Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Under Armour Drive One and Tempo Hybrid shoes

Published

on

Pros: The comfort, style and stability of the UA Drive One are 5-star quality, and the shoes are waterproof. The Tempo Hybrid blends a “lifestyle” golf shoe with surprising stability.

Cons: At $199.99, the UA Drive One are on the high end of the mainstream golf shoe market. The Tempo Hybrid ($159.99) miss the boat on comfort.

Who they’re for: The UA Drive One are for any golfer who likes a modern-looking golf shoe, but is serious about performance. The Tempo Hybrid are for those looking to achieve a cool, laid-back look on the course.

The Review

Due to Jordan Spieth’s popularity and success in 2015, the release of the UA Drive One, which he wore throughout the year, was almost unbearably anticipated for consumers who care about that kind of thing. And the shoes do not disappoint. Even if you’re just not a fan of Jordan Spieth, or not a fan of the look, these shoes pass every test when it comes to performance for a serious golfer.

UnderArmourGolfShoes

They provide tremendous stability in the heel throughout the swing with what Under Armour calls carbon counterlocks, which really give you that “locked in” feeling. And they’re quite comfortable, too, with the leather insole and ample cushioning in the heel and midsole.

Some golfers have complained that the shoes run narrow, or have high arches that cause discomfort, but I found no problem with either.

Also, it’s difficult to ask for more from a spike configuration. They have CHAMP Zarma Tour spikes with the popular Slim-Lok system that you’ll find in the top golf shoes on the market. They have great traction in any weather (and it’s the rainy season in Michigan, so I know playing wet weather well). And the UA Drive One are waterproof as advertised, which is a huge plus for any golfer.

UnderAmrourGolfShoesSpikes

One of my biggest tests for golf shoes is to play a round in them, and judge how excited you are to change out of them when you get back to the car. Even after playing in muddy/wet conditions, and wearing them for the first time, I was not in a rush to get them off. They’re just very comfortable golf shoes.

UnderArmourGolfShoesFoam

It’s amazing for a company’s first run of golf shoes to deliver in such a big way. I would have no problem putting these up against the best performance shoes in the industry, and even surpassing them by way of comfort and overall look. They find a sweetspot, offering a modern flare without being too “in your face.”

UnderArmourGolfSHoesTop

The retail colorways include White-and-Blue, White-and-Black, White-and-Grey, and Black.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”88″]

UA Tempo Hybrid

UnderArmourHybridShoes

Golfers love to say, “I can wear my spikeless shoes on AND off the course.” I’m always thinking, “Why would I want to wear my smelly, muddy shoes to hangout or get dinner?”

That being said, the UA Tempo Hybrids look exactly like those kind of shoes. Style wise, you can wear these with shorts, jeans, khakis, casual pants or whatever else you have in your closet. They’re versatile, and look very similar to the Tempo Tour shoes, but without the golf spikes… thus “Hybrids.”

UnderAmourFoamShoesGolf

The Tempo Hybrid are made for golfers who want performance from their shoe, but also a more laid-back look. Under Armour knocked the look out of the park and provided consumers with four different colorways that each strike a different look and feel. I personally went with the Gravel colorway, as they seemed to be unique compared to other shoes on the market.

This specific colorway captures an “outdoorsy” vibe, and has boot-like laces to complete the look. If I was going for a hike through the woods, these may be my choice.

underArmourSpikes

As golf shoes, they provide great lateral stability due to their spike configuration, but not a great amount of traction due to the spike design. Slick grass or wet weather may cause concern.

My biggest issue with these shoes, however, was the odd tongue design; it wraps around the foot and is quite irritating on the top sides of my feet. It’s something I was not able to get past, and why I never got the chance to play a round of golf while wearing them.

That led me to get a few other opinions. For the purposes of this review, I had a fellow GolfWRX Staffer put the shoes on and walk around. He found the shoes to be “very comfortable” and had no issues with the tongue, but said that the back spikes on the heel kept scraping the ground as he walked. He said “I would never play golf in these because of (the spikes on the heel).” Another GolfWRX Staffer tried on the shoes as well, and said the tongue was bothering the inner part of his feet, and that he would not play golf in them for that reason.

UnderArmourTempoHybrid

So I was 0-for-3 in getting these shoes tested on the course, which is unfortunate because they look slick in every colorway, especially the Gravel. I hope the next iteration of spikeless shoes from Under Armour corrects the comfort issues, as I’m a fan of the design from a golf-fashion standpoint.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”90″]

The Takeaway

The UA Drive One hit the mark, and lived up to the hype. They’re the ultimate modern golf shoe, providing stability, comfort, performance and waterproofing.

The UA Tempo Hybrid, however, did not provide the comfort that I expected from a spikeless shoe, but they did achieve the ultra cool, laid-back look that works on and off the course.

For Under Armour’s much-anticipated launch, and its introduction to the world of golf shoes, it offered high points and low points. The “Spieths” were a home run, while the Tempo Hybrid were a bloop single. With issues of comfort to be corrected in the Tempo Hybrid, Under Armour will have some serious staying power for both serious and casual golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK25

He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Reading the words.

    Nov 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I’m supposed to go buy a golf shoe that was so uncomfortable 3 avid golfers couldn’t even stomach the thought of playing golf in? This is hitting it out of the park? Or its partner-shoe, that gave Erin Hills guy a blister, but if you’ve got the dough, he highly recommends? That sound comfortable? Not to me.

  2. Troy

    Sep 6, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    Have owned and still own a pair of Drive One’s, this was after I purchased a pair of Tempo Tour’s from UA.
    The Drive One’s are far superior in most ways to the Tempo’s.
    While I do agree that $200 is excessive for these shoes, I love them and feel they are likely the most comfortable shoe I’ve ever worn in over 30 years of golf.

  3. Chris

    Jun 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    I bought the Drive One’s the second they came out (huge UA fan, friends think I deserve a sponsorship) and I couldn’t agree more with this review. Fantastic looking shoe, great support and overall comfort level for me is right below Puma’s Titan Tours. After the first round with them (at Erin Hills) I had a nice a blister on my left pinky toe b/c they are a little narrow out of the box and pinched my feet but they’ve stretched out nicely and I’ve had no issues since (2 walking rounds, 2 cart rounds). Yeah they’re pricey but if that’s not an issue for you I highly recommend.

  4. Leftypro

    Jun 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    $160.00 and they aren’t even waterproof is a bigger issue!!

  5. Ccshop

    May 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Typical under armour look. Tried on and it’s very stiff over the forefoot, seems like it would take a few rounds to break in

  6. Mark

    May 26, 2016 at 3:09 am

    They look good but waaay overpriced for a firth foray into the Golf market. And if they are narrow then thanks but no thanks.

  7. DB

    May 25, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    Just bring back the FJ Classic! Best Shoe Ever!!!

  8. Donald Quiote

    May 25, 2016 at 10:08 am

    I think I am in the minority of the guys who don’t really care for either of these shoes. Over priced and other brands are making a better looking shoe. Was really hoping for more from UA in the shoe market.

    • gwillis7

      May 25, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Agree. I REALLY like UA clothes and like that they are getting bigger and competing with Nike, BUT their shoes are lacking behind Nike still. They aren’t as comfortable in my opinion and I still think they are a few years away from getting it ‘right’.
      They have done an amazing job with signing the right athletes though…Speith, Brady, Curry. AMAZING

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

        Yup. I wear a pair of adidas boost and the puma ignites spikeless and they are super duper comfortable and I honestly think they look better than these. I love Under Armour cloths and I know their golf shoes are just getting started but expected something better looking than these to make a splash in the shoe market. I do look forward to future releases assuming they also lower the prices a bit.

  9. Chris

    May 25, 2016 at 1:52 am

    They look a little DNA ish. I don’t mind them, they look okay, logo could be small and on the heel cap.

    but I doubt I will ever buy a set of lace ups again, BOA is great for fat guys. Bring on the BOA

  10. Jacob

    May 24, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Can someone tell me why Jordan only wears white shoes?

  11. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I can see some one breaking into my car to steal these.

  12. B Hock

    May 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    I wish they would have made the logo larger on them… 😛

  13. Thehomez

    May 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Interesting the drive ones were so comfortable. I remember reading somewhere that Jordan Speith didn’t like them initially due to lack of comfort. Wonder if they did a redesign.

    And if your looking for someone to test out the hybrid pair I’d be happy to and post a review. Not the best looking shoe but not the worst either

  14. Milo

    May 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    It not a stretch to think they would make a decently comfortable golf spike since they make cleats for football. To bad they are overpriced.

  15. Cornfused...

    May 24, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Then don’t read it?

    • Joey5Picks

      May 24, 2016 at 3:49 pm

      Then isn’t commenting a little like driving across town to a restaurant you don’t like just to tell them you’ll never eat there?

      • Robert

        May 25, 2016 at 11:51 am

        You forget, like feel of club faces, comfort of a shoe is such a huge variable that the only way to truly know how they feel and fit is to try them on.

      • Donald Quiote

        May 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

        I have given certain brands or models of shoes a try because reviews were favorable. In the case you all give this site really doesn’t need to exist. If we don’t want reviews of how clubs feel and shoes feel and … What do you expect to be on here?

      • LA Billyboy

        Jun 17, 2016 at 8:17 pm

        Sorta like panning a golf shoe you never wore on a golf course?

    • Donald Quiote

      May 26, 2016 at 9:32 am

      Completely Agree!!

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        I am saying I would love to have it where it was only linked accounts. For once you would actually be doing us a favor Smizzle.

  16. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Say those are handsome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa Golf Shoe

Published

on

The Product

The new Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, available in North America now, selling for $250 at adidas.com (only available on Adidas’ website, this shoe will not be at retail).

The Pitch

From Adidas: “The adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa® is the epitome of performance golf footwear, designed to offer micro-adjustability in two separate zones. The first is the independent main dial with high strength Boa lace that when combined with the forged 360 wrap creates unparalleled power for your swing by locking the area between your midfoot and forefoot. The second provides micro-adjustability from the middle to bottom instep for a customized fit, feel, and support. The Boa Fit System activates both zones to deliver the ultimate in power, stability, and performance.”

Our take on Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa

BOA technology, a ratcheting cable system that replaces laces for securing the shoe, has been around for a while now. It was a radical departure when it first hit the market and traditionalists viewed it with some skepticism, but those who tried shoes using the system became hooked on the ease of use, secure feel, and reliability of the system. I have had to replace shoelaces, but I have never had a cable fail in a pair of shoes with Boa technology.

With the TOUR360 XT Twin Boa, Adidas has introduced the next step on Boa technology (pun intended). The shoe has a sleek, technology-forward look that is associated with Adidas products. It even looks good in the size 13 that I sport. The color selection is limited, to say the least. You can choose from white with green trim or white without green trim. But the star of the show is the Boa technology, which is implemented in two dials located on the outside of each shoe, replacing the one dial on previous iterations.

Each dial controls the fit for a different part of the shoe, and the ratcheting dial gives the wearer the most precise fit available. The real advantage over laces is that the Boa system stays secure longer and is easier to tighten than re-tying shoelaces. It’s so easy to reach down and give a couple of clicks that it became routine for me to check on each tee box to make sure I had a good fit before teeing off. Equally pleasing is the quick release on each dial that gets you out of your shoes at the end of a round without the terror of facing a wet double-knot.

The shoe is waterproof leather, and it is light and comfortable enough to walk 18 on hilly tracks. I personally would have preferred a slightly wider toe box, but that is nit-picking.

Overall, the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is a performance shoe that promises, fit, comfort and stability, and it delivers on all fronts. Not everyone has $250 to drop on a pair of golf shoes, but if you want the tech on your feet to match the tech in your bag, then the Adidas TOUR360 XT Twin Boa is perfect for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB4
  • SHANK49

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Air Jordan ADG golf shoes (available at Dick’s and Golf Galaxy). 

Pitch: Via Jordan: “Jump up the leaderboard in the Nike Men’s Air Jordan ADG Golf Shoes. Famed for its incredible comfort and lightweight feel, the ADG features a Zoom Air unit for responsive cushioning and an integrated lacing system for a secure, supportive fit. The Integrated Traction pattern offers you enhanced grip on every terrain and the signature Jumpman logos give you extra style on the course.”

Our take on Air Jordan ADG golf shoes

Confined to the feet of Keegan Bradley for years, the iconic sneaker brand seems to have proof of concept in the golf space, as evidenced by the growing roster of tour players (Pat Perez, Harold Varner III), and numerous retail offerings.

We got to test one of said retail offerings: the just-released spikeless Air Jordan ADG. Now, the Jordan style may not be for every golfer (can’t imagine them catching on in Tuesday morning senior leagues across the nation), but if you like the look of Js on the court or street, you’ll love the look of these. Indeed, you’ll probably love the look of all Jordan offerings for the fairway, as the company has done an excellent job of bringing its aesthetic to golf, rather than the opposite (if that makes sense…tacking the Jumpman logo on a pair of saddle shoes was never going to work).

So, appearance wise, the elephant print leather upper and other signature brand elements look great (and the translucent sole is an awesome touch). However, when it comes to golf shoes, particularly of the spikeless variety, we’re always concerned about stability during the swing (both in terms of contact with the ground and within the shoe internally) and appropriate support/comfort for the five-plus mile trek that is a round of golf.

On both of the aforementioned fronts, these shoes are superb. You can feel the comfort and support the instant your heel hits the Jumpan Golf logo on the insole, and the shoes do everything you’d ask a spikeless shoe to do on course. Highly recommended; we look forward to seeing what his Airness’ cordwainers come up with next.

A look at the white colorway, via Jordan, below. 

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB6
  • SHANK32

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending