Connect with us

19th Hole

LPGA pros react with ambivalence to USGA’s new driver-length rule

Published

on

The USGA announced earlier this week that they would be implementing a local rule that limits the driver shaft to 46 inches. While Phil Mickelson was among some of those who were in outrage with new stipulation, LPGA tour pros were far more ambivalent.

The Korda sisters commented on the controversial issue during their press conference for the Aramco Team Series. “No drama,” Jessica stated. “It doesn’t affect us,” Nelly added. This appears to be a common response in the women’s game, which caters to a more finesse and strategic style of play, as opposed to the “bomb and gauge” approach that many PGA Tour pros have employed.

“I would only see something like that as a problem if 90 percent of the field played with something like that. I don’t really see it as a big point. You can do way more with other things– limiting driver heads or balls, stuff like that. I don’t think this rule will change much, especially in the women’s game,” said Anne van Dam, who also happens to rank first on the LPGA Tour in driving distance.

Sophia Popov seemed to sum up the LPGA’s common sentiment best, “I don’t care, because I don’t have a drier that’s longer than 46 inches. I know I heard some criticism on the men’s side, but for us, the shorter the driver is, the harder you can hit it. I don’t think it’s that big a deal… It’s something I just watch from afar and watch on Twitter and laugh about.”

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK10

19th Hole

‘How is this free?’ – Phil Mickelson provides short game instruction video that every golfer should watch

Published

on

On Thursday, Phil Mickelson took to social media to share a tip with amateur golfers.

In the video, he talks about “hand speed, not club head speed”.

He then explains that when chipping, we want “hand speed”, unlike a shot with a driver, when club head speed is more important.

“We don’t want the club accelerating and having the ball jump off the face”

The video is certainly worth watching and any time you can get advice from one of the most creative shot makers in the history of the game, it makes sense to listen!

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The total sum that Sergio Garcia needs to pay in fines if he wants to return to DP World Tour revealed

Published

on

While speaking with Rick Shiels in a video that was recorded in November but aired in February, Sergio Garcia surprisingly revealed that he intended on getting his DP World Tour card back so he could play in another Ryder Cup. In order for the Spaniard to remain a member, he’d have to play in a minimum of four DP World Tour events per season.

“I am going to be a member again of the European Tour,” he said. “I always said that I wanted to, when I joined LIV, keep being a member of the DP World Tour. Obviously, they didn’t make it too easy to be able to do that, I want to give myself the best possibility of playing the Ryder Cup.

“Only playing a handful of events, it is not easy to make it unless you do super well. But I guess at the end of the day if I am eligible, they see I am making the effort and I do well with LIV and I am consistent then at least hopefully I can be considered, not only because of my game but what I can bring to the team, and my history in the event.”

However, it appears Garcia did not apply to play on the DP World Tour and has missed the deadline to do so. While speaking with James Corrigan of The Telegraph, DP World Tour officials are skeptical of Garcia’s efforts.

“Sergio is either in denial or he is completely oblivious to the hurdles he must clear to become a member again.”

Corrigan added that “Officials at Wentworth headquarters were baffled by Garcia’s comments”.

Another major problem for Sergio is the fact that he owes about $1 million in fines to the DP World Tour.

The source told Corrigan:

“Sergio’s statement was bizarre, seeing as he resigned when refusing to pay the first fine,” a source said. “He is probably hoping a deal is worked out in the current negotiations with PIF [the Saudi sovereign wealth fund], and there is an amnesty and a clear pathway back.

“But there is a strong feeling among the tour’s rank and file that the fines will have to be honoured first – and Sergio has only so far offered to pay if he could be considered for the Ryder Cup.

“Let’s just say that as of now his plan is unlikely and there is a stipulation that the regulations for 2024 stipulate that applications for membership can be rejected for any reason whatsoever.”

Clearly, despite Garcia’s words in the Rick Shiels interview, the all-time leading scorer in European Ryder Cup history’s priorities remain elsewhere.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Tour pro calls Anthony Kim a ‘f*****g idiot’ following Instagram comeback post

Published

on

In what’s become a staple of his social media game over the past few seasons, DP World Tour player Eddie Pepperell took to X to call a few LIV golfers “f*****g idiots.”

The Englishman was referring to Talor Gooch’s comments regarding a Rory McIlroy potential Masters victory having an asterisk due to certain LIV players not being in the field.

“If Rory McIlroy completes his Grand Slam without some of the best players in the world, there’s just going to be an asterisk,” Gooch said to Australian Golf Digest.

In terms of Pepperell’s “haters” comment, he was referring to Anthony Kim’s Instagram post, where at the end AK says, “Hello Haters. I’m Back”.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 53
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW4
  • LOL11
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK42

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending