Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: ECCO Biom Hybrid 2

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, impressive traction, off-the-course wearability, modern look.

Cons: Reflective accents may be too bold for some.

Bottom Line: If you’re in the market for a spikeless shoe with bold looks, the BIOM Hybrid 2 is the best in class.

Overview

ECCO has been making golf shoes since 1996 and spikeless (or hybrid) shoes since 2010. The company launched Biom Golf in 2011, which utilizes the company’s Natural Motion technology. It launched the Biom Hybrid in 2012 and the Tour Hybrid in 2013. This year’s Biom Hybrid 2 is lighter and thinner than the Biom Hybrid.

We’ll begin with the shoe’s exterior: the Biom Hybrid 2 has what Ecco calls yak leather uppers. The yak leather is treated with an anti-stain formula called HydroMax to protect the shoes from the elements.

The Biom Hybrid 2’s design was arrived at by scanning the feet of 2,500 athletes to determine the best way to offer support. The ECCO E-DTS outsole features TPU traction bars, which provide more than 800 traction angles for maximum gripping. TPU is a highly durable, wear-resistant material that won’t break down in casual wear like traditional soles.

ECCO-Golf-SS15-BIOM-Hybrid-2-Image

The Biom Hybrid 2 also has a silicon-printed insole to provide increased stability through the swing, as well as ECCO’s Direct Inject Process (DIP), which attaches the sole to the shoes. Most manufacturers use cement to attach soles to shoes. Not ECCO.

“The ECCO upper is placed in a mold where the polyurethane (PU) midsole is shot around it in liquid form creating a chemical bond,” said David Helter, ECCO USA’s Specialty Sales Director. “Not only does this process create an unbreakable, water-tight seal, it also reduces the overall weight of the shoe. As an alternative to the common EVA foam of other brands, PU is also highly flexible and resists breakdown for out-of-the-box comfort that lasts season after season.”

BIOM-HYBRID-2-landing

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 is available in European sizes 41 through 47 (U.S. 7/7.5 through 13/13.5). Hybrid 2’s come in four colors: concrete/royal, black/brick, camel/fanta, white/fire.

They retail for $195.00.

Performance

02_151514_59015

It’s no secret that ECCO’s Hybrid shoes have been first-in-class in comfort since the model burst on the scene at the 2011 Masters thanks to Fred Couples. From that standpoint, then, there has never been a question about how your feet feel after walking 18 holes in the shoes.

04_151514_59015

The point of interest, from a performance standpoint, is how the shoes perform relative to traditional “spiked” golf shoes. Regarding that, you’re in no danger of feeling like you’re wearing a pair of sneakers with the Biom Hybrid 2 on your feet.

03_151514_59015

The shoes’ 800 traction angles are positioned to keep you grounded regardless of how your foot is moving as you walk or swing. And the stability across the sole of the shoe generally offsets most slipping on shots from the rough, although the shoes hardly function like old-school metal spikes in that regard.

06_151514_59015

Stability and flex throughout the golf swing are excellent and the shoe is perceptibly lighter and thinner than previous ECCO Hybrids.

05_151514_59015

A bonus to wearing BIOM Hybrid 2’s — unlike lock-in-spike shoes, you don’t have to constantly clean muck and leaves out of your spikes with spikeless shoes and you’ll never have to change your spikes again. Plus, these things really are durable, significantly more so than the soles of traditional sneakers.

Looks and Feel

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 continues the company’s casual approach to golf shoes. Certainly, the shoe looks more like a sneaker than a traditional leather golf shoe (which, by the way, ECCO does and does well).

01_141564-50612
Ecco’s Tour Hybrid HydroMax ($190) are spikeless golf shoes that look like traditional models. 

The Hybrid 2 features a thinner sole than its predecessor, the Hybrid, as well as the dotted striping along the side and larger metallic accent areas in the toe and heel. The upgraded sole technology is immediately apparent at a glance as well.

When ECCO talks about making shoes that fit the foot, the phrase may seem silly or redundant. The only way to really understand what ECCO means is to slip on a pair of Biom Hybrid 2’s, as comfort and stability are top notch while never feeling restricting or constraining.

The Takeaway

If you haven’t given spikeless golf shoes a try, there has never been a better model to make your first foray into that market with.

01_151514-58247

If you’re a steel-spikes-and-saddle-shoes-traditionalist… well, you’re probably not reading this review.

And if you liked the Biom Hybrid, you’ll be pleased with the slimmer, thinner Hybrid 2.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://us.shop.ecco.com/golf-men-most-popular/ecco-mens-biom-hybrid-2-151514.html” oemtext=”Learn more from ECCO” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DWV6L70/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00DWV6L70&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=QFLO6W7GWVY2M4OH”]

Your Reaction?
  • 82
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW17
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP37
  • OB2
  • SHANK10

19 Comments

19 Comments

  1. rgb

    Mar 6, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    Honestly? The only ‘con’ you can find is that ‘Reflective accents may be too bold for some’. What wusses do you cater to?

  2. Pingback: ECCO BIOM Hybrid 2 Featured on GolfWRX - Buffalo BIG - Brand Invigoration Group

  3. michael

    Nov 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Don’t believe their warranty. The pair I purchased before these came out leaked like I was only waring socks.

    When I contacted ecco they answered with they weren’t made to be played in the rain. Welcome to south Florida.

  4. randy

    Nov 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    very soft feeling shoe but I a do prefer a more traditional icon style shoe

  5. Joe Duffer

    Nov 19, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Unbelievably, ECCO offers only one width (M) for their entire line!

    Factoring in that with poor waterproofing, makes for an easy decision.

  6. Carlos Danger

    Nov 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I just finished my second summer with the first Hybrid version and not only are they still going strong in terms of support, tread, etc…but they are literally the most comfortable pair of shoes I own. Im wearing moccasins as we speak and I wish I had my Ecco’s on.

    If you walk alot (I do 95%), you literally are doing yourself a dis-service not owning a pair of Ecco Hybrid.

    It took me a little while to get used to the “nurse/skateboard/elderly walking shoe look” but now that pretty much every golf shoe looks like that it aint no thang.

    Check in on Kingdom59.com. They just had them for $150 but ended yesterday…but Im sure they will bring them back.

  7. Jim

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    Excellent review. Excellent golf shoe for both comfort and durability. I’ve worn Ecco golf shoes since the late 90’s and moved to spikeless models after Fred Couples played in his at Agusta. The Biom models are so comfortable as are the original Street shoes that I wouldn’t wear any other shoe on the course. I play mostly in the dry, low humidity climate of Colorado but for two weeks every summer in the wet, often rainy climate of Ontario, Canada near Niagara Falls, and have never experienced any water issues with any pair of Ecco shoes. I love this brand of spikeless shoes and enjoyed the numerous pairs of Ecco spiked golf shoes well enough that I’ve purchased several pair of non-golf Ecco shoes at Nordstrom.

  8. Jim Beatty

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    I own 8 pairs of Ecco shoes they are by far the best shoe on the market and they do stand behind there products

  9. dot dot

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    An “A”, review how surprising. NOT! Everything on this site gets an “A” review
    Ad = Review

  10. Ronnie

    Nov 19, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I still think True’s are the best.

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:32 am

      Sorry, no. Every pair of TRUE I owned except for 1, had to be returned for quality and workmanship reasons. Owned 5 pairs of Ecco’s (3 biom H, 2 biom S) and not a single problem. Yes the Yak Hyrdomax is highly water resistant, but NOT waterproof. If you are playing in the rain/soaking conditions, have an alternate. They handle early morning dew just fine.

  11. Jrodey

    Nov 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    ECCO replaced a pair of $275 of golf spikes (poor water proofing) for a $200 pair of Biom 2. I like the new Biom 2 but they don’t feel much different from the original Biom’s. With that said, I’ll continue to buy Ecco ( I have four pairs) but will only buy shoes that have been discounted. No more first off the rack for me…not worth the trade down if they are returned.

  12. Kyle Klages

    Nov 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Have they increased the durability of the soles. I find they wear out much more quickly than other spikeless models.

    Still the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever worn.

  13. JDF

    Nov 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    Is the waterproofing better than with the original Biom Hybrids? I have three pair because you can’t beat the comfort as a walker, but the waterproofing on them was marginal, at best.

    • Carlos Danger

      Nov 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      As you will see by my other post I love these shoes but have to agree on the waterproofing. These are the only shoes I have ever seen that show my sweat stains during the summer

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

      They say that Yak Hydromax is not waterproof. Handles everything for me, but rainy soaking conditions. Get the BIOM GTX, has a GoreTex layer.

  14. cheesehead42

    Nov 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    I would be the first one in line to buy these if they offered a size 48. Until then, I am an Ashworth guy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag putter covers

Published

on

Product: Swag putter covers

Pitch: From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag putter covers

When it comes to loud, inventive, standout putter covers, Swag never disappoints. Their new series of covers are certainly out there, and the contrast of their range, attention to detail, and excellent all-around quality make these putter covers a must have — if you can get your hands on them.

To start with, Swag’s Lincoln cover is a a real standout. The cover features a bright green background with President Lincoln looking the part in dark shades in the company’s own version of the $5 bill. The detail of the blade putter cover is excellent, with the bright green being the eye catcher and the unmistakable figure of Abraham Lincoln as the centerpiece.

The company also seem very proud of their creation, letting folks clearly know in their description of the cover that it is “not legal tender.” (Just in case you found yourself confused)

The company’s pink Flamingo cover is also a personal favorite, featuring bright colors and cool summer breeze feel. The great detail on the bird with its dark shades, vibrant colors and background of the palm trees make it an ideal cover as we head into the summer months. But it isn’t just the designs. The quality of the fabric and stitching lends for a durable and plush feeling cover too.

It’s worth noting that Swag enthusiast and team member Kevin Streelman is rocking one of the latest Swag putter covers. The American is currently gaming a Swag 2019 Handsome Too Tour with a double fly milled face, and the 40-year-old rocks the Chicago style deep-dish pizza cover to accompany the flat-stick.

Swag is without a doubt a no BS company, and in their putter covers, they have certainly delivered in their aim to be bold and experimental. Perhaps the only disappointment is that all their limited edition putter covers are already sold out, which is an ode to how clever and engaging their designs are. The covers range in price from around $75-$125, and as the company continues to push the boundaries, here’s hoping for more releases in the near future.

Your Reaction?
  • 113
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW19
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Garmin Approach Z80 laser rangefinder

Published

on

Product: Garmin Approach Z80

Pitch: From Garmin: “See the game differently with the Approach Z80 laser range finder with GPS. Laser ranges are accurate to within 10,” so you can take dead aim at the flag. See a full-color CourseView and Green View overlay in 2-D, showing distances to the front and back of the green, plus hazards on more than 41,000 courses worldwide.”

Our take on the Garmin Approach Z80 Laser Rangefinder

In terms of laser rangefinders, the Garmin Approach Z80 does all the little things well and then packs on a bundle of additional features, which makes the product unique.

For starters, one of the coolest features of the Garmin Approach Z80 is the 2D hole layout that appears on the left-hand side of the screen. The image serves as a virtual map of the hole, and offers you a great view of what’s in store next should you either pull or push your shot, making it one of the best rangefinders on the market for use on your tee shots. The rangefinder also allows you to enter your average driving distance, which will automatically suggest where your tee shot should land.

For approach shots, this rangefinder gives you the distance to the front, back and flag which shows up at the bottom of the screen. The Z80 can also provide distances to hazards and bunkers which is very useful for tight pin locations. When locking onto the flag, the rangefinder provides a yellow arc which once more presents you with a view of where you could end up if you hit your number but miss your target.

The rangefinder goes into standby mode after it hasn’t been used for five seconds, a feature which is extremely good for battery life. Once fully charged the ApproachZ80 will easily last you from 3-4 rounds. However, the standby mode does cause it to take slightly more time to load up when using, but we’re only talking 10-20 seconds.

The PinPointer feature which the Approach Z80 features is also very beneficial in that an arrow on the screen will direct you to the hole, whether you’re facing a blind shot, or are out of position. It’s worth noting that the PinPointer feature is also advantageous in that it gives you the yardage to the hole and not just a guide, despite you being unable to see the flag.

All in all, the Garmin Approach Z80 is a top rangefinder with an innovative 2D map of the hole which gives you a tremendous amount of power in that you can not just visualize the hole quickly but also possess a powerful tool for shots off the tee. The small size of the rangefinder is also a major plus, as is its light weight of just 8oz. At $600, it wouldn’t be considered an economical purchase, but in terms of the innovative technologies and benefits, it could still be considered value.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 17
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending