Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Under Armour Drive One and Tempo Hybrid shoes

Published

on

Pros: The comfort, style and stability of the UA Drive One are 5-star quality, and the shoes are waterproof. The Tempo Hybrid blends a “lifestyle” golf shoe with surprising stability.

Cons: At $199.99, the UA Drive One are on the high end of the mainstream golf shoe market. The Tempo Hybrid ($159.99) miss the boat on comfort.

Who they’re for: The UA Drive One are for any golfer who likes a modern-looking golf shoe, but is serious about performance. The Tempo Hybrid are for those looking to achieve a cool, laid-back look on the course.

The Review

Due to Jordan Spieth’s popularity and success in 2015, the release of the UA Drive One, which he wore throughout the year, was almost unbearably anticipated for consumers who care about that kind of thing. And the shoes do not disappoint. Even if you’re just not a fan of Jordan Spieth, or not a fan of the look, these shoes pass every test when it comes to performance for a serious golfer.

UnderArmourGolfShoes

They provide tremendous stability in the heel throughout the swing with what Under Armour calls carbon counterlocks, which really give you that “locked in” feeling. And they’re quite comfortable, too, with the leather insole and ample cushioning in the heel and midsole.

Some golfers have complained that the shoes run narrow, or have high arches that cause discomfort, but I found no problem with either.

Also, it’s difficult to ask for more from a spike configuration. They have CHAMP Zarma Tour spikes with the popular Slim-Lok system that you’ll find in the top golf shoes on the market. They have great traction in any weather (and it’s the rainy season in Michigan, so I know playing wet weather well). And the UA Drive One are waterproof as advertised, which is a huge plus for any golfer.

UnderAmrourGolfShoesSpikes

One of my biggest tests for golf shoes is to play a round in them, and judge how excited you are to change out of them when you get back to the car. Even after playing in muddy/wet conditions, and wearing them for the first time, I was not in a rush to get them off. They’re just very comfortable golf shoes.

UnderArmourGolfShoesFoam

It’s amazing for a company’s first run of golf shoes to deliver in such a big way. I would have no problem putting these up against the best performance shoes in the industry, and even surpassing them by way of comfort and overall look. They find a sweetspot, offering a modern flare without being too “in your face.”

UnderArmourGolfSHoesTop

The retail colorways include White-and-Blue, White-and-Black, White-and-Grey, and Black.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”88″]

UA Tempo Hybrid

UnderArmourHybridShoes

Golfers love to say, “I can wear my spikeless shoes on AND off the course.” I’m always thinking, “Why would I want to wear my smelly, muddy shoes to hangout or get dinner?”

That being said, the UA Tempo Hybrids look exactly like those kind of shoes. Style wise, you can wear these with shorts, jeans, khakis, casual pants or whatever else you have in your closet. They’re versatile, and look very similar to the Tempo Tour shoes, but without the golf spikes… thus “Hybrids.”

UnderAmourFoamShoesGolf

The Tempo Hybrid are made for golfers who want performance from their shoe, but also a more laid-back look. Under Armour knocked the look out of the park and provided consumers with four different colorways that each strike a different look and feel. I personally went with the Gravel colorway, as they seemed to be unique compared to other shoes on the market.

This specific colorway captures an “outdoorsy” vibe, and has boot-like laces to complete the look. If I was going for a hike through the woods, these may be my choice.

underArmourSpikes

As golf shoes, they provide great lateral stability due to their spike configuration, but not a great amount of traction due to the spike design. Slick grass or wet weather may cause concern.

My biggest issue with these shoes, however, was the odd tongue design; it wraps around the foot and is quite irritating on the top sides of my feet. It’s something I was not able to get past, and why I never got the chance to play a round of golf while wearing them.

That led me to get a few other opinions. For the purposes of this review, I had a fellow GolfWRX Staffer put the shoes on and walk around. He found the shoes to be “very comfortable” and had no issues with the tongue, but said that the back spikes on the heel kept scraping the ground as he walked. He said “I would never play golf in these because of (the spikes on the heel).” Another GolfWRX Staffer tried on the shoes as well, and said the tongue was bothering the inner part of his feet, and that he would not play golf in them for that reason.

UnderArmourTempoHybrid

So I was 0-for-3 in getting these shoes tested on the course, which is unfortunate because they look slick in every colorway, especially the Gravel. I hope the next iteration of spikeless shoes from Under Armour corrects the comfort issues, as I’m a fan of the design from a golf-fashion standpoint.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”90″]

The Takeaway

The UA Drive One hit the mark, and lived up to the hype. They’re the ultimate modern golf shoe, providing stability, comfort, performance and waterproofing.

The UA Tempo Hybrid, however, did not provide the comfort that I expected from a spikeless shoe, but they did achieve the ultra cool, laid-back look that works on and off the course.

For Under Armour’s much-anticipated launch, and its introduction to the world of golf shoes, it offered high points and low points. The “Spieths” were a home run, while the Tempo Hybrid were a bloop single. With issues of comfort to be corrected in the Tempo Hybrid, Under Armour will have some serious staying power for both serious and casual golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK24

Andrew Tursky is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. Reading the words.

    Nov 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I’m supposed to go buy a golf shoe that was so uncomfortable 3 avid golfers couldn’t even stomach the thought of playing golf in? This is hitting it out of the park? Or its partner-shoe, that gave Erin Hills guy a blister, but if you’ve got the dough, he highly recommends? That sound comfortable? Not to me.

  2. Troy

    Sep 6, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    Have owned and still own a pair of Drive One’s, this was after I purchased a pair of Tempo Tour’s from UA.
    The Drive One’s are far superior in most ways to the Tempo’s.
    While I do agree that $200 is excessive for these shoes, I love them and feel they are likely the most comfortable shoe I’ve ever worn in over 30 years of golf.

  3. Chris

    Jun 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    I bought the Drive One’s the second they came out (huge UA fan, friends think I deserve a sponsorship) and I couldn’t agree more with this review. Fantastic looking shoe, great support and overall comfort level for me is right below Puma’s Titan Tours. After the first round with them (at Erin Hills) I had a nice a blister on my left pinky toe b/c they are a little narrow out of the box and pinched my feet but they’ve stretched out nicely and I’ve had no issues since (2 walking rounds, 2 cart rounds). Yeah they’re pricey but if that’s not an issue for you I highly recommend.

  4. Leftypro

    Jun 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    $160.00 and they aren’t even waterproof is a bigger issue!!

  5. Ccshop

    May 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Typical under armour look. Tried on and it’s very stiff over the forefoot, seems like it would take a few rounds to break in

  6. Mark

    May 26, 2016 at 3:09 am

    They look good but waaay overpriced for a firth foray into the Golf market. And if they are narrow then thanks but no thanks.

  7. DB

    May 25, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    Just bring back the FJ Classic! Best Shoe Ever!!!

  8. Donald Quiote

    May 25, 2016 at 10:08 am

    I think I am in the minority of the guys who don’t really care for either of these shoes. Over priced and other brands are making a better looking shoe. Was really hoping for more from UA in the shoe market.

    • gwillis7

      May 25, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Agree. I REALLY like UA clothes and like that they are getting bigger and competing with Nike, BUT their shoes are lacking behind Nike still. They aren’t as comfortable in my opinion and I still think they are a few years away from getting it ‘right’.
      They have done an amazing job with signing the right athletes though…Speith, Brady, Curry. AMAZING

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

        Yup. I wear a pair of adidas boost and the puma ignites spikeless and they are super duper comfortable and I honestly think they look better than these. I love Under Armour cloths and I know their golf shoes are just getting started but expected something better looking than these to make a splash in the shoe market. I do look forward to future releases assuming they also lower the prices a bit.

  9. Chris

    May 25, 2016 at 1:52 am

    They look a little DNA ish. I don’t mind them, they look okay, logo could be small and on the heel cap.

    but I doubt I will ever buy a set of lace ups again, BOA is great for fat guys. Bring on the BOA

  10. Jacob

    May 24, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    Can someone tell me why Jordan only wears white shoes?

  11. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I can see some one breaking into my car to steal these.

  12. B Hock

    May 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    I wish they would have made the logo larger on them… 😛

  13. Thehomez

    May 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Interesting the drive ones were so comfortable. I remember reading somewhere that Jordan Speith didn’t like them initially due to lack of comfort. Wonder if they did a redesign.

    And if your looking for someone to test out the hybrid pair I’d be happy to and post a review. Not the best looking shoe but not the worst either

  14. Milo

    May 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    It not a stretch to think they would make a decently comfortable golf spike since they make cleats for football. To bad they are overpriced.

  15. Cornfused...

    May 24, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Then don’t read it?

    • Joey5Picks

      May 24, 2016 at 3:49 pm

      Then isn’t commenting a little like driving across town to a restaurant you don’t like just to tell them you’ll never eat there?

      • Robert

        May 25, 2016 at 11:51 am

        You forget, like feel of club faces, comfort of a shoe is such a huge variable that the only way to truly know how they feel and fit is to try them on.

      • Donald Quiote

        May 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

        I have given certain brands or models of shoes a try because reviews were favorable. In the case you all give this site really doesn’t need to exist. If we don’t want reviews of how clubs feel and shoes feel and … What do you expect to be on here?

      • LA Billyboy

        Jun 17, 2016 at 8:17 pm

        Sorta like panning a golf shoe you never wore on a golf course?

    • Donald Quiote

      May 26, 2016 at 9:32 am

      Completely Agree!!

      • Donald Quiote

        May 26, 2016 at 3:16 pm

        I am saying I would love to have it where it was only linked accounts. For once you would actually be doing us a favor Smizzle.

  16. Tom

    May 24, 2016 at 10:53 am

    Say those are handsome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

Adidas introduces Go-To Adapt Jacket (and you can win one in our forum giveaway)

Published

on

“Fall temps could be all over the place.” –Weather Channel

Adidas Golf is continually bringing out innovative products that are designed to help you stay comfortable on the golf course. In that spirit, the Go-To Adapt Jacket is designed to be worn when the weather can not make up its mind.

The Go-To Adapt Jacket has a polyester top portion of the chest, shoulders and back which allows for better range of motion and body heat release. The bottom portion is fleece to help keep your core warm during the cooler morning tee times. Available for both men and women, this jacket has telescoping sleeves, allowing for the sleeves to be rolled up without stretching them out. The sleeves also feature an articulated elbow region, allowing for full range of motion.

Christine Cowan, global director of apparel, Adidas Golf says, “Golfers are used to having apparel that works for the two temperature extremes. But there are days when you need to be able to transition, for example, from a cooler morning to a warmer afternoon. That’s why we created the Go-To Adapt Jacket, to be the ideal mid-weight option that provides optimal stretch where you need it as well as enhanced breathability. It’s that reliable and perfect piece that can take you through your day, on course and off.”

Designed with the golf swing in mind, some of the key features include

  • Quarter Zip (men’s)
  • Full Zip (women’s)
  • Internal headphone pockets
  • Front-zip pockets
  • Telescope cuff (women’s features thumbholes)
  • Articulated elbows for freedom of movement
  • Water-resistant fabric combined with fleece-lined shell for all weather protection
  • Droptail hem for extra coverage
  • Women’s jacket features a more feminine cut and design

And an extra bit of good news for WRXers. You can enter via this forum thread for an opportunity to get your hands on this jacket.

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Callaway Golf releases 2018 Fall Weather Series

Published

on

While the cooler weather is fast approaching us, there is no need to put away your clubs and leave the golf course so soon this year! With a stylish, performance-driven collection for both men and women, Callaway Golf is here to help extend your season and keep you comfortable out there regardless of the weather this fall and winter. The 2018 Fall Weather Series is diverse, with multiple products that were designed for you the golfer to be at peak performance at a time of the year when all of your buddies will not.

Greg Hemphill, Senior Director Global soft Goods at Callaway Golf said, “We are excited to bring the 2018 Fall Series to market…from mid-layers to puffer vests, to waterproof jackets and trousers, the Weather Series marries the latest in fiber technology and construction with a sophisticated, aesthetically pleasing design to provide golfers with the new standard in performance outerwear.”

Take a look below at a few selected products that are in the 2018 Fall Weather Series.

Dual Action 1/4 Zip Pull Over & Vest

Callaway chooses an insulated thermal fabric for its heathered fleece sweaters and vests. A Water-repellent exterior and UV Block UPF 50 combine to keep you dry and protected.

Full-Zip Puffer Jacket & Vest

These lightweight garments feature insulated thermal fabric and SWING-TECH shoulder panels for an enhanced range of motion.

Waterproof Seam-Sealed Jacket

With this breathable 3-layer membrane full-zip waterproof jacket, Callaway again includes SWING-TECH mechanical stretch fabric. seam-sealed construction with splash proof zippers are designed to keep you dry.

Waterproof Performance Pant

Callaway’s new rain pant is designed for both breathability and protection from the wet stuff. adjustable snaps, drawstrings and toggle hems on the pant cuff meet a 3-layer waterproof membrane in this performance pant. 

Women’s Quilted Thermore Jacket

Thermore© thermal fabric lines this jacket for maximum on-course warmth. Callaway includes SWING-TECH construction  here as well in a more feminine silhouette. 

More about the new 2018 Fall Series on Callaway Apparel’s website.

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Bubba Watson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 Travelers Championship

Published

on

Bubba Watson took down his third career Travelers Championship on Sunday after firing a final-round 63. Like his golf swing, and his golf clubs, Bubba has his own style. He wears a visor, colored gloves, a watch while he plays, and always has his polo buttoned to the top button.

See exactly what Bubba was wearing on Sunday at the 2018 Travelers Championship below!

Bubba’s Winning Outfit

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending