Connect with us

19th Hole

LPGA issues statement following very rare disqualification at ShopRite Classic

Published

on

During the first round of the ShopRite LPGA Classic, Nasa Hataoka was disqualified after her golf ball was found after the three-minute time limit had expired.

Hataoka was in the midst of a great round when she hit her ball into the fescue of the 9th hole (her 18th).

The LPGA Tour released a statement after the disqualification.

“Statement on Nasa Hataoka’s disqualification from the ShopRite LPGA Classic: During the first round of the LPGA Shoprite Classic, Nasa Hataoka played her second shot on No. 9 into the long fescue surrounding the green, her last hole of the day. After reviewing video footage provided to the LPGA following the round, it was determined that the search for Nasa’s ball lasted longer than the three minutes allowed under Rule 18.2a.  After three minutes of search, the ball is considered lost, and the player must proceed under stroke and distance (Rule 18.2b).

“Hataoka’s ball was eventually found after the search time expired. The Rules require the player whose ball is lost to proceed under stroke and distance (Rule 18.2b). When Hataoka did not play from where she had previously played from, she played from the wrong place (Rule 14.7). Because where she played from could give the player a significant advantage compared to the stroke to be made from the right place, this is considered a serious breach of Rule 14.7 with a penalty of disqualification if not corrected in time. The player had until she left the scoring area to correct this mistake per Rule 14.7.”

Hatoaka would have shot a 65 in round one if her score would have stood.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

19th Hole

Man banned from St. Andrews after ‘irresponsible and reckless act’ at Home of Golf

Published

on

Last week, a man hit a shot from the street outside of St. Andrews onto the course, creating some backlash both on social media and with the course staff.

Lou Stagner pointed out on X that the man was recreating a shot originally made by Erik Anders Lang made on YouTube roughly a year ago.

According to the man named Wyatt Mesmer, he’s now been banned from St. Andrews.

Mesmer shared the update on his Instagram and is now selling tee shirts.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Brooks Koepka rules incident comes under scrutiny at LIV Golf Houston

Published

on

During Brooks Koepka’s first round at LIV Houston, he found the water left of the green at the par 5 fourth. He proceeded to take a drop that was slightly questionable upon further review.

It must be said that before the moment that was caught on video, Brooks had already attempted to drop the ball a few times and it rolled out of its position. Therefore, he had to attempt to place the ball in the spot for the drop. The situation would fall under rule 14.2e.

“If the player tries to replace a ball but it does not stay on its original spot, the player must try a second time. If the ball again does not stay on that spot, the player must replace the ball by placing it on the nearest spot where the ball will stay at rest, but with these limits depending on where the original spot is located: The spot must not be nearer the hole and the nearest spot must be in the general area. Failure to do so, playing the ball from a wrong place, is in breach of Rule 14.2, which is a two-stroke penalty.”

Koepka would eventually make bogey on the hole.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Awkward moment: Reporter thinking she’s interviewing Vince Young, finds out it’s not actually Vince Young

Published

on

On Thursday, footage of an on-course interview at the Korn Ferry Tour’s BMW Charity Pro-Am was shown on Golf Channel.

The interviewer believed she was speaking to former Texas Longhorn and NFL quarterback Vince Young. However, that was not the case, as can be seen in this clip posted on X by Carter Donnick.


The man was actually Everette Sands.

“I apologize, but you have the wrong person. I’m Everette Sands from The Citadel. I’m a football coach,” Sands said.

Sands, a college running backs skills coach at The Citadel, was a great sport about it, and answered the question anyway.

The interview was certainly one of the more awkward exchanges in recent memory.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending