Connect with us


Review: Streamsong Resort



If you haven’t heard of Streamsong Resort yet, it won’t be long until you do. The saying “if you build it, they will come” seems to hold true for golf courses such as Sand Hills in Nebraska or Forest Dunes Michigan, gems plopped in the middle of nowhere. The secret is… if you build it well, we will come.

Streamsong is a simply magnificent, modern day golf resort — also in the middle of nowhere. It’s one of the best luxury golf getaway options available and maybe best of all, it’s in sunny Florida so you can play golf in the dead of winter.


Along with two world-class links-style golf courses, which are discussed in more detail later in the review, Streamsong offers everything most guests will need for their stay. That’s a blessing, because it’s also in the middle of nowhere.

There are two large buildings on property, the largest of which is the Lodge (above). It has 216 rooms, four restaurants, conference rooms and amenities including bars, fitness facilities, a spa, a pool and retail stores.


The Lodge

There’s also a building called “The Club House,” which is much more than what usually stands beside a golf course. It has 12 guest rooms, more conference rooms, a lounge, a golf shop, a locker room, and “Fifty Nine,” which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It specializes in steaks and seafood, and offers an impressive wine list.

streamsong resort

Streamsong has a shuttle that runs throughout the resort, so there was no need to drive once we valeted the car on arrival. After checking in, we immediately knew we were at the right place. Guests were walking through the lobby with their carry bags strapped to their back as if the lobby was the 3rd hole — a nice welcome for diehard golfers. You can check your bag and it will be stored at the course, or if you’re like us, you can bring the clubs back to the room so they’re handy at all times.


A typical room. Free WIFI and a new 42-inch LED HD TV.


We were pleased not to hear much noise from the surrounding rooms.

We flew into Tampa and rented a car for a nice drive to Streamsong. The two courses on the 16,000-acre campus are “Red” and “Blue.” They reminded us more of Ireland’s Tralee or Ballybunion than Florida courses, as there’s not a tree or house on the property.

The Red and Blue are built on an old phosphate mine complete with craters and mounds that look like they were purposefully placed, yet are the result of many years of mining. Our experience was that the Red and Blue are two of the best courses you’ll play in your life.

Follow along for a more in-depth review of the Red and the Black, with on-course photos of each.

Red Course

The Red course was designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw, and tips out at 7,148 yards with a slope of 122 to 130 depending on the tee. Coore and Crenshaw courses are known for their minimalistic approach to golf course design, and Streamsong Red is no different.

steamsong florida

Red Course: Hole No. 5

One thing that was notable about the course was the number of half-par holes that Coore and Crenshaw weaved into the routing. We counted as many as 10 par-4 and par-5 holes that were either short and reachable or very long and unreachable for most golfers. These “half-pars” allow for more birdie chances, but also more tough pars, which means they’re generally played better when the player throws the concept of par out the window.

You’ll see what we mean.

The round starts with a very tough, long, uphill par-4 measuring 464 yards (from the black tees) that is very hard to reach in two shots. Then, on the second hole, you get a 508-yard reachable par-5 that gently doglegs to the right. Hole No. 3 is a reasonable-length par-4 of 391 yards, but then you get to the 4th hole, a fantastic risk-reward, drivable par-4 that’s 316 yards. The 5th hole is another great short par-4 at 344 yards.

After the mid-length, par-3 6th, which measures about 150 yards to a huge green, the player is confronted at the 7th hole. It’s a sweeping dogleg left, reachable par-5 that plays 521 yards. The 8th is another great par-3 with a very long green that can play under 100 yards or more than 150 yards. Next up is the tempting par-4 9th. At 271 yards, it begs long-hitters to try and drive its memorably and difficult green.


The back nine starts with two difficult, long par-4s at 434 and 408 yards, respectively. The par-4 12th (471 yards) is followed by the reachable par-5 13th (505 yards). The good player should be happy to walk away from those two holes in nine strokes no matter how they occur.

After the excellent par-3 14th hole, golfers get back to the half-par holes. The long, uphill par-4 15th measures 454 yards. The 16th is a standout par-3 on a course with a fantastic set of par 3’s, but it plays very difficult at 184 yards and uphill. The 17th is a mid-range, 380-yard par-4 and the golfer finishes on another half-par, a par-5 that’s 505 yards. There’s plenty of opportunities for birdies, but you’ll have to grind out tough pars as well.


Walking the Red course is very easy; the terrain is not flat, but the greens and tees are generally right next to each other. The greens are all very interesting and well-contoured without being too undulated. Many of them have organic shapes that are different than the normal square, rectangle or circular shaped greens golfers see on most courses. The landing areas are generous off the tee and somewhat forgiving on small misses around the greens. Large misses are punished, but generally the punishment is well-deserved.

Blue Course

The Blue course, which tips at 7,176, was designed by Tom Doak, who is also a minimalist designer. The two things that stood out the most to us on the Blue course were the great mix of short holes and the large, severely undulating greens.


Blue Course: Hole No. 7

The 1st, 6th and 13th are all standout short par 4s, and the 5th hole is a fantastic, character-filled par 3 with a very large green that can play one of a 100 ways depending on the hole location and wind.

The greens are large but missing them, even by a small margin, can create very difficult recoveries. I found walking the Blue course to be a little more difficult, especially the 7th hole where golfers are forced to walk across a bridge to the green and then basically retrace their steps to get to the 8th tee. The course has a mostly natural appearance, though some abrupt landforms from the mine are a little jarring.


Railroad tracks are used as tee markers to remember the phosphate mines that once occupied the property.

The ground game is an option on many of the holes as they are open coming into the greens. The course has some standout holes, but also a few that we didn’t like as much.


In comparing the two courses, we found that we preferred the Red over the Blue, though we definitely enjoyed both. We enjoyed the walk on the Red, and it’s a little easier to play with a better flow to it. We also preferred the greens on the Red, as we found them to be more reasonable. Some of the greens on Blue were a little too much for us, while the greens on the Red felt more like an older, golden-age course.

Both courses had a great mix of holes, and Blue has a few of my favorite holes on the property including my favorite three-hole stretch: holes Nos. 4-6. If given the chance to play 10 rounds, I would split them 6-4 in favor of the Red course.


Wonderful landing areas and fabulous green complexes.


Generous fairways make for more fun in the designs.

Version 2

The forced carry on this par-3 will make for memories.


No trees and all heather. Just a touch of links in middle Florida.

The greens were in great shape in early March. We didn’t have a stimp meter, but we were told they were running at an 11.


Ahhh… for real? Yep, and she was a biggy. Looked like a small elk for breakfast.

Streamsong has one of the better caddie programs golf has to offer. The cost is $80 to $100 per bag, plus gratuities. If golfers choose a cart, they’re required to have a forecaddie, which cost between $25 and $50 per bag plus gratuities.

We walked all four rounds, played 36 holes one day, and finished each round in 4 hours or less — no complaints here! One of our group members actually hoofed his own gear for the 36-hole day. Another registered 33,302 steps on his FitBit, and it’s still his record of steps for one day.


The professional caddies will add frosting to the Streamsong cake.

I know many caddies from great northern clubs go south in the winter looking for loops. Streamsong is not a bargain, so they must know the clientele will be strong. We kept the same caddies for our entire stay, got to know them well and by the end of the battle we felt as if we had developed new friends. They probably all carry single-digit handicaps as well, and were great guys who certainly made our trip that much better.


All this for nothing? Not quite. With rooms starting above $300 a night, many golfers will balk at the price tag to stay on site. If they can afford it, they might want to reconsider. The convenience of being a shuttle ride from the first hole and range is worth something.

Still, rooms are pricey, and a round of golf will cost $100 to $225 depending on the time of year. We can say, however, that it was one of our better golf experiences. Well-traveled golfers looking to play as many holes as possible will love Streamsong, where everything is ridiculously convenient and they won’t need to leave the property.


The crew. The masochist that carried his own bag for 36 holes in one day is Ari on the right.

We suggest golfers make their plans well in advance, especially if they’re are thinking of playing 36 holes per day during the winter months. It requires marquis tee times, and those need to be planned accordingly.

Streamsong is also planning for the future. Construction has begun on the Black Course, which is designed by renowned architect Gil Hanse and scheduled to open in 2017. Hanse has said it will have a “linksy” feel like the other courses on property. Personally, we can’t wait, and there are rumors of a fourth course right after it.


Your Reaction?
  • 62
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW6
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK12

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.



  1. Jeremy

    Nov 16, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    I am fortunate enough to only live a little over an hour away from Streaming. I have only played once but what a top notch facility! I can’t comment on lodging and misc. activities but for golf, you simply can’t beat it. It gets a little pricey after you pay for green fees, caddie and tip but definitely worth checking it out. This would be a great long weekend destination!

  2. Imanoff

    Nov 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    Very nice review!

    That particular par-3 looks familiar to me. Is that the one that featuring Justin Rose/Ashworth ads?

  3. Al Snow

    Nov 16, 2015 at 10:28 am

    You definitely have to keep your eyes on the Streamsong website. While in season (December through Easter) you will pay a premium on golf and resort rooms, but bargains are to be had during the shoulder seasons and during the summer months. Florida residents also receive some great pricing outside of the peak season.

  4. Jerry K

    Nov 15, 2015 at 7:36 am

    I agree that Streaming is pure golf very similar to Bandon with better weather. I believe the caddie fee quoted is for a forecaddie when taking a cart while the carry rate was at least double that. Should also note that carts have significant restrictions during the season.

  5. JH Holmes

    Nov 14, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    Not sure where you got that caddie cost but I played there in June and it was $80-100 per bag. And thats whats currently listed on their website. Definitely worth it though – every caddie we had was A+.

    But it seems like this review is for a trip actually in early March – so maybe the prices changed.

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Nov 15, 2015 at 12:43 pm


      Thanks for letting us know. We have updated the review to reflect Streamsong’s current caddie prices.

  6. Michael

    Nov 14, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    I’m going to be visiting family in Orlando in May next year. It will be my first visit to Florida. I’m hoping to convince my wife that I need to make the journey to Streamsong. This review will hopefully help sway her. From what I’ve been told and read it is definitely worth the expense and effort to get there. The two courses look magnificent. Fingers crossed.

    • Paul Seifert

      Nov 15, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      Your wife will love it! Unlike Bandon and many other world-class golf resorts, Streamsong has a fantastic infinity pool, spa and food/beverage experience that the non-golfing spouse looking for leisure will absolutely love.

      Get it on the books. While the golf experience is phenomenal, the resort is every bit as good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Barnbougle Lost Farm: 20 Holes of Pure Joy



Another early day in Tasmania, and we were exploring the Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw-design, Barnbougle Lost Farm. The course was completed in 2010, four years after the neighbor Barnbougle Dunes, resulting in much excitement in the world of golf upon opening.

Johan and I teed off at 10 a.m. to enjoy the course at our own pace in its full glory under clear blue skies. Barnbougle Lost Farm starts out quite easy, but it quickly turns into a true test of links golf. You will certainly need to bring some tactical and smart planning in order to get close to many of the pin positions.

The third hole is a prime example. With its sloping two-tiered green, it provides a fun challenge and makes you earn birdie — even if your tee and approach shots put you in a good position. This is one of the things I love about this course; it adds a welcome dimension to the game and something you probably don’t experience on most golf courses.

(C) Jacob Sjöman.

The 4th is an iconic signature hole called “Sals Point,” named after course owner Richard Sattler’s wife (she was hoping to build a summer home on the property before it was turned into a golf course). A strikingly beautiful par-3, this hole is short in distance but guarded with luring bunkers. When the prevailing northwesterly wind comes howling in from the ocean, the hole will leave you exposed and pulling out one of your long irons for the tee shot. We left No. 4 with two bogeys with a strong desire for revenge.

Later in the round, we notice our scorecard had a hole numbered “13A” just after the 13th. We then noticed there was also an “18A.” That’s because Barnbougle Lost Farm offers golfers 20 holes. The designers believed that 13A was “too good to leave out” of the main routing, and 18A acts as a final betting hole to help decide a winner if you’re left all square. And yes, we played both 13A and 18A.

I need to say I liked Lost Farm for many reasons; it feels fresh and has some quirky holes including the 5th and the breathtaking 4th. The fact that it balks tradition with 20 holes is something I love. It also feels like an (almost) flawless course, and you will find new things to enjoy every time you play it.

The big question after trying both courses at Barnbougle is which course I liked best. I would go for Barnbougle Dunes in front of Barnbougle Lost Farm, mostly because I felt it was more fun and offered a bigger variation on how to play the holes. Both courses are great, however, offering really fun golf. And as I wrote in the first part of this Barnbougle-story, this is a top destination to visit and something you definitely need to experience with your golf friends if you can. It’s a golfing heaven.

Next course up: Kingston Heath in Melbourne.

Your Reaction?
  • 24
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading


Barnbougle Dunes: World Class Golf



We arrived to Launceston Airport in Tasmania just before sunset. Located on the Northeast Coast of Australia’s island state, Tasmania, Barnbougle is almost as far from Sweden as it gets… yet it immediately felt like home when we arrived.

Launceston Airport, Tasmania. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

The drive from the airport was just over an hour, taking us through deep forests and rolling hills before we arrived to Barnbougle Golf Resort, which consists of two courses — The Dunes and Lost Farm — a lodge, two restaurants, a sports bar and a spa. Unfortunately, it was pitch black outside and we couldn’t see much of the two courses on our arrival. I would like to add that both Johan and I were extremely excited about visiting this golf mecca. We later enjoyed a tasty dinner at the Barnbougle Lost Farm Restaurant before we called it a day.

The locals at Barnbougle Dunes. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

The next day, we woke up early and got out to The Dunes Course as very first guests out. Well, to be quite honest, we weren’t actually the first out. There were a few locals — Wallabies, lots of them — already out on the course. The natural landscape at Barnbougle is fantastic and my cameras almost overheated with the photo opportunities. After two intense hours of recording videos and producing photos both from ground, we headed back to Lost Farm for a wonderful breakfast (and view). After our breakfast, it was time to try our luck.

“Tom’s Little Devil.” Hole No.7 at Barnbougle Dunes. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

Before describing our experience playing the courses, I would like to mention about Richard Sattler, a potato farmer and owner of Barnbougle. In the early 2000’s, Richard was introduced to U.S. golfing visionary Mike Keiser, who had heard about his amazing stretch of farmland in Tasmania and came down to visit. Mike convinced Richard that Barnbougle (which at that stage was a potato farm and still grows potatoes and raises cattle today) might be perfect for creating a top quality golf course.

After an introduction to well renowned golf architect Tom Doak and the formation of a partnership with former Australian golf pro and golf architect Mike Clayton, the development of the Barnbougle Dunes Course commenced.

The walk between the 4th and 5th holes. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

Featuring large bunkers dotted between fun rolling fairways shaped from the coastal dunes, Barnbougle Dunes offers the golfer some tough challenges, in particular on the first nine. This is indeed a course that will entertain all kinds of golfers.

After our round, we looked back at some fantastic highlights such as playing the iconic 7th hole, a short par-3 called ”Tom’s Little Devil,” as well as the beautiful par-4 15th. We were just two big walking smiles sitting there in the restaurant to be honest. Lets also not forget one of the biggest (and deepest) bunkers I’ve seen at the 4th hole. The name of the bunker is “Jaws.” Good times!

As a small surprise for Johan, I had arranged a meeting after our round with Richard Sattler. Richard, ever the farmer, entered the car parking just in front of the clubhouse in a white pick-up van with a big smile un his face. We talked to Richard for almost 30 minutes. He is an extremely humble man and left such a warm impression on us. Richard explained the Barnbougle story: how it all began and the property today.

To me, this is a high-end golf destination offering something very unique with two world-class courses in Barnbougle Dunes and Barnbougle Lost Farm, both ranked in the top-100 greatest golf courses by Golf Digest and Golf Magazine (U.S.). With the courses located just next to each other, it’s probably one of the best golf resorts you can find down under and a golf resort that I would like bring my hardcore golfing friends to visit. Everything here is exceptional with the resort providing spacious rooms, comfy beds, good food and spectacular views.

(C) Jacob Sjöman.

Barnbougle Dunes is a real treat to play for any golfer and will leave you with a sweet golfing memory. Compared to the golf courses available on the more remote King Island, Barnbougle is accessible (given Tasmania is connected by better flight connections) and the hospitality and service at is much more refined.

The golf resort is one of the absolute best I’ve been to. I can also highly recommend playing Barnbougle Dunes; I had great fun and you can play it in many ways. Tomorrow, we will be playing and experiencing the other course at Barnbougle: Barnbougle Lost Farm, a Bill Coore/Ben Crenshaw course with 20 (!) holes.

Your Reaction?
  • 46
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading


Ocean Dunes: Golfing in the Wild Waves



On the last day on King Island, we were excited to see what its other golf course had to offer. While we first missed the small entrance to Ocean Dunes from the road, we finally got it right and approached the course on a small gravel road taking us up to the golf club parking.

When we walked from the car parking heading down to the temporary club house, we were facing large dunes and a beautiful big ocean. “What a site for a golf course!” That was our first impression. And after a quick look out on the short par-3 down below us, we knew that this would be a good day.

The iconic 4th hole. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

Ocean Dunes opened in September 2016 and is designed by Graeme Grant. It’s actually for sale at the moment, and if I had the money I would honestly consider buying it. It’s currently ranked as the fourth best public golf course in Australia. We met one from the staff before our round, and she told us that Ocean Dunes is like Barnbougle Dunes on steroids. Although we haven’t reached Barnbougle yet, we immediately understood that this was a good thing.

No. 3, a tough par 4 (C) Jacob Sjöman.

We later played 18 holes, and we were almost alone out on the course. I love that feeling when you’re able to play in your own pace and don’t have to wait. Just hit, look and plan for your next shot. It was a very windy day, and it wasn’t in the normal wind direction. A lot of our approach shots just wouldn’t stop on the firm greens.

Waves crashing in behind Johan. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

My highlight from Ocean Dunes was definitely the fourth hole, a lovely and beautiful par-3 where the big waves crashed in. It has a Cypress Point vibe about it. I also enjoyed playing the third hole, a long par-4 (425 meters) that runs just next to the ocean with a tricky fairway sloping down toward the ocean. It all ends with a very complex green. It’s a great challenge from the backtees.

Sunset highlighting the shapes of Ocean Dunes (C) Jacob Sjöman.

Overall, I would describe Ocean Dunes as a challenging, risk-reward course. It’s a bold and perfect complement to Cape Wickham Links on King Island. At Ocean Dunes, there are 17 holes with water views. All 18 holes have bent grass greens and a lot of variation. They’re highly memorable. We truly enjoyed our round and had a lot of fun. But if you’re able to visit King Island, it’s not fair not to treat yourself just to one course. You need to play both Cape Wickham Links and Ocean Dunes.

The 7th green. (C) Jacob Sjöman.

The next destination for us will be Barnbougle Dunes and Barnbougle Lost Farm in Tasmania. They’re two world-class courses that looks amazing in the photos I’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to get there and share our experience. We will also meet the owner himself, the potato farmer Richard Sattler. Don’t miss it!


Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole