Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: ECCO Biom Hybrid 2

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, impressive traction, off-the-course wearability, modern look.

Cons: Reflective accents may be too bold for some.

Bottom Line: If you’re in the market for a spikeless shoe with bold looks, the BIOM Hybrid 2 is the best in class.

Overview

ECCO has been making golf shoes since 1996 and spikeless (or hybrid) shoes since 2010. The company launched Biom Golf in 2011, which utilizes the company’s Natural Motion technology. It launched the Biom Hybrid in 2012 and the Tour Hybrid in 2013. This year’s Biom Hybrid 2 is lighter and thinner than the Biom Hybrid.

We’ll begin with the shoe’s exterior: the Biom Hybrid 2 has what Ecco calls yak leather uppers. The yak leather is treated with an anti-stain formula called HydroMax to protect the shoes from the elements.

The Biom Hybrid 2’s design was arrived at by scanning the feet of 2,500 athletes to determine the best way to offer support. The ECCO E-DTS outsole features TPU traction bars, which provide more than 800 traction angles for maximum gripping. TPU is a highly durable, wear-resistant material that won’t break down in casual wear like traditional soles.

ECCO-Golf-SS15-BIOM-Hybrid-2-Image

The Biom Hybrid 2 also has a silicon-printed insole to provide increased stability through the swing, as well as ECCO’s Direct Inject Process (DIP), which attaches the sole to the shoes. Most manufacturers use cement to attach soles to shoes. Not ECCO.

“The ECCO upper is placed in a mold where the polyurethane (PU) midsole is shot around it in liquid form creating a chemical bond,” said David Helter, ECCO USA’s Specialty Sales Director. “Not only does this process create an unbreakable, water-tight seal, it also reduces the overall weight of the shoe. As an alternative to the common EVA foam of other brands, PU is also highly flexible and resists breakdown for out-of-the-box comfort that lasts season after season.”

BIOM-HYBRID-2-landing

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 is available in European sizes 41 through 47 (U.S. 7/7.5 through 13/13.5). Hybrid 2’s come in four colors: concrete/royal, black/brick, camel/fanta, white/fire.

They retail for $195.00.

Performance

02_151514_59015

It’s no secret that ECCO’s Hybrid shoes have been first-in-class in comfort since the model burst on the scene at the 2011 Masters thanks to Fred Couples. From that standpoint, then, there has never been a question about how your feet feel after walking 18 holes in the shoes.

04_151514_59015

The point of interest, from a performance standpoint, is how the shoes perform relative to traditional “spiked” golf shoes. Regarding that, you’re in no danger of feeling like you’re wearing a pair of sneakers with the Biom Hybrid 2 on your feet.

03_151514_59015

The shoes’ 800 traction angles are positioned to keep you grounded regardless of how your foot is moving as you walk or swing. And the stability across the sole of the shoe generally offsets most slipping on shots from the rough, although the shoes hardly function like old-school metal spikes in that regard.

06_151514_59015

Stability and flex throughout the golf swing are excellent and the shoe is perceptibly lighter and thinner than previous ECCO Hybrids.

05_151514_59015

A bonus to wearing BIOM Hybrid 2’s — unlike lock-in-spike shoes, you don’t have to constantly clean muck and leaves out of your spikes with spikeless shoes and you’ll never have to change your spikes again. Plus, these things really are durable, significantly more so than the soles of traditional sneakers.

Looks and Feel

The ECCO Biom Hybrid 2 continues the company’s casual approach to golf shoes. Certainly, the shoe looks more like a sneaker than a traditional leather golf shoe (which, by the way, ECCO does and does well).

01_141564-50612
Ecco’s Tour Hybrid HydroMax ($190) are spikeless golf shoes that look like traditional models. 

The Hybrid 2 features a thinner sole than its predecessor, the Hybrid, as well as the dotted striping along the side and larger metallic accent areas in the toe and heel. The upgraded sole technology is immediately apparent at a glance as well.

When ECCO talks about making shoes that fit the foot, the phrase may seem silly or redundant. The only way to really understand what ECCO means is to slip on a pair of Biom Hybrid 2’s, as comfort and stability are top notch while never feeling restricting or constraining.

The Takeaway

If you haven’t given spikeless golf shoes a try, there has never been a better model to make your first foray into that market with.

01_151514-58247

If you’re a steel-spikes-and-saddle-shoes-traditionalist… well, you’re probably not reading this review.

And if you liked the Biom Hybrid, you’ll be pleased with the slimmer, thinner Hybrid 2.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://us.shop.ecco.com/golf-men-most-popular/ecco-mens-biom-hybrid-2-151514.html” oemtext=”Learn more from ECCO” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DWV6L70/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00DWV6L70&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=QFLO6W7GWVY2M4OH”]

Your Reaction?
  • 81
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW17
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP37
  • OB2
  • SHANK10

19 Comments

19 Comments

  1. rgb

    Mar 6, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    Honestly? The only ‘con’ you can find is that ‘Reflective accents may be too bold for some’. What wusses do you cater to?

  2. Pingback: ECCO BIOM Hybrid 2 Featured on GolfWRX - Buffalo BIG - Brand Invigoration Group

  3. michael

    Nov 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    Don’t believe their warranty. The pair I purchased before these came out leaked like I was only waring socks.

    When I contacted ecco they answered with they weren’t made to be played in the rain. Welcome to south Florida.

  4. randy

    Nov 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    very soft feeling shoe but I a do prefer a more traditional icon style shoe

  5. Joe Duffer

    Nov 19, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Unbelievably, ECCO offers only one width (M) for their entire line!

    Factoring in that with poor waterproofing, makes for an easy decision.

  6. Carlos Danger

    Nov 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I just finished my second summer with the first Hybrid version and not only are they still going strong in terms of support, tread, etc…but they are literally the most comfortable pair of shoes I own. Im wearing moccasins as we speak and I wish I had my Ecco’s on.

    If you walk alot (I do 95%), you literally are doing yourself a dis-service not owning a pair of Ecco Hybrid.

    It took me a little while to get used to the “nurse/skateboard/elderly walking shoe look” but now that pretty much every golf shoe looks like that it aint no thang.

    Check in on Kingdom59.com. They just had them for $150 but ended yesterday…but Im sure they will bring them back.

  7. Jim

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    Excellent review. Excellent golf shoe for both comfort and durability. I’ve worn Ecco golf shoes since the late 90’s and moved to spikeless models after Fred Couples played in his at Agusta. The Biom models are so comfortable as are the original Street shoes that I wouldn’t wear any other shoe on the course. I play mostly in the dry, low humidity climate of Colorado but for two weeks every summer in the wet, often rainy climate of Ontario, Canada near Niagara Falls, and have never experienced any water issues with any pair of Ecco shoes. I love this brand of spikeless shoes and enjoyed the numerous pairs of Ecco spiked golf shoes well enough that I’ve purchased several pair of non-golf Ecco shoes at Nordstrom.

  8. Jim Beatty

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    I own 8 pairs of Ecco shoes they are by far the best shoe on the market and they do stand behind there products

  9. dot dot

    Nov 19, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    An “A”, review how surprising. NOT! Everything on this site gets an “A” review
    Ad = Review

  10. Ronnie

    Nov 19, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I still think True’s are the best.

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:32 am

      Sorry, no. Every pair of TRUE I owned except for 1, had to be returned for quality and workmanship reasons. Owned 5 pairs of Ecco’s (3 biom H, 2 biom S) and not a single problem. Yes the Yak Hyrdomax is highly water resistant, but NOT waterproof. If you are playing in the rain/soaking conditions, have an alternate. They handle early morning dew just fine.

  11. Jrodey

    Nov 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    ECCO replaced a pair of $275 of golf spikes (poor water proofing) for a $200 pair of Biom 2. I like the new Biom 2 but they don’t feel much different from the original Biom’s. With that said, I’ll continue to buy Ecco ( I have four pairs) but will only buy shoes that have been discounted. No more first off the rack for me…not worth the trade down if they are returned.

  12. Kyle Klages

    Nov 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Have they increased the durability of the soles. I find they wear out much more quickly than other spikeless models.

    Still the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever worn.

  13. JDF

    Nov 18, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    Is the waterproofing better than with the original Biom Hybrids? I have three pair because you can’t beat the comfort as a walker, but the waterproofing on them was marginal, at best.

    • Carlos Danger

      Nov 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      As you will see by my other post I love these shoes but have to agree on the waterproofing. These are the only shoes I have ever seen that show my sweat stains during the summer

    • Mikec

      Nov 21, 2014 at 7:33 am

      They say that Yak Hydromax is not waterproof. Handles everything for me, but rainy soaking conditions. Get the BIOM GTX, has a GoreTex layer.

  14. cheesehead42

    Nov 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    I would be the first one in line to buy these if they offered a size 48. Until then, I am an Ashworth guy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

Top-3 men’s golf polos at the 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Vegas

Published

on

GolfWRX’s fashion expert Jordan Madley picks her top-3 favorite men’s polo shirts from the recent 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Las Vegas. Enjoy the video below!

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW10
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP16
  • OB6
  • SHANK67

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 106
  • LEGIT19
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK24

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 95
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending