Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Under Armour Drive One and Tempo Hybrid shoes

Published

on

Pros: The comfort, style and stability of the UA Drive One are 5-star quality, and the shoes are waterproof. The Tempo Hybrid blends a “lifestyle” golf shoe with surprising stability.

Cons: At $199.99, the UA Drive One are on the high end of the mainstream golf shoe market. The Tempo Hybrid ($159.99) miss the boat on comfort.

Who they’re for: The UA Drive One are for any golfer who likes a modern-looking golf shoe, but is serious about performance. The Tempo Hybrid are for those looking to achieve a cool, laid-back look on the course.

The Review

Due to Jordan Spieth’s popularity and success in 2015, the release of the UA Drive One, which he wore throughout the year, was almost unbearably anticipated for consumers who care about that kind of thing. And the shoes do not disappoint. Even if you’re just not a fan of Jordan Spieth, or not a fan of the look, these shoes pass every test when it comes to performance for a serious golfer.

UnderArmourGolfShoes

They provide tremendous stability in the heel throughout the swing with what Under Armour calls carbon counterlocks, which really give you that “locked in” feeling. And they’re quite comfortable, too, with the leather insole and ample cushioning in the heel and midsole.

Some golfers have complained that the shoes run narrow, or have high arches that cause discomfort, but I found no problem with either.

Also, it’s difficult to ask for more from a spike configuration. They have CHAMP Zarma Tour spikes with the popular Slim-Lok system that you’ll find in the top golf shoes on the market. They have great traction in any weather (and it’s the rainy season in Michigan, so I know playing wet weather well). And the UA Drive One are waterproof as advertised, which is a huge plus for any golfer.

UnderAmrourGolfShoesSpikes

One of my biggest tests for golf shoes is to play a round in them, and judge how excited you are to change out of them when you get back to the car. Even after playing in muddy/wet conditions, and wearing them for the first time, I was not in a rush to get them off. They’re just very comfortable golf shoes.

UnderArmourGolfShoesFoam

It’s amazing for a company’s first run of golf shoes to deliver in such a big way. I would have no problem putting these up against the best performance shoes in the industry, and even surpassing them by way of comfort and overall look. They find a sweetspot, offering a modern flare without being too “in your face.”

UnderArmourGolfSHoesTop

The retail colorways include White-and-Blue, White-and-Black, White-and-Grey, and Black.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”88″]

UA Tempo Hybrid

UnderArmourHybridShoes

Golfers love to say, “I can wear my spikeless shoes on AND off the course.” I’m always thinking, “Why would I want to wear my smelly, muddy shoes to hangout or get dinner?”

That being said, the UA Tempo Hybrids look exactly like those kind of shoes. Style wise, you can wear these with shorts, jeans, khakis, casual pants or whatever else you have in your closet. They’re versatile, and look very similar to the Tempo Tour shoes, but without the golf spikes… thus “Hybrids.”

UnderAmourFoamShoesGolf

The Tempo Hybrid are made for golfers who want performance from their shoe, but also a more laid-back look. Under Armour knocked the look out of the park and provided consumers with four different colorways that each strike a different look and feel. I personally went with the Gravel colorway, as they seemed to be unique compared to other shoes on the market.

This specific colorway captures an “outdoorsy” vibe, and has boot-like laces to complete the look. If I was going for a hike through the woods, these may be my choice.

underArmourSpikes

As golf shoes, they provide great lateral stability due to their spike configuration, but not a great amount of traction due to the spike design. Slick grass or wet weather may cause concern.

My biggest issue with these shoes, however, was the odd tongue design; it wraps around the foot and is quite irritating on the top sides of my feet. It’s something I was not able to get past, and why I never got the chance to play a round of golf while wearing them.

That led me to get a few other opinions. For the purposes of this review, I had a fellow GolfWRX Staffer put the shoes on and walk around. He found the shoes to be “very comfortable” and had no issues with the tongue, but said that the back spikes on the heel kept scraping the ground as he walked. He said “I would never play golf in these because of (the spikes on the heel).” Another GolfWRX Staffer tried on the shoes as well, and said the tongue was bothering the inner part of his feet, and that he would not play golf in them for that reason.

UnderArmourTempoHybrid

So I was 0-for-3 in getting these shoes tested on the course, which is unfortunate because they look slick in every colorway, especially the Gravel. I hope the next iteration of spikeless shoes from Under Armour corrects the comfort issues, as I’m a fan of the design from a golf-fashion standpoint.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”90″]

The Takeaway

The UA Drive One hit the mark, and lived up to the hype. They’re the ultimate modern golf shoe, providing stability, comfort, performance and waterproofing.

The UA Tempo Hybrid, however, did not provide the comfort that I expected from a spikeless shoe, but they did achieve the ultra cool, laid-back look that works on and off the course.

For Under Armour’s much-anticipated launch, and its introduction to the world of golf shoes, it offered high points and low points. The “Spieths” were a home run, while the Tempo Hybrid were a bloop single. With issues of comfort to be corrected in the Tempo Hybrid, Under Armour will have some serious staying power for both serious and casual golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK24

Andrew Tursky is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Reading the words.

    Nov 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I’m supposed to go buy a golf shoe that was so uncomfortable 3 avid golfers couldn’t even stomach the thought of playing golf in? This is hitting it out of the park? Or its partner-shoe, that gave Erin Hills guy a blister, but if you’ve got the dough, he highly recommends? That sound comfortable? Not to me.

  2. Troy

    Sep 6, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    Have owned and still own a pair of Drive One’s, this was after I purchased a pair of Tempo Tour’s from UA.
    The Drive One’s are far superior in most ways to the Tempo’s.
    While I do agree that $200 is excessive for these shoes, I love them and feel they are likely the most comfortable shoe I’ve ever worn in over 30 years of golf.

  3. Chris

    Jun 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    I bought the Drive One’s the second they came out (huge UA fan, friends think I deserve a sponsorship) and I couldn’t agree more with this review. Fantastic looking shoe, great support and overall comfort level for me is right below Puma’s Titan Tours. After the first round with them (at Erin Hills) I had a nice a blister on my left pinky toe b/c they are a little narrow out of the box and pinched my feet but they’ve stretched out nicely and I’ve had no issues since (2 walking rounds, 2 cart rounds). Yeah they’re pricey but if that’s not an issue for you I highly recommend.

  4. Leftypro

    Jun 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    $160.00 and they aren’t even waterproof is a bigger issue!!

  5. Ccshop

    May 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Typical under armour look. Tried on and it’s very stiff over the forefoot, seems like it would take a few rounds to break in

  6. Mark

    May 26, 2016 at 3:09 am

    They look good but waaay overpriced for a firth foray into the Golf market. And if they are narrow then thanks but no thanks.

  7. DB

    May 25, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    Just bring back the FJ Classic! Best Shoe Ever!!!

  8. Donald Quiote

    May 25, 2016 at 10:08 am

    I think I am in the minority of the guys who don’t really care for either of these shoes. Over priced and other brands are making a better looking shoe. Was really hoping for more from UA in the shoe market.

    • gwillis7

      May 25, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Agree. I REALLY like UA clothes and like that they are getting bigger and competing with Nike, BUT their shoes are lacking behind Nike still. They aren’t as comfortable in my opinion and I still think they are a few years away from getting it ‘right’.
      They have done an amazing job with signing the right athletes though…Speith, Brady, Curry. AMAZING

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

        Yup. I wear a pair of adidas boost and the puma ignites spikeless and they are super duper comfortable and I honestly think they look better than these. I love Under Armour cloths and I know their golf shoes are just getting started but expected something better looking than these to make a splash in the shoe market. I do look forward to future releases assuming they also lower the prices a bit.

  9. Chris

    May 25, 2016 at 1:52 am

    They look a little DNA ish. I don’t mind them, they look okay, logo could be small and on the heel cap.

    but I doubt I will ever buy a set of lace ups again, BOA is great for fat guys. Bring on the BOA

  10. Jacob

    May 24, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Can someone tell me why Jordan only wears white shoes?

  11. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I can see some one breaking into my car to steal these.

  12. B Hock

    May 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    I wish they would have made the logo larger on them… 😛

  13. Thehomez

    May 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Interesting the drive ones were so comfortable. I remember reading somewhere that Jordan Speith didn’t like them initially due to lack of comfort. Wonder if they did a redesign.

    And if your looking for someone to test out the hybrid pair I’d be happy to and post a review. Not the best looking shoe but not the worst either

  14. Milo

    May 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    It not a stretch to think they would make a decently comfortable golf spike since they make cleats for football. To bad they are overpriced.

  15. Cornfused...

    May 24, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Then don’t read it?

    • Joey5Picks

      May 24, 2016 at 3:49 pm

      Then isn’t commenting a little like driving across town to a restaurant you don’t like just to tell them you’ll never eat there?

      • Robert

        May 25, 2016 at 11:51 am

        You forget, like feel of club faces, comfort of a shoe is such a huge variable that the only way to truly know how they feel and fit is to try them on.

      • Donald Quiote

        May 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

        I have given certain brands or models of shoes a try because reviews were favorable. In the case you all give this site really doesn’t need to exist. If we don’t want reviews of how clubs feel and shoes feel and … What do you expect to be on here?

      • LA Billyboy

        Jun 17, 2016 at 8:17 pm

        Sorta like panning a golf shoe you never wore on a golf course?

    • Donald Quiote

      May 26, 2016 at 9:32 am

      Completely Agree!!

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        I am saying I would love to have it where it was only linked accounts. For once you would actually be doing us a favor Smizzle.

  16. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Say those are handsome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit: 2018 U.S. Open

Published

on

Brooks Koepka played like he dressed on Sunday at Shinnecock Hills for the final round of the U.S. Open; his outfit was athletic, well put together, boring with a bit of flash (those shoes!!), and most importantly, it got the job done.

See the golf clubs and shafts Brooks used to win.

A great representative of the new age of golf, Koepka has the frame of a baseball player, and he’s not afraid to accentuate it with tight-fitting polos and an athletic look. For Sunday, he chose a white-on-gray-on-gray look that was understated, but clean — just like his scorecard. He really made the Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE shoes, with hits of electric orange, the star. Check out the details on his full outfit below.

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: Nike AeroBill Classic99
  • Shirt: Nike Zonal Cooling polo
  • Belt: Nike Stretch Woven
  • Pants: Nike Flex
  • Shoes: Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE
Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Dustin Johnson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic

Published

on

Dustin Johnson won the 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic by 6 shots — and he holed out on the 72nd hole for eagle as the cherry on top.

You can check out the clubs he used to win here, but this article is all about his outfit.

Per usual, DJ went with the white-on-navy-on-navy-navy look that he wears often, especially on winning Sundays. Also, according to Adidas, it’s the first time that a Primeknit shoe has won on the PGA Tour, so there’s that.

Let’s dive into his full outfit…

Dustin’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: TaylorMade New Era Tour 9Fifty (White)
  • Polo: Ultimate365 Heather Polo (Collegiate Navy)
  • Belt: 3-Stripes Perforated Reversible
  • Pants: Ultimate365 Flat Front (Navy)
  • Shoes: Tour 360Knit (Grey/Real Purple)
Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Modern classics: Catching up with Holderness & Bourne

Published

on

If you haven’t heard of Holderness & Bourne, well, for one thing, you’ve missed a couple of our gift guides. We’ve lauded the Rye, New York-based apparel manufacturer on more than one occasion for making some of the best polos in the business.

H&B, not surprisingly the product of two men named (Alex) Holderness and (John) Bourne, is quickly establishing a reputation for classic styles in tailored fits using modern materials. In addition to both performance and cotton polos, Holderness & Bourne makes sweaters, vests, bags, and other accessories.

I spoke with Alex Holderness about the company’s growth and what’s next.

BA: We first spoke a couple of years ago, but things have really taken off since then. Tell me about the growth.

AH: It’s been a great few years for us. We’ve basically tripled the past few years. We’re now stocking more than 150 clubs around the country and some great clubs abroad as well. We’re seeing traction for the brand; we’re seeing momentum. A lot of people like the concept of the brand, which is classic style with a more modern approach to fabrics and fit…and it’s working, so we’re trying to grow carefully based on that.

BA: What did establishing traction look like for you?

AH: It’s been steady all along. There wasn’t a point where the tide turned and things started to get good when they weren’t good before. But it is tough to get traction in green grass, and we feel very fortunate that we were based in New York…early in the history of the brand, we landed Winged Foot…Greenwich Country Club and a few others in the area really early on…So we were very lucky…because traction in green grass for brands like us is driven by perception, so if you can align yourself as a brand with the better clubs and public facilities around the country it can be very favorable. A lot of times, it results in people…calling us, because they’ve heard it [our apparel] did very well at Winged Foot or some other club. So that’s our general approach to green grass.

We’re not snobs about it by any means. It’s not like we have some grand strategy to only stock the top 100 clubs. But we care a lot about making premium products and being a premium brand. As a results of that, we are a natural fit for higher-end facilities, whether they’re public or private. We’re not going to ever be the cheapest brand in the shop, and we’re not going to be on clearance for 70 percent off…we’re very careful about what we’re building, and as a result of that, having these relationships with facilities around the country has been really helpful for us…and it’s helped us generate momentum in terms of getting inbound inquiries.

But it has taken a while. We’re four years into this thing, and it’s a day-by-day, year-by-year process..It’s not like we went out and raised $5 million in investor capital. We didn’t go out and try to be an overnight success…and get into every club. We only raised a small amount of capital, and we’re trying to kind of bootstrap: make great product, sell it, then use those proceeds to broaden our assortment. We want to add additional categories and get into more clubs every year, but it takes time.

BA: Can you talk a bit about your core consumer and how you’re appealing to him in ways that maybe other brands weren’t?

AH: My business partner John and I are both guys in our late 30s, married with kids and all that, but young enough to want a cleaner, more modern fit without sacrificing the classic look. We just knew that the combination of fit and style that we had in mind would resonate with plenty of guys, because we started out looking at this whole thing from the customer’s perspective. We also wanted to put some real soul into the brand, creating something very authentic within golf, because we didn’t always feel we were getting that as customers buying golf apparel in the past.

BA: Can you talk a little bit about the balance between e-commerce sales and green grass?

AH: Green grass has been the focus for us so far, but it’s a nice overall split. I think these days any relatively new brand needs to have a website where their customers can reach them directly, but for us the relationships we have with the clubs and public facilities that stock our brand are certainly just as important. Those places are the real stewards of the game and golf culture, and our brand has proven to be a strong fit for them.

BA: You’ve been pretty selective in your marketing and messaging…can you talk about that?

AH: We’re just kind of old school about it. We don’t care to shout about the brand or pay a bunch of money for marketing and PR. Our thinking has always been that if we focus on designing and manufacturing excellent products and get them into the right people’s hands, the brand will grow nicely as people tell their friends about the brand. We also put a huge emphasis on customer service for that same reason. We want people to have an excellent experience with us, even if that involves solving a problem for them, and that approach has been a good one so far.

BA: Talk about Roberto Castro wearing your wares, as it were…

AH: We are really proud to have Roberto onboard as a brand ambassador, and he’s become a great friend of ours as well. He found out about us a couple years ago by reading a piece about new golf brands on the blog Red Clay Soul, and reached out. We weren’t looking to sponsor tour players, but we got to know him and realized that he is the perfect guy to have out there representing the brand. He’s a big family guy, humble and low-key, and he just let’s his game do the talking, all of which we admire. And the guy has got tons of game. He made it into the field at the U.S. Open again this year, so we’re headed out to Shinnecock next week to cheer him on.

BA: Speaking of the Tour, apparel is in an interesting and dynamic place, isn’t it?

AH: Definitely. We think it’s great that there are a number of new brands out there pushing things forward, and it’s not a winner-take-all market. Things are certainly competitive, but brands both within and beyond golf are becoming more niche, which helps customers find the ones that specifically work for them. We don’t really pay a lot of attention to the apparel game on tour specifically, to be honest. We care just as much what’s going on out on the mid-am scene, where a lot of guys who obviously aren’t getting paid choose to wear our stuff simply because they like it better.

BA: Beyond deliberate growth, what’s on the horizon for H&B?

AH: We’re now stocking more than 150 pro shops around the country (and abroad – Sunningdale in England and Toronto Golf Club up in Canada have picked up the line), so we are excited about that momentum. For 2019, we’ve got big plans to expand our apparel collection, with a broader range of shirt fabrics and styles, some very cool layering pieces, and more premium accessories such as belts, hats, and bags. As designers, we really feel like we’re just getting started.

BA: Thanks, Alex.

You can find Holderness & Bourne on the web here.

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending