Connect with us

Equipment

Review: Miura MC-501

Published

on

Pros: The most forgiving blade you’ll ever hit. Miura has made what seems like the hugest oxymoron in golf clubs that we club buyers have been dreaming of!

Cons: The Miura MC 501s are only offered to right-handed golfers. My lefty friends again are going to have to wait and hope that Miura will bring this superior work of golf art to life.

Bottom Line: The Miura MC-501, the newest weapon from Miura golf in their blade line, is the newest weapon for more than just the better golfer. If you’ve been loving the look of Miura blades and have felt that you just weren’t good enough to play them, this might be the model you’ve been waiting to try. All the superior looks Miura has been famous for, the butter-soft feel and a touch of forgiveness in an amazing package!

Overview

Miura has famously made some of the most gorgeous irons ever produced in the world. Their muscle back blades have garnered cult status and many of the better players have always gravitated towards their designs. They have made cavity back irons but the models that have drawn the most attention from all skill levels are the muscle backs. Unfortunately those muscle backs weren’t for everyone but the very low handicaps.

The MC-501 is the muscle back model that was made to change that. It is the longest heel to toe blade model they’ve ever made. Through engineering they’ve repositioned 20 grams of weight to the sole, which not only made the sole wider but moved the center of gravity to allow ease in getting a higher trajectory. The MC-501 also incorporates Yoshitaka Miura’s iconic Y-grind sole that blunts and softens the club head’s leading edge and improves turf interaction.

Precision forged from S25C carbon steel in Miura’s factory in Himeji, these clubs were developed under the most stringent and fastidious craftsmen that you could only wish were making your set.

The MC-501 is are available from authorized Miura dealers/fitters worldwide. They carry a suggested retail price of $260 a club, though the prices may vary with different shaft options.

Clubs tested

  • Miura MC-501 iron set
  • 4-iron through pitching wedge
  • KBS CT95 shafts/Japan Exclusive Model, Black Finish
  • Elite Y360SV grips from Japan

Entire set custom fit and built at Miura Authorized Fitting Center, Aloha Golf Center Las Vegas.

Performance

My initial test with the MC-501s put an immediate smile on my face. My favorite muscle back and club line from Miura has always been the MB-001. There were a few shortcomings in the MB-001, but the looks and feel always made me forget them. The MC-501 seemed to address the shortcomings of the MB-001 perfectly — particularly in the missed shots. Users whose misses tend to be thin will find the movement of weight toward the sole generously allows them a bit of forgiveness and help in trajectory usually lost than other traditionally shaped muscle backs.

Users who want to work the ball will also find the MC-501s play similarly to the MB-001s despite that added forgiveness. I had to work them a little harder but I was able to move the ball either left or right with no issues. They were a little more similar in playability to the CB-57 line than the MB-001.

The Yoshitaka Miura Y Grind sole allows the usual clean strike at impact and great interaction with the turf. There is no digging and it gives a very positive thump sound to your shots. This sole grind also helps to thin the look of the wider sole. Probably the widest sole offered on any Miura muscle back. Although wide, the MC-501 never played clunky, as you might expect upon an initial look, they instead played just like all the other pure Miura blades.

The long irons were where the MC-501s particularly shined. I have never hit a Miura muscle back 4-iron with such ease. Naturally, the design of the head afforded much more forgiveness in launch, yet I was still able to knock down shots when I needed to. The MC-501, being longer heel-to-toe than any other Miura muscle back, also assist it in having much greater forgiveness in the long irons.

The short irons were definitely precision tools. From PW to 7-iron, the distance with them were consistent and playability perfect. There were no hot spots on the face and Miura’s pure forging made solid shots particularly delightful. I marveled at how accurately these clubs hit their distances once you dialed them in. This is a feature I have not been able to replicate in the filled hollow head irons from many other brands.

Forgiveness was much greater in the MC-501 versus other muscle backs from Miura like the Tournament Blade, MB-001 or Baby Blades. This was immediately obvious upon using them. The loss in yardage with thin shots was lessened, and the trajectory was much more consistent due to the design of the head.

Looks and Feel

The MC-501s have a look all of their own in the Miura lineup. The X-like design on the back almost makes you feel like they have superhero qualities! They will definitely take some getting used to if you’re a long-time user of Miura blades, but for those who aren’t as familiar, the look may appear as an exciting change to the standard muscle back.

The beautiful satin finish, which Miura has come to be the standard bearer of, appeals so much to my senses. Miura clubs are one of the few lines that I can sit and just stare at the head, marveling at the beauty that was once just a raw piece of steel. Miura’s ability to produce golf art is something many club companies strive to meet, but some miserably fail at.

The black Miura logo and name prominently in the main middle muscle of the head and a simple MC-501 stamped towards a toe just continues the classy look of Miura. There’s no need for screw heads, fancy colored paint fill, decals, and other fluff. This is just a pure Japanese forged golf club at its highest level.

For what Miura has touted as its most forgiving iron, the top line at address does not make you feel like you’re playing some huge cavity back. It’s as thin as you would expect a Miura muscle back to be. For blade lovers, and past Miura blade users, the top line will not disappoint you. The toe on the MC-501 appears more square than past muscle backs. I personally like a rounder toe, but the squareness does give a look of a bigger face — something that might please those who want a bit of a more forgiving look. The squared toe and shape of the head frames the ball well, and its easy to align the clubs.

The MC-501 design transitions very well through the set. When you line them up on a wall and look at the heads as they transition from the short to the long irons, the shapes blend perfectly. I think Miura is one of the finest makers when it comes to the transitioning of irons in their sets.

The MC-501 is a joyful feeling in your hands. Once you hit a pure strike with them, that clean, pure feeling of the ball striking the face will take your breath away. I don’t know what they put in the steel in Himeji, Japan, but I’ve yet to feel any other brand of club that makes me smile so much after hitting its clubs. The MC-501 in my humble opinion is one extremely fine feeling line of clubs.

The Takeaway

Katsuhiro Miura’s philosophy is one of not just making a new club to come out with something new, but to improve on what the company already offers. The MC-501 is the amalgamation of all his past irons and the top of their club evolutionary chain. With its eye-catching looks, superior feel, and added forgiveness, the MC-501 is a great gateway club for people wanting to try their first Miura club.

The MC-501 is also the club for current Miura muscle back users who would appreciate more forgiveness in their current set and are just not ready to move to full on cavity back irons. I, for one, am getting older and it has occurred to me to switch over to more forgiving shapes and jacked up lofts. The MC-501 is the club that will keep me playing a few more years in the designs I love to look at!

 

Your Reaction?
  • 296
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW25
  • LOL4
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK19

Reid's been an avid golfer for more than 40 years. During that time, he's amassed quite a putter collection and has become one of GolfWRX's leading equipment nuts. Reid tries all the latest equipment in hopes of finding the latest and greatest of them all to add to his bag. He was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where the courses are green and the golf is great!

61 Comments

61 Comments

  1. MP32

    Dec 13, 2018 at 10:00 pm

    Are you saying these are more forgiving than MP-32? I doubt it. Miura has gone to shi† in the past few years. Their clubs look like Chinese knockoffs.

  2. Lefty

    Dec 12, 2018 at 7:22 am

    All good – Fujimoto MB made for us Lefties – perfect feel and performance – I love previous model Miura left blades but Fujimoto better

  3. ogo

    Dec 11, 2018 at 7:49 pm

    There is no technological advantage to these clubs over any other forged blades built in the last 10 years… they are only ‘new toys’ for the geardeads seeking a solution to their rotten game… and desire to own the latest greatest clubs on the market…

    • Rano

      Dec 12, 2018 at 5:30 am

      You have a personality disorder ogo.

      • ogo

        Dec 14, 2018 at 12:12 am

        … you call “sanity” a “personality disorder” ??!!!!

  4. rex235

    Nov 30, 2018 at 3:30 am

    Soon it will be 2019…

    “…going to have to WAIT and HOPE that Miura will bring this superior work of golf art to life.”

    “…WAIT-Wait for what?!” Jimmy Stewart as George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life”

    For all of their great club designs, Miura remains RH ONLY.

    Not like some left handed golfer recently won any match or anything…

    • ogo

      Dec 10, 2018 at 10:22 pm

      Left handedness is considered to be evil in Japanese society… sinistra (Latin)… and failure will befall you.

  5. ogo

    Nov 27, 2018 at 7:05 pm

    Why has Miura put a big slug of steel behind the impact zone on the front of the club? This reduces the club MOI and makes it noticeably less forgiving.
    No toe weighting compromises the deadly toe hit so common with recreational golfers with double digit handicaps and up.

    • learnsomething

      Dec 10, 2018 at 10:06 am

      So go get the MB 5005s if that’s your complaint.

      • ogo

        Dec 10, 2018 at 10:18 pm

        No complaint… just a valid question on club design. Also a valid observation on rec golfer failures. What’s bugging you?!!

        • Paul

          May 19, 2019 at 3:40 pm

          How many years have u been designing/ making clubs for ogo can I buy one of your sets as they must be incredible with all your knowledge behind them.

  6. Nihonsei

    Nov 26, 2018 at 8:11 pm

    Loved my T-Zoid Pros, 1st set I bought myself. Japanese clubs are the closest I get to having any of my grandfather’s sword collection (donated to war cause) and I would give these a go, in fact, I would Love these if it were cheaper than the 919s. I’ll just reshaft my MP 59s and see your money in the clubhouse!

  7. W

    Nov 26, 2018 at 1:43 pm

    Can you say Tzoid by Mizuno circa 1999. Not a whole lot can be done with a blade, move cg, maybe wider sole.

  8. steve

    Nov 25, 2018 at 9:33 pm

    FAKE FORGED WARNING!!!
    The Miura hosels are NOT 100% forged, they have a steel pipe welded to the forged club body.
    Mizunos are 100% grain flow forged from toe to hosel as are most other true forged clubs.

    • JP

      Nov 26, 2018 at 12:19 pm

      Thank God I don’t hit the ball off the hosel.

      • steve

        Nov 26, 2018 at 2:31 pm

        Yes… hitting the ball on the toe is the usual mis-hit mistake. The OEM solution is to place a slug of heavy tungsten into the toe area to cover up the perpetual disaster.

    • Keith

      Dec 6, 2018 at 3:31 pm

      The hosel is forged separately… watch the video

      • ogo

        Dec 14, 2018 at 12:16 am

        … and there is a disconnecting weld ring to attach the hosel tube to the forged body…. a hi-tech solution to a forged club design??!!!

        • oohmatron

          Dec 14, 2018 at 6:01 pm

          ogo your ignorance in most of your answers is pitiful. Spin welding is not the same as gas or arc welding. Better to remain silent and be considered a fool than to post on here and remove all doubt.

          • ogo

            Dec 15, 2018 at 1:52 am

            Okay, but friction spin welding alters the steel grain structure so that the clubhead forge grain is not the same as the steel pipe grain… because of the mechanical friction… sheesh…. now all the gearheads are confused even more… 😮

  9. Point misser

    Nov 25, 2018 at 9:05 pm

    Not too many folks out there who wouldn’t benefit from a more forgiving iron…maybe 20 or 30 folks in the world. It’s great that Miura continues to find a market

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 9:24 pm

      No such thing as a “forgiving iron” if you consistently hit way out on the toe or at the heel. No way to engineer out bad mis-hits and bad face alignment. Find another sport if you are searching to be rescued by clubhead design.

      • dave

        Dec 10, 2018 at 8:40 pm

        ogo. you havent tried the wilson forged c300 then. literally toe hits stay on line and go 100 percent distance. its amazing. i formed this opinion way before reading their sales promos stating that hits toward the toe actually get the most help from design. im a believer for sure. i sold my set cause i simply hit them too far. but i love loved them.

        • ogo

          Dec 11, 2018 at 7:46 pm

          If you love your Wilson Forged clubs then hold on to them lovingly… even take them to bed with you if your love of them is so inclined to do so… cold steel is not my idea for ‘love’…

  10. ogo

    Nov 25, 2018 at 7:06 pm

    Miura clubheads are forged separately from the hosel which is just a steel pipe welded to the forged clubhead. They still stamp “Forged” on the pipe hosel which is misleading. (Mizuno forge the head and hosel together.)
    https://miuragolf.com/the-miura-way/forging-process/#forging

    • MP-4

      Nov 27, 2018 at 12:37 am

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLWo9LzkQNQ

      Less voids in the hosel steel with the spin welded hosel.

      Solid club all the way through.

      Try a Miura club, the steel quality is noticeably higher.

      • ogo

        Nov 27, 2018 at 7:01 pm

        So Miura “forged” irons have a forged clubhead with no hosel… a weld ring… a steel tube hosel….. and you don’t notice a discontinuity between the clubhead and hosel?
        A “solid club” is all-forged steel piece with no welds. How can you determine higher quality by “trying a Miura club”? Feeel is not a consistent standard.

  11. Tom Duckworth

    Nov 25, 2018 at 4:27 pm

    They are great looking irons and I bet they play great if you have the game for them. That would go for any blades. If you don’t well blame it on the clubs right?
    I wonder how many sets of any Miuras are on tour?

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:58 pm

      Miura has performance built into these beauty blades. Just look at the melliferous musclebacks on these clubs. Too bad they only come in right hand models.

      • ogo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:25 pm

        Lefties can try to hit these beauties cross-handed… if they love them so much.

    • Jerry G

      Dec 16, 2018 at 2:24 am

      MIura does not pay to play, but players have used them – KJ Choi won a few tournaments with them, including a Players. Titleist had some blades made for them in the late ’90s and supposedly Tiger played them.

  12. Nut Butter

    Nov 25, 2018 at 3:44 pm

    Over rated

  13. MP-4

    Nov 24, 2018 at 7:18 pm

    Some of the best looking clubs ever.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:38 am

      … only if you are superficial and ignorant about golf club design.

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:48 pm

      … and “looks” are everything when you load your WITB arsenal of flaccid weapons.. ppfffttt

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:52 pm

      Yes… absolutely the best looking clubs ever…

      • jimbo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:27 pm

        Better have a spiffy wardrobe if you want to appear in public with these beauties… no jeans and skateboard shoes.

  14. Bubbert

    Nov 24, 2018 at 6:22 pm

    Beautiful clean design … most club making companies could learn from this.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:37 am

      Nope… these are bottom and back-weighted blades most suitable for rich duffers who can’t get the ball up up up. Also the slug of metal behind the sweet spot is intended to provide a buttery impact feel.. and highlight the Miura logo for status and show. The design is a compromise by stretching them out from heel-to-toe to increase MOI.

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:51 pm

      That’s not a “clean design”; it’s a silly design with irrelevant grooves, lumps of metal on the back and it’s stretched out from heel to toe to make it clunky and oversized. These are not compact muscleback club designs. They are designed to attract rich duffers seeking status.

      • Piter

        Dec 4, 2018 at 1:43 pm

        Agree. Made me wonder why they call them blades, maybe just because they have a thin topline? I thought that term came from looking like the blade of a knife, so more like the Titleist MB or TM730 or so.

        Anyway, beauty is in tthe eye of the beholder. I don’t like the blob in the middle of the back either but that’s just me.

        • SKip

          Dec 7, 2018 at 3:08 pm

          It’s literally MC-501 or “Muscle Cavity”. So they never claim it to be a full MB model.

          • Piter

            Dec 7, 2018 at 4:05 pm

            Correction noted. I should have said “the author of the article calls them blades”.

    • ron

      Nov 25, 2018 at 6:53 pm

      Yes… beautiful clean design that will result in great feel and lovely performance.

      • jimbo

        Nov 25, 2018 at 9:29 pm

        No… lovely feel and great performance… get your grammar straight.

  15. lance

    Nov 24, 2018 at 3:32 pm

    Love at first sight!! I’m left-handed but I will practice right-handed so I can own these gorgeous Muira musclebacks. OoOoOoOoOooooooh… I’m trembling with {{{love love love}}}

    • joey

      Nov 25, 2018 at 2:53 pm

      … and “love” conquers all… even a banana slice and shank.

  16. Brian H.

    Nov 24, 2018 at 12:43 pm

    Moz I think your feel is a little different than most.. Miura uses the softest steel. Check your “feel”.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:44 am

      I believe the Brinell Hardness of the Miura steel is ~120 HB…. which makes them plenty soft.

  17. Moz

    Nov 24, 2018 at 9:36 am

    Mizunos feel way softer. These Miuras feel clunky

    • Gunter Eisenberg

      Nov 24, 2018 at 10:14 am

      How would you know?? Did you actually swung one?

      • Moz

        Nov 25, 2018 at 3:28 am

        Yes, I hit a bunch of them with all kinds of different shafts, at the clubs I visit there are many wealthy people who have jumped onto the bandwagon, and they all act flash but they all say they’re not as great as they were told

        • joey

          Nov 25, 2018 at 2:56 pm

          That ‘clunky’ feel is due to slight off-center hits with a club that has been stretched out from heel-to-toe in an attempt to increase the MOI for duffers who can’t hit on the sweet spot.

    • ogo

      Nov 25, 2018 at 12:49 am

      That’s because the Mizuno are completely Flow Forged from a single steel blank that combines the clubhead and hosel… while the Miuras have a steel tube hosel welded to the forged club body… and that dulls the “feeeel”.

      • Hack

        Nov 26, 2018 at 9:55 am

        Aren’t these just a redo of the Mizuno T-Zoid irons that Faldo played so well with for a time? Minor changes for certain but nothing new here….

      • oohmatron

        Dec 14, 2018 at 6:07 pm

        More laughable and ill informed nonsense from a self-impressed fool. Your risible and ill-informed comments always make me laugh and serve to reiterate your lack of knowledge and/or general education. Be quiet little man, nobody takes you seriously on here.

        • ogo

          Dec 15, 2018 at 1:57 am

          … and all you do is fling sh!t and hoping some of it will stick to make you look good … you pedantic pr!ck ….

        • ogo

          Dec 15, 2018 at 1:59 am

          … and all you do is fling sh!† and hoping some of it will stick to make you look good … you pedan†ic pr!k ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Forum Thread of the Day: “Oldest club in the bag that you use regularly?”

Published

on

Today’s Forum Thread of the Day comes from 14max who asks WRXers what’s the oldest club in the bag that they regularly use. Our members list the clubs that have been playing the longest and their reasons why – with trust often playing a significant role behind their decision.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • el_rousso: “I’m still regularly playing an old (about 25+ years old) American Open 56* wedge, the grooves on it are likely too worn to be of any use but it’s still pretty much the club I trust the most around the greens, the rest of my bag is around 2005ish (irons) or 2011ish (woods and other wedges), but I recently pulled the trigger on a driver upgrade…”
  • SecondandGoal: “Odyssey White Steel Tri-Ball SRT. Made in 2007, got it for $25 on Craigslist about 4 years ago. I’ve changed every other club in the bag at least twice since then. Going to be hard-pressed to get this out of the bag.”
  • lefty1978: “I don’t always bag this club anymore. But I have a 17° Controller driving iron from around 1999. I like it because it hits low running bullets.”
  • James the Hogan Fan: “Putter- 65ish years old, Irons from 2003, Woods from 2008, Driver from 2014, Wedges from 2016, but, one from 2002. Quite the mix I’d say.”
  • ChipNRun: “A few years ago, it was a Ping Pal putter from circa 1973. I sent Ping a photo of the clubhead for verification: they said it was legit, they just couldn’t tell what batch it came from due to primitive data markings. Until about a year ago, I played Callaway X20 Tours (2008 origin); CPreO sold me a display set in 2011. Right now, the Tour Edge XRail 7W (2012) – and sometimes its brother 4W – hold the record.”

Entire Thread: “Oldest club in the bag that you use regularly?”

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

2020 Odyssey Golf launches new Bird of Prey and Stroke Lab Ten putters

Published

on

Odyssey Golf is taking Stroke Lab technology and innovation further with the release of the all-new Stroke Lab 10 putters along with the introduction of the Bird of Prey putter for 2019 and 2020.

Odyssey Stroke Lab Ten Bird of prey putters golf 2020

2020 Odyssey Bird of Prey, Stroke Lab Ten putters: The details

To say Odyssey Stroke Lab putters, along with the revolutionary mass-shifting Stroke Lab shaft, have been a success both on tour and with regular golfers would be a huge understatement. On the professional side—since their introduction at the beginning of 2019 as a prototype product, Stroke Lab putters have become the number one putter on all tours and won more professional tournaments (65 to be exact) than any other brand on all tours combined.

Now, Odyssey’s General Manager Sean Toulon and his design team are looking to advance designs again with what many would call familiar shapes but with unconventional advantages.

Odyssey Stroke lab ten putter golf 2020

First off, we have the Stroke Lab Ten. And, yes, even Sean Toulon himself is willing to admit it shares similarities to a particular arachnid-style putter that he helped originally design at another OEM many years ago. But, as a modern equipment historian, I believe it’s important to point out that as much as the “arachnid” style has been popular for quite some time.

There was another putter that predates it (released in 2005), which offered an extremely high MOI design but without the catchy name: the Ping UG-LE. The UG-LE pushed mass way back and to the corners of the head to create (at the time) the highest MOI putter on the market.

But here’s the thing: Putters and material design have come a long way since the introduction of the UG-LE and the original arachnid designs, and Odyssey is here to prove golfers just how much better with the Stroke Lab Ten.

The Stroke Lab Ten’s frame is made from ABS (Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene…don’t worry, I had to look it up too). Here’s a further explanation

“It is an amorphous polymer comprised of three monomers, acrylonitrile, butadiene and styrene. ABS is most commonly polymerize through the emulsification process or the expert art of combining multiple products that don’t typically combine into a single product. When the three monomers are combined, the acrylonitrile develops a polar attraction with the other two components, resulting in a tough and highly durable finished product. The different amounts of each monomer can be added to the process to further vary the finished product. The versatility of ABS plastic properties contributes largely to its popularity across several industry sectors.” (Thanks, Adreco plastics)

According to Sean Toulon, what the ABS material allows is maximum distribution of metal (heavy) mass parts to the back and extreme perimeter of the putter to blow past other putters’ MOI (Moment of Inertia: a measurement of forgiveness) but also in sound and feel.

“The sound and feel of this putter is special (thanks to the material advantage of ABS)”  Sean Toulon, Odyssey Putters General Manager

Beyond just the shape of the putter, the sole has been meticulously crafted to help the head aligned square when grounded towards the target in the playing position. Sean continues

“We got these putters to the point where ( with the alignment on top ) they have become point and shoot” 

There truly is a lot going on to make sure these putters do everything they can to help both regular golfers and touring professionals align properly and get the best possible result when putts are not hit absolutely perfect.

The Stroke Lab Advantage

Considering the MOI of these designs, you would think that the highest of high handicappers would be the target market, but in that assumption, you couldn’t be more incorrect. The designs of both the Stroke Lab Ten and the Bird of Prey were entirely driven by the tour and player desire to get every last bit of performance out of their putting games.

These putters will all come stock with the Stroke Lab shaft, which pulls mass from the shaft and redistributes it under the grip and into the head for even greater stabilization. Odyssey has proven that the shaft alone can help stroke consistency across the board, and the most notable stat is the 13 percent increase in face angle delivery at impact. This increases the make putt percentage, which when you think of a round of golf, equates to strokes saved.

If there is one more thing Odyssey knows about putters, it’s roll and inserts. With the new Stroke Lab Ten and Bird of Prey designs, the company is using an all-new Microhinge Star insert to increase the sound for better player feedback. Generally, inserts are used to decrease the sound, but in the case of the New Microhinge Star, engineers at Odyssey wanted to recreate more of the original sound and feel of the White Hot putter but with the added benefit of the Microhinge to increase forward roll.

Odyssey Stroke Lab Putter Insert roll Ten Bird of prey

This new Microhinge Star insert improves the correlation between the sound and expected distance a player will hit the ball—firmer means further. This is just another step in the design process put in place to help players of all abilities putt with greater consistency since without audible feedback, all players will have a more difficult time controlling distance.

The new Stroke Lab Ten and Bird of Prey putters will be available starting November 1. For more information check out OdysseyGolf.com

 

Your Reaction?
  • 47
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL59
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP8
  • OB6
  • SHANK137

Continue Reading

Equipment

2020 Cobra Golf T-Rail iron hybrid set

Published

on

Cobra Golf T-RAIL

New for 2020, the Cobra Golf T-Rail (Transitional Rail) super game improvement iron—the company’s first all hollow iron hybrid set.

Cobra T Rail irons fuse a hollow, hybrid shape with an iron face and topline, with the iron-hybrid design aiming to provide golfers with the perfect blend of distance, forgiveness, and accuracy.

According to the company, the hollow body construction creates a lower, deeper CG than traditional cavity-back iron designs. The lower, deeper CG aims to aid golfers in getting the ball in the air and on line easier than conventional cavity-back irons.

Speaking on the new T-Rail irons, Tom Olsavsky, VP of R&D, Cobra Golf, stated

“T-Rail irons make it easy for beginners and golfers who have lost some distance and control to gain the confidence needed to play better and have more fun. Players who need max forgiveness and are looking for more distance will be amazed at how far and straight they hit these, even being able to get them airborne from tough lies.”

The irons feature the brand’s Baffler Rails technology which seeks to provide players with more speed and stability out of every lie through its turf interaction.

The irons also contain a high-strength, forged steel face designed with E9 technology, which includes a thin pocket from heel to toe which is intended to offer maximum ball speed and forgiveness on off-center hits.

Cobra Golf T-RAIL

The new additions from Cobra arrive in a hollow, iron-hybrid construction in the 5-PW with a 4-hybrid to make a 7-piece set. The irons, which come in a black/blue colorway for men and black/lilac colorway for women, come equipped with Cobra Ultralite 50g graphite shafts (Stiff, Regular and Lite) and Cobra Lamkin REL midsize grips.

Both the Men’s and Women’s T-Rail sets will be available beginning November 1, 2019, and cost $899.

Cobra Golf T-RAIL

 

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 81
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW12
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP6
  • OB2
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending