Connect with us

Courses

Review: Streamsong Resort

Published

on

If you haven’t heard of Streamsong Resort yet, it won’t be long until you do. The saying “if you build it, they will come” seems to hold true for golf courses such as Sand Hills in Nebraska or Forest Dunes Michigan, gems plopped in the middle of nowhere. The secret is… if you build it well, we will come.

Streamsong is a simply magnificent, modern day golf resort — also in the middle of nowhere. It’s one of the best luxury golf getaway options available and maybe best of all, it’s in sunny Florida so you can play golf in the dead of winter.

IMG_9290

Along with two world-class links-style golf courses, which are discussed in more detail later in the review, Streamsong offers everything most guests will need for their stay. That’s a blessing, because it’s also in the middle of nowhere.

There are two large buildings on property, the largest of which is the Lodge (above). It has 216 rooms, four restaurants, conference rooms and amenities including bars, fitness facilities, a spa, a pool and retail stores.

IMG_9388

The Lodge

There’s also a building called “The Club House,” which is much more than what usually stands beside a golf course. It has 12 guest rooms, more conference rooms, a lounge, a golf shop, a locker room, and “Fifty Nine,” which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It specializes in steaks and seafood, and offers an impressive wine list.

streamsong resort

Streamsong has a shuttle that runs throughout the resort, so there was no need to drive once we valeted the car on arrival. After checking in, we immediately knew we were at the right place. Guests were walking through the lobby with their carry bags strapped to their back as if the lobby was the 3rd hole — a nice welcome for diehard golfers. You can check your bag and it will be stored at the course, or if you’re like us, you can bring the clubs back to the room so they’re handy at all times.

IMG_9311

A typical room. Free WIFI and a new 42-inch LED HD TV.

IMG_9310

We were pleased not to hear much noise from the surrounding rooms.

We flew into Tampa and rented a car for a nice drive to Streamsong. The two courses on the 16,000-acre campus are “Red” and “Blue.” They reminded us more of Ireland’s Tralee or Ballybunion than Florida courses, as there’s not a tree or house on the property.

The Red and Blue are built on an old phosphate mine complete with craters and mounds that look like they were purposefully placed, yet are the result of many years of mining. Our experience was that the Red and Blue are two of the best courses you’ll play in your life.

Follow along for a more in-depth review of the Red and the Black, with on-course photos of each.

Red Course

The Red course was designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw, and tips out at 7,148 yards with a slope of 122 to 130 depending on the tee. Coore and Crenshaw courses are known for their minimalistic approach to golf course design, and Streamsong Red is no different.

steamsong florida

Red Course: Hole No. 5

One thing that was notable about the course was the number of half-par holes that Coore and Crenshaw weaved into the routing. We counted as many as 10 par-4 and par-5 holes that were either short and reachable or very long and unreachable for most golfers. These “half-pars” allow for more birdie chances, but also more tough pars, which means they’re generally played better when the player throws the concept of par out the window.

You’ll see what we mean.

The round starts with a very tough, long, uphill par-4 measuring 464 yards (from the black tees) that is very hard to reach in two shots. Then, on the second hole, you get a 508-yard reachable par-5 that gently doglegs to the right. Hole No. 3 is a reasonable-length par-4 of 391 yards, but then you get to the 4th hole, a fantastic risk-reward, drivable par-4 that’s 316 yards. The 5th hole is another great short par-4 at 344 yards.

After the mid-length, par-3 6th, which measures about 150 yards to a huge green, the player is confronted at the 7th hole. It’s a sweeping dogleg left, reachable par-5 that plays 521 yards. The 8th is another great par-3 with a very long green that can play under 100 yards or more than 150 yards. Next up is the tempting par-4 9th. At 271 yards, it begs long-hitters to try and drive its memorably and difficult green.

IMG_9351

The back nine starts with two difficult, long par-4s at 434 and 408 yards, respectively. The par-4 12th (471 yards) is followed by the reachable par-5 13th (505 yards). The good player should be happy to walk away from those two holes in nine strokes no matter how they occur.

After the excellent par-3 14th hole, golfers get back to the half-par holes. The long, uphill par-4 15th measures 454 yards. The 16th is a standout par-3 on a course with a fantastic set of par 3’s, but it plays very difficult at 184 yards and uphill. The 17th is a mid-range, 380-yard par-4 and the golfer finishes on another half-par, a par-5 that’s 505 yards. There’s plenty of opportunities for birdies, but you’ll have to grind out tough pars as well.

IMG_9374

Walking the Red course is very easy; the terrain is not flat, but the greens and tees are generally right next to each other. The greens are all very interesting and well-contoured without being too undulated. Many of them have organic shapes that are different than the normal square, rectangle or circular shaped greens golfers see on most courses. The landing areas are generous off the tee and somewhat forgiving on small misses around the greens. Large misses are punished, but generally the punishment is well-deserved.

Blue Course

The Blue course, which tips at 7,176, was designed by Tom Doak, who is also a minimalist designer. The two things that stood out the most to us on the Blue course were the great mix of short holes and the large, severely undulating greens.

IMG_9329

Blue Course: Hole No. 7

The 1st, 6th and 13th are all standout short par 4s, and the 5th hole is a fantastic, character-filled par 3 with a very large green that can play one of a 100 ways depending on the hole location and wind.

The greens are large but missing them, even by a small margin, can create very difficult recoveries. I found walking the Blue course to be a little more difficult, especially the 7th hole where golfers are forced to walk across a bridge to the green and then basically retrace their steps to get to the 8th tee. The course has a mostly natural appearance, though some abrupt landforms from the mine are a little jarring.

IMG_9302

Railroad tracks are used as tee markers to remember the phosphate mines that once occupied the property.

The ground game is an option on many of the holes as they are open coming into the greens. The course has some standout holes, but also a few that we didn’t like as much.

Summary

In comparing the two courses, we found that we preferred the Red over the Blue, though we definitely enjoyed both. We enjoyed the walk on the Red, and it’s a little easier to play with a better flow to it. We also preferred the greens on the Red, as we found them to be more reasonable. Some of the greens on Blue were a little too much for us, while the greens on the Red felt more like an older, golden-age course.

Both courses had a great mix of holes, and Blue has a few of my favorite holes on the property including my favorite three-hole stretch: holes Nos. 4-6. If given the chance to play 10 rounds, I would split them 6-4 in favor of the Red course.

IMG_9301

Wonderful landing areas and fabulous green complexes.

IMG_9371

Generous fairways make for more fun in the designs.

Version 2

The forced carry on this par-3 will make for memories.

IMG_9349

No trees and all heather. Just a touch of links in middle Florida.

The greens were in great shape in early March. We didn’t have a stimp meter, but we were told they were running at an 11.

IMG_9359

Ahhh… for real? Yep, and she was a biggy. Looked like a small elk for breakfast.

Streamsong has one of the better caddie programs golf has to offer. The cost is $80 to $100 per bag, plus gratuities. If golfers choose a cart, they’re required to have a forecaddie, which cost between $25 and $50 per bag plus gratuities.

We walked all four rounds, played 36 holes one day, and finished each round in 4 hours or less — no complaints here! One of our group members actually hoofed his own gear for the 36-hole day. Another registered 33,302 steps on his FitBit, and it’s still his record of steps for one day.

IMG_9361

The professional caddies will add frosting to the Streamsong cake.

I know many caddies from great northern clubs go south in the winter looking for loops. Streamsong is not a bargain, so they must know the clientele will be strong. We kept the same caddies for our entire stay, got to know them well and by the end of the battle we felt as if we had developed new friends. They probably all carry single-digit handicaps as well, and were great guys who certainly made our trip that much better.

Lastly

All this for nothing? Not quite. With rooms starting above $300 a night, many golfers will balk at the price tag to stay on site. If they can afford it, they might want to reconsider. The convenience of being a shuttle ride from the first hole and range is worth something.

Still, rooms are pricey, and a round of golf will cost $100 to $225 depending on the time of year. We can say, however, that it was one of our better golf experiences. Well-traveled golfers looking to play as many holes as possible will love Streamsong, where everything is ridiculously convenient and they won’t need to leave the property.

IMG_9314

The crew. The masochist that carried his own bag for 36 holes in one day is Ari on the right.

We suggest golfers make their plans well in advance, especially if they’re are thinking of playing 36 holes per day during the winter months. It requires marquis tee times, and those need to be planned accordingly.

Streamsong is also planning for the future. Construction has begun on the Black Course, which is designed by renowned architect Gil Hanse and scheduled to open in 2017. Hanse has said it will have a “linksy” feel like the other courses on property. Personally, we can’t wait, and there are rumors of a fourth course right after it.

IMG_9391

Your Reaction?
  • 62
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW6
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK12

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

8 Comments

8 Comments

  1. Jeremy

    Nov 16, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    I am fortunate enough to only live a little over an hour away from Streaming. I have only played once but what a top notch facility! I can’t comment on lodging and misc. activities but for golf, you simply can’t beat it. It gets a little pricey after you pay for green fees, caddie and tip but definitely worth checking it out. This would be a great long weekend destination!

  2. Imanoff

    Nov 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    Very nice review!

    That particular par-3 looks familiar to me. Is that the one that featuring Justin Rose/Ashworth ads?

  3. Al Snow

    Nov 16, 2015 at 10:28 am

    You definitely have to keep your eyes on the Streamsong website. While in season (December through Easter) you will pay a premium on golf and resort rooms, but bargains are to be had during the shoulder seasons and during the summer months. Florida residents also receive some great pricing outside of the peak season.

  4. Jerry K

    Nov 15, 2015 at 7:36 am

    I agree that Streaming is pure golf very similar to Bandon with better weather. I believe the caddie fee quoted is for a forecaddie when taking a cart while the carry rate was at least double that. Should also note that carts have significant restrictions during the season.

  5. JH Holmes

    Nov 14, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    Not sure where you got that caddie cost but I played there in June and it was $80-100 per bag. And thats whats currently listed on their website. Definitely worth it though – every caddie we had was A+.

    But it seems like this review is for a trip actually in early March – so maybe the prices changed.

    • Zak Kozuchowski

      Nov 15, 2015 at 12:43 pm

      JH,

      Thanks for letting us know. We have updated the review to reflect Streamsong’s current caddie prices.

  6. Michael

    Nov 14, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    I’m going to be visiting family in Orlando in May next year. It will be my first visit to Florida. I’m hoping to convince my wife that I need to make the journey to Streamsong. This review will hopefully help sway her. From what I’ve been told and read it is definitely worth the expense and effort to get there. The two courses look magnificent. Fingers crossed.

    • Paul Seifert

      Nov 15, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      Your wife will love it! Unlike Bandon and many other world-class golf resorts, Streamsong has a fantastic infinity pool, spa and food/beverage experience that the non-golfing spouse looking for leisure will absolutely love.

      Get it on the books. While the golf experience is phenomenal, the resort is every bit as good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Courses

The Pinehurst Experience

Published

on

We have all heard stories about Pinehurst. Friends have returned home to talk about its greatness. The Ryder Cup history, the U.S. Open tournaments, the cradle of American golf, and Payne Stewart’s fist held high in the air. And while the Village of Pinehurst and the ten golf courses that complete it are the primary reason to make the trip to North Carolina, we really go for the stories. To hear them and to create them. And eventually, to be able to tell them ourselves.

The story of my family’s Pinehurst Experience is one we will remember forever.

We left Texas for North Carolina with no real expectations. My wife, Shannon, and our 11-month-old baby boy William joined me. As did my mom, Tammy,  and my dad, John. None of us had been before. And, quite honestly, none of us were expecting such a perfect weekend. I wasn’t sure if this type of golf intensive trip would be a good fit for my wife and mom, both non-golfers. But there was plenty for them to do each day. I was so excited to hear how much they enjoyed their time.

Carolina Hotel at Pinehurst

We flew into Raleigh and took a rental car the remaining 70-minute drive to the Pinehurst resort. Pinehurst offers several different hotel options, but we booked our rooms in the historic Carolina Hotel. It’s the one you see in all the pictures. Built in 1901, the hotel is the definition of Carolina class. The wood floors under elegant carpet creak every few steps, reminding you that this place has held the weight of the best golfers the world has ever seen for over a century. And of course, the Ryder Cup Bar just off the hotel lobby is an immediate hat tip to the history of Pinehurst.

We arrived just after 1:30 in the afternoon, giving us enough time to check into our rooms and then head out to our first round of golf. The front desk provides you with a personalized Pinehurst bag tag which lists every tee time you have scheduled for the week. This allows for your clubs to be sent from course to course ahead of your round so you aren’t having to deal with carrying your bag around the resort. It’s seamless and convenient.

My dad and I had four rounds scheduled. First at the par-3 track, The Cradle, followed by Pinehurst No. 4, Pinehurst No. 2, and the Pinehurst No.8.

The Cradle

Shuttle buses run like clockwork all over the resort town and their affable drivers are willing to take you just about anywhere. The longest we ever had to wait for one was probably five minutes. Our clubs were waiting for us at the Clubhouse, the hub of the Pinehurst golfing community. The Clubhouse features an enormous pro-shop, locker rooms, caddie shack, The Deuce Restaurant (which overlooks the 18th green at Pinehurst No.2) and is the headquarters for courses one through five.

It’s approximately a three-minute shuttle ride from the Carolina Hotel and could easily be a nice walk if you’ve got time and good weather. It also backs up to the Thistle Dhu putting course, a 15,000 square foot putting green, complete with 18 marked holes, scorecard and beer holders on every tee. It’s a great place to spend 30 minutes. And it’s kid friendly, too.

Thistle Dhu Putting Course

We didn’t have much time but we were hungry. The bartender at the Deuce told us to make a quick burger, hot dog or sandwich at their buffet, which was perfect. We were able to get a hardy meal for $15 and give us a boost for the rest of the day. The view overlooking 18 green on No. 2 was incredible and I could’ve been just fine staying there to watch the golfers come off one of the best tracks in golf.

The Deuce Restaurant and Bar

But we headed to the Cradle, a nine-hole par three course designed by Gil Hanse in 2017. The longest hole tops out at 127 yards downhill, so a full bag is not necessary. I carried my putter and my pitching, sand and gap wedge to the first tee. The starter provided me with a carry bag and scorecard. The Cradle has been described as “the most fun 10 acres in golf” and that might be true. There are 16 speakers disguised as rocks playing music throughout the course, blasting Steve Winwood, Garth Brooks, the Rolling Stones and everything in between. Green fees at the Cradle are $50 and that gets you all day access. Kids under 17 play for free. In fact, we ended up being joined by four other golfers, one of whom was a 4 1/2 year old named Parker who had a better swing than me. We still got around the course in about an hour, including a couple of stops for drinks.

Positioned on a high part of the course behind the 3rd and 8th green sits the Pine Cone, a teardrop style camper that has been converted into a full bar. It has to be one of the coolest places to have a drink in all of golf. And with the music playing and a wedge in your hand on every shot, it’s impossible to have a bad time. Play the Cradle a couple of rounds. Have a few beers. Be happy.

    

The family met us for a drink back at the Deuce patio overlooking 18 of No. 2 and then we headed into town for dinner. The Village of Pinehurst itself is a cute little community, full of cafes, pubs, inns and shops. We were told to check out the Pine Crest Inn and to eat at Mr. B’s Lounge, a dark old bar full of golf history. Payne Stewart’s name is still prominently displayed on the wall where he signed it back in 1999. It was just yet another cool glimpse into the history of the golf town.

Breakfast the next morning (and then every morning thereafter) was at the Carolina Dining Room within our hotel. The family enjoyed a full breakfast buffet in an elegant dining room setting. The biscuits and gravy were out-of-this-world good. And the service, like everything else at the Carolina Hotel, was exquisite.

The girls had a couple of trips to the spa planned while the boys played golf. Shannon had a massage in the early afternoon while my mom watched baby Will. The next day, they flipped and my mom enjoyed some time relaxing herself. The pool at the Carolina hotel was also a huge hit with the family (especially William). They also loved going into town and shopping at the boutiques, which was only a 6 minute walk from our hotel.

I’ve experienced places like Bandon Dunes, which is a fantastic buddy golf trip location. And make no mistake, Pinehurst can be that, too. I saw countless groups of guys having a great time. But I realized that Pinehurst is an absolutely wonderful place to visit for entire families, whether they all play golf or not. And everywhere we went was kid friendly and welcoming. Just an absolute pleasure.

Pinehurst offers several options that include meal plans/stay and play packages. And I am telling you right now, it’s an experience you and your entire family will cherish.

Pinehurst No. 4

Back at the clubhouse on day two, our clubs were yet again waiting for our arrival, this time on a cart pointed towards the driving range. We hit a few balls on the spacious practice, large enough to handle the type of traffic for all five courses the clubhouse facilitates.

Pinehurst No. 4 is a new renovation from Gil Hanse and, quite honestly, a great introduction to Pinehurst golf. The fairways are lined with “waste hazard” bunkers and pine needles, which both allow for grounding of the club and removing loose impediments. Whatever you are imagining in your head when you think of Pinehurst….that’s likely Pinehurst No. 4.

No. 4 plays 6,961 yards from the men’s blue tees. There is a tee box further back that plays at 7,227 yards, but the markers are not typically set up for regular play. Honestly, that’s a shame because standing on a few of those back tee boxes, I could tell the course would be even better from back there. It’s still a tough course from the blue tees, playing to a par 72. The elevation changes make some holes play much longer than the scorecard indicates.

The property interweaves with Pinehurst No. 2, so the landscapes are similar. But the features of No. 4 seem grander in comparison. The exposed sand areas are full of native wire grass blend, making fairway misses playable but unpredictable. And the land-forms are much more dramatic on No. 4.  I was a bit surprised to see the types of elevation changes out on this course. There is a body of water that sits low in the center of the property around holes 4, 13 and 14 which provides some incredible views. When you stand on the 6th green, you can actually see parts of 15 other golf holes. It’s arguably the most beautiful view in Pinehurst.

We teed off at 9:50 on what was an unseasonably warm day for May in North Carolina. We took a cart, though the entire course was path only to preserve the pristine conditions. If the course is cart path only still when you decide to visit, I would consider hiring a caddie for this round as we ended up walking a ton anyway.

The fairways are wide and accessible and the greens are large, though they don’t play easy at all. A little local knowledge can go a long way on the greens at Pinehurst. Holes 13 and 14, in my opinion, is the best two hole stretch on the course. The first is a short par 5 but with a narrow fairway landing area off the tee between the water on the left and waste area on the right. Longer hitters can reach the green in two but the entire shot will be over water to a diagonal sloped green. It’s a wonderful risk/reward shot that I, of course, attempted with the help of some liquid courage.

The next hole stays water with a 200-yard par three to a slightly downhill green. Miss short and left and you are wet. It’s just a wonderful hole. Plenty of room right to approach the green from the front.

All in all, Gil Hanse made his mark on Pinehurst No. 4 and created a sensational companion course for the famed No. 2. If you only have a couple of rounds at Pinehurst, make sure to include both courses.

After our round, we headed out to the newly opened Pinehurst Brewery, just around the corner from our hotel. The restaurant is housed in the old Pinehurst steam power plant, which supplied the entire town their power beginning in 1895. Now it supplies the entire town with Carolina style BBQ and great local beer.

I ordered the combo platter, which came with pulled pork, chicken, sausage, and brisket. The beer was cold and the food was tasty. The pulled pork, when paired with the vinegar based East North Carolina BBQ sauce was my favorite. And this Texan actually thought the brisket was a happy substitute for what I am used to back home. My wife had a pint of the Hawaiian Delight brew, a pineapple infused beer that gave it a cider type kick. She highly recommends.

  

Pinehurst No. 2

Waking up the morning of your first ever round at Pinehurst No. 2 is a pretty special experience. I watched a couple youtube videos of Payne Stewart’s final holes in 1999 to get my mind in the right place. The first tee is tucked in a corner of hedgerows and the starter house is an exact replica of the Old Course Starters Box in Scotland, built to symbolize a bond of shared ideals and common values. St. Andrews is the home of golf and Pinehurst is the guardian of its traditions in the United States. Pretty cool.

No. 2, a Donald Ross build, opened in 1907 and Ross himself describes it as “the fairest test of championship golf I have ever designed.” It has been the host site for more single golf championships than any course in America, including U.S. Opens in 1999, 2005 and 2014.

My dad has never used a caddie in his entire life. Golf has never been his passion and, quite frankly, he was a bit self-conscious about a player of his skill set using a caddie for a round of golf. However, we shared one for Pinehurst No. 2 and his mind was changed completely. We got lucky, too, because our caddie, Andy Kurasz, was first class. Andy, or AK, has lived in Pinehurst since 1994 and has been a caddie for 15 years. With a bag on each shoulder, he was incredibly personable and friendly the entire round. Just as important, he knew this course like the back of his hand. If you get to play Pinehurst, ask for AK.

The greens at No. 2 might be the toughest I’ve ever played. Each one crowned like an upside down saucer, if you miss slightly on your approach in any direction, your ball will not likely hold the putting surface. No. 2 is most certainly a second shot golf course, forcing you to think about your approach shot before you tee off on each hole. And while the par 72 track plays at less than 7,000 yards from the men’s tees, it can be tipped out to nearly 7,600 yards for its Championships. With the complex approach shots and difficult greens, I can’t even imagine how tough this course would be at that length.

But the course is fair. Most fairways are lined with those famous sandy waste areas and the pine trees even wider still allow for punch outs off the pine needles. Our caddie Andy said this is the hardest course we will ever play without losing a golf ball. And he was right. We both got through it without a lost ball penalty. Andy also saved us each several strokes per side, always giving us the right target, right line, proper encouragement and reminding us to slow down our tempo and “enjoy your backswing.”

Donald Ross, who also built his home on the course, was brilliant in his routing. The course evolves naturally and uses the contours of the land to play tricks in your mind. If the fairway slopes hard right to left, like it does on the par 4 fourth, the green will slope the opposite direction, which makes putts feel like they will break a completely different way from the actual line. You need a caddie.

Home of Donald Ross

In 2010, the design team of Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw worked to restore No. 2 to the original design. Dozens of acres of turf was removed to reintroduce the hardpan natural bunkers and native grasses to the course. The No. 2 of today is essentially the course as it was in 1907. And it’s perfect.

Walking up 18 fairway is one of those special moments in golf. The clubhouse is behind the green, full of people enjoying food and drink from the Deuce, sitting on rocking chairs and enjoying the golfers approach shots. Also in view is the Payne Stewart statue, striking that famous pose after his winning putt poured in to win the U.S. Open. I hit my drive right and had to escape short of the green. My caddie simply said “That’s okay, let’s go get up and down just like Payne did.” What an incredible feeling to play a course with so much history.

Our family was waiting for us just off the back of the green. The fitting end to a perfect day on Pinehurst No. 2.

We had dinner that night at the Carolina Room in our hotel, which, as usual, was first class. A traditional steak and fish menu with an impressive wine list to accompany. But after a long day of strategic golf on one of the world’s toughest courses, I went to sleep early and dreamed of true approach shots at waving flags.

Pinehurst No. 8

My final round at Pinehurst was on the Centennial Course, Pinehurst No. 8. The Tom Fazio design was built to celebrate Pinehurst’s 100th anniversary and it has a different style and feel to both No. 2 and No. 4. Interestingly, the course was built on the site of the old Pinehurst Gun Club, where Annie Oakley used to give shooting lessons and exhibitions.

The shuttle ride takes a few extra minutes to get to No. 8’s stand alone clubhouse. And those extra minutes change the landscape dramatically. The fairways at No. 8 are lined with a cut of rough on most holes, as opposed to the natural sand areas seen on the other courses I played. And the course is tucked in to a more heavily populated forest of trees, giving this course a more secluded feel. The par 72 plays at 6694 yards, but there are many more opportunities for lost balls here. Water and marsh land comes in to play on several holes, giving off a low country course vibe.

 

I had a 9:00 am tee time but was able to get off at 7:30 in order to make sure we had enough time to get to the airport later that day. I played this round alone and was the first man off, which allowed me to get around the course in a little over 2 hours in a cart. It was an amazingly peaceful round. After playing No. 4 and No. 2, this was a pleasant contrast.

The par-3 8th hole is perhaps the most beautiful hole I played at Pinehurst. At 204 yards, the tee shot still requires accuracy to the left side in order to avoid the well placed natural marshland short and right. The greens at No. 8 are large but less severe than those found on No.4 and No. 2, to make up for the more difficult marshy hazards on the course.

 

I am glad I played No. 8. It’s a different style course than I expected to find at Pinehurst, but it complements the experience. I would recommend you include it as a part of your Pinehurst trip as well.

After the round, we had just enough time for a visit to the Village of Pinehurst for a quick bite to eat. Our rental car was already loaded up by the Carolina Hotel staff, proving once again that they do everything right at the resort. While in town, we stumbled across the Old Sport and Gallery boutique, owned and operated by former professional golfer Tom Stewart. It was an incredible collection of golf history, books, art and antiques. And speaking with Mr. Stewart for a few minutes made me wish I had another day in Pinehurst to hear his stories. This is a must visit for any golf fan.

 

And with that, our Pinehurst trip was over. We played incredible courses, ate wonderful food, received first-class hospitality everywhere we went and created those Pinehurst stories we’ve heard about all our lives. Now they are ours to keep and to share. I hope you visit one day soon so you can create your own stories, too.

Just remember to “enjoy your backswing.”

Your Reaction?
  • 197
  • LEGIT56
  • WOW51
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Courses

Brough Creek National: The backyard course you wish you’d built

Published

on

Raise your hand if you’ve ever wanted a golf course in your backyard.

Of course you have.

Now leave your hand raised if you actually rolled up your sleeves and made it happen.

Among the very few people left with their hands in the air are Ben Hotaling, Zach Brough, Evan Bissell, and Mark Robinson, the driving force behind Brough Creek National. That’s right. These guys are building a golf course in their backyard. From scratch.

The true beginnings of golf aren’t well-documented, but one thing’s for sure: people were playing golf at least 400 years before the first working internal combustion engine. Long before golf course architecture was a multi-million dollar investment before the first dime of revenue trickled in, courses were laid down largely by hand using the natural movement of the land. In that same spirit, Ben happened to notice that there was one particular shot in their backyard that reminded him of the Road Hole at St. Andrews, as it plays over their barn and to a green situated right in front of the road to the property.

Ben ultimately convinced his roommate Zach, whose family has owned the land for some time, that they should clear some trees and put in a makeshift green for their Road Hole. That was in 2015 and, while that’s technically the genesis of Brough Creek National, it was in 2018 when they started sharing their ideas in No Laying Up’s online forum section that things escalated rather quickly. Bouncing ideas off their fellow compatriots revealed great natural setups for a Biarritz/punch bowl combination, a Redan, and more. Before they knew it, they had a 630-yard, 7-hole golf course criss-crossing through the three-acre property in Kansas City, KS.

Road Hole green at Brough Creek National

Perhaps the most impressive aspect of Brough Creek National is that it has operated solely off of donations, which started with a weed eater here and a can of herbicide there and has since grown to a recent GoFundMe campaign of $15,000. These donations have allowed them to purchase grass seed and other vital equipment to see the project through. The community aspect of Brough Creek National is so important to what they’re trying to achieve that anyone who provides their name and address on the website is sent a free new membership packet (I happen to be member #209). Included are some stickers, a ballmark, and a welcome letter that states (among other things),

“We are proud to have you as a lifetime national member at our exclusive, member-owned (and maintained) club…The vision of Brough Creek National is to have a place for community golf modeled around fun for members and guests from all golfing backgrounds…Your dues will be assessed at the rate of $0.00 annually.”

Ben further emphasizes the importance of the community aspect by saying:

“I think Brough Creek stands for community. It’s like-minded individuals coming together and supporting something they’re proud of. It’s a smart, intriguing golf course, but it’s ultimately about making friends and that’s what matters. The quality of the golf course is almost inconsequential because the real purpose is to assemble this brotherhood of people who are passionate about the game of golf. We think it’s done in a way that sheds the elitist stigma that golf has often struggled with and we’re almost mocking that in a playful way.”

“I’m not going to tell anyone they have to experience the game a certain way, but we try to go above and beyond to be approachable and welcoming because we think that’s more important than status. Golf’s not a money-making business. It’s just not. So, why don’t we just take that out of it, come together as a community, and create something we can all be proud of?”

If we’re all having an honest moment, not even Ben and Zach know exactly how this project is going to evolve, but one thing’s for sure: an emphasis on maximizing fun for the highest number of the golfing community is never a bad place to start. Those who believe par and total yardage are irrelevant in determining the amount of fun available to them should be in for a treat. To watch the project unfold, check out www.someguysbackyard.com and follow @someguysbackyrd on Twitter and @someguysbackyard on Instagram.

Below is an overview of the course, narrated by Ben Hotaling

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Courses

Ari’s Course Reviews: Bethpage Black

Published

on

Bethpage’s Black course was designed by A.W. Tillinghast and opened for play in 1936. It was immediately considered one of the best tests of golf in the world, and it has tested golfers coming from all over the world in its 83-year history. Bethpage State Park itself has five courses. The Green was the first course built and was originally called Lennox Hills Country Club. In the early 1930s, the Bethpage Park Authority purchased Lennox Hills CC and other adjacent property and turned the whole thing into what is now known as Bethpage State Park. Course architect A.W. Tillinghast was hired to remodel what would become the Green course as well as build the Blue, Red, and finally the Black. The Yellow Course was designed by Alfred Tull and opened in 1958.

Bethpage first hosted a major championship in 2002 when it hosted the U.S, Open. What is somewhat forgotten 17 years later as it hosts its third major, is how much the course had fallen into disrepair by the mid-1990s. Luckily, the USGA could see through all of that and helped fund a complete restoration that was overseen personally by Dave Catalano, the larger than life (in both stature and personality) head of Bethpage State Park. Dave had been working at Bethpage since he was a kid in 1967, picking up papers in the picnic area. It was his baby, and with Rees Jones by his side, they painstakingly restored the Black to its former greatness and into a true championship test of golf. After the PGA Championship, the Black will be back in the spotlight 2024 as host of the Ryder Cup, joining a very short list of courses to host a U.S. Open, a PGA Championship, and a Ryder Cup.

Playing the Black is one of the most unique experiences in the game because of what it takes to get a tee time. There are a very limited number of tee times. They are easier to get if you are a NY resident, but for most of us, it’s first come, first serve. Which in practical terms means they have a parking lot with numbered spaces and people start showing up the day before to sleep in their cars to play. In fact, I can proudly say that the last three times I slept in my car it was just to play at Bethpage. One of those times I didn’t even get out on the Black and had to settle for playing the Red! Should have eaten dinner in the car I guess….

Every time I have slept in the car I have had a great time. It’s a party in the lot with a bunch of golfers hanging out all excited to play the next day. There’s usually a few beers around and one of the times, someone called a cab and went and got 50 cheeseburgers from McDonald’s at 1 a.m. to show us all some top-notch NY hospitality! That’s definitely not an experience you will have going to play any other top courses!

Once you finally do get to sleep, the staff wakes you up around 4 a.m. to go get in line and get your tee time and course assignment. Then you can go back to sleep or go eat breakfast or hit balls or whatever you want until it’s your turn to tee off. On your way to the tee, you see the famous WARNING sign telling you that the Black Course is an extremely difficult course which they recommend only for highly skilled golfers. Hopefully, you didn’t lose your tee ticket because you will need that to get onto the tee and trust me, they aren’t messing around with the rules!

The golf course itself sits on a huge, sprawling, fantastic piece of land with abundant elevation change and lots of random contours. The bunkering is big and bold and not to be messed with. There is abundant long fescue and numerous trees off to the sides of the holes which combined with the beautiful bunkering makes for a very beautiful setting.

The first hole is a downhill, almost 90-degree dogleg right. The fairway is pretty flat and so is the well-bunkered green. The key for the player is to put their drive into the right place in the fairway to get a good angle to the hole location. From here you cross Round Swamp Rd and head to the second, which is a short, uphill par 4 of 389 yards. The fairway slants a little right to left and the green is elevated and can be a challenge to hold. The third is a par 3 that plays about 160 yards normally but has been brought back to 230 the PGA. This is one of the more interesting greens on the course; it’s wide on the right and falls away as it gets to the back and tapers to a smaller, more narrow section on the left. Bunkers flank the short left and right side of the green.

The fourth hole is vintage Bethpage Black and probably the most photographed on the course. A huge bunker flanks the left side of the fairway off the tee of the 517-yard par-5. Another, even more huge bunker looms at the end of the fairway cut into the from right to left. The tee shot is downhill but the rest of the hole is uphill. There is a second fairway to layup over the big bunker where you will have a partial view of the small, flattish green that falls away slightly and is protected by two more deep bunkers to the front and left. The fifth is a monster par 4 of almost 480 yards. A massive fairway bunker guards the right side of the fairway which is also the best angle to come into the small, elevated green guarded by two deep bunkers short and one over the green.

FARMINGDALE, NEW YORK – MAY 15: A general view of the fifth green is seen during a practice round prior to the 2019 PGA Championship at the Bethpage Black course on May 15, 2019 in Farmingdale, New York. (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images)

No. 6 gets back into the more open and less tree-lined part of the property. The tee shot is semi-blind and over a hill. The landing area is pinched by bunkers on both sides. The long hitter who can carry the hill should have a very short shot into the flattish, oval shaped green that’s open in front and protected by bunkers on both sides. No. 7 is a converted par 5 that plays as a par 4 for the PGA. At 524 yards, it’s very long and the tee shot requires a long poke over another large fairway bunker. The green is again pretty flat and protected by deep bunkers in front.

The eighth hole is unique for the Black as it’s the only hole with water in play. A 210-yard drop shot to a green with some slope from right to left and front to back and a ridge running on a diagonal angle through the middle of the green. The shot must carry the pond short of the green and there is a deep bunker left and a hillside right. Nine is a 460-yard hard dogleg left that drops down off the tee and back up to the green. Another very deep bunker guards the left side and can be carried by the longer hitter. The right side of the fairway is the safe play off the tee but leaves an awkward shot out of a gully up to the green. The green is heavily guarded in front again by deep bunkers.

As the players make the turn, they are confronted with another long, tight par 4 of just over 500 yards. Hitting the fairway is key here as the fairway is heavily guarded by bunkers and fescue. The green sits on the other side of a little gully and is guarded once again by a set of deep bunkers. The 11th hole is 435 yards and has probably the most interesting green on the course. It has a little false front and two distinct tiers with some nice internal movement. A really good green on any course it stands out on the Black amongst what is mostly a flatter set of greens. 12 forces the players to carry it 285 over a massive cross bunker on the 515-yard par 4. The green is back to the more typical flattish oval, and characteristically is guarded in the front on both sides by deep bunkers. 13 is a par 5 of over 600 yards. One of the least bunkered holes on the course, there are a few bunkers on the left and a great little cross bunker about 60 yards short of the green that obscures the view of the green and will make the players think twice about going for the green in two. 14 is the best chance for birdie on the course. A par 3 that plays only 160 yards over a valley to a narrow, long green.

After walking off the 14th green the players cross back over Round Swamp Road to the home stretch of the course. 15 is always the hardest hole on the course for me when I play the Black. The hole plays 460 yards. The tee shot is flat to a fairway that bends slightly right to left and has no bunkers. The second shot is massively uphill. Over a hillside set with bunkers and a small section of fairway to a green set into the top of the hill and guarded by the deepest bunkers on the course. A very hard hole to make par if you miss the fairway or miss the green. The 16th has a downhill tee shot that will test the player’s judgement of the wind if there is any present. The green is well guarded especially to the right and is small with a little slant to it. The 17th is an uphill brute of a 210-yard par 3. The green is 45 yards wide and is huge. However, it does not look big from the tee as it is set amongst a veritable minefield of bunkers waiting to swallow up any wayward shots. The players walk up a hill to the 18th tee and stare down at a fairway that gets severely pinched in the middle by the huge bunkers on both sides. The green is then back uphill, it’s medium sized with a slight kidney shape and two deep, artistically shaped bunkers set into the hillside short.

All of this adds up to a great test of championship golf.  The course is pretty straightforward. There is not a ton of strategy other than hit it long and straight and make as many putts as you can. The greens are mostly pretty flat so there should be a lot of chances for birdie for those that can reach the greens in regulation. That said, the course has a ton of character when it comes to the land movement and elevation changes as well as the massive, artistic bunkers. New Yorkers are VERY proud of the Black and for a very good reason. It’s a fantastic golf course. Golf needs more top courses like the Black that are accessible to everyone and challenging to even the best players in the world.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 16
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending