Connect with us

Equipment

Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review – GolfWRXers discuss

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing Costco’s new Kirkland Signature wedges. WRXer ‘johnnied’ has managed to get his hands on a set and has shared his early experiences of the wedges with our members. Check out his review below.

“I PIcked up a set of the new Kirkland wedges at Costco (San Diego Morena) today. $159.99 Came as a set of three; a 52-10, a 56-10 and a 60-8. All lies are 64deg. The 52 is D3, the 56 and 60 is a D4. I went and hit a bucket off of mats, but more on that in a second.

The wedges are a tour chrome finish with a basic plain back with the words Kirkland Signature. The toe has the degrees and bounce inscribed. The face is cross milled and looks like the Vokey SM5’s The bounce pattern is similar to a Vokey “D” grind, and is the same on all wedges. The words “Carbon Steel” are etched into the back of the hosel. The shaft is a stepped pattern in steel. Don’t know whose. The grip is a black composition grip similar to a tour velvet with the words Kirkland Signature on it.

Overall the presentation is nice and professional looking. No razzle dazzle.

I hit the 52-deg first. Swing weight is D3, and it felt fine. I hit it about 105 yds, or about 10 yds shorter than my 50deg, which is expected. Hits and results were repeatable. One thing I found was that the shaft seemed lighter and a little softer than my Vokeys and if I tried to swing hard the head couldn’t catch up fast enough, and it felt like a hockey shot. But just slowing down a little produced the 105 yds over and over again. I could feel the clubhead on the entire swing, which I like. The wedges are tour chrome, and I’m used to black finish so looking down was different, but got used to it after a few shots. Lining the grooves up to the target line was easy.

Now the 56deg. Swing weight is D4, and felt fine. I hit it about 95 yds or about 5 yds shorter than my 54 Vokey (bent to 55). Same thing happened when trying to hit it hard, the shaft tip wouldn’t catch up, so timing was a little bit of an issue. Clubhead feel and lining up was good.

The 60deg has a bounce of 8 deg, is a D4, and seems to have a higher toe than the others.The high tow is good for when you open up the clubface to “loft” it up. Well, this is where the grind becomes a problem. With the “D” grind on the 60deg, opening up the clubface caused the hosel area and back center of the sole to dig. You could see the mat stroke lines at the back of the sole. What should happen is that the center of the sole should be the highest bounce, but because the sole is so deep when you open the clubface the back of the sole and hosel area catches, which closes the clubface, and shots went left.

My first thought was to take it into the garage and change the grind to more of an “M” grind. This would remove metal from the back of the sole and some from the hosel area. But before I do, I thought I’d experiment some more. So I hit some in-between shots and chips.

Chips and pitches were good and predictable. I could control the distance OK. Spin was excellent. Pitching 20-30 yds with the 60deg was the easiest of the three wedges.

I would have no hesitation putting these in my bag but would need a few mods first. 1. I’d grind down the 60deg so I could open up the face without digging. 2. Adjust the lies to 62deg (2 deg flat) and 3, change the grips to Lamkin cords. The last two are personal fitting issues that have nothing to do with the clubs.

So do I keep them or do I take them back?  It was $159 for 3 wedges, great deal. My Vokeys are $184 each. I think I’ll do some grinding and tweeking and see if I can dial these in. And, at $159 I might just see if I can beat my buddy at the helicopter game.”

Our members have been reacting to the review from ‘johnnied’ in our forums.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion at the link below.

  • TheMoneyShot: “Nice review!  I’m kind of surprised these are not being sold online yet.”
  • tbowles411: “Good review.  Thank you.  This will help get people in the game at an affordable price.  Equipment without the excessive markup is great.”
  • nick_CO: “Great review. I might have to drag my buddy who has a membership to Costco to go get a set.”

Entire Thread: “Costco Kirkland Signature wedge review”

Your Reaction?
  • 366
  • LEGIT49
  • WOW23
  • LOL20
  • IDHT17
  • FLOP10
  • OB10
  • SHANK45

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

13 Comments

13 Comments

  1. david

    Jun 22, 2021 at 3:10 pm

    Marketing: it’s amazing how powerful it is…put a name like vokey on a wedge or Scotty on a putter and you can charge $400 plus! I’m a 3.2 index and mostly due to my short game. My Cleveland tour wedges are getting old so being cheap I decide to try the Kirklands. The grips are too small, and the 60 degree is a half inch shorter, but here’s what I’ve found so far; I need to get used to them. At first I hit some poor shots, but having gone to the range I’m hitting the same as my Clevelands, distance and proximity wise. I always say; you can and will adapt to any club you play. If you’re on a tour you can make small adjustments with your clubs. I play amateur events and can putt usually better with my 1960 tourney MacGregor blade putter than most guys with their $500 fancy putters. bottom line; once I got used to these Kirklands they are giving me the same result…but I do practice a lot.

  2. Ryan Gallier

    Oct 14, 2020 at 4:10 pm

    Can you provide the Costco item number on these wedges? They are impossible to find, and the Costco stores can’t even look it up with out this number. Help us regular folks out who really want to get a hold of these. Thanks.

  3. Long not wrong

    Oct 14, 2020 at 12:50 pm

    This review is useless. He has a preference for a grind and he has a swing that likes his Vokeys. This is a review of his preferences not a review of the product. These wedges were designed for a broad audience not some club tweeker with a grinder and a Mitchell loft/lie machine in his garage. Just like all Kirkland products, people will love these wedges because they are the same product, same quality, similar design, manufactured the same way by the same manufacturers OEM Brands use. I have a set and they are in my bag. BTW, he could have simply read the box to know the shafts are True Temper.

  4. Michaele

    Oct 14, 2020 at 11:00 am

    Hey Kernul …

    You are entitled to your opinion, but your post reeks of effete snobbery. I highly doubt you would be critical in the same way if the brand were Titleist, Callaway, TaylorMade, etc. For all you know, one of those brands may be exactly what they are.

    I don’t know a player with a handicap under 10 who isn’t tweaking their clubs whether it is in a custom fitting process or making changes and adjustments after purchasing the clubs. This is especially true with wedges.

    Adjusting lofts, lies and grips is incredibly common and costs almost nothing. New steel shaft is maybe $40.

    Let’s see … $160 for three wedges, $20 (max) three Tour Velvet grips, $125 for three Project X shafts (about $40 each give or take a few bucks and some elbow grease. Total cost $305 or $102 per club. Three Volkey SM8 wedges with no customization $480 ($160 each as low as it gets for stock setups).

    How’s the golf snob act working for you now? Your words – “Sounds like a perfect fit for you.”

  5. Kernul

    Oct 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

    First, you got hosed on your Vokeys.
    Second, you think the clubs are fine, except you’d change all the lofts, all the lies and all the grips. You also stated repeatedly that the shafts didn’t work for you either.
    Sounds like a perfect fit for you!
    Appreciate the feedback on performance, feel and appearance, but I have trouble believing ANY discerning player would make these their first choice as sold. These are clearly marketed for the starter/novice enthusiast who just want a relatively flat and solid instrument to move their golf ball closer to the hole.

    • Jack Nash

      Oct 14, 2020 at 11:36 am

      These clubs will grow the game. More people playing is what the industry has been lacking for decades. It was always “too pricey” for the avg. player. Now it might not be. How would you like to see some green fees come down? The more people that play the more choice they have and the fees will drop accordingly. I may or may not buy these but the idea is correct. More Golfers are needed, no matter their age.

      • Not gianni

        Oct 14, 2020 at 1:05 pm

        Hahahaha green fees dropping in rates!!! Hahah tell another joke for me please

        • Zuke

          Oct 14, 2020 at 5:10 pm

          If there’s more people playing, rates will go up not down due shortages of tee times. Not to mention it will now even be harder to make a tee time…

  6. phizzy

    Oct 14, 2020 at 9:14 am

    These wedges could be decent with after market steel shafts. I myself have the Miura HB in my 54 and 58, but I would be open to try these with the kbs 610 S+ flex which is what I currently game. Decent price point as well at 160 for the entire set.

    • Kernul

      Oct 14, 2020 at 10:30 am

      These are Kmart prices with inherent Chinese-made, mass-produced, Kmart quality. Costco got fortunate with their golf ball, but just because these wedges have all the expected parts (grip, shaft, club head), it doesn’t make these anywhere near competitive with the big brand names.
      Also, I’m not an employee or representative of above mentioned big brand name companies. Honest.

      • Scott

        Oct 26, 2020 at 12:36 pm

        Keenul, There is no way for you to know that without testing.

      • Freddie J

        Oct 28, 2020 at 3:23 pm

        Many years ago, probably 34 years, I bought a cheap $3 closeout sand wedge at KMart that kind of looked like the old Pings. It was cheap Chinese junk back in the day when everything from China was junk. It had a sharp edge where you hit into the sand. It was fantastic. It held up well with a decent grip. It got me out of the sand every time. Sadly, I lost it moving.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

2021 GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide: Golf gifts for the Value Seeker

Published

on

It’s that time of year again, GolfWRX members, the moment we start filling our wish lists with the golf gear we want this holiday season.

The GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide was created to ensure that our readers give (and hopefully receive) the very best golf gifts on the planet. These gift ideas will suit any budget, and each item was hand-picked by our staff.

In an effort to provide more value and tailored recommendations, we’re presenting our guide as a series this year, targeting “the purist,” “the gearhead,” “the value seeker,” “the golfer looking to improve,” “the clothes horse,” and “the big spender.”

You know the value seeker by his/her eschewing of anything that will put a significant dent into the wallet while still getting the most from their game, this includes equipment, practice tools, or anything else you might find filling out a golf bag – maybe even the golf bag itself.

Here are our best recommendations for “the value seeker” in your life.

Tour Edge Hot Launch C522, E522 drivers – $249.99

You can read all the tech details of the C522 (competition spec) and E522 (extreme spec) Hot Launch metal woods in our launch piece. But the most important point here for the Value Seeker is Tour Edge continues to deliver the best bang for your buck in the business.

Buy here.

Haywood Golf Signature Irons – $675

“Carefully crafted, consciously priced” – Haywood Golf’s signature irons are a two-piece hollow body design that incorporates a soft 431 stainless steel body welded to a hardened heat-treated 17-4 stainless steel face. The irons feature high launch characteristics and have proved a big hit with golfers, with progressively reduced offset designed to provide added forgiveness (more about the company here).

Buy here.

GoGoGoSport GS24 rangefinder – $70

70 bucks with a Black Friday discount? The Value Seeker loves that. Measuring range from 5 to 650 yards, with +/- 1m high accuracy and 6x magnification. The flagpole locking function supports a distance up to 150 yards (flagpole only) and 250 yards (aim the flag when it’s unfolded)

Buy here.

Kirkland Signature 3-piece wedge set – $169.99

The Kirkland Signature 3-piece golf wedge set dropped last year (read our launch piece here) and has provided players with a quality wedge set at a super affordable price. At just $169.99, golfers can have a 52 degree GW, 56 degree SW and 60 degree lob wedge, all with milled face technology without having to break the bank.

Buy here.

Whoop 4.0 – $30/month (+$30 to join)

How about having a personalized digital fitness and health cost all for an annual price of $360? Used by many Tour pros, including Justin Thomas and Nelly Korda, the Whoop 4.0 comes free with your membership and provides real-time feedback on your sleep, training, recovery, and health, plus in-app coaching features golfers and athletes optimize performance.

Through the Whoop app, you’ll be able to receive personalized insights and actionable feedback based on your unique data, behaviors, and goals — with a strain ‘coach’, sleep ‘coach’ as well as a behavioral journal to make sure you are at your optimal condition to start shooting low rounds.

Buy here.

Stitch SL1 Golf Bag – $208.80

With a current reduction of $140, value seekers won’t want to miss their chance of owning the Stitch SL1 golf bag. Weighing in at just 57 oz, the bag is designed using Stitch touring fabric in design for durability, lightweight as well as water resistance. 

Perfect for those that travel or players that walk the course, the SL1 bag is a minimalist’s dream with limited storage and a single strap for a vintage feel.

Buy here.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

2021 GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide: Gifts for the Gearhead

Published

on

It’s that time of year again, GolfWRX members, the moment we start filling our wish lists with the golf gear we want this holiday season.

The GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide was created to ensure that our readers give (and hopefully receive) the very best golf gifts on the planet. These gift ideas will suit any budget, and each item was hand-picked by our staff.

In an effort to provide more value and tailored recommendations, we’re presenting our guide as a series this year, targeting “the purist,” “the gearhead,” “the value seeker,” “the golfer looking to get better,” and “the big spender.”

You know the gearhead by his/her tired eyes from scouring the GolfWRX forums late into the night and his penchant for bringing two bags to the course—the gamer set and a bag full of demo clubs and shafts.

Here are our best recommendations for “the gearhead” in your life.

TaylorMade MySIM2 – $629.99

What’s better than a TaylorMade SIM2 (top 5 in GolfWRX’s Members Choice)? How about one in custom colors? Five different options for personalization including the aluminum ring, topline paint, and more.

Buy here

1withGolf bag – Varies

What gearhead wouldn’t want — nay, need — a custom golf bag? And when it comes to the combination of customization and quality, we can’t recommend 1withGolf enough.

A personalized and customized golf bag makes for a super cool, special, and memorable holiday gift. 1withGolf has over 135 color combinations for you to choose from and has the fastest turnaround in the industry.

Besides custom bags, their Xpress 3.5, Xpress 4.0, Xpress 14-way stand bags, and Z-100 15-way cart bags are all lightweight and of great quality with sleek design. They are full of consumer-friendly features to provide extra comfort on the course.

Buy here

Cobra King GrandSport-35 – $349.99

What screams gearhead in 2021 more than “3D printed putter?” Cobra’s King GrandSport-35 is 3D printed and folds in Sik’s DLT face to complete this ingredient-intensive gearhead stew. Yum!

Buy here

Rapsodo MLM – $499.99

Rapsodo’s MLM is the only launch monitor that uses the power of your iPhone or iPad to provide immediate feedback on launch data, instant video replay and active shot trace. Recognized by industry leaders for its pro-level accuracy for shot distance, ball speed, club speed, shot shape, smash factor, launch angle, and launch direction, the MLM is uniquely positioned and priced and merits a long look as you weigh your launch monitor options.

Buy here 

Fujikura Ventus – $350

Winner of GolfWRX’s Member Choice for best shaft and one of the most-played wood shafts on the PGA Tour, the Fujikura Ventus hype train rolled on in 2021 — and for good reason: Velocore is no joke in terms of dispersion control, particularly on off-center hits. Black, Blue, and Red target three distinct ball flights and deliver on all three fronts.

Buy here

Vokey WedgeWorks T Grind – $199

The T Grind is a Voke original, inspired by work with a former Titleist Brand Ambassador, fine-tuned by the master craftsman and Aaron Dill. The characteristics reflect the great hands of the inspiration; this is a low-bounce wedge with a narrow crescent surface. Unique from the L Grind, this wedge has a wider back flange, which creates unique playing characteristics and allows for a lower measured bounce, in addition to the narrow bounce surface.

Buy here

 

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL4
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Equipment

2021 GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide: Golf gifts for the Big Spender

Published

on

It’s that time of year again, GolfWRX members, the moment we start filling our wish lists with the golf gear we want this holiday season.

The GolfWRX Holiday Gift Guide was created to ensure that our readers give (and hopefully receive) the very best golf gifts on the planet. These gift ideas will suit any budget, and each item was hand-picked by our staff.

In an effort to provide more value and tailored recommendations, we’re presenting our guide as a series this year, targeting “the purist,” “the gearhead,” “the value seeker,” “the golfer looking to get better,” and “the big spender.”

You know the big spender by his/her when the math “golf bag + 14 clubs = more than the value of your car…and maybe house.”

Here are our best recommendations for “the big spender” in your life (and yes, in this scenario, you are a big spender as well).

Vessel LUX LE Midsize Staff Bag – $475

Vessel has long been one of the biggest luxury golf bag makers, and the new Lux LE Midsize Staff bag continues the tradition. Many of us love full-size staff bags but hate the weight, so Vessel scaled down the size, but not the quality or the features. Tons of pockets, including a lined cooler pocket, all accessible while on a cart. Premium leather touch-points, quilted stitching, and microfiber wrapped club dividers finish off the build.

Buy here

Ecco Biom Cool Pro – $260

If you know, then you know. Ecco has the reputation of making some of the most comfortable and durable shoes in golf. The new Boom Cool Pro includes Boa technology for a secure and comfortable fit without traditional laces. Gore-Tex Surround makes these 100 percent waterproof and the Tri-Fit-Grip sole gives you traction in any lie.

Buy here

ForeSight GC3 Sim-In-A-Box – $14,995

A complete golf simulator, with 20 courses, ready to go in one package. The new Foresight CG3 launch monitor is the heart of this offering. Featuring three high-speed cameras for great accuracy and shot data, the CG3 can be used indoors or out. FSX 2020 simulator and FSX Pro performance tool software are included along with an impact screen, projector, turf, hitting mat, and even a computer cart!

Buy here

Garia Supersport – $88,696

Is it a road-legal car or a golf cart? How about both? Garia has been making super high-end golf carts for a while now, and the Supersport is the wildest to date. From hand-stitched leather steering wheels and specially designed lounge seating to full carbon fiber body panels the Supersport sets itself apart from anything else. Powered by lithium and packed with technology, the Supersport even comes with a built-in fridge to keep your beverages cool when an emergency 9 is needed!

More info here

Rolex Day-Date 40 in 18ct Gold – $36,550

I know it isn’t a piece of golf equipment, but a Rolex is what the majority of PGA Tour players wear when they are holding trophies. The Day-Date is what Jack wore for decades and is considered THE gold luxury timepiece. The Day-Date has been nicknamed the “President” because of the President bracelet and since it has been worn by many presidents and world leaders over the years. This 228238 reference is made from solid 18ct gold and contains a Calibre 3255 self-winding automatic movement that is Swiss certified to be extremely accurate. Not only do you get the date window at 3 o’clock, but you get the day of the week displayed at 12 o’clock.

More info here

OXEFit XP1 – $35,000

Strength training meets supercomputer! Every golfer is taking fitness seriously and there isn’t a fitness machine more serious than the XP1. Digital weight training, motion sensors, and machine-learning track your movement to ensure you are using proper form and reducing strain. A 43-inch touchscreen controls everything from what exercises, how much weight, a rep counter, and even acts as a mirror to ensure you are doing everything correctly. The XP1 can create workouts where each rep can increase or decrease weight by specific amounts to really dial in the workout. Look out, Bryson!

More info here

Louis Vuitton Andrews Golf Kit – $915

Named after the most famous golf course in the world, this kit is an expensive way to carry three golf balls and four tees. Black Louis Vuitton patterned leather with a zippered opening allows you access to the three LV logoed golf balls. The four tees are held to the outside of the case, so they are easy to grab when you need to re-tee. A chrome clip holds this accessory to your bag.

Buy here

Gibbons Handmade Crocodile Belt – $489

While the Anthony Kim-inspired belt buckles are a thing of the past, high-quality leather belts are still in high demand. Gibbons has many exotic leathers and colors to choose from, but it is tough to deny that saltwater crocodile is one of the best. The iconic crocodile “horns” run down the center of the belt and perfect squared edges show off the handmade quality. These are custom made, so you know it will fit, and with so many colors to choose from, you know it will match or contrast your favorite outfit.

Buy here

Zen Green Stage – $24,000

All golfers dream about having their own simulator and putting green at home and Zen Golf makes those dreams come true. Their Green Stage is a large adjustable platform that can bring more realism to putts and full shots. It mechanically adjusts so you can hit breaking, and double breaking, putts as well as hit full shots from uneven lies! The Green Stage connects to your WiFi and you can control the whole thing from your phone or tablet!

More info here

Scotty Cameron Circle T Prototype Phantom X T-12 – $4,750

Scotty Cameron putters are hard to get your hands on but the putters he makes for professional players, Circle T, are even rarer! This tour only Phantom X T-22 prototype has a welded FloJet neck and twin 10g weights in the sole. Scotty doesn’t make the FloJet neck on a retail Phantom, so this is a true custom. The face and center section is made from a single piece of milled 6061 aluminum while the outer “wings” are milled from 303 stainless steel. This design creates a higher MOI design with plenty of stability to keep putts on their intended line.

Buy here

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending