Connect with us

19th Hole

Tour legend reveals $300+ million offer from the mysterious World’s Affluent Golf League

Published

on

The current turmoil between the PGA Tour, DP World Tour and the LIV Golf Series has led to some genuine bite-back from players such as Rory McIlroy, but also some amusing twists to the plot.

We reported yesterday on Max Homa’s take on the LIV/player negotiations and four-time PGA Tour winner, and renowned joker, Tim Herron, has joined in the fun.

In a tweet posted on Wednesday, the 52-year-old posted a ‘letter’ from the Government of Estovakia, offering an incentive package to join the WAGL – the World’s Affluent Golf League!

The ‘tour’ is offering all its players “5” diameter cups” and permission “to carry 28 clubs.”

Herron – or ‘Lumpy’ as he is better known – has also been offered, apart from a hefty sum of money (mix of crypto and cash), a “120 to 160-ft yacht” – importantly ‘blue or grey’; a “Tyrannosaurus Rex bone”; one 32″ bust of “yourself”, and “4 cases of Orbit chewing gum.”

Surely Lumpy, who is winless since the Colonial in 2006, and who has yet to win on the Champions Tour in two years, will not resist such an offer!

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW9
  • LOL57
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP11
  • OB6
  • SHANK40

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: DP World Tour announces sanctions for LIV golfers…including heavy fines – GolfWRX

  2. Pingback: Freak incident leads LPGA pro to finish round putting with her wedge – GolfWRX

  3. Pat Riley

    Jun 24, 2022 at 1:06 am

    Go heat

  4. Pingback: Xander Schauffele reveals why he turned down ‘obnoxious’ LIV money – GolfWRX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Cam Percy clarifies ‘they’re gone’ comment regarding Cam Smith and Marc Leishman

Published

on

Last week, a report from The Telegraph that claimed Cameron Smith was joining LIV Golf for a contract north of $100 million took the golf world by storm.

And at the FedEx St. Jude Championship, the world No. 2 didn’t deny the reports.

“I’m ready to cop some heat. I understand that’s what I said, but like I said I’m here to win the FedEx Cup playoffs that’s my No. 1 goal and whatever happens after that will come from me.”

Smith also said, “I have no comment to that,” he said. “I’m here to play the FedExCup Playoffs. That’s been my focus the last week and a half, that’s what I’m here to do – I’m here to win the FedExCup Playoffs.”

Many of the rumors regarding Smith began with an interview that fellow Australian Cameron Percy did with the radio station RSN where he said “Unfortunately, yeah, they’re gone,” speaking about both Smith and Marc Leishman.

After a week of constant rumors and reports, Percy stood behind his comments in an interview with Australian Golf Digest.

“Look, I was just conveying what was said in the locker room during the many rain delays we’ve had on tour the past few weeks,” Percy said.

With both the reports of Smith’s joining LIV, Percy’s comments, and Smith’s lack of denial, it seems quite probable the Champion Golfer of the Year will be taking his talents to LIV Golf when the PGA Tour season concludes. That said, only time will tell.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 17
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Justin Thomas slams Will Zalatoris’ mentor for ‘egregious and aggressive’ tweets attacking NBC duo

Published

on

On Sunday, Will Zalatoris was able to outlast Sepp Straka in a three-hole playoff to earn his first PGA TOUR victory at the FedEx St. Jude Championship.

During the tournament, Zalatoris’ mentor and creator of DECADE Golf, Scott Fawcett went off on Twitter in regard to some comments made about Zalatoris by Dan Hicks and Brad Faxon on the broadcast.

Fawcett went on to delete the tweets, but Justin Thomas saved them and later called Fawcett out on his harsh words.

Fawcett has been working with Zalatoris for years and even caddied for him while he was an amateur.

Back in 2015, Zalatoris spoke about how influential Fawcett was on his golf game and at the time said he “has changed the way I play golf.”

“The first time he caddied for me, I told him I picked up 25 years of experience in four rounds. it’s kind of a new way of looking at things, and it’s really helped me.”

Zalatoris also raved about Fawcett back in 2020 saying, “He practically has been an older brother to me. I know a lot of other players have the same feeling about him considering the amount of time he invests in each player.”

Fawcett seemed to take issue with a few of the broadcast’s comments about the 25-year-old. Among them was one comment saying that Zalatoris was being “gifted the win” and another that said he had a “wobbly putter” due to the pressure-packed situation.

Fawcett replied to Thomas’ tweet shortly after.

JT responded again, claiming Faxon wasn’t involved in Thomas’ decision to call Fawcett out.

Amongst the chaos, Brad Faxon took to Twitter to denounce Fawcett’s comments saying: So all you college coaches, and high school coaches this is the guy you want to hire to teach your players? Nice. Scott Fawcett credit to the game” before thanking JT for getting involved: “Thanks Justin Thomas, not sure how this is good for anybody. If Scott has helped Will Zalatoris, he will let everyone know.”

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 73
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW20
  • LOL12
  • IDHT12
  • FLOP6
  • OB5
  • SHANK53

Continue Reading

19th Hole

PGA Tour chief referee explains decision to penalize Cam Smith before Memphis final round

Published

on

After Saturday’s third round of the FedEx St. Jude Championship, Cameron Smith sat at 11 under, which was just two shots back of the lead held by J.J. Spaun. The Champion Golfer of the Year was tied with Will Zalatoris at the time and looked as if he was going to challenge for a victory. He was even the betting favorite on Saturday night, according to DraftKings Sportsbook.

On Sunday morning, things took a peculiar turn. Smith was called in to speak with PGA Tour chief referee, Gary Young. The Australian was assessed a two-shot penalty for playing the ball from the wrong place when playing a shot on the fourth hole of the third round.

According to the PGA Tour, the specific violation was Rule 14.7 on hole No. 4 during the third round as he was operating under Rule 17.1

Young elaborated on the rules violation when speaking to the media.

“We had seen it yesterday on the live broadcast. We had an official that was looking at it, but at that point, just knowing the awkwardness of camera angles and that he was dropping in a really tight area there at No. 4, the geometry of the whole situation, he’s got basically a sliver he’s dropping the ball in.

“We felt very comfortable at that time that he was familiar with the rule, and that it was such a quick view of it that we had, at that time we decided it wasn’t worth following up on.”

Young went on to further discuss the situation: “This is something common that players do every day. After seeing the rebroadcast and seeing it again, we felt that it was pretty close to the line and worth a second look. So we did take a second look at it and sure enough, we felt it was really close to the line, if not touching and possibly on the line. So it was worth asking the player.”

“The rules give the player, as long as the player has shown reasonable judgment in determining whether or not his ball was in or out of the penalty area in this situation with his own naked eye, I thought it was simply going to be a situation where I asked Cam the question and he was going to tell him that he was comfortable that his ball was outside the penalty area.

“When I asked him the question, unfortunately, he said to me, “No, the ball was definitely touching the line.” So at that point there’s no turning back. That was a moment where I know that the player has knowledge that the ball was touching the line, he just simply didn’t understand the rule that it requires the entire ball to be outside of the penalty area and in his relief area. So that was the tough part.”

The timing of the Smith’s penalty raised plenty of questions throughout the golf world. Early last week, it was widely reported that the current number two player in the world was headed to LIV Golf for a deal north of $100 million.

According to Young, Smith accepted the penalty without pushback.

“His answer to me is, “The rules are the rules.” He just accepted the two-stroke penalty, and I told him that we would be applying it to his fourth hole in Round 3 and he very calmly left the office and he’s just going about his business for the day.”

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK23

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending