Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Under Armour Drive One and Tempo Hybrid shoes

Published

on

Pros: The comfort, style and stability of the UA Drive One are 5-star quality, and the shoes are waterproof. The Tempo Hybrid blends a “lifestyle” golf shoe with surprising stability.

Cons: At $199.99, the UA Drive One are on the high end of the mainstream golf shoe market. The Tempo Hybrid ($159.99) miss the boat on comfort.

Who they’re for: The UA Drive One are for any golfer who likes a modern-looking golf shoe, but is serious about performance. The Tempo Hybrid are for those looking to achieve a cool, laid-back look on the course.

The Review

Due to Jordan Spieth’s popularity and success in 2015, the release of the UA Drive One, which he wore throughout the year, was almost unbearably anticipated for consumers who care about that kind of thing. And the shoes do not disappoint. Even if you’re just not a fan of Jordan Spieth, or not a fan of the look, these shoes pass every test when it comes to performance for a serious golfer.

UnderArmourGolfShoes

They provide tremendous stability in the heel throughout the swing with what Under Armour calls carbon counterlocks, which really give you that “locked in” feeling. And they’re quite comfortable, too, with the leather insole and ample cushioning in the heel and midsole.

Some golfers have complained that the shoes run narrow, or have high arches that cause discomfort, but I found no problem with either.

Also, it’s difficult to ask for more from a spike configuration. They have CHAMP Zarma Tour spikes with the popular Slim-Lok system that you’ll find in the top golf shoes on the market. They have great traction in any weather (and it’s the rainy season in Michigan, so I know playing wet weather well). And the UA Drive One are waterproof as advertised, which is a huge plus for any golfer.

UnderAmrourGolfShoesSpikes

One of my biggest tests for golf shoes is to play a round in them, and judge how excited you are to change out of them when you get back to the car. Even after playing in muddy/wet conditions, and wearing them for the first time, I was not in a rush to get them off. They’re just very comfortable golf shoes.

UnderArmourGolfShoesFoam

It’s amazing for a company’s first run of golf shoes to deliver in such a big way. I would have no problem putting these up against the best performance shoes in the industry, and even surpassing them by way of comfort and overall look. They find a sweetspot, offering a modern flare without being too “in your face.”

UnderArmourGolfSHoesTop

The retail colorways include White-and-Blue, White-and-Black, White-and-Grey, and Black.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”88″]

UA Tempo Hybrid

UnderArmourHybridShoes

Golfers love to say, “I can wear my spikeless shoes on AND off the course.” I’m always thinking, “Why would I want to wear my smelly, muddy shoes to hangout or get dinner?”

That being said, the UA Tempo Hybrids look exactly like those kind of shoes. Style wise, you can wear these with shorts, jeans, khakis, casual pants or whatever else you have in your closet. They’re versatile, and look very similar to the Tempo Tour shoes, but without the golf spikes… thus “Hybrids.”

UnderAmourFoamShoesGolf

The Tempo Hybrid are made for golfers who want performance from their shoe, but also a more laid-back look. Under Armour knocked the look out of the park and provided consumers with four different colorways that each strike a different look and feel. I personally went with the Gravel colorway, as they seemed to be unique compared to other shoes on the market.

This specific colorway captures an “outdoorsy” vibe, and has boot-like laces to complete the look. If I was going for a hike through the woods, these may be my choice.

underArmourSpikes

As golf shoes, they provide great lateral stability due to their spike configuration, but not a great amount of traction due to the spike design. Slick grass or wet weather may cause concern.

My biggest issue with these shoes, however, was the odd tongue design; it wraps around the foot and is quite irritating on the top sides of my feet. It’s something I was not able to get past, and why I never got the chance to play a round of golf while wearing them.

That led me to get a few other opinions. For the purposes of this review, I had a fellow GolfWRX Staffer put the shoes on and walk around. He found the shoes to be “very comfortable” and had no issues with the tongue, but said that the back spikes on the heel kept scraping the ground as he walked. He said “I would never play golf in these because of (the spikes on the heel).” Another GolfWRX Staffer tried on the shoes as well, and said the tongue was bothering the inner part of his feet, and that he would not play golf in them for that reason.

UnderArmourTempoHybrid

So I was 0-for-3 in getting these shoes tested on the course, which is unfortunate because they look slick in every colorway, especially the Gravel. I hope the next iteration of spikeless shoes from Under Armour corrects the comfort issues, as I’m a fan of the design from a golf-fashion standpoint.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”90″]

The Takeaway

The UA Drive One hit the mark, and lived up to the hype. They’re the ultimate modern golf shoe, providing stability, comfort, performance and waterproofing.

The UA Tempo Hybrid, however, did not provide the comfort that I expected from a spikeless shoe, but they did achieve the ultra cool, laid-back look that works on and off the course.

For Under Armour’s much-anticipated launch, and its introduction to the world of golf shoes, it offered high points and low points. The “Spieths” were a home run, while the Tempo Hybrid were a bloop single. With issues of comfort to be corrected in the Tempo Hybrid, Under Armour will have some serious staying power for both serious and casual golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK24

Andrew Tursky is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team while earning a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Reading the words.

    Nov 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I’m supposed to go buy a golf shoe that was so uncomfortable 3 avid golfers couldn’t even stomach the thought of playing golf in? This is hitting it out of the park? Or its partner-shoe, that gave Erin Hills guy a blister, but if you’ve got the dough, he highly recommends? That sound comfortable? Not to me.

  2. Troy

    Sep 6, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    Have owned and still own a pair of Drive One’s, this was after I purchased a pair of Tempo Tour’s from UA.
    The Drive One’s are far superior in most ways to the Tempo’s.
    While I do agree that $200 is excessive for these shoes, I love them and feel they are likely the most comfortable shoe I’ve ever worn in over 30 years of golf.

  3. Chris

    Jun 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    I bought the Drive One’s the second they came out (huge UA fan, friends think I deserve a sponsorship) and I couldn’t agree more with this review. Fantastic looking shoe, great support and overall comfort level for me is right below Puma’s Titan Tours. After the first round with them (at Erin Hills) I had a nice a blister on my left pinky toe b/c they are a little narrow out of the box and pinched my feet but they’ve stretched out nicely and I’ve had no issues since (2 walking rounds, 2 cart rounds). Yeah they’re pricey but if that’s not an issue for you I highly recommend.

  4. Leftypro

    Jun 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    $160.00 and they aren’t even waterproof is a bigger issue!!

  5. Ccshop

    May 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Typical under armour look. Tried on and it’s very stiff over the forefoot, seems like it would take a few rounds to break in

  6. Mark

    May 26, 2016 at 3:09 am

    They look good but waaay overpriced for a firth foray into the Golf market. And if they are narrow then thanks but no thanks.

  7. DB

    May 25, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    Just bring back the FJ Classic! Best Shoe Ever!!!

  8. Donald Quiote

    May 25, 2016 at 10:08 am

    I think I am in the minority of the guys who don’t really care for either of these shoes. Over priced and other brands are making a better looking shoe. Was really hoping for more from UA in the shoe market.

    • gwillis7

      May 25, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Agree. I REALLY like UA clothes and like that they are getting bigger and competing with Nike, BUT their shoes are lacking behind Nike still. They aren’t as comfortable in my opinion and I still think they are a few years away from getting it ‘right’.
      They have done an amazing job with signing the right athletes though…Speith, Brady, Curry. AMAZING

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

        Yup. I wear a pair of adidas boost and the puma ignites spikeless and they are super duper comfortable and I honestly think they look better than these. I love Under Armour cloths and I know their golf shoes are just getting started but expected something better looking than these to make a splash in the shoe market. I do look forward to future releases assuming they also lower the prices a bit.

  9. Chris

    May 25, 2016 at 1:52 am

    They look a little DNA ish. I don’t mind them, they look okay, logo could be small and on the heel cap.

    but I doubt I will ever buy a set of lace ups again, BOA is great for fat guys. Bring on the BOA

  10. Jacob

    May 24, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Can someone tell me why Jordan only wears white shoes?

  11. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I can see some one breaking into my car to steal these.

  12. B Hock

    May 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    I wish they would have made the logo larger on them… 😛

  13. Thehomez

    May 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Interesting the drive ones were so comfortable. I remember reading somewhere that Jordan Speith didn’t like them initially due to lack of comfort. Wonder if they did a redesign.

    And if your looking for someone to test out the hybrid pair I’d be happy to and post a review. Not the best looking shoe but not the worst either

  14. Milo

    May 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    It not a stretch to think they would make a decently comfortable golf spike since they make cleats for football. To bad they are overpriced.

  15. Cornfused...

    May 24, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Then don’t read it?

    • Joey5Picks

      May 24, 2016 at 3:49 pm

      Then isn’t commenting a little like driving across town to a restaurant you don’t like just to tell them you’ll never eat there?

      • Robert

        May 25, 2016 at 11:51 am

        You forget, like feel of club faces, comfort of a shoe is such a huge variable that the only way to truly know how they feel and fit is to try them on.

      • Donald Quiote

        May 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

        I have given certain brands or models of shoes a try because reviews were favorable. In the case you all give this site really doesn’t need to exist. If we don’t want reviews of how clubs feel and shoes feel and … What do you expect to be on here?

      • LA Billyboy

        Jun 17, 2016 at 8:17 pm

        Sorta like panning a golf shoe you never wore on a golf course?

    • Donald Quiote

      May 26, 2016 at 9:32 am

      Completely Agree!!

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        I am saying I would love to have it where it was only linked accounts. For once you would actually be doing us a favor Smizzle.

  16. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Say those are handsome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

On the course? Off the course? Adidas’ new adicross line has you covered

Published

on

Furthering golfwear’s trend toward the more casual and versatile in a big way, Adidas today unveiled a new line extension: Adicross.

Urban inspired. Decidedly non-traditional. The Adicross line (styled “adicross”) leverages Adidas’ clothing and footwear styles from other arenas and reimagines them for wear on the fairway. Available December 1, the line brings Anorak jackets, henleys, hoodies, joggers, and even an Oxford to the golf course.

And before you clutch your saddle shoes in terror, remember, this is a line extension targeting a particular segment of the golfing population, not a total change of course for the entire Adidas Golf brand. If you’re wondering who represents the segment in question, think Erik Anders Lang: filmmaker, irrepressible golf enthusiast, and host of Skratch TV’s Adventures in Golf.

Lang hosted a launch event in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District warehouse space where he sat down with Adidas execs and world No. 1 Dustin Johnson for a chat about the new line. He praised the performance aspects of the five-pocket pant and the footwear styles, in particular.

As for golf’s top-ranked player, regarding the Adicross line, DJ told us the line is much more in keeping with stuff he’d actually wear than the baggy shirts and khakis that were the uniform of golf when he started out on tour.

“This is a line that I’ll wear all the time,” Johnson said. “I can wear it to the course and then go meet some buddies for lunch, and I’m not a walking poster for golf.”

From the Stretch-Woven Oxford, to the jogger pant, to the Adicross Bounce footwear, every item Dustin Johnson wears in picture below is intended for both on- and off-course wear.

“Adicross is the lifestyle brand that golfers everywhere have been waiting for,” said the world No. 1. “This is something that I’ll wear when I’m traveling to a tournament, practicing at home, or even headed to the gym.”

The aforementioned versatility of the Adicross line is very much a function of the materials: No-show sweat wicking technology, nylon-spandex blends (featured in the five-pocket pant and short), Primeknit (featured in Icon Polo and Jacket). These are clothes that are ready to wear to the office, but stretch, are light enough, and offer enough comfort to play 18 holes in.

“We wanted to challenge ourselves to design a line that would aid in helping athletes in their game, their life and in their world,” said Chad Alasantro, senior designer, men’s apparel at adidas Golf. “adicross is a perfect blend of hidden technology, fused with a creative aesthetic.”

 

The Adicross line also boldly brings street-inspired footwear to the golf course, retooling Adidas’ ultrapopular Bounce design to support the foot and grip the turf during the golf swing (and resist water during dew-sweeping early morning rounds)

“Adicross was designed as a result of the feedback we were hearing from our core consumer,” said Dylan Moore, Creative Director, Adidas Golf. “Like everyone else, golfers live in a complex, busy world with many diverse interests. They expect more from less and demand performance out of what they wear.”

The centerpiece Bounce features an ergonomic fit, offset wrapped saddle with multiple eyelet rows for customizable lacing, and a non-marking adiwear rubber spikeless outsole that features 181 strategically-placed lugs for a green-friendly grip.

The Bounce will be released in January, and additional styles will follow in February.

Regarding said “additional styles,” you can spot a few in this promo video. 

Your Reaction?
  • 41
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Review: Nike Flyknit Elite golf shoes

Published

on

OK. Let’s discuss the elephant in the Flyknit Elite golf shoe room straight away: A percentage of golfers will never wear a high-top golf shoe, regardless of how well it performs. Likewise, a percentage of golfers will not wear sneaker-style golf shoes.

If you don’t find yourself in one of the groups above, however, beyond aesthetics, the Flyknit Elite presents a viable option if you’re already a Flyknit wearer in other shoes, or are looking for lightweight spikeless shoe with ankle support (and more ankle support than the Flyknit Chukka offers).

IMG_0202

Appearing on the global sports scene during the Sochi Olympics, Flyknit footwear featuring Flyknit technology has been a fixture in other sports for the past few years. The Swoosh brought the TPU yarn technology and high-strength support fibers to golf footwear with the Flyknit Chukka and Flyknit Elite to market in June.

The tech is aimed at offering lightweight support, and the precision weave allows targeted areas to stretch and others to support. The company indicated the concept was born out of “runners a shoe with the snug (and virtually unnoticed) fit of a sock.” Breathability is the hallmark of the knit upper, and the sock-like, mid-height collar prevents debris from entering the shoe.

IMG_0203

While the shoes aren’t waterproof, they do have what Nike calls “dew protection” along the upper’s edge to keep feet dry in wet grass. Obviously, another element of the Flyknit imperative is to use fewer materials is less overall waste, for which our landfills thank us.

The sole, of which a picture is worth more than a thousand words, features what Nike calls an Integrated Traction pattern, which offers a grip at least commensurate with any spikeless offering.

IMG_0215

For this review, I was sent the Flyknit Elites in the Black/Clear Jade/Glacier Blue/White colorway. Two other colorways, pictured below, are also available. The shoes come in sizes 7-12, with half sizes in-between, as well as sizes 13 and 14, and sell for $270.

Here’s the essential question for potential purchasers of the Flyknit Elite: There are bulkier shoes on the marketplace with more stability. There are spike-laden shoes on the marketplace that offer more traction. However, to get a lighter shoe with the Flyknit’s performance and aesthetic characteristics, is that trade off worth it?

IMG_0210

Below is a quote from Nike Staffer Jamie Lovemark about the shoes. And yes, he’s paid by Nike, but he could also be wearing the more traditional Lunar Control line of shoes as he plays for his daily bread.

“I always have guys come up to me and ask about (the shoes),” Lovemark said. “They always want to know if they have spikes on them and if the traction is good, which has never been an issue for me with these shoes. Plus, I like the fact that they have a different look. There’s nothing wrong with standing out when you’re on the course.”

No doubt you’ll stand out. And in giving these shoes a spin, there is likewise no doubt that they are lighter and more fitted to the foot than any offering I’ve come across personally. There’s also more of a feeling of rootedness or connectedness with the ground than many spikeless models offer.

Ultimately, the Flyknit Elite is an athletic shoe you can comfortably and capably play golf in, while, you know, having a commendable shoe game, if that’s your thing.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”102″]

Your Reaction?
  • 70
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL5
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP7
  • OB8
  • SHANK146

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Review: Biion Golf Shoes

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, lightweight and distinctive. Biion shoes are a unique option for those looking for a splash of color in their wardrobe. Considering all of their five shoe styles, there are a total of 50 different colorways available — a dream come true for golf fashion lovers.

Cons: Despite their unique design and wide variety of colorways, some feel that the looks of the Biion shoes are a bit too aggressive for their tastes. For a smaller group, the barefoot sensation was unfavorable.

Who They’re For: Biion’s blend of traditional aesthetics with modern polymer technology is unlike any other in the golf shoe market. If you are the “trendsetter” in your weekly foursome, it’s worth considering the many options offered by Biion.

What you need to know about Biion

IMG_7068

When the founders of Biion Footwear started their company, they sought to mix comfort and versatility into a shoe that truly stood out. They settled on a spikeless, slip-on design made entirely of Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), a lightweight and rubber-like material similar to that of Crocs sandals.

IMG_7055

Functionally, EVA is a great choice of material, as it’s not only soft but also resilient, meaning that it will form to your foot during a round without permanently deforming afterwards. In addition, EVA is highly water resistant, meaning that even after a long, hot day on the course, the shoes won’t absorb your sweat (e.g. unlike a pair of boat shoes). The shoe did pick up dirt and grass stains fairly easily due to its low profile and all white upper, which would be a problem if not for the EVA construction, which can simply be hosed down or thrown in the wash in between rounds.

IMG_7065

Intended to be worn without socks, Biion shoes also feature patterns of small holes all throughout their upper surfaces. This feature, along with the tiny bumps lining the inner sole called “nodes,” works to enhance airflow and breathability while also providing “a therapeutic massage with every step.”

IMG_7074

Appearance

Offered in five different styles (Classics, Saddles, Brights, Wingtips, Patterns), each with nearly 10 different color combinations, it is definitely hard to pick one favorite. My two favorite pairs are the black-and-pink “Brights,” and the white-and-blue Brights, but I ultimately settled on the white version for this review.

brights

One key point I found was that, in order to be worn properly without socks, one should go down a size from their typical golf shoe size. So if you wear a 10, try Biions in a 9.

fit

Performance

Unless I’ve been doing something wrong this entire time, I would guess that I am like most golfers in that I don’t often play in rubber-like shoes, without socks. After getting used to this new sensation by playing a few rounds in the shoes, I found myself mostly impressed with how they performed. The EVA construction makes for a firm, yet cushioned insole, with the massage nodes being noticeably helpful in keeping ones feet from getting too hot.

IMG_7073

Due to the low profile of the shoe, I could easily feel the slope in the greens, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my feet were sufficiently supported in pretty much all lies. The one exception to this is that, depending on your course conditions or how off-line you’re hitting the ball, you may find yourself having to dump sand or wet rough clippings out of your shoes often because of the “holey” design of the shoe.

IMG_7057

And while I’m not so sure about those of you with 115-mph club head speeds, I can say that I certainly never felt like I was on the verge of “swinging out of my shoes” (literally). As I said earlier, playing golf with this kind of shoe on is a fairly significant change for most golfers. Within the extent of the rounds I played (one with, one without a cart) with the Biion shoes, I really enjoyed the fit and performance. That being said, a small group did say that the overall feel is just a tad too far out of left field for them. For such an extreme design, this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Overall, the reviews were favorable among those I asked.

Takeaway

With an MSRP of $99, Biion golf shoes aren’t a bad option for those who look to add something new and different into their golf wardrobe. While their looks may not be for everyone, especially purists, the shoes offer a different approach to golf footwear that ought to be given a try.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”100″]

Your Reaction?
  • 84
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW13
  • LOL6
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP19
  • OB9
  • SHANK153

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending