Connect with us


Patrick Reed slapped with a 2-stroke penalty for moving sand in waste bunker



Overnight leader Patrick Reed incurred a two-stroke penalty after twice moving sand from behind his ball on the 11th hole at the Hero Challenge during Friday’s round.

The contentious incident was caught on camera as Reed took practice swings before executing the shot on the par-5. You can make your mind up by watching the video below.

Reed incurred a general penalty (two strokes) under Rule 12-3 for improving his lie which was assessed following his round – changing his score of bogey six on the hole to a triple-bogey eight.

Following his round, Reed spoke to the media where he claimed that it was the camera angle which made it look as if he had improved his lie.

“It’s unfortunate because even though they weren’t, I wish they were actually directly on the side of me, because it was in a pretty good footprint but the footprint was a full footprint, and I felt like my club was that far behind the ball when I was actually taking the practice strokes which I felt like I was taking it up and it was obviously hitting a little sand.

I didn’t feel it drag, but then when they brought it up to me it definitely did drag some of the sand and because of that it’s considered a two-stroke penalty. I didn’t feel like it really would have affected my lie, I mean every time I get in the bunker I’m scared to even get my club close to it, it was that far away, but whenever you do that if it does hit the sand, just like if you’re in a hazard area and you take a practice swing and it brushes grass and the grass breaks, it’s a penalty.

So because of that and after seeing the video, I accept that, and it wasn’t because of any intent, I thought I was far enough away. I think with a different camera angle they would have realized that if it was from the side you would have seen that with the backswing it was not improving the lie because it was far enough away from the golf ball. But after seeing that camera angle, because it brushed the sand it was a penalty.”

Your Reaction?
  • 14
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW10
  • LOL5
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK46

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito



  1. Billie Smith

    Jan 7, 2020 at 9:38 am

    This fat guy is a cheater and a liar. He should be kicked out of the PGA he’s the trump of golfers.

  2. Rich Douglas

    Dec 9, 2019 at 6:59 pm

    It was a waste bunker, not a penalty area. So one question wasn’t whether he touched the sand, but whether or not he improved his lie.

    He did. That means the penalty.

    The bigger question is whether or not he knew it at the time. The answer to this gets at his integrity. Breaking a rule isn’t unethical, but knowing you did and not reporting it is.

    I’ll answer the second question with my own question: How could he NOT know after doing it TWICE?

  3. DB

    Dec 9, 2019 at 8:31 am

    LOL I don’t buy his story at all. His club was nestled right up against the ball. He’s not even good at lying.

  4. Ardbegger

    Dec 8, 2019 at 2:19 pm

    That was Reed’s rep back in college. Old habits die hard.

  5. FairwayFraud

    Dec 7, 2019 at 11:30 am

    This is unreal. Reminds me of when my bud Patrick used his dirty cords to clean his ball and then proceeded to put it back in a better lie.

  6. V

    Dec 7, 2019 at 1:44 am

    Either way, the new rules never should have allowed any grounding of the club in a hazard. This rule should be overturned back to what it used to be, no grounding allowed whatsoever in any kind of hazard.

    • Joey D

      Dec 7, 2019 at 11:35 am

      It wasn’t a hazard!

      • R

        Dec 7, 2019 at 5:14 pm

        You don’t play golf obviously

        • Joey D

          Dec 7, 2019 at 7:31 pm

          R – Apparently you are not capable of comprehending what ‘V’ said – calling it a hazard. It is not a hazard! That is a fact!!!

      • DougE

        Dec 9, 2019 at 12:22 pm

        Waste bunkers are not hazards. Grounding club has always been legal in them. But you were never allowed to improve a lie anywhere on the course other than when a local rule permits it or it’s a lift/clean/place round by choice of the committee.

  7. HumanLabRat

    Dec 7, 2019 at 12:01 am

    I did this all day today.???? Kicked my ball, moved it, bumped it, played a second ball,etc. Hadn’t played in months because of an arm injury and trying to get my game back. Don’t worry it was only a practice round and no posting, tournament, match, or playing for money.????????

  8. The Taint

    Dec 6, 2019 at 10:40 pm

    He learned this absurd behavior from his idol Eldrick.

  9. Dan Carraher

    Dec 6, 2019 at 9:20 pm

    Patrick Reed should have done what fake nice guy cheater Matt Kuchar did and just use his fingers to pick as much sand away as he pleased. No penalty for cheater Kuchar…

    • Russell

      Dec 7, 2019 at 11:39 am

      Dan: You are correct about Matt Kuchar – he is a fake nice guy and he is a known cheater. Pretty worthless guy for those that really (REALLY) know him…

      • James

        Dec 7, 2019 at 12:10 pm

        Don’t forget cheater Rory McIlroy for standing on a cart path and pretending he was going to swing through a tree to try to get a drop at WGC Mexico.

  10. Poley

    Dec 6, 2019 at 8:46 pm

    He just got caught, does not surprise anyone. Accidental or intentional — Give me a break – he should get 2 years.

  11. jay jones

    Dec 6, 2019 at 6:09 pm

    Twice, blatant. Unfair to the other players.

    …and a Reed pattern.

    • Ray Rones

      Dec 6, 2019 at 6:25 pm

      …and something jay jones does every week at the local pitch and putt, thus his vanity handicap.

      • jay jones

        Dec 6, 2019 at 6:45 pm

        phhh…but I make sure I’m not on camera.

  12. Iain Gold

    Dec 6, 2019 at 5:24 pm

    Why would the camera angle change anything. He moved sand making a practice swing directly behind the ball and that was his intended swing direction, thus he improved his lie.

    • T

      Dec 7, 2019 at 1:42 am

      Because he’s saying that the clubhead wasn’t directly behind the ball, that it was a good few inches away, as opposed to the camera angle that made it look closer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Morning 9: Match 2: The most-watched golf telecast ever | Rory: Players don’t want fan-less Ryder Cup | Justin Thomas aces broadcast debut



1. 5.8 million average viewers for The Match
AP report…”Two of the biggest names from the PGA Tour and the NFL proved to be must-see TV.”
  • “Turner Sports said the Sunday telecast of “The Match: Champions for Charity” attracted an average of 5.8 million viewers across four of its networks. Turner says it was the most-watched golf telecast in cable TV history.”
  • “It said the previous record was 4.9 million viewers on ESPN at the 2010 Masters, the year Tiger Woods returned to golf for the first time since the scandal in his personal life.”
  • “Woods and Peyton Manning scored a 1-up victory over Phil Mickelson and Tom Brady at Medalist Golf Club, a match that featured high entertainment with shots and with words, along with raising $20 million for COVID-19 relief funds.”
2. Shackelford’s take
A few observations from the scribe…“While still an overnight, it easily bests the previous week’s relief fund match that drew a 1.5 and total of 2.3 million viewers across three channels, including a 1.5 rating on NBC and a .24 on Golf Channel).”
“More incredibly, this means The Match 2 out-rated any major championship round on cable.”
“Given a so-so promotional run-up, a slow start to the show (caused in part by a slight weather delay) a dreary day to watch, and a long telecast, the rating is a stunning statement about the remaining star power of the contestants.”
3. JT’s TV debut
Adam Woodard at Golfweek…”That said, whenever he decides to put down the clubs, he should immediately pick up a mic.
The former Alabama star made his broadcast debut as an on-course reporter on TNT/TBS alongside CBS Sports’ Amanda Balionis on Sunday during The Match: Champions for Charity, which saw Tiger Woods and Peyton Manning defeat Phil Mickelson and Tom Brady. Thomas received rave reviews from golf Twitter during and after the event. He was brilliant. His rapport with Woods and Mickelson allowed them to open up on a different level compared to the original The Match in 2018.”
“Most importantly, Thomas didn’t overdo anything. Unlike some broadcasters, he knew fans weren’t watching for him and he never once tried to steal the spotlight. He didn’t speak just to talk. When he had something to say, it was insightful or funny. Like a golfer picking out which holes he can attack and score on, Thomas picked his spots on where to interject throughout the broadcast like someone who’s been doing it for years, let alone a day.”
4. Tiger looked terrific 
Bob Harig writes…”For the first time in 98 days, we got to see Woods in action. And the last time we saw him, he didn’t look good. Woods shot 77 at Riviera Country Club on Feb. 16 and finished last among those who made the cut at the Genesis Invitational. And he complained that his back was stiff”
  • …”Woods hasn’t played since but neither has anyone else. And the time off has done him some good.”
  • “Woods didn’t miss a fairway. His swing looked smooth and in rhythm. He hit some deft pitch shots and a really nice long bunker shot. And all of this in difficult, rainy conditions.”
  • “It was just a charity match, but he looked pretty good. Who knows when Woods will resume his schedule when the PGA Tour returns next month, but his game looks good to go.”
5. Rory McIlroy: ‘Majority of players’ want 2020 Ryder Cup postponed until 2021 
Adam Woodard at Golfweek…”Rory McIlroy has a hunch about the Ryder Cup, and it’s one that golf fans around the world aren’t going to like.”
  • “In an interview with BBC Sport, the world No. 1 said: “My personal hunch is that I don’t see how it is going to happen, so I do not think that it will happen.”
  • “Wisconsin’s Whistling Straits is scheduled to host the 2020 Ryder Cup Sept. 25-27, but amid the coronavirus pandemic the event would most-likely take place without fans (if held at all).”
  • “I think the majority of players would like to see it pushed back until 2021 so that they can play in front of crowds and have the atmosphere that makes the Ryder Cup so special,” explained McIlroy. “The players are the ones that make the Ryder Cup. If they are not on board with it and don’t want to play then there is no Ryder Cup.”
Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading


The DailyWRX: What’s buzzing on social media (5/25/2020)



Gotta say, The Match: Champions for Charity, was a fun escape from reality and further fueled the “we need golf back” fire. I dedicate this DailyWRX to The Match, thanks for thrills boys.

No matter how hard you try to make this a meme…

It’s Tom Brady. He wins….always, no matter what. He’s a Mount Rushmore guy.

This gave me goosebumps…

Its an exhibition match for charity, and I’m over here jacked up like its Balboa vs. Drago. SMH. I love TW.

View this post on Instagram

Sunday red is back. ????

A post shared by PGA TOUR (@pgatour) on


To all of it.


Please just run for President and get it over with, you got my vote… perpetuity. I mean hellacious seeds? Yes I want hellacious seeds. Please.

DM @johnny_wunder

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading


Justin Rose, Honma officially part ways



Justin Rose and Honma Golf have officially severed ties, per a joint statement released Friday evening.

Former World No. 1 and current World No. 14, Rose (previously a TaylorMade staffer) made waves in the equipment industry when he signed on as a full-bag Honma staffer at the beginning of 2019. He made waves again in late February when he arrived at PGA National with a TaylorMade SIM driver in his bag.

The next week, at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Rose swapped out his remaining Honma wares for a TaylorMade SIM Max fairway wood, a Cobra Speedzone Pro 5-wood, TaylorMade P730 irons, and TaylorMade and Titleist wedges.

Full text of the statement from Honma/Rose below

“Honma Golf Limited (“Honma”) announces that, following a successful partnership with the former No. 1 player in the world, Honma and Justin Rose have agreed that Justin will no longer be one of Honma’s brand ambassadors. We are proud to have been a key part of Justin’s journey to regain his position as World Number 1 in early 2019, including a win at the Farmers Insurance Open in his second event with Honma equipment in play.”

“For over a year, Justin worked closely with our team to help develop innovative and top­ performing lines of Honma woods and irons. His pursuit of perfection, approach to product testing and feedback has produced great value to Honma. Justin’s expert input and desire for maximum ball speed inspired our team to make the Honma TR20 460 and 440 drivers among the fastest drivers in the game. Consistently, and excitingly, our nationwide team of fitters are seeing the new TR20 460 and TR20 440 drivers produce some of the fastest speeds on the market. We wish him the very best in his pursuit of more majors and career success,” said John Kawaja, President Honma Golf North America.”

“I have enjoyed working with the Honma team and collaborating closely with them to design and develop excellent golf equipment. I was able to see firsthand the innovations that the craftsmen at Honma bring to their clubs. I am hopeful that during our time of partnership, we have laid the groundwork for Honma to continue to expand their brand. We both feel it is the right time to pursue our own paths,” said Justin Rose.”

Per Honma PR: “This will be the official statement and we are unable to provide any further comments”

Your Reaction?
  • 83
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW13
  • LOL33
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP13
  • OB10
  • SHANK81

Continue Reading