Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Scotty Cameron Futura X and Futura X Dual Balance Putters

Published

on

Pros: The Futura X is tremendously forgiving and crafted with exceptional attention to detail. It’s one of the most stable, consistent high-MOI putters on the market.

Cons: Sells for $349-$399. It’s big and curvy, which might rub traditionalists the wrong way. Feel putters could struggle with the putter’s tendency to swing straight back and straight through.

Who’s it for? Golfers who miss a lot of short putts and/or struggle with distance control. It will work best for those who do not have much arc in their strokes.

Overview

Scotty Cameron has made his mark on the putter world over the years with blade-style putters such as his Newport, Newport 2 and mallets such as his Red X and GoLo. But he’s also taken risks with models such as the Futura, Detour and Kombi.

The Futura X fits squarely in the risk-taking category.

The oversized, high-MOI mallet is made from 6061 T6 aluminum, which is lighter than the stainless steels that are used to make most putters. That allowed Cameron to make the Futura X putter head larger and still have weight remaining to fine tune the putter’s performance and sound.

IMG_2704

The rear balance bar of the putter, which juts rearward and toward the back corners of the putter head, has two stainless steel weights on its edges to further improve the putter’s stability. There’s also two stainless steel weights on the front part of the putter’s sole that act as counterweights to better the putter’s balance and feel.

The Futura X comes in lengths of 33, 34 and 35 inches and sells for $349.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.scottycameron.com/putters/futura-x/models/Futura-X.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Scotty Cameron” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E4CMHWE/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00E4CMHWE&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=37DOVN7FJG265RK4″]

A Futura X Dual Balance ($399) is also available. It has a slightly heavier putter head and a 15-inch grip with a 50-gram weight positioned on its butt end to help golfers slow down their transition for a more consistent stroke. According to Cameron, golfers will get the most benefit from a Dual Balance putter when they position their hands about 3 inches below the butt end of the grip.

10171894b
The red section of the Futura X Dual Balance’s grip is a visual reminder of where golfers should grip the putter. 

The Futura X Dual Balance has a stock length of 38 inches, however, it’s available through custom order in 36-to-40-inch lengths in 0.5-inch increments.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.scottycameron.com/putters/futura-x/models/Futura-X-Dual-Balance.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Scotty Cameron” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GDAL7A8/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GDAL7A8&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=WHB4ACT42H72D3XY”]

The Review

Regardless of how you feel about the Futura X, there’s one thing you can’t deny; the putter is unbelievably consistent.

Even when you mishit it — and it doesn’t matter if it’s low on the face, high on the face, or on the heel or toe — the Futura X’s distance control seems to be on cruise control. Even better news for golfers who struggle with their strokes is that weighting scheme of the putter, which concentrates the majority of its mass in the back of the putter head, encourages the Futura X to swing straight back and straight through without much effort.

IMG_2701

The bad news? For golfers who have some arc in their strokes, the Futura X can be over-controlling. It swings so steady that it can be hard for feel players adjust.

Looks and Feel

The biggest concern we’ve heard golfers raise about the Futura X has been the look of the two stainless steel weights that are located on the back corners of the putter head. It was an interesting choice by Cameron to include the shiny weights in that location, which contrast starkly with the putter’s matte “Frozen Titanium” finish, but it wasn’t a foolish one.

FuturaX

Here’s the deal; the Futura X is long enough from front to back that golfers won’t even see the weights at address. They’ll be focused on one or more of the putter’s plentiful alignment aids, which include:

  1. A black line that’s perpendicular to the target line.
  2. Two black lines in the midsection of the putter that are parallel to the target line.
  3. Mini lines that are between the two parallel lines and parallel to them.

If you’re into simplicity or sight dots, you’ll want to look elsewhere.

IMG_2702

As for feel, the Futura X has a clean, crisp “thwack” that some will mistake for stainless steel. We’re not sure if that’s due to the extra weight Cameron added behind the face, the stainless steel soleplate, the weights on the front of the sole, the milling pattern on the face, etc., but whatever was done worked beautifully.

Should I get the Futura X Or Futura X Dual Balance?

Golfers should test both putters, but if they can’t (or can’t make up their mind) it makes sense to buy the Futura X Dual Balance. Yes, it’s $50 more expensive, but the added length will give golfers more flexibility if they decide they want a slightly longer or slightly shorter putter.

From a performance standpoint, the Dual Balance does a nice job of taking the “hit” out of short putts. That doesn’t mean it will fix the yips, but if you’re on the fence it’s probably something you want in your game. Those of you who don’t like the counterbalanced feel will know so immediately, so sorry for these five sentences.

IMG_2707

We love the attention to detail Cameron put into the Futura X, such as the high-gloss black paint fill used for the larger alignment aids and the shiny, cherry red accents added throughout the rest of the putter. The simple, circular shaft band is also a nice touch, but as cool as the headcover is it’s just as much of a pain to get off and on as the original Futura headcover. We wonder if there’s a better way.

Also not hot? The Cameron Flat Front Winn grip, which like other Winn grips loses its color and tacky feel quicker than it should. Luckily, it’s a cheap, easy upgrade.

IMG_2709

The Takeaway

Grading the Futura X wasn’t easy, because it will be awesome for some players and troublesome for others. Within our own walls, Managing Editor Zak Kozuchowski gushed over the Futura X, while Assistant Editor Andrew Tursky struggled to control his speed. He said it “came off too hot,” and he’s likely not the only better player to think so. It’s no surprise that Zak has more of a straight-back, straight-through stroke, while Andrew’s stroke has quite a bit more arc to it.

For golfers who like face-balanced, high-MOI putters the Futura X is one of the best currently available, and the Futura X Dual Balance is a great option for golfers looking for a bit more assistance with their strokes. These will help far more players than they hurt, and even if you don’t like the way they perform it’s hard not to appreciate the effectiveness and beauty of these designs.

Your Reaction?
  • 125
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW22
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP6
  • OB2
  • SHANK13

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. chrispuckhaber

    Nov 18, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I use a mallet putter and have alot of issues with short putts thinking about switching to a blade? any suggestions? thx chris

  2. steve

    Sep 22, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    if you want a cameron this isnt it. if you have swallowed the kool aid thinking that a $400 putter is better then a $100, buy a cameron blade better resale.

  3. Tony Clams

    Sep 19, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    While I love the performance of this putter I just couldn’t get past the size and look of it.

  4. weekend maids huntington beach ca

    Sep 19, 2014 at 2:47 am

    My partner and i enjoy, bring about I discovered just what I became interested in. You might have ended this several time long search! Our god Thanks a lot dude weekend maids Huntington Beach CA. Use a great evening. Cya

  5. Airbender

    Sep 17, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    I am so grateful that I don’t have to spend that kind of money to improve my putting game. But, if I can buy a good putting game, I WILL…

  6. phil

    Sep 16, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    Surely you must be kidding! To spend $440 for a putter face that touches the ball less than we can sense is ridiculous. What hype!

  7. Pondy

    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    If you have a SBST stroke this is a very good putter.

    I certainly don’t regret buying mine 🙂

  8. Miguel

    Sep 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    now now… The beauty of putters (both the club and person holding the club) is that every single one has that promise of putting the ball in the hole when it matters. This isn’t putt putt where the small pseudo-Wilson blades are only differentiated by the color of the grip. I would swing a shoebox on a stick or a butter knife to putt less than 25 times per round. I use the dual balance after success with a belly putter. I make some, I miss some but I enjoy the solid way it feels for me… and the way I can hole putts with it. I still practice with the belly just to remember the nice feel again. Swallow that preconception and try something new. Just concentrating on different feel may make you better with your own putter. As for price- well, I’ve never regretted saving for and getting exactly what I want. But i have had the opposite when I’ve gone cheap. Fairways and greens, my friends.

  9. golfpunk46

    Sep 16, 2014 at 2:11 pm

  10. Ken

    Sep 16, 2014 at 10:17 am

    If this was a bit larger, Captain Kirk would be flying it!

  11. Jonathan

    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Was interested in buying it when it came out. I ended up testing it against the nome tr and the odyssey 7. I have a strong arc swing so the futura was absoloutley terrible( not it’s fault), I was hitting draw putts haha. It looks massive up against the ball, the feedback was very very dull (not good for a feel putter like myself) and personally didn’t appreciate the dark alignment aids. Also, the thing is massive in the bag with the head cover on which is a pain If you are using a small carry bag. As always though, Scotty putters are beautifully crafted. I ended up going with the nome TR and I absoloutley love it.

    • Erik

      Sep 16, 2014 at 12:48 pm

      you have a strong arc and you wanted to try a face balanced putter? That’s like saying I have a slice, maybe if I move my SLDR to slice it will fix my issue

  12. Chuck

    Sep 15, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    A year late…

  13. mjdailey87

    Sep 15, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    I love this putter. I’ve gamed it since it came out. I’ve always been a decent putter, but I’ve had trouble with blade putters getting the right line. I’m a straight back and straight through putter. No arc. I’ve made more birdies with this putter than any other putter I’ve ever owned. My favorite prior to this was a 2 ball. I’ve owned several scotties and this by far is my favorite.

    If you’re not afraid to use something that looks like a spaceship, then give it a try! Its awesome!

  14. Willy

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    Garden tool….

  15. R

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Well, it’s about a year late.

  16. J

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    The less than qaulity grip is a cheap and easy fix on a 400.00 putter…

    Did you intentionally mean to be condescending with that statement or does spending 400.00 on something only to have to turn around and spend more a short time after purchase actually seem reasonable to you….

    Really…

    These articles come off as pompous an awful lot.

  17. Erik

    Sep 15, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I have this dual balance in my bag currently. I wanted to find an alternative to my belly putter. I agree, it doesn’t look the best but once you get past that there’s nothing I don’t like about it. Very stable, almost automatic on short putts, and great feel. It may be $400 but people on here pay upwards of that just on a shaft for their driver, something they will use a maximum of 14 times in a round. Dollar for dollar you get much more for your money with the Scotty than a new driver. I’m 100% satisfied.

  18. Mike Belkin

    Sep 15, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    She looks nice, but my Kombi is never leaving my bag!

  19. Reg

    Sep 15, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Let the crying begin for the A-

    • Jeremy

      Sep 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm

      Well since you mentioned it, A- does seem pretty generous for a putter that looks ridiculous, won’t really benefit people with a certain putting stroke, and costs as much as a medium-sized yacht.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Blade vs. mallet: What style putters do the top-50 players in the world use? (2022 update)

Published

on

Four years ago, I wrote an article where I analyzed the putters that the top-50 players in the world were using, and the top-50 players in strokes gained: putting. I wanted to find out whether more mallet-style putters, or blade-style putters, were being used by the world’s best.

In 2018, I found that 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

Flash forward to 2022, and it would seem that more and more top golfers are switching into mallet putters – Scottie Scheffler, for example, just switched into a mallet putter after using a blade-style putter throughout his career.

What are the actual numbers, though? Are more top PGA Tour players really using mallet putters these days, or is the shift overblown?

I wanted to find out.

For my research, I simply went through the most recent GolfWRX WITB photos, and the most recent photos on Getty Images, to figure out what style putter each player in the Top-50 in the OWGR is using, as well as each Top-50 player in strokes gained: putting on the PGA Tour for the 2021-22 season.

Below are the results:

Top-50 in OWGR: Blade or Mallet?

Mallet putter users, 62 percent (31 out of 50)

Rory McIlroy’s TaylorMade Spider Tour mallet putter

Rory McIlroy (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Scottie Scheffler (No. 2: Scotty Cameron T-5.5 Proto)

Patrick Cantlay (No. 4: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (N0. 5: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Xander Schauffele (No. 6: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Will Zalatoris (No. 7: Scotty Cameron Circle T Phantom X T-11 Proto)

Justin Thomas (No. 8: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto Tour-Only custom)

Viktor Hovland (No. 11: Ping PLD DS 72)

Sam Burns (No. 12: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Billy Horschel (No. 16: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Cameron Young (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T5 prototype)

Max Homa (No. 18: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Sungjae Im (No. 20: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Shane Lowry: (No. 21: Odyssey DFX 2-ball)

Abraham Ancer (No. 23: Odyssey White Hot No. 5 Stroke Lab)

Keegan Bradley (No. 25: Odyssey Versa Jailbird)

Sepp Straka (No. 27: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 28: Ping Vault Oslo)

Kevin Kisner (No. 29: Odyssey 2-Ball 11)

Dustin Johnson (No. 30: TaylorMade Spider GT Black)

Corey Conners (No. 31: Ping PLD Prototype)

Tom Hoge (No. 32: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

K.H. Lee (No. 33: Odyssey Works Versa 2-ball)

Adam Scott (No. 34: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Aaron Wise (No. 36: TaylorMade Ghost)

Brian Harman (No. 37: TaylorMade OS CB)

Daniel Berger (No. 43: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Jason Kokrak (No. 44: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Harold Varner III (No. 46: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S)

Seamus Power (No. 48: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

Harris English (No. 49: Ping Scottsdale Hohum)

Blade putter users, 38 percent (19 out of 50)

Tom Kim’s new custom Scotty Cameron blade-style putter

Cameron Smith (No. 3: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Collin Morikawa (No. 9: TaylorMade TP Soto)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 10: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Jordan Spieth (No. 13: Scotty Cameron 009 tour prototype)

Tony Finau (No. 14: Ping PLD Prototype)

Joohyung “Tom” Kim (No. 15: Scotty Cameron TourType GSS Prototype)

Hideki Matsuyama (No. 19: Scotty Cameron Newport 2 GSS)

Joaquin Niemann (No. 22: Prototype Ping PLD Anser)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 24: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Ryan Fox (No. 26: Ping Anser 2D)

Thomas Pieters (No. 35: Scotty Cameron Squareback Select 2 Tour Only)

Talor Gooch (No. 38: Odyssey Tri-Hot Two)

Brooks Koepka (No. 39: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Kevin Na (No. 40: Odyssey Toulon Madison)

Kurt Kitayama (No. 41: Scotty Cameron Newport prototype)

Louis Oosthuizen (No. 42: Ping Vault 2.0 Voss)

Mito Pereira (No. 45: Ping Vault 2.0 Dale Anser Stealth)

Paul Casey (No. 47: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Alex Noren (No. 50: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Top-50 in Strokes Gained: Putting

Mallet users: 70 percent (35 of 50 players)

Kelly Kraft’s custom Odyssey Versa 1-Ball Red prototype mallet

Lucas Herbert (No. 1: TaylorMade Spider X Hydroblast)

Denny McCarthy (No. 2: Scotty Cameron GoLo N7)

Tyrrell Hatton (No. 4: Ping Vault Oslo)

Beau Hossler (No. 5: Odyssey 2-Ball Ten)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (No. 6: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Kelly Kraft (No. 7: Odyssey Versa 1-ball Red Prototype)

Kevin Kisner (No. 9: Odyssey 2-ball 11)

Sam Burns (No. 10: Odyssey O-Works 7S)

Martin Trainer (No. 12: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype Phantom T12)

Chesson Hadley (No. 13: Odyssey White Hot OG 2-Ball)

Mackenzie Hughes (No. 14: Ping Scottsdale TR Piper C)

Rory McIlroy (No. 16: TaylorMade Spider Tour Hydroblast)

Ian Poulter (No. 17: Scotty Cameron T-11 Proto)

Justin Rose (No. 20: Axis1 Rose Prototype)

Billy Horschel (No. 21: Ping PLD Sigma 2 Tyne 4)

Matthew Wolff (No. 23: TaylorMade GT Notchback)

Adam Long (No. 24: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Viktor Hovland (No. 25: Ping PLD DS 72)

Max Homa (No. 27: Scotty Cameron Phantom X T5.5 Prototype)

Patrick Cantlay (T28: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Jon Rahm (T28: Odyssey Rossie S White Hot OG)

Wyndham Clark (No. 31: Scotty Cameron T5 Proto)

Xander Schauffele (No. 32: Odyssey O-Works #7 CH Red)

Vince Whaley (No. 33: Odyssey White Hot OG #7)

Rory Sabbatini (No. 34: Scotty Cameron Flowback Prototype)

Austin Cook (T35: Ping Sigma G Tyne)

Sungjae Im (No. 37: Scotty Cameron Flowback 5 Prototype)

Andrew Putnam (No. 38: Odyssey Stroke Lab Black Rossie)

Sepp Straka (No. 39: Odyssey Tuttle Stroke Lab)

Seamus Power (No. 40: Ping PLD3 Mallet)

J.T. Poston (T41: Scotty Cameron GoLo 5 Black Tour Prototype)

Adam Scott (T41: L.A.B. Golf Mezz.1 prototype)

Troy Merritt (No. 43: Yes! C-Groove Mollie Tour)

Jason Kokrak (T46: Bettinardi Studio Stock 38)

Mark Hubbard (No. 50: Odyssey Metal X Milled #9HT)

Blade users: 30 percent (15 of 50)

Matthew Fitzpatrick’s custom Bettinardi blade-style putter

Brendon Todd (No. 3: Sik Pro C-Series)

Cameron Smith (No. 8: Scotty Cameron 009M Prototype)

Matt Kuchar (No. 11: Bettinardi Tour Department SS28 DASS)

Marc Leishman (No. 15: Odyssey Versa #6)

Alex Noren (No. 18: Odyssey O-Works 1W)

Maverick McNealy (No. 19: Toulon Stanford MM Custom)

Matt Fitzpatrick (No. 22: Bettinardi DASS Prototype)

Tommy Fleetwood (No. 26: TaylorMade TP Juno)

Patrick Rodgers (No. 30: Odyssey Toulon San Diego)

Seung-Yul Noh (T35: Scotty Cameron Select Prototype)

Scott Stallings (No. 44: Scotty Cameron Newport 2.6 Prototype)

Brooks Koepka (No. 45: Scotty Cameron Teryllium TNP2)

Justin Lower (T46: PXG Prototype)

Richy Werenski (No. 48: Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype)

Patrick Reed (No. 49: Odyssey White Hot Pro #3)

Conclusion

In 2018, 44 percent of the top-50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings were using mallet style putters, and 56 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet putters.

In 2022, 62 percent of the top-50 players in the OWGR use mallet style putters, and 70 percent of the top-50 in strokes gained: putting were using mallet style putters.

What do you think this means?

To me, it means that each golfer should try as many putters as possible – under the supervision of a professional fitter or local club professional – and find the best possible putter to fit their stroke style and preferences.

Your Reaction?
  • 188
  • LEGIT44
  • WOW15
  • LOL7
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

REVIEW: Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) putters for 2022

Published

on

Not every golfer has access to custom-built golf putters like PGA Tour players do, but with Ping’s new PLD (Putting Lab Design) program, they can get pretty darn close.

Through the newly launched website, pingpld.com, golfers will have access to precision milled putters like the ones seen on Tour, and they can even customize their own putter with a Tour-level fitting experience either online or in person.

There’s three essential levels to the new PLD program: PLD Custom, PLD Limited and PLD Milled. Each of the levels comes with different putter options at differing price points.

“The PLD program allows us to bring golfers more of what we do best – design and build the highest-performing custom putters in the game,” said Ping President John K. Solheim, in a press release. “It offers nearly endless possibilities. Golfers can craft their own custom design through PLD Custom, choose the proven performance of a PLD Milled model or add to their putter collection by acquiring a PLD Limited. It gives golfers a chance to play what the pros play and own a piece of Ping history.”

“We established the PLD name several years ago as an extension of the PING Putting Lab,
where we’ve been fitting some of the top players in the world for more than 20 years,” said
Solheim. “Until now, access to the master fitters who deliver these custom putter experiences has been limited to the best players in the game. We can now bring golfers what they’ve been asking for either through a virtual or in-person experience.”

Below, we go further in-depth on each of the three options within the PLD program.

Ping PLD Milled

PGA Tour players such as Viktor Hovland, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson use Ping PLD precision milled putters, and now consumers will have access to those Tour-proven putters.

Each of the heads (Anser, Anser 2, DS72 and Prime Tyne 4) are machine milled from forged 303 stainless steel. Ping offers a breakdown of the specs for each available model, which will sell for $485 each:

Anser

Slight Arc
350g
Matte Black finish
Ping black graphite shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Anser 2

Slight Arc
350g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

DS72

Straight Stroke
365g
Satin finish
Chrome stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 2°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

Prime Tyne 4

Aerospace grade, machined aluminum hosel
Strong Arc
360g
Matte Black finish
Matte-black stepless steel shaft
Lie Angle: 20° +/- 4°
Loft: 3° +3°/- 2°

“The PLD Milled is an exciting addition to our putter line,” said John K. Solheim. “We’ve
identified a couple of our most popular models from the past and some newer designs that have attracted a lot of attention in the last couple of years. We’ve given the new putters a very clean, premium look to emphasize the precision process they undergo before they are ready for play. As we collaborate on new designs with our engineers and tour staff through the PLD program, we’ll add new models to bring golfers the latest in tour-proven performance on the putting green.”

Ping PLD Limited

Ping’s PLD Limited will feature periodic limited-edition releases consisting of either putters that are played on Tour, or iconic designs from history. According to Ping, these putters are mostly targeted toward collectors, so they will have serialized numbers and will not be available for custom modifications.

For its first release ($790), Ping developed a 2022 version of the original Ping Anser, celebrating the 55th Anniversary of receiving the original Anser Patent on March 21, 1967.

“A lot of time has passed since the invention of the Anser putter,” said John A. Solheim, Ping’s Chairman & CEO and the youngest son of Karsten Solheim, who designed the original putter. “We think it’s important to remind the golf industry and some of the younger golfers that the iconic design they see with other brands’ name on it was created by Karsten in his garage in the mid-1960s. I was fortunate to be at his side building the first Ansers, and continued to do so for many years. It’s time Karsten gets the credit he deserves for inventing the Anser putter.”

Ping PLD Custom

The highest level in the Ping PLD program feature the PLD Custom putters, where golfers can customize their own designs with either the help of a Ping Master fitter in person, or virtually through the PLD program online. To help golfers find their perfect putter, they will use the PLD iPing putting app, and a Ping Master fitter will analyze the player’s data to recommend a putter.

Then, golfers can fully customize the putter to their liking, with ability to change head model, Tungsten weighting, face milling, finish, alignment aids, stampings and paint fill. Ping’s Master Fitters will also help golfers get the correct length, lie angle and loft for their stroke and biometrics.

The putters themselves will sell for $1,290, and a $200 non-refundable payment is required to schedule and participate in a PLD Custom Fitting, whether it’s virtually or in person.

Personally, I received a Ping PLD Custom Fitting in-person at the company’s indoor facility in Phoenix, Arizona. After identifying my stroke flaws (of which there many) using Ping’s iPing putting app, I tried out a slew of different head options and we made head adjustments along the way to figure out what truly works. Here were my final specs:

Head model: Ping Anser
Finish: Patina
Weight: 350 grams
Alignment line/dot: None
Stamping: “T” on the hosel
Length: 35.5 inches
Shaft: Chrome Stepless Steel
Grip: PP58 Black Midsize

What blew me away most was how impactful length and lie angle can be on comfort at address and stroke pattern. Even minor changes felt drastic. Also, the depth of face milling can truly change both feel and sound; I never realized how much.

Another point of note: Switching up alignment lines obviously can affect aim, but for me, they also influenced my stroke itself due to the visual changes. I highly suggest going through a full putter fitting to determine what specifications you prefer for yourself.

Check out the photos below of the putter that was designed for me through my work with a Ping Master Fitter:

Ping PLD putters are available for pre-order today, and head over to Ping’s PLD website to book your own fitting here.

Your Reaction?
  • 126
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW15
  • LOL4
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 63
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW6
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending