Connect with us

19th Hole

Congress members blast ‘pimp’ Greg Norman in meeting at Capitol Hill

Published

on

On Wednesday, LIV Golf CEO Greg Norman met with members of congress to discuss LIV’s current dispute with the PGA TOUR.

It didn’t go very well.

According to multiple sources, Republican Tim Burchett of Tennessee walked out of the meeting due to an inability to understand Norman due to his accent as well as the “propaganda” he felt Norman was sharing.

Burchett later sent a tweet himself about the meeting with “The Shark”.

Burchett wasn’t the only member of congress to give Norman a hard time.. Chip Roy of Texas said to reporters of the meeting: “Don’t come in here and act like you’re doing some great thing, while you’re pimping a billion dollars of Saudi Arabian money,”

It’s unclear whether or not any of the lawmakers gave Norman the reception he was looking for, but he did later thank them for meeting with him via an Instagram post.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Greg Norman (@shark_gregnorman)

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL15
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK46

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: ‘Intentional grounding?’ – Marshal at the Presidents Cup gets more than a little carried away – GolfWRX

  2. Hmmm

    Sep 23, 2022 at 1:28 pm

    Fake news…

  3. Chuck

    Sep 22, 2022 at 1:53 pm

    Looking for confirmation on this…

    Greg Norman has remained an Australian citizen his entire life; while living in the U.S. for decades, and with U.S.-citizen wives and children and grandchildren, he is not a naturalized U.S. citizen himself.

    And real estate news stories in 2021 indicated that Norman had sold his Jupiter Island compound and his Colorado Ranch. It’s not clear to me that he owns an American home any more. But the important thing was his stated intention to move back to Australia permanently before his LIV Golf gig began.

    Greg Norman’s founding fathers weren’t Jefferson, Madison and Hamilton. They were King George III, Viscount Sydney, Queen Victoria and Lord Melbourne.

    GolfWRX Australians, what say you?

  4. Chuck

    Sep 22, 2022 at 11:39 am

    Lol.

    This story simply telegraphs the over-confidence that Norman probably felt, after hobnobbing with the Trumps after they have gotten further into partnering with LIV and the Saudis.

    Norman would certainly have known that Tim Finchem was a former DC lobbyist and attorney; that Finchem’s greatest success as PGAT Commissioner was Finchem’s ability to get fantastically favorable federal (incl. tax) treatment for the Tour. Finchem-as-PGAT lobbyist is the stuff of legend in professional golf.

    And so, carrying the Trump flag, Norman probably thought that he could go to a reliably Trumpist body like the RSC (which stands for Republican Study Committee) which is led by and which consists of the most pro-Trump extremists in the House, and perhaps get some good press.

    Little did Norman understand the local politics wherein the PGAT has a big presence still in Ponte Vedra Beach FL, a new headquarters in Frisco TX, and entrenched loyalties all over the USA. Plus, the shadow of what is likely a very agitated Tim Finchem.

    Every turn; every public relations move; it is disaster for LIV. It is a business school (or perhaps law school too) case study in how not to do things.

    • LP

      Sep 23, 2022 at 6:54 am

      Little Chuck has no idea what he is talking about. Another PGA Tour mouth heard from.

      • TDBach

        Sep 23, 2022 at 9:56 am

        Dear LP,

        We’ll pay you for your trolling post, because we’re obliged to by contract. But if you can’t come up with something more…persuasive… in the future, we will cancel your contract, or, if our attorneys say that won’t be possible, come visit you at your home. As-salaam.

        LIV Management

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

‘Intentional grounding?’ – Marshal at the Presidents Cup gets more than a little carried away

Published

on

If you’re going to do a job, do it well or not at all.

Becoming a marshal for a professional golf tournament may well just involve holding up the ‘Quiet Please’ paddles on the tee, or you may be called into action, requiring a lot more responsibility.

Get the line right on a wayward approach, hold the crowd back from encroaching on a player in contention, or simply signal where the ball is going – and it was the latter that was called for during the fourball match involving Jordan Spieth and Justin Thomas against Taylor Pendrith and Hideki Matsuyama.

As the tweet below suggests, Spieth was chipping out from a poor lie to recover a wayward ball, only to once again find himself in the drink.

If he was in any doubt where the ball had gone, though, the extremely efficient marshal made it abundantly clear!

 

Replies to CBS reporter Kyle Porter were light-hearted, with many full of praise for the volunteer.

A few comments indicated the man may well have been “landing a plane”, but surely the best was tweeter Shane B who commented:

“Intentional grounding on Spieth?”, a pointer to the rule and signal used in the NFL, ironically the reason viewing figures for Sunday golf are much less at this time of year.

The shot made little difference to the result, with the invincible pairing winning 4&3, prompting Justin Ray to reveal, “They [Spieth and Thomas] are the first pairing in Presidents Cup history to go 4-0-0 in a single week without letting a single match get to the 18th hole.”

More significant was that they were the only home pairing to win their afternoon match, giving the U.S team an 11-7 lead going into Sunday’s singles, before the US went on to win their ninth straight Presidents Cup.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Trevor Immelman explains why he reacted the way he did to Greg Norman’s Presidents Cup well wishes

Published

on

Captain of the Presidents Cup International side, Trevor Immelman, once described LIV Golf as a “giant pain in my a**.”

In an interview with GOLF’s Subpar podcast in August, he was then unaware of the exact make-up of the side he would lead at Quail Hollow, saying that with just a few weeks to go:

“I’m working the phones like crazy trying to learn as much as I can learn, speaking to players, caddies, agents, you name it, just trying to get a feel on where we’re going to be. It’s not great, and it’s not been great for Davis [Love III]. He’s got a couple of guys he’s concerned about, as well as me. It puts us in a tough spot and it puts the tournament in a tough spot.”

The International side, who have won just one, and tied the same number, of the 13 matches since 1994, had already been denied the services of Abraham Ancer, Louis Oosthuizen, Branden Grace and Charl Schwartzel with their defections to LIV, before confirmation that 2022 Open Championship winner Cam Smith was also making his way over to the Greg-Norman led series.

Imagine the South African’s reaction to a tweet put out by Norman just before the start of this year’s match – a year in which he was already under immense pressure with very few giving the visiting side any hope of winning their first Presidents Cup since 1998.

The reply was simple.

“LOL”, it read, simply.

In front of the media last Friday night, the 2008 Masters winner was asked to expand on his reply.

He took the request in his stride.

“Look, any of you that have known me for the longest time know that I’m an extremely open and honest person. I pretty much say it exactly as I’m thinking it. What I said was exactly what I was doing when I read that tweet: I was laughing out loud.”

Immelman continued, “I learned long ago that lying is dangerous because you’ve got to have a good memory. So I’d rather just tell the truth.”

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The hilarious reason why Kevin Kisner asked to sit the afternoon at the 2017 Presidents Cup

Published

on

Golf is changing, as always.

While the best of the team events – the Ryder and Presidents Cup – give rookies the chance to shine, both events often rely on the experienced players to steady the ship through the early stages.

This week’s Presidents Cup is the 12th run-out of the U.S v International match-up, and the first since 2019.

The 2021 event was, of course, cancelled because of Covid and the teams look very different to how they may have looked a year ago, mainly because of the ineligibility of any players that have chosen the LIV path for their recent careers.

Played at Quail Hollow this season, the teams are a mix of the plainly obvious and those with zero experience, with 14 of the 24 players making their debuts in the event, including world number one Scottie Scheffler and Max Homa, winner of the 2019 Wells Fargo Championship.

It’s often best to turn to the older members for the stories, and 38-year-old Kevin Kisner has never been short of a tale or two.

With an enviable record at the World Matchplay – one win and two finals appearances in six starts – Kiz appears the type to thrive at all aspects of the team challenge. However, back on his 2017 Presidents Cup debut, he wanted to be left off the roster for day three.

His event started brightly for the rookie, when playing alongside Phil Mickelson, a Thursday half in the foursomes followed by a win in the following day’s fourballs.

Day three again started well for the pairing, beating Jhonattan Vegas and Emiliano Grillo 2&1 and taking their record to 2-1-0, before that strange request.

Golf writer Brentley Romine posted a tweet on Thursday revealing that Kisner approached the then U.S captain Steve Stricker and asked for Saturday afternoon off, because:

“Because Georgia played Tennessee. Strick is like. ‘Seriously?’ I’m like, ‘Yeah, man, that’s my squad.'”

This is not the first time that golf took a back-seat to a Bulldog game.

In the same year, while competing at the Tour Championship, Kisner took to social media to arrange a flight to a Georgia-Mississippi game, eventually finishing tied third at the lucrative season finale.

The mid-event break clearly does him good as he also profited at Liberty National, halving his Sunday singles game with Anirban Lahiri and keeping intact an undefeated record as his team thrashed the Internationals 19-11.

Kisner didn’t take part in the opening day of this year’s Presidents Cup and there is no knowing whether he will play when Davis Love requires him to. Better check the football schedule first.

More from the 19th Hole

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending