Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Navigator by Dirty Larry Golf

Published

on

Pros: The Navigator offers immediate feedback on alignment. It’s compact, lightweight and attaches directly to any putter. At $60, it’s cheaper than most lessons and new putters.

Cons: Users must be careful not to bend the lightweight aluminum aiming arms.

Who’s it for: Golfers looking to aim their putter down the target line on a more consistent basis. It’s great for the putting green or the carpet at home.

The Review

It is said that a golfer’s putting stroke is as unique as their fingerprint. So while it’s true that most strokes can be classified into a few general categories (strong arc, slight arc, straight back/straight through), every golfer moves their putter from Point A to Point B a different way. This is where the Navigator looks to find its place, maximizing a golfer’s aim and accuracy on the green regardless of their stroke type or the putter they use.

There’s also a great back story about the development of the product, which you can read about here.

Here’s the company’s boastful video on how the Navigator works.

Designed to improve a golfer’s aim in 5 minutes or less, the Navigator succeeds, at least for myself, where many other training aids do not. The positive effects begin to take effect immediately, as promised.

In order to test the claims that the Navigator can improve a golfer’s stroke in 5 minutes, I set out to gather the data to prove, or disprove that statement. I used SAM Puttlab to test my aim and direction before and after using the Navigator. The putter used to gather the data was a Cleveland Classic 2, 35 inches long, with a 71 degree lie angle and 3 degrees of loft.

Before using the Navigator, my aim on average was 2.5 degrees open to my target. My variance ranged from 1.17 degrees open to as much as 3.43 degrees open, a difference of 2.26 degrees. While those numbers don’t initially sound too high, they’re not very good.

On a straight 10-foot putt, a ball that starts on a line that’s 2.4 degrees open to the target will miss the hole on the right by 4.63 inches. As a reference, the diameter of the hole is only 4.25 inches. That means the putt will be missed by more than one cup to the right.

aim before (2)

After using the Navigator, my aim was 0.1 degrees closed to my target on average, an an improvement of 2.6 degrees. My variance was -0.63 degrees closed to 0.28 degrees open, a total difference of 0.91 degrees. That was an improvement of 1.35 degrees.

aim after (2)

If you look at the two bars on the right side of the charts, you can see that my aim initially was in the 58th percentile while my consistency, or how close I was to aiming the same way each time, was in the 59th percentile.

After using the Navigator, my aim improved to the 95th percentile and my consistency improved to the 94th percentile.

A second effect that the Navigator had, above and beyond my aim, was on my club face alignment at impact. Before using the Navigator, my putter face was on average 0.8 degrees open at impact and my variance was -0.18 degrees closed to 1.92 degrees open, a total difference of 2.1 degrees. These numbers put me in the 71st percentile while my consistency was only in the 58th.

direction before (2)

After spending five minutes with the Navigator, my club face angle at impact, on average, was completely square and my range in club face angle was -0.46 degrees closed to 0.76 degrees open, a difference of 1.22 degrees. In this case, my face angle improved to the 88th percentile, and my consistency improved to the 91st percentile.

direction after (2)

The Takeaway

Dave Nastalski - IMG_9271

The Navigator produces immediate results, and at $60 it won’t break the bank. Its ready-to-use design allows golfers to go from setup to practice in just a few seconds, which sets it apart from its larger and more complicated counterparts.

In my experience, golfers are always more likely to use a training aid they can covertly slip in their bag. It’ll be there when they want it, and if their results are anything like mine they’ll want to practice with it a lot.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.dirtylarrygolf.com/” oemtext=”Learn more from Dirty Larry Golf” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UC3X83G/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00UC3X83G&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=EZQF64YLGACSIOY4″]

Your Reaction?
  • 595
  • LEGIT264
  • WOW159
  • LOL10
  • IDHT10
  • FLOP11
  • OB11
  • SHANK58

32 Comments

32 Comments

  1. Jay

    Mar 8, 2016 at 9:50 am

    Had mine for about a month and very pleased – high quality and easy to use. Can definitely see a difference in the 3-6 footers on the course

  2. Hanz Freidleberg

    Jan 12, 2016 at 6:15 pm

    I have used the Navigator during the last 6 months and it has definitely helped me reduce the amount of putting strokes when I play. I am sports neuroscientist and can vouch for The Puttlab Test.
    To keep things simple it is an innovative and very suitable ultra sound technology which is an effective tool to use to measure all aspects of a putting stroke with high precision and encourages successful motor learning and high repeatability that is seen on tour. There is definite value in the Test for multi disciplinary research in the science and psychology of putting. One of my colleagues mentioned it was even used to show results of a series of putts done on a putting robot (
    Dave Pelz’s “Perfy”).

    The Navigator is an extremely well thought out design aid for technical putters like myself.

    Congratulations on this product–it’s a winner.

  3. John Carpenter

    Jan 6, 2016 at 7:56 am

    Train Your Aim is the easiest and simplest way to help your putter face alignment. I have tried both Dirty Larry and Train Your Aim and they both work well….but TYA is much cheaper, weighs next to nothing, so not affecting your putter weight or stroke and can be kept in your pocket or bag. TYA is good for checking face alignment on all clubs.

  4. Jonathan

    Jan 6, 2016 at 1:04 am

    Tip for yall – just bought the Navigator on dirtylarrygolf.com for $49.95 using the code ONETIME and they shipped it for free.

  5. JOAN

    Jan 5, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    Sorry but 59.99 is wayyyyy overpriced. Ill go with the Putter Pointer. Theirs is made in the U.S.A also and its half the price. The navigators colors are tacky also and its to big for my taste.

  6. P3

    Jan 5, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    Looked at their website. They wanted 107 us for shipping to Sweden :-0. That must be one heavy training aid….

    • Dave

      Jan 5, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      Hi P3,

      Dave here with DLG. We offer a flat rate of $15 USD for all international shipments. The Navigator itself weighs 1.2 oz, and in the shipping box just under 8 oz total. Sorry for any confusion! If you have any questions or trouble feel free to shoot me a direct message.

      [email protected]

  7. Joel

    Jan 5, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    What does this do that the line on the ball can not?

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:25 pm

      Hi Joel,

      The line on the ball acts as a sight, though not as pronounced as the Navigator. The real training comes from the alignment rods and what they do to increase visual awareness and acuity. We built the Navigator to train your eyes, and not to force any huge stroke changes. The benefits received from continued use will build confidence and improve your ability to aim the putter face where you want to, and return it to square at impact as noted by the SAM PuttLab study referenced above. If you can do that, you’re going to make a lot more putts.

      Let me know if I can answer any other questions!

      -Dave
      [email protected]

  8. Joe

    Jan 5, 2016 at 11:39 am

    Putter Pointer is half the cost and built way better.
    http://www.theputterpointer.com

    • Don

      Jan 5, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      The Putter Pointer completely ripped off Dirty Larry Golf. Try the Navigator, it’s the ORIGINAL.

    • Carol

      Jan 5, 2016 at 4:32 pm

      Joe I took a look at your putter pointer and with the promo code discounts that Dirty Larry Golf has when you buy direct from them it’s about the same price by the time you apply your shipping fees. Plus the navigator is made in USA. I trust that level of quality!

  9. gregg

    Jan 5, 2016 at 10:00 am

    I have used Navigator and it has definitely created a sense of how square my putter is at impact. Several leading instructors in the world have also found it to be very effective as a tool to help their students–Tour pro’s and the average player.

    For all of you people who have bashed the product and have not used it as a training aid just keep 3 putting.

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:40 pm

      Hi Gregg,

      Thanks for the comments! We’re glad to hear the Navigator has helped your putting and look forward to hearing more of your success stories with the game!

      If I can help you in any way, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

      -Dave
      [email protected]

  10. Richard

    Jan 4, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    The line on the putter does not extend far enough to do what the Navigator does as is evidenced by the results the writer of the review had. I bought one and it does what they say it does. After practicing with it, the benefits stay with you because it trained my eye to finally know what it looks like when the club face is square to the ball. Another benefit of having the aiming rod extend outward by about 6 inches, it shows you flaws in your stroke. I love this thing!!!!

  11. Will

    Jan 4, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    never mind, sorry

  12. Will

    Jan 4, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    What device or equipment did you use to compile the face angle data?

    • Dylan

      Jan 12, 2016 at 9:22 am

      ” I used SAM Puttlab to test my aim and direction before and after using the Navigator.”

      Hope that helps

      • Stanley

        Feb 9, 2016 at 9:31 pm

        Do you think the improvement came from practicing with the Navigator or simply making the adjustment after seeing the “before-Navigator” SAM Puttlab results and realizing that your clubface had been aligned way open?

  13. ron

    Jan 4, 2016 at 10:37 am

    Maybe I’m missing something (not trying to be facetious), but cant this lesson be thought by having a putter with a long alignment line? Say, like a Ping Ketsch? Then you can take your “alignment aid” along with you during your round.

    • Jack

      Jan 5, 2016 at 3:52 am

      exactly what I was thinking. I can see that line quite well with my putter.

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:32 pm

      Hi Ron,

      The Navigator serves as a forward pointing sight in contrast to the native aiming lines of the putter head which are only ever found behind the face. We’ve found with our own testing, and subsequent SAM PuttLab testing, that having a pronounced forward pointing aiming rod improves the skill of starting the ball over a “spot” on your line. Some of the best putters in the world use spot putting — as trained by Dave Stockton, world renowned putting expert. Feel free to reference the following video for a little more info: https://vimeo.com/143163894

      Let me know if I can answer any other questions!

      -Dave
      [email protected]

  14. Desmond

    Jan 4, 2016 at 9:04 am

    I would think the benefits go out the door unless you use it before each round. I’d rather go for the holistic treatment and just aim where I think I’m aiming from the get-go, and buy a putter with which I am straight.

  15. Chuck D

    Jan 3, 2016 at 10:07 pm

    Golf God’s help us! This looks like a Flamingo’s prosthetic device! Please stop the nonsense!

  16. west

    Jan 3, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I thought that alignment aid on the putter itself was enough for most?

    • Desmond

      Jan 4, 2016 at 2:51 pm

      Depends on what your brain-eye coordinate the shape of the putterhead, hosel/offset and sight lines

  17. Jeff

    Jan 3, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    I bought a few of these on their site as Christmas gifts after seeing them on ESPN (on sale for under 50 bucks + free shipping) and was super impressed by these guys. The packaging is awesome and the product really works. @Courtney, I considered TYA, but that thing looks like it comes out of a gumball machine. It also doesn’t have the adjustability factor that the Navigator does.

  18. Mat

    Jan 3, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Stupid question, but what makes this illegal for in-game play exactly?

  19. Courtney

    Jan 3, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Definitely slicker looking than the Train Your Aim, but come on…$60 plus shipping ? Train Your Aim is $10 plus shipping and there are no touchy aluminum pieces to keep straight. (not trying to Bogart the product and I don’t work for TYA – but $50 is significant)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 51
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 33
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK12

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending