Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 108
  • LEGIT20
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP6
  • OB2
  • SHANK9

Win Neagle is a novelist, freelance writer, and college instructor. He and his wife, Rebecca, live in Raleigh, N.C.

14 Comments

14 Comments

  1. Rod Hill

    Apr 1, 2019 at 1:23 pm

    The QOD Electric Buggy is sold world wide. If any Australians are reading this wonderful review of the QOD Buggy, head over to http://www.qodgolf.com.au for more information.

    Well done Golf WRX, a very good, concise review. Thank you.

  2. Scott

    Mar 29, 2018 at 11:21 am

    Walking the course is truly one of the most enjoyable activities I know of. We need a push in this country to reduce carts and encourage walking. These type of trolleys certainly should help improve pace of play.

  3. Steve Plutte

    Mar 28, 2018 at 9:08 pm

    Looks great!!!!

  4. SV

    Mar 28, 2018 at 3:02 pm

    From the pictures it would seem to be too narrow for stability except for the most level course. Also, it it seems expensive since a lot of courses require you to ride and you wouldn’t be able to use it all of the time.

    • sam

      Mar 28, 2018 at 4:10 pm

      Real men in Australia still walk the course… while decrepit obese Americans must haul their butts around sitting in a golf cart…. soooo obvious

  5. JasonHolmes

    Mar 28, 2018 at 6:43 am

    Love everything about this cart except that 10-20-30 second advance feature. I dont play anywhere that those sorts of options are practical. Sending it 20 or 30 seconds ahead – who in the world uses that?

    I wish it had been implemented more like Motocaddy did with the 5-10-15 *yard* feature. Much more practical IMO.

  6. James T

    Mar 27, 2018 at 8:37 pm

    First side hill lie and the thing flops over…

  7. Bob Norfe

    Mar 27, 2018 at 6:07 pm

    Indeed the most practical and portable of e-golf trolleys. You can easily store it in the trunk of your car, which is a rare sight in electric trolleys.

    However, would suggest the following improvements for the next model:
    Change the plastic components as they do not last more than a couple years.

    Rear axis has to be broaden in order to favour more stability on non-fairway grounds.

    Overall weight has to be reduced, my wife is in her early 30’s and can’t lift it alone.

    • Malachi McGlone

      Mar 28, 2018 at 2:01 am

      Thank you for the kind words and feedback Bob, we are always looking for ways to improve. With the 2018 model we have increased the diameter and width of the rear wheels which has shown a significant improvement in stability with very little impact to the compact size. The frame is constructed with heavier metal to improve durability so the 26lbs. is as light as we could get it this year but we will continue to try to make it lighter each year. We have also upgraded many of our components as well, if you are having any issues with older plastic parts please let us know and we’ll be happy to get them replaced for you. Thank you again for the feedback Bob.

      • James T

        Mar 28, 2018 at 11:23 am

        My apologies, mine weren’t the kindest of words. I understand you need to strike a balance between stability on the fairways and portability in the car trunk.

        • Malachi McGlone

          Mar 30, 2018 at 3:32 am

          Thank you for writing back James, that is very admirable of you. I understand that was just your initial reaction and we took no offense to it, but thank you for the apology. The QOD is surprisingly stable for its compact size and it would take a significant degree of side slope before gravity would win the battle with the front suspension system in the QOD’s front wheels. Thanks again for writing back, all the best and keep hitting ’em straight!

  8. Malachi McGlone

    Mar 27, 2018 at 5:53 pm

    Thank you for the review of our electric golf caddy Golf WRX. We have been followers and fans of your site for a long time and are very excited that you found the QOD Golf Caddy and decided to do a review on it. We are fellow golfers who love keeping up with the latest in golf equipment and news so we appreciate what you produce on a daily basis. If anyone has any questions about the electric caddy we are always happy to help 7 days a week. Thanks again Golf WRX. Enjoy the walk everyone.

    • Robert

      Mar 28, 2018 at 12:18 am

      Why are the rear traction wheels so close together? I would have thought a slightly wider track would provide better stability on uneven and sloped ground. Thanks.

  9. BarnRat

    Mar 27, 2018 at 3:43 pm

    I prefer to dump my butt in a golf cart and ride around the course like a hot shot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending