Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Scotty Cameron Futura X5 putters

Published

on

Pros: The Futura X5 and X5R are compact mallet putters that offer clean aesthetics, premium craftsmanship and fantastic feedback at impact.  

Cons: They may be a bit undersized.

Who they’re for: Golfers who don’t want to stray far from the size and feel of a blade-style putter, but are interested in the increased forgiveness and stability that a face-balanced mallet can provide.

The Review

0292e6897ef64d62f53382f9de002827

  • Construction: 303 stainless steel with 6061 aluminum sole plate
  • Lengths Available: 33, 34 and 35 inches
  • Stock Loft: 3.5 degrees
  • Stock Lie: 70 degrees
  • Stock Grip: 10-inch Matador (77 grams)

For more than a decade, Scotty Cameron’s Futura line has occupied the creative slot in the putter maker’s lineup. It’s the brand within the Cameron brand that showcases new designs, materials and technologies.

The Futura X5 and the Futura X5R certainly fit that description, and use a winged-back design that has been popularized by other putter makers. Certainly more than one Scotty Cameron fan found himself hoping that one day he would see Scotty’s take on Odyssey’s #7. The X5 and X5R are those putters.

c4754a310bc32af07b90fae634826ae1

At Address: The Futura X5R (left) and Futura X5.

Most mallet putters offer some type of alignment aid, and the X5 and X5R are chock full of them. Parallel lines denote the steps from the top lines of the putters to their midsections, and then from their midsections to their wing-back fins. Most golfers will probably use the putter’s black midsection, which is part of the aluminum sole plate, as the primary alignment aid, however. It houses a a silver T-shape that blends beautifully with the putter’s Silver Mist finish, creating a distinct two-tone look.

In practicing mid-range putts with the X5 and X5R, I couldn’t help but feel that I was starting more putts on my intended line. I have a tendency to position my putter face opened to the target at address, and the combination of alignment features gave me immediate feedback if I was doing so. Some might call the abundance of alignment features overkill, and these putters weren’t designed with them in mind.

From a materials standpoint, the most notable feature of the X5 and X5R putters are their aluminum sole plates. Aluminum is lighter than steel, so its inclusion gave Cameron the ability to reposition discretionary weight to make the putter slightly more forgiving. For that reason, the X5 and X5R felt more stable to me than the all-steel mallet putters that I’ve used in the past. 

b4aa80952d45108e9e0f1dd6a10f8046

Scotty Cameron’s Futura X (left) is a larger, higher-MOI putter than the Futura X5.

As far as modern mallet putters go, however, the Futura X5 and Futura X5R are on the small side. This was reinforced when I took a moment to place them side by side with Cameron’s Futura X, which is made from aluminum. That gives the Futura X a more hollow sound at impact. The X5 and X5R putters use a 303 stainless steel face that mimics the denser feel of Cameron’s blade putters.

Related: Our review of Scotty Cameron’s Futura X putter

Visually, the X5 and X5R have more similarities than differences. But for the detail-oriented crowd the Cameron brand tends to attract, the two shaping options could be the difference between buying and not buying. 

The X5 uses a more linear shape that will appeal to players who prefer a boxier, industrial look. The X5R essentially takes all the corners on the X5 and rounds them off. I tend to prefer putters with softer lines, so it was no surprise to me that I liked the X5R. Maybe it was just placebo, but I actually felt that the X5R promoted a more relaxed feeling at address than the X5. Your response might be different.

Both the X5 and X5R have a full-shaft offset and single-bend shaft. Not only does this create a face-balanced putter, but it offers an unobstructed view of the top line, which has the three-step flow of Cameron’s most popular blade putters. The clean look almost makes you forget you’re playing a mallet, and perhaps the X5 is best described as a blade disguised in a mallet’s clothing.

The Takeaway

56fe12db113aacc233e7eab3fda8ddd9

Sometimes the mold is broken and sometimes it is refined. With the Futura X5 and X5R, Scotty Cameron did a little bit of both. His take on the popular wing-backed mallet is uniquely Cameron, and with this offering he gives golfers a line of putters that bridge the gap between traditional blade putters and mid-sized mallets.

If you’re looking for a putter that delivers the alignment aids and forgiveness of a mallet while mimicking the feel of a blade, the X5 and X5R could be your total package.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”36″]

Your Reaction?
  • 106
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW8
  • LOL3
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP8
  • OB3
  • SHANK32

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. John

    Jun 26, 2017 at 6:18 pm

    This post is very late; for a reason. I want it known the next model -Futura 5W- is an excellent putter.
    I have just bought this putter, as a trade-in club, in top-notch condition. It was a 35″ with 10gram sole weights. I spent considerable time looking for this club. I intend to make the following adjustments:
    -shorten club to 34″
    -change grip to Super Stroke 2.0 grip. I use left-hand low method, so a tapered grip is not ideal.
    -purchase 15 & 20gram weights; to experiment with on slower greens. ie. after coring.

    I stand closer to the ball at address, so need a face-balanced type putter. I am a good putter, who has struggled, with distance control, on the medium speed greens of the courses I normally play. Somewhere in the order of 8-9 on the stimpmeter. A guess on my part, as the clubs in New Zealand don’t normally rate the green speeds. I have also struggled, technically, for about a year. My recent trip to Thailand/Cambodia, putting on Burmuda-variant grass types was the catalyst for this change, after 13 years with my Voodoo. I putted abysmally.
    I previously used a 34″ Cleveland Voodoo mallet putter, with lead tape on the top, to add more weight through impact.
    My first use of the club on-course resulted in the following statistics:
    1 -8 foot texas wedge from green fringe: =0 putts
    2 -2 putts from 38 feet
    3 -9 foot 1 putt
    4 -7 foot 1 putt
    5 -2 putts from 9 feet
    6 -1 foot tap in
    7 -5 foot 1 putt
    8 -10 inch tap in
    Walked off course as consistent rain, over many days, had made the course nearly unplayable. Other players in group getting over illness, so joined them in the 19th.

    I thinks it’s fair to say I am happy with my purchase.

  2. Robert

    Jan 15, 2017 at 1:22 am

    I’ve been playing one now for a year or so and love it. Just ask Justin Thomas what he thinks…lol.

  3. Byron Keith Fite

    Sep 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    I have 4 Scotties, and have used a Rife mallet for the last 10 yeard, but 2 weeks ago, I purchased an x5, and was really impressed. I love the mallet style putter better than the Ping, and Newport style blades, so I give Scotty Cameron 5 stars for constantly staying on the cutting edge of technology when it comes to putters.

  4. Chewy

    Sep 12, 2015 at 6:22 am

    I’d have to say although I agree about the hollowish feel of the X5, I think this putter is great. I play on really fast, links greens in Scotland, you get a consistent roll, the putter isn’t too heavy to get in the way of judging distance and it’s forgiving on off-centre hits. Having used the Odyssey Tank 7, Scotty Newport 2 Dual balance and an old school ping… this is my favourite from an all round perspective. My only negative is that for me the grip, although looks good something about it’s width doesn’t work for me

  5. Sodapoppin

    Sep 9, 2015 at 2:19 am

    I wonder why this review is coming out now this late?

  6. Matt Sump

    Sep 7, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    I’ve had one since the start of this season. My first go around with a Scotty. Had a Bettinardi BB1F blade style for years (similar to a Newport 2.5 for those that are unfamiliar). As someone who played a blade for a long time this was as big as I wanted to go. I feel like from 15feet and in this thing is rock solid. I don’t track stats but really like the feel through the stroke. I have mine setup at 33.5″ and 25G weights in the bottom.

    My only gripe is probably the 2 tone look and sometimes find myself watching the putter in the backswing compared to by blade. I might send it in to be customized all black, but not a huge deal.

  7. Steve

    Sep 6, 2015 at 9:38 am

    Its obvious the writer of this article is naive. These are not compact mallets. You can take a suburban and put it next to a bus and say it is compact. Doesnt make sense, but that is what he is trying to prove. Most will go by what is a normal and compare and this falls into the normal range, not taking a huge mallet to compare. The feel and sound of these putters are hollow. If you like that hollow little league bat feel then this is for you. The look is neither bad nor good, kinda blane, nothing exciting. There are better choices, especially in this price range. Cameron has struggle with this type of putter and think it continues with this

    • Chris Nickel

      Sep 6, 2015 at 10:44 pm

      Steve – I am many things, but I don’t believe “naive” is one of them. When you compare the X5 with other full-sized mallets, it’s certainly smaller – In fact, Cameron actually did some things aesthetically to the X5 to make it actually look larger at address – as a preemptive move for those who might feel it was actually a bit too small.

      Feel is an entirely different story and one which is entirely subjective. Some like a softer feel off the putter and some like it a bit firmer – Some want a blade putter milled from a single billet of GSS – Some prefer 303 stainless with a sound slot – Different strokes –

      • Steve

        Sep 7, 2015 at 7:23 pm

        Some like this, some like this, i like this. Some like it firmer some like it softer, really?
        Most that buy a premium name putter at a premium price want a nice premium feel, not a empty soda can feel. If you like a little league bat feel, then have at it. But most in the market for a $350 putter will not like the feel of this hollow can. Cameron jumped the shark with the detour line. What OTR putter in the the last 7 years has been classic Scotty? Dont include his wallhanger circle t and 009 putters. If your a Scotty fan and collector it has neen disappointing. He is milking the cow, living on on his rep.

        • Chris Nickel

          Sep 7, 2015 at 10:42 pm

          Steve – I appreciate your perspective, but I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree on this one. Seems like you have something against Scotty and anything he’s made in the last several years. Fortunately, there’s a lot of quality putters out there from which to select.

      • Steve

        Sep 7, 2015 at 7:50 pm

        Some like this, some like this, i like this. Some like it firmer some like it softer, really?
        Most that buy premium name putter at a premium price want a nice premium feel, not a empty soda can If you like a little league bat feel, then have at it. But most in the market for a $350 putter will not like the feel of this hollow can. Cameron jumped the shark with the detour line. What OTR putter in the the last 7 years has been classic Scotty? Dont include his wallhanger circle t and 009 putters. If your a Scotty fan and collector it has neen disappointing. He is milking the cow, living on on his rep.

        • John

          Sep 16, 2015 at 9:20 pm

          Steve, you sound a little bitter about this topic as if this was your first experience with a Scotty Cameron putter and you picked the wrong one for you. As some one who owns close to one dozen Scotty’s over the past 10 plus years including one of the older terrylium putters, I am of the opinion that he still builds one of the best putters on the market. The reason I own so many is that they are just so friggin nice to look at standing over a putt. I will admit owning one of the X5’s that while it may feel hollow to you, it still puts a pretty good roll on the ball. But nothing beats my California DelMar that has been in the bag for over 3 years. So, I guess my message is that while you may feel the X5 is not a good putter for you, it does not make the opinions of the author “naive” but rather makes it sound like you invested money in the wrong putter for you. My advice: take more time trying before buying.

  8. TimJHU

    Sep 4, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    I too didnt like the feel of this putter. Felt light and dead. I use an odyssey white damascus 1 and love it.

  9. Vincent

    Sep 4, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    Hcp 19, i have bought the X5R in August and after 4 courses, I have established my best perfomances ever: 28 putts and +15. Perfect putter for me: not too many and too visible lines, that fits with my intuitive putting. And weight and swingweight give me spontaneously accurate distance. Moreover, it is a beautiful putter!

  10. slider

    Sep 4, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    titleist usually makes a really solid club I will have to hit them first

  11. slider

    Sep 4, 2015 at 12:42 pm

    this is a really nice looking putter

  12. jakeanderson

    Sep 4, 2015 at 11:33 am

    they look like a poor copy of an old oddyssey

    • Chris Nickel

      Sep 4, 2015 at 11:54 am

      Have you taken the time to demo one? If so, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

  13. Dj

    Sep 4, 2015 at 10:43 am

    My experience is the complete opposite of this. I felt the mallet was huge, not even close to compact. And the feel is nothing like a nice blade. It has a terrible hollow feel with a tinky sound. It doesn’t feel anywhere near as solid as the 2013 or 2014 golo/Newport models. I really had high hopes for this putter but sold it after a couple rounds.

    • Chris Nickel

      Sep 4, 2015 at 11:11 am

      Thanks for your thoughts. Feel is always going to be subjective, but when I looked at the X5 next to some of the larger mallets (Futura X), I’m not sure how someone could describe it as “huge” – Certainly not as compact as the Golo, but the actual footprint is quite in the middle, as far as I could tell comparatively.

      • DJ

        Sep 5, 2015 at 11:37 am

        I guess the huge comment should have been compared to what I was trying to replace, which is the versa 7. The versa has a much smaller head shape than this. And agreed feel is subjective, I just expected it to feel more solid like the newports or golo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 111
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL7
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Directed Force Putters

Published

on

Pros: Stroke stability and consistency are likely to improve with a proper fitting. The putters also double as training aids for stroke tempo.

Cons: The looks, overall feel and forced-forward-press grip will likely take getting used to.

Who’s it for: Golfers seeking more stability in their stroke. If you don’t get fit properly, however, the technology will not reach its maximum potential.

The Review

DirectedForcePuttersOften times, great inventions are made out of necessity — a solution to a problem. That’s how Bill Presse, founder of Directed Force, developed his innovative putter technology. As a playing professional and teaching pro, he was frustrated by poor putting and needed a solution. Presse began building putters, and after “drilling holes in [putter] heads,” he figured out he could make a putter that stayed square to the putter path. His buddies were disbelievers, so he built “the revealer” to prove the technology — another invention born because of a problem.

Unlike most putters, which are either face-balanced or have what’s called “toe hang,” Directed Force putters ($399.95) are lie-angle balanced. That means the putter face stays straight (or perpendicular) to the putter path throughout the stroke, which is ideal in theory. And serious golfers across the globe have spent countless hours trying to improve their ability to keep their putter face perpendicular to their path during their stroke.

Can this new putter technology provide a shortcut? Watch the video below to see it in action.

Presse’s technology is effective for golfers because of the importance of the face angle at impact. According to findings from SAM PuttLab, the face angle at impact determines 83 percent of a putt’s initial starting direction, and is thus about 5 times more important than putter path.

Here’s how they’re made.

DirectedForcePutters5

The company first forges the putter heads from 6061 aircraft aluminum, then CNC-milled to the proper shape and finishes them with a type-3 anodized coating. It’s important to note that lie-angle balance is not achieved because of the outlandish head shape, which is the immediate assumption, but rather due to the location of the shaft relative to the center of gravity (CG) in the club head. To dial in the specific lie angle of each putter — which are weighted differently depending on a putter’s lie angle, length and grip — weights are installed on each side of the putter face (toe and heel), as well as on the sole. It’s those weights, in conjunction the putter’s shaft position, that give the putters their “lie-angle balance.”

DirectedForcePutters4

Not only does the head shape look, well… weird, but the grip is unconventional, too. But there’s science behind it, as well. Watch the video below to learn more about the PressGrip, developed by Presse, and how it works.

The putter shaft runs through the PressGrip at 3 degrees, instead of straight in (or 0), placing the putter in a forward-press position without the golfer’s hands moving forward of center. This allows the golfer to choke down or up on the grip without losing lie angle, and since the grip is made with a constant taper, changing hand positions doesn’t affect the feel of the grip.

The PressGrip comes in two sizes: Mid-Size (1.250 inches) and Large (1.375 inches), and can be purchased separately for $29.95.

Directed Force’s putter technologies are not dependent on the PressGrip, however, so the putters can be made with the aftermarket grip of your choice. Presse says the grip size and weight affect weighting in the head, so make sure to factor that in during your purchase.

Does it work?

DirectedForcePutters3

First off, the grip feels very different at first, even for someone who forward presses their putter. It’s the first thing most golfers comment on when they try it for the first time. And while it can feel strange, all it takes is a few strokes to get used to it. After that, you’ll be disappointed going back to a normal putter grip — at least I was.

The second thing someone will comment on is the head shape… obviously. It’s a lot of putter head to look at, and the shape is far from conventional. That being said, different doesn’t mean bad in this case.

DirectedForcePutters6

This putter has one of those, you’re-just-along-for-the-ride feels, and seems to swing itself. For yippers or those who struggle with short putts, those are great words to hear. And due to the displacement of so much weight well behind the face, it has a very high moment of inertia (MOI). That means it hardly matters whether you hit it off the toe, heel or center of the face. The putter allows you — and I have confirmed this — to hit 30+ foot putts dead off the heel or toe without much, or any, noticeable affect on distance or direction.

Because of its reliance on lie-angle balance, the technology won’t be as beneficial if the putter isn’t fit to your lie angle. So make sure — if you’re seriously interested in buying a Directed Force putter — you get fit by a Directed Force Fitter, or do a Remote Fitting with Directed Force, which cost $30 but comes with a $30 discount code if you choose to purchase the putter.

The Numbers

So how do Directed Putters perform? We tested them with two golfers on SAM PuttLab, each of which was fit remotely for Directed Force putters several weeks before the test.

  • Tester 1 was me, a former college golfer and now a 1-handicap, weekend player. I’ve used the same off-the-rack Anser-style putter for the last two years, and only practiced with a Directed Force for about 30 minutes at the PGA Merchandise, which is where we discovered the putters.
  • Tester 2 was GolfWRX’s Zak Kozuchowski, our editor and resident professional golfer. He was recently fit for his gamer, an 8802-style, in the fall by another putter company.

Tester 1: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.55.40 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.20 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.58.00 PM

Tester 1: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.09 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.51 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.34 PM

Tester 1 Data Analysis

  • Consistency improved on average with Directed Force putter (98 percent versus 90 percent with gamer).
  • Face rotated less with Directed Force putter on average.
  • Putter path was more neutral with Directed Force putter on average (3.5 degrees left versus 3.9 degrees with gamer).
  • Putter path improved with Directed Force putter (56 percent consistency versus 52 percent consistency with the gamer).
  • Rise angle was higher with gamer putter (1.6 degrees up versus 1.0 up with the Directed Force).

Tester 2: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.41 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.53 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.02 PM

Tester 2: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.22 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.45 PM

Tester 2 Data Analysis

  • Putter path consistency improved with Directed Force on average (95 percent versus 87 percent with gamer).
  • Putter path was 2.3 degrees left with the Directed Force on average, but much more neutral with gamer putter (only 0.5 degrees left).
  • Rise angle was less downward with the gamer (1.1 degrees down) versus 2.6 degrees down with the Directed Force putter on average.
  • Face rotation consistency was better with the gamer on average (93 percent versus 89 percent with the Directed Force)
  • The face rotated less throughout the stroke with the Directed Force on average, and was less closed at impact on average (0.6 degrees versus 1 degree).

The numbers show a rise in consistency for both golfers when using the Directed Force putter compared to gamers. Tester 1, who had little experience with the putter, struggled with alignment, and both players hit more “down” on their putts with the Directed Force, most likely due to the forced forward press.

Therefore, it appears that the Directed Force putters can immediately add consistency to a golfer’s stroke, although it is likely that it will take time for golfers to truly optimize their putting with them.

The Takeaway

DirectedForcePutters7

If you’re going to try a Directed Force putter, make sure you get fit for it. It’s designed to work with your specific lie angle, and isn’t going to be as effective as it could be if it’s more than a few degrees off.

The oversize putter head’s feel and the grip could be a shock to many golfer’s systems, but after just a few putts most golfers will find that they’re no longer even noticing the odd-shaped putter head. And while the setup and stroke that the putter encourages may take some time to master, the benefits are fruitful.

Based on our testing, there’s no question golfers can improve the consistency of their strokes with a Directed Force putter, which is a rare thing to be able to say.

Your Reaction?
  • 207
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW22
  • LOL14
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP7
  • OB5
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Toulon Design Putters

Published

on

Pros: Toulon putters offer clean, classic lines. Exceptional feel and matching sound. Adjustable sole plates allow for custom head weights.

Cons: Only available in RH and polished stainless-steel (for now). Prices start at $399.

Who they’re for: All golfers, especially those true enthusiasts, collectors, and competitive players looking for something new and unique.

The Review

For this review, I tested a Toulon San Diego putter. The specs are listed below. 

  • Weight: 352 grams (head)
  • Material: 303 stainless steel
  • Finish: Tour Satin Mist
  • Face Milling: Deep Diamond
  • Stock Lie/Loft: 71 degrees/3 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 33-35 inches
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin Deep Etch (also available in charcoal or gray add $10; and SuperStroke Pistol GT Tour or Mid-Slim 2.0 add $20)

Along with the five different models (San Diego, Madison, San Francisco, Rochester and Memphis), Toulon Design Putters are also available in two counter-balanced options: Moderate Release (MR) and Aggressive Release (AR) for $459 and $499, respectively.

From a young age, I have primarily sifted my way through putters designed around the modern blade with the L-shaped hosel. Whether it be a Ping Anser 2 or Scotty Cameron Newport 1995 First Run, some of those putters have hung around, while most have not with a destination unknown. Call me stuck in the past, but apart from occasionally fiddling with the latest and greatest mallet, I have remained loyal to this classic style.

Given that tendency, I was understandably thrilled and equally excited to review the “San Diego” from a new putter company known as Toulon Design. Incidentally, my San Diego was built with a 345-gram putter head and additional 7-gram aluminum plate. The loft was 3 degrees, the lie was 70 degrees and without a grip it measured 34 inches. The overall weight was 541 grams and the swing weight was D4.

Started in 2015, but currently launching its initial stable of putters (Madison, San Diego, Rochester, San Francisco, and Memphis) over the coming months, Toulon Design has set it sights on making the best performance putters in the world, with looks to match that lofty goal. The company is based in Vista, California, and it was started by Sean Toulon, formerly involved with TaylorMade Golf for 16 years in product creation and design, and his sons, Tony and Joe. The founding principles of the company being mentorship, collaboration, and making putters with the serious golf enthusiast in mind — but all players welcome.

cb-toulon_gsi-0345-e1457364212407

Sean Toulon (pictured)

Upon cracking the box open to take my first look at the San Diego built for me, it was clear that Toulon Design has taken the time to painstakingly build something that any equipment lover should try. If you are the type of person who says, “I’m a golfer” when asked at a cocktail party what do you like to do in your free time, then seriously check out Toulon Design ASAP. The technology behind this initial line of putters, including the San Diego, is simply the icing on the cake. A review can not honestly do justice to what Toulon Design is attempting to create, which is a company satisfied with being no less than extraordinary.

Classic Look

Beautiful and timeless in its clean lines, the San Diego pushed all the rights buttons for me from the outset. It has a dark charcoal alignment mark that somehow seemed superior both cosmetically and technically in my eyes, especially given the satin mist finish of the putter. While Toulon is opening its “Garage” in May 2016 in an effort to provide its customers with the full “Tour experience” and a variety of options (not readily available for most putters), I chose the stock Lamkin Deep Etch emblazoned with the Toulon Design logo.

cb-toulon_brazing-0713

Before I even hit a putt, it felt like this putter was destined to make its way into my golf bag. What’s truly difficult to communicate in words is the attention detail that was evident in closely examining the San Diego. Toulon Design utilizes what is known as vacuum brazing (through the “Big Green Egg” above) to fuse the putter head and hosel in a manner that makes it feel and look as if those parts of the putter were always one in the same. Everything just simply felt and looked right.

Matching Sound and Feel

Possibly the most important aspect of the technology behind Toulon Design putters (including, the San Diego) is the concept of matching sound and feel with launch conditions of your golf ball. It may seem strange, but this concept is effectively untapped in the industry at present. As Toulon explains, “Sound and feel are totally intertwined. And those two things create the expectation of the distance the ball will travel for the golfer.” In other words, when sound and feel are successfully synced, it is easier to correlate and control distance in putting; not surprisingly, when things are off, controlling distance becomes much more difficult. Can you say 3-putt?

I’ve been playing golf for 30 years and I honestly can’t recall a putter that felt or sounded better. Again, words can’t properly describe it, but for me, uphill putts are particularly revealing and my expectation for putts hit with the San Diego closely aligned with my actual result. When I hit any putt (though, in particular, an uphill putt of 20+ feet), the feedback was immediate and in that regard I was able to quickly adjust to the speed and conditions of the greens on which I was playing or practicing. Put differently, I didn’t feel as if I was guessing from putt to putt (which happens) and instead, I was able to trust what I was hearing and feeling.

Diamonds in the Rough

cb-toulon_asigma-0560

The face milling pattern is also unique to Toulon Design, and the product of not only the creativity of its design team, but its relentless pursuit of something better. The goal was to achieve a crisp, yet soft feel as the result of a putter face that would create gentle (rather than aggressive) overspin on the ball at the point of impact. Inspired by the tread pattern on car tires, Toulon Design putters use what is referred to as a “Deep Diamond Mill” pattern. Within each diamond is a separate groove (or “eyelid,” as I refer to it), which minimizes the opportunity for your golf ball to climb up the putter face upon contact. The result being, to date, a reasonable, yet appropriate amount of forward roll immediately after impact.

My experience is that everything matches up almost perfectly. And rather than a ball coming hot off the face with an almost uncontrollable amount of forward roll, Toulon Design putters (and in my case, the San Diego) produce roll that allows for consistency, especially from beyond 20 feet.

Performance on the Green

It is certainly 9-plus out of 10 for me. The technology, coupled with the classic look and attention to detail, which is evident, make the San Diego an easy putter to love. What makes it easy to use is the feedback it provides by eliminating much of the confusion (that I’ve had with other putters) when hitting putts expecting a certain result and not getting it. The by-product of which is not being able to harmonize the feel and sound in order to gain consistency. In short, I have yet to feel as if I needed to guess with this putter. No, I do not make everything, but I actually feel like I have a very good chance on almost every putt I hit because I am confident that my stroke will match with the speed and distance I need to hit any given putt. And this is especially true from inside 10 feet.

Overall, the San Diego is worth every penny and Toulon Design is committed to making putters for golfers and golf enthusiasts that will make a difference in your game. There’s no question its an investment, but one you won’t regret.

I have yet to take advantage of the adjustable weighted sole plates (I absolutely plan on it), but in the near future (May 2016) you will be able to purchase from Toulon’s Garage the 7-gram aluminum plate, 20-gram stainless steel plate and 40-gram tungsten plate, as they are interchangeable in every Toulon Design putter. In doing so, you will easily be able to vary the putter head weight from 352 grams to 365 grams to 385 grams.

Toulon_Sole_weights

Don’t overlook Toulon Design when looking for a new putter in 2016, and with five models to choose from there’s probably one for you.

To learn more about the company and its products, visit toulondesign.com. 

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW14
  • LOL1
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP5
  • OB2
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending