Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Bushnell Pro X7 and Tour Z6 Rangefinder Shootout

Published

on

Pros: E.S.P. 2 and new “JOLT” technologies offer faster, more accurate readings. Bushnell’s brighter screens, made possible with its Vivid Display Technology (VDT), makes it easier to read all the data.

Cons: These will speed up your pace of play, but the Pro X7 ($499, $599 with slope) and Tour Z6 ($399) cost as much as a new high-end driver.

Bottom Line: Bushnell continues to make it easy to justify buying a new rangefinder even if you already have one. The displays are brighter, the readings are faster and JOLT technology, which vibrates when a golfer locks onto a flag, removes doubt from the equation. The new carry cases also look and function better than previous models.

Overview

Bushnell has been the No. 1 rangefinder on the PGA Tour for more than 11 years. The Darrell Survey, one of the most respected research firms in golf for more than 75 years, confirmed that Bushnell rangefinders are used by more tour players and caddies than any other brand.

This review covers two of Bushnell’s premium rangefinders for 2014, the larger, more powerful Pro X7 rangefinder as well as the more compact Tour Z6.

The short story with these is that both of the rangefinders have brighter displays that make the numbers pop off the screen in bright red font. Then there’s Bushnell’s cool technology called JOLT, which sends vibrating bursts through the device when it locks on a flagstick. The speed of both units has also gotten a little faster. That might sound trivial, but those seconds add up when you’re checking your yardage 50 times per round.

Bushnell review

All of those cool new features come with a price, however. The Pro X7 sells for $499 ($599 if you purchase the slope version, which is not legal for tournament play), and the Tour Z6 sells for $399. After some rounds with them, however, I’m not interested in buying a Bushnell without the Vivid Display Technology (VDT) and JOLT.

bushnell comparison

As you can see in the table above, after the Tour Z6 golfers step down to the Tour V3 and Medalist models. Saving $100 and losing the better look and feel of the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 might be worth it to golfers looking to save money, but you also lose a little magnification as you step down in price. Like old smart phones, the old Bushnell rangefinder models will function just fine, but they’re not as fast or enjoyable to use as the latest models.

Bushnell Pro X7 ($499 to $599)

Bushnell pro x7 review

The Pro X7 is the most powerful laser rangefinder in the Bushnell family. This larger model is fine if you’re a cart golfer, but it could add some unneeded weight and heft if you’re hoofing it a lot. What is good about this model in a cart is if you place it on the seat between you and you playing partner, it’s heavy enough and has enough grip that it won’t rocket off the seat during a crazy turn. You will probably lose your partner before the Pro X7.

The handling area of the device is easy to grab and comfortable. The 7X zoom is one of my favorite features, and it’s definitely a bonus if you’re trying to zap a pin that is more than 200 yards away. Everything just seems so much closer with 7X optics.

bushnell 20142Y9G2020
bushnell case golfbushnell golf 2014

The Pro X7 also has incredible ranging capability, from 5 to 550 yards for a flagstick. The PinSeeker with JOLT Technology is new for Bushnell’s flagship model, and along with the company’s E.S.P. 2 (Extreme Speed Precision) technology allows for lightning fast readings that are accurate up to 0.5 yards.

The Pro X7 Slope has all of the features of the Pro X7 plus a slope function that provides compensated distances for elevation changes. Be aware, however, that the Pro X7 is not legal for tournament play.

[youtube id=”jCQHz5PH0qM?list=UUY6F_zF-zloprXeahcqOCvA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Features

  • PinSeeker with JOLT Technology to zero in on the flag
  • Accurate to 1/2 yard
  • 5 yards-to-1 mile ranging performance (550+ yards to a flag)
  • E.S.P. 2 (Extreme. Speed. Precision.)
  • Vivid Display Technology (VDT) for all lighting conditions
  • 7X Magnification with HD Optics (objects appear 7X closer)
  • Slope Technology provides compensated distances for elevation changes
  • Posi-Thread™ Battery Door
  • Waterproof
  • 3-Volt 123 Battery and Premium Carry Case included
  • 2 Year Warranty

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.bushnellgolf.com/laser/prox7_se.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Bushnell” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HQE9DF6/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HQE9DF6&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HAK2VQSUA7QIAG2Z”]

Bushnell Tour Z6 ($399)

bushnell tour z6

The Tour Z6 is considerably smaller and lighter than the Pro X7, making it easy to use with one hand. Even with its smaller size, it almost has all the bells and whistles as its big brother. That’s why I call it the “players version.” And for walkers, the Tour Z6 can easily be clipped on to a stand bag with its cool grey and red case for easy access.

[youtube id=”tJC4FdlL7tQ?list=UUY6F_zF-zloprXeahcqOCvA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Like to Pro X7, the Tour Z6 has JOLT Technology that provides the golfer with short vibrating bursts to reinforce that the laser has locked on the flag. How many times have you had to check your yardages two or three times to make sure you’re getting the yardage to the flag, not the trees behind the green? When you feel the vibrating pulses from JOLT, you’ll know you won’t need to laser the flag again.

The Tour Z6 also offers the super quick readings of the Pro X7 thanks to E.S.P. 2, as well as the super bright VDT display. While it’s also accurate to 0.5 yards, it has a 6X zoom and a range of 450 yards, making it slightly less powerful than the Pro X7.

2014 bushnell range finder golf2014 bushnell laser rangefinder
bushnell golf z62014 rangefinder review

Features

  • PinSeeker with JOLT Technology to zero in on the flag
  • Accurate to 1/2 yard
  • 5 yards-1,300 yards ranging performance (450+ yards to a flag)
  • Vivid Display Technology (VDT) for all lighting conditions
  • E.S.P. 2 (Extreme. Speed. Precision.)
  • 6X Magnification (objects appear 6X closer)
  • Adjustable diopter setting
  • Rubber armored metal housing
  • Posi-Thread™ Battery Door
  • Waterproof
  • 3-Volt CR2 Battery and Premium Carry Case included
  • 2 Year Warranty

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.bushnellgolf.com/laser/tourz6.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Bushnell” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HQE9DA6/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HQE9DA6&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HP3FJ3W4FCHIJU6A”]

The Takeaway

2014 golf rangefinder review

If you’re in the market for a new premium rangefinder, the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 are a good place to start. Size and weight will likely be the biggest consideration, but if cost is a concern golfers can’t go wrong with the smaller, lighter and $100-cheaper Tour Z6.

The Tour Z6, however, is not available in a slope version, which could be a selling point for the $599 Pro X7 Slope. That’s a lot to spend on a non-essential golf item, but what’s more important than accurate data in golf, a game of inches? For golfers who travel from course to course for tournaments, nothing is more powerful than figuring out how much uphill or downhill a shot might play in a practice round, even if you can’t use the device in a tournament.

I just called these rangefinders nonessential, but after you play with them for a few rounds you’ll be wondering why you ever played without them, even if you’re just upgrading to a new model like me. The speed, accuracy and brightness of their displays, paired with the instant feedback of JOLT, makes the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 two rangefinders that any golfer will be proud to own.

2014 bushnell golf review

Your Reaction?
  • 83
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW11
  • LOL8
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP9
  • OB7
  • SHANK13

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. mari

    Feb 18, 2019 at 4:03 am

    z6 more comfortable than pro7

  2. googlemail

    Dec 18, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    Amazing article i like it thanks for sharing it .

  3. TGG-Chris

    Aug 22, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Having tried both (and a ton of other rangefinders), I’m a huge fan of the X7 despite the size. Performance is outstanding and since I usually used two hands to stabilize smaller rangefinders, the bigger, heavier unit just makes it easier to shoot. Doesn’t hurt that it has crazy range, either.

  4. My Gun Safe Guide

    Apr 19, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    thank for the review and the informations.

  5. Dylan

    Mar 29, 2016 at 4:49 am

    I discovered the watch type of measuring device was not accurate on 4 holes at the club I normally play. Not surprising, these are the holes I constantly came up short on approaches. Previously owned a different type laser range finder and could not hold it steady enough to lock on the flag, hence the watch. This Bushnell is extremely fast. I have been very satisfied with all aspects of the operation. The group I play with are asking me for distances and all of them have their own devices. Thanks.

  6. Richard

    Mar 23, 2016 at 3:55 am

    Very useful information! But I have a question: how many times have you seen guys fumbling with these and slowing down instead of speeding up? Thank you for letting us know!

    • Brian

      Apr 22, 2016 at 9:25 am

      It’s much quicker than watching a guy walk around the fairway, looking for a marked sprinkler head.

  7. John

    Mar 23, 2016 at 3:53 am

    Very useful information! But I have a question: Can you use bushnell pro x7 slope in competition with slope switched off? Thank you for letting us know!

  8. Rubin Mark

    Sep 19, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    I personally have used Laser Link Golf products for the last decade. If I were a first time rangefinder buy I would strongly consider Laser Link Golf rangefinders.

  9. Max Peterson

    Nov 5, 2014 at 11:44 am

    I used Tour V3 Edition Standard for two years, and now I need to have a device with slope to practice with my wife so I decided to choose X7

  10. John

    Aug 6, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    Great scopes customer service is 1985 bad. When you need a repair you send it in and eventually the send you a postcard, not an email, a postcard. Telling you the work is done. You then have to call them to make a payment as they don’t have a way to make it on line. After you sit on hold for 30 minutes, you pay and it will take almost 10 days to 2 weeks to get the unit back because when they fix it to when they ship it is 4 days. Great device, but next time I will buy someone elses. I wasn’t able to use it almost all summer.

  11. Razmik

    May 26, 2014 at 6:49 am

    Can you use bushnell pro x7 slope in competition with slope switched off?

  12. Ice Man

    Apr 25, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I personally have used Laser Link Golf products for the last decade. I started with the QuickShot model that reads right to the flag stick (off the prism) and that is all most golfers need. That unit has really made my rounds more enjoyable with faster and more accurate play. I have recently purchased their XL1000 unit which is a very good for the $299 price. This is a magnification unit and a first for Laser Link Golf. The first round with it at Grande Cypress in Orlando produced my friends first hole in one, needles to say he went and purchased on that evening. If I were a first time rangefinder buy I would strongly consider Laser Link Golf rangefinders.

  13. B.Boston

    Apr 24, 2014 at 11:32 am

    I checked out the z6 but ended up going with the Leupold GX-3i2. Couldn’t be happier. The GX felt better in my hands and I was concerned about battery life on the z6. I like the prisim lock on the Leupold, and don’t find not having the little flag icon for pinseeker an issue. If you use scan mode and sweet across the stick its immediately clear what your yardage is!

    Realistically, you probably would do no wrong with either. It also helped I got a great deal on the GX.

  14. Tony

    Apr 22, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    I just bought the Pro X7 and have 4 rounds under the belt.
    Amazing clarity and precision!

  15. sam

    Apr 12, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Can I say “Paid Product Endorsement”?! Leupold quality blows this out of the water.

  16. Don

    Apr 12, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I’m ready to buy my first range finder. I wish this review would have compared all the latest range finders. I can’t find a good article/comparison to save my life. Now I’m just more confused!????

  17. Billy

    Apr 12, 2014 at 3:55 am

    I like my Callaway Nikon better.

  18. Christian Furu

    Apr 11, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    I’m doing a review on Z6 and V3. I’ve let 25 golfers try both. Everyone prefered the V3. It actually performs better in low light.

    I was sure the red sight would be better but it’s actually too bright. Even at the lowest setting I could see all the symbols in the display. The image of the course is also darker than in the V3. I’ve owned a GX3i. The red sight in Leupold is superior to Bushnells.

    Most testers also prefered the larger size of the V3. It was easier to hold steady while aiming.

    But there are downsides to the V3. It has a tendency to “over-jolt”. The Z6 seems to be more reliable when using Jolt. And the Z6 is waterproof, V3 is not.

    V3 performs better in low light because of image quality, but is not waterproof.
    The red sight in Z6 isn’t perfect but it is waterproof and Jolt seems to be more reliable.
    A combination of both would be perfect.

    The X7 is a completely meaningless. I turned down an opportunity to test it for a longer period of time. Overpriced and overspeced for normal people. Maybe cyborgs can use it? Cyborgs with big hands……..

  19. TheLegend

    Apr 11, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    Dont buy this crap. Saved yourself for buying this crap. Do your self a favor and buy a leopold. Its a way better ranger that for sure.

    • TheLegend

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      They wont compare this to a leupold cuz they dont wanna look silly. I have had all the rangers and this site for some reason only favors the crap bush product. I cant figure out why? Leupold is a way better product. This is not a review Its a sham. It really makes me question weather or not WRX is legitimate.

    • Golfraven

      Apr 11, 2014 at 5:05 pm

      I agree here. Early last year I likely would have bought the Bushnell but hesitated. Now I have the latest Leopold GX-4i² and more than pleased with it. It does not get any better. Top button is easy to press mot like the tour Z6

  20. Mike

    Apr 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I would have like to have seen a comparison between these models and their previous version.

  21. Mat

    Apr 11, 2014 at 10:50 am

    This hardly seems like a review. It read like an ad being passed off as a review. I’m sure the products are good, but why go about giving a 5-star review without comparing them against a competitor? If you aren’t reviewing this against a Leupold, what’s the point? Which is better, the Z6 or the GX-3i? Why or why not? Which acquires faster, and which was more accurate? You brought up pace… how many times have you seen guys fumbling with these and slowing down instead of speeding up?

    Sorry, I could have gone to Bushnell.com if I wanted propaganda.

    • TheLegend

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      Well said!

    • Rancho Bob

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      Yep, you nailed it. This isn’t a review. It’s an advertisement.

      I’ve got an older Bushnell and love it, but cannot imagine why I would step up to a new one and certainly not at that price.

      “Ooooooh. I can laser something a mile away.”
      “Ooooooh. This one is accurate to 18 inches, not just 36 inches. Like I’m that accurate on a 30 foot putt, never mind a 170 yard approach shot.”

  22. LorenRobertsFan

    Apr 11, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I think the Tour V3 does just as good a job as these at a lower price. Do you really need a mile of ranging performance or yardages half a yard more accurate?

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Apr 11, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      It’s not so much about the range as it is the brightness of the display, the confidence the JOLT technology creates and the ease of use. We’ll be reviewing the Leupold products at a later date.

      • Golfraven

        Apr 11, 2014 at 5:11 pm

        Bring on the comparison between those two makes and rhis shall be a real test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 75
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending