Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Bushnell Pro X7 and Tour Z6 Rangefinder Shootout

Published

on

Pros: E.S.P. 2 and new “JOLT” technologies offer faster, more accurate readings. Bushnell’s brighter screens, made possible with its Vivid Display Technology (VDT), makes it easier to read all the data.

Cons: These will speed up your pace of play, but the Pro X7 ($499, $599 with slope) and Tour Z6 ($399) cost as much as a new high-end driver.

Bottom Line: Bushnell continues to make it easy to justify buying a new rangefinder even if you already have one. The displays are brighter, the readings are faster and JOLT technology, which vibrates when a golfer locks onto a flag, removes doubt from the equation. The new carry cases also look and function better than previous models.

Overview

Bushnell has been the No. 1 rangefinder on the PGA Tour for more than 11 years. The Darrell Survey, one of the most respected research firms in golf for more than 75 years, confirmed that Bushnell rangefinders are used by more tour players and caddies than any other brand.

This review covers two of Bushnell’s premium rangefinders for 2014, the larger, more powerful Pro X7 rangefinder as well as the more compact Tour Z6.

The short story with these is that both of the rangefinders have brighter displays that make the numbers pop off the screen in bright red font. Then there’s Bushnell’s cool technology called JOLT, which sends vibrating bursts through the device when it locks on a flagstick. The speed of both units has also gotten a little faster. That might sound trivial, but those seconds add up when you’re checking your yardage 50 times per round.

Bushnell review

All of those cool new features come with a price, however. The Pro X7 sells for $499 ($599 if you purchase the slope version, which is not legal for tournament play), and the Tour Z6 sells for $399. After some rounds with them, however, I’m not interested in buying a Bushnell without the Vivid Display Technology (VDT) and JOLT.

bushnell comparison

As you can see in the table above, after the Tour Z6 golfers step down to the Tour V3 and Medalist models. Saving $100 and losing the better look and feel of the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 might be worth it to golfers looking to save money, but you also lose a little magnification as you step down in price. Like old smart phones, the old Bushnell rangefinder models will function just fine, but they’re not as fast or enjoyable to use as the latest models.

Bushnell Pro X7 ($499 to $599)

Bushnell pro x7 review

The Pro X7 is the most powerful laser rangefinder in the Bushnell family. This larger model is fine if you’re a cart golfer, but it could add some unneeded weight and heft if you’re hoofing it a lot. What is good about this model in a cart is if you place it on the seat between you and you playing partner, it’s heavy enough and has enough grip that it won’t rocket off the seat during a crazy turn. You will probably lose your partner before the Pro X7.

The handling area of the device is easy to grab and comfortable. The 7X zoom is one of my favorite features, and it’s definitely a bonus if you’re trying to zap a pin that is more than 200 yards away. Everything just seems so much closer with 7X optics.

bushnell 20142Y9G2020
bushnell case golfbushnell golf 2014

The Pro X7 also has incredible ranging capability, from 5 to 550 yards for a flagstick. The PinSeeker with JOLT Technology is new for Bushnell’s flagship model, and along with the company’s E.S.P. 2 (Extreme Speed Precision) technology allows for lightning fast readings that are accurate up to 0.5 yards.

The Pro X7 Slope has all of the features of the Pro X7 plus a slope function that provides compensated distances for elevation changes. Be aware, however, that the Pro X7 is not legal for tournament play.

[youtube id=”jCQHz5PH0qM?list=UUY6F_zF-zloprXeahcqOCvA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Features

  • PinSeeker with JOLT Technology to zero in on the flag
  • Accurate to 1/2 yard
  • 5 yards-to-1 mile ranging performance (550+ yards to a flag)
  • E.S.P. 2 (Extreme. Speed. Precision.)
  • Vivid Display Technology (VDT) for all lighting conditions
  • 7X Magnification with HD Optics (objects appear 7X closer)
  • Slope Technology provides compensated distances for elevation changes
  • Posi-Thread™ Battery Door
  • Waterproof
  • 3-Volt 123 Battery and Premium Carry Case included
  • 2 Year Warranty

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.bushnellgolf.com/laser/prox7_se.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Bushnell” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HQE9DF6/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HQE9DF6&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HAK2VQSUA7QIAG2Z”]

Bushnell Tour Z6 ($399)

bushnell tour z6

The Tour Z6 is considerably smaller and lighter than the Pro X7, making it easy to use with one hand. Even with its smaller size, it almost has all the bells and whistles as its big brother. That’s why I call it the “players version.” And for walkers, the Tour Z6 can easily be clipped on to a stand bag with its cool grey and red case for easy access.

[youtube id=”tJC4FdlL7tQ?list=UUY6F_zF-zloprXeahcqOCvA” width=”620″ height=”360″]

Like to Pro X7, the Tour Z6 has JOLT Technology that provides the golfer with short vibrating bursts to reinforce that the laser has locked on the flag. How many times have you had to check your yardages two or three times to make sure you’re getting the yardage to the flag, not the trees behind the green? When you feel the vibrating pulses from JOLT, you’ll know you won’t need to laser the flag again.

The Tour Z6 also offers the super quick readings of the Pro X7 thanks to E.S.P. 2, as well as the super bright VDT display. While it’s also accurate to 0.5 yards, it has a 6X zoom and a range of 450 yards, making it slightly less powerful than the Pro X7.

2014 bushnell range finder golf2014 bushnell laser rangefinder
bushnell golf z62014 rangefinder review

Features

  • PinSeeker with JOLT Technology to zero in on the flag
  • Accurate to 1/2 yard
  • 5 yards-1,300 yards ranging performance (450+ yards to a flag)
  • Vivid Display Technology (VDT) for all lighting conditions
  • E.S.P. 2 (Extreme. Speed. Precision.)
  • 6X Magnification (objects appear 6X closer)
  • Adjustable diopter setting
  • Rubber armored metal housing
  • Posi-Thread™ Battery Door
  • Waterproof
  • 3-Volt CR2 Battery and Premium Carry Case included
  • 2 Year Warranty

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.bushnellgolf.com/laser/tourz6.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Bushnell” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HQE9DA6/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HQE9DA6&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HP3FJ3W4FCHIJU6A”]

The Takeaway

2014 golf rangefinder review

If you’re in the market for a new premium rangefinder, the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 are a good place to start. Size and weight will likely be the biggest consideration, but if cost is a concern golfers can’t go wrong with the smaller, lighter and $100-cheaper Tour Z6.

The Tour Z6, however, is not available in a slope version, which could be a selling point for the $599 Pro X7 Slope. That’s a lot to spend on a non-essential golf item, but what’s more important than accurate data in golf, a game of inches? For golfers who travel from course to course for tournaments, nothing is more powerful than figuring out how much uphill or downhill a shot might play in a practice round, even if you can’t use the device in a tournament.

I just called these rangefinders nonessential, but after you play with them for a few rounds you’ll be wondering why you ever played without them, even if you’re just upgrading to a new model like me. The speed, accuracy and brightness of their displays, paired with the instant feedback of JOLT, makes the Pro X7 and Tour Z6 two rangefinders that any golfer will be proud to own.

2014 bushnell golf review

Your Reaction?
  • 83
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW11
  • LOL8
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP9
  • OB7
  • SHANK13

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. mari

    Feb 18, 2019 at 4:03 am

    z6 more comfortable than pro7

  2. googlemail

    Dec 18, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    Amazing article i like it thanks for sharing it .

  3. TGG-Chris

    Aug 22, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Having tried both (and a ton of other rangefinders), I’m a huge fan of the X7 despite the size. Performance is outstanding and since I usually used two hands to stabilize smaller rangefinders, the bigger, heavier unit just makes it easier to shoot. Doesn’t hurt that it has crazy range, either.

  4. My Gun Safe Guide

    Apr 19, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    thank for the review and the informations.

  5. Dylan

    Mar 29, 2016 at 4:49 am

    I discovered the watch type of measuring device was not accurate on 4 holes at the club I normally play. Not surprising, these are the holes I constantly came up short on approaches. Previously owned a different type laser range finder and could not hold it steady enough to lock on the flag, hence the watch. This Bushnell is extremely fast. I have been very satisfied with all aspects of the operation. The group I play with are asking me for distances and all of them have their own devices. Thanks.

  6. Richard

    Mar 23, 2016 at 3:55 am

    Very useful information! But I have a question: how many times have you seen guys fumbling with these and slowing down instead of speeding up? Thank you for letting us know!

    • Brian

      Apr 22, 2016 at 9:25 am

      It’s much quicker than watching a guy walk around the fairway, looking for a marked sprinkler head.

  7. John

    Mar 23, 2016 at 3:53 am

    Very useful information! But I have a question: Can you use bushnell pro x7 slope in competition with slope switched off? Thank you for letting us know!

  8. Rubin Mark

    Sep 19, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    I personally have used Laser Link Golf products for the last decade. If I were a first time rangefinder buy I would strongly consider Laser Link Golf rangefinders.

  9. Max Peterson

    Nov 5, 2014 at 11:44 am

    I used Tour V3 Edition Standard for two years, and now I need to have a device with slope to practice with my wife so I decided to choose X7

  10. John

    Aug 6, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    Great scopes customer service is 1985 bad. When you need a repair you send it in and eventually the send you a postcard, not an email, a postcard. Telling you the work is done. You then have to call them to make a payment as they don’t have a way to make it on line. After you sit on hold for 30 minutes, you pay and it will take almost 10 days to 2 weeks to get the unit back because when they fix it to when they ship it is 4 days. Great device, but next time I will buy someone elses. I wasn’t able to use it almost all summer.

  11. Razmik

    May 26, 2014 at 6:49 am

    Can you use bushnell pro x7 slope in competition with slope switched off?

  12. Ice Man

    Apr 25, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I personally have used Laser Link Golf products for the last decade. I started with the QuickShot model that reads right to the flag stick (off the prism) and that is all most golfers need. That unit has really made my rounds more enjoyable with faster and more accurate play. I have recently purchased their XL1000 unit which is a very good for the $299 price. This is a magnification unit and a first for Laser Link Golf. The first round with it at Grande Cypress in Orlando produced my friends first hole in one, needles to say he went and purchased on that evening. If I were a first time rangefinder buy I would strongly consider Laser Link Golf rangefinders.

  13. B.Boston

    Apr 24, 2014 at 11:32 am

    I checked out the z6 but ended up going with the Leupold GX-3i2. Couldn’t be happier. The GX felt better in my hands and I was concerned about battery life on the z6. I like the prisim lock on the Leupold, and don’t find not having the little flag icon for pinseeker an issue. If you use scan mode and sweet across the stick its immediately clear what your yardage is!

    Realistically, you probably would do no wrong with either. It also helped I got a great deal on the GX.

  14. Tony

    Apr 22, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    I just bought the Pro X7 and have 4 rounds under the belt.
    Amazing clarity and precision!

  15. sam

    Apr 12, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Can I say “Paid Product Endorsement”?! Leupold quality blows this out of the water.

  16. Don

    Apr 12, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I’m ready to buy my first range finder. I wish this review would have compared all the latest range finders. I can’t find a good article/comparison to save my life. Now I’m just more confused!????

  17. Billy

    Apr 12, 2014 at 3:55 am

    I like my Callaway Nikon better.

  18. Christian Furu

    Apr 11, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    I’m doing a review on Z6 and V3. I’ve let 25 golfers try both. Everyone prefered the V3. It actually performs better in low light.

    I was sure the red sight would be better but it’s actually too bright. Even at the lowest setting I could see all the symbols in the display. The image of the course is also darker than in the V3. I’ve owned a GX3i. The red sight in Leupold is superior to Bushnells.

    Most testers also prefered the larger size of the V3. It was easier to hold steady while aiming.

    But there are downsides to the V3. It has a tendency to “over-jolt”. The Z6 seems to be more reliable when using Jolt. And the Z6 is waterproof, V3 is not.

    V3 performs better in low light because of image quality, but is not waterproof.
    The red sight in Z6 isn’t perfect but it is waterproof and Jolt seems to be more reliable.
    A combination of both would be perfect.

    The X7 is a completely meaningless. I turned down an opportunity to test it for a longer period of time. Overpriced and overspeced for normal people. Maybe cyborgs can use it? Cyborgs with big hands……..

  19. TheLegend

    Apr 11, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    Dont buy this crap. Saved yourself for buying this crap. Do your self a favor and buy a leopold. Its a way better ranger that for sure.

    • TheLegend

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      They wont compare this to a leupold cuz they dont wanna look silly. I have had all the rangers and this site for some reason only favors the crap bush product. I cant figure out why? Leupold is a way better product. This is not a review Its a sham. It really makes me question weather or not WRX is legitimate.

    • Golfraven

      Apr 11, 2014 at 5:05 pm

      I agree here. Early last year I likely would have bought the Bushnell but hesitated. Now I have the latest Leopold GX-4i² and more than pleased with it. It does not get any better. Top button is easy to press mot like the tour Z6

  20. Mike

    Apr 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I would have like to have seen a comparison between these models and their previous version.

  21. Mat

    Apr 11, 2014 at 10:50 am

    This hardly seems like a review. It read like an ad being passed off as a review. I’m sure the products are good, but why go about giving a 5-star review without comparing them against a competitor? If you aren’t reviewing this against a Leupold, what’s the point? Which is better, the Z6 or the GX-3i? Why or why not? Which acquires faster, and which was more accurate? You brought up pace… how many times have you seen guys fumbling with these and slowing down instead of speeding up?

    Sorry, I could have gone to Bushnell.com if I wanted propaganda.

    • TheLegend

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      Well said!

    • Rancho Bob

      Apr 11, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      Yep, you nailed it. This isn’t a review. It’s an advertisement.

      I’ve got an older Bushnell and love it, but cannot imagine why I would step up to a new one and certainly not at that price.

      “Ooooooh. I can laser something a mile away.”
      “Ooooooh. This one is accurate to 18 inches, not just 36 inches. Like I’m that accurate on a 30 foot putt, never mind a 170 yard approach shot.”

  22. LorenRobertsFan

    Apr 11, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I think the Tour V3 does just as good a job as these at a lower price. Do you really need a mile of ranging performance or yardages half a yard more accurate?

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Apr 11, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      It’s not so much about the range as it is the brightness of the display, the confidence the JOLT technology creates and the ease of use. We’ll be reviewing the Leupold products at a later date.

      • Golfraven

        Apr 11, 2014 at 5:11 pm

        Bring on the comparison between those two makes and rhis shall be a real test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 47
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending