Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: FootJoy DNA Shoes

Published

on

Pros: The FootJoy DNAs are an excellent all-around shoe, comfortable enough that you won’t be disappointed if you find yourself lingering in the pub post-round without street shoes, and functional enough to wear in a casual round with your buddies or a business round with your boss or client.

Cons: The edges of the spikes near the toe might be undesirably eye-catching in your periphery, and not everyone is a fan of the split-toe construction.

Bottom Line: These are serious shoes with a modern sensibility, both in their heft and waterproof nature and the obviously high amount of technology that went into their production

Overview

As befits a Tour-level shoe, the FootJoy DNA (MSRP $220 for standard laces, $240 for FootJoy’s BOA lace style, which tightens from the back of the shoe) delivers very nicely in all aspects, from its modernly sensible aesthetics and the amount of technology that has been devoted to the shoe. Style, comfort, functionality: yes, yes, yes.

My “day job” is in the advertising and PR business, so I would be remiss not to introduce the FootJoy DNA (which stands for “DryJoys Next Advancement”) in the inventive way in which FootJoy introduced them to me: piece by piece. Don’t worry, though; this review will take well under five weeks to process.

post-1164-0-71399700-1389725454_thumb

No. 1: First came “Comfort” in the form of the DNA’s 3D FoamCollar. Splayed out and separated from the whole shoe, it looks like a large, spongy gray mustache. But as part of the DNA, it helps mold the upper part of the shoe to the ankle, which is important because excess movement of one’s foot in one’s shoe during the golf swing can sap away power and compromise balance and comfort.

No. 2: Next came “Fit” in the form of the DNA’s SnugFit Tongue. It is made of similarly squishy material to the 3D FoamCollar, which is meant to aid similarly in comfort. It helps hold the laces region of the shoe to the top of the foot without putting too much pressure there. Once again, the name of the game is both comfort and stability. The Tongue also aids with breathability, which is an underrated feature that becomes very important as the temperature rises.

post-1164-0-48583500-1389725462_thumb

No. 3: Next in the Deconstructed Golf Shoe meal came the “Stability” course: FootJoy’s NitroThin TPU Outsole. TPU stands for “thermoplastic urethane.” This feature is the most obvious piece of technology on the shoe, which makes sense because it is kinetic base of the DNA’s total functionality. It houses nine softspikes pushed farther out to the edge of the shoe than I have ever seen—in fact, the edges of the under-the-big-toe spikes on each shoe are visible when one looks down at one’s DNA-shod feet. This might irk some very persnickety people; it does not bother me. There are also all manner of ridges and pips in between the spikes that provide further traction

post-1164-0-16767200-1389725460_thumb

No. 4: The final individual shoe part to arrive is “Cushioning”: the Xtra-Thick FTF FitBed. In layman’s terms, it is the sole of the shoe. It is very substantial, especially in the heel, and pretty thin in the toe, which is by design. The instep portion of the sole is molded slightly upward, which further ensures the snug-yet-comfortable fit that is a hallmark of the shoe.

After this four-week primer, the entire shoe arrived and was, in short, worth the wait. My pair is mostly white with a handsome navy blue-and-back portion, which bleeds into the color of the outsole. The laces are navy blue as well, but FootJoy sent me a pair of white laces, too.

post-1164-0-36207400-1389725452_thumb

Many people’s first couple days with golf shoes are the least comfortable, owing to the traditional “wearing-in” period. Such is not at all the case with the FootJoy DNAs, which left my feet not at all sore after my first round in them. I cannot help but think that features like the relatively mundane-seeming FoamCollar and SnugFit Tongue have a role in this, since my ankles tend to take the brunt of new golf shoes’ punishment.

For a shoe with a substantial amount of technology—not to mention a softspike-laden outsole, the DNAs are quite lightweight. Certainly they’re not the flyweight M Project shoe from FootJoy, but they are far less heavy than the chunky behemoths of yore. It is little surprise that they have popped up on Tour already.

One expects that as of Jan. 15, they will pop up in the retail golfer’s online shopping cart and that on and just after February 15, they will be on retail golfers’ feet. That day is a Saturday, which is good news for those retail golfers’ employers: a minimum of sick-faking will be needed in order for the public to don their new FootJoy DNAs ASAP.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.footjoy.com/Catalog/Category/416″ oemtext=”Learn more from FootJoy” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IK9PD9Q/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00IK9PD9Q&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=OHF2CVE6GN6OCMMP”]

Your Reaction?
  • 91
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW5
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB4
  • SHANK107

Tim grew up outside of Hartford, Conn., playing most of his formative golf at Hop Meadow Country Club in the town of Simsbury. He played golf for four years at Washington & Lee University (Division-III) and now lives in Pawleys Island, S.C., and works in nearby Myrtle Beach in advertising. He's not too bad on Bermuda greens, for a Yankee. A lifelong golf addict, he cares about all facets of the game of golf, from equipment to course architecture to PGA Tour news to his own streaky short game.

49 Comments

49 Comments

  1. matt whiteford

    Mar 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    My new Footjoy shoes have PINS stud insert system.
    In 3 rounds of golf I have lost 5 studs?
    Will never buy Footjoy again, very poor design, will also tell my pals to avoid them.

  2. steve

    Jan 9, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    purchased DNAs this past August, played two rounds in them in club tourney in Sept and lost 3 spikes. worst quality golf shoe ever made. retailer would not take back, so I call Footjoy and am told that since they are over 30 days old, 32 days to be exact, that they would have to review them and determine what issue was….told that it could take 4-6 weeks…purchased shoes for $199. I’ve played in Footjoys since I was in high school, some 25 years ago, and will never purchase another pair. I understand shoes can have problems but the reply from Footjoy has turned me into a dedicated non-customer. I hope you have better luck with yours.

  3. Ernie Epitropoulos

    Jun 27, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    I bought these shoe anticipating a great comfort feel and was not disappointed. However after just one round in an outing(rode in a cart) I was missing a spike on the right shoe! After reading more reviews this looks like a chronic defect in these shoes! Seems FJ is using a new spike that is causing this problem. Took them back to the retailer for a return and refund.

  4. liz

    May 23, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    my husband says these are the absolute most comfortable shoes he has ever worn. The comfort is matched by the frustration of replacing the spikes every round he plays. Today he told me that he had to replace two of the spikes three times during his 18 holes of play….he rode in a cart too.

    • terry

      May 26, 2014 at 11:09 pm

      agree, day one and I have replaced the same spike 3X, very frustrating and that was when I rode in a cart, what happens when I walk which I do a lot….not a good early trend, comfort yes, but stability is important

  5. Hamjack

    May 6, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Great shoes, except I lost two spikes the first time I wore them, and none of the shops around me carry replacements yet.

    • Herb

      Aug 7, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      Spike pin system sucks. Loved the comfort and look of these shoes, but lost three spikes today, the first time I wore them. Totally unacceptable. Do not buy these shoes.

  6. Bobby Bottleservice

    Apr 20, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    overpriced and ugly.

  7. CT

    Apr 20, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Most comfortable shoe FJ has ever made. Worth every penny. I have never felt like my normal shoes are less comfortable after a round until I got these! They are like walking on air.

  8. Scott

    Apr 3, 2014 at 12:08 am

    I was so excited for these to come out. Then I saw them in person. They look so long. “Clown shoes” came to mind. I ended up getting a pair of Nike Lunars instead.

  9. Rich

    Mar 30, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    These shoes are the most comfortable ones i’ve had yet. On the sad side i’ve somehow managed to take out 4 spikes off them within owning them for 3 weeks. Really disappointed about it!

  10. pat du golf

    Mar 23, 2014 at 1:51 am

    Nobody can beat ECCO shoes on quality and comfort, albeit pricing…Ecco for life

  11. austin t,

    Mar 16, 2014 at 8:36 am

    First thing I did was change out the white spikes for black spikes and you couldn’t even notice them anymore. Now that they use the PINS cleat you buy the Stealth black cleat by softspikes, it’s made for this shoe. Put them in and you’ll swear you don’t even notice the spikes

    • Ryan

      Nov 25, 2014 at 3:00 am

      Did you have any problems with the softspikes falling out like the standard FJ ones?

  12. Chandler

    Feb 18, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    I got a pair and they are the most comfortable shoes I have ever had. After two rounds of walking though the left toe spike fell off. I contacted FJ’s service department and they sent me a whole pack of replacement spikes. Foot joy for life.

  13. Tony

    Feb 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    Footjoy Classics for me. I have 13 pair.
    Timeless designs and they have and will outlast anything from any current offerings.

    • Jordan J. Caron

      Apr 16, 2014 at 2:02 am

      Classics are indeed timeless in their style. But the 3 pairs I’ve owned are heavy and not the most comfortable. I’m looking at getting a pair of these as my club has a deal on them right now.

  14. Tony Lynam

    Feb 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Great looking shoe, but not the most comfortable FJ out there.

  15. chad ryan

    Feb 8, 2014 at 1:32 am

    They look comfy and sporty….a good replacement for the FJ sports i think. However….I will wait till they closeout and buy them on ebay for $80 after they release the 2015 versions next year. Until then it’s closeout icons!

  16. betterfredthandead

    Jan 25, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Cornhole!

  17. Chad L

    Jan 23, 2014 at 11:24 am

    I know it’s the trend, but just not a fan of looking more and more like we’ve all got alien feet. Hope FJ continues to bring new styles to the Icon lineup. Classic looks.

  18. Mike M

    Jan 19, 2014 at 1:28 am

    look forward to testing these shoes out!

  19. away

    Jan 16, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    Just curious, if these are too much $, what is the $ figure you would pay for a quality shoe?

  20. Dahktazayus

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Wonder how these compare to the TWs. I know they aren’t that similar but I am deciding between the two

    • Rich

      Jan 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

      As Tim said below, these are leather. I believe the TW’s are synthetic. You can’t beat a leather upper in a shoe. Go with the FJ

  21. larrybud

    Jan 15, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I would NEVER pay > $120 for shoes. Too many deals out there. especially since all of mine wear the liner out at the heel, no matter the price.

  22. MV

    Jan 15, 2014 at 5:47 am

    They look very similar to Adidas Adizero. Price are not so similar though.

    • Retlod

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:17 am

      Agreed about the spooky similarities to the adiZero line. No experience with these FJs, but the Zeros are great…as long as you don’t mind leaving temporary cleat marks on greens.

      • Ciarán Hegarty

        Mar 5, 2014 at 5:40 pm

        The Main difference is the fact FJ are leather and the zeros are synthetic. so that were FJ win!!

    • Nick

      Jan 15, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      They will retail at 189.99. So 10$ more than the adizero. Not a huge difference for a shoe that will probably be more stable and comfortable in my opinion.

      • brad

        Apr 3, 2014 at 12:35 pm

        Having both I can attest, they are a much better shoe than the Adizero Tour. I like both and can’t yet comment on the breath-ability in hot weather, but from a comfort and stability standpoint they’re not even in the same league.

    • MV

      Jan 16, 2014 at 2:20 am

      MSRP $220 for standard laces, $240 for FootJoy’s BOA lace style

      • Nick

        Jan 16, 2014 at 5:08 pm

        MRSP does not mean what it will sell for. I work at a golf store. I have seen nike bags that have a msrp for 200 and sell for like 130. The MSRP does not mean everything for the actual price.

        FootJoy D.N.A. – White/Navy
        Price: $189.99
        worldwidegolfshops.com

        • Nick

          Jan 16, 2014 at 5:09 pm

          And 209.99 for the DNA’s with the boa.

          • Joe

            Feb 7, 2014 at 3:57 pm

            Nike is hilarious with their MSRP (as are almost all companies). Look at some of their SQ drivers from back in the day. The MSRP was always at least $100-$150 more than the MAP price.

  23. Billy

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:54 am

    These look nice. Probably will get a pair. Pricey though.

    And some people were complaining about $180 for TW 13, 14 shoes.

    • brad

      Apr 28, 2014 at 12:12 pm

      Seriously, these are 10X the shoe the TW is. The TW13 is without a doubt the worst golf shoe I’ve ever put on. I bought them on a whim, and got burned…which surprised me given the quality of the rest of the TW line. The DNA’s make the TW shoes look like flip-flops.

  24. High priced!

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:25 am

    200.00+ for non-leather shoes….

    Yup.

    • Rich

      Jan 15, 2014 at 6:35 am

      Did the story mention what the shoe’s upper was made of? I must have missed it…….also, what is split toe construction? That was never elaborated on in the story but mentioned in the cons.

      • David W

        Jan 15, 2014 at 10:03 am

        They are just talking about the seams down the middle of the front of the shoe.

        • Rich

          Jan 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm

          Thought that might have been it but wasn’t sure. Thanks Dave

      • Tim Gavrich

        Jan 15, 2014 at 10:40 am

        High priced! and Rich–

        My bad omitting mention of the material of the shoe’s “upper.” Quoth the FootJoy website:
        ~ ~ ~
        Performance Leather
        ChromoSkin™ leather, developed by Pittards® of England, is a supple, lightweight and durable leather, offering two year waterproof protection.
        ~ ~ ~
        So it is leather.

        –Tim

        • Rich

          Jan 15, 2014 at 3:34 pm

          Thanks Tim. Thank goodness. I was hoping footjoy wasn’t going to synthetic uppers like some others in their premium shoe. Can’t buy any decent golf clothing that’s not synthetic these days unless you pay a fortune for it so was crossing my fingers that shoes weren’t all going to be going the same way. Cheers

    • Paul

      Jan 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

      Just to clarify, they are a leather upper unlike the Adizero. They are a pittards leather which is one of the highest quality leathers there is.

  25. Chris

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:16 am

    My first question would be; do you have to have your club shafts lengthened? 🙂

    • David W

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:02 am

      Honestly, one of the first standard style (not street or anything like that) golf shoes I’ve seen from FJ in a while that I like. I would never pay anywhere close to that for golf shoes though.

    • David W

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:03 am

      Not sure why my comment went under you as a reply, wasn’t meant to be.

    • brad

      Apr 28, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      lengthened? Why?

      • Jeff C

        Jun 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

        Some golf shoes seem to have such a thick sole (see Adidas tour 360s) that you could be an inch or two taller (slight exaggeration!) meaning longer clubs 🙂
        I like these and may replace my ageing dryjoys.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Etonic Stabi-Loud shoes

Published

on

Product: Etonic Stabi-Loud shoes

Pitch: From Etonic: “Throughout the years Etonic continued to achieve recognition for its footwear throughout the entire sports industry. From partnering with tennis legend Fred Perry to releasing the signature shoes of NBA All-Star Hakeem Olajuwon, Etonic has shown a passion and dedication to supplying athletes everywhere with the highest quality athletic shoes. Etonic continues to follow its commitment to athletes around the world by producing industry-leading activewear that allows you to achieve your best while feeling your best.”

Our take on the Etonic Stabi-Loud shoe

If you were to think of one Tour player which you would expect to wear the Etonic Stabi-Loud shoe, then who would you pick? I’m confident you all got it right. John Daly is partnered with both Etonic and Loudmouth who collaborated on this shoe, and you’d be hard pressed to find a golf shoe which represented his flamboyant style more than the Etonic Stabi-Loud shoe does.

Looking to create the loudest shoe in golf, Etonic did just that, with bold colors in a zebra style pattern. According to John Holst, VP of Sales for Etonic Golf,

 “The Stabi-Loud shoe is truly one of a kind. If you’re looking for an ultra-comfortable, high performance shoe that will stand out on the course, then look no further!”

What’s more, the color sequences they’ve paired together work excellently. The classic zebra look, the black and orange and particularly the companies deep red and black pattern which looks electric.

The shoes come in four different color schemes and are fully waterproof. The shoe also features a microfiber material which makes the shoe extremely comfortable as well as durable.

The shoe hits the retail market in May, and for those who admire the styles of John Daly, Ian Poulter etc. then you’re likely to love Etonic’s Stabi-Loud Shoe. It covers all the bases in terms of comfort, and if you’re looking to stand out on the course, this shoe will undoubtedly help you achieve that.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW4
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Puma polos

Published

on

Product: Puma polos

Pitch:  From Puma “A world leader in high-performance sports clothing, Puma launched their first golf collection in 2004 complete with Puma golf shoes and clothing. The collection has gone from strength to strength ever since its creation, with tour pro golfers wearing the range out on the course. With bold colorful clothing to classically sporty and smart pieces, Puma golf is a versatile collection certain to appeal to golfers of all preferences.”

Our take on Puma’s polos

It’s difficult to look past Puma’s 2019 polo collection without seeing its Paradise golf shirt. Showcased by Rickie Fowler during the Island stretch of golf to begin the new year, the unconventional all button up shirt may not be to everyone’s taste, but anyone who pulls the shirt on will likely agree on its comfort. The shirt will channel your inner Ned Flanders, “feels like I’m wearing nothing at all,” and the ultra-lightweight feel combined with the looseness makes it an ideal summer shirt for swinging the club freely on the golf course.

Puma has a lot more polos on offer in 2019 than its Paradise shirt though, and one of the most visually striking shirts of theirs is the Aletknit Radius Golf Polo. The shirt comes in three vibrant colors (blue, white and green), and its camo inspired pattern is subtle and discreet which gives the shirt a cool look without being distracting. Also a lightweight polo, the Aletknit Radius Golf Polo features a clean three button look, as well as a very comfortable fit, and its dryCell technology means you won’t be drenched in sweat this summer.

Then there’s the Rotation Golf Polo which comes in both solid and stripes styles. The shirts offer a very modern feel and look, and you certainly won’t be disappointed with the selection of colors which the shirts come in, with an abundance on offer.

On the throwback front, Puma has you covered with their Nineties Golf Polo, with a striped shirt style and color. There are five different color blocks to choose from which are about as representative of spring/summer as I’ve seen, and the shirts also come with Ultraviolet Protection Factor, which is a nice summer touch.

The Faraday Polo is according to the company itself “one of our best”. Lightweight and one of the softest shirts they provide, it’s hard to disagree with them in terms of comfort level. The only off-putting feature of this shirt for me is the odd unfinished lining around the pocket.

The exhaustive selection of golf polos provided by Puma is impressive, and they’ve covered everything you’d want in a golf shirt in each of their styles. Prices range from $50-$70, and no matter what your taste, you’re bound to find a great summer golf shirt to add to your collection from their 2019 lineup.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: 2UNDR performance underwear

Published

on

Product: 2UNDR performance underwear

Pitch: From 2UNDR: “Inspired by the kangaroo-pouch, we set out to create a high performance men’s athletic underwear, with the versatility of everyday use. Using the most advanced construction techniques and materials, we were able to separate your equipment from your body to reduce unwanted skin-on-skin contact. With more support than a standard brief and improved airflow to keep you cool, the 2UNDR™ products provide the best fit, comfort and style a man could ever need.”

Our take on 2UNDR underwear

There was a lot of big news made this year when Rickie, you know THE Rickie on tour, changed balls, switching to the all-new TaylorMade TP5, and winning only a few events later. BUT another switch for Rickie this year flew way under the radar…and under his fitted Puma pants. It had everything to do with balls, but nothing to with urethane or five layers: I’m talking his 2UNDR Performance Underwear.

From desk jockeys to runners, and everything in between (including golfers) we all want down there comfort. With 2UNDR you get exactly that, thanks to their JoeyPouch technology, which keeps everything together yet spaciously separated for comfort and moisture wicking. I know it seems silly, but speaking from experience: after switching to 2UNDR over six years ago, I have never looked back to the days of plain old cotton, for both day to day and especially on course.

There is a lot of technology packed into each pair of 2UNDR. That, along with some serious attention to detail, make sure you are comfy all day long. The tech in each pair of 2UNDRs includes a reinforced and roll-resistant waistband, precisely placed seems around the garment to prevent any “rub zones,” and, of course, the patented JoeyPouch to keep the precious goods (OK, fine I’ll just say it, we’re all adults: testicles) right where they should be.

For the sake of argument I think having used a product for more than 6 years puts this into the category of “long-term review,” and from this 2UNDR loyalist I have nothing but glowing things to say. The durability I have experienced from the many pairs I have has been excellent, and I take ZERO special care of these; washer and dryer every time and they are the same fit and comfort wear after wear, including a nice fit around the thigh where undies usually lose shape the quickest. The only complaint I could have had was tweaked a few years ago from their first iteration which had the tag on the front sewn on in a little patch. It it now built right into the waistband so it has zero chance of ever falling off.

On the course for me is where these stand out. I’m a Swing Shift user and can’t begin to tell you how many times on a hot summer day my 2UNDRs make that last walk up the 18th hole just a comfy as walking off the first tee four hours earlier. To be real frank they hold everything in place and eliminate the need for that layer of baby powder that you may be used to applying with traditional boxers. The waistband never bunches, even with a shirt tucked in with a belt, which might seem like a small thing but with all the twisting and bending we do as golfers around our midsection, even if you are a cart rider, gives you one less thing to worry about.

Speaking of worrying, just like with so many things with not just golf, but in life, its often the small details that can make or break any product — the expensive shoes that just rub your heel the wrong way, the hat that doesn’t sit “just right,” the location of the second button on a dress shirt (please do yourself a favor and watch Seinfeld if you don’t get that reference). It’s only the things we never think about that are really the most comfortable; like your favorite pair of jeans, or in my case wearing anything but 2UNDR Swing Shifts. The only thing you’ll have to think about is which colors or patterns to choose — there are A LOT!!!

I don’t really say this about too many products, but if aren’t wearing 2UNDR undies, you might need to seriously take a look in the mirror and evaluate your underpants situation. You can find 2UNDR available at most golf shops that know what’s up, or online through their website.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 30
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL5
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending