Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Scotty Cameron Futura X and Futura X Dual Balance Putters

Published

on

Pros: The Futura X is tremendously forgiving and crafted with exceptional attention to detail. It’s one of the most stable, consistent high-MOI putters on the market.

Cons: Sells for $349-$399. It’s big and curvy, which might rub traditionalists the wrong way. Feel putters could struggle with the putter’s tendency to swing straight back and straight through.

Who’s it for? Golfers who miss a lot of short putts and/or struggle with distance control. It will work best for those who do not have much arc in their strokes.

Overview

Scotty Cameron has made his mark on the putter world over the years with blade-style putters such as his Newport, Newport 2 and mallets such as his Red X and GoLo. But he’s also taken risks with models such as the Futura, Detour and Kombi.

The Futura X fits squarely in the risk-taking category.

The oversized, high-MOI mallet is made from 6061 T6 aluminum, which is lighter than the stainless steels that are used to make most putters. That allowed Cameron to make the Futura X putter head larger and still have weight remaining to fine tune the putter’s performance and sound.

IMG_2704

The rear balance bar of the putter, which juts rearward and toward the back corners of the putter head, has two stainless steel weights on its edges to further improve the putter’s stability. There’s also two stainless steel weights on the front part of the putter’s sole that act as counterweights to better the putter’s balance and feel.

The Futura X comes in lengths of 33, 34 and 35 inches and sells for $349.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.scottycameron.com/putters/futura-x/models/Futura-X.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Scotty Cameron” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E4CMHWE/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00E4CMHWE&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=37DOVN7FJG265RK4″]

A Futura X Dual Balance ($399) is also available. It has a slightly heavier putter head and a 15-inch grip with a 50-gram weight positioned on its butt end to help golfers slow down their transition for a more consistent stroke. According to Cameron, golfers will get the most benefit from a Dual Balance putter when they position their hands about 3 inches below the butt end of the grip.

10171894b
The red section of the Futura X Dual Balance’s grip is a visual reminder of where golfers should grip the putter. 

The Futura X Dual Balance has a stock length of 38 inches, however, it’s available through custom order in 36-to-40-inch lengths in 0.5-inch increments.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.scottycameron.com/putters/futura-x/models/Futura-X-Dual-Balance.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Scotty Cameron” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GDAL7A8/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GDAL7A8&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=WHB4ACT42H72D3XY”]

The Review

Regardless of how you feel about the Futura X, there’s one thing you can’t deny; the putter is unbelievably consistent.

Even when you mishit it — and it doesn’t matter if it’s low on the face, high on the face, or on the heel or toe — the Futura X’s distance control seems to be on cruise control. Even better news for golfers who struggle with their strokes is that weighting scheme of the putter, which concentrates the majority of its mass in the back of the putter head, encourages the Futura X to swing straight back and straight through without much effort.

IMG_2701

The bad news? For golfers who have some arc in their strokes, the Futura X can be over-controlling. It swings so steady that it can be hard for feel players adjust.

Looks and Feel

The biggest concern we’ve heard golfers raise about the Futura X has been the look of the two stainless steel weights that are located on the back corners of the putter head. It was an interesting choice by Cameron to include the shiny weights in that location, which contrast starkly with the putter’s matte “Frozen Titanium” finish, but it wasn’t a foolish one.

FuturaX

Here’s the deal; the Futura X is long enough from front to back that golfers won’t even see the weights at address. They’ll be focused on one or more of the putter’s plentiful alignment aids, which include:

  1. A black line that’s perpendicular to the target line.
  2. Two black lines in the midsection of the putter that are parallel to the target line.
  3. Mini lines that are between the two parallel lines and parallel to them.

If you’re into simplicity or sight dots, you’ll want to look elsewhere.

IMG_2702

As for feel, the Futura X has a clean, crisp “thwack” that some will mistake for stainless steel. We’re not sure if that’s due to the extra weight Cameron added behind the face, the stainless steel soleplate, the weights on the front of the sole, the milling pattern on the face, etc., but whatever was done worked beautifully.

Should I get the Futura X Or Futura X Dual Balance?

Golfers should test both putters, but if they can’t (or can’t make up their mind) it makes sense to buy the Futura X Dual Balance. Yes, it’s $50 more expensive, but the added length will give golfers more flexibility if they decide they want a slightly longer or slightly shorter putter.

From a performance standpoint, the Dual Balance does a nice job of taking the “hit” out of short putts. That doesn’t mean it will fix the yips, but if you’re on the fence it’s probably something you want in your game. Those of you who don’t like the counterbalanced feel will know so immediately, so sorry for these five sentences.

IMG_2707

We love the attention to detail Cameron put into the Futura X, such as the high-gloss black paint fill used for the larger alignment aids and the shiny, cherry red accents added throughout the rest of the putter. The simple, circular shaft band is also a nice touch, but as cool as the headcover is it’s just as much of a pain to get off and on as the original Futura headcover. We wonder if there’s a better way.

Also not hot? The Cameron Flat Front Winn grip, which like other Winn grips loses its color and tacky feel quicker than it should. Luckily, it’s a cheap, easy upgrade.

IMG_2709

The Takeaway

Grading the Futura X wasn’t easy, because it will be awesome for some players and troublesome for others. Within our own walls, Managing Editor Zak Kozuchowski gushed over the Futura X, while Assistant Editor Andrew Tursky struggled to control his speed. He said it “came off too hot,” and he’s likely not the only better player to think so. It’s no surprise that Zak has more of a straight-back, straight-through stroke, while Andrew’s stroke has quite a bit more arc to it.

For golfers who like face-balanced, high-MOI putters the Futura X is one of the best currently available, and the Futura X Dual Balance is a great option for golfers looking for a bit more assistance with their strokes. These will help far more players than they hurt, and even if you don’t like the way they perform it’s hard not to appreciate the effectiveness and beauty of these designs.

Your Reaction?
  • 110
  • LEGIT14
  • WOW20
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK11

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. chrispuckhaber

    Nov 18, 2014 at 9:05 am

    I use a mallet putter and have alot of issues with short putts thinking about switching to a blade? any suggestions? thx chris

  2. steve

    Sep 22, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    if you want a cameron this isnt it. if you have swallowed the kool aid thinking that a $400 putter is better then a $100, buy a cameron blade better resale.

  3. Tony Clams

    Sep 19, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    While I love the performance of this putter I just couldn’t get past the size and look of it.

  4. weekend maids huntington beach ca

    Sep 19, 2014 at 2:47 am

    My partner and i enjoy, bring about I discovered just what I became interested in. You might have ended this several time long search! Our god Thanks a lot dude weekend maids Huntington Beach CA. Use a great evening. Cya

  5. Airbender

    Sep 17, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    I am so grateful that I don’t have to spend that kind of money to improve my putting game. But, if I can buy a good putting game, I WILL…

  6. phil

    Sep 16, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    Surely you must be kidding! To spend $440 for a putter face that touches the ball less than we can sense is ridiculous. What hype!

  7. Pondy

    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    If you have a SBST stroke this is a very good putter.

    I certainly don’t regret buying mine 🙂

  8. Miguel

    Sep 16, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    now now… The beauty of putters (both the club and person holding the club) is that every single one has that promise of putting the ball in the hole when it matters. This isn’t putt putt where the small pseudo-Wilson blades are only differentiated by the color of the grip. I would swing a shoebox on a stick or a butter knife to putt less than 25 times per round. I use the dual balance after success with a belly putter. I make some, I miss some but I enjoy the solid way it feels for me… and the way I can hole putts with it. I still practice with the belly just to remember the nice feel again. Swallow that preconception and try something new. Just concentrating on different feel may make you better with your own putter. As for price- well, I’ve never regretted saving for and getting exactly what I want. But i have had the opposite when I’ve gone cheap. Fairways and greens, my friends.

  9. golfpunk46

    Sep 16, 2014 at 2:11 pm

  10. Ken

    Sep 16, 2014 at 10:17 am

    If this was a bit larger, Captain Kirk would be flying it!

  11. Jonathan

    Sep 16, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Was interested in buying it when it came out. I ended up testing it against the nome tr and the odyssey 7. I have a strong arc swing so the futura was absoloutley terrible( not it’s fault), I was hitting draw putts haha. It looks massive up against the ball, the feedback was very very dull (not good for a feel putter like myself) and personally didn’t appreciate the dark alignment aids. Also, the thing is massive in the bag with the head cover on which is a pain If you are using a small carry bag. As always though, Scotty putters are beautifully crafted. I ended up going with the nome TR and I absoloutley love it.

    • Erik

      Sep 16, 2014 at 12:48 pm

      you have a strong arc and you wanted to try a face balanced putter? That’s like saying I have a slice, maybe if I move my SLDR to slice it will fix my issue

  12. Chuck

    Sep 15, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    A year late…

  13. mjdailey87

    Sep 15, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    I love this putter. I’ve gamed it since it came out. I’ve always been a decent putter, but I’ve had trouble with blade putters getting the right line. I’m a straight back and straight through putter. No arc. I’ve made more birdies with this putter than any other putter I’ve ever owned. My favorite prior to this was a 2 ball. I’ve owned several scotties and this by far is my favorite.

    If you’re not afraid to use something that looks like a spaceship, then give it a try! Its awesome!

  14. Willy

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    Garden tool….

  15. R

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Well, it’s about a year late.

  16. J

    Sep 15, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    The less than qaulity grip is a cheap and easy fix on a 400.00 putter…

    Did you intentionally mean to be condescending with that statement or does spending 400.00 on something only to have to turn around and spend more a short time after purchase actually seem reasonable to you….

    Really…

    These articles come off as pompous an awful lot.

  17. Erik

    Sep 15, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I have this dual balance in my bag currently. I wanted to find an alternative to my belly putter. I agree, it doesn’t look the best but once you get past that there’s nothing I don’t like about it. Very stable, almost automatic on short putts, and great feel. It may be $400 but people on here pay upwards of that just on a shaft for their driver, something they will use a maximum of 14 times in a round. Dollar for dollar you get much more for your money with the Scotty than a new driver. I’m 100% satisfied.

  18. Mike Belkin

    Sep 15, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    She looks nice, but my Kombi is never leaving my bag!

  19. Reg

    Sep 15, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Let the crying begin for the A-

    • Jeremy

      Sep 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm

      Well since you mentioned it, A- does seem pretty generous for a putter that looks ridiculous, won’t really benefit people with a certain putting stroke, and costs as much as a medium-sized yacht.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 46
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 58
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK36

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending