what’s in my bag to those that might want to steal a club or two? It’s happened at a course or two in my area. It happens with skis and snowboards at the nearby ski area. I buy generic headcovers for all my metals.

  14. Joe S

    Apr 1, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    I bought a driver cover online last year and wore holes in it in less than 60 days of normal use, The look good, but in my experience are not durable.

    • Lenny

      Apr 7, 2013 at 6:56 am

      Same for me , bought 3 covers and less than a year holes in each one, also don’t like the rocketour down the length of the sock.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending