Connect with us

Equipment

Review: Miura MC-501

Published

on

Pros: The most forgiving blade you’ll ever hit. Miura has made what seems like the hugest oxymoron in golf clubs that we club buyers have been dreaming of!

Cons: The Miura MC 501s are only offered to right-handed golfers. My lefty friends again are going to have to wait and hope that Miura will bring this superior work of golf art to life.

Bottom Line: The Miura MC-501, the newest weapon from Miura golf in their blade line, is the newest weapon for more than just the better golfer. If you’ve been loving the look of Miura blades and have felt that you just weren’t good enough to play them, this might be the model you’ve been waiting to try. All the superior looks Miura has been famous for, the butter-soft feel and a touch of forgiveness in an amazing package!

Overview

Miura has famously made some of the most gorgeous irons ever produced in the world. Their muscle back blades have garnered cult status and many of the better players have always gravitated towards their designs. They have made cavity back irons but the models that have drawn the most attention from all skill levels are the muscle backs. Unfortunately those muscle backs weren’t for everyone but the very low handicaps.

The MC-501 is the muscle back model that was made to change that. It is the longest heel to toe blade model they’ve ever made. Through engineering they’ve repositioned 20 grams of weight to the sole, which not only made the sole wider but moved the center of gravity to allow ease in getting a higher trajectory. The MC-501 also incorporates Yoshitaka Miura’s iconic Y-grind sole that blunts and softens the club head’s leading edge and improves turf interaction.

Precision forged from S25C carbon steel in Miura’s factory in Himeji, these clubs were developed under the most stringent and fastidious craftsmen that you could only wish were making your set.

The MC-501 is are available from authorized Miura dealers/fitters worldwide. They carry a suggested retail price of $260 a club, though the prices may vary with different shaft options.

Clubs tested

  • Miura MC-501 iron set
  • 4-iron through pitching wedge
  • KBS CT95 shafts/Japan Exclusive Model, Black Finish
  • Elite Y360SV grips from Japan

Entire set custom fit and built at Miura Authorized Fitting Center, Aloha Golf Center Las Vegas.

Performance

My initial test with the MC-501s put an immediate smile on my face. My favorite muscle back and club line from Miura has always been the MB-001. There were a few shortcomings in the MB-001, but the looks and feel always made me forget them. The MC-501 seemed to address the shortcomings of the MB-001 perfectly — particularly in the missed shots. Users whose misses tend to be thin will find the movement of weight toward the sole generously allows them a bit of forgiveness and help in trajectory usually lost than other traditionally shaped muscle backs.

Users who want to work the ball will also find the MC-501s play similarly to the MB-001s despite that added forgiveness. I had to work them a little harder but I was able to move the ball either left or right with no issues. They were a little more similar in playability to the CB-57 line than the MB-001.

The Yoshitaka Miura Y Grind sole allows the usual clean strike at impact and great interaction with the turf. There is no digging and it gives a very positive thump sound to your shots. This sole grind also helps to thin the look of the wider sole. Probably the widest sole offered on any Miura muscle back. Although wide, the MC-501 never played clunky, as you might expect upon an initial look, they instead played just like all the other pure Miura blades.

The long irons were where the MC-501s particularly shined. I have never hit a Miura muscle back 4-iron with such ease. Naturally, the design of the head afforded much more forgiveness in launch, yet I was still able to knock down shots when I needed to. The MC-501, being longer heel-to-toe than any other Miura muscle back, also assist it in having much greater forgiveness in the long irons.

The short irons were definitely precision tools. From PW to 7-iron, the distance with them were consistent and playability perfect. There were no hot spots on the face and Miura’s pure forging made solid shots particularly delightful. I marveled at how accurately these clubs hit their distances once you dialed them in. This is a feature I have not been able to replicate in the filled hollow head irons from many other brands.

Forgiveness was much greater in the MC-501 versus other muscle backs from Miura like the Tournament Blade, MB-001 or Baby Blades. This was immediately obvious upon using them. The loss in yardage with thin shots was lessened, and the trajectory was much more consistent due to the design of the head.

Looks and Feel

The MC-501s have a look all of their own in the Miura lineup. The X-like design on the back almost makes you feel like they have superhero qualities! They will definitely take some getting used to if you’re a long-time user of Miura blades, but for those who aren’t as familiar, the look may appear as an exciting change to the standard muscle back.

The beautiful satin finish, which Miura has come to be the standard bearer of, appeals so much to my senses. Miura clubs are one of the few lines that I can sit and just stare at the head, marveling at the beauty that was once just a raw piece of steel. Miura’s ability to produce golf art is something many club companies strive to meet, but some miserably fail at.

The black Miura logo and name prominently in the main middle muscle of the head and a simple MC-501 stamped towards a toe just continues the classy look of Miura. There’s no need for screw heads, fancy colored paint fill, decals, and other fluff. This is just a pure Japanese forged golf club at its highest level.

For what Miura has touted as its most forgiving iron, the top line at address does not make you feel like you’re playing some huge cavity back. It’s as thin as you would expect a Miura muscle back to be. For blade lovers, and past Miura blade users, the top line will not disappoint you. The toe on the MC-501 appears more square than past muscle backs. I personally like a rounder toe, but the squareness does give a look of a bigger face — something that might please those who want a bit of a more forgiving look. The squared toe and shape of the head frames the ball well, and its easy to align the clubs.

The MC-501 design transitions very well through the set. When you line them up on a wall and look at the heads as they transition from the short to the long irons, the shapes blend perfectly. I think Miura is one of the finest makers when it comes to the transitioning of irons in their sets.

The MC-501 is a joyful feeling in your hands. Once you hit a pure strike with them, that clean, pure feeling of the ball striking the face will take your breath away. I don’t know what they put in the steel in Himeji, Japan, but I’ve yet to feel any other brand of club that makes me smile so much after hitting its clubs. The MC-501 in my humble opinion is one extremely fine feeling line of clubs.

The Takeaway

Katsuhiro Miura’s philosophy is one of not just making a new club to come out with something new, but to improve on what the company already offers. The MC-501 is the amalgamation of all his past irons and the top of their club evolutionary chain. With its eye-catching looks, superior feel, and added forgiveness, the MC-501 is a great gateway club for people wanting to try their first Miura club.

The MC-501 is also the club for current Miura muscle back users who would appreciate more forgiveness in their current set and are just not ready to move to full on cavity back irons. I, for one, am getting older and it has occurred to me to switch over to more forgiving shapes and jacked up lofts. The MC-501 is the club that will keep me playing a few more years in the designs I love to look at!

 

Your Reaction?
  • 287
  • LEGIT24
  • WOW23
  • LOL4
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK15

Reid's been an avid golfer for more than 40 years. During that time, he's amassed quite a putter collection and has become one of GolfWRX's leading equipment nuts. Reid tries all the latest equipment in hopes of finding the latest and greatest of them all to add to his bag. He was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where the courses are green and the golf is great!

61 Comments

61 Comments

  1. MP32

    Dec 13, 2018 at 10:00 pm

    Are you saying these are more forgiving than MP-32? I doubt it. Miura has gone to shi† in the past few years. Their clubs look like Chinese knockoffs.

  2. Lefty

    Dec 12, 2018 at 7:22 am

    All good – Fujimoto MB made for us Lefties – perfect feel and performance – I love previous model Miura left blades but Fujimoto better

  3. ogo

    Dec 11, 2018 at 7:49 pm

    There is no technological advantage to these clubs over any other forged blades built in the last 10 years… they are only ‘new toys’ for the geardeads seeking a solution to their rotten game… and desire to own the latest greatest clubs on the market…

    • Rano

      Dec 12, 2018 at 5:30 am

      You have a personality disorder ogo.

      • ogo

        Dec 14, 2018 at 12:12 am

        … you call “sanity” a “personality disorder” ??!!!!

  4. rex235

    Nov 30, 2018 at 3:30 am

    Soon it will be 2019…

    “…going to have to WAIT and HOPE that Miura will bring this superior work of golf art to life.”

    “…WAIT-Wait for what?!” Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life”

    For all of their great club designs, Miura remains RH ONLY.

    Not like some left handed golfer recently won any match or anything…

    • ogo

      Dec 10, 2018 at 10:22 pm

      Left handedness is considered to be evil in Japanese society… sinistra (Latin)… and failure will befall you.

  5. ogo

    Nov 27, 2018 at 7:05 pm

    Why has Miura put a big slug of steel behind the impact zone on the front of the club? This reduces the club MOI and makes it noticeably less forgiving.
    No toe weighting compromises the deadly toe hit so common with recreational golfers with double digit handicaps and up.

    • learnsomething

      Dec 10, 2018 at 10:06 am

      So go get the MB 5005s if that’s your complaint.

      • ogo

        Dec 10, 2018 at 10:18 pm

        No complaint… just a valid question on club design. Also a valid observation on rec golfer failures. What’s bugging you?!!

        • Paul

          May 19, 2019 at 3:40 pm

          How many years have u been designing/ making clubs for ogo can I buy one of your sets as they must be incredible with all your knowledge behind them.

  6. Nihonsei

    Nov 26, 2018 at 8:11 pm

    Loved my T-Zoid Pros, 1st set I bought myself. Japanese clubs are the closest I get to having any of my grandfather’s sword collection (donated to war cause) and I would give these a go, in fact, I would Love these if it were cheaper than the 919s. I’ll just reshaft my MP 59s and see your money in the clubhouse!

  7. W

    Nov 26, 2018 at 1:43 pm

    Can you say Tzoid by Mizuno circa 1999. Not a whole lot can be done with a blade, move cg, maybe wider sole.

  8. steve

    Nov 25, 2018 at 9:33 pm

    FAKE FORGED WARNING!!!
    The Miura hosels are NOT 100% forged, they have a steel pipe welded to the forged club body.
    Mizunos are 100% grain flow forged from toe to hosel as are most other true forged clubs.

    • JP

      Nov 26, 2018 at 12:19 pm

      Thank God I don’t hit the ball off the hosel.

      • steve

        Nov 26, 2018 at 2:31 pm

        Yes… hitting the ball on the toe is the usual mis-hit mistake. The OEM solution is to place a slug of heavy tungsten into the toe area to cover up the perpetual disaster.

    • Keith

      Dec 6, 2018 at 3:31 pm

      The hosel is forged separately… watch the video

      • ogo

        Dec 14, 2018 at 12:16 am

        … and there is a disconnecting weld ring to attach the hosel tube to the forged body…. a hi-tech solution to a forged club design??!!!

        • oohmatron

          Dec 14, 2018 at 6:01 pm

          ogo your ignorance in most of your answers is pitiful. Spin welding is not the same as gas or arc welding. Better to remain silent and be considered a fool than to post on here and remove all doubt.

          • ogo

            Dec 15, 2018 at 1:52 am

            Okay, but friction spin welding alters the steel grain structure so that the clubhead forge grain is not the same as the steel pipe grain… because of the mechanical friction… sheesh…. now all the gearheads are confused even more… 😮

  9. Point misser

    Nov 25, 2018 at 9:05 pm

    Not too many folks out there who wouldn’t benefit from a more forgiving iron…maybe 20 or 30 folks in the world. It’s great that Miura continues to find a market

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 9:24 pm

      No such thing as a “forgiving iron” if you consistently hit way out on the toe or at the heel. No way to engineer out bad mis-hits and bad face alignment. Find another sport if you are searching to be rescued by clubhead design.

      • dave

        Dec 10, 2018 at 8:40 pm

        ogo. you havent tried the wilson forged c300 then. literally toe hits stay on line and go 100 percent distance. its amazing. i formed this opinion way before reading their sales promos stating that hits toward the toe actually get the most help from design. im a believer for sure. i sold my set cause i simply hit them too far. but i love loved them.

        • ogo

          Dec 11, 2018 at 7:46 pm

          If you love your Wilson Forged clubs then hold on to them lovingly… even take them to bed with you if your love of them is so inclined to do so… cold steel is not my idea for ‘love’…

  10. ogo

    Nov 25, 2018 at 7:06 pm

    Miura clubheads are forged separately from the hosel which is just a steel pipe welded to the forged clubhead. They still stamp “Forged” on the pipe hosel which is misleading. (Mizuno forge the head and hosel together.)
    https://miuragolf.com/the-miura-way/forging-process/#forging

    • MP-4

      Nov 27, 2018 at 12:37 am

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLWo9LzkQNQ

      Less voids in the hosel steel with the spin welded hosel.

      Solid club all the way through.

      Try a Miura club, the steel quality is noticeably higher.

      • ogo

        Nov 27, 2018 at 7:01 pm

        So Miura “forged” irons have a forged clubhead with no hosel… a weld ring… a steel tube hosel….. and you don’t notice a discontinuity between the clubhead and hosel?
        A “solid club” is all-forged steel piece with no welds. How can you determine higher quality by “trying a Miura club”? Feeel is not a consistent standard.

  11. Tom Duckworth

    Nov 25, 2018 at 4:27 pm

    They are great looking irons and I bet they play great if you have the game for them. That would go for any blades. If you don’t well blame it on the clubs right?
    I wonder how many sets of any Miuras are on tour?

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:58 pm

      Miura has performance built into these beauty blades. Just look at the melliferous musclebacks on these clubs. Too bad they only come in right hand models.

      • ogo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:25 pm

        Lefties can try to hit these beauties cross-handed… if they love them so much.

    • Jerry G

      Dec 16, 2018 at 2:24 am

      MIura does not pay to play, but players have used them – KJ Choi won a few tournaments with them, including a Players. Titleist had some blades made for them in the late ’90s and supposedly Tiger played them.

  12. Nut Butter

    Nov 25, 2018 at 3:44 pm

    Over rated

  13. MP-4

    Nov 24, 2018 at 7:18 pm

    Some of the best looking clubs ever.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:38 am

      … only if you are superficial and ignorant about golf club design.

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:48 pm

      … and “looks” are everything when you load your WITB arsenal of flaccid weapons.. ppfffttt

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:52 pm

      Yes… absolutely the best looking clubs ever…

      • jimbo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:27 pm

        Better have a spiffy wardrobe if you want to appear in public with these beauties… no jeans and skateboard shoes.

  14. Bubbert

    Nov 24, 2018 at 6:22 pm

    Beautiful clean design … most club making companies could learn from this.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:37 am

      Nope… these are bottom and back-weighted blades most suitable for rich duffers who can’t get the ball up up up. Also the slug of metal behind the sweet spot is intended to provide a buttery impact feel.. and highlight the Miura logo for status and show. The design is a compromise by stretching them out from heel-to-toe to increase MOI.

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:51 pm

      That’s not a “clean design”; it’s a silly design with irrelevant grooves, lumps of metal on the back and it’s stretched out from heel to toe to make it clunky and oversized. These are not compact muscleback club designs. They are designed to attract rich duffers seeking status.

      • Piter

        Dec 4, 2018 at 1:43 pm

        Agree. Made me wonder why they call them blades, maybe just because they have a thin topline? I thought that term came from looking like the blade of a knife, so more like the Titleist MB or TM730 or so.

        Anyway, beauty is in tthe eye of the beholder. I don’t like the blob in the middle of the back either but that’s just me.

        • SKip

          Dec 7, 2018 at 3:08 pm

          It’s literally MC-501 or “Muscle Cavity”. So they never claim it to be a full MB model.

          • Piter

            Dec 7, 2018 at 4:05 pm

            Correction noted. I should have said “the author of the article calls them blades”.

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:53 pm

      Yes… beautiful clean design that will result in great feel and lovely performance.

      • jimbo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:29 pm

        No… lovely feel and great performance… get your grammar straight.

  15. lance

    Nov 24, 2018 at 3:32 pm

    Love at first sight!! I’m left-handed but I will practice right-handed so I can own these gorgeous Muira musclebacks. OoOoOoOoOooooooh… I’m trembling with {{{love love love}}}

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:53 pm

      … and “love” conquers all… even a banana slice and shank.

  16. Brian H.

    Nov 24, 2018 at 12:43 pm

    Moz I think your feel is a little different than most.. Miura uses the softest steel. Check your “feel”.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:44 am

      I believe the Brinell Hardness of the Miura steel is ~120 HB…. which makes them plenty soft.

  17. Moz

    Nov 24, 2018 at 9:36 am

    Mizunos feel way softer. These Miuras feel clunky

    • Gunter Eisenberg

      Nov 24, 2018 at 10:14 am

      How would you know?? Did you actually swung one?

      • Moz

        Nov 25, 2018 at 3:28 am

        Yes, I hit a bunch of them with all kinds of different shafts, at the clubs I visit there are many wealthy people who have jumped onto the bandwagon, and they all act flash but they all say they’re not as great as they were told

        • joey

          Nov 25, 2018 at 2:56 pm

          That ‘clunky’ feel is due to slight off-center hits with a club that has been stretched out from heel-to-toe in an attempt to increase the MOI for duffers who can’t hit on the sweet spot.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:49 am

      That’s because the Mizuno are completely Flow Forged from a single steel blank that combines the clubhead and hosel… while the Miuras have a steel tube hosel welded to the forged club body… and that dulls the “feeeel”.

      • Hack

        Nov 26, 2018 at 9:55 am

        Aren’t these just a redo of the Mizuno T-Zoid irons that Faldo played so well with for a time? Minor changes for certain but nothing new here….

      • oohmatron

        Dec 14, 2018 at 6:07 pm

        More laughable and ill informed nonsense from a self-impressed fool. Your risible and ill-informed comments always make me laugh and serve to reiterate your lack of knowledge and/or general education. Be quiet little man, nobody takes you seriously on here.

        • ogo

          Dec 15, 2018 at 1:57 am

          … and all you do is fling sh!t and hoping some of it will stick to make you look good … you pedantic pr!ck ….

        • ogo

          Dec 15, 2018 at 1:59 am

          … and all you do is fling sh!† and hoping some of it will stick to make you look good … you pedan†ic pr!k ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Stitch headcovers

Published

on

Product: Stitch headcovers

Pitch: From Stitch: “Your game should match your style. At Stitch, we aim to merchandise our line of products so you can easily put together items that not only match your bag and what is it in it, but also match your style and personality. We want to make it easy for you to have a unique and color-coordinated golf bag. We have designed unique products that have defined color schemes so that choosing which items to put in your bag becomes easier. We aim to provide you with various looks, mixing and matching our head covers to give you confidence that the purchase you make for your bag will take you to the course in style. Let us help you dress your game.”

Our Take On Stitch Headcovers

Stitch is a relatively new company – founded in 2012. The company initially only created premium headcovers but has grown into so much more, with all sorts of golfing accessories now on offer on their site StitchGolf.com. Their bags, in particular, are now some of the most popular amongst golfers, with the quality and uniqueness provided leading multiple Tour players to sport them in tournament play.

That sign of quality in the bags bodes well for what the company was founded on – their headcovers. Stitch provides both leather and knit headcovers in a variety of designs that do as good a job as any in covering the needs of all golfers.

Stitch describes the companies Monte Carlo headcover as being their “classic, timeless design”, and for those looking for that vintage style to add to their set up then they can’t go wrong with this headcover. A mainstay in the likes of multiple tour winner Paul Casey’s bag, the Monte Carlo headcover, as with all of the companies leather covers, is hand-crafted from 100% leather and is both water and stain resistant. The cover comes in four color codes: Black, White, Navy and Red, and at $68 is the most affordable of all their leather headcovers.

Other options in the leather department range from their intricately designed Camo cover which comes in a multiple color design, as well as Stitch’s tribute to “The King”, through their Arnold Palmer headcover.

The AP cover comes in a minimalist black with white stripes for a classic feel, but it also comes in a white color code decorated with red, white and yellow stripes which, for myself at least, looks even more alluring. Part of an exclusive collection, the only issue with the AP cover is that only those located in the U.S. are currently eligible to get their hands on one. But for those in the states, the company is now offering a set of three AP leather covers for $128 instead of $298 should you use the code APLEATHERS on their site.

From their Tour Racer, USA, Shamrock and Bonesman editions, Stitch provides a great choice when it comes to their leather covers, and as previously mentioned, all are hand-crafted from 100% leather, water and stain resistant and will assure an excellent fit on your clubs.

Stitch also provides knit headcovers which contain not only excellent designs but also the same quality which has gone into their leather covers. All of the companies knit covers are made from Techno Wool, which is 100% acrylic and designed in order for your clubs to stay entirely dry. Another feature of the knit covers from Stitch is their smart fit design which ensures all of the covers retain their shape over a long period, as well as providing for a cover that will reliably stay on your club.

The knit covers from Stitch cost $68 ($72 for the limited AP cover), and there are currently seven different designs available to choose from over at StitchGolf.com. The leather covers are, unsurprisingly, a little pricier, but still very affordable, ranging from $68-$98. The covers deliver in both style and performance, and for a relatively new company, it speaks volumes that the likes of Jim Furyk, Paul Casey, Bryson DeChambeau and many more tour pros are now sporting the company’s creations.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Equipment

Bettinardi signs Jason Kokrak (he’ll play custom Tour Department DASS BB8 Triplane putter)

Published

on

Bettinardi Golf has announced Jason Kokrak as the latest player to join the companies Tour staff, and the Canadian will play the companies custom Tour Department DASS (Double-Aged Stainless Steel) BB8 Triplane putter.

Kokrak began using the Tour Department DASS BB8 Triplane putter which features Bettinardi’s  F.I.T. Face Milling at the Honda Classic back in February. Since then, the 34-year-old has risen over 40 places in the Official World Golf Ranking up to 65th, and he has also leapt 30 spots in this season’s strokes gained: putting category in the same period.

Speaking on the new partnership, Kokrak praised the “quality, touch, and feel of the putter” from Bettinardi.

“Since switching to a Bettinardi putter earlier this year, I have been so impressed with the quality, touch, and feel of the putter. Bettinardi has the ability to craft anything I want from a solid block of metal, all milled in the USA. This was a big confidence boost to my putting and I look forward to a great partnership.”

Speaking on the addition of Kokrak to the companies tour staff, Robert Bettinardi, President and Founder of Bettinardi Golf stated

“Since switching to a Bettinardi putter earlier this year, I have been so impressed with the quality, touch, and feel of the putter. Bettinardi has the ability to craft anything I want from a solid block of metal, all milled in the USA. This was a big confidence boost to my putting and I look forward to a great partnership.”

Kokrak will next tee it up at the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Course next month after finishing T23 at last week’s PGA Championship.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

Forum Thread of the Day: “Mark O’Meara’s Scotty Cameron putter”

Published

on

Today’s Forum Thread of the Day showcases Mark O’Meara’s Scotty Cameron flat-stick. The 62-year-old is teeing it up at the Senior PGA Championship from Oak Hill this week, and his putter has impressed our members, who in particular have praised the clean finish and sole shape of the flat-stick.

Here are what our members are saying about the putter, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • BearQ: “Clean. Love the sole.”
  • Bdmac79: “Looks similar to Tiger’s and Rickie’s with the neck placement. I would guess that he’s had it for a bit.”
  • mBiden2: “So fresh and so clean, clean!”

Entire Thread: “Mark O’Meara’s Scotty Cameron putter”

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending