Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: SuperStroke Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grips

Published

on

Pros: The wide, flat section on the front of the grips helps fill up a golfer’s hands, which can add stability to their stroke and help relieve tension. The pistol-style backing provides more “reminders” for hand placement than SuperStroke’s round-backed putter grips.

Cons: The grips come to a point in the back that is very noticeable in the fingers. Some golfers will love it, others will hate it. The Flatso (100 grams) and Flatso Ultra (85 grams) are also a bit on the heavy side, which could cause swing weight problems.

Bottom Line: They’re still non-tapered, but the Flatso family has a shape that’s much different than… anything else, really. They come in three distinct sizes that should cover the needs of most interested golfers. While they won’t be as popular as SuperStroke’s round-backed grips, plenty of golfers are still going to dig them.

Overview

The Flatso grips build on the platform established by SuperStroke’s extremely popular line of round-backed grips, the Ultra Slim 1.0, Mid Slim 2.0, Slim 3.0 and Flatso 5.0. Like those grips, the Flatso grips are non-tapered, but they have wide, flat section on their fronts that are designed to place goflers’ hands farther apart to help them make a more shoulder-driven stroke.

From top to bottom: SuperStroke’s Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grips.

SuperStroke Flatso, Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra putter grip revie

The back part of the Flatso grips form a pentagon-shape, giving them a pistol feel that many golfers prefer in their putter grip. They come in three different sizes, the largest being the Flatso, which has a 1.7-inch diameter and weighs about 100 grams. The Flatso Mid has a 1.4-inch diameter and weighs 60 grams, while the smallest model, the Flatso Ultra, has a 1.1-inch diameter and weighs 85 grams. All three grips measure 10.5 inches in length, and a 17-inch Flatso “Arm Lock” grip will also be available.

The Flatso and Flatso Mid grips will cost $24.99, while the The Flatso Ultra will cost $19.99. The Flatso 17-inch grip will maintain the company’s 2013 graphics (more on that in the Looks and Feel section) and will cost $29.99. All four grips will hit stores in April 2014.

Performance

SuperStroke’s Flatso putter grips are exactly what the company intended them to be: oversized putter grips with a shape that makes them feel much different than the company’s round-backed putter grips.

The wide, flat front sections of the grips helped move their edges into the lifelines of my hands, making them feel more stable on the putter. I also enjoyed the very “feelable” seam on the back of the grip, which served as a nice reminder of where my fingers should rest.

10a51debd88edcecb198cb7092f7b43d

The largest grip in the series, “Flatso,” will most likely be preferred by players with larger hands or by those who want their hands as far apart as possible on the putter grip. For a lot of golfers, Flatso will feel way too big, however, like they’re gripping a pop can. But for some golfers, like K.J. Choi, who has used SuperStroke’s Fatso grip for nearly a decade, it has the potential to kill off the small twitches that can make 3-footers miss the cup.

Most golfers will probably gravitate toward the Flatso Mid and Flatso Ultra grips, which are a much more manageable size. Like SuperStroke’s “Slim 2.0” round-backed grip, the Flatso Mid is a nice middle ground between a conventional-size putter grip and the company’s largest grips. It gives a feeling of splitting the hands without making them feel like strangers.

The Flatso Ultra, played by Jordan Spieth, will probably be the model liked by most better players because of its more conventional size. But it’s still a very unique-feeling grip thanks to its firm underlisting, which maintains the grip’s crisp pentagonal lines that act much like a reminder rib in a club grip.

The 2014 Flatso Mid (red) and Flatso Ultra (silver)

fe5ab460c1902286fff54481ae910b9e
157d3507d52a5431c1365401726a8e78

Personally, I did not care for the Flatso Mid or Flatso Ultra as much as the Flatso, because I could not seem to make the three distinct ridges on the back of the grip fit properly in my hands. But I have very large hands, and know that my preferences will be in the minority.

The Flatso (100 grams) and Flatso Ultra (85 grams) are a little heavier than most models, which gives them the counterbalancing effect that is trending right now in the world of golf. The Flatso Mid, 60 grams, should not affect swing weight on most golfers’ putters.

A note about installation: The Flatso grips were easy to install and remove using the “blow on method.” All three versions of the Flatso were installed with one piece of build up tape and stayed secured throughout the testing process. Aligning the grip was easy and hassle free thanks to the wider flat sections of the grips.

Looks and Feel

SuperStroke’s “CrossTraction” grip texture is used on all three Flatso putter grips. It debuted on its 2013 line of putter grips, and was well received for its improved performance in the rain and hot, humid weather. What’s best about the new grip texture is that it did not change what originally attracted most golfers to SuperStroke’s putter grips in the first place, the tacky polyurethane material that balances a soft feel with a firm underlisting.

In 2013, the company launched the Flatso grips with “split graphics” that were a slight departure from the company’s cleaner design on its round-backed grips. For 2014, the cleaner graphics have returned, with a dual-color thumb-placement design that’s new for the company’s retail grips.

2013 Flatso graphics

30aee0b2b63aa0088f6357b9ab8eabc3

2014 Flatso graphics

7e5be69161e57c4138b0d74b7c47ea92

Each of the 2014 grips have their own unique colorway, with the Flatso available in white/black/green, the Flatso Mid available in white/black/red and the Flatso Ultra available in white/black/silver. The new graphics will help differentiate the models being used on the professional tours, and will also make the grips appear smaller because of the removal of the center line on the middle of the flat front section.

The Takeaway

The new Flatso series of grips are a great addition to the company’s product line. They’re a niche product, and for that reason they won’t sell like the company’s original round-backed grips. But players who like them are going to love them, growing SuperStroke’s notoriety in the serious golfer community.

Flatso

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVFCU/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVFCU&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=RVNMMW4NVGPSNPVT”]

Flatso Mid

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVFYI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVFYI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=GT2SAUVERZRLMMI6″]

Flatso Ultra

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.superstrokeusa.com/index.php/products/putter-grips/” oemtext=”Learn more from SuperStroke” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HSRVGSI/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00HSRVGSI&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=IXIVL56SAUA3222X”]

Click here to see more photos of SuperStroke’s 2014 putter grips, as well as prototype putter grips.

Click here to see more photos of SuperStroke’s 2014 putter grips, as well as prototype putter grips.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW4
  • LOL3
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK5

Kadin Mahmet has a passion for golf. He has coached at the collegiate level and has worked as an instructor specializing in youth athletics. You can follow Kadin on Twitter @BigKadin. "Like" Growing Up Golf on Facebook @ facebook.com/Growing.Up.Golf for more content.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. cory

    Sep 22, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    Agree need all black the white gets dirty and makes slippery.
    I’ll bet to get you to to replace not just for adverticing.
    Scotty Cameron will copy it and make it better…

  2. Danny Sternod

    May 31, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    I used the flatso 1.4 and felt really good but didn’t live up to the hype. I tinkered with it and then turned the flat side toward the target and what a difference. A completely different feel and now I’m averaging 27-30 putts around instead of the normal 32-36 putts. Anything 10 feet and in are automatic.
    Give it a try….

  3. golfraven

    May 9, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    Got the Super Stroke Flatso Ultra now on my Scotty and it grips nice though the grip appears bit slithery at first. Had the Scotty Pistolero for about two years and I am now keen to see how the Ultra performs. Like the fact that this is slightly wider and fairly flat on the top than the usual putter grips. I believe we will become friends for a long time.

  4. Matt

    Feb 13, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Been using the Flatso Ultra since about June. Amazing feel to it. Cant see myself using any other grip for a long time

    • Curtis

      May 1, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      I hear you man, just hope they come out with something counter balanced very soon!

  5. Harvey

    Jan 27, 2014 at 2:59 am

    It’s what you do not how you look doing it! Had one put on yesterday and is 10x better than the Standard super stroke, the flat front keeps you in contact with the position of the club face throughout the stroke. Switched from a std ultra to flatso mid

  6. Rob

    Jan 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    launch date? I assume after the PGA show?

    • WhoDey98

      Jan 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      Golfworks has them for sale on their site now. I got one on the way in the mail.

      • Mark

        Jan 28, 2014 at 12:50 am

        I just ordered the Flatso 1.1 Ultra so hopefully it’s on it’s way. I tweeted @SuperStrokeGolf and they said that they were planning on having the Ultra out by april, but apparently GolfWorks has them. Crossing my fingers!

  7. BeckyStyles

    Jan 6, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    BLACK COLOR OPTION!!!! I’ll buy it, I promise! Git’er Done!!!

  8. Sam Gray

    Jan 2, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Have not actually put my hands on these but I like the idea. I have a Slim 3.0 on my putter and it is just a little to big and I think that this may be my solution…

  9. nik d

    Dec 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I have the fatso 85(I bought mine well before duff won with it!) on my phil mickelson prototype putter and I love it, the only problem I had was it made the head feel too light, so I put 20 grams of lead powder down the shaft. ive never been steadier. I also installed the flatso ultra (the 1.4″) diameter grip on my playing partners Wilson 8882 blade putter and he has shaved at least 4 strokes off of his game, I might get one for myself even, its like the perfect size, especially with the rib. the grip is the same every time. for people with Arnold palmer sized hands, its a no brainer. imagine if the king had a grip that big, those speedy greens he hated would have been bit easier

  10. Martin

    Dec 21, 2013 at 6:23 am

    I have hooked putts my whole life, generally conquered the problem but still rears it’s ugly head occasionally.

    I tried one of these after Duff won the PGA, had it on my favourite putter for a month or so and never hooked a putt, ever.

    Missed all sorts of putts right instead, went back to my standard grip, didn’t help me.

  11. PeanutsDaddy

    Dec 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Kadin,

    Thank you for the comprehensive review. I am currently using a Super Stroke 2.0 grip and will give the Flatso a chance in the spring. I too wish the company would provide an all-black grip as the mostly white design looks awful in a short period of time.

    • nik d

      Dec 21, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      my fatso 85 is white with black accents. and your right. it has a nice yellow tint too it now. imagine if I was a smoker, it would be even worse! but maybe more tacky from the tar

  12. Just a thought

    Dec 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    Reverse the color scheme. Mostly black, some white and some of the “bright” color. Viewers would still know they are SS and users would get what they want. I actually have white iron grips but haven’t gone to SS because too much is going on with all the logo and everything else.

  13. Bout time

    Dec 20, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Definitely a fan but two things really stick out. One: The release on the ultra has been pretty annoying (dates, color, communication). Two: The colorway is horrible, I would like to see one user that has been able to get more then one season out of these grips without it looking gross. We pay big money for these, and unlike the pros we like our gear to last/look good for more then 4 rounds. It’s time to offer your loyal customers some options.

    I totally understand the marketing concept of making the product stand out, but now that everyone knows what super stroke is. Give us some options! Please! Other companies are now eating into the market share due to color choice alone… Wake up already! I guess there just too busy counting money to listen. A real shame.

    • david

      Dec 20, 2013 at 1:02 pm

      +1. it seems like rbz white and grip white are just to stand out on tv so they can sell em to us

  14. Richard

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Loving the Flatso Mid I put on about 2 months ago. Never was really into the SuperStroke grips, but the new shape of the Flatso really fit my hands very well and fit my stroke. Great grips.

  15. SuperStroke Doesn't Care

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:34 am

    They don’t have to make solid colors or less busy graphics. They don’t care that customers are clamoring for better coloring because they are the only ones who make it.

    Pretty disappointing they don’t care.

  16. Rob

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Let’s hope they actually come out on time as I have been waiting to try the flatso ultra

  17. Sean

    Dec 20, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Nice review Julia, I mean Kadin! I would like to see the grips come in a solid, dark color. The problem with white grips is they get dirty very quickly. I clean my grips regularly, but still…

  18. LorenRobertsFan

    Dec 20, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Graphics are still too busy for me to try one.

    • nik d

      Dec 21, 2013 at 4:10 pm

      I look at the ball when I putt, not the grip lol, its funny how the little things can throw a person off though, so I hear ya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 111
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL7
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Directed Force Putters

Published

on

Pros: Stroke stability and consistency are likely to improve with a proper fitting. The putters also double as training aids for stroke tempo.

Cons: The looks, overall feel and forced-forward-press grip will likely take getting used to.

Who’s it for: Golfers seeking more stability in their stroke. If you don’t get fit properly, however, the technology will not reach its maximum potential.

The Review

DirectedForcePuttersOften times, great inventions are made out of necessity — a solution to a problem. That’s how Bill Presse, founder of Directed Force, developed his innovative putter technology. As a playing professional and teaching pro, he was frustrated by poor putting and needed a solution. Presse began building putters, and after “drilling holes in [putter] heads,” he figured out he could make a putter that stayed square to the putter path. His buddies were disbelievers, so he built “the revealer” to prove the technology — another invention born because of a problem.

Unlike most putters, which are either face-balanced or have what’s called “toe hang,” Directed Force putters ($399.95) are lie-angle balanced. That means the putter face stays straight (or perpendicular) to the putter path throughout the stroke, which is ideal in theory. And serious golfers across the globe have spent countless hours trying to improve their ability to keep their putter face perpendicular to their path during their stroke.

Can this new putter technology provide a shortcut? Watch the video below to see it in action.

Presse’s technology is effective for golfers because of the importance of the face angle at impact. According to findings from SAM PuttLab, the face angle at impact determines 83 percent of a putt’s initial starting direction, and is thus about 5 times more important than putter path.

Here’s how they’re made.

DirectedForcePutters5

The company first forges the putter heads from 6061 aircraft aluminum, then CNC-milled to the proper shape and finishes them with a type-3 anodized coating. It’s important to note that lie-angle balance is not achieved because of the outlandish head shape, which is the immediate assumption, but rather due to the location of the shaft relative to the center of gravity (CG) in the club head. To dial in the specific lie angle of each putter — which are weighted differently depending on a putter’s lie angle, length and grip — weights are installed on each side of the putter face (toe and heel), as well as on the sole. It’s those weights, in conjunction the putter’s shaft position, that give the putters their “lie-angle balance.”

DirectedForcePutters4

Not only does the head shape look, well… weird, but the grip is unconventional, too. But there’s science behind it, as well. Watch the video below to learn more about the PressGrip, developed by Presse, and how it works.

The putter shaft runs through the PressGrip at 3 degrees, instead of straight in (or 0), placing the putter in a forward-press position without the golfer’s hands moving forward of center. This allows the golfer to choke down or up on the grip without losing lie angle, and since the grip is made with a constant taper, changing hand positions doesn’t affect the feel of the grip.

The PressGrip comes in two sizes: Mid-Size (1.250 inches) and Large (1.375 inches), and can be purchased separately for $29.95.

Directed Force’s putter technologies are not dependent on the PressGrip, however, so the putters can be made with the aftermarket grip of your choice. Presse says the grip size and weight affect weighting in the head, so make sure to factor that in during your purchase.

Does it work?

DirectedForcePutters3

First off, the grip feels very different at first, even for someone who forward presses their putter. It’s the first thing most golfers comment on when they try it for the first time. And while it can feel strange, all it takes is a few strokes to get used to it. After that, you’ll be disappointed going back to a normal putter grip — at least I was.

The second thing someone will comment on is the head shape… obviously. It’s a lot of putter head to look at, and the shape is far from conventional. That being said, different doesn’t mean bad in this case.

DirectedForcePutters6

This putter has one of those, you’re-just-along-for-the-ride feels, and seems to swing itself. For yippers or those who struggle with short putts, those are great words to hear. And due to the displacement of so much weight well behind the face, it has a very high moment of inertia (MOI). That means it hardly matters whether you hit it off the toe, heel or center of the face. The putter allows you — and I have confirmed this — to hit 30+ foot putts dead off the heel or toe without much, or any, noticeable affect on distance or direction.

Because of its reliance on lie-angle balance, the technology won’t be as beneficial if the putter isn’t fit to your lie angle. So make sure — if you’re seriously interested in buying a Directed Force putter — you get fit by a Directed Force Fitter, or do a Remote Fitting with Directed Force, which cost $30 but comes with a $30 discount code if you choose to purchase the putter.

The Numbers

So how do Directed Putters perform? We tested them with two golfers on SAM PuttLab, each of which was fit remotely for Directed Force putters several weeks before the test.

  • Tester 1 was me, a former college golfer and now a 1-handicap, weekend player. I’ve used the same off-the-rack Anser-style putter for the last two years, and only practiced with a Directed Force for about 30 minutes at the PGA Merchandise, which is where we discovered the putters.
  • Tester 2 was GolfWRX’s Zak Kozuchowski, our editor and resident professional golfer. He was recently fit for his gamer, an 8802-style, in the fall by another putter company.

Tester 1: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.55.40 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.20 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.58.00 PM

Tester 1: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.09 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.51 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.34 PM

Tester 1 Data Analysis

  • Consistency improved on average with Directed Force putter (98 percent versus 90 percent with gamer).
  • Face rotated less with Directed Force putter on average.
  • Putter path was more neutral with Directed Force putter on average (3.5 degrees left versus 3.9 degrees with gamer).
  • Putter path improved with Directed Force putter (56 percent consistency versus 52 percent consistency with the gamer).
  • Rise angle was higher with gamer putter (1.6 degrees up versus 1.0 up with the Directed Force).

Tester 2: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.41 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.53 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.02 PM

Tester 2: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.22 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.45 PM

Tester 2 Data Analysis

  • Putter path consistency improved with Directed Force on average (95 percent versus 87 percent with gamer).
  • Putter path was 2.3 degrees left with the Directed Force on average, but much more neutral with gamer putter (only 0.5 degrees left).
  • Rise angle was less downward with the gamer (1.1 degrees down) versus 2.6 degrees down with the Directed Force putter on average.
  • Face rotation consistency was better with the gamer on average (93 percent versus 89 percent with the Directed Force)
  • The face rotated less throughout the stroke with the Directed Force on average, and was less closed at impact on average (0.6 degrees versus 1 degree).

The numbers show a rise in consistency for both golfers when using the Directed Force putter compared to gamers. Tester 1, who had little experience with the putter, struggled with alignment, and both players hit more “down” on their putts with the Directed Force, most likely due to the forced forward press.

Therefore, it appears that the Directed Force putters can immediately add consistency to a golfer’s stroke, although it is likely that it will take time for golfers to truly optimize their putting with them.

The Takeaway

DirectedForcePutters7

If you’re going to try a Directed Force putter, make sure you get fit for it. It’s designed to work with your specific lie angle, and isn’t going to be as effective as it could be if it’s more than a few degrees off.

The oversize putter head’s feel and the grip could be a shock to many golfer’s systems, but after just a few putts most golfers will find that they’re no longer even noticing the odd-shaped putter head. And while the setup and stroke that the putter encourages may take some time to master, the benefits are fruitful.

Based on our testing, there’s no question golfers can improve the consistency of their strokes with a Directed Force putter, which is a rare thing to be able to say.

Your Reaction?
  • 207
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW22
  • LOL14
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP7
  • OB5
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Toulon Design Putters

Published

on

Pros: Toulon putters offer clean, classic lines. Exceptional feel and matching sound. Adjustable sole plates allow for custom head weights.

Cons: Only available in RH and polished stainless-steel (for now). Prices start at $399.

Who they’re for: All golfers, especially those true enthusiasts, collectors, and competitive players looking for something new and unique.

The Review

For this review, I tested a Toulon San Diego putter. The specs are listed below. 

  • Weight: 352 grams (head)
  • Material: 303 stainless steel
  • Finish: Tour Satin Mist
  • Face Milling: Deep Diamond
  • Stock Lie/Loft: 71 degrees/3 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 33-35 inches
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin Deep Etch (also available in charcoal or gray add $10; and SuperStroke Pistol GT Tour or Mid-Slim 2.0 add $20)

Along with the five different models (San Diego, Madison, San Francisco, Rochester and Memphis), Toulon Design Putters are also available in two counter-balanced options: Moderate Release (MR) and Aggressive Release (AR) for $459 and $499, respectively.

From a young age, I have primarily sifted my way through putters designed around the modern blade with the L-shaped hosel. Whether it be a Ping Anser 2 or Scotty Cameron Newport 1995 First Run, some of those putters have hung around, while most have not with a destination unknown. Call me stuck in the past, but apart from occasionally fiddling with the latest and greatest mallet, I have remained loyal to this classic style.

Given that tendency, I was understandably thrilled and equally excited to review the “San Diego” from a new putter company known as Toulon Design. Incidentally, my San Diego was built with a 345-gram putter head and additional 7-gram aluminum plate. The loft was 3 degrees, the lie was 70 degrees and without a grip it measured 34 inches. The overall weight was 541 grams and the swing weight was D4.

Started in 2015, but currently launching its initial stable of putters (Madison, San Diego, Rochester, San Francisco, and Memphis) over the coming months, Toulon Design has set it sights on making the best performance putters in the world, with looks to match that lofty goal. The company is based in Vista, California, and it was started by Sean Toulon, formerly involved with TaylorMade Golf for 16 years in product creation and design, and his sons, Tony and Joe. The founding principles of the company being mentorship, collaboration, and making putters with the serious golf enthusiast in mind — but all players welcome.

cb-toulon_gsi-0345-e1457364212407

Sean Toulon (pictured)

Upon cracking the box open to take my first look at the San Diego built for me, it was clear that Toulon Design has taken the time to painstakingly build something that any equipment lover should try. If you are the type of person who says, “I’m a golfer” when asked at a cocktail party what do you like to do in your free time, then seriously check out Toulon Design ASAP. The technology behind this initial line of putters, including the San Diego, is simply the icing on the cake. A review can not honestly do justice to what Toulon Design is attempting to create, which is a company satisfied with being no less than extraordinary.

Classic Look

Beautiful and timeless in its clean lines, the San Diego pushed all the rights buttons for me from the outset. It has a dark charcoal alignment mark that somehow seemed superior both cosmetically and technically in my eyes, especially given the satin mist finish of the putter. While Toulon is opening its “Garage” in May 2016 in an effort to provide its customers with the full “Tour experience” and a variety of options (not readily available for most putters), I chose the stock Lamkin Deep Etch emblazoned with the Toulon Design logo.

cb-toulon_brazing-0713

Before I even hit a putt, it felt like this putter was destined to make its way into my golf bag. What’s truly difficult to communicate in words is the attention detail that was evident in closely examining the San Diego. Toulon Design utilizes what is known as vacuum brazing (through the “Big Green Egg” above) to fuse the putter head and hosel in a manner that makes it feel and look as if those parts of the putter were always one in the same. Everything just simply felt and looked right.

Matching Sound and Feel

Possibly the most important aspect of the technology behind Toulon Design putters (including, the San Diego) is the concept of matching sound and feel with launch conditions of your golf ball. It may seem strange, but this concept is effectively untapped in the industry at present. As Toulon explains, “Sound and feel are totally intertwined. And those two things create the expectation of the distance the ball will travel for the golfer.” In other words, when sound and feel are successfully synced, it is easier to correlate and control distance in putting; not surprisingly, when things are off, controlling distance becomes much more difficult. Can you say 3-putt?

I’ve been playing golf for 30 years and I honestly can’t recall a putter that felt or sounded better. Again, words can’t properly describe it, but for me, uphill putts are particularly revealing and my expectation for putts hit with the San Diego closely aligned with my actual result. When I hit any putt (though, in particular, an uphill putt of 20+ feet), the feedback was immediate and in that regard I was able to quickly adjust to the speed and conditions of the greens on which I was playing or practicing. Put differently, I didn’t feel as if I was guessing from putt to putt (which happens) and instead, I was able to trust what I was hearing and feeling.

Diamonds in the Rough

cb-toulon_asigma-0560

The face milling pattern is also unique to Toulon Design, and the product of not only the creativity of its design team, but its relentless pursuit of something better. The goal was to achieve a crisp, yet soft feel as the result of a putter face that would create gentle (rather than aggressive) overspin on the ball at the point of impact. Inspired by the tread pattern on car tires, Toulon Design putters use what is referred to as a “Deep Diamond Mill” pattern. Within each diamond is a separate groove (or “eyelid,” as I refer to it), which minimizes the opportunity for your golf ball to climb up the putter face upon contact. The result being, to date, a reasonable, yet appropriate amount of forward roll immediately after impact.

My experience is that everything matches up almost perfectly. And rather than a ball coming hot off the face with an almost uncontrollable amount of forward roll, Toulon Design putters (and in my case, the San Diego) produce roll that allows for consistency, especially from beyond 20 feet.

Performance on the Green

It is certainly 9-plus out of 10 for me. The technology, coupled with the classic look and attention to detail, which is evident, make the San Diego an easy putter to love. What makes it easy to use is the feedback it provides by eliminating much of the confusion (that I’ve had with other putters) when hitting putts expecting a certain result and not getting it. The by-product of which is not being able to harmonize the feel and sound in order to gain consistency. In short, I have yet to feel as if I needed to guess with this putter. No, I do not make everything, but I actually feel like I have a very good chance on almost every putt I hit because I am confident that my stroke will match with the speed and distance I need to hit any given putt. And this is especially true from inside 10 feet.

Overall, the San Diego is worth every penny and Toulon Design is committed to making putters for golfers and golf enthusiasts that will make a difference in your game. There’s no question its an investment, but one you won’t regret.

I have yet to take advantage of the adjustable weighted sole plates (I absolutely plan on it), but in the near future (May 2016) you will be able to purchase from Toulon’s Garage the 7-gram aluminum plate, 20-gram stainless steel plate and 40-gram tungsten plate, as they are interchangeable in every Toulon Design putter. In doing so, you will easily be able to vary the putter head weight from 352 grams to 365 grams to 385 grams.

Toulon_Sole_weights

Don’t overlook Toulon Design when looking for a new putter in 2016, and with five models to choose from there’s probably one for you.

To learn more about the company and its products, visit toulondesign.com. 

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW14
  • LOL1
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP5
  • OB2
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending