Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: FootJoy DNA Shoes

Published

on

Pros: The FootJoy DNAs are an excellent all-around shoe, comfortable enough that you won’t be disappointed if you find yourself lingering in the pub post-round without street shoes, and functional enough to wear in a casual round with your buddies or a business round with your boss or client.

Cons: The edges of the spikes near the toe might be undesirably eye-catching in your periphery, and not everyone is a fan of the split-toe construction.

Bottom Line: These are serious shoes with a modern sensibility, both in their heft and waterproof nature and the obviously high amount of technology that went into their production

Overview

As befits a Tour-level shoe, the FootJoy DNA (MSRP $220 for standard laces, $240 for FootJoy’s BOA lace style, which tightens from the back of the shoe) delivers very nicely in all aspects, from its modernly sensible aesthetics and the amount of technology that has been devoted to the shoe. Style, comfort, functionality: yes, yes, yes.

My “day job” is in the advertising and PR business, so I would be remiss not to introduce the FootJoy DNA (which stands for “DryJoys Next Advancement”) in the inventive way in which FootJoy introduced them to me: piece by piece. Don’t worry, though; this review will take well under five weeks to process.

post-1164-0-71399700-1389725454_thumb

No. 1: First came “Comfort” in the form of the DNA’s 3D FoamCollar. Splayed out and separated from the whole shoe, it looks like a large, spongy gray mustache. But as part of the DNA, it helps mold the upper part of the shoe to the ankle, which is important because excess movement of one’s foot in one’s shoe during the golf swing can sap away power and compromise balance and comfort.

No. 2: Next came “Fit” in the form of the DNA’s SnugFit Tongue. It is made of similarly squishy material to the 3D FoamCollar, which is meant to aid similarly in comfort. It helps hold the laces region of the shoe to the top of the foot without putting too much pressure there. Once again, the name of the game is both comfort and stability. The Tongue also aids with breathability, which is an underrated feature that becomes very important as the temperature rises.

post-1164-0-48583500-1389725462_thumb

No. 3: Next in the Deconstructed Golf Shoe meal came the “Stability” course: FootJoy’s NitroThin TPU Outsole. TPU stands for “thermoplastic urethane.” This feature is the most obvious piece of technology on the shoe, which makes sense because it is kinetic base of the DNA’s total functionality. It houses nine softspikes pushed farther out to the edge of the shoe than I have ever seen—in fact, the edges of the under-the-big-toe spikes on each shoe are visible when one looks down at one’s DNA-shod feet. This might irk some very persnickety people; it does not bother me. There are also all manner of ridges and pips in between the spikes that provide further traction

post-1164-0-16767200-1389725460_thumb

No. 4: The final individual shoe part to arrive is “Cushioning”: the Xtra-Thick FTF FitBed. In layman’s terms, it is the sole of the shoe. It is very substantial, especially in the heel, and pretty thin in the toe, which is by design. The instep portion of the sole is molded slightly upward, which further ensures the snug-yet-comfortable fit that is a hallmark of the shoe.

After this four-week primer, the entire shoe arrived and was, in short, worth the wait. My pair is mostly white with a handsome navy blue-and-back portion, which bleeds into the color of the outsole. The laces are navy blue as well, but FootJoy sent me a pair of white laces, too.

post-1164-0-36207400-1389725452_thumb

Many people’s first couple days with golf shoes are the least comfortable, owing to the traditional “wearing-in” period. Such is not at all the case with the FootJoy DNAs, which left my feet not at all sore after my first round in them. I cannot help but think that features like the relatively mundane-seeming FoamCollar and SnugFit Tongue have a role in this, since my ankles tend to take the brunt of new golf shoes’ punishment.

For a shoe with a substantial amount of technology—not to mention a softspike-laden outsole, the DNAs are quite lightweight. Certainly they’re not the flyweight M Project shoe from FootJoy, but they are far less heavy than the chunky behemoths of yore. It is little surprise that they have popped up on Tour already.

One expects that as of Jan. 15, they will pop up in the retail golfer’s online shopping cart and that on and just after February 15, they will be on retail golfers’ feet. That day is a Saturday, which is good news for those retail golfers’ employers: a minimum of sick-faking will be needed in order for the public to don their new FootJoy DNAs ASAP.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.footjoy.com/Catalog/Category/416″ oemtext=”Learn more from FootJoy” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IK9PD9Q/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00IK9PD9Q&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=OHF2CVE6GN6OCMMP”]

Your Reaction?
  • 91
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW5
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB4
  • SHANK107

Tim grew up outside of Hartford, Conn., playing most of his formative golf at Hop Meadow Country Club in the town of Simsbury. He played golf for four years at Washington & Lee University (Division-III) and now lives in Pawleys Island, S.C., and works in nearby Myrtle Beach in advertising. He's not too bad on Bermuda greens, for a Yankee. A lifelong golf addict, he cares about all facets of the game of golf, from equipment to course architecture to PGA Tour news to his own streaky short game.

49 Comments

49 Comments

  1. matt whiteford

    Mar 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    My new Footjoy shoes have PINS stud insert system.
    In 3 rounds of golf I have lost 5 studs?
    Will never buy Footjoy again, very poor design, will also tell my pals to avoid them.

  2. steve

    Jan 9, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    purchased DNAs this past August, played two rounds in them in club tourney in Sept and lost 3 spikes. worst quality golf shoe ever made. retailer would not take back, so I call Footjoy and am told that since they are over 30 days old, 32 days to be exact, that they would have to review them and determine what issue was….told that it could take 4-6 weeks…purchased shoes for $199. I’ve played in Footjoys since I was in high school, some 25 years ago, and will never purchase another pair. I understand shoes can have problems but the reply from Footjoy has turned me into a dedicated non-customer. I hope you have better luck with yours.

  3. Ernie Epitropoulos

    Jun 27, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    I bought these shoe anticipating a great comfort feel and was not disappointed. However after just one round in an outing(rode in a cart) I was missing a spike on the right shoe! After reading more reviews this looks like a chronic defect in these shoes! Seems FJ is using a new spike that is causing this problem. Took them back to the retailer for a return and refund.

  4. liz

    May 23, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    my husband says these are the absolute most comfortable shoes he has ever worn. The comfort is matched by the frustration of replacing the spikes every round he plays. Today he told me that he had to replace two of the spikes three times during his 18 holes of play….he rode in a cart too.

    • terry

      May 26, 2014 at 11:09 pm

      agree, day one and I have replaced the same spike 3X, very frustrating and that was when I rode in a cart, what happens when I walk which I do a lot….not a good early trend, comfort yes, but stability is important

  5. Hamjack

    May 6, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Great shoes, except I lost two spikes the first time I wore them, and none of the shops around me carry replacements yet.

    • Herb

      Aug 7, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      Spike pin system sucks. Loved the comfort and look of these shoes, but lost three spikes today, the first time I wore them. Totally unacceptable. Do not buy these shoes.

  6. Bobby Bottleservice

    Apr 20, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    overpriced and ugly.

  7. CT

    Apr 20, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Most comfortable shoe FJ has ever made. Worth every penny. I have never felt like my normal shoes are less comfortable after a round until I got these! They are like walking on air.

  8. Scott

    Apr 3, 2014 at 12:08 am

    I was so excited for these to come out. Then I saw them in person. They look so long. “Clown shoes” came to mind. I ended up getting a pair of Nike Lunars instead.

  9. Rich

    Mar 30, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    These shoes are the most comfortable ones i’ve had yet. On the sad side i’ve somehow managed to take out 4 spikes off them within owning them for 3 weeks. Really disappointed about it!

  10. pat du golf

    Mar 23, 2014 at 1:51 am

    Nobody can beat ECCO shoes on quality and comfort, albeit pricing…Ecco for life

  11. austin t,

    Mar 16, 2014 at 8:36 am

    First thing I did was change out the white spikes for black spikes and you couldn’t even notice them anymore. Now that they use the PINS cleat you buy the Stealth black cleat by softspikes, it’s made for this shoe. Put them in and you’ll swear you don’t even notice the spikes

    • Ryan

      Nov 25, 2014 at 3:00 am

      Did you have any problems with the softspikes falling out like the standard FJ ones?

  12. Chandler

    Feb 18, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    I got a pair and they are the most comfortable shoes I have ever had. After two rounds of walking though the left toe spike fell off. I contacted FJ’s service department and they sent me a whole pack of replacement spikes. Foot joy for life.

  13. Tony

    Feb 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    Footjoy Classics for me. I have 13 pair.
    Timeless designs and they have and will outlast anything from any current offerings.

    • Jordan J. Caron

      Apr 16, 2014 at 2:02 am

      Classics are indeed timeless in their style. But the 3 pairs I’ve owned are heavy and not the most comfortable. I’m looking at getting a pair of these as my club has a deal on them right now.

  14. Tony Lynam

    Feb 15, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Great looking shoe, but not the most comfortable FJ out there.

  15. chad ryan

    Feb 8, 2014 at 1:32 am

    They look comfy and sporty….a good replacement for the FJ sports i think. However….I will wait till they closeout and buy them on ebay for $80 after they release the 2015 versions next year. Until then it’s closeout icons!

  16. betterfredthandead

    Jan 25, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Cornhole!

  17. Chad L

    Jan 23, 2014 at 11:24 am

    I know it’s the trend, but just not a fan of looking more and more like we’ve all got alien feet. Hope FJ continues to bring new styles to the Icon lineup. Classic looks.

  18. Mike M

    Jan 19, 2014 at 1:28 am

    look forward to testing these shoes out!

  19. away

    Jan 16, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    Just curious, if these are too much $, what is the $ figure you would pay for a quality shoe?

  20. Dahktazayus

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Wonder how these compare to the TWs. I know they aren’t that similar but I am deciding between the two

    • Rich

      Jan 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

      As Tim said below, these are leather. I believe the TW’s are synthetic. You can’t beat a leather upper in a shoe. Go with the FJ

  21. larrybud

    Jan 15, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I would NEVER pay > $120 for shoes. Too many deals out there. especially since all of mine wear the liner out at the heel, no matter the price.

  22. MV

    Jan 15, 2014 at 5:47 am

    They look very similar to Adidas Adizero. Price are not so similar though.

    • Retlod

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:17 am

      Agreed about the spooky similarities to the adiZero line. No experience with these FJs, but the Zeros are great…as long as you don’t mind leaving temporary cleat marks on greens.

      • Ciarán Hegarty

        Mar 5, 2014 at 5:40 pm

        The Main difference is the fact FJ are leather and the zeros are synthetic. so that were FJ win!!

    • Nick

      Jan 15, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      They will retail at 189.99. So 10$ more than the adizero. Not a huge difference for a shoe that will probably be more stable and comfortable in my opinion.

      • brad

        Apr 3, 2014 at 12:35 pm

        Having both I can attest, they are a much better shoe than the Adizero Tour. I like both and can’t yet comment on the breath-ability in hot weather, but from a comfort and stability standpoint they’re not even in the same league.

    • MV

      Jan 16, 2014 at 2:20 am

      MSRP $220 for standard laces, $240 for FootJoy’s BOA lace style

      • Nick

        Jan 16, 2014 at 5:08 pm

        MRSP does not mean what it will sell for. I work at a golf store. I have seen nike bags that have a msrp for 200 and sell for like 130. The MSRP does not mean everything for the actual price.

        FootJoy D.N.A. – White/Navy
        Price: $189.99
        worldwidegolfshops.com

        • Nick

          Jan 16, 2014 at 5:09 pm

          And 209.99 for the DNA’s with the boa.

          • Joe

            Feb 7, 2014 at 3:57 pm

            Nike is hilarious with their MSRP (as are almost all companies). Look at some of their SQ drivers from back in the day. The MSRP was always at least $100-$150 more than the MAP price.

  23. Billy

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:54 am

    These look nice. Probably will get a pair. Pricey though.

    And some people were complaining about $180 for TW 13, 14 shoes.

    • brad

      Apr 28, 2014 at 12:12 pm

      Seriously, these are 10X the shoe the TW is. The TW13 is without a doubt the worst golf shoe I’ve ever put on. I bought them on a whim, and got burned…which surprised me given the quality of the rest of the TW line. The DNA’s make the TW shoes look like flip-flops.

  24. High priced!

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:25 am

    200.00+ for non-leather shoes….

    Yup.

    • Rich

      Jan 15, 2014 at 6:35 am

      Did the story mention what the shoe’s upper was made of? I must have missed it…….also, what is split toe construction? That was never elaborated on in the story but mentioned in the cons.

      • David W

        Jan 15, 2014 at 10:03 am

        They are just talking about the seams down the middle of the front of the shoe.

        • Rich

          Jan 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm

          Thought that might have been it but wasn’t sure. Thanks Dave

      • Tim Gavrich

        Jan 15, 2014 at 10:40 am

        High priced! and Rich–

        My bad omitting mention of the material of the shoe’s “upper.” Quoth the FootJoy website:
        ~ ~ ~
        Performance Leather
        ChromoSkin™ leather, developed by Pittards® of England, is a supple, lightweight and durable leather, offering two year waterproof protection.
        ~ ~ ~
        So it is leather.

        –Tim

        • Rich

          Jan 15, 2014 at 3:34 pm

          Thanks Tim. Thank goodness. I was hoping footjoy wasn’t going to synthetic uppers like some others in their premium shoe. Can’t buy any decent golf clothing that’s not synthetic these days unless you pay a fortune for it so was crossing my fingers that shoes weren’t all going to be going the same way. Cheers

    • Paul

      Jan 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

      Just to clarify, they are a leather upper unlike the Adizero. They are a pittards leather which is one of the highest quality leathers there is.

  25. Chris

    Jan 15, 2014 at 12:16 am

    My first question would be; do you have to have your club shafts lengthened? 🙂

    • David W

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:02 am

      Honestly, one of the first standard style (not street or anything like that) golf shoes I’ve seen from FJ in a while that I like. I would never pay anywhere close to that for golf shoes though.

    • David W

      Jan 15, 2014 at 10:03 am

      Not sure why my comment went under you as a reply, wasn’t meant to be.

    • brad

      Apr 28, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      lengthened? Why?

      • Jeff C

        Jun 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

        Some golf shoes seem to have such a thick sole (see Adidas tour 360s) that you could be an inch or two taller (slight exaggeration!) meaning longer clubs 🙂
        I like these and may replace my ageing dryjoys.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit: 2018 U.S. Open

Published

on

Brooks Koepka played like he dressed on Sunday at Shinnecock Hills for the final round of the U.S. Open; his outfit was athletic, well put together, boring with a bit of flash (those shoes!!), and most importantly, it got the job done.

See the golf clubs and shafts Brooks used to win.

A great representative of the new age of golf, Koepka has the frame of a baseball player, and he’s not afraid to accentuate it with tight-fitting polos and an athletic look. For Sunday, he chose a white-on-gray-on-gray look that was understated, but clean — just like his scorecard. He really made the Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE shoes, with hits of electric orange, the star. Check out the details on his full outfit below.

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: Nike AeroBill Classic99
  • Shirt: Nike Zonal Cooling polo
  • Belt: Nike Stretch Woven
  • Pants: Nike Flex
  • Shoes: Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE
Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Dustin Johnson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic

Published

on

Dustin Johnson won the 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic by 6 shots — and he holed out on the 72nd hole for eagle as the cherry on top.

You can check out the clubs he used to win here, but this article is all about his outfit.

Per usual, DJ went with the white-on-navy-on-navy-navy look that he wears often, especially on winning Sundays. Also, according to Adidas, it’s the first time that a Primeknit shoe has won on the PGA Tour, so there’s that.

Let’s dive into his full outfit…

Dustin’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: TaylorMade New Era Tour 9Fifty (White)
  • Polo: Ultimate365 Heather Polo (Collegiate Navy)
  • Belt: 3-Stripes Perforated Reversible
  • Pants: Ultimate365 Flat Front (Navy)
  • Shoes: Tour 360Knit (Grey/Real Purple)
Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Modern classics: Catching up with Holderness & Bourne

Published

on

If you haven’t heard of Holderness & Bourne, well, for one thing, you’ve missed a couple of our gift guides. We’ve lauded the Rye, New York-based apparel manufacturer on more than one occasion for making some of the best polos in the business.

H&B, not surprisingly the product of two men named (Alex) Holderness and (John) Bourne, is quickly establishing a reputation for classic styles in tailored fits using modern materials. In addition to both performance and cotton polos, Holderness & Bourne makes sweaters, vests, bags, and other accessories.

I spoke with Alex Holderness about the company’s growth and what’s next.

BA: We first spoke a couple of years ago, but things have really taken off since then. Tell me about the growth.

AH: It’s been a great few years for us. We’ve basically tripled the past few years. We’re now stocking more than 150 clubs around the country and some great clubs abroad as well. We’re seeing traction for the brand; we’re seeing momentum. A lot of people like the concept of the brand, which is classic style with a more modern approach to fabrics and fit…and it’s working, so we’re trying to grow carefully based on that.

BA: What did establishing traction look like for you?

AH: It’s been steady all along. There wasn’t a point where the tide turned and things started to get good when they weren’t good before. But it is tough to get traction in green grass, and we feel very fortunate that we were based in New York…early in the history of the brand, we landed Winged Foot…Greenwich Country Club and a few others in the area really early on…So we were very lucky…because traction in green grass for brands like us is driven by perception, so if you can align yourself as a brand with the better clubs and public facilities around the country it can be very favorable. A lot of times, it results in people…calling us, because they’ve heard it [our apparel] did very well at Winged Foot or some other club. So that’s our general approach to green grass.

We’re not snobs about it by any means. It’s not like we have some grand strategy to only stock the top 100 clubs. But we care a lot about making premium products and being a premium brand. As a results of that, we are a natural fit for higher-end facilities, whether they’re public or private. We’re not going to ever be the cheapest brand in the shop, and we’re not going to be on clearance for 70 percent off…we’re very careful about what we’re building, and as a result of that, having these relationships with facilities around the country has been really helpful for us…and it’s helped us generate momentum in terms of getting inbound inquiries.

But it has taken a while. We’re four years into this thing, and it’s a day-by-day, year-by-year process..It’s not like we went out and raised $5 million in investor capital. We didn’t go out and try to be an overnight success…and get into every club. We only raised a small amount of capital, and we’re trying to kind of bootstrap: make great product, sell it, then use those proceeds to broaden our assortment. We want to add additional categories and get into more clubs every year, but it takes time.

BA: Can you talk a bit about your core consumer and how you’re appealing to him in ways that maybe other brands weren’t?

AH: My business partner John and I are both guys in our late 30s, married with kids and all that, but young enough to want a cleaner, more modern fit without sacrificing the classic look. We just knew that the combination of fit and style that we had in mind would resonate with plenty of guys, because we started out looking at this whole thing from the customer’s perspective. We also wanted to put some real soul into the brand, creating something very authentic within golf, because we didn’t always feel we were getting that as customers buying golf apparel in the past.

BA: Can you talk a little bit about the balance between e-commerce sales and green grass?

AH: Green grass has been the focus for us so far, but it’s a nice overall split. I think these days any relatively new brand needs to have a website where their customers can reach them directly, but for us the relationships we have with the clubs and public facilities that stock our brand are certainly just as important. Those places are the real stewards of the game and golf culture, and our brand has proven to be a strong fit for them.

BA: You’ve been pretty selective in your marketing and messaging…can you talk about that?

AH: We’re just kind of old school about it. We don’t care to shout about the brand or pay a bunch of money for marketing and PR. Our thinking has always been that if we focus on designing and manufacturing excellent products and get them into the right people’s hands, the brand will grow nicely as people tell their friends about the brand. We also put a huge emphasis on customer service for that same reason. We want people to have an excellent experience with us, even if that involves solving a problem for them, and that approach has been a good one so far.

BA: Talk about Roberto Castro wearing your wares, as it were…

AH: We are really proud to have Roberto onboard as a brand ambassador, and he’s become a great friend of ours as well. He found out about us a couple years ago by reading a piece about new golf brands on the blog Red Clay Soul, and reached out. We weren’t looking to sponsor tour players, but we got to know him and realized that he is the perfect guy to have out there representing the brand. He’s a big family guy, humble and low-key, and he just let’s his game do the talking, all of which we admire. And the guy has got tons of game. He made it into the field at the U.S. Open again this year, so we’re headed out to Shinnecock next week to cheer him on.

BA: Speaking of the Tour, apparel is in an interesting and dynamic place, isn’t it?

AH: Definitely. We think it’s great that there are a number of new brands out there pushing things forward, and it’s not a winner-take-all market. Things are certainly competitive, but brands both within and beyond golf are becoming more niche, which helps customers find the ones that specifically work for them. We don’t really pay a lot of attention to the apparel game on tour specifically, to be honest. We care just as much what’s going on out on the mid-am scene, where a lot of guys who obviously aren’t getting paid choose to wear our stuff simply because they like it better.

BA: Beyond deliberate growth, what’s on the horizon for H&B?

AH: We’re now stocking more than 150 pro shops around the country (and abroad – Sunningdale in England and Toronto Golf Club up in Canada have picked up the line), so we are excited about that momentum. For 2019, we’ve got big plans to expand our apparel collection, with a broader range of shirt fabrics and styles, some very cool layering pieces, and more premium accessories such as belts, hats, and bags. As designers, we really feel like we’re just getting started.

BA: Thanks, Alex.

You can find Holderness & Bourne on the web here.

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending