Connect with us

Equipment

Callaway’s 2013 Women’s Golf Clubs: Editor Review

Published

on

Looking for a premium women’s set? Here is a top pick from the GolfWRX editors.

Our testers have had Callaway’s 2013 line of X Hot women’s clubs in play for several weeks, and have both commented on how the distance the irons fly has made the game much more enjoyable for them.

The women’s versions use all the technology of Callaway’s GolfWRX Editor’s Choice-winning X Hot woods and irons, making them a top choice for a women who need more height and forgiveness from their clubs than the men’s versions can provide.

And how can you deny the looks of Callaway’s X Hot lineup going to a pink-and-gray scheme?

One of our testers, who is a higher handicap golfer, has always struggled with getting fairway woods off the ground. She said that the X Hot women’s fairway wood is by far the highest-launching and easiest to hit model she has ever gamed.

The whole set looks great, and put together with the XTT Xtreme Cart Bag in grey, the clubs look even more attractive.

2Y9G5098

You can’t deny the looks of Callaway’s X Hot lineup going to a pink-and-gray scheme is hot!

best woman golf clubs

X Hot’s adjustable Speed Frame Face allows you to set the face angle in an Open, Square or Closed position to fine tune the trajectory and appearance you’re looking for at address.

2Y9G5109

The X Hot driver has also received a lot of praise from our testers. Both tested the 13.5-degree HT driver, and are hitting the club higher and farther than their previous drivers. Our testers have also enjoyed the fact that they can adjust the face angle of the club. They used Callaway’s OptiFit Hosel to close the driver’s face and get their shots started closer to the center line.

 

Like the men’s version, the women’s X Hot driver has three different face angle positions (Open, Square or Closed) to help golfers get the look and flight they need to play their best. It also has the company’s Speed Frame Face, which improves ball speed on mishits.

2Y9G5107

Callaway’s women’s X Hot driver comes with a lightweight, “W-flex” version of True Temper’s Project X Velocity shafts, which helps create a higher launch for more carry. The irons also come with a proprietary PXv shaft that boosts speed and launch.

2Y9G51192Y9G5121

The deeper undercut cavity on Callaway’s women’s X Hot irons helps create a higher launch and more ball speed over a larger area of the face.

2Y9G5159

Odyssey’s Women’s Divine putters are offered in shorter lengths than the men’s versions (32, 33 and 34 inches), with heavier head weights (350 grams) to optimize the feel of the putters.

They come in three popular shapes — 2Ball, Rossie and blade (similar to Odyssey’s No. 1 putter) — and have an insert with a feel that Callaway’s testing showed women preferred.

2Y9G51682Y9G5164

Callaway’s HEX Solaire Golf Ball has an S-Tech core with a lower compression than the company’s other offerings. That helps provide an extremely soft feel off the clubface, as well as improved accuracy and distance for women with slower club head speeds.

Its special HEX Aerodynamics helps create a long, penetrating flight and that is a better fit for low-speed, low-lift players. The pearlescent finish creates a stylish, elegant appearance on the course, and it’s also available in a vivid pink.

2Y9G5096

You can see the setup looks awesome on a cart. The strap of the bag is in the back side where it belongs. If you are not going to carry your bag or take a caddie, than this cart bag is the best choice.

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Pat

    May 18, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    This review is an insult to women golfers . All the women I play golf with are serious about their game and always looking to improve. This review was nothing more then a description of color and fashion.
    Absolutely useless.

  2. MARIOC

    Jan 29, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    I was looking around to find a new set of clubs
    for my wife’s birthday.This site was a joke,it
    was all a fashion show.She may not be a pro,but
    she is serious about her game.I think she would
    find this site somewhat insulting.

  3. Becky

    Dec 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    This is the absolutely the most lame club review I’ve seen. Worthless. Although I now know how to position my clubs on the cart for best asthetic effect.

  4. Rebecca

    Sep 29, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    This review assumes that women only care about how clubs look and not how they perform. Where is the real analysis? You are never going to get more women involved in golf if you don’t realize that like men, one size does not fit all. We don’t all love pink. We don’t need a 13.5 HT driver with a watered down shaft. I am hitting Callaway’s Razr Fit Extreme 10.5 with a cut down senior flex shaft and it has done wonders for my drives. Plus I have switched from the “womens” balls and have found that I am longer off the tee and have a ton more feel around the greens. I wish Golfwrx would take reviews targeted at women seriously rather than just talking about the colors or reviewing clothing.

  5. Tracy

    Sep 9, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Pink clubs? Are you kidding me?

    • LaineyT

      Apr 3, 2014 at 4:27 pm

      Oddly enough pink is not a bad thing. Last season I was stuck with a choice of hot pink or powder blue when getting my clubs re-gripped (the “feel” was better than the straight black). Although I’m not a fan of pink in general, I felt it had more personality than the blue and in the end I was happy with my choice. The bright colour really stands out against the grass (especially since the shafts on my clubs are green too) and makes it less likely that I’ll forget to pick up an iron after putting.

  6. MMM

    Aug 24, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    Where are the fairway woods (only 1in the bag) and the rescue woods?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Coolest thing for sale in the GolfWRX Classifieds (5/25/22): Scotty 009 Beach Oil Can putter

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we are a community of like-minded individuals that all experience and express our enjoyment of the game in many ways.

It’s that sense of community that drives day-to-day interactions in the forums on topics that range from best driver to what marker you use to mark your ball. It even allows us to share another thing we all love – buying and selling equipment.

Currently, in our GolfWRX buy/sell/trade (BST) forum, there is a listing for a Scotty 009 Beach Oil Can putter.

From the seller (@CasualLie): “Scotty 009 Beach Oil Can, 34”, just back from the Studio Spa to get a new CT grip/shaft and COA.  Oil can refinishes are not an option so putter head was left alone.  Overall great condition, it was a light gamer so do not expect “new” condition.  009 oil cans are pretty tough to find, especially without crazy stampings.  Comes with used CT FTUO cover.  $5500.”

To check out the full listing in our BST forum, head through the link: Scotty 009 Beach Oil Can putter

This is the most impressive current listing from the GolfWRX BST, and if you are curious about the rules to participate in the BST Forum you can check them out here: GolfWRX BST Rules

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Whats in the Bag

Dustin Johnson WITB 2022 (May)

Published

on

Driver: TaylorMade Stealth Plus (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Fujikura Speeder 661 Evolution 2.0 Tour Spec X

3-wood: TaylorMade Stealth HL (16.5 degrees)
Shaft: LA Golf Prototype

7-wood: TaylorMade Stealth (21 degrees)
Shaft: Project X HZURDUS Smoke Black RDX 95 6.5

9-wood: TaylorMade Stealth (24 degrees)
Shaft: LA Golf Prototype

Irons: TaylorMade P730 DJ Proto (4-PW)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100 (soft-stepped)

Wedges: TaylorMade MG (52-09SB @54 degrees, 60-10SB)
Shafts: KBS Tour Custom Black 120 S

Putter: TaylorMade Spider GT Splitback
Shaft: LA Golf
Grip: SuperStroke Traxion Pistol GT 1.0

Ball: TaylorMade TP5x 2019 (#1)

Grips: Golf Pride Tour Velvet 58R (1 wrap 2-way tape + 2 wraps left hand, 3 right hand)

More Dustin Johnson’s WITBs

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

Details on Dustin Johnson’s PGA Championship putter change

Published

on

He only played two days at Southern Hills (missing the cut with a 6 over two-day total), so it’s understandable if you didn’t see world No. 13 Dustin Johnson’s flatstick switch.

As GolfWRXers well know, Dustin Johnson tests multiple different putters every week leading up to just about every single tournament he plays in. While he typically ends up back into his blacked-out TaylorMade Tour Limited Spider, this week he called up a new Spider GT Splitback putter into his starting lineup.

Here’s what TaylorMade Tour rep Bucky Coe had to say about the switch:

“It’s all about the aesthetics. From the feedback I got from him, he grabbed it off the putting green because he liked the longer shape in the back and felt it was more forgiving with the CG placement. The combination of a white cavity and the single sight line allows him to set it up square and align the ball easily.”

TaylorMade also provided the full specs below.

Model: Spider GT Splitback
Loft: 2 degrees
Lie angle: 69 degrees
Length: 35.75 inches, end of grip
Swing weight: E7
Grip: SuperStroke Pistol GT 1.0

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending