Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: ECCO Biom Hybrid 2

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, impressive traction, off-the-course wearability, modern look.

Cons: Reflective accents may be too bold for some.

Bottom Line: If you’re in the market for a spikeless shoe with bold looks, the BIOM Hybrid 2 is the best in class.

Overview

ECCO has been making golf shoes since 1996 and spikeless (or hybrid) shoes since 2010. The company launched Biom Golf in 2011, which utilizes the company’s Natural Motion technology. It launched the Biom Hybrid in 2012 and the Tour Hybrid in 2013. This year’s Biom Hybrid 2 is lighter and thinner than the Biom Hybrid.

We’ll begin with the shoe’s exterior: the Biom Hybrid 2 has what Ecco calls yak leather uppers. The yak leather is treated with an anti-stain formula called HydroMax to protect the shoes from the elements.

The Biom Hybrid 2’s design was arrived at by scanning the feet of 2,500 athletes to determine the best way to offer support. The ECCO E-DTS outsole features TPU traction bars, which provide more than 800 traction angles for maximum gripping. TPU is a highly durable, wear-resistant material that won’t break down in casual wear like traditional soles.

ECCO-Golf-SS15-BIOM-Hybrid-2-Image

The Biom Hybrid 2 also has a silicon-printed insole to provide increased stability through the swing, as well as ECCO’s Direct Inject Process (DIP), which attaches the sole to the shoes. Most manufacturers use cement to attach soles to shoes. Not ECCO.

“The ECCO upper is placed in a mold where the polyurethane (PU) midsole is shot around it in liquid form creating a chemical bond,” said David Helter, ECCO USA’s Specialty Sales Director. “Not only does this process create an unbreakable, water-tight seal, it also reduces the overall weight of the shoe. As an alternative to the common EVA foam of other brands, PU is also highly flexible and resists breakdown for out-of-the-box comfort that lasts season after season.”

BIOM-HYBRID-2-landing

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 is available in European sizes 41 through 47 (U.S. 7/7.5 through 13/13.5). Hybrid 2’s come in four colors: concrete/royal, black/brick, camel/fanta, white/fire.

They retail for $195.00.

Performance

02_151514_59015

It’s no secret that ECCO’s Hybrid shoes have been first-in-class in comfort since the model burst on the scene at the 2011 Masters thanks to Fred Couples. From that standpoint, then, there has never been a question about how your feet feel after walking 18 holes in the shoes.

04_151514_59015

The point of interest, from a performance standpoint, is how the shoes perform relative to traditional “spiked” golf shoes. Regarding that, you’re in no danger of feeling like you’re wearing a pair of sneakers with the Biom Hybrid 2 on your feet.

03_151514_59015

The shoes’ 800 traction angles are positioned to keep you grounded regardless of how your foot is moving as you walk or swing. And the stability across the sole of the shoe generally offsets most slipping on shots from the rough, although the shoes hardly function like old-school metal spikes in that regard.

06_151514_59015

Stability and flex throughout the golf swing are excellent and the shoe is perceptibly lighter and thinner than previous ECCO Hybrids.

05_151514_59015

A bonus to wearing BIOM Hybrid 2’s — unlike lock-in-spike shoes, you don’t have to constantly clean muck and leaves out of your spikes with spikeless shoes and you’ll never have to change your spikes again. Plus, these things really are durable, significantly more so than the soles of traditional sneakers.

Looks and Feel

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 continues the company’s casual approach to golf shoes. Certainly, the shoe looks more like a sneaker than a traditional leather golf shoe (which, by the way, ECCO does and does well).

01_141564-50612
Ecco’s Tour Hybrid HydroMax ($190) are spikeless golf shoes that look like traditional models. 

The Hybrid 2 features a thinner sole than its predecessor, the Hybrid, as well as the dotted striping along the side and larger metallic accent areas in the toe and heel. The upgraded sole technology is immediately apparent at a glance as well.

When ECCO talks about making shoes that fit the foot, the phrase may seem silly or redundant. The only way to really understand what ECCO means is to slip on a pair of Biom Hybrid 2’s, as comfort and stability are top notch while never feeling restricting or constraining.

The Takeaway

If you haven’t given spikeless golf shoes a try, there has never been a better model to make your first foray into that market with.

01_151514-58247

If you’re a steel-spikes-and-saddle-shoes-traditionalist… well, you’re probably not reading this review.

And if you liked the Biom Hybrid, you’ll be pleased with the slimmer, thinner Hybrid 2.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://us.shop.ecco.com/golf-men-most-popular/ecco-mens-biom-hybrid-2-151514.html” oemtext=”Learn more from ECCO” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DWV6L70/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00DWV6L70&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=QFLO6W7GWVY2M4OH”]

Your Reaction?
  • 83
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW17
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP37
  • OB2
  • SHANK10

19 Comments

19 Comments

  1. rgb

    Mar 6, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    Honestly? The only ‘con’ you can find is that ‘Reflective accents may be too bold for some’. What wusses do you cater to?

  2. Pingback: ECCO BIOM Hybrid 2 Featured on GolfWRX - Buffalo BIG - Brand Invigoration Group

  3. michael

    Nov 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Don’t believe their warranty. The pair I purchased before these came out leaked like I was only waring socks.

    When I contacted ecco they answered with they weren’t made to be played in the rain. Welcome to south Florida.

  4. randy

    Nov 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    very soft feeling shoe but I a do prefer a more traditional icon style shoe

  5. Joe Duffer

    Nov 19, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Unbelievably, ECCO offers only one width (M) for their entire line!

    Factoring in that with poor waterproofing, makes for an easy decision.

  6. Carlos Danger

    Nov 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I just finished my second summer with the first Hybrid version and not only are they still going strong in terms of support, tread, etc…but they are literally the most comfortable pair of shoes I own. Im wearing moccasins as we speak and I wish I had my Ecco’s on.

    If you walk alot (I do 95%), you literally are doing yourself a dis-service not owning a pair of Ecco Hybrid.

    It took me a little while to get used to the “nurse/skateboard/elderly walking shoe look” but now that pretty much every golf shoe looks like that it aint no thang.

    Check in on Kingdom59.com. They just had them for $150 but ended yesterday…but Im sure they will bring them back.

  7. Jim

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    Excellent review. Excellent golf shoe for both comfort and durability. I’ve worn Ecco golf shoes since the late 90’s and moved to spikeless models after Fred Couples played in his at Agusta. The Biom models are so comfortable as are the original Street shoes that I wouldn’t wear any other shoe on the course. I play mostly in the dry, low humidity climate of Colorado but for two weeks every summer in the wet, often rainy climate of Ontario, Canada near Niagara Falls, and have never experienced any water issues with any pair of Ecco shoes. I love this brand of spikeless shoes and enjoyed the numerous pairs of Ecco spiked golf shoes well enough that I’ve purchased several pair of non-golf Ecco shoes at Nordstrom.

  8. Jim Beatty

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    I own 8 pairs of Ecco shoes they are by far the best shoe on the market and they do stand behind there products

  9. dot dot

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    An “A”, review how surprising. NOT! Everything on this site gets an “A” review
    Ad = Review

  10. Ronnie

    Nov 19, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I still think True’s are the best.

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:32 am

      Sorry, no. Every pair of TRUE I owned except for 1, had to be returned for quality and workmanship reasons. Owned 5 pairs of Ecco’s (3 biom H, 2 biom S) and not a single problem. Yes the Yak Hyrdomax is highly water resistant, but NOT waterproof. If you are playing in the rain/soaking conditions, have an alternate. They handle early morning dew just fine.

  11. Jrodey

    Nov 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    ECCO replaced a pair of $275 of golf spikes (poor water proofing) for a $200 pair of Biom 2. I like the new Biom 2 but they don’t feel much different from the original Biom’s. With that said, I’ll continue to buy Ecco ( I have four pairs) but will only buy shoes that have been discounted. No more first off the rack for me…not worth the trade down if they are returned.

  12. Kyle Klages

    Nov 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Have they increased the durability of the soles. I find they wear out much more quickly than other spikeless models.

    Still the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever worn.

  13. JDF

    Nov 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    Is the waterproofing better than with the original Biom Hybrids? I have three pair because you can’t beat the comfort as a walker, but the waterproofing on them was marginal, at best.

    • Carlos Danger

      Nov 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      As you will see by my other post I love these shoes but have to agree on the waterproofing. These are the only shoes I have ever seen that show my sweat stains during the summer

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

      They say that Yak Hydromax is not waterproof. Handles everything for me, but rainy soaking conditions. Get the BIOM GTX, has a GoreTex layer.

  14. cheesehead42

    Nov 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    I would be the first one in line to buy these if they offered a size 48. Until then, I am an Ashworth guy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending