Connect with us
Advertisement

Accessory Reviews

Review: Lamkin UTx and Wrap-Tech Grips

Published

on

Pros: The UTx ($6.99), UTx Wrap ($6.99) and Wrap-Tech ($4.99) grips offer top-shelf performance at an affordable price. The UTx and UTx Wrap are full-cord grips with an impressively soft touch, while the softer Wrap-Tech offers more tack and shock absorption.

Cons: The Wrap-Tech performs nicely in different weather conditions, but don’t expect the traction of firmer, corded grips in extreme humidity or the rain.

Who are they for? The Utx line is for players who want a corded grip that is firm, yet responsive. Wrap-Tech grips are for those seeking maximum comfort with minimum grip pressure from a grip that can handle tour-level swing speeds.

Overview

Golfers are routinely consumed by how their equipment feels — and rightfully so. A purely struck 7-iron that draws on command, lands softly and spins down the slope toward the hole makes us feel in control, if not downright giddy.

The club head, ball and shaft generally get most of the credit for these hallowed events, but what about the grip? It’s the golfers most basic and fundamental connection to the club, and if we’re to have a serious conversation about how our equipment feels maybe this is exactly where we should start.

For this review, I tested three of Lamkin’s newest grips on my driver, mid irons and wedges:

  • The UTx
  • The UTx Wrap
  • The Wrap-Tech

Each grip has a standard size of 0.580 inches (round), and I added 2-3 extra wraps to get it more in line with my preferred size. I subjected the grips to a variety of temperatures, playing conditions and even spilled (unintentionally mind you) my Diet Coke on one. A quick wipe down with a wet towel and it was good as new.

The UTx

 

product-utx-all-red-std

 

Lamkin’s UTx is a fully corded grip with a softer ACE 3GEN base layer and a firmer, yet tacky outer layer. The challenge in creating a firm grip — especially one with cord — is striking a balance of feedback and control, while mitigating any abrasive tendencies. The UTx was extremely comfortable and well-balanced, and offered plenty of feedback without ever feeling hard or inflexible.

Aesthetically, the UTx has a hexagonal texture, which obscures the cord and ranges in color from basic black, red or blue to slightly psychedelic blue or red.

I need a grip to navigate the dry Colorado heat, as well as one versatile enough to play in the rainy spring and colder fall conditions. If it’s too soft, I lose valuable feedback on my shots. If it’s too firm, the tendency is to grip the club too hard, leading to increased tension and inconsistent ball-striking.

It is precisely in this space of comfort where the UTx exists. It’s tacky without being sticky, and it’s sturdy without being squishy. I can’t say the grip is perfect, but the more I played it, the more I struggled to come up with criticisms that didn’t seem a bit contrived. That said, I wouldn’t be sad if the standard UTx had a bit more cord, particularly in the lower hand.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/max-performance/utx” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GTIPPIO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GTIPPIO&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=N2DY2LOX3T4E5ZXC”]

 

The UTx Wrap

 

product-utx-wrap-blue

 

The UTx Wrap delivers the same high-level performance as the UTx, but is molded to resemble a wrap-style grip and is currently available in two colors: blue or black. Essentially, the UTx Wrap is a slight modification on the standard UTx for players desiring the playing attributes of the UTx in a wrap style grip.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/max-performance/utx-wrap” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00P00SHRS/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00P00SHRS&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=A6P7EC7BTJ3GJORO”]

 

The Wrap-Tech

 

product-wrap-tech-blue

 

Lamkin’s Wrap-Tech is quite different from the UTx line, as it is a much softer grip and utilizes dual surface textures to give the player every opportunity to go all Aerosmith and “get a grip.” For players without naturally strong grip pressure, or those who want to be able to play without a glove and maintain maximum tack, the Wrap-Tech is sublime. It’s ridiculously comfortable like super plush couch you can’t help but try it out — and after a couple minutes you’re either thoroughly impressed or convinced it’s a bit too much of a good thing.

With the Wrap-Tech grip, a double-helix pattern features a thin ribbon of white, red or blue that traces the wrap the entire length of the grip. The dual surfaces are marked by juxtaposing smooth and rough surfaces. Overall, the Wrap-Tech has a clean, yet snappy look without trying too hard to get attention.

If there is a knock on this grip, it’s the ability to perform in very humid or wet weather. Granted, rubber grips and rain typically get along like Rory McIlroy and 3 irons at Doral, but when it started to rain, I either needed to keep the Wrap-Tech grips very dry or reach for my rain gloves. On that note, rain gloves stuck to the Wrap-Tech like a dream, so keep them in the bag if you choose to use this grip.

Generally, softer grips tend to show wear more quickly than firm grips, but the Wrap-Tech broke in nicely after a couple rounds and showed very few early signs of wear. The only maintenance required on these is a quick wipe down with a damp towel after each use — or if you’re up for it, try the Lamkin Grip Wipes.

If you’re a player thirsting for maximum tack with minimum grip pressure, the Wrap-Tech is going to be as good, if not better than anything else in the $5-per-grip price range.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/comfortable-performance/wrap-tech” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00P00SHLO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00P00SHLO&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=3VNBXOAQFASRXAW2″]

 

Odds and Ends

  • If you want the same grip of Justin Rose, Brandt Snedeker or Keegan Bradley — or you want to play tour-authentic Lamkin ribbed grips — they can be ordered directly from the Tour Van section of Lamkin’s website.
  • Be sure to get fit for your grips. Most Lamkin standard grips have a core diameter of 0.580 inches, meaning they’ll play slightly larger than grips with a 0.600-inch diameter.
  • Grips don’t last forever. Change your grips each year, or every 30-40 rounds — whichever comes first.
  • If you can make Hamburger Helper, you can re-grip your own clubs. Check out this link to see how easy it is!

The Takeaway

Lamkin claims to have “the perfect grip for every golfer.” The company’s not wrong, and if you haven’t looked their way in the past, you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the current quality, price and selection.

Your Reaction?
  • 57
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW5
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. webbstar

    May 30, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    I have used the tour wrap bct full cords for years but they were discontinued a few years back. (unless your name is henrik stenson)
    I had been buying up the remaining stock online but my supplier had sold out never to be seen again. Just regripped with the UTx wrap and i could not be happier. Very similar to the bct wrap. I too didn’t care for the multi coumpound grip that would not even last a full season. Thank you lamkin for filling a gap that was missing in the grip market.

  2. jonno

    May 30, 2015 at 1:43 am

    the 2014 version was terrible, wore out super fast, but it feels like they’ve firmed it up for 2015 – taking away some of the “point of difference” they had with the first soft-cord grip last year, but i appreciate the extra wear rate and hope they’ve found a good middle ground.
    i’ve got the blue ones on all 13 clubs – the 2015 ones, so i’ll you know in 6 months if they wear properly instead of two weeks like the 2014 version!

  3. Jeez Utz

    May 29, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    Winn Dri Tac 1/8
    Best grips ever made

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:17 pm

      Hard to say anything is the “best ever made” – The Dri Tac is great for someone who wants a super soft/comfy grip and in my experience, doesn’t mind regripping fairly often.

  4. 1973

    May 29, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    So here’s a question for those in the know…Do wrap grips work/fit lefthanders in the same way right handers? As a lefty I always feel as though the spiral wrap runs against the fingers?

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:15 pm

      That’s a great question – and honestly one I’ve never considered as a RH player who rarely uses wrap style grips – I’ll do some digging and see what I can come up with…Thanks for the question!

      • 1973

        May 30, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks Chris appreciate it – excited to see what you find! Perhaps if Lamkin, Golf Pride are watching…

  5. Nolanski

    May 29, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    I have a UTx on a wedge. It feels great. But for some reason I like the full cord Golf prides BCTs better. I sweat a lot…

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      If you like more cord – especially a more pronounced cord – the BCT’s are tough to beat – Perhaps it has something to do with moisture management – but at the end of the day, play what works best for ya!

  6. Progolfer

    May 29, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    I’ve been playing the UTx grips for the past year, and couldn’t be happier. I used to play Golf Pride’s MultiCompound grips, but they got slick quickly and I had to replace them often. Lamkin’s UTx last a very long time and keep their traction. They’re the best grips out there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 99
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 86
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: FlightScope Mevo

Published

on

In 100 Words

The Mevo is a useful practice tool for amateur golfers and represents a step forward from previous offerings on the market. It allows golfers to practice indoors or outdoors and provides club speed, ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance and flight time.

It also has a video capture mode that will overlay swing videos with the swing data of a specific swing. It is limited in its capabilities and its accuracy, though, which golfers should expect at this price point. All in all, it’s well worth the $499 price tag if you understand what you’re getting.

The Full Review

The FlightScope Mevo is a launch monitor powered by 3D Doppler radar. With a retail price of $499, it is obviously aimed to reach the end consumer as opposed to PGA professionals and club fitters.

The Mevo device itself is tiny. Like, really tiny. It measures 3.5-inches wide, 2.8-inches tall and 1.2-inches deep. In terms of everyday products, it’s roughly the size of an Altoids tin. It’s very easy to find room for it in your golf bag, and the vast majority of people at the range you may be practicing at won’t even notice it’s there. Apart from the Mevo itself, in the box you get a quick start guide, a charging cable, a carrying pouch, and some metallic stickers… more on those later. It has a rechargeable internal battery that reaches a full charge in about two hours and lasts for about four hours when fully charged.

As far as software goes, the Mevo pairs with the Mevo Golf app on your iOS or Android device. The app is free to download and does not require any subscription fees (unless you want to store and view videos of your swing online as opposed to using the memory on your device). The app is very easy to use even for those who aren’t tech savvy. Make sure you’re using the most current version of the firmware for the best results, though (I did experience some glitches at first until I did so). The settings menu does have an option to manually force firmware writing, but updates should happen automatically when you start using the device.

Moving through the menus, beginning sessions, editing shots (good for adding notes on things like strike location or wind) are all very easy. Video mode did give me fits the first time I used it, though, as it was impossible to maintain my connection between my phone and the Mevo while having the phone in the right location to capture video properly. The only way I could achieve this was by setting the Mevo as far back from strike location as the device would allow. Just something to keep in mind if you find you’re having troubles with video mode.

Screenshot of video capture mode with the FlightScope Mevo

Using the Mevo

When setting up the Mevo, it needs to be placed between 4-7 feet behind the golf ball, level with the playing surface and pointed down the target line. The distance you place the Mevo behind the ball does need to be entered into the settings menu before starting your session. While we’re on that subject, before hitting balls, you do need to select between indoor, outdoor, and pitching (ball flight less than 20 yards) modes, input your altitude and select video or data mode depending on if you want to pair your data with videos of each swing or just see the data by itself. You can also edit the available clubs to be monitored, as you will have to tell the Mevo which club you’re using at any point in time to get the best results. Once you get that far, you’re pretty much off to the races.

Testing the Mevo

I tested the FlightScope Mevo with Brad Bachand at Man O’ War Golf Center in Lexington, Kentucky. Brad is a member of the PGA and has received numerous awards for golf instruction and club fitting. I wanted to put the Mevo against the best device FlightScope has to offer and, luckily, Brad does use his $15,000 FlightScope X3 daily. We had both the FlightScope Mevo and Brad’s FlightScope X3 set up simultaneously, so the numbers gathered from the two devices were generated from the exact same strikes. Brad also set up the two devices and did all of the ball striking just to maximize our chances for success.

The day of our outdoor session was roughly 22 degrees Fahrenheit. There was some wind on that day (mostly right to left), but it wasn’t a major factor. Our setup is pictured below.

Outdoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our outdoor testing are shown below. The testing was conducted with range balls, and we did use the metallic stickers. The range balls used across all the testing were all consistently the same brand. Man O’ War buys all new range balls once a year and these had been used all throughout 2017.  The 2018 batch had not yet been purchased at the time that testing was conducted.

Raw outdoor data captured with range balls including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

You’ll notice some peculiar data in the sand wedge spin category. To be honest, I don’t fully know what contributed to the X3 measuring such low values. While the Mevo’s sand wedge spin numbers seem more believable, you could visibly see that the X3 was much more accurate on carry distance. Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our outdoor session when separated out for each club. As previously mentioned, though, take sand wedge spin with a grain of salt.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (outdoor testing).

The first thing we noticed was that the Mevo displays its numbers while the golf ball is still in midair, so it was clear that it wasn’t watching the golf ball the entire time like the X3. According to the Mevo website, carry distance, height and flight time are all calculated while club speed, ball speed, launch angle and spin rate are measured. As for the accuracy of the measured parameters, the Mevo’s strength is ball speed. The accuracy of the other measured ball parameters (launch angle and spin rate) is questionable depending on certain factors (quality of strike, moisture on the clubface and ball, quality of ball, etc). I would say it ranges between “good” or “very good” and “disappointing” with most strikes being categorized as “just okay.”

As for the calculated parameters of carry distance, height and time, those vary a decent amount. Obviously, when the measurements of the three inputs become less accurate, the three outputs will become less accurate as a result. Furthermore, according to FlightScope, the Mevo’s calculations are not accounting for things like temperature, humidity, and wind. The company has also stated, though, that future updates will likely adjust for these parameters by using location services through the app.

Now, let’s talk about those metallic stickers. According to the quick start guide, the Mevo needs a sticker on every golf ball you hit, and before you hit each ball, the ball needs to be placed such that the sticker is facing the target. It goes without saying that it doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun to spend time putting those stickers on every ball, let alone balls that will never come back to you if you’re at a public driving range. Obviously, people are going to want to avoid using the stickers if they can, so do they really matter? Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls with and without the use of the stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you use the metallic stickers and when you don’t

The FlightScope website says that the metallic stickers “are needed in order for the Mevo to accurately measure ball spin.” We observed pretty much the same as shown in the table above. The website also states they are working on alternative solutions to stickers (possibly a metallic sharpie), which I think is wise.

Another thing we thought would be worth testing is the impact of different golf balls. Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls as compared to Pro V1’s. All of this data was collected using the metallic stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you switch from range balls to Pro V1’s

As shown above, the data gets much closer virtually across the board when you use better quality golf balls. Just something else to keep in mind when using the Mevo.

Indoor testing requires 8 feet of ball flight (impact zone to hitting net), which was no problem for us. Our setup is pictured below. All of the indoor testing was conducted with Titleist Pro V1 golf balls using the metallic stickers.

Indoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our indoor session are shown below.

Raw indoor data captured with Pro V1’s including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our indoor session when separated out for each club.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (indoor testing)

On the whole, the data got much closer together between the two devices in our indoor session. I would think a lot of that can be attributed to the use of quality golf balls and to removing outdoor factors like wind and temperature (tying into my previous comment above).

As far as overall observations between all sessions, the most striking thing was that the Mevo consistently gets more accurate when you hit really good, straight shots. When you hit bad shots, or if you hit a fade or a draw, it gets less and less accurate.

The last parameter to address is club speed, which came in around 5 percent different on average between the Mevo and X3 based on all of the shots recorded. The Mevo was most accurate with the driver at 2.1 percent different from the X3 over all strikes and it was the least accurate with sand wedge by far. Obviously, smash factor accuracy will follow club speed for the most part since ball speed is quite accurate. Over every shot we observed, the percent difference on ball speed was 1.2 percent on average between the Mevo and the X3. Again, the Mevo was least accurate with sand wedges. If I remove all sand wedge shots from the data, the average percent difference changes from 1.2 percent to 0.7 percent, which is very, very respectable.

When it comes to the different clubs used, the Mevo was by far most accurate with mid irons. I confirmed this with on-course testing on a relatively flat 170-yard par-3 as well. Carry distances in that case were within 1-2 yards on most shots (mostly related to quality of strike). With the driver, the Mevo was reasonably close, but I would also describe it as generous. It almost always missed by telling me that launch angle was higher, spin rate was lower and carry distance was farther than the X3. Generally speaking, the Mevo overestimated our driver carries by about 5 percent. Lastly, the Mevo really did not like sand wedges at all. Especially considering those shots were short enough that you could visibly see how far off the Mevo was with its carry distance. Being 10 yards off on a 90 yard shot was disappointing.

Conclusion

The Mevo is a really good product if you understand what you’re getting when you buy it. Although the data isn’t good enough for a PGA professional, it’s still a useful tool that gives amateurs reasonable feedback while practicing. It’s also a fair amount more accurate than similar products in its price range, and I think it could become even better with firmware updates as Flightscope improves upon its product.

This is a much welcomed and very promising step forward in consumer launch monitors, and the Mevo is definitely worth a look if you’re in the market for one.

Your Reaction?
  • 178
  • LEGIT16
  • WOW4
  • LOL11
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP9
  • OB4
  • SHANK37

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending