Connect with us


Phil Mickelson apologizes for U.S. Open display



Phil Mickelson has apologized for his actions at Shinnecock Hills, Saturday.

In a text sent to a select group of reporters, Mickelson said Wednesday

“I know this should’ve come sooner, but it’s taken me a few days to calm down. My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend. I’m embarrassed and disappointed by my actions. It was clearly not my finest moment and I’m sorry.”

Mickelson spoke briefly with reporters after exiting the scoring tent, Saturday. To refresh, it was then that he said

“It’s certainly not meant (to show disrespect). It’s meant to take advantage of the rules as best you can. In that situation I was just, I was just going back and forth. I’ll gladly take the two shots over continuing that display,” and “I’ve had multiple times when I’ve wanted to do that, and I finally did.”

The left-hander didn’t speak with the media Sunday, and he hadn’t issued any statements prior to the text.

He was penalized two shots for hitting a ball in motion, but the USGA stopped short of disqualifying Mickelson, believing that his actions didn’t constitute a “serious breach” of the rules. Mickelson spoke with USGA chief Mike Davis at length about the incident, and the governing body remained steadfast in its conclusion.

Responses from the media and his peers ranged from amusement, to support, to outright condemnation. Additionally, just how calculated Mickelson’s actions were was a subject for debate, with some believing Mickelson merely lost his head and the calculated “taking advantage of the rules” explanation was merely a post hoc invention.

The apology, and the timing and method of the apology, will do little to satisfy Mickelson’s critics on the matter. For those, like Jordan Spieth, who believe Mickelson was merely using the rules in his favor, the mea culpa was likely unnecessary.

Surely, the text message will not put the incident to bed.

Mickelson is next expected in the field in two weeks at The Greenbrier.

Your Reaction?
  • 33
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK30



  1. JThunder

    Jun 21, 2018 at 5:43 pm

    If ONLY American held it’s current “leader” to the high standard it holds Phil Mickelson… Or even, you know, a medium standard.

  2. Todd

    Jun 21, 2018 at 11:30 am

    Leave him off the Ryder Cup team. FIGJAM doesn’t know everything…

  3. juststeve

    Jun 21, 2018 at 11:20 am

    I’m a Phil fan who thinks he should have been disqualified

  4. ~j~

    Jun 21, 2018 at 10:25 am

    News fodder. No one really cares about it as much as the media outlets. they’ll dish out articles all day so long as people still click to read them.

  5. Richard Douglas

    Jun 21, 2018 at 7:03 am

    It was a GOLF tournament, folks, not some solemn occasion. In fact, it was a poorly executed golf tournament.

    Sure, Phil shouldn’t have done what he did. He was penalized for it. Arguing over whether or not the punishment fit the “crime” is futile.

    Overlooked in all of this is how horrible the USGA is at putting on our national championship. In order to preserve par as unattainable, the USGA tricks up courses so they become unplayable. They’re not hard; they’re unfair. Good shots are punished. Poor shots are punished, too, but not in proportion to their inaccuracy. It’s rather random. It doesn’t produce our best golfer.

    It used to be the PGA that produced guys who won it and little else. But the US Open is the worst of them all now. All the other majors can produce good conditions and worthy champions. All the USGA can produce is a guy who can survive their particular brand of weird.

  6. Briny Baird

    Jun 20, 2018 at 9:07 pm

    Its what you do as a modern day celeb. Do something – get ridiculed – wait a couple – apologize – move on – still make 22 world wide. next.

  7. Mizzle Fizzle

    Jun 20, 2018 at 7:47 pm

    It will not put the incident to bed because GolfWRX will have nothing to natter about.

    • Geohogan

      Jun 20, 2018 at 9:05 pm

      Time to put it to bed….by the way did Phil also mention he is selling yogurt in San Diego.
      Gonna buy some from a robot..YUMMY.

      Buy Phils yogurt! see youve forgotten what a jerk he is already.

      • Geohogan

        Jun 20, 2018 at 9:07 pm

        in my day, they called them vending machines.

  8. youraway

    Jun 20, 2018 at 7:15 pm

    Intentionally violating the Rules is disrespect for the game. Sorry your apology is as lame as your reasoning.

    • Getemgoose

      Jun 20, 2018 at 8:31 pm

      Life goes on.

    • Geohogan

      Jun 20, 2018 at 9:11 pm

      intentionally breaking the rules and taking advantage of the existing rules to your best advantage
      is one thing.
      Intentionally violating the rules to gain an advantage over the field is DQ every time. Back to basic, Rule 1.2

      • Geohogan

        Jun 20, 2018 at 9:13 pm


        SB Unintentionally breaking the rules is one thing……

  9. BIG STU

    Jun 20, 2018 at 3:45 pm

    Aw heck Phil is human too. it was funny as heck— One thing about it was the incident got a lot of press from the radio and Tv media on the mainstream— Normally they do not mention anything about golf but Monday morning every radio station was hopping with the news of the incident. I like Phil and personally I think it was just frustration. I think the rules natzis of the press blew it all out of proportion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Charles Howell III’s winning WITB: 2018 RSM Classic



Driver: Titleist TS3 (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei AV Blue 65

Fairway woods: Titleist TS2 (15, 21 degrees)
Shafts: Fujikura ATMOS Tour Spec Black 8X, Fujikura ATMOS Tour Spec Black 9X

Irons: Titleist 718 T-MB 4-iron, Titleist 718 AP2 (5-7), Titleist 718 CB (8-PW)
Shafts: Project X LZ 6.5 (hard stepped)

Wedges: Vokey SM7 (52, 56, 60 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold S400

Putter: TaylorMade Spider Tour Red

Ball: Titleist Pro V1 (proto)

SEA ISLAND, GA – NOVEMBER 17: Charles Howell lll tees off on the eighth hole tee box during the third round of The RSM Classic at the Sea Island Resort Seaside Course on November 17, 2018 in Sea Island, Georgia. (Photo by Ben Jared/PGA TOUR)

RELATED: See what members are saying about CH III’s equipment in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 131
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW8
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading


Danny Willett’s Winning WITB: DP World Tour Championship



Driver: Callaway Rogue (9 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana W 60x

3-wood: Callaway Rogue Fairway Wood (15 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana W 70X

Irons: Callaway X Forged Utility Irons (18, 21, 24 degrees), Callaway X Forged 18 Irons (5-9)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold X100 Superlite

Wedges: Callaway Mack Daddy Forged PW (48 degrees), Callaway Mack Daddy 4 Wedges (54, 58 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold

Putter: Odyssey Prototype (Stroke Lab)

Ball: Chrome Soft X

Your Reaction?
  • 46
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW4
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading


Danny Willett spotted with new Odyssey prototype putter, putter shaft



You may have seen Danny Willett’s name near the top of the leaderboard at the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai. At 10 under, the Englishman sits one stroke behind fellow countryman Matt Wallace.

You may not have seen, however, that the 2016 Masters champ has a new Odyssey prototype putter in the bag.

(Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

(Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

All the company would say

“Willett first put in his new gamer last week at the Nedbank Challenge. Willett’s prototype putter also features a new prototype Odyssey shaft to help improve the consistency of the putting stroke.”

Willet has historically favored his blade-style Odyssey O-Works #1 W. More recently, at the Turkish Airlines Open, we spotted him with an Odyssey Versa Jailbird Black. However, the prototype in question is clearly a heel-shafted mallet with a different insert than the 1 W or the Jailbird. The insert looks to be the White Hot Microhinge. Obviously, the two-tone, potentially multi-material, shaft, and the technology therein, is notable as well. Also apparently two-tone, the putter head, which looks similar in shape to a Tank Cruiser and similarly has a pair of sole weights.

Do we need the TG2 to break down the few photos we have like the Zapruder film? We’ll continue digging, in the meantime, let us know what you think, GolfWRX Members!


Your Reaction?
  • 40
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole