Connect with us

Equipment

Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review – GolfWRXers discuss

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing Costco’s new Kirkland Signature wedges. WRXer ‘johnnied’ has managed to get his hands on a set and has shared his early experiences of the wedges with our members. Check out his review below.

“I PIcked up a set of the new Kirkland wedges at Costco (San Diego Morena) today. $159.99 Came as a set of three; a 52-10, a 56-10 and a 60-8. All lies are 64deg. The 52 is D3, the 56 and 60 is a D4. I went and hit a bucket off of mats, but more on that in a second.

The wedges are a tour chrome finish with a basic plain back with the words Kirkland Signature. The toe has the degrees and bounce inscribed. The face is cross milled and looks like the Vokey SM5’s The bounce pattern is similar to a Vokey “D” grind, and is the same on all wedges. The words “Carbon Steel” are etched into the back of the hosel. The shaft is a stepped pattern in steel. Don’t know whose. The grip is a black composition grip similar to a tour velvet with the words Kirkland Signature on it.

Overall the presentation is nice and professional looking. No razzle dazzle.

I hit the 52-deg first. Swing weight is D3, and it felt fine. I hit it about 105 yds, or about 10 yds shorter than my 50deg, which is expected. Hits and results were repeatable. One thing I found was that the shaft seemed lighter and a little softer than my Vokeys and if I tried to swing hard the head couldn’t catch up fast enough, and it felt like a hockey shot. But just slowing down a little produced the 105 yds over and over again. I could feel the clubhead on the entire swing, which I like. The wedges are tour chrome, and I’m used to black finish so looking down was different, but got used to it after a few shots. Lining the grooves up to the target line was easy.

Now the 56deg. Swing weight is D4, and felt fine. I hit it about 95 yds or about 5 yds shorter than my 54 Vokey (bent to 55). Same thing happened when trying to hit it hard, the shaft tip wouldn’t catch up, so timing was a little bit of an issue. Clubhead feel and lining up was good.

The 60deg has a bounce of 8 deg, is a D4, and seems to have a higher toe than the others.The high tow is good for when you open up the clubface to “loft” it up. Well, this is where the grind becomes a problem. With the “D” grind on the 60deg, opening up the clubface caused the hosel area and back center of the sole to dig. You could see the mat stroke lines at the back of the sole. What should happen is that the center of the sole should be the highest bounce, but because the sole is so deep when you open the clubface the back of the sole and hosel area catches, which closes the clubface, and shots went left.

My first thought was to take it into the garage and change the grind to more of an “M” grind. This would remove metal from the back of the sole and some from the hosel area. But before I do, I thought I’d experiment some more. So I hit some in-between shots and chips.

Chips and pitches were good and predictable. I could control the distance OK. Spin was excellent. Pitching 20-30 yds with the 60deg was the easiest of the three wedges.

I would have no hesitation putting these in my bag but would need a few mods first. 1. I’d grind down the 60deg so I could open up the face without digging. 2. Adjust the lies to 62deg (2 deg flat) and 3, change the grips to Lamkin cords. The last two are personal fitting issues that have nothing to do with the clubs.

So do I keep them or do I take them back?  It was $159 for 3 wedges, great deal. My Vokeys are $184 each. I think I’ll do some grinding and tweeking and see if I can dial these in. And, at $159 I might just see if I can beat my buddy at the helicopter game.”

Our members have been reacting to the review from ‘johnnied’ in our forums.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion at the link below.

  • TheMoneyShot: “Nice review!  I’m kind of surprised these are not being sold online yet.”
  • tbowles411: “Good review.  Thank you.  This will help get people in the game at an affordable price.  Equipment without the excessive markup is great.”
  • nick_CO: “Great review. I might have to drag my buddy who has a membership to Costco to go get a set.”

Entire Thread: “Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review”

Your Reaction?
  • 305
  • LEGIT37
  • WOW15
  • LOL14
  • IDHT11
  • FLOP8
  • OB7
  • SHANK28

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. Ryan Gallier

    Oct 14, 2020 at 4:10 pm

    Can you provide the Costco item number on these wedges? They are impossible to find, and the Costco stores can’t even look it up with out this number. Help us regular folks out who really want to get a hold of these. Thanks.

  2. Long not wrong

    Oct 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm

    This review is useless. He has a preference for a grind and he has a swing that likes his Vokeys. This is a review of his preferences not a review of the product. These wedges were designed for a broad audience not some club tweeker with a grinder and a Mitchell loft/lie machine in his garage. Just like all Kirkland products, people will love these wedges because they are the same product, same quality, similar design, manufactured the same way by the same manufacturers OEM Brands use. I have a set and they are in my bag. BTW, he could have simply read the box to know the shafts are True Temper.

  3. Michaele

    Oct 14, 2020 at 11:00 am

    Hey Kernul …

    You are entitled to your opinion, but your post reeks of effete snobbery. I highly doubt you would be critical in the same way if the brand were Titleist, Callaway, TaylorMade, etc. For all you know, one of those brands may be exactly what they are.

    I don’t know a player with a handicap under 10 who isn’t tweaking their clubs whether it is in a custom fitting process or making changes and adjustments after purchasing the clubs. This is especially true with wedges.

    Adjusting lofts, lies and grips is incredibly common and costs almost nothing. New steel shaft is maybe $40.

    Let’s see … $160 for three wedges, $20 (max) three Tour Velvet grips, $125 for three Project X shafts (about $40 each give or take a few bucks and some elbow grease. Total cost $305 or $102 per club. Three Volkey SM8 wedges with no customization $480 ($160 each as low as it gets for stock setups).

    How’s the golf snob act working for you now? Your words – “Sounds like a perfect fit for you.”

  4. Kernul

    Oct 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

    First, you got hosed on your Vokeys.
    Second, you think the clubs are fine, except you’d change all the lofts, all the lies and all the grips. You also stated repeatedly that the shafts didn’t work for you either.
    Sounds like a perfect fit for you!
    Appreciate the feedback on performance, feel and appearance, but I have trouble believing ANY discerning player would make these their first choice as sold. These are clearly marketed for the starter/novice enthusiast who just want a relatively flat and solid instrument to move their golf ball closer to the hole.

    • Jack Nash

      Oct 14, 2020 at 11:36 am

      These clubs will grow the game. More people playing is what the industry has been lacking for decades. It was always “too pricey” for the avg. player. Now it might not be. How would you like to see some green fees come down? The more people that play the more choice they have and the fees will drop accordingly. I may or may not buy these but the idea is correct. More Golfers are needed, no matter their age.

      • Not gianni

        Oct 14, 2020 at 1:05 pm

        Hahahaha green fees dropping in rates!!! Hahah tell another joke for me please

        • Zuke

          Oct 14, 2020 at 5:10 pm

          If there’s more people playing, rates will go up not down due shortages of tee times. Not to mention it will now even be harder to make a tee time…

  5. phizzy

    Oct 14, 2020 at 9:14 am

    These wedges could be decent with after market steel shafts. I myself have the Miura HB in my 54 and 58, but I would be open to try these with the kbs 610 S+ flex which is what I currently game. Decent price point as well at 160 for the entire set.

    • Kernul

      Oct 14, 2020 at 10:30 am

      These are Kmart prices with inherent Chinese-made, mass-produced, Kmart quality. Costco got fortunate with their golf ball, but just because these wedges have all the expected parts (grip, shaft, club head), it doesn’t make these anywhere near competitive with the big brand names.
      Also, I’m not an employee or representative of above mentioned big brand name companies. Honest.

      • Scott

        Oct 26, 2020 at 12:36 pm

        Keenul, There is no way for you to know that without testing.

      • Freddie J

        Oct 28, 2020 at 3:23 pm

        Many years ago, probably 34 years, I bought a cheap $3 closeout sand wedge at KMart that kind of looked like the old Pings. It was cheap Chinese junk back in the day when everything from China was junk. It had a sharp edge where you hit into the sand. It was fantastic. It held up well with a decent grip. It got me out of the sand every time. Sadly, I lost it moving.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Best of the 2020/2021 new players irons – GolfWRXers discuss

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing their favorite new players irons. WRXer ‘Theweekday’ is on the hunt for a new set of irons and reaches out to fellow members for their favorite new players irons from the new releases. And our members have been putting forward their best picks in our forum.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • southpawsox: “921 tour are my favorite so far, waiting to see the new Apex pro before pulling the trigger.”
  • hypergolf: “Following are my top 3: 1. Srixon ZX7. 2. Titleist T100s. 3. Titleist CB 620.”
  • aenemated: “Absolutely love my P7MCs.”
  • Stanks: “TMs new irons are awesome. Callaway’s new MB and CB lines are very nice. I haven’t tried the new Srixons, but I can’t get my Z-Forged out of the bag…They are just way too nice.”
  • Lobber: “Callaway X Forged CB 21.”

Entire Thread: “Best of the 2020/2021 new players irons”

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

TaylorMade MyTP putter program allows golfers to customize Juno, Soto designs

Published

on

taylormade-mytp-putters

Building on the success of its MySpider program, TaylorMade is introducing MyTP, a custom-design platform for its TP line of putters.

The traditional shapes of the TP line’s Juno and Soto models can be customized in 11 areas. And whether golfers prefer the more rounded appearance of the Soto or the more squared-off look of the Juno, the bevy of opportunities to customize these blades offers myriad unique design possibilities.

TaylorMade MyTP putter program

From colors, to engraving, to stamping, finish and sightlines, MyTP brings “an extensive level of personalization to a traditional line of blade putters, delivering an ideal blend of the classic and the modern,” says Bill Price, Senior Director of Product Creation, Putter & Wedge.

TaylorMade MyTP putter program 1

TaylorMade MyTP color and personalization options, below

  • Head Finish – Classic Silver or Jet Black
  • Hosel – Juno; L Neck and Long Neck. Soto; Flow Neck and Long Neck
  • Custom Engraving – 4 characters on both the toe and heel bumpers. Choose from 12 different paintfills
  • Sight Line – Five different sight line options include no line, single line in cavity, dot on topline, single line on topline and double line in cavity with 12 different paint fills
  • Face Insert – Nine different paint options for the Pure Roll insert
  • TP Cavity Badge – The TP insignia on the back of the putter blade can be personalized with 10 different color options
  • Cavity Screws – The weighted screws on the back of the putter blade can be personalized with 8 different color options
  • Sole Weights – Choose from 3 different finishes: Stainless Steel, Gun Metal, and Copper
  • TaylorMade Weight Logo – Embossed within the sole weights, the subtle TaylorMade logo can be personalized with 12 different color options
  • Juno/Soto and TaylorMade Logos – The adjacent logos on the sole of the putter can be personalized with 12 different color options
  • Shaft Color – Classic Chrome and Black

TaylorMade MyTP putter program 1

MyTP: Specs, pricing, and availability

  • MyTP is live on TaylorMadeGolf.com today
  • Retail price: $325
  • Length options span from 32-37 inches
  • Select grip offerings from SuperStroke, Golf Pride, and Lamkin

TaylorMade MyTP putter program 1

Stay tuned to GolfWRX on Instagram for an awesome MyTP giveaway. 

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW3
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Classifieds (12/1/20): TaylorMade SIM “Rocket”, Custom Olson, Callaway Apex MB raw

Published

on

At GolfWRX, we love golf equipment plain and simple.

We are a community of like-minded individuals that all experience and express our enjoyment for the game in many ways. It’s that sense of community that drives day-to-day interactions in the forums on topics that range from best driver to what marker you use to mark your ball, it even allows us to share another thing – the equipment itself.

One of the best ways to enjoy equipment is to experiment and whether you are looking to buy-sell-or trade (as the name suggests) you can find almost anything in the GolfWRX BST Forum. From one-off custom Scotty Cameron Circle T putters, to iron sets, wedges, and barely hit drivers, you can find it all in our constantly updated marketplace.

These are some of the latest cool finds from the GolfWRX BST, and if you are curious about the rules to participate in the BST Forum you can check them out here: GolfWRX BST Rules

Member Bomber_11 – Raw Callaway Apex MB irons

Classic simple and classy blades are only made better without chrome plating and if rust is your thing, don’t rest on this set.

To see the full listing and additional pictures check out the link here: Raw Apex MB

Member darrickpe – TaylorMade SIM “Rocket” fairway

“Rocket” really is the best way to describe the strong-lofted TaylorMade SIM fairway wood. Whether it be off the tee or from the deck, if you catch this thing on the screws it launches rockets!

To see the full listing and additional pictures check out the link here: TaylorMade SIM fairway

Member Puma74 – Custom Olson putter

Mamma Mia!!! This putter has everything a custom putter lover could ever want – mint condition, weld neck, lovely milled face… the only other thing you could possibly want would be to get it at a lower price, but good luck!

To see the full listing and additional pictures check out the link here: Olson Putter

Remember that you can always browse the GolfWRX Classifieds any time here in our forums: GolfWRX Classifieds

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending