Connect with us

Equipment

Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review – GolfWRXers discuss

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing Costco’s new Kirkland Signature wedges. WRXer ‘johnnied’ has managed to get his hands on a set and has shared his early experiences of the wedges with our members. Check out his review below.

“I PIcked up a set of the new Kirkland wedges at Costco (San Diego Morena) today. $159.99 Came as a set of three; a 52-10, a 56-10 and a 60-8. All lies are 64deg. The 52 is D3, the 56 and 60 is a D4. I went and hit a bucket off of mats, but more on that in a second.

The wedges are a tour chrome finish with a basic plain back with the words Kirkland Signature. The toe has the degrees and bounce inscribed. The face is cross milled and looks like the Vokey SM5’s The bounce pattern is similar to a Vokey “D” grind, and is the same on all wedges. The words “Carbon Steel” are etched into the back of the hosel. The shaft is a stepped pattern in steel. Don’t know whose. The grip is a black composition grip similar to a tour velvet with the words Kirkland Signature on it.

Overall the presentation is nice and professional looking. No razzle dazzle.

I hit the 52-deg first. Swing weight is D3, and it felt fine. I hit it about 105 yds, or about 10 yds shorter than my 50deg, which is expected. Hits and results were repeatable. One thing I found was that the shaft seemed lighter and a little softer than my Vokeys and if I tried to swing hard the head couldn’t catch up fast enough, and it felt like a hockey shot. But just slowing down a little produced the 105 yds over and over again. I could feel the clubhead on the entire swing, which I like. The wedges are tour chrome, and I’m used to black finish so looking down was different, but got used to it after a few shots. Lining the grooves up to the target line was easy.

Now the 56deg. Swing weight is D4, and felt fine. I hit it about 95 yds or about 5 yds shorter than my 54 Vokey (bent to 55). Same thing happened when trying to hit it hard, the shaft tip wouldn’t catch up, so timing was a little bit of an issue. Clubhead feel and lining up was good.

The 60deg has a bounce of 8 deg, is a D4, and seems to have a higher toe than the others.The high tow is good for when you open up the clubface to “loft” it up. Well, this is where the grind becomes a problem. With the “D” grind on the 60deg, opening up the clubface caused the hosel area and back center of the sole to dig. You could see the mat stroke lines at the back of the sole. What should happen is that the center of the sole should be the highest bounce, but because the sole is so deep when you open the clubface the back of the sole and hosel area catches, which closes the clubface, and shots went left.

My first thought was to take it into the garage and change the grind to more of an “M” grind. This would remove metal from the back of the sole and some from the hosel area. But before I do, I thought I’d experiment some more. So I hit some in-between shots and chips.

Chips and pitches were good and predictable. I could control the distance OK. Spin was excellent. Pitching 20-30 yds with the 60deg was the easiest of the three wedges.

I would have no hesitation putting these in my bag but would need a few mods first. 1. I’d grind down the 60deg so I could open up the face without digging. 2. Adjust the lies to 62deg (2 deg flat) and 3, change the grips to Lamkin cords. The last two are personal fitting issues that have nothing to do with the clubs.

So do I keep them or do I take them back?  It was $159 for 3 wedges, great deal. My Vokeys are $184 each. I think I’ll do some grinding and tweeking and see if I can dial these in. And, at $159 I might just see if I can beat my buddy at the helicopter game.”

Our members have been reacting to the review from ‘johnnied’ in our forums.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion at the link below.

  • TheMoneyShot: “Nice review!  I’m kind of surprised these are not being sold online yet.”
  • tbowles411: “Good review.  Thank you.  This will help get people in the game at an affordable price.  Equipment without the excessive markup is great.”
  • nick_CO: “Great review. I might have to drag my buddy who has a membership to Costco to go get a set.”

Entire Thread: “Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review”

Your Reaction?
  • 185
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW8
  • LOL5
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK9

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Ryan Gallier

    Oct 14, 2020 at 4:10 pm

    Can you provide the Costco item number on these wedges? They are impossible to find, and the Costco stores can’t even look it up with out this number. Help us regular folks out who really want to get a hold of these. Thanks.

  2. Long not wrong

    Oct 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm

    This review is useless. He has a preference for a grind and he has a swing that likes his Vokeys. This is a review of his preferences not a review of the product. These wedges were designed for a broad audience not some club tweeker with a grinder and a Mitchell loft/lie machine in his garage. Just like all Kirkland products, people will love these wedges because they are the same product, same quality, similar design, manufactured the same way by the same manufacturers OEM Brands use. I have a set and they are in my bag. BTW, he could have simply read the box to know the shafts are True Temper.

  3. Michaele

    Oct 14, 2020 at 11:00 am

    Hey Kernul …

    You are entitled to your opinion, but your post reeks of effete snobbery. I highly doubt you would be critical in the same way if the brand were Titleist, Callaway, TaylorMade, etc. For all you know, one of those brands may be exactly what they are.

    I don’t know a player with a handicap under 10 who isn’t tweaking their clubs whether it is in a custom fitting process or making changes and adjustments after purchasing the clubs. This is especially true with wedges.

    Adjusting lofts, lies and grips is incredibly common and costs almost nothing. New steel shaft is maybe $40.

    Let’s see … $160 for three wedges, $20 (max) three Tour Velvet grips, $125 for three Project X shafts (about $40 each give or take a few bucks and some elbow grease. Total cost $305 or $102 per club. Three Volkey SM8 wedges with no customization $480 ($160 each as low as it gets for stock setups).

    How’s the golf snob act working for you now? Your words – “Sounds like a perfect fit for you.”

  4. Kernul

    Oct 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

    First, you got hosed on your Vokeys.
    Second, you think the clubs are fine, except you’d change all the lofts, all the lies and all the grips. You also stated repeatedly that the shafts didn’t work for you either.
    Sounds like a perfect fit for you!
    Appreciate the feedback on performance, feel and appearance, but I have trouble believing ANY discerning player would make these their first choice as sold. These are clearly marketed for the starter/novice enthusiast who just want a relatively flat and solid instrument to move their golf ball closer to the hole.

    • Jack Nash

      Oct 14, 2020 at 11:36 am

      These clubs will grow the game. More people playing is what the industry has been lacking for decades. It was always “too pricey” for the avg. player. Now it might not be. How would you like to see some green fees come down? The more people that play the more choice they have and the fees will drop accordingly. I may or may not buy these but the idea is correct. More Golfers are needed, no matter their age.

      • Not gianni

        Oct 14, 2020 at 1:05 pm

        Hahahaha green fees dropping in rates!!! Hahah tell another joke for me please

        • Zuke

          Oct 14, 2020 at 5:10 pm

          If there’s more people playing, rates will go up not down due shortages of tee times. Not to mention it will now even be harder to make a tee time…

  5. phizzy

    Oct 14, 2020 at 9:14 am

    These wedges could be decent with after market steel shafts. I myself have the Miura HB in my 54 and 58, but I would be open to try these with the kbs 610 S+ flex which is what I currently game. Decent price point as well at 160 for the entire set.

    • Kernul

      Oct 14, 2020 at 10:30 am

      These are Kmart prices with inherent Chinese-made, mass-produced, Kmart quality. Costco got fortunate with their golf ball, but just because these wedges have all the expected parts (grip, shaft, club head), it doesn’t make these anywhere near competitive with the big brand names.
      Also, I’m not an employee or representative of above mentioned big brand name companies. Honest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

U.S. retail golf equipment sales exceed record $1 billion mark

Published

on

This summer, golf saw a surge in business as states emerged from COVID lockdown and equipment sales is one of the areas that has been booming.

On Wednesday, Golf Datatech, an industry research firm, announced that U.S. retail golf equipment sales surpassed the $1 billion mark for the third quarter – which is the first time sales have reached $1 billion for July, August and September.

That figure also represents the second-highest quarter ($1.013 billion in Q2, 2008) of all-time, and per Golf Datatech, golf equipment sales for 2020 are up a whopping 42% over the same period in 2019.

Speaking on the incredible surge in equipment sales, John Krzynowek, Partner, Golf Datatech, LLC, said

“The story keeps getting better as golf continues to surge coming out of the shutdown, and Q3 equipment sales suggests that 2020 will likely end up positive for the entire year. Year-to-date sales for total equipment are now up 0.2% compared to 2019, and considering the size of the hole created by the shutdown in April and May this recovery has been nothing short of remarkable. While the US economy will not enjoy a ‘V Shaped Recovery’ in 2020, if golf continues on this trajectory we will be there soon.”

Per the company, the best selling items for September were golf bags at +19% and wedges at +18%, while golf shoes were +2%.

Overall, the golf club category was +0.9% for the month, with balls and gloves trending slightly lower at -2.7%. Krzynowek also revealed that rounds played was another area with surging numbers:

“These month-over-month sales records are unlike anything we’ve ever seen since Golf Datatech started tracking performance data in 1997. Our Rounds Played data also shows similar record-breaking growth over the past several months, which is a strong indication that avid golfers and newcomers alike are driving the sport to new levels right now.”

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

‘Play a big driver. Why not big irons?’ – GolfWRXers discuss

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing the case for big irons. WRXer ‘2Down’ plays a Ping G410+ driver and has recently put Ping’s G710 irons in the bag, saying:

“Wondered how many play a large headed driver and play a draw or fade off the tee but when they pull an iron it’s some blade size thing so they can “work” the ball.

Recently I put G710 in the bag and answered my question for myself. They feel different for sure, but I am quickly adapting to only bringing the putter with me to the green.”

Our members have been discussing the combination in our forums.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • Itsjustagame: “Personal preference but big irons tend to have more bounce, more offset and wider soles some or all of which may not suit a particular player.”
  • Fairway14: “Driver is played from a lie with the ball sitting on a tee, irons are played from a variety of lie types.”
  • J13: “They don’t really make “big” irons for players. Most have offset low CG for high launch, and super strong lofts.”
  • LeoLeo99: “I love my big irons. G400. Best I’ve ever used.”

Entire Thread: “Play a big driver. Why not big irons?”

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

What GolfWRXers are saying about using a 60+ degree wedge

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing the use of 60+ degree wedges. WRXer ‘chipa’ plays a hilly course with small and hard greens and has recently ordered an off-brand 68 degree wedge to see if he can pick up 5-6 lost strokes. Our members have been commenting on the logic of using 60+ degree wedges in our forums.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • PhlashPhace: “I recently made the switch from a 58 to a 60 because I was losing strokes around the green. It took me some getting dialed in from 95-100 with the 54, but now I’m much more effective around the greens, and one of the things I didn’t anticipate was I’m much better from 95 yards with the 54 because it hits and stops rather than generating tons of spin.”
  • MPAndreassi: “My home course small, fast and sloping greens. When I play there, I carry a 64 degree wedge to help pop it up out of the thick rough around the greens, but when I play other courses I drop the 64.”
  • Fairway14: “Cleveland RTX 64* wedge. Good for 50 to 70 yard carry shots.”
  • Phil Major: “I still carry Callaway original PM Grind 64* for those shots and short side bunkers. I can’t live without my 64* wedge! You can close it a little bit to get more spins. I never need to play it open, just straight or close it.”

Entire Thread: “60+ degree wedges”

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending