Connect with us

Opinion & Analysis

A First-Timer’s Review of the Food at The Masters

Published

on

The Masters at Augusta National is a revered event for golfers. Golf fans make the pilgrimage to Augusta, Georgia, to see the magical property and witness what many consider to be the greatest golf tournament in the world.

But what you also may have heard about are the food and drink prices at The Masters, which seem to be stuck in the 1970s. Sandwiches for $2.50, beers for 5 bucks? If The Masters had a gas station, it would probably be less than 50 cents a gallon.

So we know the prices are low, but is the food actually any good?

IMG_3570

While I don’t have a “sophisticated palate,” per se, I did provide my rankings of the famous food items from The Masters below. It was my first time to Augusta, so these reviews are unclouded by previous experience.

Note: Keep in mind that the only thing I’m really qualified to do is play golf and write about it. I’m not a professional food critic, but I have in fact eaten food before.

The world-famous Pimento Cheese Sandwich

IMG_3589

Score: 3 out of 10 Azaleas

It tasted like a mushy concoction of cream cheese, egg yolks, the sharpest cheddar ever and some unknown, vile flavor, which was probably from the pimentos.

IMG_3616

The only reason it didn’t earn a 0 or 1 is because I’ve waited my entire life to try one, as it’s a staple of The Masters, so there was the whole fulfilling-a-dream factor. That was the last bite I took, and probably ever will.

Bar-B-Que Sandwich

BBq

Score: 10 out of 10 Azaleas

Absolutely delicious. The meat was perfectly cooked and juicy. The sauce had a sweet, tangy flavor. A little hot sauce kicked it up a notch, too (if you’re into that kind of thing).

Ham and Cheese on Rye

IMG_3596

Score: 6 out of 10 Azaleas

You know what it tasted like? A ham and cheese on rye that cost $2.50. It’s the vanilla ice cream of Masters sandwiches. Put some extra mustard and Masters-BBQ chips on there, though, and you’re onto something.

Masters Club Sandwich

IMG_3893

Score: 9 out 10 Azaleas

Ham and cheese AND turkey. There’s just something about the turkey/ham combination that takes this to the next level. Maybe it’s the hamburger bun with sesame seeds that gets it done, instead of rye bread.

Why 9 out of 10? A point was deducted because when faced with a decision between the BBQ and the club later in the day, I choose the BBQ.

Classic Chicken Sandwich

IMG_3683

Score: 7 out of 10 Azaleas

It was a little cold for my liking, and didn’t have the crunch you’d expect from its appearance. But the seasoning was packed with subtle spices, and after a packet or two of hot sauce it wasn’t only edible, but delectable. I’d never choose it over the club or BBQ sandwiches, but don’t sleep on the classic chicken.

Masters Mini Moonpies

IMG_4517

Score: 10 out of 10 Azaleas

They taste exactly how they look. And they look incredible, don’t they? The dark chocolate outer-shell perfectly houses the crunchy graham cracker and soft marshmallow. They’re easily portable and endlessly tasty. If there were more azaleas available, the Masters Moonpies would earn the entire bouquet.

Your Reaction?
  • 308
  • LEGIT25
  • WOW7
  • LOL24
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP11
  • OB6
  • SHANK50

He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

27 Comments

27 Comments

  1. randy

    Apr 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    peach ice cream sandwich… i had one of everything else but made myself stop at 8 of those.

  2. ooffa

    Apr 10, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    Redneck food.

  3. Bif

    Apr 10, 2016 at 2:07 am

    Gross gross all gross

  4. BIG STU

    Apr 9, 2016 at 5:23 am

    I can see why you are not a food critic but you did a very well written article I have to give you that. Now I love the pimento cheese sandwiches there. BTW there are no “egg yokes” themselves in pimento cheese but the mayonnaise does have whipped egg yokes so I will give you a pass there. Pimento Cheese it is a Southern thing and some of us would not expect someone from Michigan to understand. The Master’s food it is part of the tradition and I hope it never changes like the Masters itself. One of the few traditions overall left in this world

  5. don d.

    Apr 9, 2016 at 1:16 am

    I live for pimento cheese sandwiches. I make them for a masters get together every year. I cannot make enough of them. The combination of Vidalia sweet onions and mayo and pimentos is heaven. In moderation though and wash it down with a stiff azalea. The food at the masters is as unique as the tournament.

  6. David

    Apr 8, 2016 at 11:34 pm

    You forgot to try the chicken biscuit for breakfast, delicious!!!

  7. Frozengolfer

    Apr 8, 2016 at 8:43 pm

    Completely agree on the cheese sandwich, my favourite was the BBQ, fantastic sandwich and of course you can’t beat any of the prices. Getting a new collectable cup with each drink was super cool. We have them all over the house now!
    Cheers,
    Tim

  8. Lco21

    Apr 8, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    Baaahahahahaha!!!!

  9. talljohn777

    Apr 8, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    What no egg salad and no peach ice cream sandwich?

  10. SheriffBooth

    Apr 8, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    3 out of 10 on the pimento cheese? I think that Michigan water is soiling your tastebuds, Andrew 🙂 . A proper Masters diet is pimento cheese, followed by egg salad, followed by ice cream sandwich and then repeat 6 times until dusk.

    • brian h

      Apr 8, 2016 at 3:46 pm

      So funny. he is good by me. I trust this guy. 3 out of 10! 😉

  11. Yuck

    Apr 8, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    Food looks like it’s stuck in 1930, too. Disgusting. With a global focus on an event like this you would have thought the food wouldn’t come out looking like it was rationed from tin cans during the war! Not sophisticated at all. Totally unappetizing.

    And the price of entry is astronomical, lets not forget. The ticket prices are ludicrous. Those hospitality tickets? Unbelievable. Who said golf wasn’t elite? But, at least, an event such as this may be justified in having such prices, compared to silly games like baseball, basketball and helmetball.

    • kn

      Apr 8, 2016 at 2:20 pm

      Sounds like you ATE the Corn Flakes somebody pissed in this morning.

      • Grim

        Apr 8, 2016 at 8:43 pm

        Sounds like you know from experience, did they do that to you in the slammer?

    • Tom

      Apr 9, 2016 at 11:01 am

      “sophisticated”…lol we come to watch a professional golf tournament not eat five star cuisine.

  12. scratch

    Apr 8, 2016 at 1:27 pm

    Our 4some every year has about 3 egg salad sandwiches for breakfast What I found out biecause their so light and easy to eat that the team did just but 12 They’d often buy 20-26 and snack or giveaway to others through out the day as snacks

    Your assessment is close to what you hear from the masses The chicken is rated higher by most than your score And of course the pimento cheese rated much higher by most probably like you because of tradition! Great prices Service is always outstanding and polite !

  13. LA Billyboy

    Apr 8, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    Great idea for an article… missed some great chances for humor though… Since tickets have now crossed into the $2000+ category, I’ll never go and have begun to lose interest in the event all together as it becomes a commercial spectacle of the golf elites. But it’s good to know they serve really cheap, bad food (excepting the BBQ). I drove through Augusta, GA a few times on business trips… what a dump, it’s hard to imagine how they get that area to look like it does on TV, for a week, but I guess with millions in TV cash they can make the magic happen.

    • Greg Moore

      Apr 8, 2016 at 1:53 pm

      You should put your name in the lottery each year (if you aren’t already) cuz if your name is drawn, you can buy practice round tickets for $50 each (up to four). You also can buy practice round tickets for $250 – $400 per ticket on e bay depending on the day. There are ways to get tickets for a lot less then $2000+.

      • IowaHacker

        Apr 8, 2016 at 2:11 pm

        Prices went up to $65 for practice rounds this year(not to nit-pick, just saying), but your point is very valid and no where near what one would buy it for off eBay or StubHub. Hotels in Augusta on the other hand? Well those are still expensive.

        • Greg Moore

          Apr 8, 2016 at 3:27 pm

          I know hotel prices are expensive in Augusta but there are ways to find a cheaper room if you’re willing to drive 50-60 miles (Columbia, SC). I’ve been to 14 Masters and I cover the PGA Tour for Golfwrx.com. Hotels within 5 miles of every Tour event, not just the Majors, raise their prices during tournament week cuz they know they can get the extra money for their rooms that week. Every sporting event is getting expensive. Just try to get a ticket to the Kentucky Derby and cheap hotel room. NCAA Final Four host cities see a huge increase in hotel room rates. Supply and demand!

          • IowaHacker

            Apr 8, 2016 at 4:25 pm

            Totally agree on supply and demand. Made my first trip down for Tuesday’s practice round and was looking all over for you to grab a chip, just didn’t seem to find you between the 40,000 people there. Still a great first trip!

  14. RichN

    Apr 8, 2016 at 1:02 pm

    Anything with deli meat is just gross. That BBQ sandwich looks great.

  15. Greg Moore

    Apr 8, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Andrew it was great to see you and meet your father.

    This was my 14th Masters and I’ve never had a pimento cheese sandwich (and never will). I have been told the way to eat it is to also buy a chicken sandwich and put the chicken in the pimento cheese sandwich.

    I also haven’t tried the egg salad but was told the best breakfast sandwich is to buy the sausage & biscuit sandwich and an egg salad sandwich, throw the biscuit away and put the sausage patty in the egg salad sandwich.

    Glad you had a great time and nice job on the menu ratings.

  16. MarkB A

    Apr 8, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    It is nice the The Masters has low cost food offerings and free parking. Some haters do not like the required best behavior by patrons but it sure beats screaming drunks. Only thing I am not crazy about is the caddies overrals – they look hot. Hopefully the fabric is breathable.

    • Umm

      Apr 8, 2016 at 12:23 pm

      The caddies are potentially make 6 figures for a week work – where do I sign up to wear hot overalls?

  17. Tom

    Apr 8, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Pimento cheese and beer yumm.

  18. Jon

    Apr 8, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    What no peach ice cream sandwich? It is hands down the best on the menu, if you didn’t have one you really missed out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Flatstick Focus

Flatstick Focus: Interview with Joe Legendre – Legend Golf Company

Published

on

In Episode 26 Glenn is back and we interview the owner of Legend Golf Company, Joe Legendre.

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Podcasts

The 19th Hole Episode 141: The (golf) show must go on!

Published

on

Host Michael Williams has breaking news on The PGA Merchandise Show going virtual in 2021 from Marc Simon of PGA Golf Exhibitions. Also features John Buboltz with the latest putters and irons from Argolf.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Opinion & Analysis

Barney Adams: Ball rollback isn’t the right move to combat “The Golfer of Tomorrow”

Published

on

The announcing crew at the 2020 U.S. Open seemed obsessed with “the bombers”—players who drove the ball extreme distances with little regard for the occasional tee shot into the rough. TV has selected Bryson DeChambeau as their representative, given his length and victory.

I thought I’d wait a bit to see what the industry sources had to say. I can’t say it’s unanimous, because I haven’t seen everything, but the theme is: “Get Ready for The Golfer of Tomorrow”

  • 350-yard carry
  • Clubhead speed which tears through the rough allowing the ball to launch high and carry to the green
  • The ‘new’ instructor who teaches distance be it ground up or whatever new method is used
  • Gym sessions producing athletes who look more like football players
  • And last, a whole new shelf of steroids for golf

At the same time the USGA and its organizational allies are planning meetings focusing on not if the ball will be rolled back, but when—clearly, influenced by visual evidence from a great Winged Foot course in our national championship.

Let’s look deeper!

A hypothetical: go back a few months. You are on the planning committee for the U.S. Open to be held at Winged Foot, one of America’s great venues. This year because of COVID-19 there will be no galleries, something never experienced at a USGA major golf event. I repeat, your committee is planning for the U.S. Open. That implies “Open Rough” a term that is significant on its own. You don’t play from Open Rough, you escape…maybe.

The nature of Open Rough is a thick chunky base with long tendrils reaching skyward. These make it very difficult to find your ball in the best of circumstances and when attempting to advance these tendrils wrap themselves around your hosel closing the face, sending your ball deeper into hostile territory. That’s if you can even find it, Open rough has “disappeared” many balls over the years and done so within full view of gallery spectators aiding course marshals. The rule of thumb for competitors has always been to find the most reasonable patch of fairway and get out.

But this is the year of COVID-19. No galleries. Marshals, but relatively few because of no galleries. Now, considering that normal U.S. Open rough will produce many searches where marshals are important, the shortage of them will cause endless searches—which don’t make for great TV viewing. So, a decision is made, cut the rough down so shots can be found. Still in the rough but sitting on the chunky base and very often can be played. A tough call for the purist but an objective economic evaluation leaves no choice.

The announcers regale us with astonishing distances and swing speeds that allow escape from Open Rough that used to be impossible! The golf publications jump on this theme and predict that the Golfer of Tomorrow will be “DeChambeau-like” not sweet swingers but physical hulks rewriting the book on distance strongly influenced by no fear of the rough.

My point here is those publications and instructors, jumping on the “longer and slightly crooked is better” bandwagon have added 2+2 and gotten 5 when using the 2020 U.S. Open as a premise.

DeChambeau is a great and powerful player, however, I don’t think he’s known for his putting. Now I may have dozed off but I don’t remember him being widely praised for his putting. He should have been, it was terrific, probably influenced his score! He is our National Champion, an unsurpassable honor. But his style has me betting that the USGA is working on dates to discuss changing the golf ball, as in making it shorter.

I’m 100% against such a move. Golf is a game where amateurs can go to the same course play the same clubs and given a huge difference in skill achieve some measure of affiliation with the pros. A birdie is a birdie, not a long or short ball birdie. From a business perspective, the overwhelming majority of those golfers financially supporting golf are over 50. And we want them to hit it shorter?

Well, Mr. Adams what would you do? I know zero about golf ball manufacturing, but keeping the distance the same I’d change the dimples to increase curvature—just enough so it doesn’t affect slower swings that much but very high swing speeds so it’s in the player’s head

More thoughts. As an admitted TV viewer, get rid of those yardage books. Fine for practice rounds but when the bell rings it should be player and caddie, not an “on green” conference. What’s next, a staff meeting?

I’ll conclude with a note to the PGA Tour and, importantly, an admonition. To the PGA Tour: The minute a tee goes into the ground on #1 every player is on the clock. Stroke penalties, not fines, will get their attention.

To the rest of the golfing world: Let’s not blindly pursue the Golfer of Tomorrow concept without considerably deeper study.

Your Reaction?
  • 102
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB0
  • SHANK37

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending